Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
85 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months*
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 25.99% Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 25.99% Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 16, 2019
Easiest dispute ever
BobSmooth Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a few years now. It’s definately not my lowest interest card but it is the highest limit. It gets raised fairly easily. The most impressive thing however is the dispute center. I had a charge that I didn’t recognize, clicked the blue dispute button online, and bam, I got instantly reimbursed. No phone calls, no hassle. Just done. Very impressive.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 31, 2018
Borderline criminal incompetence
AmyMckenna Cardholder

Worst customer service I've ever had from a credit card company in 30 years of having multiple cards. They claimed there was another person on my SSN (big surprise to me, having just easily re-financed my jumbo mortgage), then sent me a verification form to complete, which I did and sent back. I called later when they still declined the card and they said it looked like someone had "tampered" with the form I had mailed them (whaaa?) and said they would email me a copy of what they said was tampered with. They never sent it nor the second form they said they would have my replace the "tampered" one with. Fed up, I'm trying to cancel it and they won't let me, saying that the account is "on hold."  NOW they're claiming that the form I sent it was "incomplete" (as oppose to the "tampered with" they claimed the first time around). When I asked, "how is it legal to keep me locked into a business relationship with you when I wish to end it?" they countered that I hadn't "properly identified" myself over the phone even though I had called from the phone number on my account and given every password they had asked for. How do they identify people over the phone -- take a retinal scan through their phones? Now I feel even more vulnerable than ever, being locked into a relationship and an open credit line with these incompetents that I can't end, until THEY decide that they will cancel the account on February 3rd. How is this even legal?! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 21, 2019
This card is great!
Tphaeng Cardholder

They always have 0% balance transfer deals going on. I've had the cars for a little over a year and have had 2 credit limit increases. I use this card for balance transfers more than anything since theres usually a 0% option. Great card overall.

more ...
Sep 19, 2019
Great Rewards card for everything else
BigAl7wy Cardholder

The 2% cash back makes it great for purchases that don't fall under the 3% and 5% categories of my other cards. They also make it easy to report fraudulent charges. 

more ...
Sep 19, 2019
TiminOrlando Cardholder

From Citibank: Effective September 22, 2019, Worldwide Car Rental Insurance, Trip Cancellation & Interruption Protection, Worldwide Travel Accident Insurance, Citi® Price Rewind, 90 Day Return Protection, Damage & Theft Purchase Protection, and Extended Warranty will be discontinued and will no longer be provided for purchases made on or after that date. Coverage for purchases made before that date will continue to be available, and you may continue to file for benefits in accordance with the current benefit terms.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2019

That's been out a while. Saw it on my June or July statement.

 
Sep 18, 2019
NO benefits a!! Don't use this card for
TiminOrlando Cardholder

Don't use this card for anything you want an extended warranty on because there is no extended warranty benifit at all. Don't use it for renting a car because there is no protection on that either. In fact this car has no benifits at all. I would only use this for daily shopping at grocery stores, gas, day to day things and pay off the balance each month. If you're going to buy a TV, rent a car,  go overseas (3% fee)  etc, use another card. This is a no-frills 2 percent cash back card and that is it. Customer service is BAD. You've been warned!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2019

I don't use it for that anyway. It's for car repairs, plumbers, and any non merchandise that's not covered under 3-5%.

 
Sep 16, 2019
2% unlimited cash back
dmb276 Cardholder

This is my go-to card for everyday spending, when I don't have a card paying higher cashback for a speciality category.  I pay off the balance in full every month and have had no problems with fees or interest rates.   

I saw unauthroized chrages on the account and reported it right away - they overnighted a new card to me for free.  I did have to send over a signed declaration regarding the fraud charges and still waiting for them to completely drop off, but confident they will.  

more ...
Sep 11, 2019
Better
JT717 Cardholder

Published a bad review recently. Would like to update this - I called customer service and was able to be completely satisfied. I was charged interest of $17 on my account for paying my balance in full. The customer service team helped me out and gave me 45 in credit! This was amazing service and I'm glad I made the call. Definitely recommend calling with all/any problems.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 15, 2019

Whenever you pay in full, on any card, that you have been carrying a balance, make sure you pay in full BEFORE the statement closes, otherwise they will continue to charge interest from the time it closes until you pay in full. By paying before it closes, there si nothing to charge interest on after the closing date.

 
Sep 11, 2019
Interest charges when you pay in full
JT717 Cardholder

I have had this card for a couple months and decided to check my balance after paying it off in full. Come to find that Citi is charging interest on this card if you pay off the full balance of your card. I contacted customer service and they said they could not remove the interest. Looks like I will not be charging anything on this card in the future. Stay away from Citi. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2019

Is this for real?

 
Sep 18, 2019

I've had the card for a couple years. I never experienced an interest charge for paying off the balance.

 
Sep 08, 2019
Worst customer service ever
Fran6690 Cardholder

Don’t event think to try to apply for this card. You can be disappointed by the worst customer service any bank could have. Always it’s a NO, we are unable to help you at this time. Because of the bad design of the card apps and an error that I’m sure I didn’t decide my card balance was completely paid in full without my knowledge when I just scheduled a basic payment for the cicle. Get away from this corporation. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2019
Get money
Tryout Cardholder

Use this card to buy everything! Pay your bill on time! Watch the cash add up!

more ...
Aug 12, 2019
It's really 2% Cash back
Cathiie Cardholder

I've has this card for aver 3 years now. This is the main card i use because 2% casg back is basically as good as it gets right now.  My suggestion would be to use it wisely, the APR is pretty high so you might only want to get this card if you're sure you can pay it responsibly.  In the 3 years i've had it I've gotten well over $1000 in cash back and haven't paid any interest.   it's all about getting the most out of these types of cards..   

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi® Double Cash Card