Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
713 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2015
Great for building credit
Marky447 Cardholder

This card was extremely helpful in helping me to restore my good credit. You all know all the basic stuff to do to get your scores higher and keep them there. So I won't get into any of that. Whatever you do, though, don't feel that you need to put a huge deposit into this card to have a huge available credit, for a better score. That won't matter very much. I wouldn't do more than a couple of hundred bucks and that's it. That way the whole account is easier to keep up with, and it won't let you do crazy stuff to get yourself into a credit problem. Just remember this: Capital One WILL NOT ever, never, ever return your security deposit until you close your account, which is the only way to get the deposit back. They will give you small increases to your credit limit, but nothing that will make you smile. Now, having said that the only way to recover your deposit (if it's a small one, just let it sit there until the Rapture...and beyond) is to close your account, just keep this card for only one year, then if your credit score has climbed up to Fair or better, apply for an unsecured card and close this one, assuming you get the new card. Then go on from there, primarily keeping utilization at or below 20%. Do not secure this card with more than a couple hundred bucks because you're never getting it back! At least for as long as you have this account open.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 21, 2017
Game changer
THarp3 Cardholder

I started off with a credit score of 530 and in a year and 9 months this card helped get my credit score to 770. Just pay on time.

more ...
May 19, 2017
I like my card
Valerie216 Cardholder

I've had my card for 2 months but I have gave 2 payments on it how long or how many payments till I start seeing my credit go up I'm try to fix my credit to buy a car and a house

more ...
May 19, 2017

what's your credit score, before the card ?

 
May 19, 2017

Its the same 613

 
May 22, 2017

i start with 500 cs
after my first payment ontime my credit score go up to 637 in one month.

 
May 18, 2017
Helped me establish credit
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a good card.  Helped me establish my credit and figure out how to budget.  

more ...
May 18, 2017
Can't get deposit back w/o closing account
athiker75 Cardholder

Today I received my security deposit back after a year if good payments with my discover card. Check in hand, I was interested in finding when I could expect my deposit back from this card. After an online chat that escalated to a call to the secured Dept, I was told that in order to receive my security deposit back I'd have to close the account. So the card that it meant to rebuild your credit requires you to damage your credit to get your money back. Their marketing claimed that I'd receive it back after a year of good payments and it's simply not so. Check out the Discover secured card. I know for a fact that they'll return your deposit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 21, 2017

I received mine back after 16 months they then upgraded me to a regular card it's no longer secured

 
May 18, 2017
It's still working
phrgirl Cardholder

I applied for this card in May was approved for $200 with a $49 deposit.  In December my limit was increased to $500, and this morning I received a credit for the $49 along with an email telling me that the card is no longer secured!  I was able to get the unsecured Platinum card in January with a $1100 credit limit.  My score keeps rising and I'm thrilled!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 18, 2017

Huh. Really? I thought the downside to this card was that they do not, under any circumstance , graduate to unsecured. Or do you mean that they refunded your deposit and told you that you would be approved for the unsecured platinum?

I'm only going off of what I've read from others, but that's interesting that you've had a different experience. I initially was approved for the $200 limit with $99, but I ended up depositing $200 just for a higher limit and after five months it was increased to $700. I'm not totally there with my score to likely be approved for their unsecured (gotta love unexpected emergencies that require you to kill your utilization) but I'm on track to get my balance down to $0 by the middle of August. I'love probably contact their customer service and ask if they do graduate these cards ever, or you could possibly just be one of those rare cases. May I ask what your score is? Either way, thanks for sharing!

 
May 16, 2017
Awesome card
Kcogochukwu Cardholder

Opened this can in march 2016 paid in full for the most part and paid multiple times in a given month. I was upgraded to platinum card within a year and my deposit returned. Then two days ago I was upgraded to quicksilver :) awesome card. When I started score was 520 no credit history now I am 720. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Horrible Customer Serivice
anthonylowe89 Cardholder

Got approved for my card mid April. They asked for a $200 depsoit so i put down $500. They took my money on the 21st. Was told 2 to 3 weeks to receive my card. They told me no later then the 12th of May. When the 12th arrived I still had no card they then said no later then Monday the 15th. Welp Monday rolled around still no card. When I called to complain they told me there was nothing they could do. Supposedly it was my fault because the address they had was wrong on my file. Which makes no since they mailed me paperwork saying I was approved a card was being shipped. So now they shipped out a new card which would take an additional 4 to 6 days and that there was no way to overnight a card. I was told several different answers by several different reps. When I asked about canceling my card they said it would take 2 to 3 months to get my deposit back. Haven't even received my card yet and I'm already very upset with the services I have received.

more ...
May 16, 2017
48cathy Cardholder

When I first received my Capital One Card I only had $500.  Now after 1 1/2 yrs. I have $6800.  The only thing I don't like is the fact they are not tracking me on Credit Karma.  I have never been late on a payment and always send in more then they are requesting. I wish they would reward a good customer by reducing the interest rate when you reach a certain amount you can spend.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Great Card For Building Credit!
mld1987 Cardholder

I got this card a few months after filing bankruptcy following my divorce as a way to start building my credit back up. I paid $49 for an initial credit line of $200. I kept my balances below 30% and always immediately paid my charges off. In the first six months of owning this card, my credit score jumped over 70 points and on the sixth month Capital One notified me of a credit line increase to $500. They periodically review your account and, if you are a responsible cardholder, they increase your credit line. With the help of this card, my credit score is now to the point where I was able to obtain an unsecured card and I now have the Capital One Platinum card (unsecured) as well. Capital One is great at reporting to the bureaus each month, their customer service is wonderful, and I love how you are able to track your credit score while using your Capital One Online account for free.  Great starter card to build credit. Even if you have to put the full amount down for a deposit, it's totally worth it if you stay responsible with this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

713 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i