NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 03, 2017
Never had any problems!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my Netpend account for a year now. No problems. I pay the 9.95 monthly fee. That's less than many banks charge for an account. I feel I have more control over my money with Netspend. I even have a savings account through them. I don't know why all of these people are having problems....and yes it's an FDIC insured bank so they do have to have your social security number, This is not a greendot walmart card...it is much more like a regualr bank account. I highly recommend Netspend!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 10, 2017
Taking 2.00$ out of the account
Anonymous Cardholder

They take 2.00$ out of your account for EVERY PURCHASE!!!! My account was also locked out during the time before i could catch them doing that. funny thing is the account all of a sudden is unlocked when they took all my MONEY!!! I mean ALL!!! Also before this I talked to a guy on the phone about this and he was going to charge me for them to check my account balance!!! what the worst card company ever dont use them at all of you like your money 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 27, 2017
NetSpend takes LARGE fees each month
Anonymous Cardholder

I put $100 on the card.  After several months, the card has zero funds left on it, even though I only spent $5.  According to the fine print, NetSpend withdraws large fees for themselves each month for nothing at all.  This is basically theft as far as I'm concerned, and I'm filing a complaint with the consumer protection agency.  Also, their card services people are rude and when I called to complain they hung up on me.

more ...
Nov 26, 2017
SCAM sold in stores
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card as a gift from an elderly relative. It was assumed that it was a VISA gift card.  It is NOT.  This card is good for nothing but fees.  In order to get access to your money (or what's left of it) you have to essentially setup an online account, including adding your SS#. Once this is complete be prepared to have $5.95 (account maintenance fee) immediately taken, if you haven't activated it within 90 days of purchase, from your funds (plus $2.95 for simply buying the card). There goes $9 of your money out the window. You can ONLY transfer funds to this account and not back to your bank, don't reccomend linking anything. Not fully sure why ANYONE would want this card when you can easily find an ONLINE bank account that won't charge any fees. $1/transaction, $2/pin transaction, $2.50/atm fee + Bank Fee.

Waste of money. Don't ever buy! I wish CVS would remove them from their stores, they are the closest thing to a SCAM that is on the market.

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They are just thieves, I requested for a refund and they didnt, I called customer care abd they shut the phone. Totally rubbish company. Just waste of money 

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
A Hassle and a scam
Anonymous Cardholder

This card will be a waste of money and time. I had trouble activating, accesesing, and using this card. Don't get this card for anything. Not even minor purchases.

more ...
Oct 11, 2017
Terrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

I bought this card ($100) and paid a fee at CVS and each time i purchased something online i was charged $1.  I contacted their customer service and kept receiving a nonesense messages until i closed my account and gave up a few dollars for them to use.  THE WORST CARD and CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Horrible!!! DO NOT USE!
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was given to me a a gift card.  Had nothing but trouble, and they had to link it to my social secuirty number (did not make be feel good at all).  Read the fine print, if you don't use it they deduct almost $6 a month for a service fee (not sure what that goes to).   

I used the card once, call their customer support, they were worthless. Could not read the charges nor give me an accurante account that there was not a balance or anything owing (could not figure out how the product worked.   The customer servcie representative spoke in their native tongue to others while trying to assist me, and could not give me any confimration that my card was cancelled and not tied to me in anyway.   He would not give me any tracking what so ever.

DO NOT USE THIS CARD!!!   i am not going to run a credit report to make sure nothing is tied there.   I don't trust this company at all!!!!!!

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
Scam, stay away!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not buy, under any circumstances. It is pure and simple, a scam.

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time.

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Watch your back!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a NetSpend prepaid debit card for approximately 3 years. Up until recently I've had no problem. On June 5, 2017 my account was hacked and $1000 was transferred to someone I've never heard of. I filed a dispute and after 3 days NetSpend returned the money to my account but blocked so no one could transfer funds to my card nor could I transfer funds to anyone else. I'm on a fixed income and had that money direct deposited to my card. July 26, 2017 (yesterday) I found my account locked when trying to log in online. I called customer service and was told my account (card) had been cancelled and the remaining money on my card would be sent in a check that I would receive in 7 to 10 business days. When I asked the reason for the cancellation I was told it was a decision made by business management due to my account being high risk. I received no notification of the cancellation of my account, no text, no email, no call, zip, nada, nothing. When I asked the representative why I was wasn't notified I was told that they needed me to call them. If I had attempted to make a purchase yesterday I would have been declined and had to deal with the embarrassment of not knowing why. The least NetSpend could have done was notify me they were going to cancel my account and give me the opportunity to withdraw the funds I had left. Now here I sit with no funds to pay my bills, buy groceries 

or survive until the check arrives in 7 to 10 business days. To say I'm not happy is an understatement.

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Money

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card