Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
245 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 19, 2015
Good reward - but with a catch!
Anonymous Cardholder

Initially excited 2% cash back is a great reward. However, the details matter. You don't get the 1% of purchase as you make them - only after the billing statement closes. You MUST pay attention to when you pay the bill -> if you pay the balance too early, don't get the 1% back on of payments. The payments must be captured on a "purchase tracker" -> which can be much later than when you make the charges.

 But what really annoyed me -> they "hold" payments for up to 5 business days.  The payment will show as posted..but will not increase your available balance.  They claim this is to make sure the "funds" clear -- but then why show the payment as posted? It should remain at the status of pending. Also, it doesn't not take 5 business days to clear an online electronic payment, especially when the money is withdrawn from bank account within 2 business days!

I prefer the capital one card 1.5% - it is truly no hassle. Earn cash back immediately, payments that post immediately increase availble balance!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 17, 2017
So far so good
Anonymous Cardholder

I'd been getting mailers weekly from them.  The interest rate slowly dropped a bit lower so I bit the bullet and applied with scores in the mid 600s.  In the weeks prior, I'd been approved for a Delta Skymiles AMEX for $1000 and a Discover IT with an $1800.  I was expecting a similar limit from this card, but was instantly approved with a $3900 limit. The Citicard website had an issue as I was filling out the screen you get after the approval and I never got the email confirmation that I was approved.  Called customer service and it was worked out in about 5 minutes.  We had a minor technical difficulty, but they confirmed that my application and approval had gone through and confirmed my mailing address.  So far it's been easy working with them.  I've only done minor purchases because I'm rotating it with the Discover IT so no comments on their cash back just yet.

more ...
May 13, 2017
SCAM
nounou1 Cardholder

The bank rejected your payment, so it can charge you the interest fee. 

more ...
May 13, 2017
Awesome

My new favorite card.Payments posted within hours.0 Balance posted shortly after.so easy

more ...
May 12, 2017
Deceptive card will backfire eventually
Doublefeesback Cardholder

Be very aware that this card comes with horrific customer service. Representatives will say something incorrect and unless you are smart enough to realize they are wrong you will be mislead. Once you realize you were misguided they have no power to fix it. You will be disappointed in the end. Even paying the full stated monthly balance doesn't protect you from not paying interest. Customer beware

more ...
May 11, 2017
Good card, great 2% cash rewards....
jdragon Cardholder

So I have had this card for about 2.5 years now.  It was 0% at the start.  After the 0% period ended I found out that you have to pay it off in full for 2 months in a row to avoid interest.  Due to the confusion they offerd me a $100 credit for free.  That was nice of them.  I have a 700 score, and perfect pay history with all my cards.  I ask for a credit increase from the $2,500 they gave me, but I have never received it.  I also ask every six months for a reduction in interest and have never received one.   I use this for my business now and usually pay it off 2-3 times in a month and quickly max it out right after.  I get a ton of rewards, usually $100-150 per month, and have not paid interest for months, as long as you manage it closely this is a great card, but don't expect a better deal.

The best part about this card is the fact that I can make a payment and then use the card right away and use up the money that I just paid.   It takes a few days before I have a balance again and can make another payment, but I love this feature.

On a side note after getting rejected for any increase in this card, I just applied and was given $2000 on a totally different Citi card.....

more ...
May 10, 2017
Disappointing
dobeclan Cardholder

Do not be fooled by the TV ad.  The truth about their 1% buy, 1% pay cash back when you pay is you get a big fat -0- until you have earned $25.00 in rewards.  And there interest rate is very high.  Using for interest free period, then paying off and will hold onto for an emergecy credit card.  Not worth getting.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Fantastic card, best of the market!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've own this card for 3 years and it's the best most generous cash back card on the market - 2% cash back on EVERYTHING, no cap, no rotating catergories!  (other cards offer max 1.5%  - Quicksilver and WF Cash Wise).

I've never had any issues with customer service how some reviews say. On the opposite - most issues or questions can be solved online (while other banks require you to download form, print it, sign it, and fax it back to them like it's 19th century LOL) and you get instant decisions. 

The card also has many very valuable benefits from Mastercard World Elite. 

Great card! The only complainers are the ones who don't pay bills on time, or don't pay at all. 

more ...
May 08, 2017
Must jump through hoops to function
garbear60 Cardholder

On line banking won't work with Google Chrome.  Bank wants me to go through a gammut of fixes to make their card functional.  On-line banking site is hyper security to the point of making life miserable.

more ...
May 08, 2017
Don't Bother
anitavinton Cardholder

I applied for this card about 6 months ago with a 12 month 0% introductory rate. After 4 months I am receiving interest charges. I did nothing wrong and have been arguing for days with Citi trying to get this straightened out. They are telling me that I was never given the introductory rate in the first place. If you look at my past statements you can see I was charged no interest. I did not have a late payment so there is no excuse for this. Because of this problem I paid off all my Citi cards and won't use them again. Obviously they have some issues if they can't even tell me what the terms of my card was opened. Good riddance.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2017

I'm not saying you are wrong about getting offered a 0% introductory APR 6 months ago, but I've had this card for a little over 7 months, and there wasn't an offer like that when I applied. There was a 0% introductory balance transfer offer, that's it. Regardless, the 2% cash back on every purchase is hard to beat. Pay off your bill every month, and this card will be worth it.

 
May 05, 2017
So far so good
Anonymous Cardholder

I recieved the cities cash back pre-selected offer in the

mail. I was afraid to apply didn't want to get a hard inquiry on my credit report . Kk said my scores ranged from 643-650 . After reading some reviews I decided to take a chance . 60 seconds approved for 1k . Not disappointed but surprised I got approved . Rebuilding credit the las year and a half . 2 cap1 cards in excellent standings. Thanks Citi . Hope it's a smooth ride having this card . 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card