Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
816 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 19, 2017
Great Card for people trying to rebuild
Venus2477 Cardholder

I don't know why I put off fixing my credit for so long.  Oh wait, yes I do.  It's called FEAR!  My first credit card was a discover card that I signed up for the first semester on campus when I was 19.  BIG MISTAKE.  I didn't know what to do with my $1,000 limit and how to handle that so I charged away and never paid.  Terrible way to start my relationship with credit cards.  Fast forward to twenty years later when I realized enough was enough.  I made some really bad decisions and my score was 513 as of last November.  I applied for this card and got approved!  After 5 months of paying on time, I was given a $300 credit increase.  Around this time I was told on Credit Karma that I had very good odds of being approved for a quicksilverone card and I applied and was approved with a $1,000 credit limit!  I couldn't believe this.  I also have a Citi Double Cash card with a credit limit of $2,700.  My point is that not even a year ago my credit score was 513 and it is now between 650 and 670.  Thank you Capital One for helping me overcome my fear.  Just tackle it and ask for help.  You'll be ok.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 04, 2018
Helpful
KayLyv Cardholder

Happy Capital One gave me a chance to rebuild my credit by accepting me as a customer. Yes, its a secured card but my credit score went from 403 to 563 using this over the last year. Make your payments on time, avoid the APR. Customer service is so helpful and knowledgeable. I love that i can pay my bill on the app and my funds are readily available. I would give more stars, but I have yet to get a credit increase or my refundable deposit back...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 21, 2018
Great card to boost credit
JDTGO Cardholder

5 months of paying my balance in full and my credit limit jumped from 200 to 500. Don’t worry about the “30%” usage if you can commit to paying it in full you can spend up to your limit and your score and credit limit will still increase. Started with a 530/540 jumped all the way up to a solid 580 in 5 months.  I’d have to say job well done. It only goes up from here!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 21, 2018

How many billing statements before the increase, my 5th statement cut but nothing yet. Cap1 rep said 6th or7th

 
Jun 20, 2018
Thank you capital one!
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a great card for building credit. I applied for this card with absolutely zero credit, put the minimum $50 deposit down and was approved with a $200 credit line. After the first month my credit score went up to the mid 600's. It's been 5 months, I've payed my balance in full every month and kept my card usage below 30% and low and behold just this month my cl was increased to $500 & my credit score is now 684. I haven't dealt with customer service, but I have to capital one app and I love it. It's very simple, and easy to use. If you have poor credit and want to rebuild, or if you're young (like me!) and need to build credit for youself this is the card for you!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 20, 2018

Congrats,How many bill statements did you get before the increase?

 
Jun 20, 2018
Bums112 Cardholder

Bums. don’t use anything from this company they will ruin your credit further made payment ahead of tome they closed the account and their customer service is non existent. Save yourself the headache go somewhere else

more ...
Jun 20, 2018
Great card!!!!!
Smurfu1 Cardholder

This is a great card !!! Capital One is awesome!

more ...
Jun 20, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

Very hard to make payments they only take account and routing information from your checking account they will not take debit cards over the phone or online! Nine times out of 10 your bank will refuse payment and then they'll shut off your card and actually screw up your credit!

more ...
Jun 20, 2018

Do you know what made the bank deny the payment?

 
Jun 21, 2018

Ur debit card has a account # and routing#. All cards do even the prepaid

 
Jun 19, 2018
Finally able to increase my credit!
Sammiebee97 Cardholder

Applied for this card with a $200 deposit. I recived my card about a week after. I applied with a 530 credit score and they gave me a $200 credit line. I paid it off in full the first month and kept my usage at about 30%. My credit score is now a 571 after the first month!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 21, 2018

This absolutely, sound like my situation! I'm just nickel and diming my way back to the top. LOL!

 
Jun 19, 2018
vazquez305 Cardholder

Ive never been late if my payments and it hasn't helped my credit at all. Terrible at increasing balance.

more ...
Jun 19, 2018

@vaz how many months have you been using the Cap1 sec card?

 
Jun 21, 2018

You need to found out when they report to the credit bureaus

 
Jun 18, 2018
Great for building!
TexasJacki Cardholder

This is a great card with a great app for building credit! I got this card a year ago and after only 6 months of using it responsibly (keeping a low balance and paying in full before the due date EVERY month) my CL increased without me having to ask. After a year they automatically refunded my deposit an the car became unsecured. I have now been approved for the
Capital One Quicksilver card with cash back!!
The app is user friendly or easy to use and convenient for scheduling payments.

As long as you are responsible, your credit WILL improve!

more ...
Jun 16, 2018
Great for rebuilding credit
Nodramamomma Cardholder

This card has been great! If you are looking for a card to help rebuild credit, this is an excellent option. There are no fees. When you receive it, get the mobile app. So easy to check balance and make payments. In addition you get an alert sent to your phone the minute you swipe the card. This is a great fraud deterrent. And always pay your balance down monthly. The app makes it easy to make more than one payment a month just by swiping in the app. Keeps me focused on my spending and avoid interest. 

more ...
Jun 16, 2018
Pretty Good
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great. I haven’t had any problems and it has definitely helped to improve my credit score. It became unsecured after a year. Can anyone tell me about how long it will take before Capitol One will approve a credit limit increase after it becomes unsecured? 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

816 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i