Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 09, 2018
Great mobile app and blank checks
Ayinas24 Cardholder

I use the mobile app to request credit increase with no hit to my credit report, other than showing the increase. Throughout the year I receive blank checks with interest starting at 0% to 6%. I always wait on the 0% to come out. Usually it's 0% for about 18 months. Luv it. There is a fee for it but it's not alot of money. You can also get your credit score in the mobile app. Monitor spending, see statements, make extra payments, change due date with a few clicks in your phone. I usually request an increase when I have a balance to keep my credit card usage under 30% for credit reporting purpose. This have been a great card building my credit. I dealt with customer service a couple of occasions, I had no bad experience. I have handled most transactions via mobile app and by blank checks. Great card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 10, 2018
Excellent for balance transfer purposes
nmoss8 Cardholder

I've had this card for several years. I have not ran a transaction, other than balance transfers, in the last 2-3 years. The interest rate is horrific, even with excellent credit. The balance transfer rates/fees are some of the best out there. Even with a call to customer service, they were not willing to lower my APR after several years with the account in good standing.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2018
Dmolina1983 Cardholder

They ran my equifax my card usage was 14% on all my cards over 10 credit cards and the instanly approve for $7,800 i have a few card with a credit limit over this amount but its always good wen you do an inquiry and the approve you and with this good amount fo credit the adds was Excelente

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 04, 2018

This makes no sense. Can you please review in decent grammar, spelling & punctuation so we can understand your point?

 
Nov 28, 2018
Tu 725 Equifax 725 Ex 719
Dmolina1983 Cardholder

They ran my equifax my card usage was 14% on all my cards over 10 credit cards and the instanly approve for $7,800 i have a few card with a credit limit over this amount but its always good wen you do an inquiry and the approve you and with this good amount fo credit

more ...
Nov 18, 2018
A Good Choice
Anonymous Cardholder

Definitely the card to get if you need a long amount of time to get some debt paid off. 21 months could be more beneficial than a lower interest rate in some cases. But no matter what you do pay these people they money back so you can get outta debt and stop making them rich. "Interest rate is the penalty you pay in advance for something that you can not afford" repeat this over and over until it sinks in your head. When you feel sick to your stomach then my friend you fully understand that statement.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 04, 2018

Stop preaching and give an actual review, please.

 
Nov 15, 2018
0%
champstar Cardholder

The initial 0% promo on purchases really helped me grow my small business.

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
Somewhat usefull for intial promo rate
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Good only for the initial promo rate, after that trash this card. Zero rewards, that so called Citibank Thankyou program is an insult. Interest rate is outragous. Balance transfers are never worth it. Don't even ask for a CL increase with perfect credit, it's an automatic decline.

more ...
Sep 19, 2018
Approved for 5500 TU-710 EQ 715
jeffreybaks Cardholder

I was instantly approved for 5500 with CITI Simplicity card.  Couldnt be happier, really helped me out when I needed it, very clutch as Im making ttransitions between colleges and work.  I talked to customer service who were respectful and seemed helpful. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 21, 2018

Hello...What were your bureau scores? Your utilization %? And how many hard inquiries did you have when you applied? Who did Citi pull from when you applied? All three bureaus? Thanks :)

M

 
Aug 07, 2018
Bait and switch
spanishguy1970 Cardholder

These card offers you o% interest for 18 months but good luck they will never do it again. I have great credit and this card has a 23% interest rate now, long gone are the days when you had great credit and low interest. I have called to receive better offers and their answer is always the same “ sorry we don’t have any offers now” is been two years. I use this card and pay it off in full. I have a better credit card, that i pay no international fees and i am always getting good balance transfer offers. Don’t fall for this card, do your homework there are better cards out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 26, 2018

It’s because you dont know how to use it lol. This card is great to put on big purchases and pay it off with no interest. I have used this card on multiple vacation trips. When the 0% apt time i just close it. And when i need the 0% apr again i open a new account. This card is not to be used as an everyday card.

 
Jul 16, 2018
Approved
Mns38 Cardholder

Approved for $4600. Credit score is in the mid 700s. Great card to transfer balances. 

more ...
Jul 09, 2018
Great mobile app and blank checks
Ayinas24 Cardholder

I use the mobile app to request credit increase with no hit to my credit report, other than showing the increase. Throughout the year I receive blank checks with interest starting at 0% to 6%. I always wait on the 0% to come out. Usually it's 0% for about 18 months. Luv it. There is a fee for it but it's not alot of money. You can also get your credit score in the mobile app. Monitor spending, see statements, make extra payments, change due date with a few clicks in your phone. I usually request an increase when I have a balance to keep my credit card usage under 30% for credit reporting purpose. This have been a great card building my credit. I dealt with customer service a couple of occasions, I had no bad experience. I have handled most transactions via mobile app and by blank checks. Great card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 04, 2018

Blank checks? Did you get this particular credit card or a Citi checking account??

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card