NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 30, 2013
It's A Excellent PREPAID Card
Anonymous Cardholder

 I've had a Netspend card since 2009 and I pay $5/mth, but I get my selected Direct Deposit amount 2 days ealier than my bank and I am also allotted a $10 cushion to go over with no extra charges...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2013
Deceptive - i would not give ANY stars
Anonymous Cardholder

My 13 yo daughter got a netspend gift card from her brother. The outside of the package says “No Credit Check. No hidden fees. No surprises.”

What a load of crap that is.

She went to activate it…and guess what, not only does she have to be 18 – which is NO WHERE to be found on the outside packaging – it is requesting her social security number and everything to fill out a credit card application. On top of that is a laundry list of fees, whether or not she uses the card.

The whole stinking card is FULL OF SURPRISES and they are NOT good surprises!!

I called the number and asked for a refund.. and of course… BIG surprise… not only did the card cost $4.95 to purchase, it will cost $6.00 to mail a refund check. The guy said “We will need to charge a fee for mailing.” Well, a stamp is $.42, but for some reason, it’s $6.00 wherever they are.  The moon? Mars?

My next letter is going to be to the attorney general to ask if there is a law against deceptive packaging. I’m quite certain there is.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 10, 2017
Taking 2.00$ out of the account
Anonymous Cardholder

They take 2.00$ out of your account for EVERY PURCHASE!!!! My account was also locked out during the time before i could catch them doing that. funny thing is the account all of a sudden is unlocked when they took all my MONEY!!! I mean ALL!!! Also before this I talked to a guy on the phone about this and he was going to charge me for them to check my account balance!!! what the worst card company ever dont use them at all of you like your money 

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
waste
Anonymous Cardholder

never buy this card. this card charges $2/- for every debit card and $1 for every credit card transaction. Its a SCAM !!!!

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Farewell $30...
Anonymous Cardholder

I bought one of these as a prepaid card a couple of months ago to give to my sibling when I visit soon, because it looked like a legit card alongside other prepaid cards.

The webpage for activation simply became stuck at 'waiting'. And now that I see that it requires a SSN and other info, I'm just going to cut my losses! (And the card.) Next time I will be far more careful and probably just get a store-specific one.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Scam!!
Anonymous Cardholder

They will delay activating the card until your balance is depleted.  Then they ask for a copy of your social security card and 2 other forms of ID.  This is identity theft at least and straight up theft otherwise.  This was a gift card I received for Christmas.  It's June.  They have charged $5 per month in inactivity fees and want a copy of my social security card, DL and birth certificate to activate it.  If anyone short of Jesus asks for this amount of personal info they are  SOL.  Do not ever purchase a netspend prepaid visa. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Cant activate the card.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have tried calling customer service for hours and keep getting disconnected. I am going to report this to the BBB and anywhere else that I can. DO NOT BUY THIS CARD IT IS FRAUD!! you have to give them your social security number WTF??

more ...
May 30, 2017
Bogus. Stay away!
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a teacher who received one of these Netspend cards as a Teacher Appreciation Gift from my kindergarten class.  (I am sure the room parent who bought it got it in good faith).  To activate the card. they wanted me to send a copy of my social security card to them!  This is all for a $120 card.  Are you kidding me?  We have already been victims of identity theft so we refused.  Now I am out $120 as they will essenitally keep my (or my class' money) as I cannot use it until I give them my social.  Stay away from these products.  They are bogus.  I will be letting all my teacher friends know, parents and anyone who cares to read on social media to stay away from this product.  It is a scam.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2017

Hope you report them to the BBB

 
May 30, 2017
Useless.
houmalagirl Cardholder

My son received this a $50 netspend card for his graduation, but to activate it you have to give them you social security number.  That's not happening, especially because the fine print states that they will share it.  Here's the scam with this card...it is sold right along side simple gift cards at convenience stores and drug stores.  I'm willing to be at least 75% of people purchasing it think they are simply buying a gift card for their loved one.  This amounts to fraud in my book and I feel sorry for the people who have wasted their money on these stupid cards and for the children who don't get their gift because of it.

more ...
Jun 01, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Jun 01, 2017

We had nothing but problems the first day we purchased the card. We could not get it activated. We have requested our check be sent back to us. A little scary because we have to wait 10 days (business days). My son needed the money for senior week and now we have to wait to get the money back. The Better Business Bureau really should have the reviews and let people know not to use NetSpend. I would never recommend them to anyone for any reason.

 
May 18, 2017
This company is a scam.
Anonymous Cardholder

They made it impossible to activate my card while they siphoned off $6 a month. After three was no money left I was finally "able" to activate my card.

more ...
May 12, 2017
So many FEES WTF! The worst card EVER!
Anonymous Cardholder

$3.95 to put money on the card, $1 for every time u use the card, $2 for debit transactions, I spend way to much on fees it's not worth it I'm definitely closing the card. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I got my federal taxes deposit to this card and someone stole the card number off the card and was able to call and request a replacement card. I set up email alerts so I know the card was never used so when I realize the card I had on hand didn't work due to the thief requesting am replacement card I called explain and request a paper check and was told the IRS took the money back well I contact IRS and that was a lie so when I contact Netspend the representative said it's been more than 10 days I can not get my funds that was on the card so they get to keep my money. How is this legal? This card is a scam and they are stilling the customers money.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card