Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews
3.5 out of 5 stars
89 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 27, 2019
Free cash, no fees, just pay it off!
RipVanW75 Cardholder

It's simple.  I pay this card off every month to a zero balance. I get 2% cash back on everything I buy.  I use this now instead of my debit card entirely, and my annual cash back is well over $500.  I also used it when they offered a zero percent promo on a balance transfer, paid that off within the 15 month promo period, so again, zero cost to me. 

If you complain about their high interest rate on balances, you're doing it wrong, but I understand not everyone can pay the balance off every mo. In that case, get a card with a very low interest rate.

My credit limit went from $1500 to $3000 to $7500 to $15500 to $20000.  I've had the card for 4 yrs.  Website is super easy to navigate, online payments are processed instantly, and I've had no issue with their call center resolving any problems.  Overall, I am very satisfied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 24, 2019
Awful
ClearwaterDreams Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved instantly for a $1500 limit which was shocking. I’ve now had this card for over 5 years and have worked my way up to a $3500 limit. I have two other cards; each started out much higher than where I am now and both have over $20k limit. I asked for an increase once and was automatically declined because of a missed payment. I’ve never missed a payment or made a late payment. I applied again and was automatically declined because my score was too low. It was 747 at the time and my limit was $1800-I already had the two other cards over $10k at that point. So I put my car insurance and gym membership on the card this year and let it auto pay. It was going well and they bumped me up to $3500. Yay right? Well the next month, I get an email that I never paid my bill. But it’s on autopay so that’s weird. Sure enough, autopay was still on but they never withdrew the funds. So I got hit with a $25 late fee and a ding in my credit. I paid the card off and locked it. I will let it sit until they cancel it but I do not trust Citi and have no idea how the card rates so highly when they have consistently screwed me over the length of time I’ve had the card. I’d suggest Chase and Discover—I love both of my cards with them and have never had any issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 11, 2020
Not Good
Sandro20 Cardholder

This card is not good you can't redeem your cash back when you wont and you need a minimum of 25 dollars to redeem your cash back and the fees are very high 

more ...
Feb 05, 2020
DON'T
CharminII Cardholder

DON'T GET INVOLVED WITH THIS BANK

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 08, 2020

Can you please elaborate as to the why?

 
Feb 04, 2020
Terrible card for soldiers and travelers
Thatguy9316 Cardholder

I have never had an issue with using my card, but I always have issues with the ability to make a payment.

1. I attempted to login to the mobile app and was prompted with the only option to verify being my American phone number or to call a representative.

2. I called a representative to get help, the answering machine was not able to verify me with my social security number. So then I finally got to speak to a representative.

3. Every representative I spoke to had a very thick accent and was difficult to understand, or maybe the mic they were using was terrible.

4. The representative told me that there is absolutely no way to verify me with my social security number, and there is absolutely no way to change my phone number to a German number. Guess they're not interested in customers that travel at all.

5. The representative told me that if they delete my online account and allow me to make a new one I'll be able to login and pay my bill. Awesome. He said while he did that he will have someone else set a travel notice... "Umm okay?"

6. The representative with the travel notice agency told me that the only way to verify my identity is to PHYSICALLY MAIL ME. It's 2020 and you're telling me that you can't verify my identity with an email, social security number or some other method?

7. The representative did not delete my account by the way and I asked, "well can I just pay my balance over the phone?" to which I was told no. You have to be verified in order to pay the balance.

I look forward to cutting this credit card in half when I get home.

more ...
Feb 03, 2020
Terrible customer service
Luv2shop3 Cardholder

There was fraud committed on my card in November 2019. I have spent countless hours dealing with this problem. The best part about it is that I caught it, not there so called Fraud Department!! As of January 2020, I am still dealing with it. There customer service department has a script and if you have an issue deviating from the script you are out of luck. I have had a Discover card for over 30 years and never had a problem!! Lesson learned...I will be closing this account and moving on!! 

more ...
Jan 29, 2020
terrible
nortoncrum Cardholder

Do not get this card,  terrible interest rates originally i was supposed to get a low interest rate now it jumped up and I called several times to straighten this out to no avail

more ...
Jan 28, 2020
Great 2% cash terrible everything else!
coolstuff40 Cardholder

Takes forever to get anything solved which sucks because they are the worst company for technical issues in the world!!! I've had this card about six months I've had four major technical problems with this company all of which took more than 3 or 4 hours on the phone to fix it several call backs and lots of waiting, fighting and try this try that!!! You have to have at least $25 worth of cash back to redeem every time and they will try and screw you out of your cash back so keep a close eye on it!

more ...
Jan 24, 2020
Adelva26 Cardholder

Good if you need help with lowering your debt but my credit score dropped DRAMATICALLY. I've never had anything below 720......I know it will go back up but sheesh. 

more ...
Jan 15, 2020
Good card!
cardi52 Cardholder

There is no limit on how much cash back you recieve and customer service is good. Good fraud department!

more ...
Jan 12, 2020
genobambino Cardholder

one accidental late payment and they cut my credit limit in half.  i called credit management and ask for reinstatement of my original limit and was denied.  BOO!  

more ...
Dec 24, 2019
Awful

I applied for this card and was approved instantly for a $1500 limit which was shocking. I’ve now had this card for over 5 years and have worked my way up to a $3500 limit. I have two other cards; each started out much higher than where I am now and both have over $20k limit. I asked for an increase once and was automatically declined because of a missed payment. I’ve never missed a payment or made a late payment. I applied again and was automatically declined because my score was too low. It was 747 at the time and my limit was $1800-I already had the two other cards over $10k at that point. So I put my car insurance and gym membership on the card this year and let it auto pay. It was going well and they bumped me up to $3500. Yay right? Well the next month, I get an email that I never paid my bill. But it’s on autopay so that’s weird. Sure enough, autopay was still on but they never withdrew the funds. So I got hit with a $25 late fee and a ding in my credit. I paid the card off and locked it. I will let it sit until they cancel it but I do not trust Citi and have no idea how the card rates so highly when they have consistently screwed me over the length of time I’ve had the card. I’d suggest Chase and Discover—I love both of my cards with them and have never had any issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2020

A lot of revolving lines tend to give you a prompt to make your next payment manually after enrolling in autopay. The autopay would kick in after the first/next due date passed. I suspect that is what happened here. Pro Tip: Don’t let the banks decide your credit fate when enrolling in autopay. Read the prompts and set a calendar reminder for the day after autopay should kick in to ensure the payment posted properly. Msg customer service right away if it hasn’t in order to cover your behind.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Citi® Double Cash Card