Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 21, 2018
Great to get rewards for every day use.

I love that this card offers purchase eraser. Using purchase eraser you can buy anything related to travel using this card and then use the miles you have earned to turn around and pay off the travel expense within 90 days. The card automatically shows you what is a valid travel purchase and allows you to click redeem. Then voila! Within 3 business days, you have yourself a credit on your account. The customer service is excellent, and I get alerts on my phone whenever a purchase is made. (Completely customizable in the settings). 

I also love that it is Visa and is accepted most places. It is a heavy metal card, so no worries about it breaking down from everyday swiping, and the number is on the back, so not easily seen by prying eyes. I get 2 times miles on any purchase, and they add up quickly with a family of three. 

The only negative thing I will say is that it comes with a 24% APR, so if you get this, plan on paying it off every month so you don't need to pay the ridiculously high interest rate. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2018
STAY AWAY!! WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!
SG7272 Cardholder

Capital One Venture has the absolute worst customer service ever! I've had 2 different issues with fraudulent disputes and they don't ever help the customer out. I had a shady airline website make charges that I never authorized and tried to make me pay cancellation fees to remove the charges and Venture told me to file a Dispute. Which I did and the manager at Venture reassured me not to cancel the charges even though I only had 24 hours to cancel or they would charge me the full amount. The manager said I would win the case and not to cancel in order not to get the cancellation fees added as well from the shady merchant. I did what she asked and then 2 months later they sent me a letter saying my case was lost because I never canceled the charges that they supposedly said they've taken care of and said the case is lost and the money has been paid to the merchant. I told them the phone calls are recorded and I have the manager's name and employee ID and they said they needed that in writing not over the phone and it's my responsibility since it was my card. Stay away from this card, american express handles all your disputes for you with no problems and they make sure the customer is priority over the merchant. Any shady fraudulent activity occurs, american express has your back. Venture is only interested in taking your money and treating you like your the problem. I'm closing my account with them as soon as the dispute is closed and am telling every person I know not to get this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 12, 2018
Decent rewards, horrible customer servic
Seankadizade Cardholder

What a horrible customer service!!! So called supervisors are there to annoy you more instead of offering solutions. Long story short, My request got declined to increase of credit line, supposedly, due to financial obligations I have. What a joke!!! Well, when I checked the date my request got declined I had 816 score on equifax and less then 8% I owe on cards. So it’s apparent that there is some sort of mistake going on. Neither first customer care person nor the so called supervisor-his name was Jordan- would not bother to help or offer any solution. I have had this card for about 10 months and I spent probably more then 400k, during this time. I am never using this card again. 

more ...
Dec 09, 2018
Flexible
edsta212 Cardholder

I haven't paid interest on this card once, no late fees and have had great customer service. Love the card, I own Amex too. Love both, miles for travel are so flexible with Venture Card though. I use it more. If you pay your balances in full like I do, then you won't have to worry about interest, just use whatever card that gives you the benefits you want. 

more ...
Dec 07, 2018
Amazing card with great benefits!!!
MatthewPo Cardholder

I absolutely love This card! The bonus upon opening the card was extremely easy to redeem in fact I flew to Hawaii for free :-)

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
Application process stressful
Jamrock86 Cardholder

Active duty and applies for the card.  Some reason I got checked for fraud??? Literally took forever just to get my identity verified.  Anyone else ran in this problem ? 

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
Product change to this
champstar Cardholder

If you do a Google search for "Capital One check product upgrade," you can see if there are any offers for you.
 

Click the Ficoforums link and view page1 to get the link to your offers.  You're welcome.  :o)

more ...
Nov 14, 2018
TJI86 Cardholder

This has been my go-to card for everything for two years. I love it. I was lucky enough to be issued a World Elite MasterCard version during the window when they were still issuing MCs, and combined with a ridiculously generous CL, and (literally) no-hassle rewards, this has been my favorite of all my credit cards since day one. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2018
Alejandrix1984 Cardholder

The benefits are not worth the cost, the miles are basically worthless and the cash back is not worth the cost. Interest is way too high for someone with above 770+ credit score. Only thing I do enjoy is the card is made of metal.

more ...
Nov 09, 2018
STAY AWAY!! WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!
SG7272 Cardholder

Capital One Venture has the absolute worst customer service ever! I've had 2 different issues with fraudulent disputes and they don't ever help the customer out. I had a shady airline website make charges that I never authorized and tried to make me pay cancellation fees to remove the charges and Venture told me to file a Dispute. Which I did and the manager at Venture reassured me not to cancel the charges even though I only had 24 hours to cancel or they would charge me the full amount. The manager said I would win the case and not to cancel in order not to get the cancellation fees added as well from the shady merchant. I did what she asked and then 2 months later they sent me a letter saying my case was lost because I never canceled the charges that they supposedly said they've taken care of and said the case is lost and the money has been paid to the merchant. I told them the phone calls are recorded and I have the manager's name and employee ID and they said they needed that in writing not over the phone and it's my responsibility since it was my card. Stay away from this card, american express handles all your disputes for you with no problems and they make sure the customer is priority over the merchant. Any shady fraudulent activity occurs, american express has your back. Venture is only interested in taking your money and treating you like your the problem. I'm closing my account with them as soon as the dispute is closed and am telling every person I know not to get this card.

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
Punishing Interest rates, Bad Cust serv
WaaizSpendr Cardholder

They are cheap because they are cheap. Cashback is 2% which is great but they make all the cashback they paid you when they rip you apart with fees. With a late fee, interest charge and a higher residual interest charge, you pay a fee, a fine on the fee and a fine on that fine almost until 2 months of your late payment. Stay away from Capital One, they approve everyone because they can mooch anyone. Choose Chase or Amex if you have decent scores (I own both), they may not pay you as much in Cashbacks but have great service and no shady charges in the back. You will save a lot on a longer run and won't have your hard earned money going into interest and fees.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 09, 2018

I haven't paid interest on this card once, no late fees and have had great customer service. Love the card, I own Amex too. Love both, miles for travel are so flexible with Venture Card though. I use it more. If you pay your balances in full like I do, then you won't have to worry about interest, just use whatever card that gives you the benefits you want.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

43 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i