First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2013
Perfect rebuilder
Kristenkay26 Cardholder

This card has the high interest rates, the annual fees, and everything listed by the 1 star reviews. However, my credit was completely shot. It cost me I believe 120 bucks total to get the card in July. I have had on time perfect payments. Keep my utilization between 5%-15% at all times, although 9% is where I am mostly. My credit has increased almost 100 points in 10 months of working on my credit. My school loans also factor in. I am looking to buy a house in March; I got approved for a 100,000 FHA loan. This is by far the most expensive way to help rebuild your credit, but for me and many alike this is the only way to do so.

I will not complain as it was the starting point for me and has allowed me to fix my credit (still rebuilding). I recently just got another card with a higher credit line. I will be closing this account after my house goes through. I cannot say enough how happy I am that they gave me a chance, and also never ran a hard inquiry on me. (So my guess is anyone can get it). I would also like to let everyone know to make sure to check your own credit scores. I LOVE CK because it is pretty accurate with updates on my credit; however, it is nowhere near my credit score. My credit score is 640 and CK shows 591. Good Luck and I hope this helped someone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2013
It should only be used for rebuilding...
boricuarx787 Cardholder

While everyone is up at arms that this card has so many flaws, the fact of the matter is, it is strictly for rebuilding. If you are looking to add another line of credit with a satisfactory mark on your credit reports and an opportunity to minimize your Utilization %, then apply for the card, pay the $75 fee and don't use it. Plain and simple. Use them, don't let them use you. They extended their hand out to you, someone who probably doesn't have great credit, just like myself, so take up on the offer but don't give them the chance to screw you over. Use it once a week for a early morning latte and nothing more. Pay off the card in full thus paying no finance charges, deal with the fact it has an annual fee and enjoy the fact your credit is building faster than if you didn't have the card in your possession. Unfortunately those of us that are sub-prime users have to deal with the dirt and nonsense while we are still in the bottom, but remember cards like this give other companies a chance to prove yourself so take up on the offer, deal with the fees and enjoy better credit in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 26, 2017
Closed card without authorization.
robertne Cardholder

These jokers closed my cards because I said I was thinking about closing them.   I wanted to negotate down my annual fee as I was able to get a better deal on other cards.   Not only would these fools not do anything about the annual fee,  I found out a month later the CSR actually closed my account when I never authorized him to do so.   The buisness practices of this company is very shady.   Avoid like the plague as this is the worse company I have ever seen.   Super suprised at how frustrating it is to do anything with this company.    Not Apply.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Canceled card for no reason
robertne Cardholder

I told the CSR I was thinking about canceling becasue of the annual fees in trying to get my annual fees negoatated down, not only would they not negotate they canceled the cards on their own without my authorization.   This company is the worse to deal with and they nickle and dime you on everything.   Stay away!!!! 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
No issues
Ccccccbbbb Cardholder

I have bad credit and have had bad credit. I've had this card since august of 2016 and I'm happy to have it

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Horrible
bowgirl1980 Cardholder

Stay away from this company! Horrible fees and horrible customer service; really, really, really BAD! I thought I was a calm person until I spoke to one of representatives about closing my account. Very rude!! I will never ever recommend First Premier bank card.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
I would not recommend this card
Anonymous Cardholder

Someone was able to use my card fraudulently. The only way I found out there was a fraudulent charge and my card had been suspended was because I called to cancel it because the website wouldn't work and I was frustrated. In my opinion the customer service is terrible and they have no clue what's going on. I cancelled my card. I don't want anything to do with this bank. I would give it 0 stars but it made me give 1.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

They charge a yearly fee and on top a monthly fee even when the account is at $0 balance. Not worth it "crooks"

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Rebuilding
Anonymous Cardholder

I have two cards with them and opened them up back in 2014, they helped rebuild my credit about 100 points. But the servicing fees on top of the annual fee became a little too excessive. I have 3 Capital ones at $750 each, a BankAmericard $2500, and two Amex BCE 1000, CE $5000 limits. First premier did their job, but geez they will not let you leave and they will offer money just to keep you on and they won’t stop trying to be credit experts. I have 10% combined utilization and they say shutting down both cards (that total $850) will severely impact my score because of utilization... okay... then they offer credit limit increase.... $100 each for the fee of increasing a limit on a card? On top of 3 others? HA. I can't bash them too much because it was a great way to rebuild, not to keep forever.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
For Credit Builders/ReBuilders ONLY!
brandmccjr Cardholder

After two (very expensive) years I have just closed this card. When I first applied I had damaged credit and scores in the LOW 540s. I was offered a $500 CL and of course accepted. This card has high signup fees, monthly maintenance fees and a large annual fee. Please also keep in mind that if you add a second card (like I mistakenly did) those fees double each month. Despite being the same account, you will pay two annual fees for the exact same card. With all of that said, this card coupled with Credit One (who i HIGHLY recommend) helped me move up to Capital One cards and as of last week have now been approved for American Express Platinum and CITI Double Cash cards. They definitely served their purpose but not something you should go into lightly. Also, I kept the Credit One card (they have great customer service, automatic CLI and their APR is negotiable after a certain amount of time). 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Very Odd Verification Process
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for several years then decided to close it. Over the last two years I have reapplied on three separate occasions. Each time I was approved, paid my processing fee, then waited to receive my card. It never came. Each time I followed up w/a call to customer service and was told they were unable to contact me as there was no number listed in my Equifax report in the consumer area...that there was a hold on my account. More than frustrating as each inquiry is a hard hit on your credit report and then you are denied. A waste if time and credit inquiries.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Odd Process to Obtain
cal50sgal Cardholder

I had this card before and never had any issues, however decided to close it. To date I have applied twice, been approved both times, paid the processing fee, and then when the card doesn't come have been told it was because I did not have a contact number on my credit report with Equifax. For this you will be denied.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank MasterCard® Credit Card