Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Simplicity® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 06, 2016
Approved
BradyAZ Cardholder

Approved for 17,000 limit. Notes about me:  CK scores 730-740, combined income $130,000, currently utilization under 10% of 50k available (5 other cards).

The application process was very quick and easy. Note that I was using a pre-selected offer.

I have no comments on the Citi customer service as this is my first Citi card and I have not dealt with them yet. My ratings are based soley on the application process and my approved credit limit and APR.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2016
cjred685 Cardholder

I have been a card holder for well over 20 years with no problems (but then again I didnt need anything from them).  When I was in the process of getting divorced,  this company slashed my credit limit (when I needed it most to help pay my lawyer and other living expenses while I tried to get back on my feet) - mind you I have always made sure this bill was paid ON TIME. When I called to try and plead my case they turned a deaf ear and wanted nothing to do with me.  So much for consumer loyalty.  They will offer you credit when you don't need it but will screw you when you need the help!!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 13, 2017
Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

720/2℅ utilization on 2 cards with $20k limit total. No mortgage. $180k income. Approved. Will close 1 existing card now.

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Good
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy application and approval

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

What was your credit score when you applied? Only reason I ask is I dont want an inquiry if my score is too low. Worked my way back up to 675 from 500 last year.

 
Jan 02, 2017
Excellent card
Bassam2014 Cardholder

A great card to have with a lot of good benefits. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Great Cash back card
Anonymous Cardholder

My favorite credit card! I was easily qualified for a $5k limit. I've taken advantage of several services they offer like credit card balance transfers, 0% promos, I even have my car loan through them..

Their online app is super easy to use for both my vehicle & credit card.

The only reason I'm rating them 4 starts instead of 5 is because of a hard credit inquiry that popped up on my burel July 2016... No one there seems to have an answer as to why or how. Im still trying to get it removed, have sent them requested documents 2x already. I hope they can find delete this off my credit burel!

Other than that, it's worked great for me I've made over 400 in cashback since I've had it.

Customer service reps have been able to help me when

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
awful customer service
kyleh11 Cardholder

sub-par customer experience, reps cant tell you anything straight over the phone. 

card was stolen out of my mailbox on the first sendout, been waiting a month. Credit card department says they wont issue any expedited cards, called their main support line and was told they do expedited cards when lost/stolen. Got transferred around and had to re-verify my info 3 times in a row to be told they wouldnt re-issue the card afterall. After today, my third request of asking for a replacement card, was told the previous two times were never sent out, just a statement with a card code to call in to verify, they said that calling in and verifying name, date of birth, security code, social security number, and address arnt enough to issue a new card?? 5-7 buisness days to wait for a piece of paper so i can "verify" over the phone, then another 5-7 for a new card. Nope. 

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Horrible customer service horrible Rewar
frankierh8 Cardholder

promotional checks are a joke with transaction fees. The rewards are ridiculous they're like a coupon, customer service is lousy and you cannot freeze the card so you always have to check your balance to make sure you're not receiving fraudulent charges. I have 5 other credit cards with other companies that offer much better service. suggestion stay away from Citibank

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Decent card for starters...
Anonymous Cardholder

One of the first credit cards I ever applied for.  Easy process and app is simple for making payments and viewing account activity.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Worst Reward System
Anonymous Cardholder

You earn points that can only be used in small amounts for small discounts for expensive items.  I've only had it for 6 months and I would have to spend thousands of dollars to spend all of my points.  They have an auction system where you can only use points, but it's impossible to win unless you stay online all night upping your bid (you can only outbid, you can't enter an amount).  There's nothing good about this CC.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

If you're using this card for points, then you're completely MISSING the point. This card is meant for financing either large purchases, or getting nagging balances off your back and paying them off little by little.

 
Oct 26, 2016
Citi destroyed my credit score.
mimi23cjs Cardholder

After over 20 years with Citi, a credit score of 802 was tanked when they took my limits down to my balances during the course of my divorce. I have never paid a bill late in my life. I'm 44 years old. When lines of credit equal to nearly $25,000 get cut to the outstanding balances of $5,000 at the time when I needed it the most, to re-establish as a single woman after 24 yrs of marriage, I can't even qualify for a bank loan with my new credit score. The only negative area on my credit is my utilization rate...all the result of Citi. Never again.

more ...
Oct 27, 2016

That is horrible. I would never use a card that would do this. Did you have the same experience with other cards?

 
Dec 23, 2016

If you combine husband/wife salaries on the application and the marriage end up in a divorce, yes, people don't realise it will hurt your credit score. This is not the banks fault.

 
Oct 20, 2016
Weendee Cardholder

Credit Karma advised that I apply for it for balance transfer so I did and was approved for $10,000. Best decision I could have made. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

'Did you have a high credit utilization prior to this? I am trying to transfer my balance with a credit score of 708 and I am not sure I will be approved for a decent limit.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi Simplicity® Card