Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
702 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 26, 2018
Impressive!
Star1415 Cardholder

I applied for this card on March 16th 2018, I was approved with a deposit of $49 which I paid right away. I received my card on March 27h. My first payment was due on May 14th, which I paid in full and about two weeks early. It took until May 18th for Capital One to make the first report to the credit bureau. My credit score was at 520 and increased to 604, that is an increase of 84 points! All I could say is wow! If you are debating on wether to get this card or not don't hesitate! It is so worth it and does exactly what it says it will do, build your credit! Thanks Capital One I could not be happier!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2018
Exemplary
ChasingCredit366 Cardholder

I just started caring about my credit at the age of 29. My score started out at 517and I was clueless on how to bring it up. I started asking around and started researching for myself. Literally everyone/everything always had "Capital One" somewhere in it. I decided to go for it but I knew my score was low and had NOT ONE previous credit card. I went with the secured card from Capital One and low and behold I was approved but did have to drop the $200 for my deposit. ALL WORTH IT! Not even a month in, my score jumped to 640! With all the research I done I knew to keep my utilization low and pay in full each month. I just hit my 6th month and Capital One gave me the $300 increase they promised and I applied for a store card which was approved for $200. My score is now 685 with a CL at $700. Probably still low compared to some but I'm extremely proud of myself and UP is the only way to go from here. Building credit definitely takes time so don't get discouraged. Be patient and DO IT RIGHT and I promise you it will come. Good looking Capital One!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 15, 2018
Just wow
GoalChaser Cardholder

My score stated at 532 and has increased 138 points since I got this card in November. I love it and I’m excited to watch it grow some more. This was literally my last hope. I was so worried about getting approved for an apartment next year now it’s a sure thing. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this card and I’m happy it worked out for me. 

more ...
Dec 15, 2018

That great did your credit go up 138 with all three credit bureau Or just one bureau I heard some people they only report to one bureau,

 
Dec 15, 2018

It’s increased throughout all three actually. I ordered the card in October didn’t get it til November and then paid my collections off and that actually was where 30 points came from and everyday after that I’ve gotten notifications of a credit change and it’s been a breeze. I paid my off two weeks before the due date and typically repay the credit within the same week I use it. I’ve also never used more that 20% of my $200 limit.

 
Dec 15, 2018

Thank you so much for the information

 
Dec 15, 2018
Helps to build credit history
Yachtie27 Cardholder

I now have 3 capital one credit cards the fist one I had to pay a security deposit with I got back in about 8 months of paying on time and it then became an unsecured card however they put that deposit on the card they did not send me a check in the mail but I was ok with that because I used it on a purchase anyway if you make all your payments on time  they will give you a credit increase 

more ...
Dec 14, 2018
Love this card.
Ericsmomma14 Cardholder

Besides 2 months where Capital One didn’t report to the betrays, this card is great. After a quick approval with a 631 score, my score has increased over 100 points in 5 month. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 16, 2018

What exactly does that mean? Betrays?

 
Dec 14, 2018
Excellent for re-establishing credit.
garyguitar68 Cardholder

Very affordable security deposit. Was already given a credit increase after only a few months. Have had no problems with Capital One so far. I would definately recommend if you're serious about rebuilding your credit.

more ...
Dec 13, 2018
Yeees!!!
MissValleyGirl Cardholder

I would say, YES to this card! It really does work! My credit score is going up and all of my payments have been on time. I've never had any issues with the card or customer service. Whenever I've had a issue, they have been great! Thank you, Capitol One y'all ROCK!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Dec 13, 2018
Simply the best
Huero99 Cardholder

No cost to apply just your deposit easy app to use .

more ...
Dec 11, 2018
Awesome
Angela614 Cardholder

This card has helped me increase my credit score 140 points in 3 months! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 11, 2018

How often do they report to your credit after you made your first payment

 
Dec 10, 2018
Love watching your credit improve?

