Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi Simplicity® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The well-named Citi Simplicity® Card is a nice fit for consumers with excellent credit who want a simple card that won’t drown them in fees.

Why We Like It

This card has no annual fee, no late fees and no penalty APR. Citi Simplicity® also includes a 0% intro APR on balance transfers and purchases for 21 months.

Look Out For

Citi Simplicity® has no late fees ever, but a higher regular interest rate will kick in after the 21 month introductory period. Once that interest rate is in effect, failing to pay in full and on time could still put a dent in your wallet. The card also includes a 3% foreign transaction fee and a 3% or $5 (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 05, 2017
great so far
Anonymous Cardholder

0% inteest for 21 months great for making large purchases, when I apply the gave a credit line of 7K and I just got bumped up to10.5K 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 26, 2016
Citi destroyed my credit score.
mimi23cjs Cardholder

After over 20 years with Citi, a credit score of 802 was tanked when they took my limits down to my balances during the course of my divorce. I have never paid a bill late in my life. I'm 44 years old. When lines of credit equal to nearly $25,000 get cut to the outstanding balances of $5,000 at the time when I needed it the most, to re-establish as a single woman after 24 yrs of marriage, I can't even qualify for a bank loan with my new credit score. The only negative area on my credit is my utilization rate...all the result of Citi. Never again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 23, 2017
Convenient but beware of impact on score
pookie09 Cardholder

This is one of many cards I have and my total utilization is about 6-7%. However, the whole point of this card is to use the credit for 21 months without paying the interest. After using the limit to 93% limit, my score dropped 111 points! Oldest credit line 12 years, never missed a payment. The additional balance is barely 10% of my total credit available... Unbelievable. So something to keep in mind about the way you want to use this card. What you don't pay in fees, you pay in your credit score. Beware. 

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Excellent card with ...
sijo0703 Cardholder

This is the best card I have owned so far with no late fee, excellent customer service and fraud protection.

And excellent balance transfer options with 0% balance transfer APR. The application process is straight forward and got decent Credit Limit for my moderate ambitions.

My credit card info got compromised by a fradulent transaction but citi was quick to identify that and blocked my card and reissued a new one!

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Would not negotiate a lower rate.
Homebrewer77 Cardholder

Applied for the card, used the promotional balance transfer, had zero percent for one year. When the promotion ended, rate jumped to 22%. Made several attempts over a year to get a lower rate, but each time I was told "That's not an option for this credit card."

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Cit is a joke
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away from these scammers!

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
great so far
Anonymous Cardholder

0% inteest for 21 months great for making large purchases, when I apply the gave a credit line of 7K and I just got bumped up to10.5K 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
GoldCredit83 Cardholder

Recently had my credit line increased amazing. :) Just took a phone call.! and no my credit score was not dinged. I never ever missed one payment on any of my credit cards also I don't rack up debt I'm not able to pay a credit score is only as good as your willingness to not miss payments and never carry high balances.

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

720/2℅ utilization on 2 cards with $20k limit total. No mortgage. $180k income. Approved. Will close 1 existing card now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 28, 2017

You should never close an old account always remember that and if you still choose on closing an account it could take 10 Years before it comes off your credit report also while closing accounts get the persons name you spoke with and ask them to mail you something if possible telling you the account has been closed and paid in full at best you could also send them a letter and tell them you'd like to close the account and they should send you something back in the mail.

 
Jan 04, 2017
Good
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy application and approval

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

What was your credit score when you applied? Only reason I ask is I dont want an inquiry if my score is too low. Worked my way back up to 675 from 500 last year.

 
Jan 02, 2017
Excellent card
Bassam2014 Cardholder

A great card to have with a lot of good benefits. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Great Cash back card
Anonymous Cardholder

My favorite credit card! I was easily qualified for a $5k limit. I've taken advantage of several services they offer like credit card balance transfers, 0% promos, I even have my car loan through them..

Their online app is super easy to use for both my vehicle & credit card.

The only reason I'm rating them 4 starts instead of 5 is because of a hard credit inquiry that popped up on my burel July 2016... No one there seems to have an answer as to why or how. Im still trying to get it removed, have sent them requested documents 2x already. I hope they can find delete this off my credit burel!

Other than that, it's worked great for me I've made over 400 in cashback since I've had it.

Customer service reps have been able to help me when

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi Simplicity® Card