NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
51 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 30, 2013
It's A Excellent PREPAID Card
Anonymous Cardholder

 I've had a Netspend card since 2009 and I pay $5/mth, but I get my selected Direct Deposit amount 2 days ealier than my bank and I am also allotted a $10 cushion to go over with no extra charges...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2013
Deceptive - i would not give ANY stars
Anonymous Cardholder

My 13 yo daughter got a netspend gift card from her brother. The outside of the package says “No Credit Check. No hidden fees. No surprises.”

What a load of crap that is.

She went to activate it…and guess what, not only does she have to be 18 – which is NO WHERE to be found on the outside packaging – it is requesting her social security number and everything to fill out a credit card application. On top of that is a laundry list of fees, whether or not she uses the card.

The whole stinking card is FULL OF SURPRISES and they are NOT good surprises!!

I called the number and asked for a refund.. and of course… BIG surprise… not only did the card cost $4.95 to purchase, it will cost $6.00 to mail a refund check. The guy said “We will need to charge a fee for mailing.” Well, a stamp is $.42, but for some reason, it’s $6.00 wherever they are.  The moon? Mars?

My next letter is going to be to the attorney general to ask if there is a law against deceptive packaging. I’m quite certain there is.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They should get any other card on the market. These folks trick you with low up front fees then charge you for everything including checking your balance through an automated system.

The worst of the worst. One dollar to use it as a credit card and two dollars as a debit card. Why on earth? So, you buy a card and you can use more of your money in fees than you put on.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't do it, if someone use your card without your permission. You will not get your provisional credit, even though it is oblivious it not your transaction. I will be closing this acct once this nightmare is over and my money will be going back in my credit union or bank. It not worth the extra fees or getting your money day and a half early. Don't do it.

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
Horrible cust service, outrageous fees
Anonymous Cardholder

Received as a gift - fees are outrageous, horrible customer service.  Almost impossible to get a live person on the phone.  

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
netspend prepaid visa
Anonymous Cardholder

I would not use this ever again.  They asked for social and lots of private info that is not necessary.  Am very uneasy about this

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
benefit only those with no options
Anonymous Cardholder

the customer service is terrible. they open and close accounts at will but will not give you your money back if they close your card

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
Scary...
Anonymous Cardholder

to ask for anybody's social when I'm not applying for credit.  I ordered this card to use because I buy things overseas through Western Union.  Every bank card I have declines any Western Union purchase for security reasons, so I thought this card as the answer.  I just went to activate it and it wants my social.  Not happening.  Cutting it up.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 06, 2017

By law (Patriot Act) they have to ask for your social.

 
Mar 07, 2017
why.after activation. it doe'st do anyth
Anonymous Cardholder

I've got the card:

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Unsolicitated Fraud Scheme
Anonymous Cardholder

NetSpend obtains your personal information and falsely emails you "Thank you for ordering your NetSpend Card!" Look it up online, they send you this prepaid card without anyone ordering it for you. Then you also find out it is a scheme with high rates and fishy costs. 

Do not get this card. If they have to pay for peoples' information to send these at them, it's obviously not to benefit the cardholders. 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Never had any problems!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my Netpend account for a year now. No problems. I pay the 9.95 monthly fee. That's less than many banks charge for an account. I feel I have more control over my money with Netspend. I even have a savings account through them. I don't know why all of these people are having problems....and yes it's an FDIC insured bank so they do have to have your social security number, This is not a greendot walmart card...it is much more like a regualr bank account. I highly recommend Netspend!

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

Not worth it get a different card

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

NetSpend® Visa® Prepaid Debit Card