Target® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
68 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 29, 2016
LOVE IT!!! CK SCORE 621
steelrebuilding Cardholder

I was shocked to be approved for this card after defaulting on a Target card years ago. Inital credit limit was $300. Used the card for purchases that could be paid off within a month or less.

Was SHOCKED  to see they increased my CL automatically to $800!!! Very pleased with the card and the 5% discount is a big plus! Some promotions given you a target gift card for a future purchase. Love the stacking of discounts. This is a good card and they are getting better with their increases!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 12, 2017
its a mistake waiting to happen.
JackieCox1 Cardholder

Considering a Target Red Card ?

DON'T EVER GET A TARGET RED CARD (.)

they will bill you at your old address after listing your payment as a charge, then report you to credit bureaus, destroying credit rating.

when you request detailed statement showing charges and payments they promise to send it but you will never receive it because they do not send it and list another missed payment even after you pay on your card to keep them at bay. 

they have your 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 07, 2017
Great card for building strong credit
rsc7721 Cardholder

target card services have been courteous w me whenever i contacted them; they have regularly reviewd my account for cli

i am not the best customer or credit profile but target card services has had y back as far as i concerned and has helped me 

build upon my credit profile

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Terrible.
Anonymous Cardholder

Made a payment on the card, showed paid online and they said it was paid when I called twice. Turns out, it wasn't. Got a late fee charge because of it. Though it showed paid in their system and out of my account. Late charge was removed, but I paid it off and cancelled. Bad experience.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had this card for a while now started with $300CL
Now its $2200.00.I mainly use it for grocery shopping saves you 5%.Havent had a problem with the card just give your payment on time through the App. And everything will be smooth with this card 100% LOVE IT

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long did it take to get that much of a credit line increase?

 
Jun 28, 2017
Terrible
powers2008 Cardholder

They charged bounce payment fees even though I had swictched accounts online and paid the payment manually before it was due. Called in and talked to managers and they would not help.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long did it take to get that much of a CLI?

 
Jun 26, 2017
CLI UPDATE
tjpina1 Cardholder

Approved June 2016 - $300

Auto CLI Oct 2016 -    $800

Auto CLI Dec 2016 - $1100

I update my income 2x's month. I watch my spending but pif prior to due date in store. Very happy with customer service and the savings!. Best Card I have in my wallet. Gearing to buy a new TV. Waiting for another increase to do so..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 10, 2017

Update...
8 months later since CLI.to $1100. Still use the card regularly. PIF. Update Financial Income 3 times per month for increase consideration Love This Card.. waiting patiently .

 
Jun 24, 2017
Very happy with it!
sxiong823 Cardholder

I've had my card for 2 years now and I'm very happy with it especially the fact that I shop at Target for almost everything. I also have the debit card and that's probably the BEST thing I've ever done for myself at Target. The CL was not very high but it was ok. I just got my letter stating that my card will be upgraded to the MasterCard plus raised my CL so I'm super excited about it. It's nice knowing that as a loyal Target customer, they are returning the favor back to the customers. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
took 5.5 years to get a CLI
jimmyd787 Cardholder

always used it. never late. credit scores all over 800. finally they changed it to Target mastercard and raised limit from 700 to 2000

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Good benefits, worst customer support.
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to get with lower income, terrible to maintain.
I got it to help my credit score, they gave me a tiny credit limit and never increased it when I got higher paying jobs. I had two missed payments when I was switching to a new job that pays much better than my last job so I would have more than enough to pay down the card and they closed my account. That's right, miss two payments and you don't have a red card credit card anymore. No matter your situation. So naturally I paid it off and I will never be getting another. Seriously considering never shopping at Target anymore as well. This is probably the worst credit card I've ever had, and I had a Walmart credit card before. That's right, a Walmart credit card didn't have the terrible customer support this card does.

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
Works well if you have patience
primera20 Cardholder

Got initial CL of $500 in April 2014; $1000 in Oct 2014 and then to $1400 in Oct 2016. Just got a letter stating an upgrade to a MC with $4,000 CL. I use about once a month and have always PIF.
I read a lot of reviews​ where holders have excellent credit etc but can't get a decent CL. Current CK is 723-726 range...

more ...
May 17, 2017
Poorest customer service ever in history
Anonymous Cardholder

Poorest customer service in history. Charges late fees even when posted the same day. Very rude about reversing unauthorized charges -even when the business was contacted too.  Then three months later added them back on.  It was a huge nightmare.  Our experience with this card even affects our attitude toward the Target store through no fault of the store. We had this card 16 YEARS and got it only because a % went back to our school.  We have high credit scores 750+ and have/have had 13 different cards including ones that charge no interest. THE TARGET CARD IS WORST MISTAKE ANYONE CAN EVER MAKE. We closed ours.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card