Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Marriott Rewards® Premier Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $85
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 13, 2016
Decent Everyday Card
rdb87 Cardholder

Got this card in Feb 2016 only becasue i recieved a prequal for the increased sign up bonus of 80k points on 3k in 3 months. I was still nervous to apply for it becasue i had just been approved for the AMEX PRG, and thought the recent inquires would hurt me.

To my great surprise I was approved, after chase called to verify my information, for $5,000 (my fist visa sig yay) at the lowest rate (16.24) Im thrilled, ive been an AU on a Chase sapphire card for over a year and never had problems with their customer service. I even called in when i recieved the card to confirm all the details of the sign up promo and the exact dates i had to meet the spend by(i highly recommend everyone do this for any new account) and the woman i spoke to was very helpful and polite.

At time of app i had 13 inqs (equifax), 23% util, and barely a year AAOA, my ck scores were 649, and 607. and as i said i had been approved for the PRG charge card less than 60 days before this.

premium cards arent out of reach just because you have a "low" score, ive got a spotless record for the past two years and i see it paying off now with the high end offers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 11, 2016
Good Rewards, IDIOTIC Customer Service
Eak2000 Cardholder

I have this card because I travel *a lot*. 150+ days a year. Plus, I only stay Hyatt and Marriott (Yes, I have their Hyatt Card, too). Plus, the 1 EQN (Elite Qualifying Night) for every $3000 spend is pretty amazing. (I spend ~$125,000/year on travel.) Between my travel spend and using this card for everyday purchases, the top tier status and free nights happen really quickly. Also, it has a very slick metal design and a pretty average APR. I'm at 16.99% and a 32k limit, which isn't as great as the 9.99% and 40k limit that PenFed offers, but I pay my cards off every month so who cares? The free night is kind-of Meh. Marriott has 8 Categories of hotel and the free night is only good for a Cat 1-4... The lowest-end Marriot in NYC--a Fairfield--is still Cat 5+. So, basically you can't actually use the free night anywhere you'd actually want to go. But if you get a random invite to a wedding in BFE or have an overnight layover at LAX and want somehwere to crash... then the free night is useful. Still, the point accrual and the EQNs are awesome.

The customer service/fraud protection, however, that Chase provides is abysmal. I travel a lot, so I'm used to getting false-positives for fraud on my card, and usually Chase calls me or texts and asks me if it was a legit expense. I confirm it, have the merchant run the card again, and all is good. I'm ok with that. Unfortunately, Chase has started randomly re-flagging my card for purchases that I've already confirmed as legit... and usually about a month after the charge was made, and after I've paid off the charge! So, obviously it's legit because a) I confirmed it was legit and b) I paid it. When I call in to complain my card has stopped working again, the customer service agent usually looks at the account, goes "that's odd... the charge was from a month ago and you already confirmed it. I don't understand why someone went in and manually re-flagged it." Then they unlock my card and give me 5k Marriott points as an apology. Then, like clockwork, a week later they send me a letter rescinding the 5k apology points. And that is REALLY bad customer service... it's like an episode of Laurel and Hardy... only way more ridiculous and frustraiting. Oh, and then they usually reverse the reversal of the apology... and then reverse the reversal of the reversal. I kid you not.

So, if you travel a lot and stay Marriott a bunch, this may be the card for you... as long as you have the patience to put up with random fraud alerts and a Customer Service Team that can't find their a** with both hands.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 24, 2016
$85 fee with night at Marriott Hotel
alexferrari Cardholder

When you open you can get 80,000 miles, the $85 gives you one night a year, needs to check which hotel will honor the free night, but I'll tke any free night for my $85 a year. Customer service is very helpfull, I was always able to book my free nights and claim my miles.

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
It was a surprise that I got this card.
zach00012 Cardholder

I applied for this card today, and I am happy to say I got approved this card with a 5000 CL. I am only 19 years old and a college student but working full time, and traveling a lot. i saw the perks for this card and said why not. I am ready to get this card and start using its perks

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Approved Unexpectedly with Poor Odds
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a platinum elite and I have tried over many years to get this card. Well to my surprised I applied yesterday and today received an email saying I was approved! I thought the credit line would have been around $500 or $1000. When I called the 1-800# I was informed my credit line is $8500 with a 23.24% APR. Amex refuses to increase my limit.  I have two capital one cards (never been late, have had 22+ months), capital one only increased my credit line $100 after being open 22 months! Don’t know how it happened, glad it did.

I am excited to have this card because I stay at Marriott a lot. I travel a lot for work, domestic and international.

If I max my card out I pay it off right away. As of today my other cards are paid off.

