Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
213 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 31, 2017
Simple, easy to understand program
kingpatrick1972 Cardholder

I hate "Points" cards.  If you're like me and you want something simple, with cash back for using the product, this is for you.  I've made literally thousands of dollars since accepting this card a few years ago.  I get 1% cash back right away and another 1% on any balance I pay off as well. Since I pay it off monthly I see money every month.  I'm literally being paid to use the card, free money, a no brainer. I pay the card off monthly so interest doesnt matter to me.  But i literally charge everything I can to maximize the cash back.  LOVE IT!  I even tried the price rewind feature and was shocked it actually worked receiving almost $30 back for some tax software I had purchased and Citi found a lower price for me online.  I also used the rental car insurance option and received money back on a charge I had for a damaged mirror to a rental vehicle. I've never been more impressed with a credit card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 24, 2017
Irresponsible
tamidolls Cardholder

I had this card for a couple of years and found two charges from a welding company in another state that I never heard of let alone used.  I tried to call the company many times, but no one ever answered the phone.  When I spoke to customer service at Citi, I was told not to worry they would take care of it since it was a fraudulent charge.  Long story short, after a month, Citi called to tell me since they paid this company I was responsible for the two charges totalling $1500.  I paid it to protect my excellent credit, and, obviously, would never use Citi again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 15, 2017
Suekam Cardholder

Easy company to deal with text alerts great cash back

more ...
Dec 12, 2017
Love the 2% cash back feature but
Kbryan1014 Cardholder

My wife got this card several years ago, actually based on my bank account, but that was ok as we needed to improve her credit scores. Now after 5 years I decide I want my own....asked me for the same info 3 different times which I provided and practically had to beg to get approval. My fico is 763/850 and CL was $6600 lower than my wifes card. Don't appreciate the low limit but I will just work it up to the 10k limit I prefer over time.

more ...
Dec 07, 2017
2% back no categories best card
Anonymous Cardholder

I used it for my monthly expenses, i even offer to pay the bill at restaurants just to get the 2%, straight forward no hassles, the most i seen for cash back on other cards with out categories is 1.5%

more ...
Dec 05, 2017
Great card awesome rewards
T1MadHatter Cardholder

Its perfect starter card for anyone who can handle it

more ...
Dec 02, 2017
Low credit limit
fbernaerts Cardholder

The 2% cash back looks appealing but I can't really benefit from it because they gave me a very low credit limit of 500$ (whereas Amex gave me 8000$ based on the same income and credit score). And what is worse, when I ask for a credit limit increase, the response is always that "it is not a good time" - they never give me any more explanation why it is not a good time to review my credit limit now; they just tell me to try again in 6 months.

The other problem is that when I use my card and then make a payment, they put the funds on hold for 10 days or until I call Citi customer service who calls my bank to verify that the funds have cleared before applying my payment to my balance.

And finally when I call customer service, it always takes a lot of time to get past their annoying automatic answering system that tries to help me but is unable.

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
badass
mosthatedjoker Cardholder

i have this card got it with 1000 cl than after 6 mo of perfect payments i ask for a credit increased and they gave me 1k increase 

more ...
Nov 28, 2017
Fast approval, 18 months 0% on transfers
Easttexas1977 Cardholder

  I applied, received approval in less than a minute. $8800 CL, with a 720. 

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
Fraud department is incompetent
matthewlloyd Cardholder

Happily used Apple Pay with this card for the last year or so. Today, got a new iPhone, woohoo. Reactivated my Citi Double Cash in Apple Pay, and it seemed to work... but then I got a fraud warning call from Citi. I missed the call so called back. Long story short - after 3 difficult phone calls (the last one to a supervisor) and not being able to pay for my dinner, my physical card is now working again, but I still cannot make any online purchases at all, or use Apple Pay, until I receive a letter in the mail with further instructions, which will take 7-10 days to arrive. That is the punishment Citi metes out to fools who try to switch to new phones. 

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
Awesome
jaqueh Cardholder

I love this card. Cash rewind, insurance, credit limits, cash back, and best of all no annual fee. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card