Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 12, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

After reading all these reviews I was a little nervous about loading $400 on this card! But my experience has been great. No problems Whatsoever. Thanks Netspend

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 29, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They sent it to my 14 year old. Scamming Children is hire disgusting this scam is

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 19, 2017
Not worth your time
Anonymous Cardholder

Unless you want to buy something overseas, don't buy this card. There customer service reps aren't as bad as people say but they do ask for your name, ssn, address and some crazy stuff to give to someone over the phone. I know it may sound a little foolish but I actually gave them my information and now feel very uneasy for a $50 gift card. Not worth your time, trust me.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
I never had a problem
Anonymous Cardholder

WOW!!!! I had Netspend since 2011 and I never had a problem with them. I have the Nestspend Mastercard not Visa though. I get my money 4 days early before actual payday, can't beat that and NO overdraft fees. they even let you go over your balance $10.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
I never had a problem
Anonymous Cardholder

WOW!!!! I had Netspend since 2011 and I never had a problem with them. I have the Nestspend Mastercard not Visa though. I get my money 4 days early before actual payday, can't beat that and NO overdraft fees. they even let you go over your balance $10.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Acitivation is a nightmare and requires all of your personal information. Don't get this card! I would give it zero stars if they allowed. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Don't expect it to work
Anonymous Cardholder

Even when they tell you it active, it may not be. If you call back over and over they will give you a different answer each time. I think we should have a class action lawsuit against VISA. I bought 11 cards I'm in. My Email is *********** if anybody else is interested.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
The worst!
papermaker3 Cardholder

I didn't have this card, my daughter, who lives in another state does. She is hitting a rough patch and I wanted to be able to transfer money to help her buy groceries and gas. Problem #1--when I tried to register my BANK ISSUED DEBIT CARD (which is all they will accept--no credit card) it declined it. I called customer service...horrible on-hold music... nice CSR, they told me to restart my browser. (AFTER they get the card # you're trying to load... didn't like that). I restart my browser...still doesn't work. Message says my "card has been decline"...no other info. Next, I try my husband's bank issued debit card. Declined. I call again. Problem? The debit card has a chip which "says" it is being treated like a debit card. Again...nice customer service, but this is ridiculous. Next, I use an account from a small town bank whose cards were not issued with a chip. FINALLY... was able to make a transfer. $1.95 fee, but I get that.

Problem #2... The next week, I try to use the same card to transfer another small amount. Denied. I call. For "security reasons" (which I can't really complain about)...I answer all the questions they want to know... all credit bureau-type questions. "Should be fine now." Go back to computer... DENIED. Shut down browser. Tried again. DENIED. Restart computer. DENIED. I call again. This CSR (again, very nice) explains to me that the NETSPEND card isn't really "designed" for Instant Transfer, but rather to be loaded at a reload center. I am in a small town..fortunately (I thought)... they work with Dollar General.

Problem #3... I go to Dollar General and think I can buy a "reload card" like you can buy for minutes for your phone...no... you have to have the card with you.

WHAT IS THE POINT OF THIS?  I wish I had never given them as much information as I did. I wish I could take it all back. For crying out loud. It's 2016...there are LOTS of different ways to move money around these days.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
This is the worst card you can ever own
olutimothy Cardholder

This card iis the very worst card you can own. Credit Karma that I love so much should be ashamed of themselves for even mentioning this card. If you dont believe me, read other reviews about them. The company is the worst company ever. Run away from them or you will regret it. The worst customer service ever.

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
Give them your SSN just to use
Xlleg Cardholder

What a scam!! Looks like a normal visa gift card, but to activate them you need to give them all of your personal info, including SSN!!!  Gift from hell!

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
**** show
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service is terrible, I called them because the card wouldn't activate on the website even after giving them all the correct info. The lady on the line told me the card expired two years ago, but I bought it two days ago and the card even says it expires in 2020. After telling her this she told me she looked up the card number and had the audacity to tell me this was a "fake card" and that it had a balance of 0...  

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
NOT worth the hassle
Anonymous Cardholder

So far I have made 4 phone calls and spent over an hour and still have not been able to activate the gift card my mother bought for my daughter. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card