Target® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 20, 2016
Quite Decent and Favorable
ceij85 Cardholder

This is my first ever post, but I wanted to share my journey.  I had my chapter 13 discharge in October of 2014.  I was approved for the Target card May of 15 with a 300 credit limit.  I used it, paid it in store eventually i was over 30% and started paying it back down.  By October of 15, around my birthday they auto increased me to $700.  I did a little christmas shopping, and continued to make monthly payments along with paying off anything i bought in store at that moment.  I went to Houston in January, and when I got home, but limit was increased to $1200.  

I'm not totally sure why I've been fortunate with them thus far, but I am happy the account is growing.  I was concerned due to the many negative reviews out there, but none of that has been my experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 05, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

Target doesn't offer a method of reviewing credit lines for increases.  This card has been stuck at a $800 credit line when I have other lines at $10,000, $23,000, and $13,000.  I had racked $780 in charges up in  a month, paid it in full, and they've had the money held for two weeks after the payment went through with my bank.  They told me that we'd have to conference call the bank to verify that it's cleared on their side before they'd release that money.  It's been two weeks, how much longer do they want to hold it?  My AMEX marks it as available the same day.  Income levels don't appear to matter to them, and it's horrible service.

I'll give them two stars for the 5% discount and because I've had the credit card for a very long time.  That's the only reason I don't close the account immediately.  I wouldn't recommend this credit card to someone that doesn't already have it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 14, 2017
Terrible.
Anonymous Cardholder

Made a payment on the card, showed paid online and they said it was paid when I called twice. Turns out, it wasn't. Got a late fee charge because of it. Though it showed paid in their system and out of my account. Late charge was removed, but I paid it off and cancelled. Bad experience.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had this card for a while now started with $300CL
Now its $2200.00.I mainly use it for grocery shopping saves you 5%.Havent had a problem with the card just give your payment on time through the App. And everything will be smooth with this card 100% LOVE IT

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long did it take to get that much of a credit line increase?

 
Jun 28, 2017
Terrible
powers2008 Cardholder

They charged bounce payment fees even though I had swictched accounts online and paid the payment manually before it was due. Called in and talked to managers and they would not help.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 19, 2017

How long did it take to get that much of a CLI?

 
Jun 26, 2017
CLI UPDATE
tjpina1 Cardholder

Approved June 2016 - $300

Auto CLI Oct 2016 -    $800

Auto CLI Dec 2016 - $1100

I update my income 2x's month. I watch my spending but pif prior to due date in store. Very happy with customer service and the savings!. Best Card I have in my wallet. Gearing to buy a new TV. Waiting for another increase to do so..

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Very happy with it!
sxiong823 Cardholder

I've had my card for 2 years now and I'm very happy with it especially the fact that I shop at Target for almost everything. I also have the debit card and that's probably the BEST thing I've ever done for myself at Target. The CL was not very high but it was ok. I just got my letter stating that my card will be upgraded to the MasterCard plus raised my CL so I'm super excited about it. It's nice knowing that as a loyal Target customer, they are returning the favor back to the customers. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
took 5.5 years to get a CLI
jimmyd787 Cardholder

always used it. never late. credit scores all over 800. finally they changed it to Target mastercard and raised limit from 700 to 2000

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Good benefits, worst customer support.
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to get with lower income, terrible to maintain.
I got it to help my credit score, they gave me a tiny credit limit and never increased it when I got higher paying jobs. I had two missed payments when I was switching to a new job that pays much better than my last job so I would have more than enough to pay down the card and they closed my account. That's right, miss two payments and you don't have a red card credit card anymore. No matter your situation. So naturally I paid it off and I will never be getting another. Seriously considering never shopping at Target anymore as well. This is probably the worst credit card I've ever had, and I had a Walmart credit card before. That's right, a Walmart credit card didn't have the terrible customer support this card does.

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
Works well if you have patience
primera20 Cardholder

Got initial CL of $500 in April 2014; $1000 in Oct 2014 and then to $1400 in Oct 2016. Just got a letter stating an upgrade to a MC with $4,000 CL. I use about once a month and have always PIF.
I read a lot of reviews​ where holders have excellent credit etc but can't get a decent CL. Current CK is 723-726 range...

more ...
May 17, 2017
Poorest customer service ever in history
Anonymous Cardholder

Poorest customer service in history. Charges late fees even when posted the same day. Very rude about reversing unauthorized charges -even when the business was contacted too.  Then three months later added them back on.  It was a huge nightmare.  Our experience with this card even affects our attitude toward the Target store through no fault of the store. We had this card 16 YEARS and got it only because a % went back to our school.  We have high credit scores 750+ and have/have had 13 different cards including ones that charge no interest. THE TARGET CARD IS WORST MISTAKE ANYONE CAN EVER MAKE. We closed ours.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Target TARGETS low-income shoppers
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT get this card. They sneakily had payment posted and not informed me even after I paid the entirety of the account in order to NOT have the exact problem they gave me. The only people this effects are LOW-INCOME shoppers. They just WANT you to accurue interest so that instead of paying $30 you have to pay over $100! Just use a normal credit card, do not waste your time with this scam. The only reason why this card exists is so that they can make money off of interest.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card