Petal Visa Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 18, 2019
EASY!! my scores are below 650s
emilydc Cardholder

Ive looked everywhere to get aprove for my 1st credit card! I finally found the Petal visa Card after 5 years of looking. Ive tried capital one and all the other big cards, NOTHING! but i applied for the Petal recieving only $800/m in SSI and they approved me with $1000 limit. i tried to fill it out on my phone but after a few tries; i ended up filling out the appliation on the computer. Getting aproved within minutes!

So Thanks to CreditKarma and the Petal Visa Credit Card I now have my 1st credit card!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 05, 2019
Great at first but then got weird.
ljasbhvaldiufbal Cardholder

Honestly could not have been happier with it for the first 6-7 weeks--no issues. Then on Friday, August 2nd, something must have happened to them. It was either a malicious hack/takeover or some internal disruption that caused them to freeze thousands of accounts (including mine with absolutely no notice). When I contacted them I was told I would have to send them--VIA EMAIL--incredibly sensitive information in order to unfreeze my account. I now notice that I have no access to the cashback that I had accrued and I assume my credit will take a hit when they cancel my card for refusing to send them the info (a selfie with me holding my driver's license next to my face, W2, and bank statements). I am hoping they are just being shady and weren't hacked. Hopefully the feds will take care of things from here. Looking forward to see how this all plays out. And of course, I absolutely would not recommend this card to anyone. Just use a more well known brand to build your credit, even if it doesn't have cashback.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 17, 2019
Great credit limits but SLOW to report
zachnicodemous Cardholder

In principle, this is a great card.  I was approved six months ago and they gave me the highest limit of any of my credit cards.  They consistently reported to credit agencies for March, April, May, June and July however since July 1st, they have not reported on August 1st or September 1st and continue to show a $2000 balance on my card even though it was paid off to under $100, thus falsely raising my credit utilization.  For someone building their credit, this is potentially damaging.

more ...
Sep 16, 2019
Stay away !
Robin21b Cardholder

Terribly card, they never report to credit agencies pulling down your credit. They say it takes up two 8 weeks which is a lie. Cards report every month. 

They have lower my score. Stay away

more ...
Sep 16, 2019
This card sucks
53Star Cardholder

Don't bother getting this card if you are trying to improve your score because even if you are using it perfectly and paying in full on time they just don't report. I had to wait months before the first report (which they said is normal but once they starting reporting it would be normalized), but since then they haven't reported to any bureau for months. If you email them, their generic response is they are are aware they are lagging in reporting and are working on improving the system?????? What kind of credit card company can't report to the credit bureaus? It's frigging digital! It's literally the most important responsibility you have as a credit card company to your consumers. I use the card solely to improve my credit, and I am receiving absolutely zero benefit from this card whatsoever. Fix your broken system Petal. 

more ...
Sep 09, 2019
update: worst card ever
clararap Cardholder

Update since my last review:

The fraudulent charges on my account have been pending a dispute since late July and they have not reported anything to credit bureaus since July 1st. When I speak to customer service they just repeat the same thing as the previous person and it seems as though they can't actually do anything meaningful in terms of helping me. No one is on the same page and I am having to repeat my issues over and over. Not sure what I can do at this point except wait for them to get their sh*t together.

more ...
Sep 04, 2019
Garbage
189zdp Cardholder

Update: After the selfie and linking to bank account debacle, Petal is not reporting payments/updated balances. I'm far from the only customer having this issue (please see other reviews here or read the comments on their Instagram posts) if you are considering this card stay away. If you are a current customer experience these problems please sound off here, or better yet on their social media accounts.

more ...
Sep 03, 2019
great card
ed004 Cardholder

great card really came in handy when we had a wreck.

works perfect no problems so far

more ...
Sep 02, 2019
Great easy card
GLC14 Cardholder

No fees easy to pay using the app. immediately get cash back

more ...
Aug 30, 2019
So far so good!
BumbleBumbleee Cardholder

The application was super easy and I received my card in 5 calendar days. I did have to upload my license and then had to take a few selfies at a different angle so it could verify but I was ok with that. Approved with a very nice limit and a 650ish score. I am happy thus far. I do understand this is a new company and has some growing pains however hopefully they can iron out the wrinkles and correct the mistakes! 

more ...
Aug 22, 2019
Solid card with typical cash back percen
Kctea206 Cardholder

Decent card for a newbie

more ...
Aug 22, 2019
This card is great!
Marlii Cardholder

I've had this card for around 3 months, and I love it. I've been able to raise my credit score significantly, which was my main goal when applying for the card. I appreciate the option to pay off the entire balance for the aforementioned purpose. The cash back is an added bonus as well. I would recommend this card to many others in my situation. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Petal Visa Credit Card