Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
124 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to a variable APR of 13.99 to 23.99% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 16, 2017
Quick Approval with Good CL
BigTireGuy Cardholder

Had score of 738 and 17% credit usage and was approved for 13,000 limit. Transferred $7600 with scheduled payments for 21 months. Helped cash flow!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Nothing they don't already know.😂

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Horrible
xxleadinglady Cardholder

I was thinking this card would be a great deal seeing there is no interest for 21 months. When you look online at your valanxnit jumps constantly. One day I owed 2500 and the exact next day it went to 3000. Where it shows available balance and then current balance, DOES NOT EVEN ADD UP TO THE CORRWCT AMOUNT. I would not recommed this card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 13, 2017

That's cuz there are pending charges. That one's pretty obvious, lol. It's no reason to give a bad review of an otherwise good card. :)

 
Sep 08, 2017
GREAT EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND
BICYCLELADY Cardholder

Applied by phone, HP from EXP score 707, APPROVED after calling back to verify rent, CL $2,400 W annual social seccurity income of only $11,000. Had previous Citi Dbl Cash card w zero bal in excl standing. Card arrived in 10-14 days and bal trans completed quickly when requested right after card arrived. I AM VERY HAPPY W CITI. THANK YOU JESUS FOR PRAYER ANSWERED HERE.

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Horrible experience
Anonymous Cardholder

Waited 5 business days after making my first payment.  Never updated my available balance.  Finally - called in.  Since account is new, they put a 2 week hold on my payment.  Took money, but never updated available balance.  After my bank, (Wells Fargo), had cleared the payment days ago.  How rediculous.  I would not be so mad, if they had sent me some upfront notice about this, but nothing.  Just kept my balance on hold.   Forget this bank.  Good luck if you go out of town, and they just decide to hold up your available balance.  Amex and Capital One update the very next day.  I"m done with Citi.

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Another Great One!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Citi Bank thus far has offered me a great services.  I like the Credit card, I have traveled with overseas and it was very easy to use, much easier than other Credit Cards.   It was more welcomed than other ones in the market place.  Highly recommond Citi Diamond indeed!!

more ...
Aug 26, 2017
Entry card with 0 rewards
Bhai007 Cardholder

I applied on credit karmas recommend from a score of 736 and got my first Citi Bank card with $3.7k limit. It's a card with no benefits at all. But it's a good way to start with Citi bank and make a good history with them.

more ...
Aug 20, 2017
ajehardy Cardholder

Just because they Advertise 0%...doesn't mean you'll get it.

more ...
Aug 08, 2017
Wonderful card, but...
LoveMyBank Cardholder

I have paid on time for over a year and am still stuck at $1000 CL. I don't use the card anymore and have since obtained 2 credit cards from NFCU with very decent credit limits. Thanks for helping me rebuild my credit Citi.

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Good long term 0% offer for 21 months
tby2000 Cardholder

My credit score is in the high 730s/low 740s and I have a 19% credit utilization rate.  Instantly approved for $10,100 credit limit.

I also have (and have had for several years) the Citi double chase back card which I pay off every month ($5,000 limit there) so that may have helped with the higher credit limit.

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
BoDiddlySquat Cardholder

On autodebit one week before due date and they send reminders. Not sure what everyone else's problem is. 10k with 767.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 16, 2017

You can go to settings and either turn the reminder off or reset it to another timeframe.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card