Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $59 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card offers flexible travel rewards to people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 miles for every dollar spent on purchases, and 40,000 bonus miles after spending $3,000 within 3 months of approval. As long as the card is open, the rewards don’t expire, and miles can be used for flights, hotels, car rentals, cruises and more.

Look Out For

After the first year, the card comes with a $59 annual fee and there’s no 0% intro APR for purchases or transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
Outstanding Customer Service!!!!!!!
CCJedi Cardholder

Wow, I am officially blown away. I missed a payment due to a quad accident requiring multiple surgery's recently. When I called in to discuss it with the Capital One folks they were super helpful, dropped charges and interest and wait for it ... they had an amazing metal tub of baked cookies sent to my house wishing me a speedy recovery. Never saw that coming.

This is a lesson for my own business. I can't explain how impressed I am. Count me a fan for life of Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 17, 2017
Simple but Limited Rewards Structure
jetblk3 Cardholder

Upgraded to the Venture from Quicksilver last year and I recently converted my account back to Quicksilver. The main reason is although you earn double points for every purchase with the Venture, the annual fee means you need to spend at least 8,000 to break even and start earning reward dollars. Secondly, when you want to redeem the points for something other than travel (or what Capital One recognizes as travel) you only get  50% of the value on your point redemption. Example: I take a trip and want to use reward dollars towards an expensive restaurant; if I have 20,000 points, and I redeem them for the meal, they are only worth $100 instead of $200 if I redeem an airline purchase. So, if you're not smart, you could be paying the $59 fee each year, spending less than $8,000 on the card, and redeeming your points for half of their value -- essentially losing money using the card instead of making money from the bank. If you stricly redeem for airfare purchases or train tickets, and spend a great deal on other purchases, it can be very simple. As for me, I didn't like to make airline purchases using the Venture to make airline purchases because I earn more points using the Amex Premier Rewards Gold. I would rather redeem Chase Ultimate Rewards or Amex Membership rewards points because instead of 1:1 value when using points, I can earn a 2:1 or 3:1 ration when transferring to certain airlines or hotel partners.

In the end, once I had accumulated substantial rewards, I converted the account back to Quicksilver and cashed out the points for 1:1 value. So now I have no annual fee but a guaranteed earning and redemption rate on my points.

In conclusion, the Venture card is good if you want no frills and use the card exactly the way Capital One advertises, for travel,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 06, 2017
keep sending invitation
Anonymous Cardholder

They keep sending me the invitaton but declined me two times.  This costs my two hard pulls for two years! 

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Nice card in comparison with others
Alex94ua Cardholder

Was approved for $10K with 749 (751) score. Spent $3000 and got my bonuses as long as miles on those $3000 spendings.

In total, I have got almost $500 in travel or $250 for regular purchases such as groceries and all. However, these five hundres will come in handy in summer for travel, or, at least, cover my NY MTA expeses and UBER (lyft, Gett,..). Overall, its nice card with unlimited 2 miles (2%) cash back. Planning to give a call and to try get rid of the annual fee in a year. Otherwise, will close it. 

P.S. During this month closed two credit cards becuase did not use at all. The credit score has benifed from it.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
GET THIS ONE
Joshuathegreat Cardholder

This card is amazing and the application was SO EASY. Not only is the 2% cash back totaly worth it, but  the sign up bonus gives you 2 round trip domestic flights, the annual renewal is only $59, and the website is SO EASY TO USE!! I had the R Us card (toys and babies r us) and it is not even close to comparable with the accessablity, accuracy, and ease of the website. Looking for cash back for purchases? The 2% also goes towards a HUGE assortment of gift cards you can get on the siite for the 2%, rather than getting 1% for actual cash. I mean, seriously, if you can go with this card with capital one, you should definitely do it. No matter what kind of rewards you are looking for.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Great Mid Range Card!
cacole1022 Cardholder

Capital One was the first bank to give me a chance when I started rebuilding my credit in 2015.  Started with the Platinum with a $2000 limit and worked my way up to the Quicksilver and then Venture with 23K limit. I only use this card as part of my rotation when the due dates on my other cards are too close.  The rewards are just alright due to low points earned per $ spent but I must say that I can always use a Walmart gift card because I am a self-admitted Walmart junkie!  

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Applied, received, canceled in 1 month

 I had a Capital One Quicksilver for about 14 months and decided to pair it with a Venture Card. Applied on February 12 and was approved. Received the card on the 20th of February and attempted to activate card but it showed that it was "Restricted". I contacted Capital One several times over the next few days and was told that Capital One believed that fraudulent activity was happening with the card. I was asked to verify my identity each time that I spoke with customer service and the fraud department. They asked me to send them copies of my Drivers Licence, SSN and a bill. I sent the information along with a copy of the Capital One bill that I recently downloaded (from my account of 14 months). I contacted them back on March 4th and was told that my documents were fraudulent and the new card was permanantly disabled. I had had enough of this now. I told them that I no longer wanted their Venture card and that since all of my documents were "fraudulent" then apparently even my Quicksilver card was. I canceled both cards at that point. If Capital One is not smart enough to understand that I complied with their security proceedures each time and that without DNA sampling, there would be no other way to verify that I really am ME! My top secret government background check at least allowed that I really am me. 

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Benefical
Salt1 Cardholder

I enjoy the perks of this card and the customer service with Capital One is outstanding.  I have only had a positive experience with this card. 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
I LOVE my venture Credit Card!!
AreliVi Cardholder

I applied with 700 + scores and I was not instantly approved and I was bummed about that... 5 days later I got a letter saying need to verify additional info I called the Phone # and got approved with a $15,000 credit line ! I have used my card for my everyday purchases paid it off in full every month and have earned so far $813 towards travel rewards... customer service has been terrific and will happily refund you for any service you were not satisfied with . Hope this info helps!

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
13.49%?? Yeah, right.

I've had an 800+ credit rating for about 2 years. I was expecting the lowest interest rate offered. When I got my card with the 18% interest rate, I called & got some mumbled hem-haw blah blah blah about how I didn't qualify. I called the robot-in-charge and closed it immediately.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 08, 2017

LOLOL jokes on you want to keep that 800+ score pay it off every month!

 
Feb 21, 2017
High credit line
afgmuscle Cardholder

I have been back and forth on here looking at this card and debating whether or not to apply for it since my credit isn't the greatest. I had bankruptcy discharged almost 2 years ago, since I applied for a Capital One Secure card, and then a few months after that I got approved for a Barclay card with a $500 credit line. I have had and used both accounts responsibily, making payments on time, and have not used a high % of my credit utilization. My fico is around 660, however CK and my Vantage Score are 700-709. I have student loans that are $15,000, however I do have another Chase card with a $8000 credit line that my mother had opened up for me and put my name on when I first turned 18. So that may have been a deciding factor. But I'm glad I applied. I just approved for a $10,000 credit line.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Great credit line
Lpelptx Cardholder

23% interest is criminal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 08, 2017

Don't carry a balance...

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

65 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i