NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 19, 2019
Disgusting
7ICiE7 Cardholder

No overdraft protection nor any clear warning, if any at all, about lack of protection and are currently praying it won't affect my credit because I can't get anywhere to reload it

more ...
Jun 26, 2019
B+ All around the board
Karma1o1 Cardholder

B+ All around the board  - Great alternative to many/most direct deposit and or employer pay card(s). I get my check 2 days early like clockwork and Netspends website and functions improve often. Not the best but definitely far from the worst. love the virtual card accts u can create aswell.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 26, 2019

My money still hasn’t posted yet was supposed to post Wednesday

 
Dec 31, 2018
A joke.
misket Cardholder

I got this card in the form of a $50 gift card from a family member for Christmas. I have been unable to use it because they force you to call in and give ALL of your personal info including SSN. THEN, they said there were restrictions on the card that had to be removed. They asked all of my personal info four times until I finally asked for a manager. I was on hold waiting for 20 minutes until I finally gave up and hung up. I just wanted to be able to use the gift card I was given. You can't unless you set up an account with them which I refuse to do so my family member wasted their money and I can't use my gift. Scammers and crooks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 02, 2019

I had the same issue with my card. I called the number and spoke to a representative and she made the card limited use so it can only be used in store (works just like a gift card) and I have 120 days to use it before its unusable. Hope this helps.

 
Oct 15, 2018
Direct deposit of mt paycheck is late.
MarkOLambert Cardholder

Don't trust NetSpend with your money! I was supposed to have my paycheck direct deposited today as it has been for 3 years. But it didn't come. Don't believe their hype abiut getting your pay early, I'm getting mine at least a day late (if I ever get it) I'm done with NetSpend.

more ...
Oct 15, 2018
It's the worst card ever!!
Jkloveme32 Cardholder

Don't get one!! They wanted proof that it was me, I sent them over 60 pictures and still it wasn't good enough! They don't mind taking your direct deposit and keeping it!! They treated myself horrible!!

more ...
Sep 25, 2018
Great banking alternative
Mahalobeauty Cardholder

I have used this card for over a year as a primary bank account. I get my direct deposits early like a day or two early. My husband and I both use the account with both of our earnings being deposited. They will even supply several additional cards. Since we direct deposit over $500 we upgraded to “Premier” and so fees are about $5 a month. I’m willing to pay a monthly fee to have our money deposited sooner. 

Also with premier you are eligible for overdraft protection. You also can get a savings account, and your account number works just in case you need to pay a bill using a bank transfer. My only complaints is that I wish they had a chip card. Another thing to keep in mind is that there are ATM fees. I don’t really use cash but if I do need cash I use cash back at the register. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card