Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Target® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
95 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 20, 2016
Quite Decent and Favorable
ceij85 Cardholder

This is my first ever post, but I wanted to share my journey.  I had my chapter 13 discharge in October of 2014.  I was approved for the Target card May of 15 with a 300 credit limit.  I used it, paid it in store eventually i was over 30% and started paying it back down.  By October of 15, around my birthday they auto increased me to $700.  I did a little christmas shopping, and continued to make monthly payments along with paying off anything i bought in store at that moment.  I went to Houston in January, and when I got home, but limit was increased to $1200.  

I'm not totally sure why I've been fortunate with them thus far, but I am happy the account is growing.  I was concerned due to the many negative reviews out there, but none of that has been my experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 15, 2016
Ridiculous card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for over 3 years and all I have is a $200 credit limit even though I pay off all the time. I currently owe $0. What a joke

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 23, 2017
Easy online payment, poor service
Anonymous Cardholder

Had an issue with a payment which was not my fault. Long time Target customer. Supervisor was unwilling to drop $27 fee. She didn't care when I cancelled my card. Told me to keep it in my wallet. Not a bad card, just lousy customer service. Keep my $27, I have other credit options. 

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
nevets20plus Cardholder

I've had the card for over 10 years.  I pay the card down to $700 and then use it again. So most the time it is around $900.  I finally decide to pay it down to decrease my decrease my debt ratio and they drop my limit from $1000 to $700 after I get it to $550.  Therefore my debt ratio is shot again.  They can sense when someone is trying to pay something off and they go all in on you, knowing that you are trying to do the right thing. They cite things such as my credit score changed. Ive been decreasing my limits and my credit score has gone up. These people are a joke,

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Horrid customer service
sbreeman Cardholder

I'll pre face this with that I completely love Target as a company but the Red Card company is crap. I bank with an online company called Simple and they switched account numbers and I didn't realize I didn't update my Target one until I went to make the payment for this month. Needless to say I was surprised by a return check fee and called them to see if they could help me out in this situation. (Also, never received any email or call saying my payment didn't go through.) They refused and were incredibly rude about it. I've worked for multiple credit card companies (Citi for a long time)  and this is the first time I've seen a company unwilling to help a customer out for an honest error. Same thing happened with my Walmart card and they were more then generous enough to help me out with the fee's that incurred.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Great card , love the 5% off
yellow46 Cardholder

Great card with additonal discounts with the cartwheel. Have had the card for 8 months and started with 300 limit now at 1200. Have not had any probelms with this card or payments.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Great Card!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I started out with $300 CL, less than a year later I am up to $1900 CL! If you are responsible Target rewards you with CLI seems every few months. My credit at the time of opening my account was approved was in the 600 range.  If you are responsible with the CL and make on time payments and shop at least once a month you earn the CLI's!  you have to be responsible with it!  I see all the BS reviews about its a bad card, etc, etc its not if you are responsible with credit and make your payments on time! 

I started out my journey of repairing my credit last year after not being responsible, I learned my lesson!  Now I am building my credit profile and it feels really good!

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst card service ever...please never use...you would regret it.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Use with Cartwheel
titliest72 Cardholder

You get 5% off for using the card, and also use it with the cartwheel app to get even more discounts. The interest is normal high for a store card. Good card to have in wallet. Just price watch and use the app for best savings. They are stingy with credit increases. Took 6 yrs of me having the card to have a high limit. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Easy Automatic CLI
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for less than a year now, and have been very happy with it.  When I applied for the card, they started me with a $300 credit limit.  Since the time that I've had it, they have automatically bumped me up to a $700 CLI, and now, most recently, a $1200 CLI.  I love the 5% cash back that I receive, as I shop at Target a lot.  I'm hoping that the trend continues, and my credit line continues to grow with it.  I'd highly recommend this card to any avid shoppers of the store.

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

HORRIBLE do not get this card. They will charge your bank and say there is. I money in your bank when there really is money in your bank, then charge you fees multiple times for "no money being in your bank." Worst mistake I've made. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Do not get one!
Anonymous Cardholder

First, it took them 2 months to send me my card. The girl read back my address at the register and it was correct for some reason they sent it to my old address. After calling them they told me they would send out a new one to my current address I was residing at. Then another month went by and nothing. I called them back worrying that I wouldn't be able to even pay my first payment because of this issue. After speaking to someone they told me I was supposed to call them and approve the address change when the lady I had to spoke to a month before never said anything about that except that my new card would be in my mailbox in about a week or two. Of course, I was upset I went ahead and paid my first payment over the phone without even having my card. Second, after a couple months of having my card and making a few purchases in store, I went to make my first purchase online and it wouldn't let me. I called them again and was told that I needed t apply to set up making purchases online how ridiculous! I did and still, it wouldn't work I called them again to find out why and was told it was because I made my payment for the card days before and they needed to make sure it was approved by my bank and went through in my account. I checked my account online and it was showing it went through 4 days prior to this I kept telling them that and they said they needed to do a three-way call with my bank to make sure. Now I'm pretty fed up with this card! We did the call and guess what my bank said "yes, it went through 4 days ago" exactly what I told them and so finally they allowed me to use it for purchases online. I thought I was done with the problems with Target red card but it doesn't stop there. Lastly, like most people and all of my credit cards I set up auto-pay. I went to make a payment earlier then my statement due date was. I paid more than my minimum due. Having set up for electronic statements, my account online kept showing me that I had now no minimum payment due for the month since I paid over the minimum amount due weeks before the due date. I did this with all my credit cards that month and not one took out a payment on the due date because they all showed I didn't owe anything. I kept checking my target statement online just to make sure nothing would be taken out. Come to find out on my due date they took out that minimum payment I paid weeks earlier even when it showed I owed $0.00 for the due date. I call them again, and I get someone who explains they don't count any early payments to the account statement payment due. I asked why did it show online that it did count it towards my minimum payment then? and that they need to fix that because customers like me are going to see that and think nothing will be taken out for that month. I would have waited for my auto payment to go through on my due date if I did know that. The guy says we can mail you the money back and I said well that'll just show I didn't make my payment than for the month and then they'll charge me some late fee. I told him I have only had this card less than 6months and all I have had is problems with it and I'm just about ready to close it and all he says is well I'm sorry I hope you'll give us another chance. He then kept trying to end the call with me so finally I just hung up after being so furious with all this and their horrible service. I urge you all not to get the target red card. It just not worth all the problems you will probably deal with not to mention every person you speak to in customer service over the phone is foreign and they barely understand what you're saying and you won't be able to make out what they're saying half the time. Now I am just done with them I am no longer using my card and I am going to just pay it off next month and close it. It's just not worth it to keep it! Good luck if you already applied for one!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card