Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.3113 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.9% - 22.9%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.9% - 22.9%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 13, 2015
Not as good as it used to be
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for about 6 years, and have always been happy with it until recently. The customer service has decreased dramatically. I used to call and chat with someone whenever I had an issue and they were always super friendly and helpful, answered all of my questions and basically just talked to me like I was an intelligent human being.  Recently, there were some fraudulent charges made to my card, so I called customer service to have them reversed.  Capital One definitely took care of the charges, that was not the issue.  The issue was that the people that they have managing the call center now don't talk to you like you are a person - they read from scripts and do that obnoxious placating thing where they just repeat what you have just said as if they "understand" but really have no idea what you are actually asking them. It took me 3 phone calls, 4 representatives and an hour and half out of my work day to get this figured out. It was very frustrating. One of the things I really liked about this card was that it was so easy to talk to somone in customer service and have a real conversation. It's obvious that they have outsourced their call centers, which would be fine, except now the reps talk to you like a small child instead of an adult person.

more ...

Reviews (106)

Add Review
Nov 19, 2015
Immediate approval at 30k
BradyAZ Cardholder

I was really surprised to get immediate approval, and at $30,000! Credit Karma listed me as a "fair" chance so I decided to go for it. I had really been wanting a decent rewards card to start using.

Below are my details so you can use them for comparison if you are interested in applying:

CK Credit Scores   710/740

Utilization/ Pay History/ Derog Marks  = all Excellent

Total Accounts = Good

Age of History/Inquiries =  Very poor

More details: $115,000 household income, New car loan opened in December 2014, Mortgage opened April 2015, 1 credit card ($1000 limit). Credit card started as a secured card and I converted it to an unsecured after a couple years. I had many collections in the past that were all settled. I beleive that two of these collections were actually cards low limit Capital One cards, so they do forgive and forget young mistakes.

Good Luck!

more ...
Nov 18, 2015
My every day card
Anonymous Cardholder

Really love this card, this year (my first year as a Venture card owner) I've used $600 from points for my vacation. Love the wallet app. The only thing. I want to use it with my Samsung pay, not only with the wallet app, because wallet app uses NFC technology, but Samsung pay is way better, with it I can pay at any business that has regular card reader. This is my only complain. Otherwise, great.

more ...
Nov 11, 2015
CapitalOne Venture!!!

I just applied for the Venture Card and was approved for $10,000.00!! I like everyone else was a little hesitant on applying due to worrying about the hard inquiry and not totally being sure of approval. CK stated that I had "Very Good" odds on approval so I rolled the dice...Thanks Credit Karma!! I also immediately applied for Quicksilver and was approved for a nice amount as well! I just took a 7pt. hit but it was well worth it!! CK TU 697 / Exp 679 - CapOne Secure $300.00 - CapOne Platinum $750.00 - CapOne QuickSilver - CapOne Venture  - Thanks Capital One!!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2015
sotheavy Cardholder

I applied for this card as soon as my score hit the 700 range and I got approved for 10k. I love to travel so this card is perfect for me.

more ...
Nov 09, 2015
15k credit limit with a 683 TU score

Ive been working on my credit for a little over a year. I have a capital one platinum card with a 500 CL. Ive had that card going on 2 years. Finally it was time to apply for anoth card, after reading the reviews i decided it wa s worth the inquiry to apply. I applied right here on CK and was instantly approved for 15k. I almost fell off my chair. I called to make sure there wasnt a mistake and low and behold, everything was correct. Havent received the card yet..but so far so good.

more ...
Oct 27, 2015
capital one is awesome BK rebounders!

CK rated me to be 'fair" when applying. I was BK13 discharged last 2/15 and started finding ways to build my credit. I applied for Cap1 QS for a $500CL 2 months after the discharge and then a month after followed by Cap1 Platinum for another $500 CL. Three month later I applied for Cap1 Venture-One Card and was approved for $10K CL. In this 5 months I've been paying off the balance on the 3 cards. On my 6th month with cap1, they've increased my credit line to $5K & 6K for the Platinum and QS respectively. Today after 7monthswith cap 1 I applied for the Cap1 Venture and got approved for a whpping $30K CL. I could not believe that in a few span of time, I can starting rebuilding my credit. My scores are EQFX: 684, TU:705. I also learned to be more on top of my finances now! 

more ...
Nov 09, 2015

I don't understand something. Did you apply for the same venture card twice and got $10k the first time and $3k the second time? Or did you request a CLI on the venture you had brining it from $10k to $30k

Oct 22, 2015
Approved for $30K with a "Fair" CK Chanc

In 2008 my scores for all three agencies were in the low 500s.  I worked hard to pay of my debt and learned to manage debt much better - as of this morning, my scores are all in the high 700s.  CK rated my chances of getting approved as "Fair" so I was hesitant to apply - after reading the reviews from others, I thought I would give it a shot.  I am planning to travel for the next 6-8 months and like the rewards / perks of this card.  The application process was very quick and I got immediately approved for $30,000!  Note that I do have two other cards with Capital One - both with low limits ($2.5k and $3k) - and I have had those cards for a long time.  I listen to Dave Ramesy and do follow some of his advice - while I have credit cards (he states not to have any), I NEVER carry a balance.  If I charge on a particular card, I wait a couple of days and then pay that charge off.  I will never come remotely close to the limit on this new card; however, it is nice to know - and makes me feel good / proud of myself in a way - that I was able to receive such a high limit.

more ...
Oct 09, 2015
Instantly Approved for 15K
Pchocolate07 Cardholder

Read awesome reward reviews about this card so decided to give it a try and was instantly approved for 15K with a CK score of 701. I am excited to get this card and rack up on some miles at 2x miles per dollar!!!!!!!! 

more ...
Oct 07, 2015
Good Rewards card...Approved!

I just recently got approved.   CK gave me approval rating of "fair "  but i was approved in less than a minute witn a credit limit of 15 000.00.  Capital One gives such a great credit line and is really good about credit line increases. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2015
Great Card. Just got approved!

Just got approved...12% interest...15000.00 limit.. ive been waiting for this card.   my research has been extensive & careful,   most airline card charge a hefty annual fee and only give one mile per dollar spent. Venure Card will give 2 miles per dollar spent.   Also, Capital One is very generous with their credit limits and will charge a small annual fee when compared to most airline cards.  This is where the Venture Card stands out,   annual fee of 59 dollars , much less than citi american airlines card and chase united airline card..they both charge 95 dollar annual fee.  With Chase and Citi they state the miles dont expire..ok..but Cap One states no "black dates" as well.  CK  gave me a fair chance for approval with the Venure Card, however ive gone through the "pre qualified" screening, i applied after being pre approved.  thus , ill get the card soon. i'll post more info after i start using the card. Cant wait. 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

106 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i