Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds


Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 03, 2016
I have had this over 5 years
AyeJay77 Cardholder

I do not know what any of these negative reviews are talking about. I have had my netspend card a LONG time. So has my mom, and my sisters. We all have netspend accounts because its really quick and free to transfer money to each, if my little sister is stuck somewhere and needs $20 really quick for a cab or something, I can just go on the app on my phone and send it to her instantly. I have had my payroll checks, my chilld support payments, and my tax return all sent ot my netspend card for years with NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER.  I have a $10 cushion for overdrafts, it comes with a savings account with a great apr too.

If you think this is a gift card, you are wrong. It's a debit card, and yes, they do need your social security number. Duhhhh.

If you think this is a credit card, and you can put things like rental cars and hotels on it without a huge amount of your money being "held" and therefore not available for use, you are wrong.

When you get gas, it sometimes puts a $100 hold on your account balance a few minutes. I'd rather deal with this than deal with Bank of America charging me $35 for an overdraft.

I've never had problems charging large purchases, money dissapearing,  or withdrawing large amounts of cash.

One time I had to call customer serivce because I had cancelled a plane ticket, but the refund hadn't appeared in my account yet. The netspend rep told me to email her a copy of the airline cancellation confirmation, and the money was back in my account the next day.

If you can't figure out how a prepaid debit account Netspend is great.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 09, 2016
3 Card Monte
Anonymous Cardholder

My daughter received a net.Spend card unsolicited.  Attempted to contact customer service however there's no means to speak to a person.  Our first attempt to cancel the card got us to a menu that would activate the card.  After 5 attempts we were able to cancel through the automated menu.

This card is more nefarious than 3 card monte.

I'm not sure which laws are being broken, but I'm sure there's more than one.  If there were fewer stars to give I would.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2016
this is good card
Anonymous Cardholder

i love this card

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
Complete Scam!
Anonymous Cardholder

My brother gave this to me as a gift. I made the mistake of setting it aside and called to activate it about a year later. The woman on the phone gave me a very hard time, asked for my SS number, address, etc. then said it was expired and she could not activate it. I told her I live in NJ and gift cards can't expire here (not to mention the expiration date on the card was 2018), and she said they'd send me another one. When the card finally came, I went online to activate it only to see that they have been charging me $5.95/month for a year and now I have a $0 balance. I can't believe they can get away with that! I hadn't even activated the card!

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Madibby12 Cardholder

I received a $10 and $15 GIFT CARD from a baby shower. Went only just like the instructions said to activate. Then prompts to call in to customer service..not a problem, sometimes stuff messes up online, I get that. Customer service says that you need to verify a few things to activate your gift card. He asks for things like my social security, birthday, and address. He then asked security questions, which I got all of them correct, he proceeds to tell me that they will need additional information to verify and to please send if your social security card and another form of identification. WHY?! This was a gift card, why can't you just let me use the money on it? I WAS NEVER INFORMED THAT AN ACCOUNT WAS BEING OPENED IN MY NAME!!! THIS COMPANY OPENED AN ACCOUNT IN MY NAME. I WAS LIED TO, I AM LIVID. 

This entire company is a scam, do not buy these cards. These people lie to you and take your money. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
This is a public ripoff!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I purchased one for a gift card for a teenager and read all the info on the card. Then I decided to keep the card for myself and give them something different.

When I tried to use it, I could not and the store told me to call the company. I called the company and they told me that they would close the account and I said fine. then they informed me that they would have to take out $5.95 from the balance for charges. I made no charges and they were still taking this out of my balance. This company will rip you off. I wish I would have read these other reviews first. They are horrible. I want nothing to ever do with them again.

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
No security
mzporscheb Cardholder

If your card is hacked, the card company does not help you get your money back as soon as possible. As a matter of fact, they hinder local law enforcement by not providing the necessary paperwork you need in order to file a police report. Then, while they take weeks to 'investigate' (again without the assistance of local law enforcement to help catch the idiots that stole my money) I still can't get my money back! And they charged me $25 to send me a new card!

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

 I purchased two of these cards for my daughters to put their allowance on and be able to shop. After buying them and trying to activate them they told me I would need to send in more documentation because I got the security questions wrong. They asked me what street I had previously live Don and I apparently got that wrong. They asked me what person I know and I answered with a person they listed. And then they asked what  State I lived in from 1988 to 1989 I think it's messed up they even have access to this kind of information. They asked me for my Social Security number and then told me they couldn't activate the cards that I had already paid money for so now here I am waiting 7 to 10 business days to get a check back from them which by the way they're charging me six dollars per card to issue a check back to me. This was supposed to be a great introduction for my kids into this 

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They keep charging me declined fee even though I have enough funds in the account! It's ridiculous! It's like stealing money from your own account slowly but surely. I overlooked some charges but when I added it all up, it reached about $38! That's ****ing robbery! That's $38 of my money that was stolen. Not cool! Tried calling to disputed charges but OMG how they make it so god**** hard for you to dispute even a dollar! They will keep you on hold for forever until you're just about to go crazy and just give up! Please! Save yourselves from so much trouble! Do NOT get it. I tried closing the account SEVERAL times because the representatives keep saying "The account has been closed." But I can still log in the account and check balances. And get this, they won't give me a "confirmation number" that says my account has been closed because it never was closed! LIARS! I get so passionate about this because one thing I hate about the most in his world are scammers. NetSpend should not be operating anymore. HORRIBLE! ZERO STAR! 

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
worst card ever seen!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Received it as a gift card, it takes many steps to activated card, include provide your full SSN, and it charges $5.95 per month for inactivity fee!!!!!!! Then transaction fee $2.00!

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This is not a friendly visa gift card! First of all, to activate it you need to give them your address, valid address, and you need to talk to a representative WICH ARE NOT AVAILABLE AFTER HOURS!! If you need to activate your card at 2am o well your screwed.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

It offers great customer service , even let's you load pay checks. I got it with my tax refund from Turbo Tax, so I pay 4.95 monthly fee but since I make good money that 5 bucks ain't nothing I use this card to splurge online . And the customer service is great

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card