Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 11, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

I received my card last month, my scores range from 685-705. have 3 other cards with limits from $1k-8k. total debt is about $1,200 or so which will be paid off by next month. got instantly approved with $9k limit and a $13.9% rate. i ruined my credit in the my late teenage years into my early 20's but ive managed to improve it drastically. This is not a rewards card but its not what i was looking for. So far so good. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2017
Good features, bad user experience
mgaalaas Cardholder

I recently applied for this card to take advantage of the 21 months 0% interest on new purchases and balance transfers.  Got the card in the mail, went to activate it online and thought I completed it.  Went to verify some details of the terms before using it for the first time today and logged into the website.  Website tells me my registration was not complete, so I finish it online by providing my information.  Website tells me great, activation complete, you can use your card immediately.  Went out shopping for some new shirts for work as I needed a minor wardrobe refresh, and for the first time EVER in my life I'm the awkward guy at the counter whose card is declined.   After it was declined I put it on the card I'm going to transfer balances on.  After reading some of the reviews about them refusing balance transfers after that's how the card is marketed (CK pushed it as the best card for balance transfers), that thought has me wary.  When I called customer service, I got a script reading foreign call center who was very awkward.  After providing all of my personal information and saying the verification was complete and the card was ready for use she asked "And you are the person who signed up for this card online?"  Who else would I be if I just provided all information for the account?  Even if I wasn't, would a legit ID thief be like "Oh, you got me!" 

TLDR= Activated card on website it said ready to use, used card and it was rejected.  Customer service was terrible when calling in about the problem.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 21, 2017
Can't beat 0% for 21 months
QueenDGC Cardholder

I have used this card to transfer balances, and it has helped me in consolidating and paying off my debt! I've never had any issues with the card, or customer service. 

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
21 month...0% Interest
Enermax32 Cardholder

3rd Citi card approval in the past 7 months... 739 Ex Fico; CK 695 TRANS; CK EQ 689... UTI 9%... Approved $4k....

more ...
May 23, 2017
Balance transfer was easy and efficient.
Anonymous Cardholder

0% intereste for 18% with a small balance transfer fee will beat 16.74% interest every day. This has been a great card. Very happy with Citi.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Good features, bad user experience
mgaalaas Cardholder

I recently applied for this card to take advantage of the 21 months 0% interest on new purchases and balance transfers.  Got the card in the mail, went to activate it online and thought I completed it.  Went to verify some details of the terms before using it for the first time today and logged into the website.  Website tells me my registration was not complete, so I finish it online by providing my information.  Website tells me great, activation complete, you can use your card immediately.  Went out shopping for some new shirts for work as I needed a minor wardrobe refresh, and for the first time EVER in my life I'm the awkward guy at the counter whose card is declined.   After it was declined I put it on the card I'm going to transfer balances on.  After reading some of the reviews about them refusing balance transfers after that's how the card is marketed (CK pushed it as the best card for balance transfers), that thought has me wary.  When I called customer service, I got a script reading foreign call center who was very awkward.  After providing all of my personal information and saying the verification was complete and the card was ready for use she asked "And you are the person who signed up for this card online?"  Who else would I be if I just provided all information for the account?  Even if I wasn't, would a legit ID thief be like "Oh, you got me!" 

TLDR= Activated card on website it said ready to use, used card and it was rejected.  Customer service was terrible when calling in about the problem.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Card ok customer service sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

Ask for CLI twice and was denied my credit score is 724 don't understand. I wouldn't recommend!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 06, 2017

Utilization rate too high?

 
Apr 22, 2017
Card ok customer service sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

Ask for CLI twice and was denied my credit score is 724 don't understand. I wouldn't recommend!!

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
No Problems
Gman0101 Cardholder

This is a great card and I've had no issues. My only complaint is the interest rate charged as I have other cards with lower rates. Could call to ask about lowering but don't use card enough.

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
I feel like I was scammed
Karinnnn Cardholder

I only applied for this card for the no interest for 21 months, I have another card that I will begin paying interest on in May of 2017 so I wanted to transfer the balance, let me add that upon opening this cards I called Citi to make sure that it's an offer they have, I called 2 months ago to double check and see how to proceed with the balance transfer and they assured me that it's not a problem,jusy called again to go through with it and I was told that they no longer offer the balance transfers, I told the rep that there is no expiration date and he said it's not about the expiration, their marketing team decides when they stop offers, how shady is that????!!!!

and to think that they could have warned me 2 months ago!!!

this card will be sitting in my drawer, I will def not use it.  

more ...
Apr 13, 2017

I was just going to apply for the same reason. Thanks for the heads up! 👍

 
May 31, 2017

Maybe its new in the details but it says "60 days no charge on balance transfers"

 
Mar 22, 2017
Great benefits, terrible issuer.
Anonymous Cardholder

Low $900 limit upon issuance. Have had card nearly 2 years and CLI instantly denied twice (requested a year apart) when asked. Always states SP but have had HP show up. Even with instant decision wording. I wonder if it is because I have a no interest offer and they don't want to extend their losses further. They are going to lose a customer for life. Absolutely garbage. Do not waste your time. There are much better cards with better APR's and Interest free offers.   

My other cards include AMEX BCP ($12,000), Delta Gold ($10,000), Discover It ($3,000) Chase SW ($2,000), Chase Amazon ($500 - my request), 2 private credit union cards ($9,000 total), other cards ($5,000) and util of 5%. Low inq's (less than 2 in 2 years). Income $120k+ no baddies, always on time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 08, 2017

I used to work in consumer lending. The most likely reason you arent getting a CLI based on what you describe in your review is the total available revolving credit. If you have the ability to borrow too much revolving debt at once, lenders will start getting flighty about offering you more. Hope this helps, best of luck.

 
Mar 22, 2017
Great benefits, terrible issuer.
Anonymous Cardholder

Low $900 limit upon issuance. Have had card nearly 2 years and CLI instantly denied twice (requested a year apart) when asked. Always states SP but have had HP show up. Even with instant decision wording. I wonder if it is because I have a no interest offer and they don't want to extend their losses further. They are going to lose a customer for life. Absolutely garbage. Do not waste your time. There are much better cards with better APR's and Interest free offers.   

My other cards include AMEX BCP ($12,000), Delta Gold ($10,000), Discover It ($3,000) Chase SW ($2,000), Chase Amazon ($500 - my request), 2 private credit union cards ($9,000 total), other cards ($5,000) and util of 5%. Low inq's (less than 2 in 2 years)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Citi Simplicity® Card