Conn's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 07, 2017
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I walked in to Conn's with credit around the 550 mark. I compared pricing on Televisions at every major store. I found a deal here on a Samsung 4k TV that was the exact same pricing at Wal-Mart and Best Buy.  If you do your homework, they actually do have some good deals here. I was approved for about $5000, but I only spent about $750.  With interest the TV ended up being $950 over about 24 months. I paid it off in about a year. I made all of my payments early or on-time and avoided any annoying phone calls or late fees.  I would recommend anyone doing a little bit of research before they walk into the store, and know what product or purchase range you would like to be in so that you land a good price.  Salespeople are pretty aggressive in Conn's (I'm guessing because of the commissions), but it's a great way to build credit, and finance furniture, appliances, or electronics if you have poor credit.  I would advise everyone to keep up with payments, because from everything I read, they aggressively pursue you when you're late on payments.  Most of the negative feedback I read before walking into Conn's was centered around harrassment for late payments. Personally, I had no issues at all with Conn's because I made every payment on time.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 20, 2017
Be VERY Wary of theis Company
BobbyJTX Cardholder

As I was just beginning to rebuild my credit, I applied for credit at Conn's. Synchrony Financial, who provides the credit card, turned me down, but I qualified for Conn's Yes Money finance plan, which offers 12 months same as cash. With that, I purchased a couple pieces of much-needed furniture. It was way overpriced, but the trade-off was the opportunity to maintain a positive credit line. Because the Yes Money plan is a secured loan--meaning that they can repo the merchandise if you don't pay--the buyer is required to purchase an accompanying insurance plan for the company's protection in case of  consumer default.  That's completely normal. My plan was to pay off the full amount within the 12 months because after 12 months, interest kicks in retroactively, meaning that you pay a very high interest rate all the way back to the beginning and for 24 months afterward. For me, that would have meant paying more than triple for the already overpriced furniture. I ended up paying off the full amount of the loan within 11 months. I  went to the store to make my last payment, so that I could request a "Paid in Full" receipt. They assured me that I had indeed paid in full, but that I would receive a letter in the mail from corporate in a few days. It would show that the debt was satisfied, and that my balance was zero.  When I didn't receive that letter after a couple weeks, I logged into my account online to see what was up. There, I found that my account still had an eight-dollar balance.  Then, I called to find out why. Apparently, when I paid off the account, Conn's had failed to cancel the insurance, so I was assessed another monthly premium just a few weeks before my 12-month mark. The rep I spoke with told me that if I were to ignore that $8, the clock would restart on my account, and I would automatically owe 36 months of interest. However, she told me that because it was a "simple oversight", she could probably credit me the eight dollars and then, I'd receive my "Paid in Full" letter in a couple weeks. I decided NOT to chance it, and I went online and paid that ****ed 8 bucks right then. I then called and made certain that the insurance on the account was definitely cancelled.  While I have no proof that they tried to pull a fast one on me, I'm HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS of them. After more than a year, I never received the "Paid in Full" letter I was promised, but it does show paid and closed on my credit reports. If you can avoid Conn's Yes Money financing, I highly recommend that you do at all cost. However, if you do take the chance with them, make sure that you watch EVERY move they make. Conn's has always had the reputation of being a very sleazy company both to work for and to do business with.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 21, 2017
Rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card because I am trying to build my credit and I can honestly say it was the worst decision I could have ever made. It's not that I could not keep up with payments or anything like that but I applied for a credit card and got a payment booklet I wasn't able to see anything on my account as far as what they were charging me the man that I had spoke to in the store when I bought my bed set said that my bed with installation would be $1,100 and that was fine he said my minimum payments we're going to be about $60 a month and it sounded good at the time until I got my payment booklet and saw that I was going to be paying $60 a month from 2017 until 2020 I started making payments of $150 a month and after about 4 payments I checked online at my balance and saw my balance hadn't even moved! I called customer service right away and told them I wanted to pay the card off completely they gave me my payment amount in full which I paid and they said that my account was going to close since there was no remaining balance. I wasted my time even getting this card and I feel sorry for anybody who uses this you seriously end up paying double for whatever you use the card for if you use it on top of all of this a month later I received an email saying that I still had one payment left because there was a small balance left on my account so again I had to call customer service and I told them there shouldn't be any kind of balance because I paid off the balance in full the previous month and they said the account was closing turns out they didn't close the account so I had to call back again a week later to make sure the account was closed because they still wanted to keep charging me. Do not get the Conn's credit card. You are better off applying for a bank card and using that to buy your furniture but I am never shopping for anything at Conn's again smh.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Oct 13, 2017

Such *******s liars

 
Aug 14, 2017
Not a Bad Choice.
Anonymous Cardholder

They have an excellent offer. One time my account got closed and charged off and i tried to get them remove that information from my credit file. They weren't helpful in doing that and it affected my score , wymandustyn (at) gmail (dot) com helped me get that information on my credit report even after i personally went to Conn's office to make an appeal. I never had any other issues with Conn's.

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Not a Bad Choice.
Anonymous Cardholder

They have an excellent offer. One time my account got closed and charged off and i tried to get them remove that information from my credit file. They weren't helpful in doing that and it affected my score , wymandustyn (at) gmail (dot) com helped me get that information on my credit report even after i personally went to Conn's office to make an appeal. I never had any other issues with Conn's.

