NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 30, 2013
It's A Excellent PREPAID Card
Anonymous Cardholder

 I've had a Netspend card since 2009 and I pay $5/mth, but I get my selected Direct Deposit amount 2 days ealier than my bank and I am also allotted a $10 cushion to go over with no extra charges...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2013
Deceptive - i would not give ANY stars
Anonymous Cardholder

My 13 yo daughter got a netspend gift card from her brother. The outside of the package says “No Credit Check. No hidden fees. No surprises.”

What a load of crap that is.

She went to activate it…and guess what, not only does she have to be 18 – which is NO WHERE to be found on the outside packaging – it is requesting her social security number and everything to fill out a credit card application. On top of that is a laundry list of fees, whether or not she uses the card.

The whole stinking card is FULL OF SURPRISES and they are NOT good surprises!!

I called the number and asked for a refund.. and of course… BIG surprise… not only did the card cost $4.95 to purchase, it will cost $6.00 to mail a refund check. The guy said “We will need to charge a fee for mailing.” Well, a stamp is $.42, but for some reason, it’s $6.00 wherever they are.  The moon? Mars?

My next letter is going to be to the attorney general to ask if there is a law against deceptive packaging. I’m quite certain there is.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
This company is a scam.
Anonymous Cardholder

They made it impossible to activate my card while they siphoned off $6 a month. After three was no money left I was finally "able" to activate my card.

more ...
May 12, 2017
So many FEES WTF! The worst card EVER!
Anonymous Cardholder

$3.95 to put money on the card, $1 for every time u use the card, $2 for debit transactions, I spend way to much on fees it's not worth it I'm definitely closing the card. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I got my federal taxes deposit to this card and someone stole the card number off the card and was able to call and request a replacement card. I set up email alerts so I know the card was never used so when I realize the card I had on hand didn't work due to the thief requesting am replacement card I called explain and request a paper check and was told the IRS took the money back well I contact IRS and that was a lie so when I contact Netspend the representative said it's been more than 10 days I can not get my funds that was on the card so they get to keep my money. How is this legal? This card is a scam and they are stilling the customers money.

more ...
May 11, 2017
Fees. Fees. Fees
NetSpendBlows Cardholder

Fees FeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFeesFees

more ...
May 11, 2017
Never had any problems with it.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a Netspend card I use for online shopping and bill paying. It keeps online transactions out of my main bank account. I make transfers between accounts in CASH to keep them separate.

more ...
May 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

TRYING TO ACTIVATE CARD FOR OVER 30  MINUTES NOW...WHY???

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
SSN for a gift card? Really??
Anonymous Cardholder

To register this card you have to put in your Soc. Sec # - Scary!!  PLUS they include a sheet saying they can share all your personal info with unaffiliated companies to market to you - INCUDING YOUR SOC SEC #!!!!.  There are fees for each use taking money out but not putting money in...plus penalty fees if you overdraft the card.  Seems like a money grab to me...Stay away!!!!

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They should get any other card on the market. These folks trick you with low up front fees then charge you for everything including checking your balance through an automated system.

The worst of the worst. One dollar to use it as a credit card and two dollars as a debit card. Why on earth? So, you buy a card and you can use more of your money in fees than you put on.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't do it, if someone use your card without your permission. You will not get your provisional credit, even though it is oblivious it not your transaction. I will be closing this acct once this nightmare is over and my money will be going back in my credit union or bank. It not worth the extra fees or getting your money day and a half early. Don't do it.

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
Horrible cust service, outrageous fees
Anonymous Cardholder

Received as a gift - fees are outrageous, horrible customer service.  Almost impossible to get a live person on the phone.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card