Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
701 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 26, 2018
Impressive!
Star1415 Cardholder

I applied for this card on March 16th 2018, I was approved with a deposit of $49 which I paid right away. I received my card on March 27h. My first payment was due on May 14th, which I paid in full and about two weeks early. It took until May 18th for Capital One to make the first report to the credit bureau. My credit score was at 520 and increased to 604, that is an increase of 84 points! All I could say is wow! If you are debating on wether to get this card or not don't hesitate! It is so worth it and does exactly what it says it will do, build your credit! Thanks Capital One I could not be happier!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2018
Good for building credit
ChocolatePeach Cardholder

It's best to pay this card off in full monthly so that you notice when you are incorrectly charged interest fees on a zero balance...because you will be. I have had to address this more than once.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 13, 2018
Simply the best
Huero99 Cardholder

No cost to apply just your deposit easy app to use .

more ...
Dec 11, 2018
Awesome
Angela614 Cardholder

This card has helped me increase my credit score 140 points in 3 months! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 11, 2018

How often do they report to your credit after you made your first payment

 
Dec 10, 2018
Love watching your credit improve?

I applied for this card thanks to CK, 4 months later, after paying off each statement in full (I'm only at 300 limit that I had to put 200 down for) anyways; my credit score has jumped up almost 65 points!!! I just applied and was approved for an unsecured Capital One Quicksilver cash rewards card! 4 months. I use my secured card still while awaiting on the cash rewards one, but; wanted to share how amazingly easy it can be to build your credit. I always pay off my full statement as soon as my statement closes. I love this card, it's like my training wheels and now I dont need them. :)

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
rm5181 Cardholder

I had  Capital One before and liked them so I decided to go back when I needed to fix my credit. I had this card for about 6 months and during that time my score went up about 80 points.  Which helped me get an unsecured account with them.  Now I have always paid well before the due date usually the day I get the email saying the payment was due. As I said I had them before and they had my old bank account number linked to my new account and it was set as the primary payment account . There was no way that I could figure out or see how to delete it or change it from the primary payment account so I just dealt with it. Last month I made my payment when I got the statement, well I forgot to change the payment account which I’ve caught myself doing before so of course ithe payment was returned a couple days later. 100% my fault that I wasn’t paying attention but I went in and paid the full statement balance the day that they notified me of the retuned payment which was still paid before the due date. Thinking they will hit me with a returned payment fee, which I had no problem with as it was my fault, I didn’t think much else of it.  Well the next week when I go to used my card it declined, thinking maybe they were waiting for the payment to clear I tried my other Capital One card. Declined. I open the app and it says my “accounts are restricted”. I call to find out what is going on, the automated system says the same that the app does, surprise. So I waited to talk to a human and I told them what it said and she tells me they closed my accounts for “excessive returned payments”. Confused I said excessive retuned payments, I only had one and explained the above about not being able to delete that account or change it from being the primary account and that I had no problem paying a returned payment fee. She tells me there’s nothing she can do so I ask to talk to a manager. I get the manager and I gave him the back story and he agreed that he could see that it was just that payment, that I’ve never used that account to pay for either card before and I’ve always been on time. I told him that I felt it was excessive to close not one but both my accounts over this and that had had no problem paying a returned payment fee. He said before they can make a decision they need to make sure the payment clears which can take 5-7 business days from the time the payment was made, which I understand and said to call back on the 7th day. Before I even get to call back they already updated my accounts to “closed, grantor requested” which made my score drop almost 50 points. I call back on the 7th day and the guy tells me he will have to send a request to reopen the accounts and that it can take anywhere between 1-2 weeks for a decision. I ask if they don’t how long will it take for me to get my money back?  Oh just 60-90 days. Capital One quick to take your money but take their jolly time to get it back to you. Now because of this I’m ready to wash my hands of them regardless of the turn out but now I can’t even get a secured card with a major bank. Take my advice stay away 

more ...
Dec 07, 2018

Same exact thing happened to me.

 
Dec 09, 2018

You need to pay more attention when making payments. Double check and review the review page to make sure it is correct. Unfortunately in 2018 banks can't tell whether or not you made a mistake or purposely tried to pay with a bad account, especially if you've made payments returned in the past.

 
Dec 12, 2018

The same thing happened to me except I was told my bank account was showing inactive. But I'm like how when I get direct deposit every Friday. I had to send in a fax nd a mailed form to make sure they received it. So they closed my account and I paid on time when I got my statements. So ive been taking my time paying the money back but it's hard getting a card anywhere else. I really want to rebuild my credit though.

 
Dec 06, 2018
Doesn't report to bureaus
TrishinFL Cardholder

Applied for Discover it and Capital One at the same time two months ago. Discover reported right away Capital One still hasn't. I'm hanging on to the card because they have my deposit but I'm just not going to use it anymore. Discover it raise my score by about 70 points so that's the best way to go if you're able to do it

more ...
Dec 06, 2018

Wait are you serious I heard they report once a month now I’m second guessing this card time

 
Dec 07, 2018

Same here. I’m. I’m not seeing a change

 
Dec 08, 2018

I have had my card for 2 months now, and I immediately saw I change in my credit score. Jumped 83 points

 
Dec 05, 2018
Exemplary

I just started caring about my credit at the age of 29. My score started out at 517and I was clueless on how to bring it up. I started asking around and started researching for myself. Literally everyone/everything always had "Capital One" somewhere in it. I decided to go for it but I knew my score was low and had NOT ONE previous credit card. I went with the secured card from Capital One and low and behold I was approved but did have to drop the $200 for my deposit. ALL WORTH IT! Not even a month in, my score jumped to 640! With all the research I done I knew to keep my utilization low and pay in full each month. I just hit my 6th month and Capital One gave me the $300 increase they promised and I applied for a store card which was approved for $200. My score is now 685 with a CL at $700. Probably still low compared to some but I'm extremely proud of myself and UP is the only way to go from here. Building credit definitely takes time so don't get discouraged. Be patient and DO IT RIGHT and I promise you it will come. Good looking Capital One!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2018

Why would you give them only 3 stars if you've had such a great experience with them?

