Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Double Cash Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
245 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 07, 2016
mizzbee30 Cardholder

This card seemed like a good card, but like someone else said on here, you have to watch how and when you pay your bill to get the cash back, it really is way too much hassle.....I like simple cash back with none of the nonsense.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2017
2% Cash Back
spikes2020 Cardholder

I just applied with a score of 780, and 764. I got approved for $8,000 instantly. This is the second time i applied for this card, first time they needed me to send in a paystub to prove my income. I waited a few months and applied a second time and they didnt require anything.... 

I just want 2% cash back over the 1.5% i currently have.

I have not used customer service but having to apply twice with a score as high as mine, seems kind of pain in the butt.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Great card, use it for everything
rhk06c Cardholder

Really love this card. I was between a cash back card and a travel card but decided to go with the Citi Double Cash as friends recommended the card. It's nice not having to worry about whether a certain item qualifies for cash back as the double cash applies to everything.!

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
There's not much that beats cash back
crashspeeder Cardholder

This card gives you 2% cash back on every purchase (1% at purchase and 1% when you pay your bill).  The only thing that could make this card better is no foreign transaction fee.  The 0% offer is quite generous and the fact that it's a World Elite MasterCard means it has good benefits as well.  I haven't used the concierge yet due to having a few cards with concierge services, but the cash back is what makes this card for me anyway.  Return protetion, extended warranty, roadside assitance, and price rewind are icing on the cake.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Fantastic credit card.
athodor Cardholder

A total of 2% CB after paying with no categories or rotations to worry about - amazing! Rewards can be cashed out in any amount over $25 (not forced to do in chunks of $25 exactly like Amex). Website is just OK, service is good though. 4.5 stars overall but I erre on side of 5 since can't use 4.5.

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
Worst credit card service
kleiser30 Cardholder

I applied for the card on dec 2016 , pretty excited to use this card a my primary card ! But when I got approved my credit line was pretty low compare to most of my credit cards. Their limits are between 7k and 10k.. I just got approved for 3600 .. after getting approved...  ofcourse I got a hard inquiry in my credit score , I called to discuss the credit limit ..the true I  was expecting that they review my application using the first credit pull ... but the customer service rep ask me for permission to pull my credit a second time ...  I declained the offer ... I request a soft pull or even use my first pull .. the rep just didn't do noting to show interés in help me , so I decided to close the account .. I just could imagine now what type of service i would have received staying with the card .. be aware !! 

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
sorry, terrible experience
patttt323 Cardholder

I was staying at a hotel in Las Vegas and when I got home, I found that I was charged $224 for extra cleaning fee. I called the hotel and they said my service dog created extra work for cleaning. I immediately asked for evidence (photos and etc.) and they refused to provide. Then they asked me to contact Citi bank for disputes. After Citi reviewed the case, they said I was resposible for this ridiculous charge without letting me know or showing me their evidence (I didn't find out until I logged in my online banking). Now I have closed all my Citi accounts and also asked my friends and family to reconsider Citi. 

more ...
Jan 13, 2017

I really didn't get it. What's CITI has to do with that? It was was between you and the hotel, by the way I work on a hotel at Las Vegas Blvd, and this kind of charges happens every day.

 
Jan 17, 2017

You know you and your animal did this and you tried to play the hotel but now you mad that Citi didn't help with the scam! I'm sure Citi glad you're gone!

 
Jan 09, 2017
simple easy to use/understand cash back
ny1357 Cardholder

don't use your points to lower your balance.  send cash back to your bank account or it will lower the cash back.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
It is not a good credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

It is not a good credit card since its cycle of 0 interest is only for transfer, it has no logic since always by transfer of another card there is an interest of 3% and for buying does not have 0 interest, so request it and the Second month began to charge interest on purchases ...

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Best rewards card I"ve ever had
Anonymous Cardholder

My experience since having Citi Dble cash for past 4 yrears nothing compares, use card for everything. Don't believe a person should have to pay annual fee for using credit card rediculous have always received all rewards within 3 - 5 business days after paying amount due. So far best card I/ve owned.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
It is not a good card
Anonymous Cardholder

It is not a good card since only one month to have it and one day, they begin to charge interest for the purchase, they do not specify that the 18 months of 0 interest is only for transfer of debt and not for purchases, I do not see that already If you make a debt transfer you have to always pay 3%, good customer service if it is good .. I consider other cards that I have as Capital One and American Express much better.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card

245 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i