Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
709 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2015
Great for building credit
Marky447 Cardholder

This card was extremely helpful in helping me to restore my good credit. You all know all the basic stuff to do to get your scores higher and keep them there. So I won't get into any of that. Whatever you do, though, don't feel that you need to put a huge deposit into this card to have a huge available credit, for a better score. That won't matter very much. I wouldn't do more than a couple of hundred bucks and that's it. That way the whole account is easier to keep up with, and it won't let you do crazy stuff to get yourself into a credit problem. Just remember this: Capital One WILL NOT ever, never, ever return your security deposit until you close your account, which is the only way to get the deposit back. They will give you small increases to your credit limit, but nothing that will make you smile. Now, having said that the only way to recover your deposit (if it's a small one, just let it sit there until the Rapture...and beyond) is to close your account, just keep this card for only one year, then if your credit score has climbed up to Fair or better, apply for an unsecured card and close this one, assuming you get the new card. Then go on from there, primarily keeping utilization at or below 20%. Do not secure this card with more than a couple hundred bucks because you're never getting it back! At least for as long as you have this account open.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 24, 2017
Great
undecent21 Cardholder

I've had terrible credit for years. This card basically saved my credit. Gave a 200 deposit and was given a 300 limit. Own a small business so for small purchases it's really useful. Only complaint I had was my payment was late one time but that was see to cap1 use to have my dates diff. Called and issue was settled. After 5 months I applied for a silver card and was approved. Highly recommend it for those rebuilding credit.

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Helpful
BobJ1960 Cardholder

Great way to rebuild, or build your credit if you haven't had anything for awhile, or, plain just haven't had a credit card. But, and I can't stress this enough, don't max out every month. 30% should be sufficient to help you get on your way to where you want your credit .

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Truth
Anonymous Cardholder

Life saver

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Pretty good card.
moldovan12 Cardholder

Pretty good customer service very responsive.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
awesome
Jazmean Cardholder

Love the easy access to the card app for my phone and love how it's helping me increase my credit score. Thank you capital one!!

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
great card to have
Anonymous Cardholder

had this card about a month and my credit score job up 112points after I received the card

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Fantastic way I improved my credit
TinaS58 Cardholder

I applied with a $300 deposit. 6 months later Capital 1 increased my credit line to $600 then at 9 months gave me a Quick Silver card with a $600 limit. For the first time in 20 years I have a credit score! I didn't have bad credit, I had no credit... Had paid cash for everything and only used a debit card. Pay in full every month and watch my score go up and up with NO interest fees. Thank goodness for Capital 1

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 24, 2017

they gave you a quicksilver without asking and running a hard inquiry?

 
Apr 22, 2017
I see a difference, in away
TheCreditWife Cardholder

My husband identity was stolen years away by a guy that is 6 foot tall, my husband is 5'8. The thief bought a boat and a car but he paid it all off before he went to prison. Then years later some female started to use his credit. My husband wasn't monitoring his credit report at that time. Until we decided to buy a home for our growing family. We spoke with a financial advisor to help us get started on our finances and our credit before we decided to go to the bank for the mortgage/home loan process. (Now I would say, my husband makes good money. I was thinking we got this because my husband works at a oil and gas company, makes very good money), WRONG! The female that use his credit, ran up his credit. I mean, she got AT&A $700, AT&A $900, Lights $380 in another state, and a gas bill $120. 

Now my husband works 12 crazy hours 5 days a week. So I had to  place a dispute on all three creditors and contacting/emailing the  collectors his ID and other information they wanted. After three months all is going well! They remove all the stuff off (great) his credit report! 

But after all that drama his credit score was very poor. TransUnion 567 & Equifax 532. I had to do something to pick his score up and fast. I had my Capital One secured card for a year when around that time, I apply for his secured credit card. And I personally seen a difference on my credit report. His credit line is $200 and he had this card since the holidays in 2016. His credit boosted up 57 points since then. It's not the best but it's a difference. He pays this card on time. 

Now, Capital One takes forever to transfer the funds/payments days later but if you call customer service they are really nice about releasing the funds over on your security card only if your bank release the funds and not in pending. 

Also, this card of a credit line off $200 is not a lot. When we went on vacation (Las Vegas) he was kind of upset because $200 don't get you nowhere on vacation like that. So I had to use my credit card (my credit line is $650 & I started off at $200 but they raise my credit line to $650 on their own). So the rental car was all on me...lol!

But you get the idea! Still working on a higher credit score and so far so good. Hope this helps a lot of people who's identity was stolen and feel like you want to give up, DON'T! There is hope! Just apply and be responsible!  Thanks for reading!!

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Love it
Anonymous Cardholder

Our recommended car to anybody that's looking to rebuild credit from damaged credit address card for two years and my points went up over a hundred and love it hope to have it longer and they up my my credit amount in four months wish I was happy recommend my mom to get this card to and her points went up over a hundred and twenty in two years good for her those looking to get the card I will recommend this card it really does help and shows on my credit with no problems

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

709 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i