Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.3622 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 13, 2015
Not as good as it used to be
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for about 6 years, and have always been happy with it until recently. The customer service has decreased dramatically. I used to call and chat with someone whenever I had an issue and they were always super friendly and helpful, answered all of my questions and basically just talked to me like I was an intelligent human being.  Recently, there were some fraudulent charges made to my card, so I called customer service to have them reversed.  Capital One definitely took care of the charges, that was not the issue.  The issue was that the people that they have managing the call center now don't talk to you like you are a person - they read from scripts and do that obnoxious placating thing where they just repeat what you have just said as if they "understand" but really have no idea what you are actually asking them. It took me 3 phone calls, 4 representatives and an hour and half out of my work day to get this figured out. It was very frustrating. One of the things I really liked about this card was that it was so easy to talk to somone in customer service and have a real conversation. It's obvious that they have outsourced their call centers, which would be fine, except now the reps talk to you like a small child instead of an adult person.

more ...
 

Reviews (127)

Add Review
Feb 10, 2016
Finally Approved
Broaska Cardholder

CK indicated that I had fair odds of getting this card. Was approved for 5K with a 655 CK score. I have established a good record with C1 with their lower tier products by always paying on time, more than minimum amounts etc. I think that helped a great deal. They have appeared to have a tendency to use their internal data when approving new cards in my experience. Have always been fair with me. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2016

CK recommended Venture one based on my credit scores.  I was skeptical at first because I tried to apply for Barclay card after receiving a pre-approved mails. I applied and was declined credit. My credit was around 660 at that time and after I applied my credit scores dropped like 15 pts. Urg :( I decided to give it another try with Venture One credit card since CK recommended. My credit scores is about 700, so I thought why not? I was approved for 10k, how did that happen? I was reading the cons was that you must have an excellent to good credit scores. It is an honor to received this approval. I am so happy that I waited for the right time. I hope I don't look back and regret this (referring to being discipline and responsible). :) 

more ...
Feb 07, 2016
Anonymous

How can you not love Cap One when it approved a Venture Rewards Card with a $15 CL to someone 4 months post BK discharge which included 2 Cap1.

more ...
Feb 06, 2016
Anonymous

Applied with a score of 741 CK odds were "GOOD" only had one other card an AMEX and was approved for 15,000

more ...
Feb 04, 2016
Fraud protected!
zach243 Cardholder

I have had this card for around 4 years. Recently I recieved an email for unknown charges of close to $100.  After a 3 minute wait on hold to report the charge I was informed that my card has been locked and that 2 further purchases were declined.  Within 3 days the first two charges were already deducted from my credit card balance and a new card was sent to me.  This situation went from fear to comfort within minutes after talking with the company. 

Overall, they were quick to flag my card and quick to decline future charges leaving me sleeping good at night.   

more ...
Jan 13, 2016
Approved $15,000 with fair odds
Anonymous

Wow... I am so excited to have this card.  I was not initially approved, got the under review message, so I called the customer service number the next day - they only needed to verify my physical address and BAM approved for $15,000.  This is my first high CL card and so excited to start using it to recieved free travel.  My CK score TU 760 EQ 710 FICO scores in the low 700's.  My suggestion is go to CAP1 web site, if you are pre-qualified for this card and have excellent credit based on their criteria you will be approved for a minimum of $5,000.   Just be aware that you will get 3 hard credit pulls from all three credit reporting agencies.  It is also a high interest credit card so don't plan on carrying a balance our the interest will eat up all of your travel savings.  I have 3 other CAP1 cards, great company and really nice customer service agents.  Happy spending and good luck!

more ...
Jan 11, 2016
Love this company!
OklahomaProud Cardholder

I have (2) Cap1 cards already for $2800 (secured and opened in July 2014) and $2000 (Quiksilver card opened in June 2015 and started at $500)...CK showed me as a "fair" chance of approval. After some lengthy research, I applied and was instantly approved for $10k. Only other card is a CitiBank double cash back card for $500, which will remain in the back of my wallet :-) Thank you Capital One for this opportunity! I've never had anything but good experiences with their customer service so far. They instantly caught a fraud charge for me last year and it was handled with ease. I highly recommend this company!

more ...
Jan 05, 2016
declined lmao
Anonymous

declined when my score is higher then other ones that get a 15000 limit what a joke

more ...
Jan 03, 2016
capital one venture

it said my chances were very good. So I used that capital one pre approvel tool, and it declined me. My credit score is over 700. But I had a bankruptcy 1.5 yrs ago and I am rebuilding. I will go with a few secure cards from my local banks so they will help build my score back.

more ...
Jan 01, 2016
Approved with CK Odds of Approval: Poor
Anonymous

I started rebuilding my credit last year with Cap1 MC, then Cap1 Visa both with a zero interest.  I paid on time and diligently and my balance has been increased on both cards.  In the Spring I added a Chase Freedom, Amex and Discover with balances CLs of 3500, 2500 and 1000.  My score has gone up quite a bit since I've paid off other credit card balances.  However, my utilization was a little high.  The suggestion was to transfer a balance or open another card.  Despite my odds for approval being Poor, Cap1 has always come through for me and have truly helped me to rebuild my credit.  My CK score is 680 and I was instantly approved with a 15K limit!!!!!  My plan is to raise my score by lowering my utilization; I think with the addition of this card, that will be achieved.  I will use this card responsibly and not carry a balance but will definitely utilize to acquire the 40,000 bonus points!

Cap1 is the only company that has consistently come through for me.

more ...
Feb 01, 2016

you must have low debt to income and a good salary

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

127 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i