Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Simplicity® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 06, 2016
Approved
BradyAZ Cardholder

Approved for 17,000 limit. Notes about me:  CK scores 730-740, combined income $130,000, currently utilization under 10% of 50k available (5 other cards).

The application process was very quick and easy. Note that I was using a pre-selected offer.

I have no comments on the Citi customer service as this is my first Citi card and I have not dealt with them yet. My ratings are based soley on the application process and my approved credit limit and APR.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 16, 2016
Lousy Customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Delay, delay and delay in each and every transaction

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2016
Decent card for starters...
Anonymous Cardholder

One of the first credit cards I ever applied for.  Easy process and app is simple for making payments and viewing account activity.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Worst Reward System
Anonymous Cardholder

You earn points that can only be used in small amounts for small discounts for expensive items.  I've only had it for 6 months and I would have to spend thousands of dollars to spend all of my points.  They have an auction system where you can only use points, but it's impossible to win unless you stay online all night upping your bid (you can only outbid, you can't enter an amount).  There's nothing good about this CC.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

If you're using this card for points, then you're completely MISSING the point. This card is meant for financing either large purchases, or getting nagging balances off your back and paying them off little by little.

 
Oct 26, 2016
Citi destroyed my credit score.
mimi23cjs Cardholder

After over 20 years with Citi, a credit score of 802 was tanked when they took my limits down to my balances during the course of my divorce. I have never paid a bill late in my life. I'm 44 years old. When lines of credit equal to nearly $25,000 get cut to the outstanding balances of $5,000 at the time when I needed it the most, to re-establish as a single woman after 24 yrs of marriage, I can't even qualify for a bank loan with my new credit score. The only negative area on my credit is my utilization rate...all the result of Citi. Never again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 27, 2016

That is horrible. I would never use a card that would do this. Did you have the same experience with other cards?

 
Oct 20, 2016
Weendee Cardholder

Credit Karma advised that I apply for it for balance transfer so I did and was approved for $10,000. Best decision I could have made. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 02, 2016

'Did you have a high credit utilization prior to this? I am trying to transfer my balance with a credit score of 708 and I am not sure I will be approved for a decent limit.

 
Oct 16, 2016
Pre Qualified
albizzy Cardholder

CK had it as poor approval odds TU 680 and E 685. I got a letter in the mail for this car with pre qualified code. I have 3-4 hard inquiries 100% payment history, I was also pre qualified for chase freedom unlimited with very good approval odds fromCK.  However I do not like Chase they put me into having low credit score and from reviews I have read they haven't changed there ways.  I like the looks of this card but understand it has a higher than regular APR.  No such thing as a perfect credit card ,  my personal favorite credit agencies are AMEX, Cap one,  I will see if Citi is worth being on that list.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

You're using this review forum to bash Chase? Get real, please. Chase is great, and have never put me into "having low credit score". Their reviews are better than most (especially for the Freedom Unl. and Sapphire cards), and their perks beat the stuffing out of 95% of other credit/charge cards. The only card that could EVER lure me away from Chase, and that's only if they completely anger me to the point of cancelling, is the AMEX Premier Rewards Gold card. Cap. One is 3rd tier...good for rebuilding, but not much else, IMO.

 
Sep 21, 2016
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had this card for almost 6 months. Credit score is around 680 and was approved for 3800. Beneficial with balance transfer but customer service is a joke. The automatic system kept hanging up due to high call volumes. Took me 6 tries and 2 hours just to speak to someone for less than 2 minutes. Will be paying off in a couple months and putting it away in a drawer.

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
Good Benefits is crap
Anonymous Cardholder

I have this card, had a 800 score was only approved for 900$, used it for a balance transfer with 0%, asked if I could get another one. They said no, I have to wait for one to come available, in over a year and a half nothing has shown up, for that... When this is all that they talk about is the benefits of this card... It is simply crap.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Very high interest monthly
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a very high interest on this credit card 

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Lousy Customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Delay, delay and delay in each and every transaction

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi Simplicity® Card