Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Montgomery Ward® Credit

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
STAY AWAY Will NOT help you!
1forthedogs Cardholder

This is NOT the same Montgomery Ward's retail from before--someone bought the rights to the name and set up this online store. If you want a line of credit to just be able to get some things with payment plans--they are fine. BUT if you are getting this to establish credit do NOT waste your time, this will NOT help. First, they DO a hard inquiry the very first time you order something and they will assign you a "limit", but payments do NOT get reported to any credit bureaus. Secondly, the next time you place an order they will hit your credit AGAIN with another inquiry, but again any payments you make do NOT get reported. They also may ask you for a downpayment before they will process your order, for example, if you order something for $50, you may be asked to pay $20 BEFORE they will ship it. They DO also charge "shipping and handling fees", so what might have cost you $400 is suddenly now $526. At least Fingerhut DOES report your payments to the credit bureaus and will NOT hit your credit with inquiries every single time you place any orders. 

So, if you really want to establish credit go with Fingerhut or with the Comenity Bank retail cards that are out there--they will report to the bureaus and help you out--NOT Montgomery Wards.

more ...
Jun 30, 2016
ladydee721 Cardholder

have been doing business with this company for almost 2 yrs, and my payment is never missed. Credit limit is now 1000.00

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
DOES NOT REPORT TO 3 BUREAUS
ghreyinc Cardholder

Pros: 1.they wil ship out items on time and process orders relatively quickly.

2. no hard inquiry when applying.

Cons: 1.they DO NOT REPORT GOOD PAYMENT HISTORY. but they WILL report missed payments.

2. limited inventory.

3. slighly higher prices/ non competitive pricing

My personal experience: applied for the card with the intent to build credit(563tu 565eq) back in dec 2015. as of today no payments has been reported. i also opened a secured capitol1 card in dec. it did not report until march 2016, so i assumed this acct would soon show up on my credit report with 3mo of ontime payments. it did not. since there is not very much info out there about this catolog card I was duped. LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE if you intend to build credit. I recommend Fingerhut, they post payments and increase credit limits in 2-3mo intervals with on time payments. I will be closing this account this month. --

good luck 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 06, 2016

You helped me out so much with this review! Ward sent me a letter the day the package was suppose to arrive(I paid the down payment) and it stated that if I didn't want to product under the circumstances of not having a credit line that I can send the package back. Well thanks to your review I know exactly what I'm going to do. What makes it even worse is that they supposed to have been tracking the package and told me it was going to arrive today...No package!!....SMH

 
Feb 05, 2016
Threw away
bronxboi Cardholder

After reading the reviews, the catalog was dumped in the garbage.

more ...
Dec 13, 2015
Easy to get credit, not merchandise!
Anonymous Cardholder

I ordered several Christmas gifts in November.  About two weeks ago, I got my first notice stating one of the items is no longer available so I reordered in a different style.  12 days before Christmas still have not received anything I ordered so checked status online.  The site informed me that another personalized item is no longer available.  I never even got notice for that item being out of stock so had to go elsewhere for a last minute gift.  Closed my account.  Also, if you check the prices on items, go them on Amazon.  You will find they mark up most items by 35-50% or more.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 05, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Montgomery Ward® Credit