Citi Simplicity® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
47 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 11, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

I received my card last month, my scores range from 685-705. have 3 other cards with limits from $1k-8k. total debt is about $1,200 or so which will be paid off by next month. got instantly approved with $9k limit and a $13.9% rate. i ruined my credit in the my late teenage years into my early 20's but ive managed to improve it drastically. This is not a rewards card but its not what i was looking for. So far so good. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2016
cjred685 Cardholder

I have been a card holder for well over 20 years with no problems (but then again I didnt need anything from them).  When I was in the process of getting divorced,  this company slashed my credit limit (when I needed it most to help pay my lawyer and other living expenses while I tried to get back on my feet) - mind you I have always made sure this bill was paid ON TIME. When I called to try and plead my case they turned a deaf ear and wanted nothing to do with me.  So much for consumer loyalty.  They will offer you credit when you don't need it but will screw you when you need the help!!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 22, 2017
Card ok customer service sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

Ask for CLI twice and was denied my credit score is 724 don't understand. I wouldn't recommend!!

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Card ok customer service sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

Ask for CLI twice and was denied my credit score is 724 don't understand. I wouldn't recommend!!

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
No Problems
Gman0101 Cardholder

This is a great card and I've had no issues. My only complaint is the interest rate charged as I have other cards with lower rates. Could call to ask about lowering but don't use card enough.

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
I feel like I was scammed
Karinnnn Cardholder

I only applied for this card for the no interest for 21 months, I have another card that I will begin paying interest on in May of 2017 so I wanted to transfer the balance, let me add that upon opening this cards I called Citi to make sure that it's an offer they have, I called 2 months ago to double check and see how to proceed with the balance transfer and they assured me that it's not a problem,jusy called again to go through with it and I was told that they no longer offer the balance transfers, I told the rep that there is no expiration date and he said it's not about the expiration, their marketing team decides when they stop offers, how shady is that????!!!!

and to think that they could have warned me 2 months ago!!!

this card will be sitting in my drawer, I will def not use it.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 13, 2017

I was just going to apply for the same reason. Thanks for the heads up! 👍

 
Mar 22, 2017
Great benefits, terrible issuer.
Anonymous Cardholder

Low $900 limit upon issuance. Have had card nearly 2 years and CLI instantly denied twice (requested a year apart) when asked. Always states SP but have had HP show up. Even with instant decision wording. I wonder if it is because I have a no interest offer and they don't want to extend their losses further. They are going to lose a customer for life. Absolutely garbage. Do not waste your time. There are much better cards with better APR's and Interest free offers.   

My other cards include AMEX BCP ($12,000), Delta Gold ($10,000), Discover It ($3,000) Chase SW ($2,000), Chase Amazon ($500 - my request), 2 private credit union cards ($9,000 total), other cards ($5,000) and util of 5%. Low inq's (less than 2 in 2 years). Income $120k+ no baddies, always on time. 

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Great benefits, terrible issuer.
Anonymous Cardholder

Low $900 limit upon issuance. Have had card nearly 2 years and CLI instantly denied twice (requested a year apart) when asked. Always states SP but have had HP show up. Even with instant decision wording. I wonder if it is because I have a no interest offer and they don't want to extend their losses further. They are going to lose a customer for life. Absolutely garbage. Do not waste your time. There are much better cards with better APR's and Interest free offers.   

My other cards include AMEX BCP ($12,000), Delta Gold ($10,000), Discover It ($3,000) Chase SW ($2,000), Chase Amazon ($500 - my request), 2 private credit union cards ($9,000 total), other cards ($5,000) and util of 5%. Low inq's (less than 2 in 2 years)

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Beware!
Anonymous Cardholder

Only have had this card 2months and they have closed my acct because they return my payment. When I called I was hung up on 5 times. When I finally got someone on the line they could not tell why? And I'm trying to explain what happen and it feels like they are reading from a script. I have never experienced anything like it! This is the first time I ever even write a review for anything! Do NOT apply for this card!! 

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Okay Card
Anonymous Cardholder

CK says I had a fair chance at being approved. I applied to take advantage of the 21mths of no interest. I was approved for $3,600 I hoped for more. Called the reconsider line and was told I'd have to wait until it arrives and then call to request it. But, that will require another inquiry. I'll just use the card for every day purchases and nothing more. Just try my best to pay off the card I wanted to transfer.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 17, 2017

If you dont mind my asking, what is your credit score?

 
Mar 14, 2017
Lame
cacole1022 Cardholder

After having this card for almost 2 years and it paying off before due date with each use only received a $1600 CL increase with salary of $160K+ bringing total credit limit to 10,200.  Have Amex Platinum with pay over time for large purchases and no pre-set CL so why would I even use this stupid card with it's crappy rewards?  Don't bother getting it. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Finance charge is charged daily.
Homebrewer77 Cardholder

I paid the new balance in full about halfway through the billing cycle. I was then charged interest for the fifteen or so days I had a balance on the account. I called, and they did adjust the balance.

I had an introductory zero interest account, but the final interest rate was over 21%. I called every six months to try for a lower rate, but each time I was told that they couldn't change it.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi Simplicity® Card