Conn's Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 07, 2014
Building credit on Big Ticket Items
heartbeat96 Cardholder

I've had the best experience with Conn's, and their extending credit to me to purchase an up level Washer / Dryer laundry system. Yes there are two different financing options, one for those that may be somewhat credit challenged (like me), and those that have near perfect credit. Obviously the first type of account has a pretty steep interest rate, but if paid on time, you do have early pay off options that will reduce the cost of financing. Granted the second option's interest rate is ultra low (which is where I'll be on my next purchase agreement). I have to chuckle as folks here are rating Conn's poorly? If you pay your bills early or even on time, then doors will open in the credit arena. I've never had anything but the best experience with the sales people, the crew at the front when you first walk into Conn's, and the customer service staff on the phone. I'm thankful they've approved me for my high end appliances. And  in the future I will be in a different credit bracket, which will ultimately save me 100's if not 1000's on the financing costs. Frankly I love Conn's. One more thing, GE Capital is one of the biggest, if not the biggest financial institution out there. If you have them as a creditor, consider yourself a good credit risk. Why others have come here and posted negativity about GE CAPITAL is beyond me. They are in business to provide the consumer with credit, yes there are credit standards that have to be adhered to, then again, purchasing something now and paying for later is still a luxury. Personally I'm thankful for GE CAPTIAL, and the many doors their reputation will open for me in the future. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 03, 2014
Beware...
Anonymous Cardholder

You can get easily approved for these and buy a new surround system or washer/dryer etc. and it will help with your credit...HOWEVER--the hidden fees are pretty ridiculous and if you're even a day behind on your payment, they will harass you NON-STOP. I'm pretty good at paying my bills on time, but no joke, they called me 17 times while I was on vacation one weekend...because I forgot to pay the $22 minimum bill payment. I repeatedly asked them to stop calling me and got nothing but rude, aggressive reps. Never had such stress and turmoil in all my credit history! lol. Not worth the hassle. You're better off at IKEA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 07, 2017
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I walked in to Conn's with credit around the 550 mark. I compared pricing on Televisions at every major store. I found a deal here on a Samsung 4k TV that was the exact same pricing at Wal-Mart and Best Buy.  If you do your homework, they actually do have some good deals here. I was approved for about $5000, but I only spent about $750.  With interest the TV ended up being $950 over about 24 months. I paid it off in about a year. I made all of my payments early or on-time and avoided any annoying phone calls or late fees.  I would recommend anyone doing a little bit of research before they walk into the store, and know what product or purchase range you would like to be in so that you land a good price.  Salespeople are pretty aggressive in Conn's (I'm guessing because of the commissions), but it's a great way to build credit, and finance furniture, appliances, or electronics if you have poor credit.  I would advise everyone to keep up with payments, because from everything I read, they aggressively pursue you when you're late on payments.  Most of the negative feedback I read before walking into Conn's was centered around harrassment for late payments. Personally, I had no issues at all with Conn's because I made every payment on time.  

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Conns is horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Conns is horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Customers service reps take it personal!
Anonymous Cardholder

My account has been closed and charged off and every time I call the 1-800 number to make a payment I'm getting into an argument with the workers and I end up not paying anything, they take it personal like it's their money. I called three times, they get all in your personal business. If you are paying a bill 4 a charged off account you will do better to go to your local Conns store and make a payment because customers service representatives talk to you like its personal and they get all in their feelings and start talking like you are their child. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Never had a problem
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been using Conn's here in Tulsa Oklahoma for almost three years. They have been very friendly very helpful and very kind. They have held up to their end of the bargain. I love doing business with them and will do so in the future.

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Worst Company EVER
Anonymous Cardholder

This company is a total SCAM, don't buy anything from them.  They lie to you in the store and take advantage of you in every way.

more ...
May 27, 2016
NO account balance on my account
mikemodesette Cardholder

Why does conns not show an account balance on my account. Why are they choosing to hide it????????????????????????

more ...
May 26, 2016
Conns as a Credit Builder AAA+++
Anonymous Cardholder

First of all, do not expect Conn's to give great deals.  Your expectation should be to build credit.  People with excellent credit profiles wil shy away from Conn's, but if you work with Conn's and pay them on or before time, they are a valuable credit building tool.

I had a 576 credit score  this time last year, but was approved for $5000, zero interest for 12 months(same as cash).  I purchased a TV for approximately $2000 (which was a competitive price because it was Memorial Day weekend).  I worked with them before, and had to put money down, so this is a leg up!  

I just made my last payment (just before the interest kicked in).

Conns helped me establish payment history twice, and it helped me build the confidence to ask my credit union for credit.  When I applied for a credit card, the credit union countered with a $500 unsecured loan.  3 payments later, my CU gave me a credit card with a $1k limit, then a car.  All with much better interest rates then all of the other creditors.

I recommend that you accept Conns for what it is, an opportunity to build credit.  They do report to all three credit bureaus, and this is an excellent opportunity to get your credit profile into shape.

Now that I have moved to more of a mainsteam lender, I can now get better deals.

Conns is a good start.  Just get something inexpensive (or something you really, really need), and build from there.  Try and pay a week early (if you can) so they do not call you.

I give them an A+ for giving me an opportunity, and work on repairing your credit during this time.

Once you pay off the account and your credit score is better, move on to more mainstream creditors.

If my credit is impacted negatively again, I will definitely be back to Conn's.  Highly recommended to build up your credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 01, 2016

Are you sure you're credit score was 576 cause mine was between 600-631 and they said that I was only approved for a secure card where I have to use my money in order to get a cc from Conns

 
Apr 27, 2016
Love dealing with them!
BillinTN Cardholder

I was a little nervious about doing business with them, but let me tell you, I am so happy i did!   I got a preapproval letter for 2000 but when I actually applied I got 7000 credit with no down payment and 12months interest free!  I purchased about 3700 worth of stuff and even opted in for their insurance.  My min payment was 179.  Now, keep in mind that they are like most stores, the interest is close to 21%.  So, I just set a little extra aside each month so I will be able to pay it off in 12months and save a lot of money.  I would def recommend them to anyone needing the items they offer and needing help with credit.    They are a little higher on items but not bad.  Again, overall I give them 5 stars!  They made me feel welcome, took great care of me and I am very happy with my items!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 27, 2016

It's 21 percent for each month after the year is up?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Conn's Credit Card