Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 23, 2016
Denied with approval odds of 'Very Good'

Also had a 668 and 671 credit score.

more ...
 

Reviews (214)

Add Review
Sep 26, 2016

Applied with a credit karma score of 713. Approved right away with a $5,000 limit and the highest APR rate. So far, so good, excited to begin working towards that signing bonus. 

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous

$30k credit limit. Love the reward program

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
CAPITAL ONE VENTURE-bad customer service

I applied for CAPITAL ONE VENTURE card on 8/24/16 and my credit scores according to Credit Karma on 8/23/16 were: TransUnion 793 and Equifax - 809.

I specifically needed only a VISA (not a Mastercard) to use at Costco.  I couldn't determine if the card was a Visa or Mastercard so I began chatting with REX the online help person and he confirmed that "a Venture Card IS A VISA".     Based on his info I applied for the card.  I pasted our online conversation into an email to myself which I have saved.

The card arrived yesterday and it is a MASTERCARD...NOT A VISA. I called Capital One and gave them the above info.  They didn't have a firm answer as to why it was not a VISA but speculated that using a third party website (Credit Karma) somehow converted it to a MASTERCARD.  I asked for the Supervisor who's name is Winston to fix it and he said he could not and that there were no other Supervisors above him!  He said I could cancel the new MASTERCARD I just received and re-apply for the VISA CARD IN 6 MONTHS!!      WHAT....???  I need it now!!

What will that do to my credit scores?

My second point is how does Credit Karma show the scores I listed above but the approval letter I received from CAPITAL ONE dated 8/24/16 shows TransUnion score of 695 as opposed to 793 as reported to me from Credit Karma for the same day??  WHICH ONE IS CORRECT??

IS CREDIT KARMA GIVING US ACCURATE SCORES??

This has turned into a nightmare and now I'm not sure we should be trusting Credit Karma for accurate scores.

If Credit Karma converts all applications to MasterCard that should be BOLDLY discussed on the web site.

AND, CAPITAL ONE HAS LOUSY CUSTOMER SERVICE WITH NO MEANS OF RECTIFYING  A SERIOUS ISSUE.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016

Mastercard always starts with the number 5.
Visa always starts with the number 4.
Amex always starts with the number 3.

 
Sep 15, 2016

My capital one venture is visa

 
Sep 23, 2016

You will likely never get the same scores from any reportimg agency. Credit Karma is not, to lenders nor to us, a credit reporting agency. From what I have read, and slso learned the hard way, is the scores on credit karma, and others, are "educational" scores. What that means to us, I have no idea. Until we are given an explanation of what we do with, *** we translate the "educational" scorrs, they may as well not have any.

We will never get our FICO score other than to get upur free annual report from each agency and then pay them for your FICO score. But, do not expect them to match. There is nothing about the varied systems/methods that make sense to me. My information here on CK is not correct. That affects myvscore herem which, ascan educational score, again, means nothing to me. I wish it was our true FICO score. Basically, maybe this can be used to see changes if it goes up or down....MAYBE..

 
Sep 09, 2016
CAPITAL ONE VENTURE-bad customer service

I applied for CAPITAL ONE VENTURE card on 8/24/16 and my credit scores according to Credit Karma on 8/23/16 were: TransUnion 793 and Equifax - 809.

I specifically needed only a VISA (not a Mastercard) to use at Costco.  I couldn't determine if the card was a Visa or Mastercard so I began chatting with REX the online help person and he confirmed that "a Venture Card IS A VISA".     Based on his info I applied for the card.  I pasted our online conversation into an email to myself which I have saved.

The card arrived yesterday and it is a MASTERCARD...NOT A VISA. I called Capital One and gave them the above info.  They didn't have a firm answer as to why it was not a VISA but speculated that using a third party website (Credit Karma) somehow converted it to a MASTERCARD.  I asked for the Supervisor who's name is Winston to fix it and he said he could not and that there were no other Supervisors above him!  He said I could cancel the new MASTERCARD I just received and re-apply for the VISA CARD IN 6 MONTHS!!      WHAT....???  I need it now!!

What will that do to my credit scores?

My second point is how does Credit Karma show the scores I listed above but the approval letter I received from CAPITAL ONE dated 8/24/16 shows TransUnion score of 695 as opposed to 793 as reported to me from Credit Karma for the same day??  WHICH ONE IS CORRECT??

IS CREDIT KARMA GIVING US ACCURATE SCORES??

This has turned into a nightmare and now I'm not sure we should be trusting Credit Karma for accurate scores.

If Credit Karma converts all applications to MasterCard that should be BOLDLY discussed on the web site.

AND, CAPITAL ONE HAS LOUSY CUSTOMER SERVICE WITH NO MEANS OF RECTIFYING A SERIOUS ISSUE WHICH WAS CAUSED BY THEM.

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Approved
Ricky0118 Cardholder

Score was 733 for both and credit karma shows my odds as "good". Only have 2 other cards with $300 and $2100 limits. Income $80k. Was approved for $15,000 for the venture card

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Very generous limit

I applied with a 790+ score @ 22 years old and was granted a $15K limit after not opening a card for a year. Very excited to earn miles and continue growing my credit!

more ...
Sep 06, 2016

674 experian and around same for TU and Equifax. I applied and got the 7-10 notice. 4 days later on 9/6/2016 I got a little saying I was approved for 10k! I have a Cap one Platnium card and auto loan with them. 2 collection almost ready to come off. looks like a great "dream" card!

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Excellence Card and Benefits
Anonymous Cardholder

The only two negative opinions I have about this card are the annual fee (which is quite low compared to barclays or other travel cards but if you call and talk to them, they will waive the annual fee) and that the points are only worth half a cent if you redeem for statement credit. Therefore the 40,000 points you can earn are worth $400 in travel or $200 in statement credit. Therefore if you travel alot it is an excellent card to have. I like the customer service, I had two issues with a jeweler and rental car company where I given fake product and given false information by employees. Capital One stuck behind me 100%, they gave me an immediate credit and handled everything. In both situations I didn't have to provide any documents, or evidence. Not sure if I just got lucky or if Capital One did an excellent job but either way they helped me during two frustrating times. If you want any everyday card and travel alot, this is a definite keeper, but if you want cash back or statement credit, go with Quicksilver or Citibank Double Cash.

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Worth a shot!

Was scared to apply to get denied and ding my credit. Credit Karma had my score around 710. I applied and got approved.

with a $20000 limit! And capital one only showed my credit score as 670!

this is my first rewards card, and I'm super excited!

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card to have, I was instantly approved for 15k with a 685 score. I have since added Capital One Qucksilver, Amex, Discover, and Barclay world card. I have been very diligent with paying off each card every month I use them and carry minimal balances generally only a couple hundred dollars at best.  

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

214 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i