First PREMIER® Bank Classic Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 09, 2017
Crooks!!!!
ld333 Cardholder

Outrageous fees! You can never get ahead on this card! $20+++ interest charge on purchases every month when I'm not even actively making any purchases! Plus another monthly fee on top of that! NO grace period, so you will get charged $38 for just ONE day late! They don't care if your have a 2 year history of consistent on time payments, they won't cut you slack for a one day late. Errors on their online system. One page shows one minimum payment amount and another shows something completely different. Phone reps could care less and have no help to offer, just say, "it must be an error," and that's it. Don't you care about fixing your error???? Unbelievable! Worst card ever!!!! Stay away! If you're trying to build credit, this will NOT get you ahead...they make it impossible! There are good ones out there. This one's HORRIBLE!!!!

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Only good for initial credit building
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card because my credit was poor and I needed to get a credit card to improve my status. First Premier was one of the only cards that was willing to give me credit. I have had this card for about a year and half. If you have poor credit and are in a similiar situation as I was, then I would consider getting this card, beware though because they are many fees. When you initially get the card there are set-up fees, and on top of that they have an annual fee for the card. Even once you have your balance down to 0, they still charge you $8.00 a month to keep the card open. If you want to get a credit limit increase, they most likely won't approve you "because you have not have had the card for long enough" even though the balance is $0 and I have had the card for almost 2 years. Even if you do get a credit increase, they will charge your card 25% of whatever the credit limit increase is. 

I think it is a scam, because even though they wouldn't offer me an increase, they offered me a second card with a $750 limit. Basically they would rather you open a new card so they can charge you for fees on both accounts. The only reason why I am keeping this card is because it is the card that I have had the longest, and I don't want to close it and have my score drop. 

I will say within a few months of having the card and paying on time, my score did increase and I was offered a MUCH better Capital One account. Beware, if you miss your payment by even one day, you will get about 10 phone calls a day from random numbers across the country asking about your payment. 

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
Use responsibly, not cheap
Anonymous Cardholder

Received an card offer a year and a half ago(paid $89 fee plus $8 monthly fee for annual fee) Since then received only a $100 increase with a fee to a total of $400 credit line.
Then just received another offer this time for a platinum card for a $700 limit ( again expensive to open now I have $613 to start with). Can't get accepted elsewhere because of my stupid mistakes, so I really can't complain. Advice: call the number on your card and pay over the phone using automated system and use your debt card to insure payment is on time and funds made available next day. Payment withdrawn immediately. Good luck and be responsible, ASK QUESTIONS AND READ FINE PRINT. You can change your mind and get a refund. PS: for me, no customer service issues. I'll keep you updated. Overall great experience so far.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
How they operate legally is beyond me.
Anonymous Cardholder

Do NOT expect anything from this card. You use it once , pay your bill, your available credit stays at ZERO regardless of receiv9ng my payment 3 weeks ago. Avoid this card at ALL costs.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Horrible customer service!!
Jbressler88 Cardholder

I have 2 credit cards with these a-holes. I needed copies of my statements and was enrolled online for the electronic statements. I could not access but 3 statements for one of the cards, and none for the other. 

I made a call and the guy told me to login online. I asked if I could have hem emailed. I told him I had already done the enrolling online but nothing was coming up. He offered to mail them to me at $3 per statement!!! 

I should have access for FREE to ALL of my records and statements WHENEVER I want! I should not have to pay $3 PER STATEMENT!! 

So ridiculous! 

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Waste of time, money, effort.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved last year for $300 and honestly I didn't really enjoy it because I was only able to use $205 due to fees and etc being a new account holder. I had a couple late payments and the company's customer service reps were very rude and their dispositions were terrible. Their tone is to either pay or get off the phone. I'm closing my account with them after my next payment. I wasn't treated like a customer they were concerned about but more like a junky who owed them money. They would call everyday to harrass me about my payments being late and wouldn't offer any options or assistance on making my payments easier to fulfill. I highly recommend everyone NOT to apply for a credit card from this bank. They're terrible.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
JUST...DON'T DO IT!
djpapabear Cardholder

I got a pre-approved offer that failed to explain that I was going to be charged a $95 program fee just for signing up and another $99 annual fee. $194 for $400 worth of credit? I am not that desperate today! 

Thankfully, they cheerfully cancelled my account and refunded the $95, after offering me a whopping $10 discount to try and keep me onboard. 

Don't even consider this one an option unless you are just plain depserate to build your credit and you have an extra $194 laying around. 

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Trash
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't do it. This had got to be the worst card out here. The customer service is trash. The interest rate is trash. Their Turn around time is even more trash. I got it to help me increase my credit but they make me want to give up.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
sandymile123 Cardholder

Worst Credit Card Ever , Try another alternative to build up your credit .

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Go with another company
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card being a 25yr old female with no debt and no credit. Unfortunately our society relies on needing debt which I had prided myself upon not having any and not owing any financial institution l. I had to gain this card to start a credit background. They have high rate which is not helpful nor do they decrease it. Also if you had it as long as I have 6+ yrs and an option for an increase is available (which they will offer) comes with a 25% charge to do so. I have since then completely created a great credit background and have multiple accounts with other major creditors. Do not go with this company. I keep them for the history for my credit. They are a sham and horrible to deal with. Go with the first step of Capitol One. I wouldn't recommend first premier and would hate for you to go with them.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank Classic Credit Card