Target® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
90 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 17, 2013
Approved with low credit score
anonymousreviewer Cardholder

550 Credit score, approved with $300 limit.  Works for me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 05, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

Target doesn't offer a method of reviewing credit lines for increases.  This card has been stuck at a $800 credit line when I have other lines at $10,000, $23,000, and $13,000.  I had racked $780 in charges up in  a month, paid it in full, and they've had the money held for two weeks after the payment went through with my bank.  They told me that we'd have to conference call the bank to verify that it's cleared on their side before they'd release that money.  It's been two weeks, how much longer do they want to hold it?  My AMEX marks it as available the same day.  Income levels don't appear to matter to them, and it's horrible service.

I'll give them two stars for the 5% discount and because I've had the credit card for a very long time.  That's the only reason I don't close the account immediately.  I wouldn't recommend this credit card to someone that doesn't already have it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

customer service suck! very rude!

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
its a mistake waiting to happen.
JackieCox1 Cardholder

Considering a Target Red Card ?

DON'T EVER GET A TARGET RED CARD (.)

they will bill you at your old address after listing your payment as a charge, then report you to credit bureaus, destroying credit rating.

when you request detailed statement showing charges and payments they promise to send it but you will never receive it because they do not send it and list another missed payment even after you pay on your card to keep them at bay. 

they have your 

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
the 5% off everytime is NICE
Anonymous Cardholder

i have an average credit score of 746-769 and was approved for $500 which is more than i need considering i pay everything off as soon as it is posted. the 5% off is awesome when i only use this card to buy baby milk when target has a special :)

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Better use it every month!!
Rob80204 Cardholder

My Target card was one of my oldest accounts. I kept it around to build up my age of credit. I paid the card off and didnt use it for 2 months and they closed my account due to inactivity. They want me to re-apply which is the exact opposite of what I am trying to do with my credit. Thanks Target

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Approved!
NYKnicksTape Cardholder

Applied today and was approved.  655 score on both reporting agencies as per CK.  40% UTI & 51K income reported.  I was approved for $1,000.  I go to target a lot so getting this card was a no brainer.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the card an dthey charged me a late fee for payigmy bill the day it was due at 11pm. they stated cut off hours for bill payment are 9pm! I looked through my whole cedit card agrrement and no where in the signed documents did it say anything about a credit card payment time limit on the day its due! I was also told by a rep that a refund on my card would count as a credit payment. That was a lie. I was then charged a finance fee and a late fee for wrong info one of their reps told me Terrible card and service. I have AMEX and Chase and they are super helpful with honest mishaps. I have ever done business with such a horrible company. I cancelled my card. I will never get a nother one. And I advise anyone who is serious about their credit to avoid this card like the plague!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Love Target and this card!
greykiddo Cardholder

Nothing negative to say about this card! No issues with online account and you can pay in the store. I like having a 5% discount everything I use it and you can also use it at the in-store Starbucks. 

I would recommend that you set up e-mail/text alerts. I was five days late with a payment (I forgot but still my responsibility), so I paid double once I remembered (and the late late fee, too; there's goes my chance for a CLI or upgrade *sigh*), and then set up the alerts promptly. 

APR is high, but of course, keep low util. or PIF. 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
use it monthly, never late for 6 years,
jimmyd787 Cardholder

had scores @ 740-750 when i got the card. 700 CL after 6 years using the card monthly and paying on time (never late) still CL 700 scores now 832,817 and 816  they are rude if you ask

for a credit limit increase

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Good caRd so far
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for about a year now. It seems as long as you use it on a regular basis they will give you periodic increases. I started out with $300 limit and received 3 increases since, now at $1700! I think the more you spend at the store the more they'll reward you. But hey, whatever works.

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
No complaints here!
MKD0611 Cardholder

I started with a $350 CL and within a few months was bumped up to $700. I pay it off in full after every purchase, I haven't had one fee and when I did need to call customer service the woman was very pleasant. You just can't please some people, I've had my share of store cards and this is the only one I still use consistently. I've learned, if you can't pay it right off you don't need it. I only use this instead of cash so I can get the discounts. Then once my charge is posted, PAY IT OFF! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card