Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
245 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 05, 2017
Not worth the Hassle
Anonymous Cardholder

Citi has the worst customer service of any national bank.  They will reject purchases for no reason.  They will not tell you the reason for the purchase decline.  They never want to handle questions or issues through secure messages from your online account.  Instead, they force you to take time out from your day and call them.  Then you must wait 10-20-30-40 mintues or more to get the issue resolved.  I cancelled two credit cards from Citi.  All other national banks are better, such as American Express or Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 13, 2017
BDB0728 Cardholder

CK shows poor arrival odds for me. My TU 673 EQ 676 EX 701 (according to discover site). I received a mailer stating pre selected. I had already received a hard pull that same day from requesting an increase on my Amazon Chase card, so i went ahead and applied online for the citi double cash card. I have 0 negatives on my reports, my current utilization is 14%, but have lots of inquires! This year I have been building up my credit card portfolio and purchased a house earlier in the year.

Citi approved me for $1,500. I haven't received the card yet, but was happy to be approved! The online process was easy, just used the numbers that were on my mailer and then filled out the info they asked for. I hope after using it for smaller purchases, I'll get an increase like i did with my Amazon Chase card.

more ...
Aug 12, 2017
It's just a credit card
ZaneP Cardholder

This is my fourth card. I guess they don't like me because the credit report they sent me in the mail (not my CK score) reported that at the time of application my credit was 791 (CK was reporting ~700 at the time for comparison) and I only got a $1,500 limit. I was able to have that raised to $2,500 three months later through the online process without a hard pull. Not a terrible card. I used it for the balance transfer option to write a check to myself so I could buy Ethereum lol. Man was I lucky on that!

But after I paid off the balance transfer two months later, I made a couple purchases on the card. The current variable interest it was showing for me was 14.99%. After paying most of it, I decided to leave a balance for this month, something like 7% of my total credit. As soon as the new statement period began, my interest rate went up to 19.99%.

Now this is the first time I've not paid in full on a card that didn't have a 0% offer. Maybe this is normal. Maybe all credit cards increased your interest rate by 33% if you leave a balance. I don't know. But I didn't like it.

And just like others said, customer service isn't very knowledgeable. They only have a copy of the cardholders agreement that they read to you (seriously, if you have yours you can read along). They can't really explain anything.

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
jms5580 Cardholder

Great card until I was told I had to resolve an unauthorized purchase myself and would not be reimbursed the $100 I was promised to ship items back after I was told to do so.

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
This is my primary.
Seckmonster Cardholder

I don't get why people are upset with this card.  This card gives 2%!  Yes you have to wait a cycle to get it but this is free money.  You can only redeem at $25 but that's only $1,250 dollars spent on the card.  If you aren't spending at least $1,250 every few months then no, this card probably isn't for you.  If you have a low limit, just pay it off more often.  Did I mention that this card gives you 2%?!

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
no introductory apr for purchases
Arfa Cardholder

Be carefull before applying this card does not give any introductory apr on purchases but there is a 0% apr for 18 months on balance transfer.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 09, 2017

I have no Apr on all purchases for 9 months they.never charged me 1 cent

 
Aug 06, 2017
Horrible customer service..RUDE!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service experience was the worst until my closing date!!

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Great so far !!
112995 Cardholder

I just applied for this card today so I'm not sure how great it really is but I got instantly approved for a credit limit of $2800 which is now my highest credit line with me only being 21 that limit will be perfect credit scores tu 715 eq 721.

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
The only credit card you need
jaqueh Cardholder

I started out with a $3700 credit like everyone else now I have $10000. Credit in the high 700s. This is the only card you need. It gets 2% back on everything and I’m using it now to pay off my 2.4% car loan. This is as good as it gets. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 13, 2017

Did you get automatic increases, or did you request them?

 
Aug 01, 2017
Good card
Anonymous Cardholder

I like the dbl cash back it's simple and easy have had two increases so far I have talked to customer service maybe two or three times all of which was simple and straightforward I have had no problems 

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
Simple, easy to understand program

I hate "Points" cards.  If you're like me and you want something simple, with cash back for using the product, this is for you.  I've made literally thousands of dollars since accepting this card a few years ago.  I get 1% cash back right away and another 1% on any balance I pay off as well. Since I pay it off monthly I see money every month.  I'm literally being paid to use the card, free money, a no brainer. I pay the card off monthly so interest doesnt matter to me.  But i literally charge everything I can to maximize the cash back.  LOVE IT!  I even tried the price rewind feature and was shocked it actually worked receiving almost $30 back for some tax software I had purchased and Citi found a lower price for me online.  I also used the rental car insurance option and received money back on a charge I had for a damaged mirror to a rental vehicle. I've never been more impressed with a credit card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card