Citi® Double Cash Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
263 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 06, 2017
Worst Company EVER! AVOID at ALL Costs!
KDGalvan Cardholder

My friend and I were taken on an education scam. We charged part of the card to Citibank and part to USA, the majority,$30k, to Citibank. I have great credit and an 18 month 0% interest - so put the majority on that card. When we found out it was a scam, about a week after the charge, I contacted Citibank, and my friend contacted USAA. My friend wrote one letter to USAA - and they rejected the charge. I have written 6 letters over the course of 8 months, including the letter from USAA rejecting the charge, as Citibank went back and forth with the vendor. Now - Citibank has refused to protect me - their customer!!! They sided with the vendor with an "oh well" and demand payment with in 15 days. Since USAA did side with the customer, I have proof that this was fully their choice. They chose to pay the scam artist instead of prtect me. I have never once paid late, carried a balance, or done anything other than be a model customer. Well Citibank - I wante the world to know about your lack of customer service and the risk imposed on anyone who uses your card. No amount of promos can offset this!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
They don't tell the truth
Anonymous Cardholder

I allways paid y card on time but after making a payment they got my check number wrong and charged me $25.00 and would not refund the money so I'm not using the card anymore. Be careful they are not honest people.

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
2% cash back all rounder
Martinkoshy Cardholder

As with any credit card company as long as you pay your bills on time you are going to be just fine.I pay all my bills with this card.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Fantastic Daily Use Card
gobigfoot Cardholder

I use this card for virtually all of my transactions and the cash back piles up quickly. Citi offers a quick lock feature through their app for those time you misplace your card. Citi's fraud prevention is top notch.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Double cash back on everyday purchases!
Anonymous Cardholder

Great cash back card for when your spending categories don't fall within the quarters of your 5% rewards cards. Approved for $2K limit MasterCard World Elite. Payments initiated on the app/website are posted as availble instantly (which I love) and allows you to go over your available credit imit without a fuss. Great benefits and love the Virtual Card number creator for those sketchy online purchases you need to make!

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Cancelled due to security risk
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for about 2 years and never had a late or missed payment.  I would spend up to 50k a month on it.  I started getting fraud alerts sent to my phone for legitmate purchases and would respond that they were approved transactions.  Had my card get totally shut down for some reason and had to call to get it re-activated.  I politely complained to the employee about getting so many fraud alerts on legitimate transacitons and 2 weeks later my account was closed without warning and with no more explanaiton than "security risk".  No one can tell me anything about why exactly it was closed.  Now I stand to lose hundreds of dollars in cash back I earned.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017

Why didn't you ask for a new card number?? Problem Solved. I dont think this one issue deserves one star...☺️

 
Mar 29, 2017

duh

 
Mar 18, 2017
-
Matt776 Cardholder

Closed my account first week because of returned payment 

customer center rude 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 29, 2017

embarrassing

 
Mar 16, 2017
Perfect cash back card
KirSen1906 Cardholder

This has been a great card as it has a 2% cash back on anything

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Amazing!
JessicaJAB Cardholder

Had a CC with Citibank for the last 30 years and this one is terrific!! No complaints at all

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Great for balance transfers
Anonymous Cardholder

Great if your doing a balance transfer if not stay away from this card! Dont be late, and DO NOT USE FOR PURSCHASES. Almost paid off then closing account..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2017

Why would you say not to use for purchases? You get 15 months of 0% APR for purchases for new account openings?

 
Mar 14, 2017
Beware
CR70 Cardholder

I've had this card for 2 years. I just cut it up. If your diligent about paying credit on time you can reap in $. I am so I thought it would be good. I always pay my debt off before it's due. However I was late and they charged me 80$ interest. I thought whatever I've  raked in almost 900$. But they keep sneaking it out every month. I've now payed half my earnings in rewards for 1 late fee! I'm done. 

* yes your first late fee is free. But mine was used paying the night before the due date (it takes a day to process, so still late)

I recommend the amazon card. You get between 1-5% back and there are no stipulations on when you need to pay like with this card you have to wait until the billing cycle is over to get 2% and don't be late. 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017

Every lender hoses you if you're late, unless the card's terms specifically state otherwise.

 
Mar 18, 2017

pay your bill on time. you should be fine

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card