Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The "R" Us Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 11, 2016
Fee charged when purchasing gift card
Anonymous Cardholder

I purchased a gift card online in Ebay with my ToysRus/BabiesRus credit card on April 18th, and two days ago, I found I was charged by the credit company for $10 because my transaction was deemed by credit company as a cash advanced transaction, that results in this $10 fee and also results additional $0.84 interest fee. I called ToysRus/BabiesRus credit card service line, and I was told that any gift card purchase with ToysRus/BabiesRus credit card is automatically flagged as cash advance transaction, hence leads to the $10 fee and its associated interest fee. While I also used this card purchased another gift card in ToysRus local store, which did not bring any additional fee. Then the customer service lady told that it is because ToysRus store is with the same company as the credit card company. This never happened to me with other credit card company!

The whole cash advanced transaction does NOT make any sense at all. I did not physically take money from this credit card. Is this really legal? All the information I got from the customer service is that ToysRus/BabiesRus company is stealing money from their customer. With hundreds of thousands of customers, ToysRus/BabiesRus is really making good profit out of this deemed "cash advanced" fee and its interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 25, 2017
Deceptive and Over priced
Anonymous Cardholder

I have an 840 credit rating and only applied for this fraud card to get the discount on a purchase.  I pay all my cards immediately after use, often just attempting to leverage my rewards points.  They use the billing and posting cycle to their advantage.  When I purchased using this card, I immediatly went online to pay it off.  The charge had NOT posted yet and I couldn't pay.  So I waited and checked back.  When it eventually showed up, I attempted to pay but their system wasn't working and I was told to "try again later".  No big deal, I thought, a few days later the billing cycle hits and I'm hit with a $16.XX late fee on a $30 balance.  Infuriated, I pay the whole amount and file a complaint to get the late fee removed.

I stop using the card, but wait to hear back from my online complaint.  I log in and I've magically acrued $2.00 in interest charges on...I'm not sure.  I shouldn't have a balance as I paid everything including the bogus late fee.  So I'm sitting with $2.00 that I don't know about.  I called the customer service line, but the infuriating automated phone tree refuses to allow you to talk to anyone.  

The interest rate is offensive.  The customer service is abysmal.  This has made me not only stop using this card, but stop shopping at Toyr R Us.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Stupid
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card and was instantly approved. I only applied for the card for EMERGENCIES like most people do when getting credit cards. Well, i had to buy a $300 car seat and was told at the check out counter that my card was shut off because i hadn't used it in 30 days. WHAT!?!? I don't just swipe credit cards for no reason! That would have been extremely useful information to have when i activated the stupid card! I am absolutely LIVID and Babies "R" Us has officially lost my business. That is absolutely ridiculous. And while the Toys/Babies "R" Us customer service was very nice, the credit card company was rude and only offered me, "Sorry for the inconvenience" about 30 times every time i asked a question.

So i applied for another card. I expected instant approval like last time, and like ALL of my cards, but got a "pending" instead. I called in to ask about this, and she said i was denied and wouldn't tell me why, just that i have a letter coming in 7 to 10 business days. This makes no sense. I do not miss payments on my bills or cards, i have a high credit score and i make an average yearly salary.

This is ridiculous and NO ONE wants to help me understand WHY this happened. So, again, I'm done with the company.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Terrible.
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid my bill in full after Christmas. Never had EVER been late or missed ANY payments. They put a hold on my account. 2 days after the payment had cleared my bank, and was showing as a zero balance on their end, I went to Toys R Us. I was in line to purchase a car seat for my son when my card was declined. Again, Toys R Us had received my payment, but placed a "hold" on my account; which still makes no sense. I will wait for this "hold" to be replaced, and then I will cancel this card. What an inconvenience, and to top it off the manager in customer service was VERY rude to me. Get another credit card. Don't use their credit. How ridiculous!!!!!!!

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Awful customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service it's awful they don't help , the only one answer is we have 5-7 days for  reply from us 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Good limits compared to other retailers
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got approved for my toys r us card and I have a few store cards through synchrony bank with Walmart and Ashley furniture  , and they have always been good to me with the MasterCard feature , I see a lot of complaints on here , I haven't used toys r us directly yet but I've had no problems with synchrony bank so I trust this card will be good , it has good perks at 15% off and I got approved for a 2200 limit so I have nothing but good things to say about synchrony bank credit cards .

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Hate this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

When I first applied, i got a lousy $200 limit online. I have other specific store cards with limits in the thousands. My score at the time was 680s. I underwent a medical procedure and the bill of $2k went to collections. They dropped my limit to $100 after that and that was 2 years ago. Still to this day, they won't give me an increase. I am never late, always max and pay off, my credit is better, I make three times more than I did...and still no increase. 

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Poor customer service! Takes forever for a payment to be posted. 

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
Junk!
Anonymous Cardholder

I work at finance at a new car franchise dealership.  I have an 857 transunion score.  I signed up to save money on our registry and to receive reward points.  DON'T DO IT!!!  They will sign you up for autmatic billiing wihout you knowing and then slap you with a $27 dollar late charge even though you havn't received your bill.  It is a big scame.  I cancelled as soon as i saw the late charge.  The money i saved was gone after that.  They prey on customers and toys r us a should be ashamed of allowing such a low life company to manage their credit cart accounts!  I could have paid cash for everything but was pursuaded by the the cashier that this would save me money........NO THANKS!!  

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Glad I Didn't Listen to Reviews
kmk2287 Cardholder

I realized that most people were complaining about the promotional offers in store but, if people were to read the signs located in MULTIPLE locations in the stores wouldn't of been on here complaining about that. Also if more people would be more aware of protecting their private information they may not have their identity compromised and they may understand why they don't allow payments to be made in store. I also noticed that as I was reading through some of the reviews that they had the Toys  R us credit card when they were partnered with GE Capital Retail Bank (which they are no longer partnered with). I feel that it is only fair that this is wiped out and updated with the Toys R us credit card in which is partnered with Sychrony. My interest rate is a 23.2%, but I pay if off before the billing cycle and I pay no interest and I get double the reward points back. I utilize my Toys R us credit card the proper way to save money and get the r us rewards. I price match others stores (which saves more money) and then I use my credit card to bank my points. Also if you have ever had to deal with sychrony then you know they are security focused and amazing to deal with. You can even chat with them online. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Complaints?
xtremeamp Cardholder

I noticed people are complaining about not making payments through the store as being an issue. However, not being able to make a payment through the store on your credit account which holds your social security number is one of the safest things for you and the retail store? When you apply for your account your information is processed but deleted. I know many people don't understand IT Security, which is why it is of importance to research it before you do pay at other retail locations. Personally I rather pay though my secured network or to a bank directly. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The "R" Us Credit Card