Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to an interest rate as low as 13.24% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 23, 2017
The worst card & worst customer servic
abdallaeemam Cardholder

Very high interest and they don't honor lots of their so called card benefits ... every time I call their customer service I regret the day I got this card or any card from city bank .... if it won't hurt credit card I would have closed my account long time ago! 

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
THEY DO NOT HONOR THE CARDHOLDER AGREEME
Djdanny41 Cardholder

I got this card due to the 0% on balance transfers. After 8 months I went to transfer a balance, got confirmation of the 3% fee and then was told I had "no offers available"...no offers??? My agreement states that I have 21 months!!!! Customer service was horrible ad I would told I could "write to president trump" if I wanted to complain...worst customer service ever and a FRAUDULENT COMPANY!!!! I work in finance and CITI IS THE REASON WHY CONSUMERS DON'T TRUST BANKS IN THE UNITED STATES!!!! FRAUDS!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 27, 2017

DJ Danny did not understand the offer. The offer is 0% interest for 21 months on balance transfers made in the first 30 days of opening the account. It does NOT mean you have 21 months to do a 0% transfer. He waited 8 months to take advantage of the offer... it expired. There is no merit to this complaint.

 
Mar 20, 2017
Approved after 18 month w/ citi secured
JosepBillcc3 Cardholder

After 18 month with the Citi Secured MasterCard, Citi Bank pull my credit report from Transunion and give me the offer: Citi Diamond Preferred with the same credit limit of my secured card ($200) and refund me the security deposit.

Approved with (CK Score 619 TU / 712 EQ / 660 EX)

53% Credit utilization across all my credit cards (9 total, 2 with balance)

19 hard inquiries

I'm so happy with my Citi Diamond Preferred without and excellent credit. Thanks Citi.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Worst card ever
Fransena Cardholder

I have had this card for about 5 years now. I'm not the best client ever, but I never ever missed a payment. They were always very conservative in the CL. They just reduced my CL in 1.800, soh left me with 600.00 right after I paid. Now I have more than 10 other CC, over 100K in CL and they still won't increase my CL witch still at 600 dollars.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Poor Customer Serivce
Keybler207 Cardholder

I called customer service to request an off-cycle report to the credit bureaus due to paying off a highish balance. I am buying a house, so need all my ducks in a row. Two customer service reps and one of their supervisors said no to the request. I requested the account be shut down because three other credit card companies were more than happy to fulfill this pretty simple request. At that point I was directed to an "account specialist" who told me he could send me a letter showing my current balance. That's great, but doesn't help my actual FICO score or DTI ratio. 

Betting my credit report gets updated in the next few days showing the closing of the acount. 

The card is exactly what it says it is, just make sure you read everything before trying to apply. I got a 3.3k CL with approx. 700 score, I thought the limit was low, but was just wanting the 0% transfer time. 

Bottom line, it's a credit card and if you want it, go for it...just don't expect anything from customer service.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Approved
TheHeater5 Cardholder

I applied with this card after CK said that I have good odds. My CK score shows 650. I was instantly approved for 4500.00. I called them and asked for a higher credit limit and got approved for $9800.00.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 19, 2017

Which credit bureau has 650 of your score? And what's your utilization?

 
Mar 12, 2017
Really high interest rate!! Beware!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I do not reply recommend this card. I'm trying to transfer the balance to a credit union. The interest rate is insane!!

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
ask for higher limit when you apply
MercerStreet Cardholder

I applied with credit Karma telling me my score was like 693 which I knew had to be wrong as AMEX was telling me my FICO was much higher... I got a notification to call in to verify details, I did they instantlly approved me for a credit line of $9000 I told them I wasn't happy with that credit line and was expecting a higher credit line as I didn't want to deal with credit cards with low limits, as I like to keep utilization low on cards, and with such a low limit I wouldn't be able to spend much on it without going above 30%. I rattled off that my Chase Sapphire Reserve limit was $28K and Chase Sapphire Prefered $25K etc... They asked what my monthly spending on cards was I said 8-15K depending on month betwen my amex and other cards.

They said "ok we can check right now and see if we can get you an increase what credit line amount were you hoping for?" 

Not wanting to sound too greedy, I said $15K... They came back on the phone 2 min later and said I was approved for $15K

My biggest regret is that I didn't ask for an even higher limit of say $22-25K! I had been led to believe that once the card came I could again ask for a higher limit before activating it and without a hard pull- they said no they would need to do a hard pull... SO I just acccepted the $15k limit and moved on.

Also, when I got the card-- with all the paperwork it said when they pulled my credit it was 726 Experian, which just goes to show you that Credit Karma isn't all too accurate at times.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Horrible customer service
ladyNblack1 Cardholder

This is the worst experience ever. I was approved for the card and then I used the card once at Harris Teeter. They froze the card and requested all of these documents to be submitted. No problem I submitted my social security card, drivers license, utility bill and etc. They states that they did not receive the documents. Resubmitted the docs and then they stated they couldn't read the documents. It was legible for a notary to read it. Now I'm stuck in some security review and I have not received my money. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Excellent card for me
DEEsz55 Cardholder

I was looking for a low interest card more so than a rewards credit card. I applied and was approved for CL of $14,700. Odd amount but it was okay for my intended purposes. I was approved in about 60 seconds online. (I am a current Citibank CC holder. Zero balance CL $7500 since inception.)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card