First National Bank of Omaha Platinum Edition® Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2011
herbert8549 Cardholder

recieved an offer of 9.99% rate for life, applied and recieved the card with a $2500 limit. i think both are good deals so far so good with this bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 31, 2016
Horrible customer service
moek7 Cardholder

I have a $25,000 limit card, great credit and have had an account with FNBO for 19 years.  I noticed a series of small fraudulent charges and submitted a police report.  When I followed up with customer service to reverse the fees she said they would not do it as it was bad for them to have a charge back.  The charges were only about $200.  I asked if she was willing to lose a customer and she said she was fine with it!!  I would have cancelled it right then but it would affect my credit.  Please don't use these idiots!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 19, 2017
Impossible!
Anonymous Cardholder

There is almost no way to talk to a live person.  All the "contact us" numbers go to recorded messages.  It's as if they want you to close your account!  And I did.  I am greatly relieved to be done with them.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
DO NOT WASTE TIME WITH THIS BANK
Friesian Cardholder

I have had my account since 2009 but something changed over the last 2 years. Their terrible system is only surpasssed by their horrible customer service. In Oct of 2016 some portal they have in Texas got hacked and my account was comprimised here in Omaha so they shut the account down. This was only after I found it out because when trying to use my card online the address no longer matched. Then it took them 2 weeks to get a new card to me. Now we come to March of this year and my online payment already set up for all of 2016 and Jan & Feb of 2017 does not go through even though I got an e-mail saying it did. I find out about this through a letter 14 days later in the mail! Customer Service tells me I must have puched the wrong radio button for checking versus savings however there is NO radio buttons only a drop down menu to selet the already stored pmt. account. A "supervisor" makes a manual payment and guess what, it doesn't go through again. I find out again by mail 14 days later and now account has been suspended. I call again and this time force "supervisor" to make 3 way call with my bank where they tell him their system is dropping numbers off the account and that is why it isn't going through. Once again a manual payment is made and my bank tells him there are funds to pay they just need to submit it correctly. I ask supervisor to remove the suspension and he says he can't until they get the payment but as soon as they do the suspension will be removed. This time I watch my bank account and indeed the payment goes through. Flash forward to April, I am in a store and the card is declined. I come home and call to find out that "even though the account is now current, unless I show them proof of payment from my bank, I have to wait 10 business days for the hold to clear!

So bottom line, nothing was my fault but I am penalized. Have new Visa card on the way from a reliable bank and shut this one down. Save yourself a lot of time and hassle. Stay away from FNB Omaha, they no longer appreciate customers like they used to and their IT department needs help!

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Bait and Switch
Anonymous Cardholder

They send a fabulous offer - an American Express card at 4% interest.

They then follow-up by offering a miniscule credit limit and an $85 annual fee that augments that fees, and then send you a notice declaring that the interest rate is actually 20%,

They then make it difficult to cancel the card. My customer rep said "I'm sorry, our servers are down, you must talk to our promotions department."

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Worst Experience ever as a card holder
alexis1408 Cardholder

There is an anual $89 fee. The customer service and funds availability is horrible. If you pay on your balance, the funds will not be available until 2 weeks later. I had a pending transaction for 3 weeks and was advised the only way to get it removed was to provide the merchant with my personal information and to have them to call in and provide authorization codes. Everything with this card is a hassle. It's just best to get a secured card and a better quality card. First card ever where I will have kept for only 2 months. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Not worth it
alexis1408 Cardholder

This card has an $89 anual fee. If you pay your balance it can take up to two weeks for the funds to be available. If you have a pending transaction it can pend up to 21 day. The customer service is horrible. I had an item to pend for 21 days and was advised to get the merchant to call them with my personal info to get hold released. 

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Nothing but fees and bitter reps
Gordo999 Cardholder

Nasty customer service, turns card off for one late payment. Fees fees fees. Go elsewhere. .....others actually at least pretend to give a ......

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Great looking packaging but BEWARE
bhh1020 Cardholder

FNB will reward you with higher credit limits HOWEVER if you use any portion of the credit BEWARE they will immediately reduce your credit so you are suddenly using 70%+ of your credit and your score takes a HUGE hit.  They have done this to me THREE TIMES!  I have been with FNB for over 6 years. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 24, 2017

Was there something in your credit profile that may have triggered that? I'm really curious. I've got two FNBO cards and I'm leary that they'll balance chase on me and drop my limit.

 
Jan 05, 2017
Card OK but This Bank traps u 4 latefees
rickchester77 Cardholder

I have had this banks cc for less than a year and a week ago I noticed this bank did not cash my payment check from 4 weeks ago so I called them thinking I was going to talk to intelligent life.    First lady I spoke to all but called me a liar.  Second lady issues a grace credit for the late fees but says I am on probation.  I then get the overdue statement in the mail.  I make full payment and put it in the envelope when I notice that the envelope is too big for the remittance coupon so the coupon slides around so the mail too address is unreadable.  I took a picture as proof.  This is the reason they failed to get my payment.  I think they know about this because they put THEIR own PO BOX as a return address so anything not delivered gets dumped into that ‘rejection’ box to be sorted out later.  The second lady admitted that is it common for payments to take SIX WEEKS to hit the account so this obviously is what happened.  Is this a scam to get late fees?????  I called them back with all this info and the guy again all but called me a liar, refused to look at these photo and further threatened that if payment was not received in 7 days that they would call me every day to get payment.  Do not do business with this bank.  I have a net worth of over half a million, owe no debts and keep cc for the convenience factor and delt with Chase, Discover, Amex and more for decades with no problems like this.  I do not need this hassle from this two bit bank.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Do they even want their job?
Anonymous Cardholder

The customer service rep will do anything they can NOT to help and get you off the phone. If they would put the same amount of effort into helping it would be a much better experience.  I just worked with a guy name XXXXXXXXXX who was aweful, rude and sounded like he just wanted to be fired if his supervisor was listening.  This is my 3rd time calling them and all 3 reps were rude and short.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Horrible customer service
moek7 Cardholder

I have a $25,000 limit card, great credit and have had an account with FNBO for 19 years.  I noticed a series of small fraudulent charges and submitted a police report.  When I followed up with customer service to reverse the fees she said they would not do it as it was bad for them to have a charge back.  The charges were only about $200.  I asked if she was willing to lose a customer and she said she was fine with it!!  I would have cancelled it right then but it would affect my credit.  Please don't use these idiots!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

First National Bank of Omaha Platinum Edition® Visa® Credit Card