Target® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 01, 2017
Excellent with frequent, substantial CLI
FatherOBlivion666 Cardholder

Being a regular Target customer, it made sense to get this Red Card as part of my credit building strategy.  Score was upper 5xx's when I applied and received a 300 CL about 9 months ago.  Sitting at a $1300 Cl currently.  I use this card multiple times a week and pay off the balance every payday.  I've never paid a penny of interest, never paid a late fee.  That translates into literally hundreds of dollars in savings due to the 5% discount on every Target purchase.  Payments post overnight (when paid by 6PM or whatever) and never had a problem with the fast and easy to use website.  Always pay on time and in full, along with updating your income through the web portal and if I can get these frequent and substantial increases with my less than stellar credit, I imagine just about anyone can!  Like any other credit proiduct, use it wisely, only spend what you can afford and you can enjoy the perks without the penalty of interest and fees.  Three thumbs up!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2017
Better use it every month!!
Rob80204 Cardholder

My Target card was one of my oldest accounts. I kept it around to build up my age of credit. I paid the card off and didnt use it for 2 months and they closed my account due to inactivity. They want me to re-apply which is the exact opposite of what I am trying to do with my credit. Thanks Target

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 22, 2017
Just approved!
rroman86 Cardholder

I've been on a journey this past year building my credit. I went into my local target store and they had great deals on their tvs so I decided to apply for the store card. I was approved with a $300 CL with my overall scores sitting at a 610 I have 3 collections. Long story short I wasn't able to buy the TV but my goal is maybe in the next 6 months I'll be able to. 

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
AVOID TARGET CREDIT CARDS
Robert1u2 Cardholder

Had this card for 3 years. Only used twice, with one of those times being 1 month ago for a 100.00. Started at $500 limit and progressively they increased the limit to 5000.00 even though I had only used it twice. This week I receive a letter stating that they lowered my credit limit from 5000.00 to 200.00. The reasons stated in my letter were experian based comments: 1/2="too few accounts have recovered from delinquency" 2/2="Credit report does not show sufficient mortgage equity".

In scared reation to those comments I quickly pulled my experian credit report and lucky for me nothing negitive appeared. Flawless report. Called Targets and after being bounced around a bit, I spoke with a gentlemen whom informed me it was lowered due to low dollar amount usage. I asked him to give me a reason as to why i would want to keep the account open. I gave him an example that if i was to come down and spend 100 dollars on a new video game, my usage ration of that new limit would be %50 and would harm my credit score for the month. His polite response was I could simply go to the curtosy desk and pay it off right after charging on the card. I had them close the account. I STRONGLY recommend you not waste your time with Targets and their Charge card.

For me personally, I found this offending enough to effect my shopping habits and will not be taking the hour drive to shop at a targets nor their online site.

more ...
Oct 26, 2017
Shocked at Mastercard Upgrade
gtaylor502 Cardholder

I got this card back in 2013 with a $200 limit. I used the card once in a while and paid it off within 2 months of purchase couldn't buy much with $200. I wanted to raise my limit and they didn't do request only auto increases. I googled how to get an increase and read I should use the card more than half the limit and let that amount reflect on statement balance. Although this is opposite of what you want to do with credit cards...I actually worked! I've had the card for 3 years at this point and finally got an increase to $700. I brought all X-Mas supplies on card and got another increase to $900. Then i receved another about 4 months later to $1100. In June, I received a huge increase for $4,000. Received a letter in mail saying I was being uograded to Mastercard in Aug. Stoked! So far no issues! stoked!

more ...
Oct 23, 2017
1 of the best cards I have in my wallet
joncruz1 Cardholder

My experience with the Target REDcard has been outstanding. I applied about a year and a half ago and I just kept receiving CLI and just recently was offered a significant increase and the target mastercard. I have been using the credit card very responsibly to avoid interest in the first place. Benefit use is meant to reward those who are responsible. Keep you account information up-to-date, pay off your balance if you don't want to be charged interest and manage your finances responsibly, then you'll see that all these cards that most complain about are actually blessings, not curses.

