Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $59 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card offers flexible travel rewards to people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 miles for every dollar spent on purchases, and 40,000 bonus miles after spending $3,000 within 3 months from account opening. As long as the card is open, the rewards don’t expire, and miles can be used for flights, hotels, car rentals, cruises and more.

Look Out For

After the first year, the card comes with a $59 annual fee and there’s no 0% intro APR for purchases or transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
Outstanding Customer Service!!!!!!!
CCJedi Cardholder

Wow, I am officially blown away. I missed a payment due to a quad accident requiring multiple surgery's recently. When I called in to discuss it with the Capital One folks they were super helpful, dropped charges and interest and wait for it ... they had an amazing metal tub of baked cookies sent to my house wishing me a speedy recovery. Never saw that coming.

This is a lesson for my own business. I can't explain how impressed I am. Count me a fan for life of Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 17, 2017
Simple but Limited Rewards Structure
jetblk3 Cardholder

Upgraded to the Venture from Quicksilver last year and I recently converted my account back to Quicksilver. The main reason is although you earn double points for every purchase with the Venture, the annual fee means you need to spend at least 8,000 to break even and start earning reward dollars. Secondly, when you want to redeem the points for something other than travel (or what Capital One recognizes as travel) you only get  50% of the value on your point redemption. Example: I take a trip and want to use reward dollars towards an expensive restaurant; if I have 20,000 points, and I redeem them for the meal, they are only worth $100 instead of $200 if I redeem an airline purchase. So, if you're not smart, you could be paying the $59 fee each year, spending less than $8,000 on the card, and redeeming your points for half of their value -- essentially losing money using the card instead of making money from the bank. If you stricly redeem for airfare purchases or train tickets, and spend a great deal on other purchases, it can be very simple. As for me, I didn't like to make airline purchases using the Venture to make airline purchases because I earn more points using the Amex Premier Rewards Gold. I would rather redeem Chase Ultimate Rewards or Amex Membership rewards points because instead of 1:1 value when using points, I can earn a 2:1 or 3:1 ration when transferring to certain airlines or hotel partners.

In the end, once I had accumulated substantial rewards, I converted the account back to Quicksilver and cashed out the points for 1:1 value. So now I have no annual fee but a guaranteed earning and redemption rate on my points.

In conclusion, the Venture card is good if you want no frills and use the card exactly the way Capital One advertises, for travel,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 21, 2017
Wish I had never applied for this card
publican969 Cardholder

I applied for this card online and was approved with a $10,000 credit limit.  Received the card and attempted activation which failed.  Called customer service, was transferred to the fraud department where a rep told me there was high suspicion that the application was fraudulent (in other words that I was committing fraud) and that I would need to send in copies of my drivers license, a utility bill or bank statement, and my social security card.  Two red flags right away. One, why would they send me a card when there was a high risk of fraud in their opinion? Two, I have never been asked for my physical SS card and I guard it closely.  I told the rep I would not send in my SS card as I thought this was risky and unnecessary. I was put on hold then told I was approved to only provide one form of ID, my Drivers license, and that the fastest way to get approval would be to go to a bank and present my ID to a banker.  The next day I called back to confirm this information and the rep again checked with someone and assured me this was correct.  So I went to a bank, presented my ID to the banker who called the fraud department.  I was put on the phone and the rep proceeded to tell me that I could not have my identity verified by this route.  Unbelievable and embarrassing.  I called later and requested my account be closed and requested a letter stating account closure which I have not received.  If you do a search about this you will find numerous reviews about being subjected to this bogus fraud suspicion and how many people are still denied activation even when sending in all the requested documents.  I have no idea what flagged me as high risk for fraud...the only thing I can imagine is that my physical address and mailing address (a USPS PO Box) are different.  Never again would I do business with this company.  And now I have hard hits on TU and Equifax.  My advice if you get this runaround...just immeditately cancel, it's not worth the misery.

more ...
May 19, 2017
Great!!!!
Rgwhata829 Cardholder

Been a Cap one card holder for years now. Once a year I get one premium credit card. This year I applied for the Venture card. Got approved with a credit line of $15,000 The pulse side to this card for new members is the bonus 30,000 mile after spending 3,000 in the first 3 months. Spend 4,500 within the first month, paid balance off in full. Thanks Venture for the extra miles. 

more ...
May 02, 2017
Horrible business tactics.
KidIcarus Cardholder

I was approved and sent a card. Upon trying to activate I was sent to the fraud department asking for multiple forms of identification , including SS card. It's an obvious stall job, why didn't they ask for this stuff before I was approved. I have lots of credit cards and never had this happen. Customer service is horrible on the phone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 19, 2017

I went through the same process. Took 12 hours for it to be approved. It was simple and easy. Got approved for 15k. Thanks capital one!

