Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews
3.9 out of 5 stars
336 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2019
Works exceptionally well!!
Tyquaun Cardholder

So I promised myself I would add a review if things worked out well for me, and they did! I started with this card with virtually no credit score. I was approved for a $200 credit limit with no money down. However, I added additional money to give myself a higher limit. So I am near the six month mark and ck shows I have a score of EF 683 and TU 684. However, this was grossly off. When I was alerted I have a new FICO score from my bank, upon viewing it, my score was 747. Wow! So it took me a few days to make a decision of applying for a new card. I’m very mindful of how to use my credit after working so hard for it. I want to diversify my credit so I have to space out my credit applications. This is mostly for big purchases such as a home, car, etc... Generally, I will wait 6 months in between credit dings. So I applied for an Amex and I was approved! I’m very excited to say the least. 

I accomplished this by always allowing my statement balance to close and be reported at 1% utilization rate. After my statement balance closes, the very next day I pay off that 1%. So when the due date comes around to pay off my balance. I don’t have one! Also, pay multiple times per month just to keep your bill low. Just ensure your statement balance close at anything below 10% utilization. 1% is the most optimal range. 

Just wait, be patient, and vigilant and good things will come. Follow those rules and you will have amazing credit. Everything else comes with more time, higher limits, score increases = lower interest rates!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 29, 2019
Great card for building credit
cuppycakeicecream Cardholder

I love this card . It is great for rebuilding credit . I’ve had it for over a year now and my credit score has improved . Reason for the 2 stars is they say you will get your deposit back after 6 months of monthly on time payments,  but you really don’t . Don’t know why they advertise that because I have been a customer well over 6 months (it’s been over a year) and I pay my bill on time every month even before the bill is due. And most months I pay my bill 2 times (on pay days) to ensure it’s always paid on time . They still have not returned my deposit , and the said that they will not be returning my deposit , and have no information on when they can return my deposit . That sounds like “your never getting your deposit back” lol. Nonetheless it’s a GREAT card , I just don’t like the false advertisement saying you will get your deposit back in 6 months of ontime payments, then you really don’t . False business practices . I hate when companies lie 🙄 just tell the truth up front so people know what to expect ♥️ In short , honestly it’s the best card of all the business with secured cards this one is the best . Just don’t expect your deposit back . Lol . My deposit was on the lower end ($40). But still is the principal of it all . Like why lie ? Also I was gonna refer someone to this service AFTER my deposit was returned to could reported the validity of this company . Ofcourse it never came and now I’m told I won’t be getting it back . Her deposit said $200 so she decided to go with someone else since she likely won’t see it back with capital one . Thanks for reading if you red this far lol

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 19, 2020
Amazing
MallyStu94 Cardholder

I've had this card for only two months and it has boosted my credit from a 540 to 620! The app makes it easy to make on time or early payments and it has some great features as well. 

more ...
Jan 16, 2020
So far so good. Its great
NerdBoy223 Cardholder

It gives me hope for my overall credit

more ...
Jan 16, 2020
It's great!
TyJohnson1 Cardholder

You can add money to the card & make payments at any capital one bank. Money available immediately. They will pay your bill & increase your limit in 3-6 months if you pay on time. Even if you get interest fees. You can still make payments at a ATM

more ...
Jan 13, 2020
Great option for building/repairing edit

I've had the secured platinum card for three months now. Had to pay the full $200 deposit but that was ok with me cause I just wanted to work on fixing my credit. I knew I had to "pay for" my mistakes with my poor credit. Took maybe a month to get approved and get my card if I remember correctly. Wasn't too complicated or difficult. I haven't had it long enough to know if I'll get my deposit back (many reciews say they got their deposit back and a limit increase after six months of on time payments). I've made all my payments on time and pay it off in FULL. Between this card, kewping tracj of my score on credit karma and paying off debts I've raised my score by almost 200 pts in about six months. Was in the low 400's and am now in the low 600's in both credit karma and the capital one app. Although my fico score is mid 500's. I've had zero isssues with thia card so far and I'll update after its been six months. See if I get my deposit back and a credit limit increase.

more ...
Jan 12, 2020
Love this card!
Momo0517 Cardholder

I started with a limit of $500 and got an increase after making payments on time consistently. Great card for rebuilding credit. They stuck by me when I was having trouble making on-time payments. Love this card

more ...
Jan 11, 2020
Great
LMK21 Cardholder

I ended up applying and being approved for this card in July of 2019. I did have to pay the higher end and had a credit limit of $200. In December my credit limit increased. My score has gone from low to mid 400s to low 600s. This has been a great card for building my credit.

more ...
Jan 11, 2020
Dont count on credit line increases
tiggerspalmel Cardholder

I've had the card for 2 years. Never missed a payment, sometimes completly pay it off . I've never had an increase in my $300 limit. I called and asked about it and was told they dont offer increases. And I should apply for their unsecured card if I want more credit.

more ...
Jan 13, 2020

You don't get a Credit limit increase on secured cards

 
Jan 15, 2020

When you apply for the secured card. If you read the details, it states that it does in fact give increases if you make 5 payments on times. It does not specify if they need to be in full or the minimum payment.

 
Jan 08, 2020
Great for rebuilding
Fsb7210 Cardholder

I started with this card 16 months ago with $99 deposit for a $200 limit and a score of 520. After 6 months of on time payments they increased my limit to $500. I applied for the platinum card and was approved for $200 and after another 6 months it was upgraded to the Quick Silver and an increase to $700. My scores as of today are in the high 700's and just got approved for the Savor card. Thank you Capital One.

more ...
Jan 10, 2020

How much do you spend off your card every month

 
Jan 10, 2020

Avg bout $1000 a month

 
Jan 11, 2020

Have you been paying off your balance in full each month? If not, what percentage do you pay of your balance due?

 
Jan 13, 2020

Do you have any debt or collections on credit report & if you do are those at least in time?

 
Jan 08, 2020
Raised my credit in 4 months!
Newmama30 Cardholder

This card is amazing. Ive made some bad choices therefor i have a not so great credit score. This card helped raise it and cant wait for my credit increase next month! I also love the app and everytime my card is used it notifies me.

more ...
Jan 05, 2020
dlade1962 Cardholder

Avoid as much as possible, they have ruin my credit rate . After I got it used it one month paid twice of what I was supposed to pay . Never able to use it again . They file negative report weekly, there is other credit card out there who won't abuse you in such poor manner. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 06, 2020

That makes no sense that they would report negative if you made your payments.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®