Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
66 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro for first year; $59 after that
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card offers flexible travel rewards to people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

Cardholders get 2 miles for every dollar spent on purchases, and 40,000 bonus miles after spending $3,000 within 3 months of approval. As long as the card is open, the rewards don’t expire, and miles can be used for flights, hotels, car rentals, cruises and more.

Look Out For

After the first year, the card comes with a $59 annual fee and there’s no 0% intro APR for purchases or transfers.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
Outstanding Customer Service!!!!!!!
CCJedi Cardholder

Wow, I am officially blown away. I missed a payment due to a quad accident requiring multiple surgery's recently. When I called in to discuss it with the Capital One folks they were super helpful, dropped charges and interest and wait for it ... they had an amazing metal tub of baked cookies sent to my house wishing me a speedy recovery. Never saw that coming.

This is a lesson for my own business. I can't explain how impressed I am. Count me a fan for life of Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 14, 2015
Great rewards, terrible customer
Anonymous Cardholder

Love the rewards, website, and superlative iOS apps, but....

Hate hate hate having to talk to their support people, especially their fraud team. Chat agents are unable to perform many basic account tasks (like rushing replacement cards). Their fraud staff, just as far as language comprehension, tact, soft skills, are among the worst I've spoken with (think Comcast bad). Hold times are often quite long as well.

Definitely the worst of the financial institutions I have relationships with from a service perspective.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 08, 2016
Best travel card
ArcherLover Cardholder

I love this card. I've already racked up some major points and booked a trip to england for free! Don't ever carry a balance with this card because of the interest rate. But service has been great. Loving the no international transaction fees too. Fiancé lives abroad so I'm traveling 3 times a years. 

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Have had it for a year
Anonymous Cardholder

Love my Venture! Started me out with 20k CL. Love Capital One. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Switch to Quicksilver
burritomen Cardholder

Decent card with no annual fee (when I had it). Approved with 680 credit score for 1500 and upgraded to 4000 shortly after. I calculated the rewards to be about 1.3% back, and I switched to quicksilver after 6 months. However, they do have a double points version of this card that you can get after 6 months.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016

You must have the wrong card. The Venture is 2x miles on everything.

 
Nov 29, 2016

You have the VentureOne, not the regular Venture.

 
Nov 19, 2016
My second CC post BK
wzupgee Cardholder

Had a Ch 7 BK 6 years ago due to fallout from divorce. TU was 744 at time of application. Got approved for a 30K CL. I had only one CC with a 12K CL, which I never kept a balance. Annual income at 170K.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Awesome rewards and fast approval
jlballs Cardholder

My credit score is 698. 18 inquires in the last two years. I have five other capital one cards. A Barclay card and a credit one card along with a $23000 car loan. I was approved for a $10,000 credit line with a $65,000 a year income 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2016

Which 5 CO cards do you have? And how long did you wait in between to apply for the next one?

 
Oct 30, 2016
Great rewards when starting out
Anonymous Cardholder

Offers great rewards and 1 year of o interest good way to pay off interest bareing debt

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
I get $500 in Free Travel every Year!
pbenbrown Cardholder

There's a $50 fee, but since I use the card for almost everything, including utility bills, insurance premiums, etc., I manage to spend about $25k/yr on the card. With double points on everything, that's 50,000 points, or $500 I can apply towards any travel-related purchase. Even cab fares and train tickets are reimbursable! The interest rates are high, so I NEVER maintain a balance, no matter how much I charge in a month. Between the rewards and the 30 day interest-free "float" you can't go wrong.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2016

30 day interest free "float"? You meaning until statement date?

 
Oct 22, 2016
Good rewards, easy approval, high APR

One of the primary things I was looking for when reading these reviews were credit scores of those who applied. I wanted to see if I would qualify as well. So, let me cut directly to the chase:

According to my CK scores, I had 684 (TU) and 682 (EQ). FICO 8 scores were 671 (EQ), 631 (TU) and 685 (EX). I was instantly approved with a $15k limit and 23.24% APR.

Some of the surrounding factors that may have played a role in approval:

- I applied online even though I was not pre-approved by CapitalOne.

- I have an existing secured credit card with CapOne that has a two year history and all on time payments.

- Although I occassionally carry a balance on the secured card, I normally pay it off and it currently has $0 on it.

- I have an auto loan with CapOne that is one year old and all on time payments.

- I have a good salary, between $75-99k.

- I have no mortgage payment as my home is paid for.

I hope this helps others.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 28, 2016

Why would you use a card with nearly 25% apr? Nuts

 
Oct 19, 2016
APPROVED!
AWBuilder Cardholder

TU 700 EX 690 ...Credit Limit 5k!

more ...
Oct 28, 2016

Why would you use a card with nearly 25% apr? Nuts

 
Nov 17, 2016

If you pay the balance every month there is no interest paid

 
Oct 06, 2016
This is my "Go To" card, ..always.
ElGuapo15 Cardholder

This credit card is for the very "savvy"  credit card user and those that know how to spend only what is intended within the monthly budget.  This card I use for any and every purchase someone make without paying really high card fees.  Also, the card miles can be used in various ways..ie ..hotel , airline trip, credit toward purchase and gift card purchases.  I'm really glad I acquired the card and seriously the customer service agents are great, no problems at all.  Pay your charges right away and you will not pay any charges in interest.  Thank you Capital One.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 649
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Venture® Rewards Credit Card

66 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i