Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
231 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 19, 2015
Good reward - but with a catch!
Anonymous Cardholder

Initially excited 2% cash back is a great reward. However, the details matter. You don't get the 1% of purchase as you make them - only after the billing statement closes. You MUST pay attention to when you pay the bill -> if you pay the balance too early, don't get the 1% back on of payments. The payments must be captured on a "purchase tracker" -> which can be much later than when you make the charges.

 But what really annoyed me -> they "hold" payments for up to 5 business days.  The payment will show as posted..but will not increase your available balance.  They claim this is to make sure the "funds" clear -- but then why show the payment as posted? It should remain at the status of pending. Also, it doesn't not take 5 business days to clear an online electronic payment, especially when the money is withdrawn from bank account within 2 business days!

I prefer the capital one card 1.5% - it is truly no hassle. Earn cash back immediately, payments that post immediately increase availble balance!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 25, 2017
Excellent Cash Back Credit Card
rakurl2 Cardholder

After two years - this card is used for around 70% of all purchases. No hassles. Excellent customer service. Highly recommended.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Love the rewards, good CS and feature app
9105watts Cardholder

Title hits the mark pretty well. Haven't had the card long and have already racked up some good rewards. I had a fraud prevention team contact me, no issues there helpful people, and I'm enjoying their mobile app. Oh and I can also attest to the fact you can increase your limit in only 60 days, easily done also on the app

more ...
Jun 22, 2017

Hello, which credit bureau did they use?

 
Jun 22, 2017

So, you haven't had the card long but you already have rewards? 🤔I had mines for 3 months and they didn't give me my rewards. I hope your experience is different from mines. CitiBank is a horrible organization, hope you can actually collect on your rewards. Stay blessed.

 
Jun 17, 2017
They pre approve you, for $500 credit lm
aapeshave Cardholder

They pre apporved me for many different citi cards, so after getting so many requests from mail, I applied for one for the card. 

I got pre approved for $500 yeah that too with free balence transfer. Just Imagine, you can use $500 for balence transfer, great idea right?

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
CitiBank WILL LIE TO YOU
Luke330285 Cardholder

I applied and was approved in March, 2017 for the 0% APR for 18 months and 0% APR for 4 months on balance transfer, so I thought. My limit was $1700. I figured since i dont have to worry about interest for 18 months I could afford to buy much needed items for the house. I charged $1600 to the card. I wasnt until after May I looked at my statement and realized they were charging me interest for entire time. At first I was calm, thinking they just made a mistake and all would be fine after a phone call. I called told them about the charges, then they acted as if that wasn't a promotion. I became furious and immediately paid the card off in full. I asked for my cashback reward and they said it was under the redeemable limit which is $50. After all of that I cancelled the card. PLEASE TAKE MY ADVICE AND DONT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY. Corporations like this dont deserve to have our money. I have 3 other credit cards and never had these types of issues. I hope my review saves someone time and money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 25, 2017

You understand that a balance transfer is not a new purchase right? A balance transfer is where you transfer your debt from one lender to another. Citibank didn't like, you just didn't understand the terms of the agreement.

 
Jun 15, 2017
Worst Customer Service of Any Bank
Anonymous Cardholder

Go with Discover or Amex as they are far superior. Citi has terrible customer service and doesn't want your business, whereas Discover and Amex will work to serve you. 

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
Been Beneficial So Far
ztaylor10122 Cardholder

I have seen the reviews of this card online, both good and bad. I have yet to have a problem with the company. They are straightforward and tell me when things are due, and how much to pay them. I recommend them to people if you can get it. I also am someone who will pay with the cash I have rather than borrow, but they haven't made me regret anything!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 22, 2017

They are liars. But it's good that your experience is different from mines.

 
Jun 09, 2017
Does what it says on the tin.
ElrondBunson Cardholder

I've had the card for over 2 years now... I have a couple other specialty category cars, but this is my general use (everything else) card. 2% is a nice floor. The limit started low, but Citi lets you request an increasse every 6 months or so with no hard pull. I've been approved for most of those.

All-in-all this card has been good to me.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Its okay
Anonymous Cardholder

I actually applied for a Best buy card and was denied. Then I received a email from Citi for the Double Cash card. I was approved with a $800 limit. I've only have the card going on 2 months. My credit scores was in the low 600's. I just started actually building my credit within the past few months. So after I applied and was approved for this card, I was reading mixed and complex reviews. The card seems okay. I did try to hit the love button but yeah, that was a no go lol. When Citi pulled my credit they pulled from all 3 bureaus. But not shortly after I was approved I received a sign-up offer with Fifth Third Trio. I seem to like that card as well. But the card you will get more rewards is actually the Chase Amazon Prime Visa. Hope this helps. Oh yeah i also have Capital One Quicksilver, not Quicksilver one!

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
Worst card when looking for credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not apply if you are looking for good credit limit. I've a credit score of 775 and got a credit limit fo $2600/-.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Citi® Double Cash Card