Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 21 Months*
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 26.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months*
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 26.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2019
Good for Long-term Balance Transfers
Viper2Zero Cardholder

I applied for the Citi Simplicity card on Nov 5, 2018 - CK Scores TU - 738, EQ - 746.  They pulled my Equifax report.  Stated income was $78k, and I had $29k of personal cards at that time with about 12% utilization.  Approved for $6,600.  Wanted to do balance transfer but had nothing that needed transfering for a few months.  By the time I got around to needing to do the transfer, the program had ended.  There's a time limit for how long you can do balance transfers, which I was made aware of but forgot about.  My one experience with Customer Service was satisfactory.  I've used the card for some small purchases to take advantage of that interest free period.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 22, 2019
Penalties for paying off
Dalyn18 Cardholder

Citibank has a practice of reducing your credit line if you make large payments. The only other bank I see do this on occasion is Discover. If your intention is to pay down debt this card isn't for you. The reduced credit will impact your score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 18, 2019
Simplicity is a solid card
Gatespass Cardholder

The card has been excellent for myself. CLI's every 6 months and no hidden fees. Was dissapointed they erased the rental car  benefits though.

more ...
Oct 16, 2019
must be out of New York?
MOEJOE117 Cardholder

BECAUSE EVERYONE YOU TALK TO IS RUDE AND STUPID AND IN A HURRY!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 17, 2019

Actually not a New York thing. It’s a people thing.

 
Oct 01, 2019
VERY DISAPPOINTED IN CUSTOMER SERVICE
NANDO1032 Cardholder

(1) CAN NOT TRANSFER FROM ANOTHER CITI ACCOUNT AND THEY DID NOT TELL ME UNTIL I CALLED TO FIND OUT THE STATUS

(2) WILL NOT CHANGE THE DUE DUE DATE FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF THE CUSTOMER - MUST WAIT A YEAR FROM THE CARD ORIGINATION

more ...
Sep 27, 2019
I love it
allayna82 Cardholder

I don't see why there's so many bad reviews. Citi and another bank were the only ones to give me such a high line of credit. I decided to ask for an increase a couple months back and customer service was great and they gave me a several thousand dollar increase. I'm quite pleased with them and my monthly payments are super low on this card compared to others.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2019

What’s your credit line?

 
Sep 24, 2019
This is an amazing balance transfer card

If you are looking to transfer any balances you should definitly apply for this card! It has the longest 0% on balance transfers promotional period on the credit card market!

more ...
Sep 16, 2019
Wont transfer the balance
Chuck1138 Cardholder

Opened account on August 23rd, via CreditKarma, specifically for balance transfer. Today is September 17th, and they still haven't completed it. I have gone to them repeatedly that something is wrong, and I just get the "rest assured, it will be a few more days".  

I am sure it's fine once they actually do what they say, but so far the service is atrocious. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2019

I did a balance transfer to a discover card last fall and it took just over a month for it to go through. It was the first time i've ever done a balance transfer and was told that 4-6 weeks was the average time frame.

 
Sep 07, 2019
Website terrible
SuperAnnoyedAF Cardholder

I have to call in every month to make my payment because the website and app NEVER works!  So inconvenient!!

more ...
Sep 15, 2019

Maybe you don’t know how to use it

 
Sep 18, 2019

I use the app every month, it works perfectly fine.

 
Sep 04, 2019
MissJen1 Cardholder

The card itself might be ok, but their customer service, website and app are terrible! The app and website are always not working properly, can’t access accounts, log in stops working. Not worth the hassle.

more ...
Aug 08, 2019
No balance transfers
spanishguy1970 Cardholder

I opened this card in 2016. Once the balance transfee ende

they never offer new balance transfer offers. Is a good card though. I give it 3 stars out of 5

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
alicealton Cardholder

I have 4 Citibank cards and have never had a problem with the website nor customer service

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card