Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank Classic Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 23, 2014
2 Cards, High APR% Read Why I keep them
val45antique Cardholder

I have 2 First Premier Cards, These are my two oldest Cards. 1 Mastercard CL(500) and 1 Visa (800)CL.

Now I have a credit score of 769 so why the hell would I keep these cards? 

Simple they are my oldest cards + they have a monthly fee of $7. So It is a extra two payments everymonth that reflect good on my credit. In just under 2 years I have gone from 500-760+ CS. It is doable guys. 

The APR is insane at 29.99%, have never called to ask for a CL increase. I call ever year to get the $55 anual fee waived which is ontop of the $7 monthly fee. They dont pull my credit just do it because i pay em $14 bucks a month. 

If you are rebuilding your credit this is pretty much your only option, First Savings, etc Applied Bank, First Premier is a leader among bullies in the poor credit catagorey. 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 19, 2010
tjdutch Cardholder

I have one, rebuliding my credit score.  Just by opening it my credit has went up 3 points.  And went up another 6 points after the second month of on time, i pay the full balance, seems to be working to rebuild my credit.  If you pay the balance in full you will not get charged the interest, they have a 25 day grace period.  I don't really mind the high interest, i never carry a balance on it.   I was approved for 300, paid a 45 dollar processing fee, and they charged my card a 75 annual fee.  Way high, but with my credit history, some poeple have to pay to get their credit back on track.  I have this card, 1 orchard classic and two secured cards from applied bank.  they are all reporting on my credit and my score has significantly improved from the last two months.

more ...

Reviews (119)

Add Review
Oct 19, 2016
karesahrs Cardholder

First off, they charge a $75 before you even use the card that you have to pay back. Secondly, they charge a 14.99 fee after you first year which is terrible for me because I do have a balance to pay however, I haven't used my card for over 10 months because I am paying down my balance but say my balance is $650.00 and I pay the minimum balance of $45.00, that should leave my balance at $605.00 but with the extra charges and monthly fee of $14.99 my balance would be about $637.00 as if I only paid $13.00 instead of $45.00 which is ridiculous. I also decided to inquire about a credit increase to get my credit score higher and the rep told me that I was one of their top customers because of my activity/payment history (as they tell everyone who pays on time) and I did qualify for an increase of $100.00 but it would cost $25.00 and that I have been selected for a 2nd guaranteed credit card with them. I declined both, I’ve been paying on time and been a model customer for over a year and it honestly seems like they just want to keep charging you and finding fees. Now they're emailing me every other day about how I am guaranteed a second card but I don't want 2 headaches when i can just deal with one.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Do not get this card
Anonymous Cardholder

Please do not apply for this card! There are other credit card companies that will help people who are trying to build their credit  this companies rips you off of your hard earned money. Please do not get yourself tangled up with this company

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Don't ever get this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Low limits and really hurts your score if use to much
Line of credit. Their credit increases are crap and they will charge you for an increase. I closed both accounts had a hard time doing your balance in full every month.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This credit card company is terrible!!! They closed my account because I put in my account information wrong and got returned payments. I called the customer service line and got a referrall for my account to be re-opened, faxed in my statements to prove the account #. After waiting almost 2 weeks, I still got denied for account re-opening. I have learned my lesson and will be very cautious next time.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away fees not worth. It

more ...
Aug 23, 2016

Stay away..LOTS of fee and when you try to cancel your card they still add fees. you are going to pay them back triple or more of what the original price was on what you purchased

Aug 20, 2016
They are horrendous
faint255 Cardholder

I will put this way:  Everything Captial One is,  they should aspire to be because they are that bad.  I cannot emphasize enough how bad their customer is, especially their supposedly easy way paying online approach.  Their online method to pay is so bad that even the customer representative couldn't aid me with checking if I had setup my online payment correctly.  As a result,  my payment wasn't successful and they in turn closed my account. A habbit that they exhbited that I strongly disliked was their practice to call me anonynously and failing to announce themsleves as premier bank.  So if you get an offer from them, no matter how enticing it my sound, don't.  Look elseware and go with a reputable creditor.  

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
Way too long to make payment available!
Polkton Cardholder

The card charges a fee for everything. I expected this because of my low credit score. That is not the problem. The problem is that I made a payment of over $600 to pay off my balance and this payment was credited on 18 July. On the 28th of July, I called the company because the payment was still not reflecting in my available credit. A customer service rep informed me that it was the company policy to put a hold on any amount larger than the minimum payment. The rep also told me that the larger the payment, the longer the hold. I found out that they had placed a 20 day hold on the funds. That's right, 20 days. Unbelievable. I wonder if they would allow me to make a payment and then tell them there was a 20 day hold before my bank would actually release the funds to them. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016

This price we pay for having bad credit score. I believe the service rep is right (A customer service rep informed me that it was the company policy to put a hold on any amount larger than the minimum payment) cause my CL is 200.00. min payment 30.00, I paid my blance in full it took 9days to clear.

Sep 01, 2016


Jul 26, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This is the worst credit card ever do not recommend if you want to rebuild your credit they over charged me $250 I talked to some one on Friday to reverse the charges and the lady took it off and 4 days later it was back and on and no one can tell me why and every time I talk to some one they tell me something different this credit card company is a scam and they will take your money if your don't pay attention. Spent over 2 hours talking to 3 customer service  representative and talked to 2 supervisor and they all told me 3 different things 

more ...
Jul 14, 2016
First Premier great starter card
Rebelyn Cardholder

They do charge a $75 fee and the interest rate is high but for people, like myself, it's a price you pay to rebuild your credit. This is my 3rd month of having this card and so far, their customer service is great and you can also email them with questions and you'll get a response in 2 days max. I wouldn't suggest paying with an electronic check because it can take up to 10 days for processing at which time, you can't use your card. I pay with my debit card and by the next day, I've been able to use my card. It all depends on your banks processing time. I will probably close it out once my credit is in better shape. I would recommend this card to the others I've been offered.

more ...
Jun 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible, would not touch it with a pitchfork

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First PREMIER® Bank Classic Credit Card