Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First National Bank of Omaha Platinum Edition® Visa® Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2011
herbert8549 Cardholder

recieved an offer of 9.99% rate for life, applied and recieved the card with a $2500 limit. i think both are good deals so far so good with this bank.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 07, 2013
rlo31 Cardholder

After only a couple months of having this card with a $1,700.00 limit, I had a problem with a car loan that posted in error a late pmt. it was quickly resolved and corrected, however First National (rightlfully) questioned a late pmt to another account, but decided to take away the original credit limit leaving me with a balance that showed about 95% usage, even after they saw and realized i in fact had never been late or missed any pmt in my life would not return the original credit limit, and we all know what a 95% usage does to your credit score, The money available is not the problem here, it is what First National did to my credit score after they realized I had done nothing wrong ! So, for customer service or satisfaction my grade is an F !

more ...

Reviews (90)

Add Review
Oct 13, 2016
What was the big deal

I applied for the card on 10/2/16 after one of my bank cards refused to lower my interest rate.  My application was in a pending status up until today, 10/13/16.  I was declined.  I was approved for a different Visa with another bank with a better rate, so I didn't care.  The dramatic wait is a bit much.  I wouldn't apply for any of their other products.  I'd prefer a decline on the spot vs the drawn out pending status followed by the ultimate decline.  Lame. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016

FBBO is conservative, and they always do a manual review. They are not a sub prime bank and they are very generous with the credit limit increases.

Oct 06, 2016
Keelor Cardholder

Applied and received a $5700 limit. Did a balance tranfer of full amount and have been able to pay it down quickly at only 3.5% vs. 13.24%. Saving a ton of money. Yearly fee of $89 but seems to be worth it so far. Pretty good balance transfer card.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Love My Card
Arabus1987 Cardholder

I received this card in Febraury 2016.  I started out with a $2,800 credit limit.  Today I logged onto my account and my limit has increased to $10,000. My highest limit thus far.  The balance transfer offers on this card are remarkable.  5.9% on transfers.  I wish the rewards would be a little better but no one can beat their transfer fees.  Customer service has always been extremely helpful and pleasant.  Love this company so far.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
So far so good
lcarsonwynn Cardholder

I received a pre-qual offer in the mail a week ago and looked at it a few days and after researching, I saw all the bad reviews. I was thinking about dumping it but then decided to give it a try. Mortgage company says my scores are 599, 622 and 655 so I do not know which one was pulled but I got an email after applying saying my application was received and review takes about 10 to 14 days and 4 days later, I received an email that said I was approved and will recieve my card in 7 to 10 business days. I received my card about 6 days after that with a $2500 credit limit which is the highest limit I ever started with but not the highest limit but that works. 

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Decent Credit Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been a First National credit card customer for over 20 years, and I've never had any issues.  They have a decent rate and rewards program.  Their customer service has always been friendly and professional, whether it's for an inquiry, my mistake, or theirs.  They're a little slow with new technology updates.

The reason that I don't have any problems is because I take personal responsibility for keeping track of my credit, so I don't have issues with bad scores, missed payments, etc.  Too many people blame others for their messed up credit - like it's some kind of conspiracy or something.  No, it's acting like an adult!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

First National Bank is the most dishonest credit card company I have ever dealt with. They do everything in their power to make you late with payment; like the webite being down on day of payment, moving due date ahead as much as a week from the last payment. They raised my rate from 9.9% to 31% without notice and with my payments being current over 2 years. This is even after they promised to keep the current rate if I cut up the card and mailed it in. They did this because they informed me my rate would go up to 15% if I did not agree cut it up and send it in. I did but they raised it anyway to the point it more than doubled my usual minimum payment. When I could not pay the balance they put my account in collections after my paying as agreed for 2 years. They are dirty and I would advise anyone to not use this company. They are the only blemish on an otherwise perfect credit report and they use that against you to pull their dirty trick. I wish I had never heard of First National Bank of Omaha.  

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
execudine1 Cardholder

Very pleasant experience working with FNB Omaha.  Nice Apps for phone/tablet to manage account.  Free FICO.  Card looks good.  Have Platinum card and earn cash or rewards.  Very competitive interest rate.  The often send me incentives to balance transfer.  They've increased my credit line so far no issues.  Currently at 15K.

more ...
Sep 10, 2016

Hello. How long have you been with them? How much are the CL increases usually?

Aug 06, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE. This bank is rediculously conservative and unscrupulous.  I joined a credit card consolidation program and in the process of getting a loan to pay off a measly $2800, they attempted to SUE me over this amount in court (its now on my record) even though they ended up getting their money through a completely legitimate process. Screw you Bank of Omaha!!!!! 

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I will never again apply for a card with this company. They do not care about their customers. I have been with them for 5 years & they refuse to lower my interest rate at all. Wont do anything for me except raise my credit limit... no thanks!! I would never recommend them to anyone.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First National Bank of Omaha Platinum Edition® Visa® Credit Card