Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
600 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 26, 2018
Impressive!
Star1415 Cardholder

I applied for this card on March 16th 2018, I was approved with a deposit of $49 which I paid right away. I received my card on March 27h. My first payment was due on May 14th, which I paid in full and about two weeks early. It took until May 18th for Capital One to make the first report to the credit bureau. My credit score was at 520 and increased to 604, that is an increase of 84 points! All I could say is wow! If you are debating on wether to get this card or not don't hesitate! It is so worth it and does exactly what it says it will do, build your credit! Thanks Capital One I could not be happier!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2018
Exemplary
ChasingCredit366 Cardholder

I just started caring about my credit at the age of 29. My score started out at 517and I was clueless on how to bring it up. I started asking around and started researching for myself. Literally everyone/everything always had "Capital One" somewhere in it. I decided to go for it but I knew my score was low and had NOT ONE previous credit card. I went with the secured card from Capital One and low and behold I was approved but did have to drop the $200 for my deposit. ALL WORTH IT! Not even a month in, my score jumped to 640! With all the research I done I knew to keep my utilization low and pay in full each month. I just hit my 6th month and Capital One gave me the $300 increase they promised and I applied for a store card which was approved for $200. My score is now 685 with a CL at $700. Probably still low compared to some but I'm extremely proud of myself and UP is the only way to go from here. Building credit definitely takes time so don't get discouraged. Be patient and DO IT RIGHT and I promise you it will come. Good looking Capital One!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 17, 2019
Excellent
Kingrichard111 Cardholder

I wanted to start over with a credit card I filled out the application and got approved I couldn't believe it I didn't need a deposit I thank Capital One

more ...
Mar 16, 2019
Great for building credit!
Charlie304250 Cardholder

Helps build credit back up if you've had a rough patchy credit history. I applied for this car with scores barely over 500. I haven't really had credit in my life minus a couple credit cards once I turned 18. I got rid of them after a couple of years. Now I'm 33 and have found out that nowadays you need good credit for almost anything so I applied for this card. I was approved instantly with a $99 deposit. I paid my deposit and received my card in about a week. 3 months later my credit scores have went from 526 & 528 to 705 & 706. This is a great card as long as you use it responsibly and make your payments on time. I always use less than 30% of my limit and pay off my balance in full.

more ...
Mar 16, 2019
Schizophrenic customer service
Yepnope Cardholder

1. English is a second or third language.
2. If you do chose this card speak only to managers.
3. Make sure the offshore customer service agents enter your information correctly.
4. SLOW to report. 3 months no report.
5. Based on my experience I would not recommend not just this card but the entire company to anyone I didn't dislike.
AWFUL!
Don't do it.
Take your business else where.
Spent 2-3 days it of every week on the phone with them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2019

I got my card in January had to call cause they hadn’t reported it to the credit bureaus... I finall call last week and they claim they did but they didn’t but the same day I called I got a notification that it was a change to my credit report.

 
Mar 15, 2019
Easy to be approved
Yaya34 Cardholder

I didn't think I would be approved but I was. It was so easy to apply and I was approved quickly. Now I have a god start in improving my credit score. I just received it and it was fast and easy to activate my card and I will be using it asap. Thanks Credit Karma

more ...
Mar 15, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Mar 15, 2019

WHAT IS A CLI

 
Mar 14, 2019
Terrible service
Anonymous Cardholder

I got the card with fees to collect points. AS soon as the expenses is more than $1 000, that card is blocked. Each time, I have to call the Security and some time this is more than 1 hour lost on the phone with people transfering my call and asking same questions all the time, name, address, birthday..... a Nightmare!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2019

They explain that you can’t go over a $1000 limit. That’s your fault for not reading thoroughly!

 
Mar 14, 2019
BEST EVER

I was approved for the card and added my husband as an authorized user. This is the fifth month of us having this card. My husbands credit scores have gone up 109 points and mine went up 69 points. The key is not using more than 30% of the available balance and paying it on time. We usually pay it off each billing cycle. It’s great! We are finally home buying credit worthy!

more ...
Mar 14, 2019

congratulations!! How long did it take until it showed up on your credit reports?

 
Mar 16, 2019

I got my card in December and it showed up on my credit report at the end of January

 
Mar 17, 2019

Omg this is totally awesome I just got approved today. How did you go about adding your husband because I want to do the same?

 
Mar 18, 2019

Thank you Charlie!!

 
Mar 13, 2019
love it
the800way Cardholder

I applied for this card late 2017 after having a rough year.  I had a terrible credit score with not one card to my name.  I tried to get a citi secured card but they denied me, discover denied me for their secured card as well. Capital one approved me. I put the maximum deposit which was $800 to get a $1000 credit limit. I got a CLI one time and never again. I also never missed a payment. This card helped me when most others wouldn’t give me a chance. Only negative is after 16 months they never gave me another CLI or graduated my card to an unsecured.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 17, 2019

What exactly does CLI mean?

 
Mar 13, 2019
One and only Credit card!
JessaM8 Cardholder

Only one that helped me better my credit! Will always forever have a capital one credit card. ONLY God knows how hard I been trying to better my credit and capital one gave me that opportunity!

Highly recommend it!

more ...
Mar 13, 2019
Not sure yet
MistyS24 Cardholder

I haven't spent it yet, I'll update when it reports on my credit score.

more ...
Mar 12, 2019
My first credit carf.
Jhumby Cardholder

I had no credit History. This Is my very first credit card at age 50. " I"guess it's never to late." Had no problem being approved and started with CL of $200 and my first credit score ever was 670 .Pay everything on time for 6 months credit limit jumped to $500, and credit score 701. It will be one year on May 2019 hoping to see what happen with my credit score and limit! I know it will go up but love to know how much.
Easy card, no brainer, purchase stuff, and then pay off every month.

Next will be a new card, and a auto loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 12, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

600 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i