Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
90 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to an interest rate as low as 12.99% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 27, 2017
takes time to appreciate
brianlcargill Cardholder

I've had this card for about 3 years initial CL was $1000 now $3000 credit score 680 exp.  there's huge benefits periodically they will give you promotional checks for about 5.99%- 9.99%  after you've gone through your 0% for 21 months promotional offer.  if you pay your balance on time and show a history of using the card they will auto-raise your limit.

haven't dealt with the customer service  so I cannot speak on that overall a good card to use periodically and great balance transfer options, but there points system is trash ;)

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Beware
Anonymous Cardholder

Beware of their Bait and Switch!  I called to apply for the card with the sole content to transfer my discover balance over to this 0% card.  Up front I made sure that I could get a balance high enough to allow for the full transfer (my credit and income are more than enough to get the balance I needed).  I was assured by the person I spoke with on the phone that this wouldn't be an issue, and if the initial limit wasn't high enough, that based on my situation when I activated the card they would up my balance to cover my transfer.  Upon getting my new card in the mail, and calling to activate it, I was told that because I was a new member that I could not up my limit (this was after they had me run my credit for a second time).  If they knew this up front why would they run my credit again, and not just tell me either when I was applying for the card or now that new members could not get a limit increase.  On top of having to deal with representatives in other countries, this has been the worst credit card I have yet had to deal with.  I am sad to be leaving my Discover Card where my 0% term has come to an end, as the customer service there was transparent, and I was never ran around and mislead like I have been in the very small time I have been with this Citi Card.  If you are considering this card- be sure to ask all of the questions up front, and just know that even though what you think they may be telling you is the truth, most likely it will change after you opt-into their card.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
pretty good
Breyapolo Cardholder

i started off with a 6200 credit limit citi just took it to 7500
im enjoyin the 0% interest rate

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Nothing special...
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for a few years now and don't really use it all that much. I originally got it for a low interest, decent rewards card... but my interest (after the 0% promotional APR) was fairly high. Most recently around 17.49% (V) with the prime rate considered. I don't really feel like the rewards are that impressive either. The primary benefits always appear very complex in redemption and specific in nature - like limited to certain vendors, deals, events, points in time AND/OR locations. Compared to some of my other cards, it isn't typically the one I would use for typical purchases (those that are most likely to hold a balance/accrue interest). Some of my others provide lower interest rates AND simpler rewards programs (such as broad, quarterly 5% cash-back categories: gas, wholesale clubs, department stores, restaurants, etc; year-round 1/2/3% cash back on all purchase or purchase from a specific category). One redeeming benefit I did get recently was a spontaneous offer for 1 year 0% APR and an opportunity to convert to a different type of card that offers different rewards. So I may switch over to a different Citi card soon. All-in-all, I feel like it is alright for an emergency card but wouldn't recommend it. 

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
horrible
rosie4158 Cardholder

i was about 5 days late before i sent in the payment and they blocked my card. i have over 3k limit and spent about 250...i was going to use it to pay dr bills so i could keep it seperate from my other cards. as soon as the end of the week will call to make sure payment received. another card thats bad is usaa. they call when 1 day late 4 times a day. i can only pay towardz the end of the month when my pay comes in,but both due dates are around the 15th. i tried calling to change the due date with no luck

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 27, 2017

It's nobody's fault but your own for any consequences that result from a past due balance. Regardless if it's only by a day. If you can only pay at the end of the month, set aside money for your bills that will be coming due in the upcoming month. Get in front of it, not behind it.

 
Feb 17, 2017
Approved
Hollywood05 Cardholder

I applied today as I want to utilize the 21 month balance transfer. Approved for 5k with good credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 27, 2017

WHAT IS YOUR SCORE CREDIT ?

5K IS REALLY GOOD. THE ONLY REASON IM ASKING IS BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE TO APPLY TOO. THANK YOU !

 
Feb 17, 2017
Beware...Ridiculously low credit limit!
markymark7 Cardholder

I have a FICO score of over 700. I applied so I can take advantage of the 0% balance transfer for 21 months offer. I have over $100,000 in credit limit with other banks. I was approved for $3,000 with this card. I called to have them reconsider and they said they needed to pull my credit again (even though I had applied just the day before!). I asked them to review my credit pull from day before and they said they could not reconsider without another credit check. Ultimately, they declined to increase the limit and were unwilling to assist whatsoever. I wasted my time and credit check. 

Unless you're looking at transferring less than $3,000, I wouldn't bother with Citi.

Also, I had a Citi credit card since 2004 and relatively large credit limit. They closed it without advanced notice because of "inactivity". I've gone years without using credit cards at Chase and American Express and they have never just closed it out. This ultimately reduced my overall credit limit and history and negatively impacted my score. Very frustrated and upset and will not do business with Citi anymore. 

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Credit Increase Update
TryTryAgain Cardholder

Originally approved for the Citi Diamond Preferref card with a $6,700 credit limit. A month later, I went online and requested a credit increase. I asked for 20k but was only bumped up to 10k because my account was so new. Not worth the hard inquiry.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017

You are an idiot. 10k isnt chump change

 
Feb 27, 2017

@onewhoknows556 You obviously don't understand credit utilization. Credit utilization has a high impact on your credit score so if I want to keep the great credit score that I have, It's important to stay below 30% utilization. Which means of that $10,000.00, I can only utilize up to $3,000.00 at any given time. If not running up 10k on my credit card makes me an idiot, then so be it. But between you and I, I'm likely the one with the most sense...and better credit score. Good luck with that 500 credit score GENIUS.

 
Feb 17, 2017
Simple, and straightforward
Anonymous Cardholder

One of the best things about this card, ALL of Cap One services, is the app.

The card's accepted everywhere, and the cash back is a nice little perk.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Great
ang21twinkle Cardholder

Card is great especially with the 21 month's no APRIl and it was quick on my application approving me for 4,700.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card