Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 13, 2018
As advertised
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied for this card, it actually had a longer 0% rate on balance transfers and purchases.  I got the card for the sole reason of the balance transfer, I was immediatedly granted somewhere in the $2,000 credit range which was unfortunately not enough to cover all of the transfers that I wanted to make.  Before I even got the card, I was able to call them up and they bumped my limit up to $3,700 which was enough to cover what I needed.  All in all, this card did exactly what I needed it to do.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 26, 2018
Horrendous Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

CitiSimplicity Customer Service is the worst I have encountered. They provide circular - useless answers, put your card on hold even you took the time to tell them where and what you were going to buy and how much you were going to spend on valid accounts in good standing. They pretend to be helpful but use incorrect information to verify the account as if they are looking at some other made up account. My account is just a few months old but I have no intention of putting it to use now that I have had such a bad experience and my situation is still not resolved and my card is still not available to me despite my efforts AND LOOKOUT the foreign language speaking operators ask you to give them at least two complete Credit Cards from other major banks in order to verify your account "another way" then tell you that they still cannot verify the account. NOW I HAVE TO WATCH NOT ONLY WHAT IS GOING ON WITH CITISIMPLICITY BUT ALSO THE ACCOUNTS THAT WERE SO-CALLED USED FOR VERIFICATION THAT DID NOT TAKE PLACE. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2019
Low starting limit with a 754 score.
theheat71 Cardholder

Last time I checked 750 was a EXCELLENT score and based on the forums I've heard the same thing people with stellar credit getting lowballed. Why not just do like crapitalone and give everyone $300....SMH.

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
APR Hike Scheme
Aurora50 Cardholder

I had this card in the past and one day out of the blue Citi closed my account for some vague reason. I suspect that it was because I didn't use it very often. However, almost immediately Citi started emailing and snail mailing me offers to apply for the card, at a higher APR than I had previously. Yeah, so, the simplicity of this card must refer to Citi's business practices and the audacious way it is marketed to former cardholders.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Perfect Card To Help Pay Off Debt
Stealthy28 Cardholder

Approved for 16K which was more then enough to help me transfer 

high interest credit card debts and save big $$$ over the 21 month promo rate @ 0% the fee was less then the interest I’d have paid over a 5 month period on just one of the cards I transfered.

Thank you Citi! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 30, 2019

What is your approx credit score, in which they approved you for that amount may I ask?

 
Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...
Nov 28, 2018
Dmolina1983 Cardholder

They ran my equifax my card usage was 14% on all my cards over 10 credit cards and the instanly approve for $7,800 i have a few card with a credit limit over this amount but its always good wen you do an inquiry and the approve you and with this good amount fo credit the adds was Excelente

more ...
Dec 04, 2018

This makes no sense. Can you please review in decent grammar, spelling & punctuation so we can understand your point?

 
Dec 31, 2018

Don't be an ***....

 
Nov 28, 2018
Tu 725 Equifax 725 Ex 719
Dmolina1983 Cardholder

They ran my equifax my card usage was 14% on all my cards over 10 credit cards and the instanly approve for $7,800 i have a few card with a credit limit over this amount but its always good wen you do an inquiry and the approve you and with this good amount fo credit

more ...
Nov 18, 2018
A Good Choice
Anonymous Cardholder

Definitely the card to get if you need a long amount of time to get some debt paid off. 21 months could be more beneficial than a lower interest rate in some cases. But no matter what you do pay these people they money back so you can get outta debt and stop making them rich. "Interest rate is the penalty you pay in advance for something that you can not afford" repeat this over and over until it sinks in your head. When you feel sick to your stomach then my friend you fully understand that statement.

more ...
Dec 04, 2018

Stop preaching and give an actual review, please.

 
Dec 15, 2018

Yessir. Instrest is rhe penalty that broke people pay for being broke.

 
Dec 31, 2018

CKarmaPolice you are DEFINITELY an ***

 
Jan 17, 2019

Powerful statement! 👍

 
Nov 15, 2018
0%
champstar Cardholder

The initial 0% promo on purchases really helped me grow my small business.

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
Somewhat usefull for intial promo rate
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Good only for the initial promo rate, after that trash this card. Zero rewards, that so called Citibank Thankyou program is an insult. Interest rate is outragous. Balance transfers are never worth it. Don't even ask for a CL increase with perfect credit, it's an automatic decline.

more ...
Sep 19, 2018
Approved for 5500 TU-710 EQ 715
jeffreybaks Cardholder

I was instantly approved for 5500 with CITI Simplicity card.  Couldnt be happier, really helped me out when I needed it, very clutch as Im making ttransitions between colleges and work.  I talked to customer service who were respectful and seemed helpful. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 21, 2018

Hello...What were your bureau scores? Your utilization %? And how many hard inquiries did you have when you applied? Who did Citi pull from when you applied? All three bureaus? Thanks :)

M

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card