Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
67 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card offers flexible travel rewards to people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 miles for every dollar spent on purchases, and 40,000 bonus miles after spending $3,000 within 3 months of approval. As long as the card is open, the rewards don’t expire, and miles can be used for flights, hotels, car rentals, cruises and more.

Look Out For

After the first year, the card comes with a $59 annual fee and there’s no 0% intro APR for purchases or transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
Outstanding Customer Service!!!!!!!
CCJedi Cardholder

Wow, I am officially blown away. I missed a payment due to a quad accident requiring multiple surgery's recently. When I called in to discuss it with the Capital One folks they were super helpful, dropped charges and interest and wait for it ... they had an amazing metal tub of baked cookies sent to my house wishing me a speedy recovery. Never saw that coming.

This is a lesson for my own business. I can't explain how impressed I am. Count me a fan for life of Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 03, 2016
Solid only for the bonus
thb227 Cardholder

The sign up bonus is solid, if unspectacular. $400 towards any travel purchase is better than any cash back card bonus, but falls short of other premium travel reward cards that Capital One likes to compete with.

This card, as much as the marketing wants you to think otherwise, is a glorified 2% cash back card with more restictions and a decent sign up bonus. You are better off sticking to the no annual fees Capital One Quicksilver or Citi Double Cash in the long term.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 20, 2017
Approved 18k
AriaIzadi Cardholder

CK said my chances are fair, I did pre-qualify card tool on Cap1 site Venture and QS showed up, applied for Venture. My fico scores are 698-715

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Excellent if you don't carry a balance
jimpryde Cardholder

I have held this card for 4 years, and while I still occasionally use my Discover card and Citi Costco cards, this card gets nearly every purchase charged to it, and I pay it off each month. Doing this has more than covered the $59 annual fee, thanks to the rewards. What I like best is that travel expenses are erased in a mind numbingly simple way. You simply log in, let it scan your purchases during each statement period, and you can apply points/miles to pay for eligible travel expenses. For us, it has covered large chunks, if not entire itineraries for trips from Kansas City to Pittsburgh (x2), Portland, Memphis, Minneapolis, and weekend trips to St. Louis and other midwest areas. 

Another great part of the rewards of this card is that the same formula can be used to purchase gift cards from a number of brick and mortar and online sellers. These include Wal-Mart and Amazon.com. 

Lastly, their customer service and fraud protection are top notch. They have looked out for my financial security every step of the way, and I will continue to carry this card in the future. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Redw929 Cardholder

Points are so over priced your not really getting anything but a higher interest rate. I booked the exact  flight with Simmons bank card 35,000 points 1 point per dollar, Venture card 2 points per dollar flight was 63,000 + points 😡

more ...
Jan 16, 2017

Your not using your card correctly. You should buy your airline tickets from the cheapest available place. Southwest, Alaska, Expedia etc... Then erase the purchase with your points. It's literally the best card I've ever used for travel rewards.

 
Jan 21, 2017

It seems that a flight costing 63k points on a 2 point per dollar card is better value than a 1-point per dollar card costing 35k as it took you $35,000 in spending with the Simmons card to get that flight but $26,500 in spending on the Venture card to get the same flight. That seems like a much better deal in my book.

 
Jan 21, 2017

Correction: $31,500 on the Venture card not $26,500. Which is still much lower than $35,000.

 
Jan 05, 2017
Combined Two Credit Lines!!
ModernLove Cardholder

I received their Platinum MasterCard about a year ago and with steady increases worked up to a 6K credit limit. In-between then and now I acquired several other cards (2 AMEX, 2 Chase, 1 USAA). One day I was online checking my balance and on a whim decided to apply for Venture....and i was pleasantly surprised when I was approved for 12K!! A few weeks later I wanted to find out if I could combine both lines of credit into one card. My first attempt at doing this failed spectacularly. I received a message stating "this card (Platinum) must have a zero balance before you can transfer the line of credit to another Capitol One card". So I waited a few weeks, paid off the Platinum card, and tried again.......SUCCESS!!! The line of credit from my Platinum MasterCard was transferred over to my Venture card, which now has a credit limit of 18K, and the Platinum card was automatically closed. That was fine by me, since the Platinum card really served no purpose outside the credit line (no rewards, miles, cash); and I didn't lose that line of credit, it was just added onto my Venture. This can all be done online, there is no need to call and speak to a representative. Hope this helps!

more ...
Jan 01, 2017
Great for reward points.
StarTrek7 Cardholder

The reward points are very easy to use and can be used for a variety of things. Of course you're using the points to offset a charge already made to your card. One downside is if you prefer to convert reward points to cash, you only get half the value of what you would get when using them to offset charges.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Careful
Anonymous Cardholder

Be careful with CK approval odds. They gave me great odds based on Transunion and Equifax scores but when I applied the credit card company ran my Experian report.
How does that happen? They don't even represent Experian....can someone explain that please.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Great Card for travel.
Chepa26 Cardholder

Hello CK useres I had a CK TU score of 682 and CK EQ 687 when I applied for this card. I got approved with a cl of 20K. These scores are from CK with their new vantage 3.0 scoring system. I don't understand this scoring criteria because I have FICO scores from other credit cards that average 710-720. This credit card is good for travel rewards was a little hesitant to apply becuase I had a fair chance of getting approved based on CK recommendation.

more ...
Dec 16, 2016

If you don't mind me asking what is your annual income?

 
Dec 23, 2016

Hello! Did you get an instant approval once you submitted your app? Or did they have to give it a few days?

 
Dec 08, 2016
Best travel card
ArcherLover Cardholder

I love this card. I've already racked up some major points and booked a trip to england for free! Don't ever carry a balance with this card because of the interest rate. But service has been great. Loving the no international transaction fees too. Fiancé lives abroad so I'm traveling 3 times a years. 

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Have had it for a year
Anonymous Cardholder

Love my Venture! Started me out with 20k CL. Love Capital One. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Switch to Quicksilver
burritomen Cardholder

Decent card with no annual fee (when I had it). Approved with 680 credit score for 1500 and upgraded to 4000 shortly after. I calculated the rewards to be about 1.3% back, and I switched to quicksilver after 6 months. However, they do have a double points version of this card that you can get after 6 months.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016

You must have the wrong card. The Venture is 2x miles on everything.

 
Nov 29, 2016

You have the VentureOne, not the regular Venture.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

67 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i