NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
64 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 03, 2013
negative
Anonymous Cardholder

I have this exact same card,  I don't like the fact that it cost me $1 everytime I use it as credit. $2charge if I use it as debit it does give me the option to get cash back though.  I've read everyones bad expereinces with the card and it sounds to me like everyone has bought it thinking it's a gift card. It's not everyone who has had problems clearly didn't know what they were doing.... Lets face it you obviously don't have good credit or you wouldn't be using a prepaid credit card.  It's cost like $10 a month to not have the purchase fees or you could pay for hte whole year for like $70. Looks like if you set up direct depoist it's only $5/month with no purchase fees.  i made the mistake of paying at the pump $20 it gas plus a $75 hold untill the funds cleared took almost a week.. this was written on their website..

lets face it's nothings free it's pre-paid card, even if you buy a pre-paid gift card your still paying 4.95 everytime you buy a new one.

netSpend also lets you create your own design, you could have a picture of your children or what ever you like of coarse that costs another $10

all and all, there no hidden fee's you just have to read what you buy before you buy it.. or suck it up and pay for a plan it's going to save you money in the long run unless your just using this card to pay a couple of bills 

if you use this card to only buy a bottle of soda and bag of chips (small things) this card is junk without a plan..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2013
Deceptive - i would not give ANY stars
Anonymous Cardholder

My 13 yo daughter got a netspend gift card from her brother. The outside of the package says “No Credit Check. No hidden fees. No surprises.”

What a load of crap that is.

She went to activate it…and guess what, not only does she have to be 18 – which is NO WHERE to be found on the outside packaging – it is requesting her social security number and everything to fill out a credit card application. On top of that is a laundry list of fees, whether or not she uses the card.

The whole stinking card is FULL OF SURPRISES and they are NOT good surprises!!

I called the number and asked for a refund.. and of course… BIG surprise… not only did the card cost $4.95 to purchase, it will cost $6.00 to mail a refund check. The guy said “We will need to charge a fee for mailing.” Well, a stamp is $.42, but for some reason, it’s $6.00 wherever they are.  The moon? Mars?

My next letter is going to be to the attorney general to ask if there is a law against deceptive packaging. I’m quite certain there is.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 20, 2017
Didn't request it, it just showed up
Anonymous Cardholder

We just received an actual card in the mail unsolicited.    I'm beyond furious;   if this had been misdelivered and someone somehow activated it I would've likely had a mess on my hands.    Need to review the other comments to see if I need to bother contacting them or if this is just a ploy to talk to me.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
2.5 hours to activate a prepaid card
Anonymous Cardholder

Daughter got this card as a birthday present. After 2.5 hours trying to activate it and set the pin we finaly got it,,I think. Now I find out they plan to deducy 2$ everytime it gets swiped, or $2.50 plus a hidden bank fee at a ATM. 

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
THIS IS A DEBIT CARD, NOT A GIFT CARD...
Anonymous Cardholder

Several bad reviews about this card because people don't READ before purchasing!  This is to be used as RELOADABLE DEBIT CARD, not a gift card.  It's a reloadable debit card that can be used to pay bills or maybe at a not so secure website if you don't want to use a regular debit card.  YES there are fees associated with the use of the card, there is a charge of $1 per transaction but it you limit your transactions and use it only on occasion OR if you pay $5 a month , you get unlimited transactions. I personally have two debit cards, this debit card that I reload and one with my regular bank.  It's very convenient for me.  I usually hold hotels etc. using this card vs the one with my regular bank.  (I'd rather have someone get ahold of  my netspend # with less funds in it than the one at my bank with more substantial funds and they go to town on a spending spree!) 

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Feels Like Borderline ID Theft -- Cancel
Anonymous Cardholder

I received this as a gift card by accident; however to activate they want SS#, DOB, address etc. 

Seemed like of the things necessary for identity theft and so I refused.  Even had them send the

refund check to an old address to keep safe from whatever unknown system they may be running. 

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
biggest scam for a gift card out there
Anonymous Cardholder

do not buy under any circumstances

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
If I could give negative stars I would!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried activating my card, which I already put money on, Customer service told me I had to send them my photo ID and my birth certificate. I can't even get to MY money. They are making everything a hassle for me! My advice DON'T DO IT!!!!

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not get this card I talked to a supervisor named Max and they do not protect your money I've been waiting 2 weeks for a refund to get back on my card and nothing they can't do nothing for me i have to wait 30 day to just see what happends now im out $2000 and thats even if i get it back so be careful if your thinking of putting your money with them

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
The worst Prepaid Card ever.
Anonymous Cardholder

They ask for to much information and they are rude. Basically you pay twice just for using this card. Dont try to get a refund 80% of your money will be paid for the fees they charge.

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Taking 2.00$ out of the account
Anonymous Cardholder

They take 2.00$ out of your account for EVERY PURCHASE!!!! My account was also locked out during the time before i could catch them doing that. funny thing is the account all of a sudden is unlocked when they took all my MONEY!!! I mean ALL!!! Also before this I talked to a guy on the phone about this and he was going to charge me for them to check my account balance!!! what the worst card company ever dont use them at all of you like your money 

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
waste
Anonymous Cardholder

never buy this card. this card charges $2/- for every debit card and $1 for every credit card transaction. Its a SCAM !!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card