Chase Freedom® Reviews

Chase Freedom® Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars
32 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 16, 2019
My 2nd Chase Card.
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I just applied for this card and was instantly approved for $5700 cl.
CK had me as Fair odds, I thought that I should look at my offers in the Chase app and had pre approval for this one, the Slate and the freedom unlimited.
I decided on this one because of the $150 sign up bonus.
I also have the Saphire Preferred card which I love.
I now can combine the points and transfer the points I get Frome the Freedom card to the Sapphire account and get a 25% bonus that way.
If you have this card or any other card make sure you pay it off every month and you can make money.
I treat all my cards as such and never pay any interest at all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 31, 2019
Customer Service is horrible!
charlier3 Cardholder

I applied for this card so I could get an Amazon gift card and the application was approved very quickly but when I tried to validate the card after receiving it I couldn't get the information accepted.  I called customer service and was on hold for 25 minutes only to be told that they were having a problem with my card so somebody would get back to me.  4 days have gone by and still no contact from anyone in customer service nor can I validatethe card.  I will be canceling this card as soon as someone figures out how I can pay them for the purchase I made.  I will go back to only using my Discover card because their customer service is awesome!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 19, 2019
Unethical billing practices
RiaKat Cardholder

Beware!! The amount listed as your statement balance on their website is not really your statement balance. They do this so that they can unethically bill you for an interest charge. When you call, they do not listen to what you are saying at all! They just keep repeated how to avoid interest charges, as if you are a child! Terrible customer service and very unethical. They have just lost a very long time customer!

more ...
Apr 19, 2019

how is that?

 
Apr 19, 2019

Taking drugs cause hallucinations, even credit card hallucinations. They do no such thing. My balance is correct and they listen when I call. I have the card, but I don't do drugs.

 
Apr 22, 2019

lol

 
May 07, 2019

Drugs ARE expensive these days too !!

 
Apr 16, 2019
My 2nd Chase Card.
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I just applied for this card and was instantly approved for $5700 cl.
CK had me as Fair odds, I thought that I should look at my offers in the Chase app and had pre approval for this one, the Slate and the freedom unlimited.
I decided on this one because of the $150 sign up bonus.
I also have the Saphire Preferred card which I love.
I now can combine the points and transfer the points I get Frome the Freedom card to the Sapphire account and get a 25% bonus that way.
If you have this card or any other card make sure you pay it off every month and you can make money.
I treat all my cards as such and never pay any interest at all.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019

I have a 650 credit score across the board and have a Chase checking account what you think I could get approve I have been pretty approve on there website site

 
Apr 24, 2019

This is how I got this card.
I have a Saphire Preferred and was pre approved for this and a couple other cards.
If you have a pre approval I would go for it.
You should have no problem.
Go for it.

 
Apr 15, 2019
Chase chooses vendor over customer
bailemdon Cardholder

I had a valid dispute for $29. I submitted all necessary docs to support my dispute and was totally ignored. I even supplied Chase with a managers direct phone contact number. They didn't bother trying to call him

more ...
Apr 15, 2019
Chase supports vendors over card holder
bailemdon Cardholder

Don't bother with a dispute, they at Chase could care less. I had a measley $29 dispute sent all required documentation to support it and I was ignored. They didn't even contact the store manager after I provided them (Chase) with his direct number

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
FRAUD CREDIT CARD COMPANY
Bunny7804 Cardholder

