Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
756 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit - and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2017
Great to help build credit!
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 560 in Feb 2016 and was approved with a minimum deposit of $99. I made a $100 deposit and they gave me a limit of $201. I use this for small purchases here and there (Birchbox subscription, gas, fast food) and paid more than my minimum payment every month, usually I would pay the entire balance. I logged in this evening to pay my balance of $43 and now my credit limit says $501! So in 11 months they upped me $300. More importantly, in 11 months my credit score has gone from a 560 to a 682 and I was approved for a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards card with a $4,000 limit! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2017
Good, but there are better options
Verapera Cardholder

I applied without a credit history, and this card did help me build my credit from mid 600 to 720 in 8 months. I have no complaints about customer service or the card itself, but I will say that there are better options. I have used the card responsibly, but am ineligible for a credit limit increase or product change. My secured Discover card, on the other hand, became automatically unsecured at 6 months, and I was recently approved for a $2,500 increase. In addition, it even offers cash back and a matched bonus after the first 12 months. In short, this card is fine, but there are other secured cards that may allow you to build credit even faster. I would recommend shopping around before settling on this one, depending on your situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 24, 2017
Great card!!!
Teresa2575 Cardholder

This is a great card to rebuild your credit. I had great credit for years until going through a divorce and then ultimately filing bankruptcy. 4 months after my bankruptcy discharged this credit card company gave me a 3k limit. I have had no issues with this card and love the flexibility of use. Although, I cannot get cash from it, it was not my intention to use it for that purpose. 

more ...
Sep 23, 2017
This car will open doors!
Cmart1212 Cardholder

I started my rebuild after I absolutely wrecked my credit in my younger years…I started to realize that if I wanted to grow my family and get a home I needed to get my credit in check. Not one card I applied to would approve me, except Capital One. I obtained their secured platinum card and my journey began. I paid my balance in full each month and I NEVER let my UTI reach 10%. 5 months later I then obtained the Discover IT Secured (which I had been declined before) and was approved with a deposit of my choice ($300) and gardened for another 3 months. As of today I applied for the Delta Sky Miles American Express and was instantly approved with a $1000 SL. So I should probably share my data points? 1 Auto Loan in current standing, 4 accounts with delinquent payments (none within the past two years), 2 open collections, CK TU: 628 EQ: 636 and wait for it…Experian 605 FICO (Discover Score Card), that AMEX pulls. I couldn’t believe it maybe it was an underwriting glitch so I applied for the AMEX Premier Rewards Gold….Another instant approval. Upon receiving my PRG (that was overnighted) it did not show the fico I was approved on but I am head over heels that I have made it this far and I am honestly ready to pay to get a real FICO at this point as CK had my odds with the Delta as “fiar” and the PRG as “poor”…I’m holding both so…..I hope this helps guys good luck on your credit journey!

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Incredible!
ThankfulJon Cardholder

I applied for this card 6 months ago thinking there wasn't anyway that I was going to get it, score was around 530. Since then I've been paying double payments early every month. I got a $200 increase last month. I was able to apply and get approved for Capital Ones Quicksilver card and my score today is 616!!! Thank you so much Capital One!!

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Amazing!!!❤️❤️❤️

I thought I'd never get a decent credit score. I started out with the capital one secured card with a $99 security deposit. A year later I'm at a $500 limit and they refunded my deposit and it's now unsecured. Amazing card! Ive also had a wellsfargo secured card for the same amount of time, never received an increase and ALWAYS have been on time. Capital one is the way to go!!!! Even have an auto loan through them I literally got approved in seconds and they even give you a paper to better help you negotiate at the dealer it was great!!! I plan on getting a mortgage with them as well. I LOVE CAPITAL ONE!!!!❤️❤️😍😍

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
Blakk255 Cardholder

I applied for this card and got it easily the first time I attempted to get cash from this card and I went on the website to get my PIN I got locked out because my phone number was not linked to my account so then I had to go into the branch that was an even worse experience because their systems were down and I still couldn't get my cash until after going to my own bank and doing a cash advance through them I was told that the only way to get a pin was through the website or VIA mail and I had to wait for it to reset I had since waited for it to reset and when I went in to get a pin again it still wasn't recognizing my phone number something told me to hit the back button and that's when I was given the option to get my pin via email however every code that I was sent a total of four times did not work after a very lengthy phone call on the phone with customer service and not being able to get my PIN when I needed only a fraction of my balance again I opted to close the account because it was too cumbersome to get money that was mine that was so easy for them to take. I was so angry and frustrated. This was supposed to be a help for me. In no was it being abused and the money was going to be deposited back in less than 12 hours. It was supposed to be my emergency stash to help me n my kids and I can't even get a mere 25 percent of a small $200 limit. Not worth it. Website is awful and the worst when you need access to you account to its fullest. ACCOUNT CLOSED IN LESS THAN 30 DAYS OF HAVING

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 21, 2017

Jesus, it's very hard to read your review with no punctuation. Just a guess, if you applied for a secured card its cause your credit sucks, you cry cause a company that gave you another chance and complain they only gave you $200CL. Then close the account cause it makes you feel good but it does absolutely nothing positive for your credit. You'll be back for another secured card soon.

I have a near 800 fico score.

 
Sep 20, 2017
WOW!
MrJames62 Cardholder

This card is great for rebuilding. Applied and got the card in August. My first bill was due on the 12th of September. I just my score today the 20th and I am impressed! My score went up 87 no lie!!! I kept my utilization under 25% and plan to keep it lower than that.

more ...
Sep 19, 2017
The Magic Card

Thanks to Capital One, for Trust Me,
Thanks To that In 6 months of own you card , my score from 400 go up to 656, thanks for raise my credit line.. from $400 to $700, im so Happy, I Apply for Paypal Cedit Card i was Approved for $2,000 credot limit, and Apply for Walmart Credit Card i was Approved for $300.. thanks Capital one..
All this Majic in 6 Months

more ...
Sep 19, 2017
Great credit builder!
Anonymous Cardholder

Within 3 months of on time payments my credit has went up significantly & I'm being offered credit cards I was once turned down for! 

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Great card my score was 512 like 4 month
Donoldtrump Cardholder

My score was 512 now at 670

4 months later this and one other card. I charge and pay it off before it's due every month and they say in 7 or 8 months will go up mine is at $300 now. And I just got improved on a geniuses card threw Ashley furniture for $3000 now never could before great card nice people to deal with, 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

756 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i