Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Citi Simplicity® Card  Reviews
2.8 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24% Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24% Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 27, 2019
I love it
allayna82 Cardholder

I don't see why there's so many bad reviews. Citi and another bank were the only ones to give me such a high line of credit. I decided to ask for an increase a couple months back and customer service was great and they gave me a several thousand dollar increase. I'm quite pleased with them and my monthly payments are super low on this card compared to others.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 22, 2019
Penalties for paying off
Dalyn18 Cardholder

Citibank has a practice of reducing your credit line if you make large payments. The only other bank I see do this on occasion is Discover. If your intention is to pay down debt this card isn't for you. The reduced credit will impact your score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 15, 2020
Simple

I’m reading all of these bad reviews & laughing. There’s no way!! Got this card with less than a 700, with a 2000$ limit, no interest for the year. That’s pretty good in itself. Had some charges to dispute & I’ve only had the card for a month at most now & they cleared the charges immediately & I just received replacement card right now from Fed ex. It took 24 hours to receive. I can’t image in other people not having the same good experience. It’s pretty simple. Get a card. Activate. Use. When I’ve needed support they handled it. Done.

more ...
Jan 03, 2020
Phony
Krisagu123 Cardholder

send you a letter 0% balance transfer for 21 months then tell you you need to pay 5% BT fee. When you read the fine print half of the letters are gone and you now know why you never saw that after applying for card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 03, 2020

You're a moron. Of course they charge a transfer fee, every card does. Then, it's 0% interest on that balance. I think you need to take a financial literacy course.

 
Jan 02, 2020
wolf in sheeps clothing
Guitboxman Cardholder

thought this was the only card for me until i discovered their min. payment is 3% whereas others are 2% or lower. Paid it, cut it, trashed it

more ...
Dec 28, 2019
East to apply for
Mim1tran Cardholder

I have a credit score of 760, never late, and an overall utilization of 9%. I applied and was instantly approved for 11k. Applied for this just for the balance transfer of 21 months. 

more ...
Dec 18, 2019
Dont Click! Run from this card!!!
evilkitty76 Cardholder

Customer service??? I think not 

more ...
Dec 03, 2019
Quick approval!
Cmtop Cardholder

I applied for this card about 2 months ago and I expected them to reject me since I have a bankruptcy from 2011 still on my credit reports, but with a credit score just about 680, they approved me with 3k credit limit immediately. I applied for this card to use for a balance transfer, and the transfer went through within maybe 2 weeks, which was great! I had expected it to take longer. So far so good, if I have any bad experiences in the future, I'll update this review.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2020

Did the balance transfer fee change to 5% after it went throughout?

 
Nov 23, 2019
Awful.
Hdgill Cardholder

The balance transfer has taken 3 weeks with no end in sight. I had a voicemail after two weeks from a man who couldn't really put a sentence together, saying that there could be fraudulent charges on my card and asking that I verify some information, then began leaving a phone number and mid way through reciting it changed it and corrected himself. He did the same thing with the reference number. I then called the number on the back of my card because the caller had a lot of information for being a scam (the exact card I had applied for) and the customer service representative assured me that it WAS Citi Bank that had called me. I asked how long it would take the balance transfer to happen since it had been over two weeks already and he said "two weeks." When I said it had already been two weeks he replied "oh well, then it'll be about 5 more days." It's been three weeks and it still hasn't gone through. I can't believe this is a successful financial institution.

more ...
Nov 29, 2019

Hello, I've done 4 balance transfers already? And I didn't have any problems? It took but a few days for them to arrive...

 
Dec 05, 2019

Next time have them transfer the amount to your bank account and pay from it directly. It takes three business days.

 
Nov 12, 2019
Great personal card
Juanc99 Cardholder

I have a 25k limit card. 

paid on time 100%
kept utilization below 35%

credit score excellent @ 811

Nice doing business with Citi. 

Recommend hacker royalblade@protonmail com for credit repair and boost. Got me 220 points within 3 weeks.

more ...
Nov 14, 2019

Thanks for recommending. In dire need of credit fix. Any idea how much he charges and how fast the job is done?

 
Nov 14, 2019

I just got off phone with Royal and we are ready to build. He’s Bob lol. Thank you for mentioning him here.

 
Nov 14, 2019

He hasn’t responded to me. Anyone got his number so I call place a call through? I’m in serious need of credit repair.

 
Nov 19, 2019

Very professional!

 
Nov 28, 2019

Royal saved my life and my business. I got a loan that changed my life through is help.

 
Dec 16, 2019

Was that $25k limit granted out the gate or did it grow over time? Do you remember what the initially approved you for?

I'm interested in signing up but don't want to bother if it'll be anything under $20k.

Thanks!

 
Nov 04, 2019
Love it
aquablauw Cardholder

I applied for the simple reason of transfering balances for 21 months with a 0 Percent APR Rate. Piece of cake. Application approved online, less then 30 seconds. All online, no Customer service needed. 12 months purchase of the same great deal of 0 Percent APR. Read the instructions, before applying? And know what you want. Everyone raises, their very sneaky,  minimumm payments? Citi stayed with $25. There is nothing to complain with, as long as you know in what and how you need to know all rules of the game, before applying. High CL and affordable APR rate. Just don't get cash advances. After a year, they will send you balance transfer checks for the same great reasons. You like award cards? Apply for them, wiith lower CL and pretty high APR Percentage rates. Again, know what you want, do your research. Make sure, when you apply, that your FICO Score is above 690? Thank you.

more ...
Nov 09, 2019

690. No problem. Best review on here. Most helpful. I wonder if i can transfer an auto loan?

 
Nov 16, 2019

Which report did they pull your FICO score from if you don’t mind me asking?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Citi Simplicity® Card  Reviews

Citi Simplicity® Card