Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
125 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to an interest rate as low as 13.49% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 16, 2017
Quick Approval with Good CL
BigTireGuy Cardholder

Had score of 738 and 17% credit usage and was approved for 13,000 limit. Transferred $7600 with scheduled payments for 21 months. Helped cash flow!

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Fast Approval
Anonymous Cardholder

Awesome Card and Excelente Benefice. Fast Aproval and limit Credit is $6,700.00 with Fair Credit. I'm Very Happy for this Card.

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Awesome, outstanding, Excellent
19jeepster73 Cardholder

I see all the negative reviews and I notice one thing they all got low CL limits and high balances they are trying to transfer. I had a Capital one card. Not that great but used it to build my credit. Then I got the offer from Citibank and applied. I was approved with a limit almost double my CO card. So if you're smart with your credit usage you can't go wrong with this card!

more ...
Jul 12, 2017

Balance transfers seem sketchy at best, unless you have a 740+ FICO score and about 100k in credit lines that you maintain 10% or under utilization rate with. I view this card as more of a "big purchase, slow pay-down" thing. Buying that $1300 flat screen 4k HD TV? Ok...finance it with this card and you're good for almost 2 years!

 
Jul 13, 2017

Balance transfer was a breeze. And trust me I don't have anywhere near 100k in credit line. The 21 months no interest was just icing on the cake.

 
Jul 14, 2017

They keep extending me pre-qual snail mail with an 18 month 0% offer. I laugh and chuck it in the bin.

 
Jul 10, 2017
Fast approval
70732 Cardholder

Credit score of 809 and 10% balance on available credit. Took advantage of 0% interest for 21 months transferring $3,000 and receiving a credit limit of $5800. Fast and easy application process no complaints yet.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Pleased with app process, so far so good
Ruwiten7 Cardholder

 RE: Citi Diamond Preferred Card The application process took less than 5 minutes. My scores are about 703 & 708. The 21 months is what I focused on as most give you 0% for 12 months. I wanted to pay off about $2700, was approved in less than 2 minutes with a $3000 limit, and a decent APR I can live with. I saw, and read many, negative reviews. Most pertained to a CL much lower than they need. I knew all my numbers and take every chance to be familiar with all info on my reports.So far so good. I even called CC Customer Service and asked a number of unimportant questions pertaining to my Approval Status, etc, just to get a feel for their CS. Very sweet, and knowledgeable Rep answered all questions. Everybody's experience differs, and my initial impression could very well plummet at any time.

Thanks for reading :)

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service reps are watching out for Citi, not their customers. I've called many times and once got a decent human being on the phone who genuinely seemed like she was trying to help, but after speaking to her manager while I was on hold she said there was nothing she could do.

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
perfect card to get yourback in shap
Anonymous Cardholder

what a great card to pay off high interest accounts. works great if you stick to your agenda

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible card zero benefit, if you forget a payment they send to collection agency even though theres a 2 year 0 APR.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Excellent service
WENGO Cardholder

I don't have any complaints, so far it is the best card I've ever have. I highly recommend it. 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Crooks
Anonymous Cardholder

I have this card and I paid 4% to get 18 months at zero interest and after three months they started to charge me interest. Stay away !!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card