Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
69 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.24% - 22.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.24% - 22.24%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to an interest rate as low as 12.24% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2016
Temperamental Bank
BD1966 Cardholder

This was my go to card first five years.  $25,000 credit limit, so I made a big purchase for $23,000 and paid it off by the next billing cycle. Citi sent me a notification saying they didn't like the way I was using my card, dropped my limit to $2,500 and sent me a Thankyou PREFERRED card.           Now some years later still have same card, that I don't care for and no credit increase. Called costumer service and ask why haven't I gotten an increase and was told I wasn't using my card enough for an increase. Then they hit me with a hard inquiry and increase refusal. TU 795 Equifax 802. Capital One $13,000 limit, AMEX $25,000 Discover $19,000. Never asked for increase on these cards. Just seemed to give them automatically.  What happened to Citi cards?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 18, 2016
Pretty decent card
Anonymous Cardholder

Citi card is good for beginners, will recommend.

more ...
Nov 27, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Nov 27, 2016

You can't beat the 21 month 0 % balance transfer rate.

 
Nov 18, 2016
Bad credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

Had 28,000 credit limit never late never missed payment.Just because i didnt use card dropped my credit limit way down to were it looked like i was maxed out on my line of credit which brought my credit score way down for no reason.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
No Interest for 21 months
Bg17 Cardholder

Need i say more, this card is great i can carry a balance month to month and not be charged. The rewards for this card are minimal and main reason for applying for it should be the 21 month interest free period.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
awesome credit line and rate even after
elopez4828 Cardholder

approval in 30 seconds. my largest credit line out 10 cards.  credit score 750.  low apr after the 0% for 21 mths. keep in mind not everyone will qualify.  build your credit up.  its more than just a score its also whats in the credit file

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 29, 2016

What kind of limit did they give you?

 
Oct 18, 2016
Odd Limits
TryTryAgain Cardholder

Excellent credit (760+). I applied on Citi's site and was approved immediately. Only issue is $6,200.00 credit limit. I was hoping for 10k at minimum. Now I'll have to wait 6 months to haggle a credit increase. How do they decide on these arbitrary limits?

Sidenote: 18% APR after 21 month introductory period. I won't be using the the card longer than the introductory period.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Bad rewards, decent 0% intro offer
IAmDPerk Cardholder

I got it because it offered a 21-month 0% intro APR.  You earn points, as well, for rewards, but all that they are good for are being used to "discount" other merchandise... 5 points = $5 off a $50 gift card, or 30 points = $30 off a $140 pair of Oakley sunglasses... they're set amounts, too, so you can't fully purchase anything with points. There are no freebies, just discounts on gift cards or discounts to get you to a competitive price on merchandise.  Not terrible if you're just going to be buying gift cards/merchandise with those gift cards anyway, but sort of annoying that you can't get cash back, a statement credit, or anything for free... Much better rewards gift cards out there, but this isn't bad as far as intro APR?  Not terrible.  The follow-up APR, though?  Not terrible, but not great... If you can manage to pay off your transferred balance before the intro rate is up, you should be in good shape.

more ...
Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 16, 2016

How did you go about the balance transfer, do I need to consult a customer service representative?

 
Sep 16, 2016
Good for balance transfers
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card because I have a decent amount of credit card debt that I'm planning on paying off within a year. Although the Citi Diamond Preferred card doesn't offer many perks, the most important factor for me was the fact that they don't charge interest for 21 months, no annual fee and no balance transfer fee. The downside being that I applied for the card online and was only approved for $2,500, which was not enough for a balance transfer. I have a decent credit score above 750. I ended up having to wait 11 days for my card to arrive and then calling Citi to see if they would approve a higher credit limit. In the end, Citi honored my request for a higher credit limit of $7,000. They unfortunately have to pull my credit again which bummed me out. My advice, don't be afraid to call them and request a higher credit limit, and be prepared to plead your case as to why you should be approved for a higher limit.

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
Excellent credit. $4200 limit @ 20.24% V

I have "excellent" credit (750+). I like the 21 months at 0% intro Apr. I have over $40k in available credit and use less than 10% of my available credit. I pay the cards I do use off every month. I don't know why they have me a 20.24% variable APR. What I do know is that in 21 months, I'm not using this card anymore.

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
itstimenow Cardholder

WOW, totally blown away at my credit line

more ...
Sep 03, 2016

What was your credit score when you applied?

 
Sep 17, 2016

i mean don't tell us the most crucial bit

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card