Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

All Discover® Credit Cards

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 11, 2012
mcraemark2 Cardholder

Customer Service is the Best.... call in to applied for Discover Credit Card have to speak with credit concellor after verified i was approved for $1,800 credit score Transunion 668 Equafax 678 and Experian 679 apr for 6 months after my apr will be 22% intended to called to lower apr ...Credit score is now 734 Transunion.... 719 Equafax and 714 Experian.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 03, 2012
fair-weather friend
Karmancita Cardholder

I used to love this card for the cash back, and because I'd had them since I was 18.  While strapped on disability after surgery, I found that Wells Fargo had committed an error with my banking and mortgage, and suddenly Discover sent me a letter taking my credit limit from 25K down to $500!   Though I was able to get WF to correct the problem, Discover refused to correct the credit  reversal.  I had ALWAYS paid my account in full each month, and hadn't even used their card in the previous 5 years (because my credit union is the BEST).  I wrote customer service, spoke with management, and no luck.  Eventually I got a letter congratulating me on my great credit.... but too late.  I don't need cards who don't correct banking errors.  I'll only use them again if I can benefit from it in some way.  

more ...

Reviews (43)

Add Review
Oct 08, 2016
Very good card for travelers
Upsetaccountant Cardholder

I have been a Discover card member for almost 10 years and haven't had a complaint. I like Discover Card's fraud protection services. The company actually monitors their customer's accounts. I received a call from Discover Card's Fraud prevention team, asking if I was currently on the east coast (I live in the SF Bay Area), and was I trying to use my Discover card at a Target store. When I told the agent, I was not and my card was currently in my wallet, she immediately cancelled and told me that I will have a new card sent via Federal Express by close of business the next day. True to her word I received my new card.

Generally, I don't give reviews, but in this case the company deserves some credit. Many have written about their horrible experiences with customer service. I am fortunate not to have experienced the same.

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Awesome Cardi
Anonymous Cardholder

I Love my Discover It card.

more ...
Jul 22, 2016

Applied twice was denied maybe its a good thing after all reading these reviews no thanks i will stick with the cards i have

more ...
May 17, 2016
Arrogance and indifference
russellpoore Cardholder

If you expect Discover to be anything like their TV motto, "We treat you like you treat you" you will be in for a huge disappointment the first time you try to talk to them.  For some time now I have tried to get Discover Financial to correct some of the information about my account that they report to the various credit bureaus. Discover's response is always “It's correct if we say it's correct. We are Discover and we don't have to verify anything and we don't have to prove anything. We will report whatever we want and there's nothing you or anybody else can do about it.  Shut up and go away”.

more ...
Apr 08, 2016
Loving it at every step!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have their credit cards and I use their banking services as well. Can't find a better bank! The only downside is the website - it could be a bit better. 

more ...
Oct 21, 2015
duranwaters Cardholder

I got this card and use it once, setup autopay and my bank information. I Iwent on my way because all of my other cards were  setup fine and take the  money from my account without any issues. This is the only card that didn't take the payment for 60 days. No commmunication to me at all. I checked my credit and I was hit with a late payment on my credit.

I called in and they tell me we are sorry for not contacting you, but we cant fix it.. WOW.. pay the balance in full .. now closing the card once payment post and i see zero balance.. HORRiBLE

more ...
Feb 28, 2015
Best Credit Card I Have Had in 50 Years
Colomountaineer Cardholder

This may sound like an ad for Discover Card, but I have had one since 1991, and I have never had a bad customer service experience with them. I like when they send me a text when an unusual purchase is being made, or a purchase in another state that I don't frequent. They have built-in fraud protection. You can use their password strength meter to check the strength of any of your passwords.

In the 23+ years I've been with Discover Card, I have earned at least $6,000 in cash back rewards. I have only paid a penalty fee once, and it was my fault for missing a payment deadline (before auto pay was available). Other benefits (check for current ones): refund protection for 90-days up to $500, no fee cashback at checkout at participating stores, purchase protection for 90-days up to $500, extended product warranties up to one extra year, built-in 24/7 fraud protection, price protection for 90-days up to $500 on eligible items, and special 5% cashback deals.

Discover Card is the best credit card I have had during my life. Hands down. No exceptions. Thank you Discover Card.

more ...
Feb 05, 2015
Feel getting robbed by the company
Anonymous Cardholder

Discover closed my credit card account today without advanced notice. I just found it out today when I tried to buy stuff with the credit card. I had about two thousand dollars credit balance and cashback balance in my account when they closed it. I called their customer service and they told me to write a letter to one of their financial center to figure out the reason. This is 21st centurary and I have to use paper letter to resolve this issue and get my money back? You must be kidding me. I think they just try NOT to pay the large cashback balance to me. I filed complaints against them and will never use their credit card again.

more ...
Jan 23, 2015

Got good credit history and got good credit score.

Got approved for 1000. Difficult to maintain such a low limit credit card? Closed my application sooner I knew it

Even customercare wasn't helpful and bit rude when I asked them why?

That amount should be approved for one who trys to build the credit score but not he one who have the credit score.

They dont treat you like you treat you.

Waste waste waste

more ...
Nov 27, 2014
WARNING !Dont apply for a discovery card

I have good credit and applied got turned down iask to apply for secured card they said i dont qualify jnbelievable 656 fico score i recommend applying for Wells fargo they have great customer setvice and approved me no problem discovery card is a joke dont apply for it there customer service is worse then the worst was on phone 2 hours waiting for customer service agent and was transfered 34 times to no were i strongly recommend not to apply for discover card ty

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

All Discover® Credit Cards