Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 10, 2017
Opening CL and Promo APR
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied for the promotional 0%APR for 21 months. I wanted to purchase 2400 in test prep for the MCAT but im a poor college student that cant fork up that kind of cash, this was my way to finance it. After applying I recieved the standard "we will get back to you in one weeks time", accompanied by a link to check the status of your application. My suggestion would be to call their application status line 3-5 buisness days after applying. Thats what I did, and I was approved with a 5500 CL which is awesome because I didnt want to use more than 50% of the CL for this purchase. My credit scores TU:765 EF:768 FICO:757 on all my CC applications I report an income to be 80k...... dont tell anyone lol. and I currently have only 13% of my total credit limit used. I have pretty high credit score because my first landlord taught me how to build credit and manage my cc acounts responsibly. Hopfully this will help give you a gauge as to what limit you might get approved for. As some other have suggested if you dont get the limit you want you can always ask to be reconsidered. 

BTW only gave four stars because I have not recieved the card, used the online account access or even submitted the actual balance transfer yet. Issues can arise in all of those features. But the biggest concern for me was the opening credit limit, in this area I was very satisfied.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2017
Good features, bad user experience
mgaalaas Cardholder

I recently applied for this card to take advantage of the 21 months 0% interest on new purchases and balance transfers.  Got the card in the mail, went to activate it online and thought I completed it.  Went to verify some details of the terms before using it for the first time today and logged into the website.  Website tells me my registration was not complete, so I finish it online by providing my information.  Website tells me great, activation complete, you can use your card immediately.  Went out shopping for some new shirts for work as I needed a minor wardrobe refresh, and for the first time EVER in my life I'm the awkward guy at the counter whose card is declined.   After it was declined I put it on the card I'm going to transfer balances on.  After reading some of the reviews about them refusing balance transfers after that's how the card is marketed (CK pushed it as the best card for balance transfers), that thought has me wary.  When I called customer service, I got a script reading foreign call center who was very awkward.  After providing all of my personal information and saying the verification was complete and the card was ready for use she asked "And you are the person who signed up for this card online?"  Who else would I be if I just provided all information for the account?  Even if I wasn't, would a legit ID thief be like "Oh, you got me!" 

TLDR= Activated card on website it said ready to use, used card and it was rejected.  Customer service was terrible when calling in about the problem.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 17, 2017
Waist of time
lpilki Cardholder

Applied was approved. Card came and I activated it. Tried to set up my account on line and was having problems. Called customer service and was told my card is blocked for potential fraud. I got run around on how to prove I was me with no,success. I wanted the 21 months zero interest and transfer and now I have a hit on my credit and a card I can't use. Been 2 months fighting with customer service with no luck. Won't tell me anything except that they will call me when they figure out how to prove I am me.

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Balance Transfer Card
Enermax32 Cardholder

Applied, Called for verification process, approved for $4k .... 740 Exp... 8% UTI....

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Low limit,21 month no interest just bait
Eddy033 Cardholder

Low limit makes this card basically useless. They bait you with the 21 month interest free, but then give you such a low limit you can't transfer any balance that's worth transferring. I was approved for $1,100 at the same time Amex approved me for $8,000. Listen to all the other negative comments. I don't think any of the positive reviews are real. Kind of like Amazon reviews.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 30, 2017

It's likely your income-to-debt ratio working against you. The pattern seems to be, lately anyway, that balance transfer/low interest cards are tending to focus more on numbers rather than records of reliability of the customer. A rewards card that is more focused on spending to meet a 90 day bonus period may be the way to go, IMO.

 
Jul 11, 2017
Very stingy card
Matingray Cardholder

Got approved instantly with a credit score about 720.  But they only give me 3K credit line, WHAT?? This is my lowest credit limit credit card, I was hoping to transfer some of my higher interest balances, and had expected 15K credit line or more.  Called to request for a credit line increase, but was turned down, reason: my income was not high enough. I have an annual income of 200K in 2016.

more ...
Jul 11, 2017

Income to debt ratio is probably not working in your favor, I'd wager.

 
Jul 17, 2017

You are probably right. Since taking on a $40K business debt on my personal cards. Things start to go down hill from there.

 
Jul 28, 2017

Debt to income ratio is probably not being met.

 
Jul 11, 2017
No rewards and low credit increase.
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Opening CL and Promo APR
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied for the promotional 0%APR for 21 months. I wanted to purchase 2400 in test prep for the MCAT but im a poor college student that cant fork up that kind of cash, this was my way to finance it. After applying I recieved the standard "we will get back to you in one weeks time", accompanied by a link to check the status of your application. My suggestion would be to call their application status line 3-5 buisness days after applying. Thats what I did, and I was approved with a 5500 CL which is awesome because I didnt want to use more than 50% of the CL for this purchase. My credit scores TU:765 EF:768 FICO:757 on all my CC applications I report an income to be 80k...... dont tell anyone lol. and I currently have only 13% of my total credit limit used. I have pretty high credit score because my first landlord taught me how to build credit and manage my cc acounts responsibly. Hopfully this will help give you a gauge as to what limit you might get approved for. As some other have suggested if you dont get the limit you want you can always ask to be reconsidered. 

BTW only gave four stars because I have not recieved the card, used the online account access or even submitted the actual balance transfer yet. Issues can arise in all of those features. But the biggest concern for me was the opening credit limit, in this area I was very satisfied.  

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Great card
Anonymous Cardholder

In my opinion is a great card i got aporoved right away for 9k and the customer service is great

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Can't beat 0% for 21 months
QueenDGC Cardholder

I have used this card to transfer balances, and it has helped me in consolidating and paying off my debt! I've never had any issues with the card, or customer service. 

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
21 month...0% Interest
Enermax32 Cardholder

3rd Citi card approval in the past 7 months... 739 Ex Fico; CK 695 TRANS; CK EQ 689... UTI 9%... Approved $4k....

more ...
May 23, 2017
Balance transfer was easy and efficient.
Anonymous Cardholder

0% intereste for 18% with a small balance transfer fee will beat 16.74% interest every day. This has been a great card. Very happy with Citi.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi Simplicity® Card