Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews
3.1 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 04, 2019
Great, but expect a triple pull
Lax08 Cardholder

This card is great. I use it as my catch-all card and pay it off monthy. The APR is high, but when you pay in full every month this is not an issue. Just be aware that Capital One does a triple pull on your credit (one for each credit bureau) when you apply.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 13, 2019
WTR2101 Cardholder

On May 8 I was browsing through my reward points looking at pricing for a potential vacation. I was doing some comparisons and mistakenly clicked to redeem 44,000 points with JetBlue. Immediately after I realized my error I contacted customer service at capital One to alert them of my error. In conversation with the level one rap they understood my concern but we’re on able to assist. I then requested to speak to a manager and was transferred accordingly. In conversation with the manager he stated that there was nothing he could do to correct the issue. When I asked to speak to his manager he claimed there was no one higher than him then I could talk to. He was a little rude in his tone and suggested we contact JetBlue directly. I contacted JetBlue and the rep was sympathetic to the situation and simply stated that the points could be returned to capital one and that a simple email from the points department to JetBlue is all that would be required. I then called back to capital One and spoke to a new rep who stated that my concern would be escalated to the appropriate team and a review would take five business days. I received a call back this evening May 13th and again explained the situation to the capital one rep. Once again our request to have the points returned to our account was again denied. I again requested to speak to a manager. In conversation with the new manager she was unwilling to write a simple email as I requested to JetBlue to resolve this to which I feel is unfair to me being a valued customer. I am very upset with the situation and the lack of customer service capital one has provided thus far. Your company needs to review their policies to be more customer centric. When errors are made there should be provisions to help the customer. I will be taking this matter to the Better Business Bureau and other social media outlets.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 14, 2020
Bad customer service,unethical practices
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

They don't list the expiration date of balance transfers on your statements delibebrately so you'll miss the date, this is the only card I have ever seen do this. You will never get a credit line increase and they will alwayws invent a new lie why you didn't get it. It's a ripoff to pay a $95 fee , the miles don't add up

more ...
Jan 06, 2020
My favorite card of all time!
Leeannskid Cardholder

Love, love, love card! We make sure we use it for really large purchases like dental charges and the down payment for my Mustang! We have managed to save a nice amount of points for our next big vacation. And contrary to some of the other reviews, I have had excellent customer service!

more ...
Jan 05, 2020
huffchris Cardholder

I have had this card for several years ... the only one I use pretty much ... as I get the most points for everything and anything ... I have spoken with customer service several times .., and they have always been very professional and nice ... even when I have called and possibly haven't been the nost professional! I give them 5 stars and 👍🏼 ... I was very surprised to see such negative reviews of them... 

more ...
Dec 23, 2019
Laughable
pggabriel Cardholder

never ever ever do anything with Capital one people.  All the positive reviews are paid for through Reputation Defender.  The negative reviews here contain things in the "should never happen" category.  It says, 50,000 points, well, yeah but ONLY if you drop 4k in three months.  Then look at the interest rate, then LOOK at the reviews that TELL YOU, CAPITAL ONE CHARGES INTEREST ON BALANCE THAT HAVE BEEN PAID IN FULL.

No amount of Jennifer Garner is going to make do business with these a$$-hats.  Run.

Customer Service horrible?  Of it is, this is the McDonald's of credit card companies.  Sure, you can eat, but you'll wish you just stuck your finger down your throat and ran.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 03, 2020

Dang. Somebody doesn't like cap 1

 
Dec 09, 2019
Terrible Customer Service
Mr338 Cardholder

Capital One is very slow to update your balances with the three credit bureaus, which impacts your score negatively. Their customer service reps are useless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2020

They have reported mine on the 3rd of every month for 3 years.

 
Nov 11, 2019
Straightforward User Interface and Exper
elbascatter101 Cardholder

Easy to Use. Redeemed my 50K bonus points and used it for return ticket.

more ...
Nov 01, 2019
Excellent Card
Kingston1008 Cardholder

This card is a must have, please do not listen to people about poor customer service. I have been an Capital One customer for 17 years, I am 44 years old. Many times I believe customers call with poor and disrespectful behaviour and expect people to be polite and kind and take abuse. They are a professional Bank and have a long history of helping people with all kinds of credit profile. Some bbn of these comments are too personal and one sided. In just 1 year of spending I have accumulated 256,000 miles. I dont have enough good things to say about the Venture card, absolutely no other card offers you that kind of 10% discount and allow you to choose whichever hotel or airline to spend your rewards.

more ...
Oct 10, 2019
Sally3402 Cardholder

I just have one word to say to this card 

**** the capital one !!!!!!

more ...
Oct 25, 2019

Rather than posting unhelpful comments like this, it would be helpful to the rest of us if you could tell us WHY you think it's so bad so that we can then decide if we should or should not consider getting the card. But comments like yours are helpful to no one - just saying...

 
Nov 01, 2019

Sally is illiterate and uneducated. Why represent yourself in this way on a forum people are trying to communicate useful information.

 
Nov 09, 2019

That's four words.

 
Oct 09, 2019
Amazing Miles Program
ARH21 Cardholder

This card does wonders for me. I'm currently a college student who goes to school 1700 miles away from home so I'm constantly flying. I've had this card for almost 2 years and haven't had to pay for a plane ticket out of pocket since. I highly reccomend if you plan on paying it off in full (or close to) each month since interest rates are high, even for someone close to an 800 credit score. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card