First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 20, 2017
It is what it is
lcbattle Cardholder

I got this card 2 1/2 years ago when my credit was around 590. After keeping balences low I was able to get approved for a Capital One Quicksilver at 1500 and then from there I applied and was approved for Barclay's Arrival Card at 2500. Both of those cards have seen credit line increases. Through this time I had to deal with First Premier's annual fees, maintenence fees and crazy interest rates but you got to do what you have to do to rebuild your credit. My credit is now in the 700s after paying off all old debts and keeping my credit utilization low. I called today to cancel but they offered me 25 bucks and I had just paid my annual fee. I have it on my calendar to cancel my card before I hit my next annual payment. Credit Cards aren't meant to be maxed out, ever! Keep low balences or better yet pay your cards off each month and you will find your credit rising each year. It is not a sprint, it is a marathon. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 26, 2017
Closed card without authorization.
robertne Cardholder

These jokers closed my cards because I said I was thinking about closing them.   I wanted to negotate down my annual fee as I was able to get a better deal on other cards.   Not only would these fools not do anything about the annual fee,  I found out a month later the CSR actually closed my account when I never authorized him to do so.   The buisness practices of this company is very shady.   Avoid like the plague as this is the worse company I have ever seen.   Super suprised at how frustrating it is to do anything with this company.    Not Apply.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 15, 2017
A1 From Day 1

i just recieved the card i paid a 95$  annual fee recieved the card with a 300 $ credit limit and a 225$ available balance .. the next day iafter i recieved it ichecked my credit score it went up 26 points .. i also had the green card before this my score went up everytime i paid it .. great card ... 

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Worst card ever!!!
nicole999 Cardholder

Stay away not worth the fees, lack of customer service, headaches!!! Get established with a credit union instead!!! 

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Closed acct in June then July statement came 20 dollars more I pay it then August 6 dollars I talked to female at premier she said all taken care of look at my credit report they our on there for the 6 dollars I pay the 6 dollars now Oct comes another 6 dollars I call and pay it tell them if this does not stop I am turning it over to the Attorney General my advice do not use them terrible

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is a total scam. They make you pay them AFTER you're approved in order to open your card and none of that money actually goes to your balance. They charge a lot of fees! I paid the whole balance down and now I just keep it open because closing it may negatively affect my credit. DO NOT GET THIS CARD

more ...
Sep 27, 2017
GREAT CARD! FOR REBUILDING Your Credit!
Sadarr1985 Cardholder

  I Have Had This Card Going On 2 Years Now!,  I Called Them Up Yesterday, About My Card, Not Being Except, They Told Me That Everything Was Fine With The Card, And It Was, The Problem Was With My Phone, Not Being Able To Enter My Information Correctly!  The Customer Service Rep, Told Me That I Was Approved For A Credit Line Increase!  Of $150.00 But Inorder For The Credit Line Increase, I Will Be Billed A Fee, Which Will Be Deducted, I Told Her That Will Be Fine!

  Now Don't Get My Statement Here!  Confused Of A Complaint!  Because It's Not!  Because I Had A Choice!  Either Get A Credit Line Increase, Or Not!  And For This Credit Line Increase, I Had To Pay For This Credit Line Increase!  And Now!,  My Credit Limit Is Now! $500.00  And I'm C@@L!  With It!

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Terrible customer service
JustinRK Cardholder

I got this card while trying to rebuild credit. While it did somewhat service that prurpose, I got a better card two years later. I moved to a new address, completely different state. I called them to change my address and also pay my balance on the card. The card had expired in the meantime, which was fine, I paid it off and kept a $0 balance. Fast forward and I still haven't received new card or statements. Couldn't log in online because at the time, you had to have active card information. No new card or statements. I called several times about this issue. Nothing. Fast forward a bit and I got a 30day late hit on my credit report from them. Check into it and it's my annual fee. I called and asked how I was supposed to know if I wasn't getting statements and couldn't log in any more to see it. They acknowledged it, but refused to change the hit because I was late, event though I had no way of knowing. I canceled the card and said good riddance. Luckily my credit union understood and didn't hold that against me in consideration of new lines of credit with them. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Ripoff
Mekanicnine Cardholder

Terrible customer service, hidden fees they don't tell you about until you have the card . wouldn't recommend this company or card to ANYONE .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 27, 2017

This Card Does What It Does! Rebuild's Your Credit! I Guess This Person Is Still Living In The Land Of OZ! They Want EveryThing Perfect! There Is No Law! That Say You Have To Keep It! And HEY! DUH! You Applied For This Card On Your Own! Except Your Choices, And Quit Cry Babying!

 
Sep 14, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is a complete scam!!! I have been with them over a year. After 6 months of having the card and paying my bill on time I applied for a credit increase. They said to try after having the card for a year. 6 more months goes by and I try again, and now they say I'm not eligible for a credit increase, but I am eligible for another card! (So they can get another annual fee!) Would not recommend!!!!!!!

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
No help
Jessyska Cardholder

i also was affected by Hurricane Harvey. Told them I had to evacuate, and hadn't worked. All they did was ask me for a payment. No help for the disaster stricken.... Very **** poor company.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
It a ok card if you have no other option
Anonymous Cardholder

Was affected by hurricane Harvey and they provided no relief. All other card companies did assist for 90 days. First Premier just said good luck and payment was due on due day.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card