First PREMIER® Bank Classic Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 02, 2017
Scam card is more like it
Anonymous Cardholder

I closed my account in August 2017 and paid it off in full, I received a bill for a 30.00 late fee and a 12.00 monthly fee.  Both charges are fraudulent and I just received another 42.00, fee again!  Costumer service gave a ridiculous excuse, won’t take charges off! Don’t use this card it’s fraudulent charges and fees are a scam!!

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
lousy customer service and website
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm constantly calling this company with problems. Always having trouble making online payments, and dealing with idiotic phone reps. They take the payment over the phone and "fix" the log in issue. But next time I log in it's still messed up.

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Corgilove4 Cardholder

Horrible credit card to rebuild credit. I lost my husband to a motorcycle accident in 2012 and I was trying to rebuild my credit - at first this was not a bad credit card but now my minimum due is more than my credit limit. Think twice before applying and using this credit card. They will constantly call and harrass you even after you explain that you are having financial difficulties.

more ...
Sep 02, 2017
Sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is for consumers who are trying to rebuild their credit. However while I was hospitalized I was trying my best to have payments made but unfortunately and the two years that I have the card I had a total of three return payments. Although my pay history was good the company decided to close my account because of the issues with the return checks despite the fact that I was hospitalized and there was nothing I could do about transferring the funds. I would think twice about using this company. And when I called the company to confirm with the status of the account was because I was trying to avoid it being closed I was told the account was in good standing and it was open and that was a lie.

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
First Premier should be Last Premier
FaithSeeker Cardholder

We have just been hit by a major storm down here in Texas. I called for a credit increase because my family needs food. They could of have cared less. The Rep that answered the phone was not even interested or compassionate about the devastation here. As soon as I can pay this card off, ITS GONE!

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Crooks!!!!
ld333 Cardholder

Outrageous fees! You can never get ahead on this card! $20+++ interest charge on purchases every month when I'm not even actively making any purchases! Plus another monthly fee on top of that! NO grace period, so you will get charged $38 for just ONE day late! They don't care if your have a 2 year history of consistent on time payments, they won't cut you slack for a one day late. Errors on their online system. One page shows one minimum payment amount and another shows something completely different. Phone reps could care less and have no help to offer, just say, "it must be an error," and that's it. Don't you care about fixing your error???? Unbelievable! Worst card ever!!!! Stay away! If you're trying to build credit, this will NOT get you ahead...they make it impossible! There are good ones out there. This one's HORRIBLE!!!!

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Only good for initial credit building
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card because my credit was poor and I needed to get a credit card to improve my status. First Premier was one of the only cards that was willing to give me credit. I have had this card for about a year and half. If you have poor credit and are in a similiar situation as I was, then I would consider getting this card, beware though because they are many fees. When you initially get the card there are set-up fees, and on top of that they have an annual fee for the card. Even once you have your balance down to 0, they still charge you $8.00 a month to keep the card open. If you want to get a credit limit increase, they most likely won't approve you "because you have not have had the card for long enough" even though the balance is $0 and I have had the card for almost 2 years. Even if you do get a credit increase, they will charge your card 25% of whatever the credit limit increase is. 

I think it is a scam, because even though they wouldn't offer me an increase, they offered me a second card with a $750 limit. Basically they would rather you open a new card so they can charge you for fees on both accounts. The only reason why I am keeping this card is because it is the card that I have had the longest, and I don't want to close it and have my score drop. 

I will say within a few months of having the card and paying on time, my score did increase and I was offered a MUCH better Capital One account. Beware, if you miss your payment by even one day, you will get about 10 phone calls a day from random numbers across the country asking about your payment. 

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
Use responsibly, not cheap
Anonymous Cardholder

Received an card offer a year and a half ago(paid $89 fee plus $8 monthly fee for annual fee) Since then received only a $100 increase with a fee to a total of $400 credit line.
Then just received another offer this time for a platinum card for a $700 limit ( again expensive to open now I have $613 to start with). Can't get accepted elsewhere because of my stupid mistakes, so I really can't complain. Advice: call the number on your card and pay over the phone using automated system and use your debt card to insure payment is on time and funds made available next day. Payment withdrawn immediately. Good luck and be responsible, ASK QUESTIONS AND READ FINE PRINT. You can change your mind and get a refund. PS: for me, no customer service issues. I'll keep you updated. Overall great experience so far.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
How they operate legally is beyond me.
Anonymous Cardholder

Do NOT expect anything from this card. You use it once , pay your bill, your available credit stays at ZERO regardless of receiv9ng my payment 3 weeks ago. Avoid this card at ALL costs.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Horrible customer service!!
Jbressler88 Cardholder

I have 2 credit cards with these a-holes. I needed copies of my statements and was enrolled online for the electronic statements. I could not access but 3 statements for one of the cards, and none for the other. 

I made a call and the guy told me to login online. I asked if I could have hem emailed. I told him I had already done the enrolling online but nothing was coming up. He offered to mail them to me at $3 per statement!!! 

I should have access for FREE to ALL of my records and statements WHENEVER I want! I should not have to pay $3 PER STATEMENT!! 

So ridiculous! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank Classic Credit Card