Target® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 29, 2016
LOVE IT!!! CK SCORE 621
steelrebuilding Cardholder

I was shocked to be approved for this card after defaulting on a Target card years ago. Inital credit limit was $300. Used the card for purchases that could be paid off within a month or less.

Was SHOCKED  to see they increased my CL automatically to $800!!! Very pleased with the card and the 5% discount is a big plus! Some promotions given you a target gift card for a future purchase. Love the stacking of discounts. This is a good card and they are getting better with their increases!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2017
Better use it every month!!
Rob80204 Cardholder

My Target card was one of my oldest accounts. I kept it around to build up my age of credit. I paid the card off and didnt use it for 2 months and they closed my account due to inactivity. They want me to re-apply which is the exact opposite of what I am trying to do with my credit. Thanks Target

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 06, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Lost my wallet which had my card in it, they sent new ones that would not work. Their online is horrible and wont link my credit card only debit so they make paying online impossible and when I called, she did not help with that. After missing my first payment in over a year due to not being able to use online, no debit card due to having to wait on a replacement for that and no checks since I woul dneed to pay for new ones, they would not reverse the fee. Their interest is crazy and now tacked on a fee. Horrible. Will get rid of this card and not use target credit ever again. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Excellent with frequent, substantial CLI

Being a regular Target customer, it made sense to get this Red Card as part of my credit building strategy.  Score was upper 5xx's when I applied and received a 300 CL about 9 months ago.  Sitting at a $1300 Cl currently.  I use this card multiple times a week and pay off the balance every payday.  I've never paid a penny of interest, never paid a late fee.  That translates into literally hundreds of dollars in savings due to the 5% discount on every Target purchase.  Payments post overnight (when paid by 6PM or whatever) and never had a problem with the fast and easy to use website.  Always pay on time and in full, along with updating your income through the web portal and if I can get these frequent and substantial increases with my less than stellar credit, I imagine just about anyone can!  Like any other credit proiduct, use it wisely, only spend what you can afford and you can enjoy the perks without the penalty of interest and fees.  Three thumbs up!

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Interest eats up any 5% you get
dlc2012az Cardholder

Fairly easy to get one with poor credit, you will get only a 200 or 300 credit line though. Keep your income updated with the website and if it gets higher you will see your limit get raised pretty quickly.  I had Target raise my liimit 3 times in a year.  After about 2 years they may offer you a free upgrade to the Mastercard, which can be used anywhere. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2017
Stay Away From This Card
1Plato1 Cardholder

While I like Target as a company, this card is a huge rip-off.  My credit line was $600 for many years.  Now its $2100 with three credit increases given to me in the same year.  The APR is ridiculous.  Think about it: for every $100 dollars paid toward the balance each month, $.25 of every dollar is interest.  I always pay a minimum of $100 or more each month, eventhough I haven't made purchases on the card in the last 5 months.  Now, I'm doubling my efforts to pay a minimum of $200 a month so that the balance is paid off faster.  After that, I'm closing this card with the quickness!  Like many other card holders, we were attracted to this card because we like and trust Target.  However, this card is certainly not to be trusted.  You may find yourself in a deep sea of interest, regardless of how much you pay above your monthly minimum.  Stay Away!!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 02, 2017

Well that is true that its ridiculously high apr, but its a non issue if you pay off balance in full every month

 
Aug 21, 2017
Great to have.
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes it's one of the best card

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
Great card for building strong credit
rsc7721 Cardholder

target card services have been courteous w me whenever i contacted them; they have regularly reviewd my account for cli

i am not the best customer or credit profile but target card services has had y back as far as i concerned and has helped me 

build upon my credit profile

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Terrible.
Anonymous Cardholder

Made a payment on the card, showed paid online and they said it was paid when I called twice. Turns out, it wasn't. Got a late fee charge because of it. Though it showed paid in their system and out of my account. Late charge was removed, but I paid it off and cancelled. Bad experience.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had this card for a while now started with $300CL
Now its $2200.00.I mainly use it for grocery shopping saves you 5%.Havent had a problem with the card just give your payment on time through the App. And everything will be smooth with this card 100% LOVE IT

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long did it take to get that much of a credit line increase?

 
Jun 28, 2017
Terrible
powers2008 Cardholder

They charged bounce payment fees even though I had swictched accounts online and paid the payment manually before it was due. Called in and talked to managers and they would not help.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long did it take to get that much of a CLI?

 
Jun 26, 2017
CLI UPDATE
tjpina1 Cardholder

Approved June 2016 - $300

Auto CLI Oct 2016 -    $800

Auto CLI Dec 2016 - $1100

I update my income 2x's month. I watch my spending but pif prior to due date in store. Very happy with customer service and the savings!. Best Card I have in my wallet. Gearing to buy a new TV. Waiting for another increase to do so..

more ...
Aug 10, 2017

Update...
8 months later since CLI.to $1100. Still use the card regularly. PIF. Update Financial Income 3 times per month for increase consideration Love This Card.. waiting patiently .

 
Aug 21, 2017

I was approved July 2016 for a 300$ limit. Got my first increase to 500 in about November, then to 800 around January, 1200 around now it went to 2500 mid June ish. They just sent me a letter saying I would get a Mastercard red card in the maIL soon. I use it often and Ross about 1400 a month.

 
Sep 11, 2017

That's awesome!! I haven't recieved an increase since December. I update my income regularly. I do use it every month. I just got a raise but I wonder if they may think I'm lieingbif I put in new income

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card