Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Target® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds


Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 20, 2016
Quite Decent and Favorable
ceij85 Cardholder

This is my first ever post, but I wanted to share my journey.  I had my chapter 13 discharge in October of 2014.  I was approved for the Target card May of 15 with a 300 credit limit.  I used it, paid it in store eventually i was over 30% and started paying it back down.  By October of 15, around my birthday they auto increased me to $700.  I did a little christmas shopping, and continued to make monthly payments along with paying off anything i bought in store at that moment.  I went to Houston in January, and when I got home, but limit was increased to $1200.  

I'm not totally sure why I've been fortunate with them thus far, but I am happy the account is growing.  I was concerned due to the many negative reviews out there, but none of that has been my experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 23, 2015
Limit they give is confusing..
NKMUMBZ Cardholder

I was quite surprised when I got a few new cards including this one and only to find out my limit is only $300, keep in mind this is a new card from target it doesn't have MC or Visa logo as they do not participate with that card any longer. What boggles me is my credit score is low/mid 700s, I just recieved 2 cards both gave me $4500..i have 5 other cards totalling $25k, I owe mere nothing, I make almost 6 figures.. Target tell me why $300.. It's a fair amount, I do spend about $100/week at target and obv a lot more during holidays, I will call them tommrow to see what the deal is here.. Lol anyways thank you credit karma for getting me on the right path!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 21, 2016
New card and so far so good.
Linmari529 Cardholder

I was approved immediately in store with a $2000 credit limit. My credit is good but not great. Not sure why so many are complaining about low lines of credit. Process was quick and easy. I was able to use credit same day and received card by mail in less than a week. The only thing I don't understand is why it's not showing up on either credit report!?  Maybe it's too soon?  I've only received one statement but previously opened accounts with other companies show up within days...

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Auto Increase Update
tjpina1 Cardholder

After 3 months since approval- Updated financial tab every month. Make small purchases.. Recieved auto increase.. Do updates twice month or every week so they will consider auto increase.

My last review 9/11 -- $300

Logged in 10/15 -- $800

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Approved with low score and recent CLI
sharonaj1312 Cardholder

I was initially approved for this car back in February for a $300 limit which was perfect for what I wanted the card for. I wanted to be able to shop at Target for last minute party girfts (baby showers, birthdays, etc.). Since mid 2015, I've been on a mission to repaid my credit and have began to get instant approvals for many card. At this point, I've seen at least 1 credit limit increase on every card except Target, until today. I logged into Credit Karma to see my weekyl updated scored and the one change to my accounts was a reported credit line increase to $700! I was so shocked because I'd been tying for 2 months to have them increase my limit, so I'd given up hope at this point. I logged into my Red Card account to verify, and yup, it's real!!

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Ridiculous card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for over 3 years and all I have is a $200 credit limit even though I pay off all the time. I currently owe $0. What a joke

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Great credit building tool
Anonymous Cardholder

- Easy to get approved
- Credit limit increases every two, three months if you submit income info online, shop regularly, and make payments higher than minimum ever month
- 5% savings on all Target purchases and free shipping for online orders
- High APR, interest calculated every month for outstanding balance - keep it low unless your want to pay a lot of interest. It can balance out with the savings and shipping, though
- Can only be used at Target

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Great if you shop at Target often!
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved with a credit score of 636. I figured I go to Target quite often and I could use it to increase my overall credit limit. I got approved for a $300 limit instantly when I applied online. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2016
Jmh523 Cardholder


more ...
Sep 24, 2016
The most useless card i ever had
Anonymous Cardholder

Can get 5% off only at target... No points no cash back...NOTHING!!!!!!

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
BroomCredit Cardholder

I was approved for $300.00 two months after receiving a Chap 7 discharge. I received a CLI to $800.00 after three months of constant usage. Here in Sep 2016, they bumped me to $1300.00 after having the card for only 7 months! I have nothing bad to say, I enjoy the 5% off every purchase. They gave me a chance when I only had a 580 CS.

more ...
Oct 02, 2016

580 on which credit bureau?

Oct 11, 2016

Sounds similar to me, but took 5 years before they gave me a CLI lol. Started out with $500 in Jan 2011, then at the start of this year, they finally gave me a CLI to $700. Then 3 months later it went to $1000 and I just checked today and now it's $1300!

Bizarre, but I won't complain. I have kept the card maxed, so I wasn't surprised I never got CLI's, but it's nice they are starting to do it.

I am assuming it's because I have never been late on a payment and they feel confident enough to raise my limit to make more $$ off me with the APR, but it's okay. I love Target!

Sep 12, 2016
Still NO CLI
Anonymous Cardholder

I clicked 3-stars because I was approved however, I've had this card since 2014, still at $300. This is the ONLY card I've never received a CLI at all! paid off and will charge here and there to see what happens and so far nothing has triggered an increase in credit with them.  Credit score at the time of application was very low 600's and currently at least hold a  650+ on all three scores.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card