Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Gap Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 02, 2016
Awesome
tmath1324 Cardholder

Approved for 1k, call backdoor number for increase to 10k. Approved for 8k

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 05, 2016
NEVER AGAIN
Viols Cardholder

I have been calling this card for over a week requesting a letter that it was fully paid off. They cannot send an email immediatelly. It take 48 HOURS to receive it. Well, the first time they sent it, they did not have the email address on file and nobody bothered to tell me that. 48 hours later I call again, I give them the email address. I wait ANOTHER 48 HOURS. No email. I call again to find out someone made a mistake and the email address is wrong. I wait ANOTHER 48 HOURS after another email was sent. STILL NOT HERE. It's been over a week. All I need is a simple statment. NEVER AGAIN. I have never been so frustrated with a service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 04, 2016
Have 3,000 in credit limit.
Anonymous Cardholder

They lower my credit limit from 3,000 to 590 for no reason, stay away.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Not good at all
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card and paid it very well .and a mistake with my bank when I paid my bill on line the bank stop he payment gap closed my account what ever I charged I would pay it off in full I tryed to get it open and they said it could not be open again I can try for a new account 

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
DO NOT!!!
JessicaRW1 Cardholder

theyll approve anyone and give you a high credit line and if for any reason you have issues with other cards or are down in your luck, theyll lower your limit and it looks HORRIBLE ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE on your report.  ALSO, the gap phone automated system is hands down the most annoying line you will ever call.  I had a line for 3000 and spent it, would make payments of $800 when I did and got like 5$ off.  NOT WORTH IT gets a macys card or something.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Terrible because there not GE
Anonymous Cardholder

I had received this card as a lower interest rate at first . Then they have sent me three cards now. Since I now have upgraded to there visa silver 

I have had problems . The bank has also changed hands and will say this one is terrible . I also have a old navy card and I am paying that one off after 

this one . Since banks hands have change I will pay this one off as well . (1) I keep,paying it down and there constantly lowering my line of credit ! (2) the interest 

rate is notriousious ! (3) I like gap and that is what I use it for so I will never use them again as long as this bank has this account !! 

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
Gap Store Card ---> Gap Visa
Anonymous Cardholder

A while back I applied for a Gap credit card not expecting to be approved, was approved with a $300 credit limit. I had that for about a year and then I asked for a credit limit increase and it was bumped up from $300 to $900. Since being approved initially I have been pretty good with usage and always paid on time. Just about a month ago I got a letter saying I was being upgraded to the Gap Visa card. After receiving the card last weekend I activated it, somewhat excited to have it, during the activation process it asked my income and then told me my new credit limit was $5,500! I was so shocked! 

The card is pretty great as long as you don't need to call for customer service because they are all foreign and very hard to understand, with no option for a US agent.

more ...
Jul 27, 2016
Scammers
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card and paid my balance off in 2015 and thought it was closed. I got a collection letter from a credit agency wanting my full balance of $307.00. Knowing I paid it, I pulled up my bank statements and noticed I actually over paid Gap by $26. Not only will I never see that refund, I'm fighting a credit agency for the full $307. When I called Gap they have no record of my payments because they conviently closed out my account when they sold it off. So Gap got paid twice. Once from me and another time from a creditor buying my account. I just wanted to add I had this card for years before they screwed me over. If you use them, just make sure you check your account closely and keep all evidence of your payments. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2016
Insanely high interest rate
Anonymous Cardholder

Insanely high interest rate. I wish I never never put a single purchase on this credit card. DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF USING IT!

more ...
Apr 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the gap card tried to obatin a lower interest rate and was denied - hve now rolled it over....rate was crazy high 25 percent - my fault should've noticed    !!

more ...
Apr 05, 2016
NEVER AGAIN
Viols Cardholder

I have been calling this card for over a week requesting a letter that it was fully paid off. They cannot send an email immediatelly. It take 48 HOURS to receive it. Well, the first time they sent it, they did not have the email address on file and nobody bothered to tell me that. 48 hours later I call again, I give them the email address. I wait ANOTHER 48 HOURS. No email. I call again to find out someone made a mistake and the email address is wrong. I wait ANOTHER 48 HOURS after another email was sent. STILL NOT HERE. It's been over a week. All I need is a simple statment. NEVER AGAIN. I have never been so frustrated with a service.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Awesome
tmath1324 Cardholder

Approved for 1k, call backdoor number for increase to 10k. Approved for 8k

more ...
Jun 25, 2016

Could you please share the back door # called to increase your credit limit?

 
Aug 04, 2016

how long for the increase.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Gap Credit Card