Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Double Cash Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
258 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 21, 2017
Good Cash Back, Poor Customer Service
Indianaaustin Cardholder

If you do a balance transfer for the introductory 0% for 18 months, you will be charged interest on any purchase you make with the card.  Example, let's say you transfer $2000 and you spend $2000 on the card in the first billing cycle, if you only pay the $2000 towards the purchases and don't pay off the $2000 balance transfer (the one you're supposed to have 18 months 0% interest on) then you will be charged interest on the average daily balance of the card.  So, in essence the card is only good if you don't do a balance transfer and the balance transfer isn't really a 0% offer since it will cause you to pay interest on your other purchases, even if you pay those purchases off before the next billing cycle. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 27, 2017
Amazing if you know how to use it
mrdavis85 Cardholder

This card is awesome.  Cash advance is a decent amount, after a few months my credit limit was increased by $800, the payment processing take a few day to come out your account so make you dont spent too much in your bank account.  i started building my credi with other cards but if i could just have one card of choice this would have been the one. No annual fee is the best feature because for other cards i have annual fees.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Rewarding
AZdadof3 Cardholder

The rewards are great. The customer service is lacking. I was transferred multiple times to "an account specialist" all agents were from the Phillipines and when I finally asked for a manager I was placed on hold for an extended duration.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Fair
ItsTonyH Cardholder

Approved with a 761/761 score with a Fair chance. This will be my third card after my previous acceptance for Chase Freedom approximately 6 months ago. I did run into a problem with the application and had to call, but the nice lady approved me in a matter of minutes!

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Decent Card for my Credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to apply and build credit with.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Pre-Approved offers
bostexan Cardholder

I received 3 Pre-approval offers from Citi Double Cash via mail in one week. Credit Karma listed my approval odds as Poor. Citibank's pre-approval link on their website found no pre-approval offers, despite having sent me three pre-approval letters that week. I applied using the code from the pre-approval letter and was approved with a 1K credit limit.. Application was quick and received the card within a week. 

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
RamuBelide Cardholder

I have citi double cash card, I called customer service to setup ACH payments for monthly payments, I tried making payment for monthly bill in mountain time (Utah) but I was charged late fee of 35 dollars, I asked accoutig people why, they told me I need to pay off in eastern time, I asked if you can waive it ? as payemnt was for 20 dollars and late fee was 35 dolalrs. the resposne was
"I know you americans are poor in mathematcis and calculating payment date as you have different timezones and citi bank cant help all people like this and hang up ", they dint even bother to ask if i need any thing else. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER, DONT GO FOR THIS CREDIT CARD. I shared my experience on Facebook and got many shares, so adding it here aswell, dont go for CITI Cards

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Great card...terrible customer service
mag11c Cardholder

Great card, does as it should and gives a lot of cash back.

My problem lies with customer service, the reps are had to understand (english is not their primary language) and they act like your question bothering them and taking time out of their day. Very unfortunte since I do like this card.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Easy approval
Cupcake102313 Cardholder

I applied for this card two weeks ago. I was instantly approved for $1000! Just 15 minutes before I was denied by chase and was sent a letter from them. My Trans union cs was around 700 and my equifax cs was just over 700. CK said approval odds were good. I had received several mailers from them and kept throwing them away. I finally applied and was approved! I can't wait to use it and earn double cash back! I've been working extremely hard getting my credit back on check and it's paying off.
My suggestion to everyone: if CK says your approval odds are fair or good on this card, just apply! You may not get a high limit, but you can always ask for limit increases and use the card for recurring charges or for really small purchases like gas.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Pretty good rewards
MagicWitch Cardholder

I applied for this card and was immediately approved for a $2,000 CL. I have 657 EX, 607 TU and 614 EQ. I love the rewards on purchase and when you pay your bill, its one of the best rewards compared to the other cards in this class (Chase Freedom Unlimited, etc). Thanks to Citi for helping me to rebuild my credit, they have been very helpful during this journey. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Good card easy to rack up points
Moonshinemaker Cardholder

I got my card in December.  Credit line was reasonable to start with.  Not highest not lowest.  I run a lot through it and never had any problems.  Items to note: Points don't post till end of cycle. 2) If you pay before the end of the cycle you don't get the second set of points.  Utilization is killing me since to get all the points i need the statement to drop. I have been using this card the most. I pay in full each month. To keep utilization from going sky high I have to use my Discover or Capital 1 QS some. I hope after 6 months they will increase my limit. I had gotten a preapproval in the mail and submitted it on line and got results back then but it took about 1 week to get the card. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card

258 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i