NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
66 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 03, 2017
Never had any problems!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my Netpend account for a year now. No problems. I pay the 9.95 monthly fee. That's less than many banks charge for an account. I feel I have more control over my money with Netspend. I even have a savings account through them. I don't know why all of these people are having problems....and yes it's an FDIC insured bank so they do have to have your social security number, This is not a greendot walmart card...it is much more like a regualr bank account. I highly recommend Netspend!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 10, 2017
Taking 2.00$ out of the account
Anonymous Cardholder

They take 2.00$ out of your account for EVERY PURCHASE!!!! My account was also locked out during the time before i could catch them doing that. funny thing is the account all of a sudden is unlocked when they took all my MONEY!!! I mean ALL!!! Also before this I talked to a guy on the phone about this and he was going to charge me for them to check my account balance!!! what the worst card company ever dont use them at all of you like your money 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 13, 2017
Scam, stay away!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not buy, under any circumstances. It is pure and simple, a scam.

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time.

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Watch your back!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a NetSpend prepaid debit card for approximately 3 years. Up until recently I've had no problem. On June 5, 2017 my account was hacked and $1000 was transferred to someone I've never heard of. I filed a dispute and after 3 days NetSpend returned the money to my account but blocked so no one could transfer funds to my card nor could I transfer funds to anyone else. I'm on a fixed income and had that money direct deposited to my card. July 26, 2017 (yesterday) I found my account locked when trying to log in online. I called customer service and was told my account (card) had been cancelled and the remaining money on my card would be sent in a check that I would receive in 7 to 10 business days. When I asked the reason for the cancellation I was told it was a decision made by business management due to my account being high risk. I received no notification of the cancellation of my account, no text, no email, no call, zip, nada, nothing. When I asked the representative why I was wasn't notified I was told that they needed me to call them. If I had attempted to make a purchase yesterday I would have been declined and had to deal with the embarrassment of not knowing why. The least NetSpend could have done was notify me they were going to cancel my account and give me the opportunity to withdraw the funds I had left. Now here I sit with no funds to pay my bills, buy groceries 

or survive until the check arrives in 7 to 10 business days. To say I'm not happy is an understatement.

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Money

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
Didn't request it, it just showed up
Anonymous Cardholder

We just received an actual card in the mail unsolicited.    I'm beyond furious;   if this had been misdelivered and someone somehow activated it I would've likely had a mess on my hands.    Need to review the other comments to see if I need to bother contacting them or if this is just a ploy to talk to me.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
2.5 hours to activate a prepaid card
Anonymous Cardholder

Daughter got this card as a birthday present. After 2.5 hours trying to activate it and set the pin we finaly got it,,I think. Now I find out they plan to deducy 2$ everytime it gets swiped, or $2.50 plus a hidden bank fee at a ATM. 

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
THIS IS A DEBIT CARD, NOT A GIFT CARD...
Anonymous Cardholder

Several bad reviews about this card because people don't READ before purchasing!  This is to be used as RELOADABLE DEBIT CARD, not a gift card.  It's a reloadable debit card that can be used to pay bills or maybe at a not so secure website if you don't want to use a regular debit card.  YES there are fees associated with the use of the card, there is a charge of $1 per transaction but it you limit your transactions and use it only on occasion OR if you pay $5 a month , you get unlimited transactions. I personally have two debit cards, this debit card that I reload and one with my regular bank.  It's very convenient for me.  I usually hold hotels etc. using this card vs the one with my regular bank.  (I'd rather have someone get ahold of  my netspend # with less funds in it than the one at my bank with more substantial funds and they go to town on a spending spree!) 

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Feels Like Borderline ID Theft -- Cancel
Anonymous Cardholder

I received this as a gift card by accident; however to activate they want SS#, DOB, address etc. 

Seemed like of the things necessary for identity theft and so I refused.  Even had them send the

refund check to an old address to keep safe from whatever unknown system they may be running. 

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
biggest scam for a gift card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

do not buy under any circumstances

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
If I could give negative stars I would!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried activating my card, which I already put money on, Customer service told me I had to send them my photo ID and my birth certificate. I can't even get to MY money. They are making everything a hassle for me! My advice DON'T DO IT!!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card