I applied for this card thanks to CK, 4 months later, after paying off each statement in full (I'm only at 300 limit that I had to put 200 down for) anyways; my credit score has jumped up almost 65 points!!! I just applied and was approved for an unsecured Capital One Quicksilver cash rewards card! 4 months. I use my secured card still while awaiting on the cash rewards one, but; wanted to share how amazingly easy it can be to build your credit. I always pay off my full statement as soon as my statement closes. I love this card, it's like my training wheels and now I dont need them. :)

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
rm5181 Cardholder

I had  Capital One before and liked them so I decided to go back when I needed to fix my credit. I had this card for about 6 months and during that time my score went up about 80 points.  Which helped me get an unsecured account with them.  Now I have always paid well before the due date usually the day I get the email saying the payment was due. As I said I had them before and they had my old bank account number linked to my new account and it was set as the primary payment account . There was no way that I could figure out or see how to delete it or change it from the primary payment account so I just dealt with it. Last month I made my payment when I got the statement, well I forgot to change the payment account which I’ve caught myself doing before so of course ithe payment was returned a couple days later. 100% my fault that I wasn’t paying attention but I went in and paid the full statement balance the day that they notified me of the retuned payment which was still paid before the due date. Thinking they will hit me with a returned payment fee, which I had no problem with as it was my fault, I didn’t think much else of it.  Well the next week when I go to used my card it declined, thinking maybe they were waiting for the payment to clear I tried my other Capital One card. Declined. I open the app and it says my “accounts are restricted”. I call to find out what is going on, the automated system says the same that the app does, surprise. So I waited to talk to a human and I told them what it said and she tells me they closed my accounts for “excessive returned payments”. Confused I said excessive retuned payments, I only had one and explained the above about not being able to delete that account or change it from being the primary account and that I had no problem paying a returned payment fee. She tells me there’s nothing she can do so I ask to talk to a manager. I get the manager and I gave him the back story and he agreed that he could see that it was just that payment, that I’ve never used that account to pay for either card before and I’ve always been on time. I told him that I felt it was excessive to close not one but both my accounts over this and that had had no problem paying a returned payment fee. He said before they can make a decision they need to make sure the payment clears which can take 5-7 business days from the time the payment was made, which I understand and said to call back on the 7th day. Before I even get to call back they already updated my accounts to “closed, grantor requested” which made my score drop almost 50 points. I call back on the 7th day and the guy tells me he will have to send a request to reopen the accounts and that it can take anywhere between 1-2 weeks for a decision. I ask if they don’t how long will it take for me to get my money back?  Oh just 60-90 days. Capital One quick to take your money but take their jolly time to get it back to you. Now because of this I’m ready to wash my hands of them regardless of the turn out but now I can’t even get a secured card with a major bank. Take my advice stay away 

more ...
Dec 07, 2018

Same exact thing happened to me.

 
Dec 09, 2018

You need to pay more attention when making payments. Double check and review the review page to make sure it is correct. Unfortunately in 2018 banks can't tell whether or not you made a mistake or purposely tried to pay with a bad account, especially if you've made payments returned in the past.

 
Dec 12, 2018

The same thing happened to me except I was told my bank account was showing inactive. But I'm like how when I get direct deposit every Friday. I had to send in a fax nd a mailed form to make sure they received it. So they closed my account and I paid on time when I got my statements. So ive been taking my time paying the money back but it's hard getting a card anywhere else. I really want to rebuild my credit though.

 
Dec 06, 2018
Doesn't report to bureaus
TrishinFL Cardholder

Applied for Discover it and Capital One at the same time two months ago. Discover reported right away Capital One still hasn't. I'm hanging on to the card because they have my deposit but I'm just not going to use it anymore. Discover it raise my score by about 70 points so that's the best way to go if you're able to do it

more ...
Dec 06, 2018

Wait are you serious I heard they report once a month now I’m second guessing this card time

 
Dec 07, 2018

Same here. I’m. I’m not seeing a change

 
Dec 08, 2018

I have had my card for 2 months now, and I immediately saw I change in my credit score. Jumped 83 points

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

702 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i