Chase Sapphire® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2017
Big Disappointment
Anonymous Cardholder

After opening a card to use in connection with my AMEX Platinum card, I redeemed my points to book a hotel room.  Little did I know that I was assigned the worst hotel room in the building room - mildew and all for over $400/ night.  I tried to get a refund and Chase kept me on hold for over an hour - 2 different times.  No refund.  Points gone.  Vacation ruined.  I hope no one falls in to the same trap that I did.  This card is a fraud.  

AMEX always advocates for their customers.  Chase could care less.  DO NOT FALL FOR THIS CARD.  Worst experience ever.  

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Great!
Crimlaw1 Cardholder

Rewards aren't bad, but the best part is that Chase actually gives you a chance with marginal credit - when I applied I was in the lower 600's.  After talking to them and verifying some info I learned that I was approved.  I expected some crappy CL like $1000 or something, but got $9,000 instead!  Chase is in a war with AMEX so now is the time to apply!

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Bad customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

If you are paying yealry fee of $450, you demand good cutomer service.

Their website needs improvement too.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

If you redeem for airlines, you still have to pay additional to get assigned seats ahead of time.  You're better off getting a credit card directly through the airlines

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I just had the worst experience ever with this card.  I have been with Citi for 20 years and was recommended by a friend to try this card.  I signed up and was very excited about the 100k point offer, the rental car coverage and the access to certain airline lounges at international airports.  Since I was traveling overseas with my family, I asked the Chase rep about the Air France lounge at JFK.  She said that the card worked with that lounge and I could bring my family in with me assuming there was room.  I was excited to get the card just before the trip.  I arrived at the Air France lounge in Terminal 1 at JFK and spoek with the receptionist.  She said they don't work with any credit card companies but I was free to purchase 6 day passes for my family at $50 each.  I told her she must be wrong sicne the Chase person had told me I could get in.  The receptionist said that Chase was wrong.

I then called the Chase Sapphire Reserve phone number and the rep explained to me that I need to receive a separate card to get into the lounges (news to me) and that if I wanted to get into the Air France lounge, I could pay the day fee (which totalled $300) and they would reimburse for $100 of it.  There must be an agency you can call for false advertising.  I can't believe that they get away with this stuff.  I couldn't blame the rep since they have no power to fix these things but I immediately called the cancellation line and told them I can't believe that this is the way they treat customers.  Stay away from this card.  It is a total scam. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 16, 2017

It's known that you're to register for your Priority Pass card online thru the Chase website. Don't blame Chase on your incompetence. They send you the information in the packet that you receive when you get the card.

 
Dec 02, 2016
My Go to Card
Thedjwaver Cardholder

This card is my go to card when used in conjuction with my freedom card I accumilate plenty of Points. When i call in i get someone on the phone without going through a menue and they are very helpful!

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
Okay for rewards. Horrible for APR rates
Anonymous Cardholder

Long time Chase account holder for savings checking and credit. Liked that linking accounts gave additional rewards points and pleny of reward options. Just closed my account because For some reason they decided to raise my APR from 19 to over 25%! Never late on one payment. Credit score 793.  Always paid balances off within a couple months. Makes no sense. Departement stores have better APR. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 2,113
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Sapphire® Card