Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $59 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card offers flexible travel rewards to people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 miles for every dollar spent on purchases, and 40,000 bonus miles after spending $3,000 within 3 months from account opening. As long as the card is open, the rewards don’t expire for the life of the account, and miles can be used for flights, hotels, car rentals, cruises and more.

Look Out For

After the first year, the card comes with a $59 annual fee and there’s no 0% intro APR for purchases or transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2017
Combined Two Credit Lines!!
ModernLove Cardholder

I received their Platinum MasterCard about a year ago and with steady increases worked up to a 6K credit limit. In-between then and now I acquired several other cards (2 AMEX, 2 Chase, 1 USAA). One day I was online checking my balance and on a whim decided to apply for Venture....and i was pleasantly surprised when I was approved for 12K!! A few weeks later I wanted to find out if I could combine both lines of credit into one card. My first attempt at doing this failed spectacularly. I received a message stating "this card (Platinum) must have a zero balance before you can transfer the line of credit to another Capitol One card". So I waited a few weeks, paid off the Platinum card, and tried again.......SUCCESS!!! The line of credit from my Platinum MasterCard was transferred over to my Venture card, which now has a credit limit of 18K, and the Platinum card was automatically closed. That was fine by me, since the Platinum card really served no purpose outside the credit line (no rewards, miles, cash); and I didn't lose that line of credit, it was just added onto my Venture. This can all be done online, there is no need to call and speak to a representative. Hope this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 17, 2017
Simple but Limited Rewards Structure
jetblk3 Cardholder

Upgraded to the Venture from Quicksilver last year and I recently converted my account back to Quicksilver. The main reason is although you earn double points for every purchase with the Venture, the annual fee means you need to spend at least 8,000 to break even and start earning reward dollars. Secondly, when you want to redeem the points for something other than travel (or what Capital One recognizes as travel) you only get  50% of the value on your point redemption. Example: I take a trip and want to use reward dollars towards an expensive restaurant; if I have 20,000 points, and I redeem them for the meal, they are only worth $100 instead of $200 if I redeem an airline purchase. So, if you're not smart, you could be paying the $59 fee each year, spending less than $8,000 on the card, and redeeming your points for half of their value -- essentially losing money using the card instead of making money from the bank. If you stricly redeem for airfare purchases or train tickets, and spend a great deal on other purchases, it can be very simple. As for me, I didn't like to make airline purchases using the Venture to make airline purchases because I earn more points using the Amex Premier Rewards Gold. I would rather redeem Chase Ultimate Rewards or Amex Membership rewards points because instead of 1:1 value when using points, I can earn a 2:1 or 3:1 ration when transferring to certain airlines or hotel partners.

In the end, once I had accumulated substantial rewards, I converted the account back to Quicksilver and cashed out the points for 1:1 value. So now I have no annual fee but a guaranteed earning and redemption rate on my points.

In conclusion, the Venture card is good if you want no frills and use the card exactly the way Capital One advertises, for travel,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 08, 2017
Heavy card with high limit
primera20 Cardholder

Have had the QS card (World MC version) with Capital One for about two years with a CL of $ 15,500.

I wanted to add another prime card with 2x miles. Considered the Arrival + from Barclays but decided to app for the cool looking metal Venture card that has a lower AF. Per CK, my odds fluctuated from Very good to Excellent with CK scores of 734 - 744. I was a little nervous since this would result in a triple HP when I submitted my application but then was shocked twenty seconds later with my new $ 30,000 Visa Signature limit!

Did I mention that this card is made of metal? Yep I am an idiot and lost my new metal card in less than a day. CapOne overnighted me a replacement. I love CapOne!

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
High limit Metal & Engraved card
primera20 Cardholder

Have had the QS card (World MC version) with Capital One for about two years with a CL of $ 15,500.

I wanted to add another prime card with 2x miles. Considered the Arrival + from Barclays but decided to app for the cool looking metal Venture card that has a lwer AF. Per CK, my odds fluctuated from Very good to Excellent. CK scores range from 734 - 744. I was a little nervous since this app would result in a triple HP when I submitted my application but then was shocked twenty seconds later with my new $ 30,000 Visa Signature limit!
Ooh did I say this card is made of metal. Yep, it is I heavier than others cards. Yep, I lost my card the first day. CapOne overnighted a replacement. Thanks Capital One!

more ...
Aug 26, 2017
Approved, but with high interest rate
Supercap Cardholder

I carry zero ballance on any of my cards(pay in full before close of statement). No public records, no collections, two auto loans paid off, current mortgange,100% on time payments. Scores 778 and 776. Approved for 15k but with the top interest rate. Not a big deal since I pay off every month, but still.

