Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
77 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.49% - 22.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.49% - 22.49%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to an interest rate as low as 12.49% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2016
Temperamental Bank
BD1966 Cardholder

This was my go to card first five years.  $25,000 credit limit, so I made a big purchase for $23,000 and paid it off by the next billing cycle. Citi sent me a notification saying they didn't like the way I was using my card, dropped my limit to $2,500 and sent me a Thankyou PREFERRED card.           Now some years later still have same card, that I don't care for and no credit increase. Called costumer service and ask why haven't I gotten an increase and was told I wasn't using my card enough for an increase. Then they hit me with a hard inquiry and increase refusal. TU 795 Equifax 802. Capital One $13,000 limit, AMEX $25,000 Discover $19,000. Never asked for increase on these cards. Just seemed to give them automatically.  What happened to Citi cards?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2017
Great card for balance transfer
Stanley15 Cardholder

Approved with score of 768. Good card with price rewind. Like it but i love my discover!

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
screwed up our credit when Costco moved
lalalll Cardholder

Costco changed our card to Citi automatically transferring the balance from our other card.  However we did not receive either the new cards OR ANY STATEMENTS for almost 2 months after this was done.  So we showed a late payment because by the time we received a statement, it was the 2nd month.  

ALSO, Citi will not let me set up automatic payments or e-bills with my bank because it is considered a corporate account (? I'm assuming Costo Corp) and so, even though it is on my credit score, I have no control over this account.  

Called customer service multiple times, always got a message to go the their website and read the FAQs.  

Tried the online chat many times and many days and always got a message, busy now, call the phone number (!) or read our FAQs.  

I kid you not.   Absolutely horrible.

I had no idea that Costco had the ability to create a credit account in my name without my approval, signature, something.

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
Great card specially for online account
Zslinky Cardholder

To those who expect high limit right after applying, don't get disappointed, I use this Card for first two month and had my first credit line increase, few month later I requested another increase by over 100% and got approved for 9k, so I can say I'm happy with it so far.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Applied via CreditKarma
Getdempoints Cardholder

Card was approved after phone number verification process from Citi.  Was a little disappointed at the limit given of $6200.  This card was applied for because of the attractive 21 month 0% APR on purchases and transfers.  I have a Chase card that is our primary card and is paid off every month, but had some big purchases coming up so thought this was good to have "just in case".  Card arrived in just a few days.  Very attractive card.  Glad to have it.  May cancel after promotional offer expires.  

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Hate it!
joliva8 Cardholder

This credit card hurt my credit score more than it helped it. Any purchase I did or balance tranfer it would take so many points of my credit score. My credit was finally at excellent until I applied for this credit card. I don't recommend this card one bit. Hate this credit card wish I never opened it.

more ...
Jan 02, 2017
Perfect
rainydayz Cardholder

I am a good payer, sometimes I carry a balance but never late. Paid balance 2 days after due, but before statement closing and they waived interest and made balance zero. Thanks for being human.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Worst customer service ever!
UncleSamHere Cardholder

Locked my credit card after disputing unauthorized transaction for under $50. They reversed transaction, but the card remained closed. Called customer service to find out that I need to mail them a letter explaining what happened. A letter? By US mail? And how do I know what happened if that transaction wasn't made by me? I already told them that on the phone, or should I really mail a letter saying "I don't know what happened, please unlock my card"? I'm not wasting my time with lousy bank like that. There are more and better banks out there. Card with available $12,000 is locked for almost 5 years now. Screw you Citi Bank.

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
great card
pacowgrl Cardholder

I have had this card for years.  I got the card after applying for a Citifinancial loan and was surprised they approved me as my credit isn't stellar.  Overall very happy with the card.

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Good benefits but no cash back.
CityConsumer Cardholder

I like the benefits I get from using this card. The balance transfer offers are good. The limits are reasonable. I like the features like Price Rewind and the app is easy to use. The fraud protection has saved me a few times.

The cons are no cash back and the points can be difficult to use because you have to go to multiple sites.

Overall it is a good card to have if you need to move balances around and for everyday use.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card