 
Dec 04, 2018
twin07 Cardholder

I was approved for this card with a 442 credit TransUnion and 501 credit score with Equifax with only 99 deposit my card arrive on dec 7 time for a fresh start time to rebuild my credit.

more ...
Dec 07, 2018

Did you have to pay the $99 right away when you got approved?

 
Dec 08, 2018

YES I PAY THE DEPOSIT RIGHT AWAY IF YOU DON’T HAVE THE MONEY THEY GIVE YOU 90 DAYS TO PAY

 
Dec 04, 2018
Excellent Card for Building Credit!

The Capital One family of Credit Cards are some of the best cards that ABSOLUTELY help to build, re-build and raise your Credit Scores. I’ve never written a review but after reading some of the negative reports from some reviewers, I felt like perhaps I should. 

In the first month, in April 2017, after Capital One reported to the Credit Bureaus, my credit score went up 70 points and month seven saw an automatic Credit line increase of $300. I didn’t have to ask. 

When I applied for the Secured Platinum Mastercard, my credit scores were abysmal...498Tu, 475Eq, 450Ex, 553FICO. Capital One approved me with a $200 deposit...the highest down deposit. THAT was how bad my scores were. I was so thrilled that I was actually accepted and approved for a credit card with no annual fee or other rubbish fees that I quickly added on an extra $300 and made a deposit of $500 and waited anxiously for the card to come, hoping it wasn’t a scam.

I read everything I could about Cap1 and their other credit cards and I knew that I made the right choice and decision regarding my deposit. This was on March 26th, 2017. I kept my usage below 30%, paid my balance in full monthly before the due date, with extra payments in-between to keep my usage low.

There were some ups and downs and learning curves along the way because I didn’t know much at all. However, as we speak, my credit scores are 713Tu, 710Eq, 718Ex and 680 FICO. There were other things that I did that also helped BUT my point is you can’t always believe some of these negative reviews or base your decisions on what people say. You don’t know how they handled their account, even though I know that stuff does happen that you can’t always control.

In fewer than 10 mths, my scores jumped over 200 points and I have the CLI that was promised by Cap1 Platinum Mastercard. I have since been approved for and now have the QuickSilver One Card, Sept. 24th ($300) and the Discover It Card on Nov. 6th ($2,000). 

Life has been better and a whole lot easier because of having good credit. Let no one tell you differently. You absolutely NEED good credit because it has such an impact on every aspect of life and living in this country. It’s as simple as that.

This journey started with the Capital One Secured Platinum Mastercard. I am so grateful to God and so very thankful to Capital One. 

Merry Christmas and a happy and prosperous New Year to everyone. Now that we know better, let’s strive to do better. Peace!

more ...
Dec 04, 2018

I love your review!

 
Dec 05, 2018

Me Too!!! What a great story!

 
Dec 05, 2018

Thank you both!

 
Dec 05, 2018

This is a great review and was very very helpful. Thank you

 
Dec 05, 2018

You're most welcome. Glad to be of some help!

 
Dec 11, 2018

After reading your review. You gave me much to look forward too!! I'm in the learning process of getting my credit up and glad I came across you! Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to as well!

 
Dec 12, 2018

Thank you. You do have much to look forward to and it’s quite exciting when you see your scores start going up.

By the way, I just noticed my error in the year I used. Everything started in March 2018, and on, NOT 2017. Sorry about that!

 
Dec 03, 2018
Great for helping rebuild credit
Vlashore69 Cardholder

It's a good card, but beware the "access a higher credit line after paying 5 months in full" ( make sure you pay the balance in full to get the bump in credit line). They say you get it after the first 5 months and that it will be a 300$ increase, but when you call and find out what's happening with it, they only give you an extra $100 and it won't show up until the 7th month. After being responsible and paying off my card every month in full, I expect what I was promised and in the timeframe given. Although this card helped me raise my score 62 points and I qualified for an unsecured(no security deposit) card with a $300 limit. More than likely going to cancel the secured card and get my $49 back because of the extended timeframe given for the credit line increase.

more ...
Dec 03, 2018

What was your credit score at when you first applied

 
Dec 03, 2018

My score was 502 I was approved with a 99 deposit my card arrive on dec 7,2018 this card is good for me with a score under 600

 
Dec 13, 2018

how muxh are your monthly payments

 
Dec 02, 2018
Awesome
TylerP78 Cardholder

After a life of alcoholism I pretty much destroyed my financial life.  4 years of being sober I have built a new life and just started on rebuilding my finances. 3 months of having this card , use it , pay it my credit score has jumped 16 points. 

Dont get it and over extend yourself, be responsible and good things will happen. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

701 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i