Equifax 570

Experian 581

Transunion 652

Capital One 1 credit line (was a secured card) $700

Capital One 2 credit line (never been late and have had over a year) $600

Amex Delta Gold Card (never been late and have had over a year) $1000

I am platinum elite so I have guaranteed to have room availability. Some of the reviews I read say the free night is worthless but if you do not have status with Marriott then you may not have a lot of access to rooms. Just a thought, take those negative comments about the free night with a grain of salt. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
Scam
sedge33 Cardholder

They claim youll get 100 off your first night stay but dont let you use the card for the room. You have to wait two weeks to get the card and they wont give you a temporary number. Mariott customer service also screamed at me and refused to give me the phone number for the credit card section.

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Wow, Another Approval Today
busyfixing Cardholder

Gonna charge a Europoean vacation to get the 80k bonus points, I'm really excited.  I'll PIF after a month.

I can't believe I'm here already after working at this for 10 months starting with a lousy $200 Old Navy care, and CK score around 600.

more ...
Aug 18, 2016
Worst card i've ever had
Anonymous Cardholder

Marriott charges crazy amounts of points to stay in any good hotels so it makes it impossible to use. Finally, after 2 years of having the card I booked a flight. I accidentally booked the wrong day ($100 flight). To change the flgiht they want me to pay a $67 change fee to the airline and a $50 fee to Marriott for no reason at all. They refuse to refund the points. Now, I am just buying the flight seperate as Marriott's fees are more than just buying the flight outright.

more ...
May 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Marriot rewards scam.  Booked a room, promotion stated get 100.00 back on booking and 85.00 yearly fee waived by opening acct. Completed room reservation hit on apply now and vavoom offer no longer available. Spoke to 3 chase reps ( chase handles the cards) and nothing. The last guy was actually getting annoyed, unbelievable. Tempted to close all my chase accts. One rep said go apply for card and see if offer is there. I applied was approoved but no such offer. So I went from getting 100 back and no annual fee for first year to no money back and a 85.00 annual charge. Typical of todays bussiness practices!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 20, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Apr 18, 2016
FINALLY!!!!! Got it!
universeho Cardholder

Applied for this card each year until this year and was DISAPPROVED because I had no credit.  My 725 KC, Equifax & Equinox score didnt matter.   Applied and got the Black Card w/10K credit limit.  Applied again for this card after a year of having the Black Card and FINALLY was approved.  I don't carry CC debt & only had 1 CC. Since I travel 300 days a yr & stay @ marriott the majority of the time, thought I should have it.  

I was completely honest on the application, it asked if I had bankrupty/serious deliquent accts on my credit.  I answered YES!!!  I was a victim of credit fraud some years ago & the data is still on my credit report.

So you never know.......The application process did drop my KC score by 6 pts.

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
Good Rewards, IDIOTIC Customer Service
Eak2000 Cardholder

I have this card because I travel *a lot*. 150+ days a year. Plus, I only stay Hyatt and Marriott (Yes, I have their Hyatt Card, too). Plus, the 1 EQN (Elite Qualifying Night) for every $3000 spend is pretty amazing. (I spend ~$125,000/year on travel.) Between my travel spend and using this card for everyday purchases, the top tier status and free nights happen really quickly. Also, it has a very slick metal design and a pretty average APR. I'm at 16.99% and a 32k limit, which isn't as great as the 9.99% and 40k limit that PenFed offers, but I pay my cards off every month so who cares? The free night is kind-of Meh. Marriott has 8 Categories of hotel and the free night is only good for a Cat 1-4... The lowest-end Marriot in NYC--a Fairfield--is still Cat 5+. So, basically you can't actually use the free night anywhere you'd actually want to go. But if you get a random invite to a wedding in BFE or have an overnight layover at LAX and want somehwere to crash... then the free night is useful. Still, the point accrual and the EQNs are awesome.

The customer service/fraud protection, however, that Chase provides is abysmal. I travel a lot, so I'm used to getting false-positives for fraud on my card, and usually Chase calls me or texts and asks me if it was a legit expense. I confirm it, have the merchant run the card again, and all is good. I'm ok with that. Unfortunately, Chase has started randomly re-flagging my card for purchases that I've already confirmed as legit... and usually about a month after the charge was made, and after I've paid off the charge! So, obviously it's legit because a) I confirmed it was legit and b) I paid it. When I call in to complain my card has stopped working again, the customer service agent usually looks at the account, goes "that's odd... the charge was from a month ago and you already confirmed it. I don't understand why someone went in and manually re-flagged it." Then they unlock my card and give me 5k Marriott points as an apology. Then, like clockwork, a week later they send me a letter rescinding the 5k apology points. And that is REALLY bad customer service... it's like an episode of Laurel and Hardy... only way more ridiculous and frustraiting. Oh, and then they usually reverse the reversal of the apology... and then reverse the reversal of the reversal. I kid you not.

So, if you travel a lot and stay Marriott a bunch, this may be the card for you... as long as you have the patience to put up with random fraud alerts and a Customer Service Team that can't find their a** with both hands.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 213
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Marriott Rewards® Premier Credit Card