Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

Overall card rating

4.2
1805 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 24, 2021
Great card for rebuilding credit.
Credit Karma Member

This card is actually the oldest open account I have. I opened it in 2011 with a credit rating in the high 500's and was approved for a $400 limit. After six months my limit was extended to $500. At this point I would use it for day to day expenses and put about $400 on it every two weeks and pay it off immediately every other Friday as I got my paycheck. After a year they refunded my deposit and raised my limit to $1.5k. My limit on this card is now $6k and I use it for small purchases to keep it active. Ten years later I have a credit rating in the low 800's.

38
1
0

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 01, 2021
its OK but Move on
Credit Karma Member

I have this card for almost 5 years! they are great people gave me the option on my down payment. got a credit line increase in 6 mnths. but Thats it. its just been sitting on my credit not helping my score anymore. its a good card but you need to move on. they dont offer to you to add more to your deposit later to get a bigger credit line. so rememeber that when you first open it and put a deposit. i did get my deposit back.

16
0
2


Additional ratings


All reviews

954
287
135
65
364
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Jun 26, 2021
Is good
Credit Karma Member

I loved

1
0
0

Mar 14, 2021
STAY AWAY
Credit Karma Member

Had this card for a few months, literally a day or two late with payment and they closed without warning. Awful

4
6
3

Mar 10, 2021
Great to rebuild credit
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this card 7 months after my discharge of bankruptcy, I was automatically approved for 1K after 3 months my credit line increase automatically to $3000!

7
4
0

Feb 24, 2021
Great card for rebuilding credit.
Credit Karma Member

This card is actually the oldest open account I have. I opened it in 2011 with a credit rating in the high 500's and was approved for a $400 limit. After six months my limit was extended to $500. At this point I would use it for day to day expenses and put about $400 on it every two weeks and pay it off immediately every other Friday as I got my paycheck. After a year they refunded my deposit and raised my limit to $1.5k. My limit on this card is now $6k and I use it for small purchases to keep it active. Ten years later I have a credit rating in the low 800's.

38
1
0

Feb 08, 2021
You have to start over somewhere
Credit Karma Member

After years of not using any credit in my name (cash only or husband's credit), I finally decided that I should do something to get my score up. Signed up for CreditKarma and this was one of my recommended cards. I qualified for a $99 deposit with the standard $250 credit limit. I used the card for very small purchases (<$50) and paid off each month. After 5 months I was increased to a $500 limit. My score has increased 140 points since starting with this card and after about 10 months, CapitalOne offered me their unsecured Quicksilver card with a very modest limit. And at the one year mark they refunded my deposit on this secured card. This card isn't the best credit card out there for everyone. But it opened to the door for me to start building a solid credit history. It is a useful tool for those who use it correctly and don't have a lot of other options.

12
1
0

Feb 01, 2021
its OK but Move on
Credit Karma Member

I have this card for almost 5 years! they are great people gave me the option on my down payment. got a credit line increase in 6 mnths. but Thats it. its just been sitting on my credit not helping my score anymore. its a good card but you need to move on. they dont offer to you to add more to your deposit later to get a bigger credit line. so rememeber that when you first open it and put a deposit. i did get my deposit back.

16
0
2

Jan 20, 2021
I applied this card
Credit Karma Member

I applied this card

2
3
0

Jan 06, 2021
Been paying it for 8 months
Credit Karma Member

Been lying it for 8 months . Going into my 9th and still no credit review . No credit line increase, no nothing. Don’t waste your time

13
1
0

Dec 13, 2020
Decent card
Credit Karma Member

Hello this is another update so when I got this secured card my credit was in the low 500 I put 200 down after 6 months they raised my limit two I believe 400 then 6 months after that they refunded my 200 3 and a half years later my limit is only 850 very hard to get a credit increase but this card did help my credit a lot I’m currently in the 700 never missed a payment they upgraded me to the quicksilver card but like I said can’t get a higher limit but it did do it’s job

14
0
0

Oct 22, 2020
Is a great way to get the scores the I need
Credit Karma Member

Is excellent card a lot of my friends have it

7
2
0

1-10 of 1805

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.