Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
635 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured MasterCard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured MasterCard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 20, 2016
Aveah Cardholder

Ok, so here is a little history of me. I am now 30 and I have ignored my credit since I was 18, after I successfully destroyed it. Well at least up until about 2 years ago. Over the past 2 years, I have done what I could to get out of debt. I paid my dues, and got my debt to less than $300 for everything. Feeling accomplished, I quickly became pretty upset seeing my Fico still at a very low 500... Of course, over that time, falling in love and planning for a future such as being a homeowner, I knew I had to do something to correct my childish mistakes and lavish shopping sprees with "invisible" money that was never mine. I've struggled getting my score up, but it was hard. No one would loan me a dime, even though I am way more financially stable than a freshman I was attending FSU... And finically successful, paycheck wise. 

You see, I'm an office manager at a successful local company in my area. I manage everything in the office, including the owner and his personal finances. I get to see first hand what excellent credit can get ya. He has hundreds of thousands of dollars in high end credit cards. 3 houses completely paid off, 2 vehicles and more money I could ever dream of invested. I call him Mr. MoneyBags. 

One day, after seeing his 848 Fico on the top of one of his card statements, I decided to go talk to that man. Besides having money, just how did he do it. He wasn't born into money, or married into it. He built a successful company, however he used to pump gas at a gas stations about 25 years ago. And his wife was a successful broker. So what did he do? 

I waked into his office, grabbed a seat and asked him. I explained my future goals, that I want to marry the man I love, buy a home, have a child. You know, I am 30! Most of my friends have children and been married of not divorced already. Time is ticking and I am tossing and turning over my credit. 

So we sat down and discussed my options. We browsed online and he suggested this card because of the low deposit, no annual fee and upon researching more, we found it reports as "unsecured" on my credit report. So I applied and was approved! First step down. But I haven't had it long enough to say if it's helping or not, but we will see. I guess the main thing is, no one else would give me a chance. These people did and I am grateful for that! 

Also, if you're reading this, yay you made it this far! So I want to share some tips that was passed down to me with a man that has a near perfect credit score. 

1. This card will give you a $200 limit. Rather your deposit is $50, $100 or $200. You may put more down, to increase your limit, however, you won't need it. 

2. Use this card for one thing only. Something small, and something you need to get every month. A $200 limit will leave you with about $60 to spend without going over 30%. He recommended a full tank of gas each month. 

3. About the 30%, some say it's 10% but he swears by 30%. Of course the lesser amount is ideal, but it's anything above 30% that creditors frown upon. 

4. Always pay it off in full before the due date. Set up automatic payments if you tend to be forgetful. 

5. Remember, it's really not your money (sure this is a secured card, and in a way it could be depending on the amount you deposit) but to achieve better cards with higher amounts, get that part out of your head. It's NOT your money! So never spend more than you have in a checking account or cash in hand. 

6. Be consistent and stick with it. As for this secured card. It's not going to be glorified and full of perks. Not at all. This card is like "you're on probation so behave" type of card. Remember, this card is just the first step so you can get those amazing credit cards with high limits and amazing rewards. So stick with it! Make your payments each month, and use your card to keep it active. 

7. Be patient. It will take some time before your credit worthiness is enough to start applying for the better cards with higher limits and rewards. So even after a year, don't get mad if they don't increase your limit. Just keep going and always keep an eye on your score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 12, 2015
Not a Fake Review
REALPERSON11 Cardholder

