Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 31, 2019
Awesome credit card with so many perks
vatres Cardholder

Their customer service is outstanding, also anytime you make apayment shows you very clearly deducts the money from your balance right away. Citi credit card app is really nice and easy to use. Credit card really looks great and is great for balance transfers. I recommend this credit card to anyone and there is no annual fees. 

more ...
Oct 17, 2019
Just awful

1. Their interest rates are quite high even for people with good scores (mine hovers in the 750-790 range). 

2. Their fraud detection algorithms are designed by morons and implemented by *******s: 
Example A, this morning, I had a legit online charge declined because I recently had to re-link my credit cards to ApplePay in my e-Wallet on both cellphones because of this week's iOS update. This is my same Citi card numbers and same mobile phone numbers that have been linked to ApplePay for over two years already, and I only had to reconnect them because of the iOS update, as did literally every other Citicard customer with an iphone. When I called to fix it, they put me on hold for 8 minutes and then abruptly disconnected me.  Had to wait an hour to cool off before I called back.

Example B, two years ago, in my home city, I took a taxi home (to the corner where I almost always get out of taxis) from an exhausting & unpleasant medical procedure, and my card was declined. No reason. Fraud unit reached out four hours later to say, 'Oh, was that you?' *******s traumatized me because they are stupid.

Example C, mutiple times, I have traveled abroad, and put travel alerts on my CitiCards, and yet they decline random charges abroad even when it's the same card as the one on which I booked the flight to that destination. The fraud department simply does not bother to data-mine or look up the considerable information on the card & cardholder that they already have. They'd rather mess up your trip. 

3. With rare exceptions, interacting with them by phone is painful. Customer service ranges from lethargic to inattentive to abusive. Even when the agents are nice & trying to help, they can't - hobbled by management.

All of the above applies equally to the Citi Thank You Preferred Card

more ...
Aug 15, 2019
Zero stars given...
Laceyfoster Cardholder

 Great customer service reps given absolutely no power to actually do anything to help you… Death in the family couldn’t give away the late fee 😕

more ...
Jul 08, 2019
Awful!!!
Catherine129 Cardholder

I called to dispute a fee on my card & the customer service rep said she couldn’t help me. I asked to speak with a supervisor & was told they were on another call & it would be a few minutes. A minute later the customer service rep tells me that her supervisor is no longer available. Did she suddenly die? Did she run out of the building? What do you mean she’s no longer available? She was available a minute ago. It is cringe worthy when you catch the customer service rep in a lie. Never again. I’ll pay my bill & be done with them. I will never do service with them again. Save yourself the headache & take your business to another company. Absolutely terrible. 

more ...
Jul 03, 2019
iowahawkz Cardholder

My credit score is 801 and they consistently deny my requests for a credit increase.  I have had this card for 3 years now, and never had a credit increase.  No points or rewards, would not reccommend this card.  It is a very pretty card, but beyond that, no real incentives.

more ...
Apr 19, 2019
edwwjr1 Cardholder

I Love My Card I have a Big Credit Limit Not The Bigest one But Not Small Either. They will Work with you to Transfur your Card to another Card That Will Be Better For You. and You Get To Keep the Credit Limit You Already Had..

They Will Not stand behind you they will let the Airlines Riping You off.

more ...
Mar 14, 2019
They used to be a good credit card
snowdirt Cardholder

Their customer service should be based in the United States and they should take responsibility for their errors.  I never received a statement but I have to pay for the late fee .

more ...
Mar 27, 2019

You can pay the bill online. You can call and make a payment anytime.

 
Mar 27, 2019

You can pay online. View your charges and statements online. You can call and pay over the phone. You dont really have an excuse. You justfeel Citi should be honored to eat your dirt

 
Jan 09, 2019
Garbage garbage and garbage.
CeeLee22 Cardholder

Customer Service is garbage and they are VERY GREEDY.

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
Good for BTs
xxemoxx Cardholder

So my score is roughly 660, and as someone rehabbing their credit after choices in college, Citi approved me for a $4600 starting limit, plus 15 months 0% APR on Purchases and BT. I am worried after reading some reviews that they will drop my limit to my current acct. balance if I tend to pay the card down frequently, but for now I am pleased I can transfer some higher APRs and pay them off without interest.

Once Im done with that I will go back to my Cap1 cash back card, which I generally pay off in full every month and put this card away for emergencys. If Citi lowers my limit or cancels the card on me its their loss.

But for the time being Im a happy camper....

EXCEPT THE ONLY WAY TO TALK TO A CUSTOMER SERVICE REP IN THE STATES IS TO ASK FOR A SUPERVISOR WHICH I DO RIGHT OFF THE BAT ON EVERY CALL!!!!! THE LANGUAGE ISSUE WITH TIER1 REPS IS ANNOYING EVEN IF THEY SPEAK ENGLISH THEU DONT UNDERSTAND IT.....

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card