Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 23, 2016
Denied with approval odds of 'Very Good'

Also had a 668 and 671 credit score.

more ...

Reviews (223)

Add Review
Oct 22, 2016
Good rewards, easy approval, high APR
AuburnFootballFan Cardholder

One of the primary things I was looking for when reading these reviews were credit scores of those who applied. I wanted to see if I would qualify as well. So, let me cut directly to the chase:

According to my CK scores, I had 684 (TU) and 682 (EQ). FICO 8 scores were 671 (EQ), 631 (TU) and 685 (EX). I was instantly approved with a $15k limit and 23.24% APR.

Some of the surrounding factors that may have played a role in approval:

- I applied online even though I was not pre-approved by CapitalOne.

- I have an existing secured credit card with CapOne that has a two year history and all on time payments.

- Although I occassionally carry a balance on the secured card, I normally pay it off and it currently has $0 on it.

- I have an auto loan with CapOne that is one year old and all on time payments.

- I have a good salary, between $75-99k.

- I have no mortgage payment as my home is paid for.

I hope this helps others.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Denied at 667 and 'Very Good' Approval

Capital One denied me at 667 and 'Very Good' Approval Odds. seriously?!  Glad I was approved by Amex and Bank of America. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016

Ck approval odds very good. Pre checked on capital one said pre qualified. 714,712. Applied online. Said 7-10. Fraud prevention called to verified I had applied I said I did. They said 7-10 days. I called 3 days later and found out I was approved for 20k CL. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
NOT approved with 805 excellent score

Only credit card I've ever been declined for. Absolutely ridiculous with an 805-810 score depending on which agency is used. They also send me "pre-approved" offers. Very unprofessional as this will obviously hurt my credit.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016

They are a godsend for those concerned about their credit worthiness!

more ...
Oct 15, 2016

I was a Chase customer since 1998. I applied for this card as a new account and received the card! I was told by customer service that I would be eligible for the bonus rewards points as it was a new account. They however, rolled over my old account to a new card. After I made enough purchases to achieve the rewards bonus, they told me I wasn't eligible for the bonus points! Unless they contact me with an apology and the points they owe me, I'll never be a Chase customer again and will try to dissuade anyone I know from using them as well!

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
This is my "Go To" card, ..always.
ElGuapo15 Cardholder

This credit card is for the very "savvy"  credit card user and those that know how to spend only what is intended within the monthly budget.  This card I use for any and every purchase someone make without paying really high card fees.  Also, the card miles can be used in various ..hotel , airline trip, credit toward purchase and gift card purchases.  I'm really glad I acquired the card and seriously the customer service agents are great, no problems at all.  Pay your charges right away and you will not pay any charges in interest.  Thank you Capital One.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016

Approved! My credit score is a healthy 715 with no derogatory marks, but I wasn't sure whether or not I would be approved since I have a limited credit history of only 3 years ( very poor ). Credit Karma helped me compare different travel rewards cards and helped me narrow down my approval odds. I travel from Hawaii to Australia and New Zealand at least once a year and I ended up choosing the Venture card over the Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines reward cards. Double miles on every purchase adds up quickly even if you only use this card on select purchases every month since the points never expire. I love how easy the points are to redeem! Great costumer service too.

more ...
Sep 26, 2016

Applied with a credit karma score of 713. Approved right away with a $5,000 limit and the highest APR rate. So far, so good, excited to begin working towards that signing bonus. 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

223 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i