Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
734 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2015
Great for building credit
Marky447 Cardholder

This card was extremely helpful in helping me to restore my good credit. You all know all the basic stuff to do to get your scores higher and keep them there. So I won't get into any of that. Whatever you do, though, don't feel that you need to put a huge deposit into this card to have a huge available credit, for a better score. That won't matter very much. I wouldn't do more than a couple of hundred bucks and that's it. That way the whole account is easier to keep up with, and it won't let you do crazy stuff to get yourself into a credit problem. Just remember this: Capital One WILL NOT ever, never, ever return your security deposit until you close your account, which is the only way to get the deposit back. They will give you small increases to your credit limit, but nothing that will make you smile. Now, having said that the only way to recover your deposit (if it's a small one, just let it sit there until the Rapture...and beyond) is to close your account, just keep this card for only one year, then if your credit score has climbed up to Fair or better, apply for an unsecured card and close this one, assuming you get the new card. Then go on from there, primarily keeping utilization at or below 20%. Do not secure this card with more than a couple hundred bucks because you're never getting it back! At least for as long as you have this account open.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 27, 2017
Great card for rebuilding
KLHTX Cardholder

I was approved last year for this card. My initial security deposit was $1k and received a $300 credit limit increase after 6mo. After having this card for a year, the entire security deposit was credited back to my account and my account was switched from a secured account to a regular account. There are no annual fees which is a huge plus when comparing CapitalOne with Citi, Open Sky, and Credit One.

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Excellent card
Philjoi Cardholder

Does exactly what it says. I have had the card for ten months. No missed payments. An increase in credit limit and my 200 dollar deposit returned. They upgraded my status to an unsecured card. I'm happy I applied because it has been a good experience. Everything they said the card would do it has done. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Very Helpful in Credit Building
p1x3lated Cardholder

I was approved for this card back in June of 2016, Recently I read some reviews on this website for this card. I got super-excited because quite a few had said they were refunded their depsoit and their card was unsecured after a year of having it. Well the one year anniverary of card ownage came and went. I called Cap. One and was told they do not do this? This is why I have given this card 3 stars. I got my CL raise after 6 months. Have ALWAYS paid before due date and have never paid minimum. SOOO I am confused. Frustrated. Still a good card though!

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Satisfied⭐️⭐️⭐️
Anonymous Cardholder

This card to help me out so good that I am satisfied with my score I would recommend this to anybody

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Great starter. Terrible for real growth
AngryBuilder Cardholder

I got this card when my credit was in the crapper. It's great to help build your score. Consistent On time payments and adding age too your accounts helps those with scores under 600. I was given the card with $250 limit. After 5 months it went up to $500 CLI. I've now had this card almost 3 years so now I know the gimmick. After that First increase i have never received another. If you call to inquire they tell you to apply for a CLI. Doing so hits your credit & decreases your score. The letter days that this card does not allow for CLIs, that they are automatic. So far after 3 years and 100 points better score, they still won't increase the credit limit. I've had 3 CLIs so far with each of my other cards I could get after this one helped raise my score. So now I'm eligible for a better capital one card, but I would take a big hit on credit history age which might get the new application declined. (capital one only allows 2 of their personal cards per person and i have their unsecured card -which i started with $500 balance and it's now $1750 after 1 year). So all in all, if this is the only card you can get, i recommend it but beware it's CLI issues and number of capital one card limitations.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 26, 2017

Call or go on the online chat and ask them if there are any offers for ur account to product change to another card....After they made this card unsecured for me I asked a couple of months later and now this car is a no annual fee QuickSilver card and can have much higher limits .....Doing so also keeps your age of the account and they don't do a hard pull either ...

 
Jun 25, 2017
Very helpful for those needing credit
tradernamesjoe Cardholder

Process took a while to complete but the card arrived in a short period of time (via mail) Overall recommend!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 26, 2017

How long did it take for it to process and for you to receive it? Just curious because I'm interested in getting it but every where I read says different things. Figure it's best to ask a real person, thanks!

 
Jun 24, 2017
Awesome
TMW2003 Cardholder

Got this card over a year ago to rebuild my credit. Withing 6 months had a limit increase and a few months later got my deposit back and graduated to an unsecured card! Love this card and how it's helping me rebuild!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

734 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i