The "R" Us Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 23, 2016
Hate this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

When I first applied, i got a lousy $200 limit online. I have other specific store cards with limits in the thousands. My score at the time was 680s. I underwent a medical procedure and the bill of $2k went to collections. They dropped my limit to $100 after that and that was 2 years ago. Still to this day, they won't give me an increase. I am never late, always max and pay off, my credit is better, I make three times more than I did...and still no increase. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

This credit card company needs to be shut down for the scams they do to customers. I paid my first purchase and was hit with a late fee. Customer service was very unprofessional and could not explain the late fee so I just paid it. So I checked my balance after this and now it was zero. 1 month later I received an email that showed I owe a balance of something that was a different amount so I tried to look at the email again and now it shows zero. 2 months later I'm getting an email saying I owe 11.87 for interest and being charged 2 dollars each month. I am definitely closing this scam credit card and letting everyone I know to stay away. 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Whatever
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with 650 approved for $300 not a single line increase in 2 years.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
Horrible Customer Service
cncambrin Cardholder

i have had the babies r us credit card for six years with no issues until last month. I have never missed a payment until last month. I had the automatic payments set up and have been using the automatic payments for over a year. But, last month there was some suspicious activity on my checking account so my bank froze everything until I verified everything. Well during that time my bank denied every transaction including this bill. As soon as I realized what happened I tried to call the customer service line, but I could never get to a real person. So I went ahead and paid the bill again and just ate the late fee. Well yesterday I got a letter in the mail saying that they were closing my account because they did a review and saw I had a returned payment. So today I have been trying to reach a person to talk to but I have been hung up on twice and this last time I have been on hold for two hours. 

I have been a loyal customer to babies r us and have never had any issue until now. I have over a 700 credit score, no history of missed or late payments and a solid work history. Them closing my account for one mistake is very frustrating. Unfortunately because of this I will never shop at Babies R Us again and I will never recommend them or this card to anyone. 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Deceptive and Over priced
Anonymous Cardholder

I have an 840 credit rating and only applied for this fraud card to get the discount on a purchase.  I pay all my cards immediately after use, often just attempting to leverage my rewards points.  They use the billing and posting cycle to their advantage.  When I purchased using this card, I immediatly went online to pay it off.  The charge had NOT posted yet and I couldn't pay.  So I waited and checked back.  When it eventually showed up, I attempted to pay but their system wasn't working and I was told to "try again later".  No big deal, I thought, a few days later the billing cycle hits and I'm hit with a $16.XX late fee on a $30 balance.  Infuriated, I pay the whole amount and file a complaint to get the late fee removed.

I stop using the card, but wait to hear back from my online complaint.  I log in and I've magically acrued $2.00 in interest charges on...I'm not sure.  I shouldn't have a balance as I paid everything including the bogus late fee.  So I'm sitting with $2.00 that I don't know about.  I called the customer service line, but the infuriating automated phone tree refuses to allow you to talk to anyone.  

The interest rate is offensive.  The customer service is abysmal.  This has made me not only stop using this card, but stop shopping at Toyr R Us.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Stupid
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card and was instantly approved. I only applied for the card for EMERGENCIES like most people do when getting credit cards. Well, i had to buy a $300 car seat and was told at the check out counter that my card was shut off because i hadn't used it in 30 days. WHAT!?!? I don't just swipe credit cards for no reason! That would have been extremely useful information to have when i activated the stupid card! I am absolutely LIVID and Babies "R" Us has officially lost my business. That is absolutely ridiculous. And while the Toys/Babies "R" Us customer service was very nice, the credit card company was rude and only offered me, "Sorry for the inconvenience" about 30 times every time i asked a question.

So i applied for another card. I expected instant approval like last time, and like ALL of my cards, but got a "pending" instead. I called in to ask about this, and she said i was denied and wouldn't tell me why, just that i have a letter coming in 7 to 10 business days. This makes no sense. I do not miss payments on my bills or cards, i have a high credit score and i make an average yearly salary.

This is ridiculous and NO ONE wants to help me understand WHY this happened. So, again, I'm done with the company.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Terrible.
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid my bill in full after Christmas. Never had EVER been late or missed ANY payments. They put a hold on my account. 2 days after the payment had cleared my bank, and was showing as a zero balance on their end, I went to Toys R Us. I was in line to purchase a car seat for my son when my card was declined. Again, Toys R Us had received my payment, but placed a "hold" on my account; which still makes no sense. I will wait for this "hold" to be replaced, and then I will cancel this card. What an inconvenience, and to top it off the manager in customer service was VERY rude to me. Get another credit card. Don't use their credit. How ridiculous!!!!!!!

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Awful customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service it's awful they don't help , the only one answer is we have 5-7 days for  reply from us 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Hate this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

When I first applied, i got a lousy $200 limit online. I have other specific store cards with limits in the thousands. My score at the time was 680s. I underwent a medical procedure and the bill of $2k went to collections. They dropped my limit to $100 after that and that was 2 years ago. Still to this day, they won't give me an increase. I am never late, always max and pay off, my credit is better, I make three times more than I did...and still no increase. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 03, 2017

I got approved for the store card without master card... ugh it was only $200 so immediately I Valley and cancelled the card. I said I do not want a measly $200 credit limit. If they think my credit is "bad" why did I get an awesome rewards card from American express with a $5000 limit? Makes absolutely no sense!!! Also, had a Walmart card through syncrony in July 2015 with a $300 limit, made all payments on time and a year later they decreased my limit to $140. Paid it off and closed the account in good standing. Never again with this syncrony joke!!!!

 
Sep 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Poor customer service! Takes forever for a payment to be posted. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The "R" Us Credit Card