NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 03, 2017
Never had any problems!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my Netpend account for a year now. No problems. I pay the 9.95 monthly fee. That's less than many banks charge for an account. I feel I have more control over my money with Netspend. I even have a savings account through them. I don't know why all of these people are having problems....and yes it's an FDIC insured bank so they do have to have your social security number, This is not a greendot walmart card...it is much more like a regualr bank account. I highly recommend Netspend!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 19, 2017
Not worth your time
Anonymous Cardholder

Unless you want to buy something overseas, don't buy this card. There customer service reps aren't as bad as people say but they do ask for your name, ssn, address and some crazy stuff to give to someone over the phone. I know it may sound a little foolish but I actually gave them my information and now feel very uneasy for a $50 gift card. Not worth your time, trust me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 13, 2017
benefit only those with no options
Anonymous Cardholder

the customer service is terrible. they open and close accounts at will but will not give you your money back if they close your card

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
Scary...
Anonymous Cardholder

to ask for anybody's social when I'm not applying for credit.  I ordered this card to use because I buy things overseas through Western Union.  Every bank card I have declines any Western Union purchase for security reasons, so I thought this card as the answer.  I just went to activate it and it wants my social.  Not happening.  Cutting it up.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
why.after activation. it doe'st do anyth
Anonymous Cardholder

I've got the card:

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Unsolicitated Fraud Scheme
Anonymous Cardholder

NetSpend obtains your personal information and falsely emails you "Thank you for ordering your NetSpend Card!" Look it up online, they send you this prepaid card without anyone ordering it for you. Then you also find out it is a scheme with high rates and fishy costs. 

Do not get this card. If they have to pay for peoples' information to send these at them, it's obviously not to benefit the cardholders. 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Never had any problems!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my Netpend account for a year now. No problems. I pay the 9.95 monthly fee. That's less than many banks charge for an account. I feel I have more control over my money with Netspend. I even have a savings account through them. I don't know why all of these people are having problems....and yes it's an FDIC insured bank so they do have to have your social security number, This is not a greendot walmart card...it is much more like a regualr bank account. I highly recommend Netspend!

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

Not worth it get a different card

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Waste of money
Anonymous Cardholder

Fees! Crazy fees for a low end card. Save your money and time. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Too many hidden fees
Anonymous Cardholder

The package says "No Hidden Fees" and "No Suprises". Well not quite!!!  I was shocked and suprised to find a $2.00 fee for debit transactions and a $1.00 dollar fee for credit transactions. As if that wasn't bad enough, in order to avoid these fees you have to be enrolled into a program for $9.95 a month. Very shady and dishonest to say the least!!

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Concerns
Anonymous Cardholder

I am really concerned about giving my SSN and wondering how legit the company really is.  I am having to jump thru hoops just to activate it. I think I will cut my losses and not add to it after I've used the $25  on it.

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Not worth your time
Anonymous Cardholder

Unless you want to buy something overseas, don't buy this card. There customer service reps aren't as bad as people say but they do ask for your name, ssn, address and some crazy stuff to give to someone over the phone. I know it may sound a little foolish but I actually gave them my information and now feel very uneasy for a $50 gift card. Not worth your time, trust me.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card