Conn's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 07, 2017
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I walked in to Conn's with credit around the 550 mark. I compared pricing on Televisions at every major store. I found a deal here on a Samsung 4k TV that was the exact same pricing at Wal-Mart and Best Buy.  If you do your homework, they actually do have some good deals here. I was approved for about $5000, but I only spent about $750.  With interest the TV ended up being $950 over about 24 months. I paid it off in about a year. I made all of my payments early or on-time and avoided any annoying phone calls or late fees.  I would recommend anyone doing a little bit of research before they walk into the store, and know what product or purchase range you would like to be in so that you land a good price.  Salespeople are pretty aggressive in Conn's (I'm guessing because of the commissions), but it's a great way to build credit, and finance furniture, appliances, or electronics if you have poor credit.  I would advise everyone to keep up with payments, because from everything I read, they aggressively pursue you when you're late on payments.  Most of the negative feedback I read before walking into Conn's was centered around harrassment for late payments. Personally, I had no issues at all with Conn's because I made every payment on time.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 03, 2014
Beware...
Anonymous Cardholder

You can get easily approved for these and buy a new surround system or washer/dryer etc. and it will help with your credit...HOWEVER--the hidden fees are pretty ridiculous and if you're even a day behind on your payment, they will harass you NON-STOP. I'm pretty good at paying my bills on time, but no joke, they called me 17 times while I was on vacation one weekend...because I forgot to pay the $22 minimum bill payment. I repeatedly asked them to stop calling me and got nothing but rude, aggressive reps. Never had such stress and turmoil in all my credit history! lol. Not worth the hassle. You're better off at IKEA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 20, 2017
Be VERY Wary of theis Company
BobbyJTX Cardholder

As I was just beginning to rebuild my credit, I applied for credit at Conn's. Synchrony Financial, who provides the credit card, turned me down, but I qualified for Conn's Yes Money finance plan, which offers 12 months same as cash. With that, I purchased a couple pieces of much-needed furniture. It was way overpriced, but the trade-off was the opportunity to maintain a positive credit line. Because the Yes Money plan is a secured loan--meaning that they can repo the merchandise if you don't pay--the buyer is required to purchase an accompanying insurance plan for the company's protection in case of  consumer default.  That's completely normal. My plan was to pay off the full amount within the 12 months because after 12 months, interest kicks in retroactively, meaning that you pay a very high interest rate all the way back to the beginning and for 24 months afterward. For me, that would have meant paying more than triple for the already overpriced furniture. I ended up paying off the full amount of the loan within 11 months. I  went to the store to make my last payment, so that I could request a "Paid in Full" receipt. They assured me that I had indeed paid in full, but that I would receive a letter in the mail from corporate in a few days. It would show that the debt was satisfied, and that my balance was zero.  When I didn't receive that letter after a couple weeks, I logged into my account online to see what was up. There, I found that my account still had an eight-dollar balance.  Then, I called to find out why. Apparently, when I paid off the account, Conn's had failed to cancel the insurance, so I was assessed another monthly premium just a few weeks before my 12-month mark. The rep I spoke with told me that if I were to ignore that $8, the clock would restart on my account, and I would automatically owe 36 months of interest. However, she told me that because it was a "simple oversight", she could probably credit me the eight dollars and then, I'd receive my "Paid in Full" letter in a couple weeks. I decided NOT to chance it, and I went online and paid that ****ed 8 bucks right then. I then called and made certain that the insurance on the account was definitely cancelled.  While I have no proof that they tried to pull a fast one on me, I'm HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS of them. After more than a year, I never received the "Paid in Full" letter I was promised, but it does show paid and closed on my credit reports. If you can avoid Conn's Yes Money financing, I highly recommend that you do at all cost. However, if you do take the chance with them, make sure that you watch EVERY move they make. Conn's has always had the reputation of being a very sleazy company both to work for and to do business with.

more ...
May 15, 2017
I Recommend
Anonymous Cardholder

I strongly recommend that you sign up on their website for promotions and wait until you receive a special offer in the mail, such as 12mo no Interest with an additional 10% off! First time I used Conns it was with YES! Money. Loan payments in Texas by law provide customer with a 10 day grace period unless stated otherwise in the loan contract. Even though you have the 10 day grace period your payment is sitll due and Conns will call you NON-STOP REPEATEDLY FOREVER OVER AND OVER asking you how you'd like to make a payment. They will also send you emails and text messages, lol!  So far with the credit card I always pay early, but I'm sure they'll call you repeatedly forever one and over if you're late on your payment.   Other than this one gripe, i've had zero issues. I recommend it for those who can afford to make their payments on-time and fulfill their end of the loan.

more ...
May 02, 2017
Conns is a Con
Anonymous Cardholder

They tried to pull $600 out of my bank account for a late payment without my authorization. So I called them to dispute it. Said that I had to have authorized it and called me a liar when I said I didn't. I asked to speak with the manager. They said they could file a dispute which would take 30+ days for a refund, but in his time working there he has never seen a refund for an "authorized automatic draft". It would have sent me into the negatives. I then asked him what would you do in my situation then if you had an unauthorized charge and he said I don't know barrow money. I never authorized this payment!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Ethan2407 Cardholder

I walked in to Conn's with credit around the 550 mark. I compared pricing on Televisions at every major store. I found a deal here on a Samsung 4k TV that was the exact same pricing at Wal-Mart and Best Buy.  If you do your homework, they actually do have some good deals here. I was approved for about $5000, but I only spent about $750.  With interest the TV ended up being $950 over about 24 months. I paid it off in about a year. I made all of my payments early or on-time and avoided any annoying phone calls or late fees.  I would recommend anyone doing a little bit of research before they walk into the store, and know what product or purchase range you would like to be in so that you land a good price.  Salespeople are pretty aggressive in Conn's (I'm guessing because of the commissions), but it's a great way to build credit, and finance furniture, appliances, or electronics if you have poor credit.  I would advise everyone to keep up with payments, because from everything I read, they aggressively pursue you when you're late on payments.  Most of the negative feedback I read before walking into Conn's was centered around harrassment for late payments. Personally, I had no issues at all with Conn's because I made every payment on time.  

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Conns is horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Conns is horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Customers service reps take it personal!
Anonymous Cardholder

My account has been closed and charged off and every time I call the 1-800 number to make a payment I'm getting into an argument with the workers and I end up not paying anything, they take it personal like it's their money. I called three times, they get all in your personal business. If you are paying a bill 4 a charged off account you will do better to go to your local Conns store and make a payment because customers service representatives talk to you like its personal and they get all in their feelings and start talking like you are their child. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Never had a problem
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been using Conn's here in Tulsa Oklahoma for almost three years. They have been very friendly very helpful and very kind. They have held up to their end of the bargain. I love doing business with them and will do so in the future.

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Worst Company EVER
Anonymous Cardholder

This company is a total SCAM, don't buy anything from them.  They lie to you in the store and take advantage of you in every way.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Conn's Credit Card