Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Double Cash Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
236 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 08, 2016
Denied then approved
Anonymous Cardholder

My odds where poor to get this card with 693 tu/694 eq but I received a mailer advising I prequalified for this card so I went to their pre qualify website and was told they could not find an offer for me so I pushed the invite to the side. A few days later I decided to give it a try after getting approved for the Amex Everyday card. I filled out the information and the little wheel spun forever only to deny me. I shrugged my shoulders and said whatever cause I am still trying to build my credit only to check my email that morning and find I had been approved for 3000.00. Kind of weird.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 04, 2016
They are ok but not the best
Gift0805 Cardholder

Pro's

cashback deal

cons

horrible customer service 

hard pulled credit just for a credit increase

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
Dissapointing
Tommy77575 Cardholder

It's a shame they've spent so much money on advertising both here, by sponsoring other credit card and credit websites, on television and across the internet and spent no money on quality customer service.
I've had this card for around two years now, and i'm plagued with a variety of problems. First, my limit has never been increased, with this being my lowest limit card, at 1500$. The cash back perks seemed nice so i ordered cards for my wife and daughter. Between them it's maxed out every week, and even when paying 5000-6000$ a month in payments, being inconveninced constantly to keep my eye on the balance daily on the card, they won't work on the limit. I have a Cap 1 @ 5500 and a discover @ 6000, as well as an Amex Gold w/o limit. Credit Karma rates me at a 748/751.

Adding insult to injury, occasionally your account will be "flagged" when you submit too many payments in too short of a time. Really? So, If i have a low limit, and want to continue using the card, how exactly am i supposed to do that without submitting many payments a month? It gets better. As soon as you are flagged (which they do not call you, or check with you, or send an email, of course not), all of your payments will freeze instead of being instant. I sent in a 900$ payment Nov. 25th and here it is december 4th, and it still hasn't cleared. However i've submitted payments when not flagged of over 1300-1400$ and they were approved instantly. Of course, It's not on my bank's side, as I have verified with them the funds have cleared to the CC. You call the CC, and they want to conference in the bank every time and go through a circus to verify you have the funds available to actually cover the bill.

Oh, and the 2% cash back only counts for the first 75$. so all those large purchases don't win you any more cash back than gas station purchases. I'm over 25k into the card this year in spending with just over 215$ in reward points.

I'm so disappointed in this card. I've had to deal with my daughter at gas stations with her CC getting declined out of town because they are holding payments because we were "flagged" for sending in too many payments. I've called customer service several times and they do nothing. They keep telling you how sorry they are, but what they really mean is how sorry CitiBank and this card is. I will be getting Cap 1 or Discover cards for my wife and daughter, and ditching this card at the 2 year mark... that is, if they will ever show my payments as cleared.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
approved 724 for $1700
DustanD Cardholder

Applied and was approved with a 724 score for $1700 limit. Have used Citi for business never had any issues with them and enjoy their email for each transaction with an amount.

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Excited!
hrupp22 Cardholder

 I have poor chances of an approval on this card but I took a chance got a small line of $500. I was not smart with my credit when I was younger so I rebuilding my credit (644 TU). I plan to put this to the side when I get it and only use it for gas then pay off immediately. Hoping to get a high limit in a short time for emergencies. Here's to the future!

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
Great card for me & never any CSR issues
valleyman0724 Cardholder

I've been using this card for well over 2 years and have never had any issues with the card or customer service.  I have charged over $8000 in single purchases without ever having a charge declined.  I mention this because I notice this came up a lot in reading the negative reviews.  I have had to open disputes on 3 different occasions and all were decided in my favor after no more than a few days.  I like being able to pay as many times as I like in a month before the bill prints so that I get the entire 2% cash back for all my purchases when the billing cycle closes.  The payments I make online are always credited to my available credit immediately.  I have used the price rewind feature which is really nice about this card.  My credit limit is roughly 24000, but it started out at 15000.  You can request credit limit increases I believe every 6 months or so without them doing a hard credit inquiry.  I have no idea what my interest rate is and I don't care since I pay in full every month.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
card is ok customer service is horrendou
rebrach Cardholder

I LOST MY CARD.  TOOK 3X WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE TO GET IT CANCELLED.  NO ONE HELPS . BY THE 3RD TIME I CANCELLED IT.  THEY ASSURED ME IT WAS CANCELLED.  GUESS WHAT CAME IN THE MAIL TODAY.  A NEW CREDIT CARD.   I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH CITI

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

Shouldn't you have gotten the card though? You cancel the card because it was lost. How could you use a card without having one?
Canceling the account is different.

 
Nov 18, 2016
Low credit limit. Poor customer service.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have 800+ credit score.  Citibank only gave me 1000.00 limit  credit.  They took a hard pull on my credit to get the card.  I have asked for an increase of credit and they require a second hard pull of my credit.  

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Best cashback and pricerewind
jonsnow7 Cardholder

Awesome Card. Have a limit of 9,000

Apart from the main 2% cashback, I love many other features. 

I really love Price rewind feature. While shopping, there was always fear that price may reduce. But with Price rewind, you get money back for the reduced difference, once you register the product. Though not all store items are covered. I was able to search most of my purchases.

Great customer care. Increased the Credit Limit twice, without any hard enquiry. Actually, I was a Thank you Card holder and later requested change to this card.

Fraud activity, immediately refunded the money and got a new card in few days.

Reflects payment immediately.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Solid
LG2016 Cardholder

Was pre-approved for this card while trying to build credit. Around 620 when approved, low limit (only 800) but it's a start! Instant approval once I checked the offer.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 19, 2016

What's your income? Mine is rather low since I'm a college student (20K) and I feel like that'll cause me to be denied if I applied. I'm pre-approved but I still want some info before my credit takes the hit and apply for it.

 
Nov 14, 2016
It's a 2% rewards card, okay
Louie0711 Cardholder

Got approved when I received an offer through the mail, but really disappointed with a measly $1000 credit limit? What the heck was that?  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 19, 2016

Hey Louie07011, just cancel and send it back! #UNgrateful

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card

236 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i