more ...
Sep 25, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Benefits not worth the hassle of dealing with their customer service. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Lost my wallet which had my card in it, they sent new ones that would not work. Their online is horrible and wont link my credit card only debit so they make paying online impossible and when I called, she did not help with that. After missing my first payment in over a year due to not being able to use online, no debit card due to having to wait on a replacement for that and no checks since I woul dneed to pay for new ones, they would not reverse the fee. Their interest is crazy and now tacked on a fee. Horrible. Will get rid of this card and not use target credit ever again. 

more ...
Sep 27, 2017

You're trying to make a credit card payment with another credit card, Target's website allows you to link a checking account in minutes. Sounds like the problem lies elsewhere.

 
Oct 20, 2017

Frankly, this sounds more like some personal problems than an issue with the Target cards. I've had both Target debit and credit cards. I've had online accounts for both and never had a single problem paying them.

 
Sep 01, 2017
Excellent with frequent, substantial CLI

Being a regular Target customer, it made sense to get this Red Card as part of my credit building strategy.  Score was upper 5xx's when I applied and received a 300 CL about 9 months ago.  Sitting at a $1300 Cl currently.  I use this card multiple times a week and pay off the balance every payday.  I've never paid a penny of interest, never paid a late fee.  That translates into literally hundreds of dollars in savings due to the 5% discount on every Target purchase.  Payments post overnight (when paid by 6PM or whatever) and never had a problem with the fast and easy to use website.  Always pay on time and in full, along with updating your income through the web portal and if I can get these frequent and substantial increases with my less than stellar credit, I imagine just about anyone can!  Like any other credit proiduct, use it wisely, only spend what you can afford and you can enjoy the perks without the penalty of interest and fees.  Three thumbs up!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 18, 2017

Update: As of October 5, my CL was bumped up to $2,100! In under 1 year, I've gone from a $300 starting limit to $2,100. That's great for someone working to improve their credit. I've still never paid a penny of interest. I still use it multiple times a week and pay the balance in full monthly. With 5% off every purchase and now a limit with some breathing room so a $200 or $300 balance will still maintain <30% utilization reporting, it just keeps getting better! Oh yeah, and the one call I needed to make to customer service was answered quickly and my issue resolved with one call. Stellar. </p>

 
Sep 01, 2017
Interest eats up any 5% you get
dlc2012az Cardholder

Fairly easy to get one with poor credit, you will get only a 200 or 300 credit line though. Keep your income updated with the website and if it gets higher you will see your limit get raised pretty quickly.  I had Target raise my liimit 3 times in a year.  After about 2 years they may offer you a free upgrade to the Mastercard, which can be used anywhere. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2017
Stay Away From This Card
1Plato1 Cardholder

While I like Target as a company, this card is a huge rip-off.  My credit line was $600 for many years.  Now its $2100 with three credit increases given to me in the same year.  The APR is ridiculous.  Think about it: for every $100 dollars paid toward the balance each month, $.25 of every dollar is interest.  I always pay a minimum of $100 or more each month, eventhough I haven't made purchases on the card in the last 5 months.  Now, I'm doubling my efforts to pay a minimum of $200 a month so that the balance is paid off faster.  After that, I'm closing this card with the quickness!  Like many other card holders, we were attracted to this card because we like and trust Target.  However, this card is certainly not to be trusted.  You may find yourself in a deep sea of interest, regardless of how much you pay above your monthly minimum.  Stay Away!!  

more ...
Sep 02, 2017

Well that is true that its ridiculously high apr, but its a non issue if you pay off balance in full every month

 
Oct 20, 2017

What Psilocybin said. Pay your balance in full each month and you won't pay any interest, and still benefit from the 5% savings.. Generally speaking, outside some promotional rates, credit card interest is ALWAYS outrageous and should be avoided whenever possible.

 
Aug 21, 2017
Great to have.
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes it's one of the best card

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Target® Credit Card