Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First National Bank of Omaha Platinum Edition® Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 18, 2016
Got this card in January
FloridaPerry Cardholder

with a $1300 limit. Use and pay off before the billing cycle ends. I requested a limit to $5000 last weekend. Checked my account on Monday and the new limit was $5000. I have no complaints thus far.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 31, 2016
Horrible customer service
moek7 Cardholder

I have a $25,000 limit card, great credit and have had an account with FNBO for 19 years.  I noticed a series of small fraudulent charges and submitted a police report.  When I followed up with customer service to reverse the fees she said they would not do it as it was bad for them to have a charge back.  The charges were only about $200.  I asked if she was willing to lose a customer and she said she was fine with it!!  I would have cancelled it right then but it would affect my credit.  Please don't use these idiots!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2017
Great looking packaging but BEWARE
bhh1020 Cardholder

FNB will reward you with higher credit limits HOWEVER if you use any portion of the credit BEWARE they will immediately reduce your credit so you are suddenly using 70%+ of your credit and your score takes a HUGE hit.  They have done this to me THREE TIMES!  I have been with FNB for over 6 years. 

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Card OK but This Bank traps u 4 latefees
rickchester77 Cardholder

I have had this banks cc for less than a year and a week ago I noticed this bank did not cash my payment check from 4 weeks ago so I called them thinking I was going to talk to intelligent life.    First lady I spoke to all but called me a liar.  Second lady issues a grace credit for the late fees but says I am on probation.  I then get the overdue statement in the mail.  I make full payment and put it in the envelope when I notice that the envelope is too big for the remittance coupon so the coupon slides around so the mail too address is unreadable.  I took a picture as proof.  This is the reason they failed to get my payment.  I think they know about this because they put THEIR own PO BOX as a return address so anything not delivered gets dumped into that ‘rejection’ box to be sorted out later.  The second lady admitted that is it common for payments to take SIX WEEKS to hit the account so this obviously is what happened.  Is this a scam to get late fees?????  I called them back with all this info and the guy again all but called me a liar, refused to look at these photo and further threatened that if payment was not received in 7 days that they would call me every day to get payment.  Do not do business with this bank.  I have a net worth of over half a million, owe no debts and keep cc for the convenience factor and delt with Chase, Discover, Amex and more for decades with no problems like this.  I do not need this hassle from this two bit bank.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Do they even want their job?
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service rep will do anything they can NOT to help and get you off the phone. If they would put the same amount of effort into helping it would be a much better experience.  I just worked with a guy name XXXXXXXXXX who was aweful, rude and sounded like he just wanted to be fired if his supervisor was listening.  This is my 3rd time calling them and all 3 reps were rude and short.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Horrible customer service
moek7 Cardholder

I have a $25,000 limit card, great credit and have had an account with FNBO for 19 years.  I noticed a series of small fraudulent charges and submitted a police report.  When I followed up with customer service to reverse the fees she said they would not do it as it was bad for them to have a charge back.  The charges were only about $200.  I asked if she was willing to lose a customer and she said she was fine with it!!  I would have cancelled it right then but it would affect my credit.  Please don't use these idiots!

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
PRIME for LIFE !!
Keelor Cardholder

Applied and received a $5700 limit. Did a balance tranfer of full amount and have been able to pay it down quickly at only 3.5% vs. 13.24%. Saving a ton of money. Yearly fee of $89 but seems to be worth it so far. Pretty good balance transfer card.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Love My Card
Arabus1987 Cardholder

I received this card in Febraury 2016.  I started out with a $2,800 credit limit.  Today I logged onto my account and my limit has increased to $10,000. My highest limit thus far.  The balance transfer offers on this card are remarkable.  5.9% on transfers.  I wish the rewards would be a little better but no one can beat their transfer fees.  Customer service has always been extremely helpful and pleasant.  Love this company so far.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
So far so good
lcarsonwynn Cardholder

I received a pre-qual offer in the mail a week ago and looked at it a few days and after researching, I saw all the bad reviews. I was thinking about dumping it but then decided to give it a try. Mortgage company says my scores are 599, 622 and 655 so I do not know which one was pulled but I got an email after applying saying my application was received and review takes about 10 to 14 days and 4 days later, I received an email that said I was approved and will recieve my card in 7 to 10 business days. I received my card about 6 days after that with a $2500 credit limit which is the highest limit I ever started with but not the highest limit but that works. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 29, 2016

FNBO is generous with credit limit increases. If you decide to ask for an increase make sure you call in and ask if you're elgible for a SP incease. If you request an increase via email o them it will be hard pull.

 
Sep 02, 2016
Decent Credit Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been a First National credit card customer for over 20 years, and I've never had any issues.  They have a decent rate and rewards program.  Their customer service has always been friendly and professional, whether it's for an inquiry, my mistake, or theirs.  They're a little slow with new technology updates.

The reason that I don't have any problems is because I take personal responsibility for keeping track of my credit, so I don't have issues with bad scores, missed payments, etc.  Too many people blame others for their messed up credit - like it's some kind of conspiracy or something.  No, it's acting like an adult!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Dishonest
Anonymous Cardholder

First National Bank is the most dishonest credit card company I have ever dealt with. They do everything in their power to make you late with payment; like the webite being down on day of payment, moving due date ahead as much as a week from the last payment. They raised my rate from 9.9% to 31% without notice and with my payments being current over 2 years. This is even after they promised to keep the current rate if I cut up the card and mailed it in. They did this because they informed me my rate would go up to 15% if I did not agree cut it up and send it in. I did but they raised it anyway to the point it more than doubled my usual minimum payment. When I could not pay the balance they put my account in collections after my paying as agreed for 2 years. They are dirty and I would advise anyone to not use this company. They are the only blemish on an otherwise perfect credit report and they use that against you to pull their dirty trick. I wish I had never heard of First National Bank of Omaha.  

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Unique
execudine1 Cardholder

Very pleasant experience working with FNB Omaha.  Nice Apps for phone/tablet to manage account.  Free FICO.  Card looks good.  Have Platinum card and earn cash or rewards.  Very competitive interest rate.  The often send me incentives to balance transfer.  They've increased my credit line so far no issues.  Currently at 15K.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 10, 2016

Hello. How long have you been with them? How much are the CL increases usually?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First National Bank of Omaha Platinum Edition® Visa® Credit Card