Gap Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 27, 2013
Approved!
Tommitomio Cardholder

I never thought that I will be approve for this card, because I have other 3 GE cards (Chevron/Texaco, Wal-Mart & JC Penney) but they approved me for their Visa version with $1,000 CL!  All this with 12 hard enquires in the last 4 months (all approvals) read my profile for more info...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 05, 2013
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER.
MeganEB Cardholder

I received a new card in the mail today, assuming my old one was close to expiring, I went ahead and activated the new one. When I went to destroy the old card, I noticed it didn't expire until 2015 which I thought was strange, so I called customer service. The first woman I spoke to was helpful and said that the card was reported lost or stolen on Aug. 30 and she would transfer me to the lost/stolen card customer service for more help. "Eddie" from that sector was a total ******. Over and over he kept telling me "well, unfortunately there is nothing else we can do for you" and "well, you have your new card, just use that one." I never called to cancel my card or report it lost or stolen. I live alone and I have never left my wallet or lost it. He then proceeded to put me on "mute" several times where I could HEAR him talking about me to co workers, and would not answer any of my questions. I wasn't even raising my voice at this point, I simply wanted to know how someone could call and cancel my card. After about 10 minutes with "Eddie" I asked to speak with a supervisor. He then tried to argue me that he "didn't have a bad attitude" before abruptly transferring me. The supervisor was a little more helpful in trying to explain things, but that she "couldn't tell me the number that called to cancel my account" (through their automated line) but that it wasn't a number associated with my account or even from the state I live in. She then tried to compare her nondisclosure to Doctors and HIPPA rules. I had to remind her that I could walk into my doctors office and ask any information about my own file and they had to tell me, much like MY credit card account. Then she went on to tell me it actually isn't illegal for someone to call a credit card company and pretend to be someone else. It only becomes fraud when actual money is involved! Pretty sure I'll be paying off this card immediately and taking my services elsewhere! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 25, 2017
Good card.
Anonymous Cardholder

Love love my card highly recommend.

more ...
May 22, 2017
Worst credit card I have ever had.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a high balance on this credit card. Because the interest rate is so high, I called them to ask for to lower my interest rate. They flat out said no, we do not do that. Then babbled about something else that I could not understand because he was foreign. Do yourself a favor, NEVER get this credit card. 

more ...
May 19, 2017
ZERO Stars
Anonymous Cardholder

Can not use rewards in store unless you also use credit card. This makes rewards useless. Example I bought an overpriced top. It was $30 and I have $110 in rewards.   The only reward I had for under $30 was one for $5. They wouldn't let me use the $30 reward because you have to put some of the purchase on the card.  So I put $25 on card and used the $5 reward. Since I no longer like the style or fit of their clothes I have a hard time finding anything from gap I like. Rewards are useless because they make you use credit card to pay. Returning top and closing card. Buh bye. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Abosolutely the worst credit card ever!!!! I opened the card since 2008 and I wanted to receive Gap rewards to shop for my kids.

The card got fraud over 6 times since 2008. It's not reliable and I can't use when I need too because the fruad alert. It's the most inconvenient credit card!! I just closed the Gap card today being a royal customer for 9 years. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Abosolutely the worst credit card ever!!!! I opened the card since 2008 and I wanted to receive Gap rewards to shop for my kids.

The card got fraud over 6 times since 2008. It's not reliable and I can't use when I need too because the fruad alert. It's the most inconvenient credit card!! I just closed the Gap card today being a royal customer for 9 years. 

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
The worst credit I have ever had!
Anonymous Cardholder

The worst credit I have ever had!

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Bad Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I was in good standing with this company and when I made a purchase it was declined due to the amount.  When I called them they said I needed a code and it would take 7 to 10 days for it to come by mail, they couldn't give it to me over the phone.  They blocked me from my account until I received the code.  When I called to complain they said there was nothing they could do.  Goodbye GAP Visa.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They are constantly sending me new cards making it impossible to redeem my GAP rewards (the whole reason for even having this credit card).  Try Chase Freedom Unlimited.

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
They do not know what is going on
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid this and closed the account. Now they "have no record of this." I was turned into collections and they can't even reference what that was for. I've been on the phone an hour and a half and they say "well we can't see all the account activity so you will need to call back." I've talked to 5 different people and none of them now what's going on. I will never get a gap card again or trust them with any of my personal information. This is an absolute scam!

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
Have 3,000 in credit limit.
Anonymous Cardholder

They lower my credit limit from 3,000 to 590 for no reason, stay away.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Gap Credit Card