 
Apr 29, 2017
The card It self is good Cap1 not so muc
zachs1999 Cardholder

I have had this card for over 10 years I have a FICO score of 800 and I can not get a credit limit increase my current limit is $4000 I just opened a Discover card and 18500. is the limit. So much for loyalty

more ...
May 01, 2017

I seem to have the same issues. I EVEN called to ask if there was any particular reason. My lowest FICO is 778, no late payments, CU always under6% , no collections, no dirogatories. I have no clue. I just keep it because I've had it for 12 years. I use other cards instead. If someone has some insight, im completely open and willing to take advise.

 
May 09, 2017

I got this card a few weeks ago and received a 30k credit limit with no issues

 
Apr 27, 2017
The best card out there by far!!!
Karmaforlife28 Cardholder

I've own this card for approximately 2 years. I love it more now then ever! I pay everything with it and pay off at the end of the month. I've earned at least $1,500 in travel! It helped me fly to Australia for less then $200!! And to top it off, the costumer service is the best! I HIGHLY recommend this card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 28, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 26, 2017
Easy to use all around
MandyMaeStay Cardholder

I LOVE this card! The points don't have weird restrictions, like how many you can redeem, or only on certain travel products. You can redeem partial amounts on anything travel related- car rental, baggage fees, plane tickets, hotel rooms. I have had more than a few free stays since I get 2 points on everything. This is my one and only credit card that I use! I also LOVE their customer service, I've hardly ever had to wait when I had a question, and I was on and off the phone in 5 mins when I changed my name after getting married. The text service they use to help verify questionable purchases has saved me from fraud more than once. They also send a replacement card super fast so you don't have to skip a beat! I can't rave enough about this card and this company!

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
keep sending invitation
Anonymous Cardholder

They keep sending me the invitaton but declined me two times.  This costs my two hard pulls for two years! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 05, 2017

An invitation to apply is not the same as a pre-approval.

 
Apr 04, 2017
Nice card in comparison with others
Alex94ua Cardholder

Was approved for $10K with 749 (751) score. Spent $3000 and got my bonuses as long as miles on those $3000 spendings.

In total, I have got almost $500 in travel or $250 for regular purchases such as groceries and all. However, these five hundres will come in handy in summer for travel, or, at least, cover my NY MTA expeses and UBER (lyft, Gett,..). Overall, its nice card with unlimited 2 miles (2%) cash back. Planning to give a call and to try get rid of the annual fee in a year. Otherwise, will close it. 

P.S. During this month closed two credit cards becuase did not use at all. The credit score has benifed from it.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
GET THIS ONE
Joshuathegreat Cardholder

This card is amazing and the application was SO EASY. Not only is the 2% cash back totaly worth it, but  the sign up bonus gives you 2 round trip domestic flights, the annual renewal is only $59, and the website is SO EASY TO USE!! I had the R Us card (toys and babies r us) and it is not even close to comparable with the accessablity, accuracy, and ease of the website. Looking for cash back for purchases? The 2% also goes towards a HUGE assortment of gift cards you can get on the siite for the 2%, rather than getting 1% for actual cash. I mean, seriously, if you can go with this card with capital one, you should definitely do it. No matter what kind of rewards you are looking for.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Great Mid Range Card!
cacole1022 Cardholder

Capital One was the first bank to give me a chance when I started rebuilding my credit in 2015.  Started with the Platinum with a $2000 limit and worked my way up to the Quicksilver and then Venture with 23K limit. I only use this card as part of my rotation when the due dates on my other cards are too close.  The rewards are just alright due to low points earned per $ spent but I must say that I can always use a Walmart gift card because I am a self-admitted Walmart junkie!  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

63 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i