First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 20, 2017
It is what it is
lcbattle Cardholder

I got this card 2 1/2 years ago when my credit was around 590. After keeping balences low I was able to get approved for a Capital One Quicksilver at 1500 and then from there I applied and was approved for Barclay's Arrival Card at 2500. Both of those cards have seen credit line increases. Through this time I had to deal with First Premier's annual fees, maintenence fees and crazy interest rates but you got to do what you have to do to rebuild your credit. My credit is now in the 700s after paying off all old debts and keeping my credit utilization low. I called today to cancel but they offered me 25 bucks and I had just paid my annual fee. I have it on my calendar to cancel my card before I hit my next annual payment. Credit Cards aren't meant to be maxed out, ever! Keep low balences or better yet pay your cards off each month and you will find your credit rising each year. It is not a sprint, it is a marathon. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 26, 2017
Closed card without authorization.
robertne Cardholder

These jokers closed my cards because I said I was thinking about closing them.   I wanted to negotate down my annual fee as I was able to get a better deal on other cards.   Not only would these fools not do anything about the annual fee,  I found out a month later the CSR actually closed my account when I never authorized him to do so.   The buisness practices of this company is very shady.   Avoid like the plague as this is the worse company I have ever seen.   Super suprised at how frustrating it is to do anything with this company.    Not Apply.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 24, 2017
Terrible customer service
JustinRK Cardholder

I got this card while trying to rebuild credit. While it did somewhat service that prurpose, I got a better card two years later. I moved to a new address, completely different state. I called them to change my address and also pay my balance on the card. The card had expired in the meantime, which was fine, I paid it off and kept a $0 balance. Fast forward and I still haven't received new card or statements. Couldn't log in online because at the time, you had to have active card information. No new card or statements. I called several times about this issue. Nothing. Fast forward a bit and I got a 30day late hit on my credit report from them. Check into it and it's my annual fee. I called and asked how I was supposed to know if I wasn't getting statements and couldn't log in any more to see it. They acknowledged it, but refused to change the hit because I was late, event though I had no way of knowing. I canceled the card and said good riddance. Luckily my credit union understood and didn't hold that against me in consideration of new lines of credit with them. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Ripoff
Mekanicnine Cardholder

Terrible customer service, hidden fees they don't tell you about until you have the card . wouldn't recommend this company or card to ANYONE .

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is a complete scam!!! I have been with them over a year. After 6 months of having the card and paying my bill on time I applied for a credit increase. They said to try after having the card for a year. 6 more months goes by and I try again, and now they say I'm not eligible for a credit increase, but I am eligible for another card! (So they can get another annual fee!) Would not recommend!!!!!!!

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
No help
Jessyska Cardholder

i also was affected by Hurricane Harvey. Told them I had to evacuate, and hadn't worked. All they did was ask me for a payment. No help for the disaster stricken.... Very **** poor company.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
It a ok card if you have no other option
Anonymous Cardholder

Was affected by hurricane Harvey and they provided no relief. All other card companies did assist for 90 days. First Premier just said good luck and payment was due on due day.

more ...
Aug 27, 2017
Worst credit card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't even think to apply, it is absolutely the worst credit card ever.

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Great the best

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Great for bad credit
Anonymous Cardholder

It does require a deposit but if you have bad credit you dont have a choice.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Annual fees, monthly service fees even if you have a 0 balance, closed my accounts and was told I had a balance. I am disputing the balance since I did not authorize the transactions.

They overcharge, customer service sucks, And they have problems with security, I have had more than one occasion dealing with fraudelant charges.

Please stay away from this company. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card