First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2013
Perfect rebuilder
Kristenkay26 Cardholder

This card has the high interest rates, the annual fees, and everything listed by the 1 star reviews. However, my credit was completely shot. It cost me I believe 120 bucks total to get the card in July. I have had on time perfect payments. Keep my utilization between 5%-15% at all times, although 9% is where I am mostly. My credit has increased almost 100 points in 10 months of working on my credit. My school loans also factor in. I am looking to buy a house in March; I got approved for a 100,000 FHA loan. This is by far the most expensive way to help rebuild your credit, but for me and many alike this is the only way to do so.

I will not complain as it was the starting point for me and has allowed me to fix my credit (still rebuilding). I recently just got another card with a higher credit line. I will be closing this account after my house goes through. I cannot say enough how happy I am that they gave me a chance, and also never ran a hard inquiry on me. (So my guess is anyone can get it). I would also like to let everyone know to make sure to check your own credit scores. I LOVE CK because it is pretty accurate with updates on my credit; however, it is nowhere near my credit score. My credit score is 640 and CK shows 591. Good Luck and I hope this helped someone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2013
It should only be used for rebuilding...
boricuarx787 Cardholder

While everyone is up at arms that this card has so many flaws, the fact of the matter is, it is strictly for rebuilding. If you are looking to add another line of credit with a satisfactory mark on your credit reports and an opportunity to minimize your Utilization %, then apply for the card, pay the $75 fee and don't use it. Plain and simple. Use them, don't let them use you. They extended their hand out to you, someone who probably doesn't have great credit, just like myself, so take up on the offer but don't give them the chance to screw you over. Use it once a week for a early morning latte and nothing more. Pay off the card in full thus paying no finance charges, deal with the fact it has an annual fee and enjoy the fact your credit is building faster than if you didn't have the card in your possession. Unfortunately those of us that are sub-prime users have to deal with the dirt and nonsense while we are still in the bottom, but remember cards like this give other companies a chance to prove yourself so take up on the offer, deal with the fees and enjoy better credit in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 19, 2017
Terrible
BIGORICH Cardholder

Just paid off balances and still have to pay the nonsense annual fees. Been a cardholder for over 8 years in good standing. They make enough off their unsuspecting new clients with nonsense fees. They should at least take care of their limited number of loyal cardholders. If cancelling credit cards didnt hurt you credit I'd dump these guys for sure!

more ...
May 19, 2017
Terrible
BIGORICH Cardholder

Paid off balances and been a customer for over 8 years in good standing. Still have to pay nonsense annual fees. Sure wish cancelling credit cards didn't hurt your credit. I'd dump these guys for sure!

more ...
May 18, 2017
The WORST
Anonymous Cardholder

DON'T GO FOR IT...

more ...
May 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They give you a hard time when you want to cancell ared and the charge you way to many  fees. 

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Closed card without authorization.
robertne Cardholder

These jokers closed my cards because I said I was thinking about closing them.   I wanted to negotate down my annual fee as I was able to get a better deal on other cards.   Not only would these fools not do anything about the annual fee,  I found out a month later the CSR actually closed my account when I never authorized him to do so.   The buisness practices of this company is very shady.   Avoid like the plague as this is the worse company I have ever seen.   Super suprised at how frustrating it is to do anything with this company.    Not Apply.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Canceled card for no reason
robertne Cardholder

I told the CSR I was thinking about canceling becasue of the annual fees in trying to get my annual fees negoatated down, not only would they not negotate they canceled the cards on their own without my authorization.   This company is the worse to deal with and they nickle and dime you on everything.   Stay away!!!! 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
No issues
Ccccccbbbb Cardholder

I have bad credit and have had bad credit. I've had this card since august of 2016 and I'm happy to have it

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Horrible
bowgirl1980 Cardholder

Stay away from this company! Horrible fees and horrible customer service; really, really, really BAD! I thought I was a calm person until I spoke to one of representatives about closing my account. Very rude!! I will never ever recommend First Premier bank card.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
I would not recommend this card
Anonymous Cardholder

Someone was able to use my card fraudulently. The only way I found out there was a fraudulent charge and my card had been suspended was because I called to cancel it because the website wouldn't work and I was frustrated. In my opinion the customer service is terrible and they have no clue what's going on. I cancelled my card. I don't want anything to do with this bank. I would give it 0 stars but it made me give 1.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They charge a yearly fee and on top a monthly fee even when the account is at $0 balance. Not worth it "crooks"

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card