Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The "R" Us Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 11, 2016
Fee charged when purchasing gift card
Anonymous Cardholder

I purchased a gift card online in Ebay with my ToysRus/BabiesRus credit card on April 18th, and two days ago, I found I was charged by the credit company for $10 because my transaction was deemed by credit company as a cash advanced transaction, that results in this $10 fee and also results additional $0.84 interest fee. I called ToysRus/BabiesRus credit card service line, and I was told that any gift card purchase with ToysRus/BabiesRus credit card is automatically flagged as cash advance transaction, hence leads to the $10 fee and its associated interest fee. While I also used this card purchased another gift card in ToysRus local store, which did not bring any additional fee. Then the customer service lady told that it is because ToysRus store is with the same company as the credit card company. This never happened to me with other credit card company!

The whole cash advanced transaction does NOT make any sense at all. I did not physically take money from this credit card. Is this really legal? All the information I got from the customer service is that ToysRus/BabiesRus company is stealing money from their customer. With hundreds of thousands of customers, ToysRus/BabiesRus is really making good profit out of this deemed "cash advanced" fee and its interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Hate this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

When I first applied, i got a lousy $200 limit online. I have other specific store cards with limits in the thousands. My score at the time was 680s. I underwent a medical procedure and the bill of $2k went to collections. They dropped my limit to $100 after that and that was 2 years ago. Still to this day, they won't give me an increase. I am never late, always max and pay off, my credit is better, I make three times more than I did...and still no increase. 

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Poor customer service! Takes forever for a payment to be posted. 

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
Junk!
Anonymous Cardholder

I work at finance at a new car franchise dealership.  I have an 857 transunion score.  I signed up to save money on our registry and to receive reward points.  DON'T DO IT!!!  They will sign you up for autmatic billiing wihout you knowing and then slap you with a $27 dollar late charge even though you havn't received your bill.  It is a big scame.  I cancelled as soon as i saw the late charge.  The money i saved was gone after that.  They prey on customers and toys r us a should be ashamed of allowing such a low life company to manage their credit cart accounts!  I could have paid cash for everything but was pursuaded by the the cashier that this would save me money........NO THANKS!!  

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Glad I Didn't Listen to Reviews
kmk2287 Cardholder

I realized that most people were complaining about the promotional offers in store but, if people were to read the signs located in MULTIPLE locations in the stores wouldn't of been on here complaining about that. Also if more people would be more aware of protecting their private information they may not have their identity compromised and they may understand why they don't allow payments to be made in store. I also noticed that as I was reading through some of the reviews that they had the Toys  R us credit card when they were partnered with GE Capital Retail Bank (which they are no longer partnered with). I feel that it is only fair that this is wiped out and updated with the Toys R us credit card in which is partnered with Sychrony. My interest rate is a 23.2%, but I pay if off before the billing cycle and I pay no interest and I get double the reward points back. I utilize my Toys R us credit card the proper way to save money and get the r us rewards. I price match others stores (which saves more money) and then I use my credit card to bank my points. Also if you have ever had to deal with sychrony then you know they are security focused and amazing to deal with. You can even chat with them online. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Complaints?
xtremeamp Cardholder

I noticed people are complaining about not making payments through the store as being an issue. However, not being able to make a payment through the store on your credit account which holds your social security number is one of the safest things for you and the retail store? When you apply for your account your information is processed but deleted. I know many people don't understand IT Security, which is why it is of importance to research it before you do pay at other retail locations. Personally I rather pay though my secured network or to a bank directly. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Toys R us Credit Card FACTS
xtremeamp Cardholder

The Toys R us Credit card is no longer through GE Capital Retail Bank. I noticed most of the awful reviews were due to the time the Toys R us credit card was through GE. However, the Toys R Us Credit card is now through Sychrony. Sychrony is amazing in many ways and very helpful, doing buisness with them is honesly very pleasurable. If you pay off the amount on the card before the billing cycle their is no interest and to top it off you get double the rewards points back. If you do it right you will save more money. Toys r us and Babies R us price match policy is amazing so I will buy my childrens clothes, toys, birthday presents, christmas presents, and food and bank my rewards points to $100 and spend it on diapers. I honestly save so much money that I rarely ever have to but diapers! Thank you Sychrony and Toys R us/ Babies R us to being flexible and helping to save money!

more ...
Jul 10, 2016
Instant approval
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card and got approved instantly! I purchased a very small item, but I don't know what am I going to do. Hope I will not be facing such problems as many others faced and commented here.

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Just treat this card like cash (pay it after you use it) and the perks are golden! I only shop on Thursdays. Thank you Babies R Us and Syncrony Bank!

more ...
Jun 05, 2016
Difficult to use, poor service.
kittimeow Cardholder

To get the 10% discount on Thursdays, you have to tell them that you are using this card BEFORE they push a button to finish the purchase - which they 1. rarely ask you BEFORE they push the button and 2. they cannot fix if they do the push the button. The only way to get you the discount is to cancel the transaction and start over. Their point-of-sale system is archaic and cannot even recognize the store's credit card.

This, in combination with their annoying X for $X food packet sales that only applies to individual packets and not boxes (so when they have to redo the transaction it's 72 items instead of 5), has led me to cancel the card and generally stop buying essentials there. I know only buy toys there on occasion. Amazon's subscribe and save and Target's sales are usually cheaper and don't go home with all the hassle. Returns at Toys 'r' Us are generally hassle free, but again, the archaic POS system sometimes makes them tedious and obnoxious.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The "R" Us Credit Card