Great for beginners††
See card detail
See card detail
Rewards rate

1% - 1.5% Cash back


Annual fee

$0



Overall card rating

3.4
228 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Mar 27, 2019
I love it!
Credit Karma Member

There are so far no negative comments for this card yet!? Its amazing! They?re more trusting with your limits than any other card out there! I had about a 630 score and they approved me for 2,500! While capital one (was 300, is now 500) credit one (was 300, is now 500), first premiere bank (500), fingerhut (400) Wayfair (1000) and horizon gold (a personal mall card, 1500) were all lower limits compared to petal!? I absolutely LOVE this card so far!? I most definitely recommend it to others!? They?re better trusting for you to start off you credit right and not limit you so much because of your limited history.? I like how they check your bank records and go off that instead of your history.

230
21
7

Most helpful negative review

Mar 10, 2019
Served its purpose....
Credit Karma Member

Card is okay if you have limited choices due to low credit scores. With responsible use, they will report to all 3 bureaus although there are fees that you may incur at a high rate just to own this card. After a period of time, if your scores are high enough, I would recommend finding a better card with lower interest etc.

199
42
8


Member ratings


All member reviews (228)

62
14
18
10
124

Sep 16, 2021
I'm glad and thankful i was approved
Credit Karma Member

I just love this card haven't have any issues at all everything smooth and accurate

0
0
0

Sep 10, 2021
Not worth it
Credit Karma Member

Opened the card as my second credit card. the company is too new and still learning how to be efficient. they make log in impossible on the app & credit limits just became a thing! and you can even apply. you have to use their “leap” program. it sucks overall. wouldn’t recommend

0
0
0

Aug 31, 2021
Love the card and the app
Credit Karma Member

The app is user friendly and providers alerts to help you with spending. There are also cash back options which are helpful.

0
0
0

Aug 22, 2021
Excellent card
Credit Karma Member

I was previously credit invisible, and was researching starter cards. I applied and was accepted right away. I connected my bank account and was immediately given a $1,500 credit limit. After 8 months I went from credit invisible to a 749 credit score. The app is extremely helpful and easy to understand for first time users. My only annoyance is that I have it set to auto pay my full balance, and sometimes it doesn't always acknowledge my full balance so I have to cancel auto draft and set the amount I want to pay. I have had no issues thus far and have even gained $13.00 in cash back.

2
0
1

Aug 21, 2021
Cool little card
Credit Karma Member

I like this card

0
0
0

Aug 21, 2021
Prepare to give up your data
Credit Karma Member

You have to do a 3d scan of your face and send in pictures of your ID. I did all this and was approved for a limit of $1300, with a 740 score. That limit wasn't even half of my lowest credit limit card. Totally not worth it.

2
2
0

Aug 18, 2021
Poor experience
Credit Karma Member

I tried to make a purchase within my credit limit and my transaction was declined. I phone Petal customer service to see why, and was told that my card wasn’t allowed to make this type of purchase (paying off a car). I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told one would call me within 24-48 hours. No call… instead they sent me an email telling me exactly what the previous rep told me. Also, the app is horrible. You have to do a text or call verification every time you want to see the balance. Facial recognition for iPhone never saves or works a second time. Avoid this card. Nothing but headaches so far. I plan on paying off and closing shortly.

5
2
0

Jul 11, 2021
Debit card payment would be nice other than that i
Credit Karma Member

Great card

0
2
0

Jul 04, 2021
Inaccurate suggestion
Credit Karma Member

Credit karma put poor approval odds for me. But was approved!

8
1
1

May 24, 2021
Strange Card, Seems Impossible to Get
Credit Karma Member

I have an 800+ credit score (confirmed on my rejection later) and was rejected for "unable to verify information on your application. No response from support, the rejection makes no sense

22
13
3

1-10 of 228

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
Great for beginners††
See card detail
See card detail
Rewards rate

1% - 1.5% Cash back


Annual fee

$0




These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.