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
great benefits, horrible CS
richard6144 Cardholder

As others have stated in previous reviews, my account was also flagged for fraud shortly after getting approved for the Venture account. I was able to make one purchase, and then upon attempting to make a second charge for $20, yes... $20, I was given a notification to call Capital One. Short story is that I spoke to 3 different representatives, non of which could give me an explanation as to why they would flag my account for a $20 charge after approving me for a $450 charge, and that they were taking 'precautionary' measures to ensure I was the actual accountholder making the purchase. Mind you, I was given a $20,000 limit. I hardly believe Capital One was being precautious as someone looking to use your identity would charge up a card with that limit as qucikly as possible.

Two representatives were very consescending when I asked why I couldn't get a definitive answer about my card beign declined. If Capital One is going to flag everyone's new account, why the hell would they  approve people for credit cards, especially at high limits, in the first place?? 

Anyway, my intention was to rack up miles on this card; it does have great benefits. So if you're able to look past the horrible customer service and random flagging of your account, then go for it and apply. For me, customer service trumps all other benefits, because as a consumer, you expect your business to be helpful in times of need instead of hateful because you're simply wanting the answers you deserve as an accountholder. Personally, I should have gone with Chase Sapphire--- much better and more understanding customer service. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 20, 2017

Chase Sapphire Preferred is to the Pittsburgh Steelers, as Capital One Venture is to the Cleveland Browns.

 
Aug 13, 2017
Total jerks, rude, I sent my card back.
Justforplay Cardholder

Best to use a different company

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 15, 2017

Could you elaborate about why they are jerks?

 
Jul 29, 2017
Approved for $10K
RJEngle Cardholder

Applied and instant approval. Idid do te preapproval on CO's website before applying. Just a year and half ago I was denied for this card. Happy to finally qualify. FICO 8 scores: TU: 706, EQ: 775, EX: 700.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Generous credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

Approved for a surprisingly high credit limit at 30k. I have a 730 FICO and 110k income. However, the high interest rate to be expected with rewards cards was higher than most at 20.99%. This card is not the best for people that plan on making big purchases and paying it down slowly. But if you can pay this off every month, the rewards are pretty generous.

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
Nice surprise
retrolady Cardholder

I just applied for this card through the credit karma link and was instantly approved for a $10,000 card with a 17.99% rate. I am super pumped! my scores are 710 TU and 681 EQ. I also have 2 low limit Capital One cards that I have had for 4 and 7 years. 

more ...
Aug 10, 2017

If you don't mind me asking, what is your annual salary?

 
Aug 15, 2017

Good question! That could make a big difference....
It would be good to know

 
Jul 14, 2017
Fishy

I received my card and tried to activate it and it said that there was fraudulent activity and I had to speak to a fraud rep whom said this is not the case actually that they do this to verify that the correct person has the card. He asked for my address ON MY ID then an email to send a copy of it FRONT AND BACK to them to verify. No I don't think so. In all my years of having a credit card I have never been asked for this. EVER!!!! I called the number from the app and got his guy. Then I called the number on the card and got Rica whom said the same so I requested to have the account deactivated and she said she would do that now. However, no verification is sent to confirm this she said. I then asked to file a complaint, aaaaaand she said she does that also and that she had already submitted it, WOW. So she handles fraud, deactivations and complaints. Something is really fishy ... very unfortunate. Jennifer Garner needs to stop advertising for them. It is a real shame whatever it is they are doing. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 17, 2017

I had the same reaction when I had to do the same when I got my card (so did several other people). I don't know what your line of credit was, but anything over 10K gets flagged. I sent the information requested and have been happy with my card. In fact, it' s become my favorite!!

 
Jul 12, 2017
Easy Application and Approval Process
bmore5 Cardholder

Cbrady- I applied online for this card today and was instantly approved for 30k limit and received the 13.99% interest rate. My scores range between the 3 bureaus from 804 - 833. Easy online application process - pleased with credit limit (have a couple others with similar limits). I plan to be travelling a lot with an upcoming job and also will be using the card for hotel stays, fuel, airline tickets, (which will all be reimbursed) so hopefully I'm able to gain lots of reward points at 2x per dollar versus my Delta Platinum Amex that only gains 1x with a much higher annual fee. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card