Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
45 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 23, 2016
It Did What I Needed It To Do
Arabus1987 Cardholder

I got a pre-approval letter for this card June2015. I actually READ the fine print. I knew exactly what I was getting myself into.  I was approved for a $700 limit.  I paid the fees in full.  Signed up for the experian deal they had and that was the only running balance I carried.  I now have two CapOne Quick Silver One cards, Discover, Chase Slate, Chase Freedom and First National Bank of Omaha.  My total credit line is a little of $10K.  This card has helped raise my credit score.  Since it's done what I needed (get my foot in the credit door) its time to move on.  I will be closing this card in May.  Thanks First Premier. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 21, 2016
Actually hurts your credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card and tried to pay online every month but they are so messed up they wouldn't take my payment.  Customer reps are awful if you can even get to the right person.  After I closed the card they still charged me and went into negative status.  Do not get!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 20, 2017
It is what it is
lcbattle Cardholder

I got this card 2 1/2 years ago when my credit was around 590. After keeping balences low I was able to get approved for a Capital One Quicksilver at 1500 and then from there I applied and was approved for Barclay's Arrival Card at 2500. Both of those cards have seen credit line increases. Through this time I had to deal with First Premier's annual fees, maintenence fees and crazy interest rates but you got to do what you have to do to rebuild your credit. My credit is now in the 700s after paying off all old debts and keeping my credit utilization low. I called today to cancel but they offered me 25 bucks and I had just paid my annual fee. I have it on my calendar to cancel my card before I hit my next annual payment. Credit Cards aren't meant to be maxed out, ever! Keep low balences or better yet pay your cards off each month and you will find your credit rising each year. It is not a sprint, it is a marathon. 

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Even if you don't owe a balance they charge you a service fee every month then turn you in to the credit bureau for not paying the fee when you don't owe anything.  I called and the supv said sorry just pay it 

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
Over rated
Anonymous Cardholder

Beggars can't be choosers with this card so be careful with the fine print they have to charge you annual fee and they don't exactly like you know when they're coming so you have to be responsible and make sure you read everything payments priceless are very slow unchecked if you pay by debit card they do really great they can use better customer service

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Terrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried making my payments on time, and they were all denied, and customer service said they werent given a reason! Cancelling asap!!

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
DO NOT APPLY
brae027 Cardholder

this card and company are the worse yes i was rebuilding and needed the card but you are charged a fee for everything!!! payment take up to 5-7 days to clear and dont expect to talk to anyone compitent on the phone PLEASE STAY AWAY EVEN THOUGH YOU MAY NEED THE CARD,MONEY OR CREDIT !!

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Most Horrible Credit Card Company Ever
Anonymous Cardholder

they have fees that you know about, more junk fees you don't know about, horrible ratings everywhere can't be wrong. Wish I could give negative stars

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Paying of card
Anonymous Cardholder

Paid this card off each month. Moved and my mom paid on the card in November to help us with moving. First Premier accused me of FRAUD. Faxed over all the documentation they needed from my mother, and my bank. Continued to give me the run around. Called and since it was paid off closed my account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 07, 2017

Same thing happened to me, most absurd thing i have ever had to deal with.

 
Oct 29, 2016
Great for low credit scores!!
sculhane Cardholder

I opened my account one year ago. I never had a credit line increase. Paid on time, minimum or above but not in full. After the year was up they opened a second MasterCard for me. I asked why they didn't just increase my limit. They advised me its a better way to improve my credit score. Very happy with them.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
REBUILD

They approved me with very VERY low 490 cs, I've had the card since July and my score has increased 30 points (although utilization looks high). No CLI yet but I'm on track to have more points added as utilization drops.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 02, 2016

I also like that you can pay this card in cash at CVS. So if you don't have a checking account (or don't trust that the payment will be received on time) ...you can pay $5 extra bucks and have the GUARANTEE that your bill has been paid on the date at that very moment. IF there are other cards out there like this I'd appreciate you guys letting me know. I made some credit mistakes andnow I've gotta pay to play.

 
Oct 06, 2016
Good card for those rebuilding credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Too often people try to rebuild credit when they can barely make ends meet. If that is you, stay away from credit cards until you have fixed your financial situation to the point of having disposable income, then start here. With a credit score of 630 I was approved for $700 but had an annual fee, and something else that totaled about $75. It is frustrating but I was the one who got myself in this mess in the first place so I knew I was going to be paying to have the luxury of a credit card. Paid off the balance and after 6 months of on-time payments they doubled the limit to $1,400. The only reason I accepted their offer is because they had a clear and concise plan to raise the credit limit rather quickly. I liked that and it helped boost my credit score since I had a lower debt utilization. My credit score took a big leap when I paid down my balances. I do not carry each month but use all my cards when I would normally use my debit card. I make payments every 2 weeks and it makes for a big happy family even though I despise financial lenders. Good luck and don't let them keep you down!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card