I'm prettu sure alot of these reviews are Fake.  I'm a real person with a real review.  I pondered and pondered on getting this card.  I'm rebuilding my credit after a divorce.  I have a couple Medical bills in collections i'm working on and some paid off.  My score for TU is 581 my EU is 578.  I started out a couple months ago around 450.  My credit has not jumped beacuse of this card, cause I just applied for it lastnight. I got approved for $200 with a 99 dollar deposit.  I'm following Dave Ramsey to get my stuff paid off.  Now I know Dave would say NO Credit Cards. but I have learned and i'm very responible now.  Heck i have paid off 3,000 in bills over the last 5 months.  Where before I would have been negative in my checking account.   I plan on using my card for my Netflix. SO i will be putting 8 dollars on it a month and thats it.  I will then pay it off before my due date.  I will update this when I get my card to see how it has improved my credit.  I will also update it if I get a credit increase like i keep reading happens.  (If that is even true)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2016
Worth the Up Front Cost
RCFlor Cardholder

My score was 501. After disputing old collections not applicable to me, I went up to 550. Roth confidence I applied and was accepted on a Saturday. I made my deposit from my bank the next day. The money took nearly a week to come off my account so I called but they said not to worry, the banks are usually the slow end. A couple days later the money pulled, the card cane a week after that. I make a purchase, I pay it off, and so on. 2 months later my first full month, October 2016, reported to the bureaus. My score went up 99 points! I don't pay interest because I pay early, It's a 200 initial limit with varying deposits, mine was only 99$, some are 49$, some are more than 99$. I only use 10% of my CL. Yes, only 20 bucks. But some gas or a meal, pay it off before spending more. This isn't an emergency money card or a big purchase card like the god credit people have. Use it every month but keep the available balance high! Use credit wise from Capital One when you get the app, it explains which thing have a high impact on the score and which things not so much. I was just approved yesterday for an unsecured card with Credit One! Yes, the fees and interest are wild for that card, but I'm rebuilding like all of you are and with responsible use, I think it's worth it. Credit Karma has taken me from 501 to 659 in literally 2 1/2 months! Capital one gave me a chance, and now I'm 49 points away from 700!
Thanks Credit Karma and Capital One!

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Hallelujah!

Okay soooo my parents never really drilled me about credit and its importance.  Not only that, I just wasn't responsible at all.  Now just turning 30 and my mom passing.  I'm wanting to do things that I just don't have the credit for despite me being financially able.  I looked into secured cards before but it was something about this one--that and also they sent me a application for a secured card.  I called and ask if I was still in the system..I wasn't..But the guy on the phone was so pleasant.  He walked through the application over the phone.  I paid $100 for a $301 limit.  I think thats awesome.  Immediately after it came in the mail my score went up a bit.  Now that I'm finally being given the opportunity to work towards building my credit and taking care of some things on my credit report I'm feeling a bit more confident.  Had it not been for this company and the God given 2nd second chance to better myself and my credit who knows what scammers I'd be talking to!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

Interesting fact,
Hallelujah literally means "Praise Jah (the short name for God's Name Jehovah)" Psalm 83:18. Ever see LORD in all caps, it replaced the tetragrammaton. Google it.

 
Dec 02, 2016
GOOD STARTER
AARONLSCREDIT Cardholder

This has been a good rebuilding card for me. Love the app and credit wise. Get it and rebuild now!

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Horrible with disputes
Anonymous Cardholder

They refused to refund me a trancaron which was incorrect and I sent them multiple times proof the charge was not mine and they refused ! Not great with disputes or working for you.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Never have an issue with capital one. And love the rewards. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Annual fee
Anonymous Cardholder

It is kind of curious why the Capitol One MasterCard has an annual fee, while the Capitol One Visa card does not.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

My Mastercard has no annual fee....

 
Nov 29, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Nza86 Cardholder

Had this card for 6 months, always paid balance down to zero and never missed a payment, got my increase last week and just got approved today for the quicksilver one card. Thanks CO for helping me rebuild my credit.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Great card
Ladyb77 Cardholder

Easy approval, easy to pay bill with Cap one app, love this card.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Just a secured card with 0 benefits...
CreditCardNerd Cardholder

Honestly not much to say about this card, the customer service is just about as good as the benefits (there are none)

I wish this card had at least a 1% cash back and better customer service! Capital One needs to take some notes from Discover.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

635 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i