Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
682 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured MasterCard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured MasterCard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2017
Great to help build credit!
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 560 in Feb 2016 and was approved with a minimum deposit of $99. I made a $100 deposit and they gave me a limit of $201. I use this for small purchases here and there (Birchbox subscription, gas, fast food) and paid more than my minimum payment every month, usually I would pay the entire balance. I logged in this evening to pay my balance of $43 and now my credit limit says $501! So in 11 months they upped me $300. More importantly, in 11 months my credit score has gone from a 560 to a 682 and I was approved for a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards card with a $4,000 limit! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 22, 2016
Decent but not great
ITLady Cardholder

I've had this card for 10+ years.  I got it to rebuild my credit under a secured card, sent my deposit and got a $200 limit (which I understood because I had bad credit) a few months later, they raised my credit limit to $300.  I've never had a late payment or any issues with the card, but my credit limit has also never been raised again.  They switched the card from a secured to an unsecured a couple years ago but when I did ask for an increase (in the last year, I have a score of 740 now) their system still sees it as a secured card and requires another deposit, when I try the deposit it sees it as unsecured and won't let me do one.  

I only keep this card open because it's my oldest revolving credit account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 26, 2017
Not so great of a card
Drunkmasterz Cardholder

Compaired to many secured cards this one is the one ireally dislike. I got this as my first credit card and sure it did bring up my credit a little bit but compaired to my discover it secured card i get cash back and i get my deposite baxk within a year and it turns into a real credit card. This card i have to close it if i want my deposite back also it has no perks. Interest is really high and if i close it then my score will drop and impact my credit score since it is the pngest existing account.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Best secured credit card
brittier Cardholder

I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews as this is hands down the best card to build or rebuild your credit. Opened in September 2016 with $200 credit line which is now, $500 and credit score up by 50 points. Their website is extremely user friendly and no issues at all submitting payments. Love this card!!

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Best secured credit card
brittier Cardholder

I've tried secure credit cards in the past and had horrible experiences with them, so I was skeptical when I got this one. I am so glad I did! Capital One Secured credit card has been amazing all around. Extremely easy to pay and view your balance online, reports to all credit agencies and will raise your available credit with 5 months of paying on time and full balance. Opened in September 2016 with $200 credit line which has been bumped up to $500 and credit score up by 40 points! If looking to build credit or rebuild, this is the best card to have!

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Great for rebuilding credit
dallascowboy81 Cardholder

I have had this card for awhile as of now. My score was really low when I got it. I paid a $200 deposit and 6 months of on time payments, my limit was raised to $500. The only down side to this card is that credit line increases arent avaliable unless you deposit more money. For example, if I want to increase my credit limit by $200, I would have to deposit $200. Overall, customer service is great. My payments are credited the next day as long as they are made by 8PM EST. They also offer free credit score updates and monitoring. Mostly all of your account needs can be handled online. I love this card, I just wish that they would raise your credit limit without having to deposit additional money.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Awesome card for rebuilding credit
CreditBandido Cardholder

Have had this card for a little under a year and it has helped me so much on my credit. Pay it off before the due date and watch your credit score soar. After a few months they even raised my credit line. Would definitely recommend capital one to anybody. 

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Closed my account....NO late payments
Ameyrobin Cardholder

I filed Chapter 7 and so I read that I should get a secured card to build my credit.  I sent in $200 and received a credit limit of $250.  I did not have any late payments, and often paid my balance off 2x a month.  After 13 months they cancelled my card without notifying me.  I found out at the gas pump when I needed gas to pick my son up from the airport.  They hold onto your deposit until after you pay off the balance on the card.

In the end it ended up hurting my credit and I lost a year of credit building time which is the worst part of the situation.

Get a different t secured card as Capital One sucks.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Not a bad card to have
LordAde Cardholder

After 6 months of on time payments, my credit line increased. i did not even know it until I happened until I checked how much was available when I needed to pay a bill.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Crap
Mistermis1 Cardholder

They say after 5 months of on time payments you can get credit line increase they are lying that's all I have to say

more ...
Feb 22, 2017

It will auto happen between month 6 and 7. Mine went up to $500. I have two and both did the same. Then at 1 year, most of the time 11 months, they will refund your deposit and make the card unsecured. They just happened to me.

 
Feb 25, 2017

Got my secured card in July $200, made my payments on time . Then December they upped my credit limit to $500. Also I got approved for a capital one credit card $500. It's awesome !

 
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you capital one!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I screwed up bad with my credit when I was younger so now that I understand how important credit is to me I applied with a few other credit cards and was denied. Then I applied with capital one "secure card" so basically I bought my own credit 😣 but after a few months of making on time payments I got an increase and my credit score went up too 🖒🖒🖒🖒 thanks for giving me a chance to rebuild my credit capital one

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
It's OK
Cmelon Cardholder

I had this card for 2 years now I only got 1 CL increased I applied for CL increase and I keep getting denied my payment history is 100 never missed a payment

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

682 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i