Overall card rating

4.1
334 Reviews
from verified cardholders

Most helpful positive review

Jan 29, 2022
A Great Card Experience
Credit Karma Member

Credit Karma said I had a “fair” chance of approval. I went for it anyway. I was approved for a $3K limit and my credit score was 687. Funny thing is when I came back to Credir Karma to write this review, it has all these warnings about how I have a “poor” chance of approval! I’m excited to start earning miles so I can travel more!!

Helpful83
Not Helpful6
Comment4
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Nov 25, 2021
Disappointed tremendously
Credit Karma Member

I make decent middle class money and my credit score is a 795 with no derogs and low credit card utilization and this company will not increase my limit over 1000.00. I had the card over 2 years and they never have. They send me a letter with a different reason everytime. Meanwhile discover and citibank both give me increases into the 5 digit range. The only explanation i can come up with is they think they can force me into getting another one of their cards or they see that I am a smart consumer and dnt want to increase my limit because it will prevent me from getting larger rewards. My balance is rarely over 200 at a time and a lot of times its paid off every month. Between this and their horrible customer service reps that are robotic like in their conversations due to a language barrier and scripted responses this card and company is garbage. Im just going to let me time run out on these cards until they close my accounts.

Helpful111
Not Helpful18
Comment7
Flag


Member ratings

Application process
Customer service

All member reviews (334)

205
27
13
13
76

Jan 17, 2023
Low credit lines
Credit Karma Member

I've had capital one cards for over 15 years and they hardly ever increase the credit line. These are my lowest credit line cards. I have AMEX Discover, Chase, etc with $20k and higher credit lines-per card, have excellent credit, less than 1% credit utilization and even with all of that and the years of business with no late pays ever, on anything and they still won't increase the credit limit. I charge a small reurring bill monthly just to keep the credit line open to avoid the hit from closing the account. Don't waste your time. There are better cards out there.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Dec 12, 2022
Credit Karma Lied
Credit Karma Member

I applied based on them saying i had an outstanding chance for approval. Got denied. I also saw just in September credit karma is ordered to pay customers due to their false pre approvals.

Helpful21
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

Dec 07, 2022
Great card so far!
Credit Karma Member

Applied for this card through Credit Karma and was approved immediately with a high credit line…. Credit is fair high 600. The app makes everything super easy!

Helpful8
Not Helpful3
Comment0
Flag

Nov 27, 2022
Im confused
Credit Karma Member

I will never understand how ive had a capital one secured card for the passed 4 years never missed a payment or been late, i make six figure a year and i cant get approved for any cards even if i already have a card with the company in good standings

Helpful11
Not Helpful4
Comment3
Flag

Nov 09, 2022
used this card to rebuild my credit
Credit Karma Member

Currently with my 797 score credit karma says I have fair odds for approval. But I did get this card when my credit was not so great to rebuild and was approved. My limit has gone from $1000-$3500. There are rewards, but I rarely use the card since others offer better perks.

Helpful10
Not Helpful5
Comment1
Flag

Nov 04, 2022
Works as advertised
Credit Karma Member

So, I had pretty meh credit (700) but also had their Quicksilver Card and they own my car loan, so I was kinda shocked they gave me 4k in credit. But the card works great, the quality of the card is nice. The kicker was the bonus, I was going to Hawaii for a wedding within their 90 day window, so since I had all the money saved, I just put it all on their card and got the bonus. Also - used it to redo my TSAPrecheck (the credit came within two weeks) and they will randomly just send me $100 credits for booking on their travel website. Perfect travel credit card.

Helpful23
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Oct 25, 2022
Had my card for 3 months and placed on restriction
Credit Karma Member

I don't know a credit card company that puts a card holder on restriction on a purchase while making a purchase. My limit is at 10k and nothing is current. I called the customer support and they said they couldn't help me until 7 to 10 business days. Don't get this card. I'm annoyed and won't be using it anything else.

Helpful11
Not Helpful2
Comment0
Flag

Oct 11, 2022
A must for my wallet
Credit Karma Member

I've had this card for roughly 3 years, and it has become my go to- with one caveat. Benefits: 1. As punishment for paying off my car, my score hit 740s/50s. They are diligent with reports, and they make nice remarks each month for other businesses to see. My credits now 780/790s thanks to this card (and, of course, paying to a zero balance/keeping under 5% use). 2.Outstanding customer service. Honestly, I think the longest I've waited was 3-5 minutes. Reps are courteous, knowledgeable, and readily available. For example, I woke up at 1230am to a phone alert for Uber charges (this card offers immediate message updates for all account activity). I immediately notified the fraud department. By the time I woke up in the morning, the charges were gone. 3. Sign-on bonus points. 4. Capital one shopping. After I received my card, I received an invite to shop through capital one. Once activated, coupons pop-up when you look to purchase items all over the web. I've recently saved 5% on random small gifts, 15% on recurring dog food and treat purchases, and I even saved $99 on my couch (pleasing my inner penny-pincher). 3. Cash back points can automatically be applied to all Amazon purchases at check out (which is where the majority of my points go to). 4. The card is heavy- it's weird to mention, but card handlers frequently compliment me on the look and feel. 5. All card info is discretely placed on the back. The subjective: 1. I enjoyed using my points for a full hotel stay and car rental (I received another great discount for my car rental). However, I will look thoroughly before I purchase through their travel company again. My first trip with this card, I redeemed my points and booked directly through them. I blame my ignorance for not checking other options beforehand, but I took a 400 dollar hit when I looked at the same seats and car rental after.

Helpful23
Not Helpful2
Comment0
Flag

Sep 18, 2022
Nice SUB
Credit Karma Member

According to CK, my chances of approval is at fair. However, I went and pulled the trigger. Bam, I was approved with a SL of $10,000 with a SUB of 100,000 after spending $10,000 in 6 months. Capital One payment system is great if you have their checking account. Also, I am 3 yrs into my BK.

Helpful17
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

Jul 18, 2022
Great card!
Credit Karma Member

This is my main card. Love the perks. Especially the Amazon points.

Helpful11
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 334

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.