Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
745 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit - and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2017
Great to help build credit!
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 560 in Feb 2016 and was approved with a minimum deposit of $99. I made a $100 deposit and they gave me a limit of $201. I use this for small purchases here and there (Birchbox subscription, gas, fast food) and paid more than my minimum payment every month, usually I would pay the entire balance. I logged in this evening to pay my balance of $43 and now my credit limit says $501! So in 11 months they upped me $300. More importantly, in 11 months my credit score has gone from a 560 to a 682 and I was approved for a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards card with a $4,000 limit! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2017
Good, but there are better options
Verapera Cardholder

I applied without a credit history, and this card did help me build my credit from mid 600 to 720 in 8 months. I have no complaints about customer service or the card itself, but I will say that there are better options. I have used the card responsibly, but am ineligible for a credit limit increase or product change. My secured Discover card, on the other hand, became automatically unsecured at 6 months, and I was recently approved for a $2,500 increase. In addition, it even offers cash back and a matched bonus after the first 12 months. In short, this card is fine, but there are other secured cards that may allow you to build credit even faster. I would recommend shopping around before settling on this one, depending on your situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 27, 2017
Finally Arrived
Ant2k12 Cardholder

I've submitted my Application July 13th, Got approved for a deposit of 561 Tu & 563 Equifax. It tool exactly 2 weeks from the date of my application process to receive the card (July 17th). Will post updates soon. I plan on spending $50 & pay in full every 2 weeks. Wish me luck.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 28, 2017

Meaning to say i only needed to put $99 deposit.

 
Jul 27, 2017
Love it
Exiledbyforce Cardholder

Had credit in the low 500. Put 99 down for a 200 credit limit. Used the card for gas and paid it off whenever I hit 40 dollars plus paid the entire balance left on it on the due date.After 6 months they bumped me to five hundred credit limit and my credit score is now 675.If you use it right then this card does every thing it promises.

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
good starter card, high interest
xenodine Cardholder

I was approved with a thin file for 50. I paid in $75 and got a total limit of $226. I got a limit increase after 5 months, and now have a total limit of $526. Great card to get your foot in the door, and will help for approvals of better cards down the road. Will be keeping around as it also has no annual fee. I would also strongly not recommend carrying a balance on this card, as the current interest rate of 25.74% is brutal, and will quickly add up. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
awesome!!!
kewlmom760 Cardholder

My credit is far from perfect, but, with this card has jumped like 30 points in just two months....i love my Capital One card!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

Do you pay the full balance or just over minimum?

 
Jul 25, 2017
This card helped my credit!
alexy6012 Cardholder

This card helped my credit quite a bit.  I was able to pay each months payment without having to pay any interest and that is the way to do it!

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
great starter card
dbdk Cardholder

i have had my card for almost a year . started with a credit score of 545 . as of today i woke up to an email stating i was upgraded to an unsecured card. my deposit was returned in form of statement credit. my score is now 714 trans, 712 equifax, and 645 experian. yesterday i open 3 new card totaling a credit limit of 4500. still working on establishing credit . thanks to capital 1 i now have cards that i wouldnt have been able to get . use this card wisely and your score wil sky rocket. 

more ...
Jul 25, 2017

This has helped my credit score tremendously! Thank you capital one!

 
Jul 27, 2017

To help your credit score rise, do you pay the full balance, or just over minimum payment?

 
Jul 24, 2017
Pleasantly surprised
R3d311 Cardholder

I got a $200 credit limit on a $50 deposit. My credit score went from 580 to 620 after I paid off the first statement. I will add more to my review over the next few months.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Good card for repairing your credit
Wallace1982 Cardholder

This is a great credit card to help repar your credit. My only problem with it is that Capital one doesnt do credit increases on secured credit cards

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 23, 2017

The day your 6th statement generates on your account on the capital one app you will see an automatic increase from 200 to 500 dollars. It happens for every customer that pays on time. You are not allowed to request a credit limit increase on a cap one secured card but they will automatically give you one without asking the same day that 6th statement generates. Good luck to you in your credit building journey it's so worth it. I just received my 6th statement 2 weeks ago and got my increase and on that same day i also applied for the cap one quicksilver one and was approved for a 300 dollar limit. Also once you have had your secured card one year (12) monthly statements you can get your depoisit back and they will unsecure your card if you have no late payments and keep ypur balance low. Good luck.

 
Jul 23, 2017
Excellent

I filed bankruptcy in October of last year. I then applied for this card through credit karma in march because it said I had a good chance of getting approved and I did! $1000 credit limit to start! I was so happy that a company gave me another chance at good credit. I pay on time every time and it's pushed my score up already. I now have a car loan and another two credit cards at $300 limit each just to rebuild my credit then I will switch afterwards for better interest rates. My current score is 658 with a bankruptcy and I think that's way above what I expected. If I pay my balances to zero I will be almost at 700! I think sometimes people get caught up in fees and interest rates but if you have bad credit accept the cost to repair your credit because in the long run it will pay off. Also since march capital one has sent me multiple car loan options up to $35k! Too bad I already have a car loan but look how much having this card can help you. You Should apply for this card and good luck!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

745 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i