Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 09, 2018
Great mobile app and blank checks
Ayinas24 Cardholder

I use the mobile app to request credit increase with no hit to my credit report, other than showing the increase. Throughout the year I receive blank checks with interest starting at 0% to 6%. I always wait on the 0% to come out. Usually it's 0% for about 18 months. Luv it. There is a fee for it but it's not alot of money. You can also get your credit score in the mobile app. Monitor spending, see statements, make extra payments, change due date with a few clicks in your phone. I usually request an increase when I have a balance to keep my credit card usage under 30% for credit reporting purpose. This have been a great card building my credit. I dealt with customer service a couple of occasions, I had no bad experience. I have handled most transactions via mobile app and by blank checks. Great card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 12, 2019
Great!
mkmunoz1106 Cardholder

Great card and easy to earn rewards! Not as easy to redeem them, I normally just redeem on Amazon since it won't let me do anything else with them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2019

Are you reviewing the correct product? I wasn’t aware this card had a rewards program.

 
Apr 12, 2019
Great for balance transfers
holypeas Cardholder

I used this card for a balance transfer to pay down some debt. I had no issues and everything worked out as expected. Now that I am paying an interest rate I am moving on to something else but this card was fine. The mobile app is easy to use.

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
Good for Long-term Balance Transfers
Viper2Zero Cardholder

I applied for the Citi Simplicity card on Nov 5, 2018 - CK Scores TU - 738, EQ - 746.  They pulled my Equifax report.  Stated income was $78k, and I had $29k of personal cards at that time with about 12% utilization.  Approved for $6,600.  Wanted to do balance transfer but had nothing that needed transfering for a few months.  By the time I got around to needing to do the transfer, the program had ended.  There's a time limit for how long you can do balance transfers, which I was made aware of but forgot about.  My one experience with Customer Service was satisfactory.  I've used the card for some small purchases to take advantage of that interest free period.

more ...
Mar 27, 2019
Closed due to inactivity with no warning
DarthPerrin Cardholder

The card itself is fine but CITI bank not so much. They closed my account due to inactivity with no warning which caused a 27 point hit on my credit score. When I requested it be reopened they said  I had to authorize them to do a credit pull which would have dinged my credit score even more. All in all the card is OK but CITI bank is kind of shady.

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Perfect for balance transfers
Lax08 Cardholder

Easy app process, and had good experience with the customer service team. TU 772, EQ 770. Instantly approved for 6100, more than enough to do what I needed it to do- a balance transfer.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Bad website
Tonypark Cardholder

Very frustrating website and customer service. Do not use citi bank.

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Low starting limit with a 754 score.
theheat71 Cardholder

Last time I checked 750 was a EXCELLENT score and based on the forums I've heard the same thing people with stellar credit getting lowballed. Why not just do like crapitalone and give everyone $300....SMH.

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
APR Hike Scheme
Aurora50 Cardholder

I had this card in the past and one day out of the blue Citi closed my account for some vague reason. I suspect that it was because I didn't use it very often. However, almost immediately Citi started emailing and snail mailing me offers to apply for the card, at a higher APR than I had previously. Yeah, so, the simplicity of this card must refer to Citi's business practices and the audacious way it is marketed to former cardholders.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 05, 2019

I agree with you. I had my Citi Simplicity card for almost 16 years - no late payment ever! I found out through my credit report that they closed my account. They did not mail or email me. When I called them they denied that it was closed. Then 2 months later there was a message on my app that the account is. Loser and I should go on the website and take off the link. Why would I feel in anyway compelled to reapply for a credit card with them when there are so many other options.

 
Jan 01, 2019
Perfect Card To Help Pay Off Debt
Stealthy28 Cardholder

Approved for 16K which was more then enough to help me transfer 

high interest credit card debts and save big $$$ over the 21 month promo rate @ 0% the fee was less then the interest I’d have paid over a 5 month period on just one of the cards I transfered.

Thank you Citi! 

more ...
Jan 30, 2019

What is your approx credit score, in which they approved you for that amount may I ask?

 
Apr 21, 2019

I have the same question as Karen7345. Curious what your Transunion & Equifax credit scores were when you were approved?

 
Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card