Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
126 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 16, 2017
Quick Approval with Good CL
BigTireGuy Cardholder

Had score of 738 and 17% credit usage and was approved for 13,000 limit. Transferred $7600 with scheduled payments for 21 months. Helped cash flow!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2017
Great card, great Customer Service

Was approved for $5,000, the 0% for 21 months is a big help with balance transfers. The other card I have had about $2,100 with  a 24% APR and this card helped a ton

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Very low CL
rabbott3 Cardholder

Don’t apply if you are looking for a high CL card. I got approved for $800 while other cards I own offered me higher CL. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
Complete waste of time
HansGruber Cardholder

I applied for this card because of the 0% APR for 21 months on balance transfers, and because CreditKarma estimated my approval odds were very good.  After applying, I was approved right away, but for a modest credit limit that really wasn't of much use to me.  After receiving the card in the mail and enrolling in the online banking program, I sought to transfer a balance to take advantage of the 0% offer.  Initially I tried this from my iPhone app, only to see the message "Looks like you currently have no balance transfer offers in the City Mobile App for this card".  Initially, I thought it might be a technical issue, so I logged into my account from my laptop, followed the links to view/request balance transfers, only to have a similar message informing me I have no balance transfer offers.  Since I haven't used the card yet and my balance is still $0, my plan is to destroy the card and leave the account open until they close it due to inactivity.  Until then, it will increase my total available credit and lower my credit utilization rate.  At least I got something out of it, I suppose.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2017

Best idea ever!!

 
Oct 23, 2017
Love it! Can't beat 21 months 0%
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for $5,000, big help to consolidate my debt.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 31, 2017

What was your FICO score when you applied? TIA! 😃

 
Oct 23, 2017
Canceled it due to high late payment fee
Anonymous Cardholder

Forgot to pay my bill by two days because I rarely use this card as it doesn't offer any benefits like cashback or points like my other cards. My amount due was $35 and they wanted me to pay a ridiculous late payment fee of $25, which was almost the amount that I owed originally. They said they couldn't waive it. I said I would cancel my card and they didn't care. So I did. I rarely used it, the only perk was being able to access citi presales.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
no more bt offers
Anonymous Cardholder

6 years after perfect customer they stopped offering balance transfer and tell me jan 1st. that was two years ago. 742 score

more ...
Oct 06, 2017
Not good
CkCiii Cardholder

$2000 credit limit on a 747 credit rating average. Not good.
Not of much use. Citibank customer service is amongst the worst I have ever encountered. I had multiple Tech Support calls and they were unable to a enable my use of their own Citibank app THEY invited me to use. Disgraceful.

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Nothing they don't already know.😂

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Horrible
xxleadinglady Cardholder

I was thinking this card would be a great deal seeing there is no interest for 21 months. When you look online at your valanxnit jumps constantly. One day I owed 2500 and the exact next day it went to 3000. Where it shows available balance and then current balance, DOES NOT EVEN ADD UP TO THE CORRWCT AMOUNT. I would not recommed this card. 

more ...
Sep 13, 2017

That's cuz there are pending charges. That one's pretty obvious, lol. It's no reason to give a bad review of an otherwise good card. :)

 
Oct 04, 2017

If you can't read a credit card statement, perhaps you shouldn't have one.

 
Sep 08, 2017
GREAT EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND
BICYCLELADY Cardholder

Applied by phone, HP from EXP score 707, APPROVED after calling back to verify rent, CL $2,400 W annual social seccurity income of only $11,000. Had previous Citi Dbl Cash card w zero bal in excl standing. Card arrived in 10-14 days and bal trans completed quickly when requested right after card arrived. I AM VERY HAPPY W CITI. THANK YOU JESUS FOR PRAYER ANSWERED HERE.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card