Target® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
90 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 20, 2016
Quite Decent and Favorable
ceij85 Cardholder

This is my first ever post, but I wanted to share my journey.  I had my chapter 13 discharge in October of 2014.  I was approved for the Target card May of 15 with a 300 credit limit.  I used it, paid it in store eventually i was over 30% and started paying it back down.  By October of 15, around my birthday they auto increased me to $700.  I did a little christmas shopping, and continued to make monthly payments along with paying off anything i bought in store at that moment.  I went to Houston in January, and when I got home, but limit was increased to $1200.  

I'm not totally sure why I've been fortunate with them thus far, but I am happy the account is growing.  I was concerned due to the many negative reviews out there, but none of that has been my experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 05, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

Target doesn't offer a method of reviewing credit lines for increases.  This card has been stuck at a $800 credit line when I have other lines at $10,000, $23,000, and $13,000.  I had racked $780 in charges up in  a month, paid it in full, and they've had the money held for two weeks after the payment went through with my bank.  They told me that we'd have to conference call the bank to verify that it's cleared on their side before they'd release that money.  It's been two weeks, how much longer do they want to hold it?  My AMEX marks it as available the same day.  Income levels don't appear to matter to them, and it's horrible service.

I'll give them two stars for the 5% discount and because I've had the credit card for a very long time.  That's the only reason I don't close the account immediately.  I wouldn't recommend this credit card to someone that doesn't already have it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 17, 2017
Poorest customer service ever in history
Anonymous Cardholder

Poorest customer service in history. Charges late fees even when posted the same day. Very rude about reversing unauthorized charges -even when the business was contacted too.  Then three months later added them back on.  It was a huge nightmare.  Our experience with this card even affects our attitude toward the Target store through no fault of the store. We had this card 16 YEARS and got it only because a % went back to our school.  We have high credit scores 750+ and have/have had 13 different cards including ones that charge no interest. THE TARGET CARD IS WORST MISTAKE ANYONE CAN EVER MAKE. We closed ours.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Target TARGETS low-income shoppers
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT get this card. They sneakily had payment posted and not informed me even after I paid the entirety of the account in order to NOT have the exact problem they gave me. The only people this effects are LOW-INCOME shoppers. They just WANT you to accurue interest so that instead of paying $30 you have to pay over $100! Just use a normal credit card, do not waste your time with this scam. The only reason why this card exists is so that they can make money off of interest.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Target red card
Anonymous Cardholder

Target has multiple sites with separate log ins. If you attempt to reset your password the two sites get intertangle and they often reset the wrong password. 

Forget using their telephone service, they tend to not know which account is which and will transfer you between the two sites inadvertently. 

They are very nice on the phone, but are completely disorganized with no quite sure who is doing what. 

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Target Red Card
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is horrible. Don't get one.

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

customer service suck! very rude!

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
its a mistake waiting to happen.
JackieCox1 Cardholder

Considering a Target Red Card ?

DON'T EVER GET A TARGET RED CARD (.)

they will bill you at your old address after listing your payment as a charge, then report you to credit bureaus, destroying credit rating.

when you request detailed statement showing charges and payments they promise to send it but you will never receive it because they do not send it and list another missed payment even after you pay on your card to keep them at bay. 

they have your 

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
the 5% off everytime is NICE
Anonymous Cardholder

i have an average credit score of 746-769 and was approved for $500 which is more than i need considering i pay everything off as soon as it is posted. the 5% off is awesome when i only use this card to buy baby milk when target has a special :)

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Better use it every month!!
Rob80204 Cardholder

My Target card was one of my oldest accounts. I kept it around to build up my age of credit. I paid the card off and didnt use it for 2 months and they closed my account due to inactivity. They want me to re-apply which is the exact opposite of what I am trying to do with my credit. Thanks Target

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Approved!
NYKnicksTape Cardholder

Applied today and was approved.  655 score on both reporting agencies as per CK.  40% UTI & 51K income reported.  I was approved for $1,000.  I go to target a lot so getting this card was a no brainer.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the card an dthey charged me a late fee for payigmy bill the day it was due at 11pm. they stated cut off hours for bill payment are 9pm! I looked through my whole cedit card agrrement and no where in the signed documents did it say anything about a credit card payment time limit on the day its due! I was also told by a rep that a refund on my card would count as a credit payment. That was a lie. I was then charged a finance fee and a late fee for wrong info one of their reps told me Terrible card and service. I have AMEX and Chase and they are super helpful with honest mishaps. I have ever done business with such a horrible company. I cancelled my card. I will never get a nother one. And I advise anyone who is serious about their credit to avoid this card like the plague!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card