The "R" Us Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 21, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

This credit card company needs to be shut down for the scams they do to customers. I paid my first purchase and was hit with a late fee. Customer service was very unprofessional and could not explain the late fee so I just paid it. So I checked my balance after this and now it was zero. 1 month later I received an email that showed I owe a balance of something that was a different amount so I tried to look at the email again and now it shows zero. 2 months later I'm getting an email saying I owe 11.87 for interest and being charged 2 dollars each month. I am definitely closing this scam credit card and letting everyone I know to stay away. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 19, 2017
Horrible.
Anonymous Cardholder

They closed my account for no reason. Never late on a payment. Called customer service about it and they were rude.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Not wort it
Anonymous Cardholder

They closed my account for no reason I made 100% of my payments on time. I'm not even over the limit I'm about 150 below limit

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Worst card to have - DO NOT GET
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst line of credit to obtain.  All it will do is cause frustration.  I find it absolutely absurd that they can freeze a card and not allow any new charges to post if you are not even 15 days PAST THE DUE DATE.  Is this even legal? How can they freeze a card and demand payment when the account isn’t even a month past due?  It is ridiculous that they can do this and then say that the only way to “reactivate” the card is to make a payment.  This card has been nothing but a nuisance since I opened it.  I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE to get this card, there are MANY MANY other options out there and they do not do this.  The card isn’t even worth the discount at babies r us or toys r us, half the time you can’t use any of the discounts or coupons for purchases anyways.  All it is good for is the points, and at the end of the day its not even worth it because there are better cards with better rewards.

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
complete SCAM DESIGNED TO RUIN CREDIT

DO NOT OPEN THIS CARD NO MATTER HOW DESPERATELY YOUR KIDS NEEDS GIFTS FOR CHRISTMAS OR BIRTHDAYS!!! I mean this is absolutely abSURD!! They initially gave me a $500 limit and i paid my bills on time and they gave me a late fee anyway which made me over limit at $535, they NEVER report to credit bureaus so i had 110% utilzation for months dispute after dispute and then when i FINALLY get my balance down for good utilization (balance now is  $198) Suddenly i look and my limit is decreased to $210!! What kind of number is that??? What a SCAM no matter how much i pay it down they always have me at 99% utilization. As soon as this is paid its being CLOSED!!!! Wish i had the money to do it now!!!! Whats disappointing is i have other accounts with the same bank Toyrs R Us uses without these issues. SERIOUSLY TOYS R US GET YOUR **** TOGETHER!!!!

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away if you want to maintain good credit. Tried twice to enroll in autopay, received comfirmation that I had been enrolled in autopay both times, but lo and behold, I call customer service because I recieve a notificiation that my account is 30 days past due, and nope, never enrolled in autopay. Scam! I never recived an email from the company that my account was over due. Closing this account asap!! 

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Watch out for the "Card Security Fee"
eoghanrd Cardholder

Noticed the "Card Security Fee" on my bill this month. It's possible, due to this additional fee, the even if you make the minimum payment, you balance will go up. I called to opt out of the card security program and thankfully, they agreed to refund over $1000 in fees that have been charged over the life of my card.

more ...
May 30, 2017
Reward Points
tashaabruhh Cardholder

I typically only use this card get 2 times the reward points, after 2 years, no credit limit increase from the initial $300 and virtually no customer service. 

more ...
May 30, 2017
Okay.
tashaabruhh Cardholder

$300 limit, no increase in 3 years. 10% on thursdays. no real perks hen the initial discount.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They will put a hold on your account if you miss one payment. They even reported me to the credit bureau for One Missed payment

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

That's what most credit card issuers do. To avoid missing a payment set up at least the minimum payment so that you don't run into this again. You're review speaks more of your ignorance to how credit cards work. Learn more so that you can do better. Good luck.

 
May 10, 2017
Good rewards. Low limits
Ctmedic09 Cardholder

I have many cards from synchrony and just applied and was approved for the toys r us one last week. I was very surprised at the low limit of $200 when all my others are $2500+ with less than 4% utilization and perfect payment history. Other than that the rewards program seems good compared to other store cards. I did contact customer service and had no problems. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The "R" Us Credit Card