Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Target® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
94 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 20, 2016
Quite Decent and Favorable
ceij85 Cardholder

This is my first ever post, but I wanted to share my journey.  I had my chapter 13 discharge in October of 2014.  I was approved for the Target card May of 15 with a 300 credit limit.  I used it, paid it in store eventually i was over 30% and started paying it back down.  By October of 15, around my birthday they auto increased me to $700.  I did a little christmas shopping, and continued to make monthly payments along with paying off anything i bought in store at that moment.  I went to Houston in January, and when I got home, but limit was increased to $1200.  

I'm not totally sure why I've been fortunate with them thus far, but I am happy the account is growing.  I was concerned due to the many negative reviews out there, but none of that has been my experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 15, 2016
Ridiculous card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for over 3 years and all I have is a $200 credit limit even though I pay off all the time. I currently owe $0. What a joke

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 12, 2017
Customer service will not work with you
Targetblows Cardholder

I paid way over due amount every time, then changed bank accounts and when I entered the account for them to debit I did a typo. As a result they couldn't get the payment but allowed me to try it again over and over. This resulted in late fees and returned Payment fees and a 150 point drop in my credit score. They made no effort to contact me to collect this payment that was obviously an error and will not reverse any fees even when I offered to pay off the account in full (which I was attempting to do anyway.) Bottom line, don't make a mistake or they will ruin your credit for 5 to 7 years without attempting to collect Payment first

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Amazing perks
Anonymous Cardholder

Love this Target card and all the perks that comes.with it!

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Out sourced customer service watch out!
KeanuVernon Cardholder

The young kid talks you into to it. Don't use it. Their customer service sucks don't waste you time and pay them more money for shopping there. 

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
Target credit card is a joke!
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had my Target credit card for over a year! I've paid it off...I pay my bill on time. Target refuses to increase my credit limit. I'm not happy and thinking of closing my card.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Great card, easy to get CLI
mikmakmom Cardholder

I've had this card since December 2015 (now December 2016) I started with $300 CL.  Now at $2000.  Every two months they bump up my limit. I do my grocery shopping here so I am charging it every week, and paying it off 2 days later, that might be why. Either way I'm very impressed with how quickly I was able to build a decent credit limit with Target and enjoy the 5% off

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Not the best card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for over 3 years my credit score is ok 690 over 50 points higher than when I started the card I've never been late. And have always paid more than what the limit is and is sitting currently at a 0 balance and I've updated my income online but my credit limit has never changed and has stayed at 300 I love target just not my red card :(

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
approved with a 613 score // $200 limit
Anonymous Cardholder

Stared with capital one secured credit card $200 

made payments for 9 months straight 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Shocked
Mrspinedaaaa Cardholder

Got approved instantly for $200. I just opened it a couple days ago! I'm in the process of trying to rebuild my credit. My TU score is 619! I'm super shocked and super happy! Hopefully I can get an increase soon! 

more ...
Nov 24, 2016
Great for me!
Chibaker01 Cardholder

I have had this card for just over a year. When I applied my score was in the 530's. I'm rebuilding my credit and thought the target credit card would be a good one to have. I was right! I was approved online for 300 cl with a quick online application. A few months later I was upped to 800. A few months later it was upped to 1,300. Just recently it went to 2,000. This card I usually carry anywhere from a half balance to a very high one depending on what part of the month it is. It has been very good to me and I love the 5%. I have never had to use the customer service so I can't comment on it. Basically we this card just pay on time even if you carry a high balance and you will see credit limit increases. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Changes without my content
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently tried to use my Redcard over the weekend only to find out it was 'closed' and had to use my bank debit card instead. I was embarrassed and could not use my discounts card with my debit card like I could with my Redcard.

I called Target, number on back of card, first person hung up on me, oriental bitch. Second time I called, told them about OB, and inquired as to why I was not able to use my card. They mentioned they sent me a new card with increased spending limit up to $10k and thought if I do not call them to cancel it then I want the card. First, I never got the card, and they assume this? How can one assume when one does not see whether or not I received the cards they supposely sent to me? Who authorized this? I never asked for an increase. All this to have my Redcard cancelled? This is so screwed up. DUMB! Who is the idiot that oversee this Redcard program at Target? Show your face so we can see how dumb you look with the policies you put in place. I told the second support agent to scrap my account, close it for I never want to use Target Redcard and I will not endorse it after this. I work for Target and just thinking 'Who the hell you people think you are to walk over them like you did me with the Redcard?'. As for that dumb oriental woman who hung up on me, showed me a sinister side to Target. Scrap your Redcard program all together.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card