Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
572 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 26, 2018
Impressive!
Star1415 Cardholder

I applied for this card on March 16th 2018, I was approved with a deposit of $49 which I paid right away. I received my card on March 27h. My first payment was due on May 14th, which I paid in full and about two weeks early. It took until May 18th for Capital One to make the first report to the credit bureau. My credit score was at 520 and increased to 604, that is an increase of 84 points! All I could say is wow! If you are debating on wether to get this card or not don't hesitate! It is so worth it and does exactly what it says it will do, build your credit! Thanks Capital One I could not be happier!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2018
Exemplary
ChasingCredit366 Cardholder

I just started caring about my credit at the age of 29. My score started out at 517and I was clueless on how to bring it up. I started asking around and started researching for myself. Literally everyone/everything always had "Capital One" somewhere in it. I decided to go for it but I knew my score was low and had NOT ONE previous credit card. I went with the secured card from Capital One and low and behold I was approved but did have to drop the $200 for my deposit. ALL WORTH IT! Not even a month in, my score jumped to 640! With all the research I done I knew to keep my utilization low and pay in full each month. I just hit my 6th month and Capital One gave me the $300 increase they promised and I applied for a store card which was approved for $200. My score is now 685 with a CL at $700. Probably still low compared to some but I'm extremely proud of myself and UP is the only way to go from here. Building credit definitely takes time so don't get discouraged. Be patient and DO IT RIGHT and I promise you it will come. Good looking Capital One!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2019
This card lowered my score
Jbarnesjb88 Cardholder

I opened this card 2 months ago with a 400 deposit it was just reported to the credit bureau and lowered my score by 26 points I pay my balance in full and use less than half of my credit line this is horrible ! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 23, 2019

You should only use up to 30% of your available credit, even less if possible.

 
Apr 22, 2019
A great credit builder

This card is an excellent tool for rebuilding credit or beginning a history of credit. I was approved with only a deposit of $99 (My credit score was 525 at the time) I have been using this card for two months and paying the balance in full at the end of each billing cycle and my score has already improved by 25 points. With the deposit being refundable at cancelation I highly reccomend this card.

more ...
Apr 20, 2019
How much I got to keep on the card
Ericaj123 Cardholder

This is a great card to have

more ...
Apr 20, 2019
Bad News
LadeeSarah Cardholder

After 18 months of using the card, I learned Capital One does NOT report to credit bureaus so buyer beware.

more ...
Apr 21, 2019

Sounds like an error. They definitively report. It's shown up on Credit Karma and the experian app that i use since it was reported last month for me.

 
Apr 22, 2019

I have used this card for only two months and can say that Captial one has already reported my payment history to the credit agencies.

 
Apr 23, 2019

They most definitely do report to the credit bureaus so I would call them and see if they can look into it. Definitely an error.

 
Apr 19, 2019
Scam
pehjrpcb Cardholder

They took $200 and sent me a card. I called to activate the card only to find out it had been canceled right after they mailed it.
Here we are 3 months later and I haven't received my $200 back.
This is a scam to hold your money for months.
Don't dare apply nor trust them with your money!
My next stop is Better Business Bureau

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Great card but .....
jbrielle Cardholder

I love this card , I’ve had it 9 months only increases to 500 . I wouldn’t suggest it not because upon talk to a rep last night they do not unsecure secures cards anymore so literally I will forever have a 500 cc or I would have to close the account.

more ...
Apr 18, 2019

What do you mean you will forever have a $500 cc? I'm sorry I just want to make sure I understand before applying for a card.

 
Apr 19, 2019

Danabell86 meaning the max credit line is $500, unless you add money to the card yourself...

 
Apr 20, 2019

That’s exactly where I am at... they NEVER told me that they wouldn’t make it unsecure later on until I asked .. so that made me irritated 1 year later I applied for discover and right off the back I got 1500 cl.. so I’m literally trying to pay off this card and cut it or wait for it to exspire in 2021 because this card will forever stay at 500 totally not worth it!!!

 
Apr 21, 2019

The purpose of the secured card is to build your credit so you can get the unsecured card. Congratulations on doing just that. It looks like the card did what it was supposed to do. You could always do a balance transfer with a 0 interest card then close the secured card. You no longer need it.

 
Apr 16, 2019
Amazing
benandersonn Cardholder

My credit score was in the low 500s... around 507. I just got this card a month ago, with a $200 deposit. I immediately spent about $50 filling up my Jeep and haven't touched it since then (keeping the credit utilization below 30%). I just checked this morning and my credit jumped up 65 points with Transunion, and 49 points with Equifax. I haven't even paid my first bill yet! I plan on paying my first bill early and entirely. Hoping to have above a 700 before the end of the year. So happy I made this move with the Capital One Secured Credit Card. Best decision I have made in years.

more ...
Apr 21, 2019

Even though you don't know me from Adam, I'm so proud of you! That is awesome!
🙂

 
Apr 23, 2019

Mine is about 505 right now with my student loans current but i have medical bills that im working on paying that are in collections right now so those are holding my credit back right now. After reading your review as well as others, i decided to go ahead and apply and I GOT APPROVED with a $200 deposit. Hoping this will help since i have nothing else at all in my name.

 
Apr 16, 2019
Error
ako33 Cardholder

I have had my card since last summer, and called and written to Capital One but they are still not reporting it so it's having no impact on my credit. Which was the sole reason I got the card in the first place.

I really hope I get the help needed to resolve this asap. 

There are other good things I could write about the card, but without it being reported to help with my credit it's moot.

more ...
Apr 18, 2019

Let us know what they say and if they report it for you.

 
Apr 18, 2019

Did you say try checking your credit score from a different site? Maybe there's something wrong with credit karma. It's just a thought. Idk if it will be helpful but I just thought about it and wanted to let you know.

 
Apr 15, 2019
Great!!!
trouble3082 Cardholder

I had a very low credit score. I went from 520 to 585 in a few months. I have one more payment to make and my limit will increase to 500 from 300. Great card I think!

more ...
Apr 14, 2019
Terrible
Lorelicious Cardholder

I want to tell you about my story before you get this card.

I was approved and had to make a deposit of $49, which I did. I received my card and activated it. I was being responsible and added my bank information so I could make a payment before it was due. There was no copy and paste option, so of course, there is room for error on the app. I tried to make the payment and since I entered a number wrong, the payment was returned, once. I immediately went to change it and correct it.

Well, one payment was returned and they closed my account. My bill wasn't even due until 4 weeks later and because I entered one number wrong, my account was closed. I didn't even get a chance to fix anything. They said they closed the account because of too many returned payments. Excuse me, what ? One returned payment and because there was no copy and paste option, of course people will make mistakes.!! This messed my credit up worse than before. Makes me so angry that they did that to me. Don't get this card !! And if you do, be careful. Make no mistakes !!!

more ...
Apr 14, 2019

This card is great! I've had it for 4 months and no issues. All you have to do is triple check entered information before you proceed. It's really easy to avoid the issue you had. It's a secured card for a reason.

 
Apr 16, 2019

Similar thing happened to me. They said I enetered my payment info in wrong. But in all actuality they didn't except the type of card I was using for payment. After 2 returned payment I asked do they except my payment type (American Express Bank card) they said yes . Tried to pay again it returned after saying it went through. So I switch to paying it through my regular bank account it went through but they already started the closing process so nothing they could do to reverse that.
Had the card for over a year wife was paying it prior to myself and good pay record up until those 3 returns and they still closed it.

 
Apr 16, 2019

Lorilicious... control c copy's and control v paste's ok 👌

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

572 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i