Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 13, 2015
Not as good as it used to be
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for about 6 years, and have always been happy with it until recently. The customer service has decreased dramatically. I used to call and chat with someone whenever I had an issue and they were always super friendly and helpful, answered all of my questions and basically just talked to me like I was an intelligent human being.  Recently, there were some fraudulent charges made to my card, so I called customer service to have them reversed.  Capital One definitely took care of the charges, that was not the issue.  The issue was that the people that they have managing the call center now don't talk to you like you are a person - they read from scripts and do that obnoxious placating thing where they just repeat what you have just said as if they "understand" but really have no idea what you are actually asking them. It took me 3 phone calls, 4 representatives and an hour and half out of my work day to get this figured out. It was very frustrating. One of the things I really liked about this card was that it was so easy to talk to somone in customer service and have a real conversation. It's obvious that they have outsourced their call centers, which would be fine, except now the reps talk to you like a small child instead of an adult person.

more ...
 

Reviews (152)

Add Review
Apr 27, 2016
Excellent Card
keeleyson Cardholder

Chapter 7 in 2012.  This is the 4th Capital One card that I have.  Applied at their website and was instantly approved for $7500.  Very pleased.

more ...
Apr 25, 2016

Applied for both venture and quicksilver, like 2 mins apart. Got the 7-10 day pending decision. Called today and was informed that i was approved for 5K on the venture but denied on the quicksilver due to a pending application which is the venture. Called recon line asked if they could reconsider the quick silver but theres nothing they can do. Still approved for 5k inspite a few baddies on my report. CK 699 and 701. Actual fico is 682 across. Derogatory account  1.4 years ago and 2 30 day late 2.8 years ago. Thanks cap 1

more ...
Apr 25, 2016

Applied for both venture and quicksilver, like 2 mins apart. Got the 7-10 day pending decision. Called today and was informed that i was approved for 5K on the venture but denied on the quicksilver due to a pending application which is the venture. Called recon line asked if they could reconsider the quick silver but theres nothing they can do. Still approved for 5k inspite a few baddies on my report. CK 699 and 701. Actual fico is 682 across. Derogatory account  1.4 years ago and 2 30 day late 2.8 years ago. Thanks cap 1

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
Morning Surprise!!!
Tinadaley Cardholder

EQ 708 TU 707

I applied for this card a week ago online and the decision was they need more time to review. I auotmatically thought I got decline. This morning I woke up to a very nice surprise!!! Saying my new credit card was shipped (OMG??) I called Capital One and the wonderful gentleman told me I got approved for a credit line of $10,000. I nearly fainted!!! I never thought It wouldve been so high especially when my odds on Credit Karma were 'good'. 

more ...
Apr 19, 2016
Best Card!
Tlcampbell2007 Cardholder

I got this card last year and was approved with a $10,000 limit.  My credit score was around 720ish and I've loved having it thus far although I haven't had any automatic credit limit increases which worries me.  All of my other cards have increased, I've read that this is common with Capital One but luckily I got a good starting credit limit so it's really not that much of an issue for me!

The rewards are awesome and they are even better now, when I signed on there was a 20,000mile bonus and I think now its 40,000 miles which is AMAZING.  The rewards website is kind of dated looking but hey, it's free stuff I will learn to work it.  I earn miles on almost everything I think and have 0% APR for a while.  I'd highly recommend this. 

more ...
Apr 10, 2016
Justin2327 Cardholder

Had a poor chance of getting this card but was instantly approved for 5k. Had 674TU/677EQ and just got my first card in nov. Applied directly thru cap one website.

more ...
Apr 10, 2016
RNgil Cardholder

First of its kind card that actually made me personally call the company that I am disputing a charge with. AND, they made me pay what I was disputing about. Careful with disputes, this company is the opposite of customer service. Be ready to wait and get passed by customer representatives and their closed dispute department. So sad.. 

more ...
Apr 09, 2016
We shall see

I applied for the Capital One Venture Rewards credit card this morning right after applying for the Capital One Quicksilver. I was approved for a $15,000 limit. I honestly don't know how. This is the highest limit card I have ever been approved for. My collection in my wallet includes a Credit One Bank card, $850 limit (was $600 last month), a Capital One QuicksilverOne ($4,250), and these new cards, the Venture and the Quicksilver (approved for $10k). 

This is what I have been doing: A year ago when I got my car, I was charged 14.4% interest because I had a 605 score (horrible I know...), this is when I joined Credit Karma, so I could take control of my credit. I opened my Credit One Bank card at this same time. I was not smart with my existing Capital One card and my new Credit One Bank card, so I maxed them out. In December I decided to take charge and started paying down my debt on these cards. I was about 3k in credit card debt, and currently (5 months later, I still have about $1500 on my QuicksilverOne). By disputing some old information, paying down my debt, and never missing a payment (I have had perfect payments now for exactly two years) I was able to increase my Credit Karma scores to TU 670 & EQ 701, myfico.com: all in upper 680's.

NOW, this is what I did specifically with my Cap One QuicksilverOne (limit $4250): last month I had to purchase something for my store that was $550, plus I charged everything I could to it, then went home and submitted a payment for it, but rounded up since I still owe $1500 or so. When I was reimbursed I paid that towards the card immediately. I also charged the phone bill to it and paid it off a week or so later. So basically, I charged the crap out of the card and made huge payments multiple times a month. (I have been doing this strategy for two months).

NEXT, when I applied, I made sure to determine if I was pre-qualified. I was pre-qualified for both the Quicksilver and the Venture. I answered all of the questions honestly, BUT when it asked for the amount spent on credit cards monthly, I put $1,000. I was also asked if I would carry a balance. I chose "rarely."

In conclusion, I do not have this card to be able to rate, but I wanted to give you guys all the info that I had to be able to get approved for this ridiculous limit. PLEASE ask questions, I would love to help!

more ...
Apr 18, 2016

How did you check to see if you were prequalified ?

 
Apr 22, 2016

Very nice I information, thanks!!

 
Apr 08, 2016
Great rewards program and fast approval
Markorganizes Cardholder

My score was 720. Just purchased a house so score took a dip (inquiry and cash flow for the house). I applied and was approved in about minutes with a limit of $30,000.

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Solid workhorse rewards card.
Anonymous Cardholder

Nice 2x point scheme and easy to use rewards accrued.  

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

152 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i