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Dont do it.
Anonymous Cardholder

You will regret it.

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Never had any problems
DownSouth706 Cardholder

On my first visit to Conns, I only qualified for the Acceptance Now program. I purchased a Samsung 55 inch tv and paid it off in 90 days. Went back in and purchased a Kamado Joe grill. This time I qualified for the Yes Money. Paid on it for about 7 months and went back in and added a MacBook to my account. No problem at all.

So recently, I found myself in need of a new refrigerator. I went into Conns and found what I wanted. Applied for it and this time, Synchrony approved me.

Long story short. I have nothing but good to say about Conns. I pay my bill on time every month and have never had any issue with them at all.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Be VERY Wary of theis Company
BobbyJTX Cardholder

As I was just beginning to rebuild my credit, I applied for credit at Conn's. Synchrony Financial, who provides the credit card, turned me down, but I qualified for Conn's Yes Money finance plan, which offers 12 months same as cash. With that, I purchased a couple pieces of much-needed furniture. It was way overpriced, but the trade-off was the opportunity to maintain a positive credit line. Because the Yes Money plan is a secured loan--meaning that they can repo the merchandise if you don't pay--the buyer is required to purchase an accompanying insurance plan for the company's protection in case of  consumer default.  That's completely normal. My plan was to pay off the full amount within the 12 months because after 12 months, interest kicks in retroactively, meaning that you pay a very high interest rate all the way back to the beginning and for 24 months afterward. For me, that would have meant paying more than triple for the already overpriced furniture. I ended up paying off the full amount of the loan within 11 months. I  went to the store to make my last payment, so that I could request a "Paid in Full" receipt. They assured me that I had indeed paid in full, but that I would receive a letter in the mail from corporate in a few days. It would show that the debt was satisfied, and that my balance was zero.  When I didn't receive that letter after a couple weeks, I logged into my account online to see what was up. There, I found that my account still had an eight-dollar balance.  Then, I called to find out why. Apparently, when I paid off the account, Conn's had failed to cancel the insurance, so I was assessed another monthly premium just a few weeks before my 12-month mark. The rep I spoke with told me that if I were to ignore that $8, the clock would restart on my account, and I would automatically owe 36 months of interest. However, she told me that because it was a "simple oversight", she could probably credit me the eight dollars and then, I'd receive my "Paid in Full" letter in a couple weeks. I decided NOT to chance it, and I went online and paid that ****ed 8 bucks right then. I then called and made certain that the insurance on the account was definitely cancelled.  While I have no proof that they tried to pull a fast one on me, I'm HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS of them. After more than a year, I never received the "Paid in Full" letter I was promised, but it does show paid and closed on my credit reports. If you can avoid Conn's Yes Money financing, I highly recommend that you do at all cost. However, if you do take the chance with them, make sure that you watch EVERY move they make. Conn's has always had the reputation of being a very sleazy company both to work for and to do business with.

more ...
May 15, 2017
I Recommend
Anonymous Cardholder

I strongly recommend that you sign up on their website for promotions and wait until you receive a special offer in the mail, such as 12mo no Interest with an additional 10% off! First time I used Conns it was with YES! Money. Loan payments in Texas by law provide customer with a 10 day grace period unless stated otherwise in the loan contract. Even though you have the 10 day grace period your payment is sitll due and Conns will call you NON-STOP REPEATEDLY FOREVER OVER AND OVER asking you how you'd like to make a payment. They will also send you emails and text messages, lol!  So far with the credit card I always pay early, but I'm sure they'll call you repeatedly forever one and over if you're late on your payment.   Other than this one gripe, i've had zero issues. I recommend it for those who can afford to make their payments on-time and fulfill their end of the loan.

more ...
May 02, 2017
Conns is a Con
Anonymous Cardholder

They tried to pull $600 out of my bank account for a late payment without my authorization. So I called them to dispute it. Said that I had to have authorized it and called me a liar when I said I didn't. I asked to speak with the manager. They said they could file a dispute which would take 30+ days for a refund, but in his time working there he has never seen a refund for an "authorized automatic draft". It would have sent me into the negatives. I then asked him what would you do in my situation then if you had an unauthorized charge and he said I don't know barrow money. I never authorized this payment!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I walked in to Conn's with credit around the 550 mark. I compared pricing on Televisions at every major store. I found a deal here on a Samsung 4k TV that was the exact same pricing at Wal-Mart and Best Buy.  If you do your homework, they actually do have some good deals here. I was approved for about $5000, but I only spent about $750.  With interest the TV ended up being $950 over about 24 months. I paid it off in about a year. I made all of my payments early or on-time and avoided any annoying phone calls or late fees.  I would recommend anyone doing a little bit of research before they walk into the store, and know what product or purchase range you would like to be in so that you land a good price.  Salespeople are pretty aggressive in Conn's (I'm guessing because of the commissions), but it's a great way to build credit, and finance furniture, appliances, or electronics if you have poor credit.  I would advise everyone to keep up with payments, because from everything I read, they aggressively pursue you when you're late on payments.  Most of the negative feedback I read before walking into Conn's was centered around harrassment for late payments. Personally, I had no issues at all with Conn's because I made every payment on time.  

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Conns is horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Conn's Credit Card