Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
110 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

With low interest rates and attractive perks, the Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card is a good all-around choice for consumers with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card offers a 0% intro APR on both purchases and balance transfers for 21 months, and resets to an interest rate as low as 13.24% afterward. The card also offers 24/7 access to concierge services, which is a pretty nice perk.

Look Out For

There are a lot of perks attached to this card, but a rewards or cash back program isn’t one of them. Keep in mind, too, though that this card has a high penalty APR, meaning one late payment could result in higher interest rates indefinitely.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 25, 2016
Hpjenks2 Cardholder

The 21 months 0% APR is what sold me on this card and after a 3 minute application process was approved with a 5.5k credit limit with a average credit score. I will be using that 0% APR to pay off other high APR credit cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2017
Waste of Time
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I should have followed the advice of other reviewers here and not have applied. Unfortunately, I've already submitted my application and instantly regret it. The Balance Transfer offer is what really sucked me in. I simply could not resist 21 months of a potential interest-free balance. My goal was to possibly transfer the balance from my Chase Freedom of roughly $6k to this new card. 

I submitted an online application after noticing my "Very Good" approval odds on CK. TU 700/EQ 707. I do have open cards in good standing with most of them at a zero balance (or close to it) with the exception of the one noted above. The application came back approved with a CL $900. Are you kidding me? How am I supposed to maximize the benefits of this card, specifically the balance transfer offer, with a CL of $900?! 

I may not have perfect credit, but I'd like to think I'm worthy of a limit that's substantially higher than $900. Other banks seem to think so, as I do have limits of up to $16k. 

I do not understand the thought process behind the credit limit assignments. I thought of reaching out to a representative over the phone for further consideration, but it's not worth my time or the additional credit check. Plus, I highly doubt the process would jump me from a $900 CL to anything close to what I was looking for. Additionally, based on comments from other reviewers, it looks like I should avoid any interaction with their customer service. CK family, I hear you now after a tough lesson learned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 28, 2017
Waste of time..
cer3 Cardholder

$900 credit limit not worth the hard pull. Dont even think about applying. 

more ...
May 23, 2017
Decent across the board
jakewill05 Cardholder

This was the first credit card I ever had. Mediocre interest rate, no annual fee, and cruddy rewards. Because i always paid my bill in full, it was like having a free bank account and I built my credit for a decade before moving on to greener pastures. Not a bad starter card, but nothing to get excited about...

more ...
May 22, 2017
Generous intro APR. Bad Customer Service
CRTravel Cardholder

Got instantly approved with good credit not excellent that's where the positive experience ends. Citi only approved a $5800 credit line which renders the card unusable for any large purchase which is why I applied for this card to begin with since the card has almost no other perks. Naturally I called customer service to asked them to reconcider. Right away it was evident that their phone reps have no decision making power so I got no help there all they could do was to submit a credit line increase request which they said would be another pull on my credit which I found unacceptable since they had just pulled my credit a couple of days ago. Overall I am very dissappointed at  the level of service I have received so far. Since Citi couldn't meet my needs I ended up applying for the Discover It card, was instantly approved with a $12000 limit. Not as generous an intro apr term (14 months) but now I can finance my large purchase without taking a ding on my credit for high credit utilization.

more ...
May 22, 2017
Approved as promised!

734 score, $2200 existing creditcard balances transferred, approved for $7900 credit line, 0% APR for 21 months as promised, then 19% APR.

It was so easy, I love it!

more ...
May 18, 2017
Excellent
JoeyD1264 Cardholder

I have this card less than a year, approved in minutes. initially was extended 10K but just got an increase. Love the 21 months no interest and fantastic customer service

more ...
May 17, 2017
Have had this card for three years
RG53782 Cardholder

I have been a Citi customer for three years, and am shocked to see so many negative reviews for this card. Initially, I was approved for a 6k limit, and have been increasing it ever since. The benefits citi offers with their cards are amazing-- you have to look BEYOND the balance transfer offer-- that's just the tip of the iceberg. Price rewind works most of the time, and the customer service is helpful 95% of the time. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Hassle free application process

As others have said, the 21 months no interest on balance transfers sold me. I have climbed my way back from a low of about 560 three years ago and now both CK scores are about 760. My wife and I have a relatively high income and I had two other cards when I applied for this, total limit of $31k. I was approved for a limit of $11,400. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Wish I could give this ZERO stars
Sarahbelleum Cardholder

My opinion of this card is do not apply.  I applied to pay off one other credit card that I have.  I have very good credit and my credit cards do not have a balance, except the one I wanted to transfer for the 0% interest rate.  What I think this company does is look at your credit, see what balance or balances you have on credit cards, then they base your credit limit on that.  My credit limit was $300.00 less that the amount needed to transfer.  Not a large amount, but when I called to get my limit increased $300.00 to be able to use the 0% benefit you would have thought I asked for the moon.  Well we have to review your credit and send it back to be approved...good grief!

I cancelled the card, cut it up and threw in the trash.  This is a very shady business practice. 

more ...
May 11, 2017
scene1 Cardholder

Just got approved for this card. I'll update with a positive or negative response later. 

more ...
May 13, 2017

Positive or negative response later? How could it be anything BUT positive? You were approved. Pay your debt as agreed and there would be absolutely nothing negative about it. What a putz of a statement from Scene1...really...

 
May 27, 2017

@reviewMgr go **** yourself you pompous *******!👊🏽

 
May 10, 2017
ehh not all that
lisaaB Cardholder

for the most part it seemed reasonable considering it gave 21 months with 0 interest,the only negative thing about it was they gave me a small credit limit of 4.5k and i have other cards as high as 32k

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 12,188
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Diamond Preferred® Card