Petal Visa Credit Card Reviews

Petal Visa Credit Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 09, 2019
Painless card
jdg2002 Cardholder

Easy to get, generous credit limit. Nothing about the card i don't like so far. Applied and got instant approval. $2000 limit with 620 score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 05, 2019
Great at first but then got weird.
ljasbhvaldiufbal Cardholder

Honestly could not have been happier with it for the first 6-7 weeks--no issues. Then on Friday, August 2nd, something must have happened to them. It was either a malicious hack/takeover or some internal disruption that caused them to freeze thousands of accounts (including mine with absolutely no notice). When I contacted them I was told I would have to send them--VIA EMAIL--incredibly sensitive information in order to unfreeze my account. I now notice that I have no access to the cashback that I had accrued and I assume my credit will take a hit when they cancel my card for refusing to send them the info (a selfie with me holding my driver's license next to my face, W2, and bank statements). I am hoping they are just being shady and weren't hacked. Hopefully the feds will take care of things from here. Looking forward to see how this all plays out. And of course, I absolutely would not recommend this card to anyone. Just use a more well known brand to build your credit, even if it doesn't have cashback.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2019
a good tool if used well!
REVLETSUPREME Cardholder

Everything is pretty straightforward with Petal, it's a good idea that has the potential to be great for everyone. I've reccomended it to anyone who would listen. I'm a big fan.

more ...
Nov 05, 2019

I applied for this card only after being denied for 2 different secured credit cards with my fico scores ranging from 600-650. I knew from reading Petal card reviews that it was an inferior card but was desperate to improve my credit. I was quickly approved for a $2000 limit. Within 3 months my scores went up to 725 and I was very pleased! Then everything went downhill quick! Customer service is utterly atrocious. When there is an issue that requires a call prepare for a 30-60 minute nightmare talking to someone with highly broken English from either India or the Philippines who is extremely inefficient and difficult to communicate with. I've had numerous technical problems with the app when trying to pay my bill. I've never carried a balance with this card. I always use it for $30-50 in purchases/month and pay off the balance in full. Last month I used the card to rent a car in Cancun that required a $500 deposit. Even though the deposit was credited back prior to closing date and I paid off the remaining balance in full, as always, Petal reported my account as carrying a $650 balance for the month of September and my scores dropped 25-40 points!!! Now I'm back down below 700!  Thanks for nothing Petal..!..

more ...
Oct 31, 2019
The Perfect Card
AndyNYC Cardholder

They gave $4,500 limit when I really needed to make a big payment. It was a saviour and I am forever grateful. No annual fees. Simple App. Simple webpage. Highly recommended. Thank you Petalcard.

more ...
Oct 21, 2019
More pros than cons
REVLETSUPREME Cardholder

It's pretty straightforward and keeps itself user friendly which is nice. Very limited credit history got me approved for $750 but after another month I'm eligible for an increase. It has a lot of potential to be an awesome card but it rarely updates its information with credit bureaus, a balance I had at the beginning of September is still reflected on my credit reports and I paid that balance off within a week back in early September. now at almost November, they're still saying the same balance, the Petal app doesn't say anything like it but my credit report still has that from September 1st. Not cool. Other than that, pretty decent.

more ...
Oct 03, 2019
Good for Purchases,Bad for Credit Repair
Kennov8 Cardholder

So I applied for this card to start repairing my credit. Had around a 600 Cr score or lower at the time of application and was approved for $2500 credit line. The card is visually pleasing and while the 1% cashbacks isn't much, it's still better than nothing.
I've had no issues using this card at a large variety of vendors and getting my payments to post on-time. Their mobile app is really polished and easy to use.
My issue with this card is their slow credit reporting. I made a large purchase a couple of months ago on this card and paid it down over the next two months. I have now had the card paid off for almost a month and my credit report still shows that I carry a balance. For comparison I have my Capital One Secured card that I made payments around the same time with and they updated my credit report WEEKS ago.
So overall I'm keeping the card until I can get something with better cashback benefits but I wouldn't recommend getting this card for credit repair or if you do not intend on usinytheir app.

more ...
Oct 09, 2019

Have any of your payments posted

 
Oct 31, 2019

Yup, everything finally went through. Also lost my wallet and they were faster in replacing it than capital one was. Impeccable customer service so far. Will come and update of my experience changes.

 
Sep 27, 2019
The best card ever!!!!!
jas707 Cardholder

It's very fast and easy process. Also their APR is extremely low, so it's definitely worth it! 

more ...
Sep 25, 2019
Easy application and approval process
3JV Cardholder

Application process: Applied directly on Petal's website. Provided SSN, picture of photo ID and "selfie" image capture. Was pre-approved and approved same day. Received email notification with member agreement, credit line info. Card was sent via FedEx and received one week later.

I have not actually used my card yet. I have also not linked my banking with my credit account. I have been hesitant with the mixed reviews regarding processing of payments and customer service interactions.

Applied for card for emergencies and auto bill pay of small accounts.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 09, 2019

Do u have any updates on the card? I’m considering getting one but I’m not sure yet after reading the reviews

 
Sep 25, 2019
Poor customer service
Morae86 Cardholder

I sent my payment through certified mail with a 293 dollar money order to pay the whole amount I used. I sent it before I had a payment due Sept 4th 2019. It got mailed to a different address which pay office said that's where petal picks their mail up from. Which was delivered and signed for on September 12. It is now September 24th and no payment processed. Poor poor poor organization and care for their customers. Do not recommend petal. What a nightmare

more ...
Sep 27, 2019

why would you mail a payment? this 2019 not 1971! If your serious about building credit get with the times.

 
Oct 12, 2019

It's 2019, why are you still using the mail system to pay your bills?

 
Sep 24, 2019
Petal does not allow P.. O. boxes
Inquisitor2 Cardholder

If you want to use a P. O. box for security then look elsewhere.

more ...
Oct 07, 2019

That’s a joke right?

 
Oct 24, 2019

No credit card company does lol

 
Sep 24, 2019
Petal has payment issues.
WayFis Cardholder

I mailed a money order as payment 16 days before due date, Petal says they haven't gotten it.

I decided to pay with a Money order throu certified mail, but Petal apparently doesn't have a physical address.

Do Not use petal!

more ...
Sep 24, 2019

No physical address? They do not allow me to use a P. O. box for greater security. I guess they are hypocrites.

 
Oct 03, 2019

Who mails in their payments?? It’s 2019, not 1969

 
Oct 12, 2019

Mailing a money order? Why?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Petal Visa Credit Card Reviews

Petal Visa Credit Card