Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 01, 2016
Approval odds- very good.. NOT.

Based on CK review and suggestion applied for this card, was not approved even though credit score was in the mid range of their approval range.  Picked this one based on the "VERY GOOD"  suggestion here at Credit Karma

more ...
 

Reviews (190)

Add Review
Jul 20, 2016
Thrilled with this card
fortyeight4848 Cardholder

Applied for the Venture after pre-approval on their site and instantly approved for $15,000 with FICO 8 scores in the 670-680's, income $75k, and after having a Cap1 secured card for one year (high usage, low utilization, paid in full every month).  Approval brought all 3 FICO scores into the 690's. Great customer service, needed a new card because chip was scratched in a chip reader and wouldn't work anymore - called and was off the phone in under 5 minutes and had my new card the next day. Bonus rewards (40,000 miles) automatically appeared a few days after I put $3k spend through the card. Cap1 phone app is great and easy to use and make payments from.  It's just a great card with a really good rewards structure, and it's a Visa Signature so you get all of those extra perks as well. 

more ...
Jul 17, 2016
Used their PreApproval tool first!

CK was showing my approval odds as fair a couple mos ago, but I decided to wait. Then it went up to Good, soo nervously decided to give it a shot. My original plan was to wait until it said Very Good, but I took a previous reviewer's advice and went to Capital one's pre-approval tool on their website. It instantly pre-approved me, so I went for it. My TU was 689, EX 733.

I have about 8,000 in old medical collections and currently only have 1 Cap1 credit building card open ($500 limit, currently $78 balance; paid on time for 6 mos so Cap1 recently increased me from a $300 limit to a $500 limit), have one Cap 1/Nieman Marcus card that I got last month ($700 limit; currently $0 balance) and a Cap 1 card that I am listed as a cosigner on: dad's Cap1 Venture, $41,000 limit with a $1,945 balance. Having that Cap1 card of my dad's was obviously a great advantage but nonetheless, I am elated to say that I GOT APPROVED TODAY! It's my very own card; $20,000 limit.

On their application: I make about $110,000/yr and have between $75k - $249k in savings. Just trying to help you all! I'm sure as I was, you might be nervous about applying.

Best piece of advice ever: go to the Cap1 pre approval tool first to be sure!! It's on the Capital One website. That was very helpful, and I'm glad someone posted that. Also, it really helped me for my dad to add me as a cosigner. If you have that available to you and your credit is fair or worse, do it. Helped me by about 100 points. 

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
Anonymous

My husband and I use our Capital One Platinum card but after reading the reviews, I wanted to upgrade to a Venture Card. Only catch is that all of my mileage earned on the Platinum card will not transfer to the Venture Card. And all of this is in the same family? I would lose the mileage unless I use it. We can't use it for travel due to health for a while, but to not allow transfer is ridiculous. Also, I could not change the primary card holder from my husband to me, even though I am the wage earner and manage all of our business. They said they couldn't change it because of the original application, which was many years ago. So, in all, I'm not impressed.

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Got approved
Anonymous

I applied with TU 729 EQ728 with BK 2012 , got approve for 10k, thank you capital one and thank you Credit karma.

more ...
Jul 11, 2016
Anonymous

Applied after 4 years bk , my scores are EQ728 TU729, and got approved for $10000, thank you ck.

more ...
Jul 08, 2016
Outstanding Customer Service!!!!!!!
CCJedi Cardholder

Wow, I am officially blown away. I missed a payment due to a quad accident requiring multiple surgery's recently. When I called in to discuss it with the Capital One folks they were super helpful, dropped charges and interest and wait for it ... they had an amazing metal tub of baked cookies sent to my house wishing me a speedy recovery. Never saw that coming.

This is a lesson for my own business. I can't explain how impressed I am. Count me a fan for life of Capital One.

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
Johnny124678 Cardholder

Applied at 720CL with a 30k 3% debt ulilization and got approved for a 15k limit, two months later I got bumped up to 18k. Great customer service so far and great rewards if you pay off at the end of month.

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
Approved & pleasantly surprised!
Anonymous

I just applied and approved for 15k! CK scores of 697/699 and showed "Very Good" approval odds. My income is 80k and I have a discharged bankruptcy from 2013. I only have one horrible starter credit card from First Premier bank with $900 limit. Initially was discouraged from applying when I saw "Excellent Credit" required on the Capital One site. Applied after reading reviews here. Looking forward to receiving card and continuing to rebuild!

more ...
Jul 01, 2016
Approval odds- very good.. NOT.

Based on CK review and suggestion applied for this card, was not approved even though credit score was in the mid range of their approval range.  Picked this one based on the "VERY GOOD"  suggestion here at Credit Karma

more ...
Jun 28, 2016
Solid Card Nothing Special
INsinkhole Cardholder

Ive been with capital one about 5 yrs was basically forced on this card but keep it open for the credit limit around 9k ive never had any trouble from capital one

more ...
Jul 02, 2016

try account combination, if u don't use it .transfers yr balance to another capital one card .makes even higher cl. @ close this one , helps credit score. looks like yr other card got big cli

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

190 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i