Citi Simplicity® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 20, 2016
Weendee Cardholder

Credit Karma advised that I apply for it for balance transfer so I did and was approved for $10,000. Best decision I could have made. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 26, 2016
Citi destroyed my credit score.
mimi23cjs Cardholder

After over 20 years with Citi, a credit score of 802 was tanked when they took my limits down to my balances during the course of my divorce. I have never paid a bill late in my life. I'm 44 years old. When lines of credit equal to nearly $25,000 get cut to the outstanding balances of $5,000 at the time when I needed it the most, to re-establish as a single woman after 24 yrs of marriage, I can't even qualify for a bank loan with my new credit score. The only negative area on my credit is my utilization rate...all the result of Citi. Never again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Great benefits, terrible issuer.
Anonymous Cardholder

Low $900 limit upon issuance. Have had card nearly 2 years and CLI instantly denied twice (requested a year apart) when asked. Always states SP but have had HP show up. Even with instant decision wording. I wonder if it is because I have a no interest offer and they don't want to extend their losses further. They are going to lose a customer for life. Absolutely garbage. Do not waste your time. There are much better cards with better APR's and Interest free offers.   

My other cards include AMEX BCP ($12,000), Delta Gold ($10,000), Discover It ($3,000) Chase SW ($2,000), Chase Amazon ($500 - my request), 2 private credit union cards ($9,000 total), other cards ($5,000) and util of 5%. Low inq's (less than 2 in 2 years). Income $120k+ no baddies, always on time. 

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Great benefits, terrible issuer.
Anonymous Cardholder

Low $900 limit upon issuance. Have had card nearly 2 years and CLI instantly denied twice (requested a year apart) when asked. Always states SP but have had HP show up. Even with instant decision wording. I wonder if it is because I have a no interest offer and they don't want to extend their losses further. They are going to lose a customer for life. Absolutely garbage. Do not waste your time. There are much better cards with better APR's and Interest free offers.   

My other cards include AMEX BCP ($12,000), Delta Gold ($10,000), Discover It ($3,000) Chase SW ($2,000), Chase Amazon ($500 - my request), 2 private credit union cards ($9,000 total), other cards ($5,000) and util of 5%. Low inq's (less than 2 in 2 years)

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Beware!
Anonymous Cardholder

Only have had this card 2months and they have closed my acct because they return my payment. When I called I was hung up on 5 times. When I finally got someone on the line they could not tell why? And I'm trying to explain what happen and it feels like they are reading from a script. I have never experienced anything like it! This is the first time I ever even write a review for anything! Do NOT apply for this card!! 

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Okay Card
Anonymous Cardholder

CK says I had a fair chance at being approved. I applied to take advantage of the 21mths of no interest. I was approved for $3,600 I hoped for more. Called the reconsider line and was told I'd have to wait until it arrives and then call to request it. But, that will require another inquiry. I'll just use the card for every day purchases and nothing more. Just try my best to pay off the card I wanted to transfer.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Lame
cacole1022 Cardholder

After having this card for almost 2 years and it paying off before due date with each use only received a $1600 CL increase with salary of $160K+ bringing total credit limit to 10,200.  Have Amex Platinum with pay over time for large purchases and no pre-set CL so why would I even use this stupid card with it's crappy rewards?  Don't bother getting it. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Finance charge is charged daily.
Homebrewer77 Cardholder

I paid the new balance in full about halfway through the billing cycle. I was then charged interest for the fifteen or so days I had a balance on the account. I called, and they did adjust the balance.

I had an introductory zero interest account, but the final interest rate was over 21%. I called every six months to try for a lower rate, but each time I was told that they couldn't change it.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Convenient but beware of impact on score
pookie09 Cardholder

This is one of many cards I have and my total utilization is about 6-7%. However, the whole point of this card is to use the credit for 21 months without paying the interest. After using the limit to 93% limit, my score dropped 111 points! Oldest credit line 12 years, never missed a payment. The additional balance is barely 10% of my total credit available... Unbelievable. So something to keep in mind about the way you want to use this card. What you don't pay in fees, you pay in your credit score. Beware. 

more ...
Feb 26, 2017

It's not the credit card's company that your score went down, it's because of your total credit utilization.

 
Mar 08, 2017

You can't get something for nothing. If you want to run up your credit card close to the limit and then carry the balance for a while, your credit will take a hit because you're telling the creditor that you're desperate for credit. Credit Utilization, just like payment history has a high impact on your score regardless if your other cards have a low utilization ratio; each individual credit card's utilization affects your score.

 
Mar 14, 2017

Utilizing any one credit card over 30% will drop your score. Utilizing it to nearly 100% will certainly drop your score significantly, even if your are using less than 10% of your total available credit. Don't blame the card.

 
Feb 18, 2017
Excellent card with ...
sijo0703 Cardholder

This is the best card I have owned so far with no late fee, excellent customer service and fraud protection.

And excellent balance transfer options with 0% balance transfer APR. The application process is straight forward and got decent Credit Limit for my moderate ambitions.

My credit card info got compromised by a fradulent transaction but citi was quick to identify that and blocked my card and reissued a new one!

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Would not negotiate a lower rate.
Homebrewer77 Cardholder

Applied for the card, used the promotional balance transfer, had zero percent for one year. When the promotion ended, rate jumped to 22%. Made several attempts over a year to get a lower rate, but each time I was told "That's not an option for this credit card."

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Cit is a joke
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away from these scammers!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi Simplicity® Card