Target® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 31, 2018
Approved with $300 limit
Alexiboa1990 Cardholder

I was approved for a $300 credit limit with Credit Scores around 625. Easy to use, I always pay in store after shopping so I don’t owe much. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 18, 2018
Not worth the headache or financial burd
BrandonSA Cardholder

This card has several payment options all of which seem convenient, but end up never working so you'll have to go in store to pay it off. I've tried the different modes of payments (phone, internet, and in person) all are a head ache. The online and phone payments for me never went through causing for late fees to be tact on to my bill. The discount and shipping "perks" are not worth the headache of this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 12, 2019
Terrible customer service!!!!

When I received my credit card in the mail there was a sticker on the actual card that had my name followed by “make a purchase by a certain date and receive a $25 statement credit”. This was back in September 2018. It is now March 2019 & I have yet to receive this statement credit. I have called a couple times about this issue.. the first time I was told they had no idea what I was talking about, maybe I should wait for the statement, it may be on there. The second time the gentlemen said they were a little backed up, give it another month or so & I should see it on my statement. The third time I called, the gentlemen had absolutely no idea what I was talking about. I offered to send in proof because I still have the label that was on my card. The guy asked me to hold on while he looked at my account, 5 mins later a woman picks up and says she’s the supervisor. I was confused because I had no idea I was being transferred but I explained my situation AGAIN. She puts me on hold to look into it, then gets back on the phone with me and tells me I didn’t qualify and all of those who got this promotion have already received their credits. So again, I offer to send in proof, she tells me there is no way for that and asks to put me on hold again to get ahold of another department to see what they could do. Comes back on the phone and tells me they’re closed so she will contact them that following Monday and she, herself will handle the situation and will reach out to me when they fix the issue.. here I am almost 2 months later STILL waiting! Once I get this resolved (I’m very persistent & patient) I will be closing this account. Do not offer promotions if you’re not going to follow through with them & maybe update your employees so they know what they’re talking should an issue arise! 

more ...
Feb 28, 2019
Good, but payment is a PAIN IN THE @$$
SM314 Cardholder

This card is great to get discounts on every day purchases at Target, and used to have a really great website to make payments online.

Until about 6-9 months ago. EVERY. SINGLE. MONTH. I try to sign in and make a payment and it either doesn't recognize my password, doesn't recognize that anything is even typed into the fields, or some other ridiculous problem. I'm so sick of this. I've written to them multiple times. How hard is this to fix, really!? I end up having to change my password just to get the payment in on time every single month. Sometimes, I've changed my password and the brand new password doesn't even work. Its exhausing. GET IT TOGETHER, TARGET.

more ...
Feb 25, 2019
Basic retail card
Latinbarbieee Cardholder

No app, but I just have the login page saved as a shortcut to my homescreen. Have never had problems. Cant request credit limit increase online, would be a nice feature.

more ...
Feb 06, 2019
Horrible
Truthhurts99 Cardholder

They accepted my online application for Target credit card. After waiting nearly 3 weeks to recieve credit card In mail and register card online Suprise!, I can't use card or register it. After calling customer support, they said they needed more verification and I would have to fax them the front and back of my ID and social security card, plus utility or bank statement. After a long hassle they wouldn't accept my bank statement. Customer support is horrible and useless. Stay far away from Target credit card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2019

Sounds like you possible had issues reported to the credit bureaus AFTER you were approved for the card. Not Targets fault, they are simply protecting themselves from fraud.

 
Jan 11, 2019
Horrible
Hanhen Cardholder

Placed an order I never received...called to tell them...called me a liar...said I owed them the full amount...finally agreed to refund but still want me to pay interest and late fees on the purchase price!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2019

They called you a liar?!! I doubt it, they must've had information that the item was delivered. You did receive the refund, so obviously they believed you. Interest and late fees?!! How long did you wait to let them know you didn't receive your order, it had to have been at least 30 days...YOUR bad!!!

 
Dec 29, 2018
Out of my 26 retail cards....GARBAGE

Last time I checked we were heading into 2019....We have a space craft in interstellar space, but Target still can't create a useful app. Mind-blowing. Everytime I log in to make a payment, it kicks me out, or makes me update my info. It completely changed my security question on me. What Olympic sport would I participate in? Is that some sick, insulting joke? Unless wine chugging is an Olympic sport (Which I did type and try) then I don't have an answer to login.

ADDITIONALLY, What the heck is up with the lack of increase?? Good God! I've had this card for three years at a $200 limit. Since then, I've had another kid, increased my income by $50k, moved states and bought a 5 bedroom house. WHY CAN'T I INCREASE MY CREDIT LIMIT??? This is a card for toddlers. I'm over it. DONT APPLY unless you're one of those sicko's who loves rubic cubes and unsolvable challenges.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2019

Yes I must agree, a dedicated phone app would be helpful. I too have recently experienced having to update my security info. However, I believe that someone or a bot is attempting to access my account because I have received notifications to allow unknown users to access my computer. As for the security question, it IS exactly that! Only YOU would know the answer to such a bizarre question.

 
Dec 13, 2018
Fraudulent
Vaha1234 Cardholder

Did you know with this card you can have an authorized user on the account without their consent and crash their credit score and when you call customer service as always in my cause atleast an Africian of decent female well tell you that you can't obtain information on the account and that its not of their responsibility to have consent of the authorized user to be on the card. This company is also profiting from corporate harassment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 13, 2018

You may need to learn more about credit. This isn't the only credit card where an authorized user doesn't have to give consent.

 
Nov 18, 2018
icegoku Cardholder

No credit increase only if they want to give you one in a year can’t request one

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2019

Need more info here, your simple statement is NOT enough. If you're carrying a high balance relative to your credit line and NOT making substantial payments then yes, you will NOT receive a credit line increase. Show some responsibility in managing your account and TARGET will reward you with a credit line increase. I went from an $800 SL in Oct 2017 to $11K TARGET MASTERCARD in 16 months. I paid off my purchases each and every month, and only bought what I could afford. Sometimes my total monthly purchases were as little as $35, the highest month maybe $375, but on average less than $125.

 
Nov 13, 2018
Fair Shopping needs.
taishasidney Cardholder

I would not suggest applying for this card if your score is below 650. After a few months my credit limit was increased. I’ve never had an issue. They give you coupons every so often for being a card member. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2018
They do not care about the customers.
cc246 Cardholder

I had this card and had an issue. They did not try to fix the issue. They just sent me messages basically saying they couldn't do anything about it. I had a unique situation and they did not care to look into the details and try to fix the problem. I am very disappointed in their services and the way they handled this situation. I was expecting much better from this company.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Target® Credit Card