Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Double Cash Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
210 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Citi® Double Cash Card offers both an attractive rewards plan and a 0% intro APR, making it a good option for consumers with good credit.

What to Like

You can earn 1% cash back on all purchases, and an additional 1% when you pay back those purchases. There are no cash back limits or rotating categories. The Citi® Double Cash Card also offers a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for 18 months.

Look Out For

The Citi® Double Cash Card charges a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) fee for any balance transfer and 3% for foreign transactions.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 22, 2016
Wanted Equifax Score
StillAmShocked09 Cardholder

Hey everyone, I applied for this card and was approved for $3,700. I was hoping for a higher limit, but I guess that will have to do for now. My current fico scores are 711 though both Transunion and Experian. I'm not sure what my Equifax fico score is, but guess what? That's why I got this card. Discover shows my Transunion score, AMEX shows my Experian score, and I was told that Citi shows the Equifax score. After logging in my account for the first time today, I can confirm that this card shows your Equifax score. It won't show mine until my first statement though, as I just activated the card today. So now I get my fico scores for free from every credit bureau. Here are my current credit card limits:

American Express Everyday Preferred: $8,000

Capital One Quicksilver: $6,500

Discover It: $2,300

Citi Double Cash: $3,700

By the way, my credit score was in the 500's a couple years back because of some stupid decisions I made in the past, and my little knowledge at the time of how credit worked. My advice is to be patient, pay your bills on time, keep your credit utilization below 30%, and ask for higher limits from your credit cards every 6 months (most credit cards will not do a hard pull for this, and if they do, they'll let you know). Your score will creep back up slowly. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 08, 2016
Denied then approved
Anonymous Cardholder

My odds where poor to get this card with 693 tu/694 eq but I received a mailer advising I prequalified for this card so I went to their pre qualify website and was told they could not find an offer for me so I pushed the invite to the side. A few days later I decided to give it a try after getting approved for the Amex Everyday card. I filled out the information and the little wheel spun forever only to deny me. I shrugged my shoulders and said whatever cause I am still trying to build my credit only to check my email that morning and find I had been approved for 3000.00. Kind of weird.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 17, 2016
Please dont Apply
RakeshRoshan Cardholder

The card start applying APR from the date you purchase.It says 0% APR for 18 months but there was no such offers.It starts appying APR from the start of the purchase.The customer care is not at all cooperative and unwilling to listen to your issues.

I have stopped using this card and will not use it in future.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Citi bank - awful service
CAbTXr89 Cardholder

Do your research and read all the fine print and definitely do not rely on the customer service reps to give you correct information. The only mistake i have done was listen to them and their misguided information. Now i have multiple late fees and they will not do anything but say sorry and they don't know why their rep would say that and they will have to be retrained. The way their system works is that they will schedule a call back with a manager within 24-48 hr(call not guaranteed) to resolve issue, if that call is not made you have to call back and reschedule. That is it thats all they can do i have scheduled a call back 4 times now within two weeks. so I'm stuck paying for their mistake i would HIGHLY SUGGEST TO USE A DIFFERENT BANK

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Low Limits
Aquaplex21 Cardholder

Got approved with CK score of 750.  I have a good income, but got a measly $1,200 CL.. We shall see going forward if they bump this up.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They don't seem to give credit increases quickly. Got my card with a 700 ish rating. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
cc950 Cardholder

Applied with a score of 728, got approved. Great card, and 2% cash back.

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Approved $8500 SL
markbank Cardholder

Was concerned about applying due to many comments about low limits, but decided to go for it.   Online application was put in pending status, but after a quick call to recon I was approved with a $8500 SL -- lower than my other cards but not bad.   790+ FICO (Experian), no negatives, no prior HPs.

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
Excellent Everyday Card
mgerlicki Cardholder

I previously had the Citi Diamond Mastercard and was given an option to convert to this card, I'm glad I did, so much so that this is now my primary card.  The card does exactly as advertised, you get 1% with the purchase and another 1% on payment.  There's 4 options for benefits redemption: Gift Card, Statement Credit, Direct Deposit, or Check.  I use the Direct Deposit, which does work to non-Citi accounts (though it takes 2+ months to get setup because you'd had to pay the bill from that account at least twice).  If you choose Statement Credit it doesn't help you earn that second 1% though, since it's not a true "payment".

In addition to the base benefits, the card often offers balance transfers at 0%, and sometimes promotional APR rates (currently I have one for 5.99% until March 2017, lower than my usual 12.24%).  And the card came with Chip+PIN out of the gate, no having to spend time requesting it.  Finally I noticed today they increased my credit limit without me having to call and ask.

Overall the card experience has been wonderful, the website is easy to use (this includes payments, statements, redemptions, and viewing your FICO score).  If you have good credit, this is a very nice addition.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016

How long had you had the card before they increased your limit? Was it a big increase?

Oct 16, 2016

I've had the card account (under the Diamond version) since 2011, however only used infrequently in recent years. After ~2 months of upgrading to this one (same account number) and using the card daily they increased my limit from $9,800 to $14,000. Scores 800+.

Oct 08, 2016
AmexPRGmember Cardholder

Approved for $1500 (lowest limit out of all my credit cards). After applied 3 days later called customer service to follow up on my status.

675 experian fico score / 21 hard inquiries / 66% untilization / 2 years / 1 year aaoa

i had this card for about 2 months but i havent had any problems yet.

2% cash back after i pay off full.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Easy to use
hot1coco Cardholder

Applied 730 credit score and was approved for $3400 limit.  Really have no complaints.  You use it, get 1% back, you pay it off, get another 1 %.  Have the option to redeem your rewards ($25 minimum) as giftcards to places like amazon, starbucks, barnes and noble, etc., as a statment credit, a check, or direct deposit into your account.  

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Fanchon1980 Cardholder

CK said my chances were POOR. But guess what I didn't a pre-appoval and got 1k cl. Had a 700 TU and 680 EQ. YAYYYY

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Double Cash Card

210 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i