Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2014
Great card with a little catch
Anonymous Cardholder

 opened the Venture account at the beginning of 2014. So far I have earned 40,000 points and that does not include 20,000 initial spending bonus. You get 2 points for every dollar spent. The only catch is, that when you redeem your points for rewards you will get 1 dollar for each 100 points only if you redeem for travel related purchases. Having that said there are many options to choose from: airfare, trains, coach buses, hotels, car rentals. So if you like traveling you will have no problem to reddem your rewards and get basically 2% cash back value. If you choose an acoount credit or check yopu will get only 50 cents for 100 points.

I think it is a great card. I have Capital One Quicksilver and with it I never came close to rewards that I earned with Venture. I calculated that with the $59 annual fee you will earn more than with 1.5% cash back card if you will spend more than $11200 annually. On the top of it customer service is great. In one instance I was short 800 points to erase a $250 airfare purchase. The missing points were given to me  y customer service! The card is a Visa Signature which gives you some extra deals here and there and there is never any wait to connect to customer service representative.

As far as APR I really do not care about it cause I never carry a balance. If you cannot pay your balance in full you shoudn't be getting this card. Your rewards will quickly be eaten by interest.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 13, 2015
Not as good as it used to be
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for about 6 years, and have always been happy with it until recently. The customer service has decreased dramatically. I used to call and chat with someone whenever I had an issue and they were always super friendly and helpful, answered all of my questions and basically just talked to me like I was an intelligent human being.  Recently, there were some fraudulent charges made to my card, so I called customer service to have them reversed.  Capital One definitely took care of the charges, that was not the issue.  The issue was that the people that they have managing the call center now don't talk to you like you are a person - they read from scripts and do that obnoxious placating thing where they just repeat what you have just said as if they "understand" but really have no idea what you are actually asking them. It took me 3 phone calls, 4 representatives and an hour and half out of my work day to get this figured out. It was very frustrating. One of the things I really liked about this card was that it was so easy to talk to somone in customer service and have a real conversation. It's obvious that they have outsourced their call centers, which would be fine, except now the reps talk to you like a small child instead of an adult person.

more ...
 

Reviews (164)

Add Review
May 25, 2016
Let the fun began
Anonymous Cardholder

I just got an email my new venture card by capital one was on its way to 698 eq 702 with one other card under my belt I first paid down my other card and then waited for my new credit utilization to go down it take about a month or so to be reported then I applied I don't know the loan amount yet I choose venture card over chase because I felt I could get more points rather than jumping through hoops with limited categories with chase even if chase has partner affiliates because I have no categories I'll surpass the amount of points with with the venture card for capital one I gave it an overall rating of 4 stars only because I don't have it yet and really can't say anything good or bad

more ...
May 21, 2016
Anonymous

I applied for this card with br in 2014 , my tu 717 Eq 703 , I got approve for $10000, thank you capital one for givin me second chance:-)

more ...
May 14, 2016

Don't count on CK recommendation. I was listed as Good. TU-692,EQ-702,ESP-710, FICO-695 and 8% CU with no derogatory remarks on my credit report. Cost me 3 hard pulls and 9 points off my current credit score. Trust your own judgment as CK isn't right all the time.

more ...
May 14, 2016
Health credit limit and good points card
Moonstaffa Cardholder

I designate this card for bills only.  I build points very quickly.  I have used my points for free plane tickets. 

more ...
May 12, 2016
Anonymous

Was just approved for a 10k cl. Ck score EQ. 665 expreian 671. TU 682. Not excited about the APR. 

more ...
May 11, 2016
As Advertised!!!
geocrys Cardholder

Approval odds were "good" so I applied. TU 684 EX 693 After 5 years of rebuilding my credit with 5 or 6 cards with limits of $300 here and working up to $1200 there it was great to see that I could get back into mainstream cards. I applied and without hesitation I was approved for $20000. Obviously I haven't had an oppurtunity to use the rewards program yet but I will review it once I do. I highly recommend Capital One as I have had several of their cards and they have always done me right. Customer Service is great! Capital One will always be my first choice card. But now it will be my Venture Card!!!

more ...
May 11, 2016
Great for travel rewards.
rskrause Cardholder

2% back for travel, easy to redeem. High credit limit.

more ...
May 11, 2016
APPROVED !!
Anonymous

So Excited, approved for 500 was expecting a denied i am trying to work on raising my credit score. There is hope people! there is a higher limit was you make 5 months payment ontime. 

more ...
May 08, 2016
Excited
auneisy Cardholder

I apped for this card based on the "Very Good" chances I had.  Not that I believe CK is always accurate with their predicitons, but I wanted to try this card for travels I have planned coming up.  I was approved for $20,000.  I thought I was going to pass out.  The letter states I will receive a "Welcome Kit" with my card soon.  I do not have "Excellent Credit" as the card recommends.  It was not an instant approval.  In fact it gave me the 7-10 day response, and I just knew it was goign to be a denial.  I received a letter in the mail about a week later (while the phone status check continued to say pending review).  I thought it was a statement, and did not open for a few days.  I read it while going through mail to trash and i couldn't believe what I was reading.  I've never had a card start this high, and my second highest card is HALF this limit.  At the time of app, I did get 3 hard pulls.  My TU was 687, EFX 667, and EXP 680 FICO 8.  CK 687 and EFX 664.  BK Ch 7 discharged 4/10, 2 collections paid 3+ years old, 3 recent accounts, 48% util.  One card is 98%.  I have a recently pc'd QS 1 MC 1500, and a QS Visa Platinum 2250 both had just received $1,000 and $1,500 CLI's within the last 2 weeks. 

more ...
May 05, 2016
Love this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I use this card for everything and pay off the balace at the end of the month. Better than the Saphire card for me 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

164 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i