Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 03, 2016
I have had this over 5 years
AyeJay77 Cardholder

I do not know what any of these negative reviews are talking about. I have had my netspend card a LONG time. So has my mom, and my sisters. We all have netspend accounts because its really quick and free to transfer money to each other...like, if my little sister is stuck somewhere and needs $20 really quick for a cab or something, I can just go on the app on my phone and send it to her instantly. I have had my payroll checks, my chilld support payments, and my tax return all sent ot my netspend card for years with NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER.  I have a $10 cushion for overdrafts, it comes with a savings account with a great apr too.

If you think this is a gift card, you are wrong. It's a debit card, and yes, they do need your social security number. Duhhhh.

If you think this is a credit card, and you can put things like rental cars and hotels on it without a huge amount of your money being "held" and therefore not available for use, you are wrong.

When you get gas, it sometimes puts a $100 hold on your account balance a few minutes. I'd rather deal with this than deal with Bank of America charging me $35 for an overdraft.

I've never had problems charging large purchases, money dissapearing,  or withdrawing large amounts of cash.

One time I had to call customer serivce because I had cancelled a plane ticket, but the refund hadn't appeared in my account yet. The netspend rep told me to email her a copy of the airline cancellation confirmation, and the money was back in my account the next day.

If you can't figure out how a prepaid debit account works...lol. Netspend is great.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 29, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They sent it to my 14 year old. Scamming Children is hire disgusting this scam is

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
amazing
Anonymous Cardholder

this card is great you get your check direct deposited on to it no charge and you can flashpay to people who also have netspend great card

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
YOU ARE THROWING YOUR MONEY AWAY!
alagatorz Cardholder

You need to "activate' this card after purchasing it, which is far more complicated and intrusive than you can possibly imagine.  It's easier to get a regular credit card, no kidding.  I just wanted this as a gift card so my son could purchase a game online without using my credit card.  HUGE MISTAKE.  Unknown problem with activation, customer service stinks.  I'm thinking I just got a fifty dollar piece of black plastic.  

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Crooks who steal your money
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst customer service 

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
How to Avoid Fees
Anonymous Cardholder

I received a NetSpend card pre-loaded with $100 from my coworkers; I believe they thought it was a gift card that I could use anywhere like a VISA gift card or AmEx gift card but it is definitely not like that. When I tried to access the funds, I had to create a bank account through their service. Thank goodness I didn't try to use it! The fees are ENORMOUS and I almost definitely would have been hit with a transaction fee + overdraft fee if I had tried to use it like an AmEx giftcard. Such a scam - especially because they are marketed in grocery stores exactly like pre-paid VISA cards or other giftcards. 

Anyway, this is how I avoided being hit with any fees, and still got my $100 (which was pre-loaded on the card). I activated/created the NetSpend account (ugh) then from my PayPal account, I linked the two via "Add a Bank." The NetSpend FAQ states that transfers from PayPal into the NetSpend account are free - but conveniently don't say anything about the opposite direction. Legally, the transactions between "banks" have to work both ways, free of charge. So after "Adding a Bank" on my PayPal account and verifying the small deposits (about 2-3 business days), I requested a bank transfer (using PayPal) from my NetSpend to my PayPal account. Request was completed in about 3 more business days. After the transfer was complete and my NetSpend balance was 0, I then called NetSpend to close my account. 

TLDR; Free transfers between NetSpend and PayPal work both ways. Link accounts, transfer $ into PayPal, close NetSpend, move on with your life. 

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
this is good card
Anonymous Cardholder

i love this card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 09, 2016

Than you are completely oblivious. They charge you for everything you do. $2.50 to pull money from an in network atm, $2.50 for out of network, not to mention the atm fee. $10 a month just to have the card. If you don't have it and not use the card for a long period, then load money on it, they'll take it twice. Worst card I ever owned. Do yourself a favor and get your money off it as soon as possible

 
Oct 09, 2016
Complete Scam!
Anonymous Cardholder

My brother gave this to me as a gift. I made the mistake of setting it aside and called to activate it about a year later. The woman on the phone gave me a very hard time, asked for my SS number, address, etc. then said it was expired and she could not activate it. I told her I live in NJ and gift cards can't expire here (not to mention the expiration date on the card was 2018), and she said they'd send me another one. When the card finally came, I went online to activate it only to see that they have been charging me $5.95/month for a year and now I have a $0 balance. I can't believe they can get away with that! I hadn't even activated the card!

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
PLEASE READ BEOFRE PURCHASING
Madibby12 Cardholder

I received a $10 and $15 GIFT CARD from a baby shower. Went only just like the instructions said to activate. Then prompts to call in to customer service..not a problem, sometimes stuff messes up online, I get that. Customer service says that you need to verify a few things to activate your gift card. He asks for things like my social security, birthday, and address. He then asked security questions, which I got all of them correct, he proceeds to tell me that they will need additional information to verify and to please send if your social security card and another form of identification. WHY?! This was a gift card, why can't you just let me use the money on it? I WAS NEVER INFORMED THAT AN ACCOUNT WAS BEING OPENED IN MY NAME!!! THIS COMPANY OPENED AN ACCOUNT IN MY NAME. I WAS LIED TO, I AM LIVID. 

This entire company is a scam, do not buy these cards. These people lie to you and take your money. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
This is a public ripoff!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I purchased one for a gift card for a teenager and read all the info on the card. Then I decided to keep the card for myself and give them something different.

When I tried to use it, I could not and the store told me to call the company. I called the company and they told me that they would close the account and I said fine. then they informed me that they would have to take out $5.95 from the balance for charges. I made no charges and they were still taking this out of my balance. This company will rip you off. I wish I would have read these other reviews first. They are horrible. I want nothing to ever do with them again.

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
No security
mzporscheb Cardholder

If your card is hacked, the card company does not help you get your money back as soon as possible. As a matter of fact, they hinder local law enforcement by not providing the necessary paperwork you need in order to file a police report. Then, while they take weeks to 'investigate' (again without the assistance of local law enforcement to help catch the idiots that stole my money) I still can't get my money back! And they charged me $25 to send me a new card!

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Robbery!
Anonymous Cardholder

 I purchased two of these cards for my daughters to put their allowance on and be able to shop. After buying them and trying to activate them they told me I would need to send in more documentation because I got the security questions wrong. They asked me what street I had previously live Don and I apparently got that wrong. They asked me what person I know and I answered with a person they listed. And then they asked what  State I lived in from 1988 to 1989 I think it's messed up they even have access to this kind of information. They asked me for my Social Security number and then told me they couldn't activate the cards that I had already paid money for so now here I am waiting 7 to 10 business days to get a check back from them which by the way they're charging me six dollars per card to issue a check back to me. This was supposed to be a great introduction for my kids into this 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card