Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
60 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 23, 2016
It Did What I Needed It To Do
Arabus1987 Cardholder

I got a pre-approval letter for this card June2015. I actually READ the fine print. I knew exactly what I was getting myself into.  I was approved for a $700 limit.  I paid the fees in full.  Signed up for the experian deal they had and that was the only running balance I carried.  I now have two CapOne Quick Silver One cards, Discover, Chase Slate, Chase Freedom and First National Bank of Omaha.  My total credit line is a little of $10K.  This card has helped raise my credit score.  Since it's done what I needed (get my foot in the credit door) its time to move on.  I will be closing this card in May.  Thanks First Premier. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 06, 2016
Disappointed
meemski Cardholder

Well I owned this card for a year it got me out the hole, and sort of put me back in. I always made payments of $50/mo sometimes even 80, and never maxed the card out. I made payments, and they would say I didn't have enough money in my bank, which I did, and it didn't go through. They automatically closed my card when the payment didn't go through. I was not over my limit or anything a payment just didn't go through. I called and they confirmed that. I asked the lady if they could open it back up if I paid off the rest of my balance that day,  and they asked for my bank info, and charged me the full balance owed of my card, and when I asked if this would open it back up the customer service representative said no, that really got me upset. So warning with this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 29, 2016
Great for low credit scores!!
sculhane Cardholder

I opened my account one year ago. I never had a credit line increase. Paid on time, minimum or above but not in full. After the year was up they opened a second MasterCard for me. I asked why they didn't just increase my limit. They advised me its a better way to improve my credit score. Very happy with them.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
REBUILD

They approved me with very VERY low 490 cs, I've had the card since July and my score has increased 30 points (although utilization looks high). No CLI yet but I'm on track to have more points added as utilization drops.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 02, 2016

I also like that you can pay this card in cash at CVS. So if you don't have a checking account (or don't trust that the payment will be received on time) ...you can pay $5 extra bucks and have the GUARANTEE that your bill has been paid on the date at that very moment. IF there are other cards out there like this I'd appreciate you guys letting me know. I made some credit mistakes andnow I've gotta pay to play.

 
Oct 06, 2016
Good card for those rebuilding credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Too often people try to rebuild credit when they can barely make ends meet. If that is you, stay away from credit cards until you have fixed your financial situation to the point of having disposable income, then start here. With a credit score of 630 I was approved for $700 but had an annual fee, and something else that totaled about $75. It is frustrating but I was the one who got myself in this mess in the first place so I knew I was going to be paying to have the luxury of a credit card. Paid off the balance and after 6 months of on-time payments they doubled the limit to $1,400. The only reason I accepted their offer is because they had a clear and concise plan to raise the credit limit rather quickly. I liked that and it helped boost my credit score since I had a lower debt utilization. My credit score took a big leap when I paid down my balances. I do not carry each month but use all my cards when I would normally use my debit card. I make payments every 2 weeks and it makes for a big happy family even though I despise financial lenders. Good luck and don't let them keep you down!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
awful
Anonymous Cardholder

don't pay early. they will charge you late fee. then say you owe for another month. they will screw you in a heartbeat. hate the card. bunch of idiots working there. calls you on your cell and home phone 10 times a day

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Criminals
laurynemily Cardholder

I opened up the first premier bank card to establish credit when I was 20 years old. I recently learned that this card is charges a monthly "service charge" of $6.25. There is also a yearly fee of $45.00 on top of that. This is putting me at $120.00 a year just to have the card! This is a SECURED card which I put MY money towards to even use. They truly are criminals and the CEO Miles Beacom should really rethink his business. He's not trying to help people build credit, he's making them PAY FOR IT + MORE. Whatever you do, do not open this card. It's a total rip off and you will regret it.

The customer service team is absolutely disgraceful. They basically talk down to you when you ask about the changes. Managment team is even worse. 

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
HORRIBLE!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service sucks!!!! I know I have BAD credit, but THEY SHOULD HAVE BETTER REPS HANDLE THEIR CUSTOMERS THAT KEEP THEM IN BUSINESS ONCE I GET ANOTHER CREDIT CARD I WILL BE GLAD TO CUT YOU P.O.S.  SHOULD GIVE YOU HALF A STAR. WEST AND TERRY YALL SUCK MONKEY **** 

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Only if you're backed into a corner
Irishchick83 Cardholder

Like everyone here, I applied for this card to help rebuild my credit which had tanked after a job loss in 2004 (I could only pay one credit card minimun a month on top of car expenses and whatnot).  I had been a card holder since '06 and while it did it's job, it was time to let it go.

I just closed my account this morning after arguing with the CS about their 'generous offer' to waive the annual fee, and when I asked about what would happen the next year when it came time to pay it again, she was quiet.  I also had to fight to get them to close out my account at zero balance (I had paid the eighty some dollar remaining balance before the due date and apparently my statement cycled on the 11th) as I should not have been expected to pay a monthy fee for an account that was not even going to be open. 

Then after putting me on hold, they said the $6.05 was going to be waived and closed as zero balance.  Then I guess they cut off my account access because I just tried to log in to screen shot the zero balance (since I've heard horror stories of them trying to screw the customer over after closing it).  I requested it in writing as well, so let's see what happens.  The representative was extremely curt and rude despite me being nice (except the time I stopped her credit score speel, telling her that I already looked into what will and won't happen - so she could stop with the 'scare tactics'). 

Here's a tip: Just keep your cool, request they stop trying to talk you into staying and honor your request.

TL;DR Don't get this card if you have other options. Unlike the early 00's, plenty of major credit card companies offer secured credit cards which will save your sanity.  And if you do have to get this card, treat it as you do when you hire a painter or landscaper.  Once the objective has been achieved, settle up the account and move on.

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This cards rates are outrageous and it is like pulling teeth to try and get an increase in your limit. I have had this card for 4 years and almost always pay this card off with in a month or so of using it. Yet they still deny my credit limit increase each time. Getting an increase in cards with a long history is an important part of rebuilding your credit and this card denies you that important fact every time I tried to improve my score with a higher limit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 25, 2016

Try Capital one...the ABSOLUTE BEST in rebuilding, and I got a $100 increase BEFORE I made my 5th payment! Don't over use credit limit and pay on or BEFORE due date, and your credit will shoot up! Mine has increased by a total of 57 points since April! I got the card when my score was in low 500's. Try it...pre-qualify so it doesn't hurt your score at all.

 
Aug 11, 2016
There is better choices
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card in the mail and I honestly needed it at the moment. I was not really experienced with credit cards (I was in college & still learning) I called to open the account. They charged an opening fee, I was like whatever I just need x amount anyways. I was making payments and I felt like it was never ending. I didn't really get a lot of information about interest or annual fees, that this is what was killing me. Even when I got the card, the letter in came in it wasn't thick like other credit cards, where things are being mentioned about fees and other topics. Well I learned through out the years and I finally paid it off. I wanted to cancel cause you know, high interest rates, annual fee, etc. I called, the rep was very pushy about me keeping the account open. She kept mentioning that I will not get anything back (I know lady, duh) and kept insisting because it's such a good card for rebuilding and even offered to credit $25 towards the annual fee. I kept going back with the rep about cancelling, while she kept talking over me and interrupting. Until I got fed up and said" Just please process my request".  I was not happy with the card nor the customer service this company provides, there are better companies that truly care about their customers unlike this money hungry bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card