THINK TWICE!!!!! I HAD LIMIT OF CLOSE TO $10,000 THESE PEOPLE BLOCKED MY PURCHASES ALL THE TIME. I RECIEVED FRAUD ALERT TEXTES AND I WOULD RESPOND THAT IT WAS ME MAKING THE PURCHASES. SO ANNOYING. TO HAVE ALL YOUR PURCHASES DECLINED AND HAVE TO APPROVE THEM EACH TIME. NOT ONLY THAT, BUT THE LAST TIME I MADE A PURCHASE I ACCCEPTED THE AMOUNT AND 2 DAYS LATER MY CARD WAS BLOCKED. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!!!!! I WOULD THINK TWICE BEFORE DEALING WITH THEM DO CAPITAL ONE FOR PREFERENCE. THIS CARD ALSO DOES NOT HELP YOU AS MUCH TO BUILD CREDIT. CAPITAL ONE HAS DONE ALOT MORE FOR ME. CHASE IS A PIECE OF WORK

more ...
Apr 07, 2019

You shouldnt blame Chase for closing your account ,Good for Chase to close it down !! The reason they closed your acc is because you maxed or almost maxed out your credit and Chase saw you as too risky , You should only use 10% of your credit .Dont blame Chase for your inability to control your spending

 
Apr 15, 2019

Probably more than just maxing out the card caused the account closure. Other accounts might have had negative info. Got this card with an initial 19,100 credit line and ran it up to 18,900. They did not close my account nor try to drop my credit line. I paid it in full once the intro APR was close to expiration. My other accounts were in excellent standing.

 
Apr 28, 2019

Just a tip. Anyone who types in ALL CAPS doesn't get their message taken seriously. My message to anyone is that before blaming others, ask yourself whether there was something you could've done better first. Obviously, the answer in your situation is yes. Chase is just trying to protect their money. You're making it hard on them to feel comfortable with you. It doesn't seem you understand credit protocol or are just not following it. And when you type in all caps, it makes you appear uneducated. If that's so, fine. Not judging here. But take this time to educate yourself on anything you do, so that you can try to prevent situations like this from happening again. And just as a side note, I leant money to someone a long time ago and was never paid back. I neared bankruptcy due to this. I lost my car and almost my home. I had to suck it up and call all credit card companies to try to work something out with interest or delayed payments, etc. Capital One was the only bank who refused to work with me in any way whatsoever and Chase was by far the most helpful to me in my situation. That was a long time ago, and my credit is back near 800 again, but is something I'll never forget. Just my two cents.

 
Apr 06, 2019
Great Card
wmg9574 Cardholder

The card was great. Never had any issues. Chase was always helpful and addressed any issues I had. Chase never bothers you with anything and I could not be happier. They give people a chance when their credit has some dings on it. The card helped me rebuild and I will say it is worth its weight in gold.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 07, 2019

Please dont be like the other dis-grunted card holders later on , Use no more than 10% of your credit and pay on time and you will never ever have any problems

 
Mar 31, 2019
Customer Service is horrible!
charlier3 Cardholder

I applied for this card so I could get an Amazon gift card and the application was approved very quickly but when I tried to validate the card after receiving it I couldn't get the information accepted.  I called customer service and was on hold for 25 minutes only to be told that they were having a problem with my card so somebody would get back to me.  4 days have gone by and still no contact from anyone in customer service nor can I validatethe card.  I will be canceling this card as soon as someone figures out how I can pay them for the purchase I made.  I will go back to only using my Discover card because their customer service is awesome!  

more ...
Mar 30, 2019
My Sugar Babies Are Happier Now !!! Wee
gman12345 Cardholder

I have the Chase Unlimited 15K & I just got the Freedom 20 K ,Sugar Babies are taking better care of poppy now !! Take them shopping once a week !! WEEEE HEEEE !!

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

What's a suger babie?

 
Apr 15, 2019

if want another super baby message me!

 
Apr 18, 2019

What was your score and income to get approved for the freedom

 
Apr 18, 2019

Average score 800 plus or minus, income 200k

 
Apr 25, 2019

I want to be a sugar baby!!

 
May 07, 2019

I know Nikkiclinton87 & bshay1999 .. Im happy with the 2 i have ..thanks anyway

 
Jul 29, 2019

How long did you have the freedom unlimited before applying for the regular freedom

 
Mar 30, 2019
No Problems
OnAShortStack Cardholder

Have had this card for several years, have had no problems at all. Offers 5% cashback in rotating categories, website is easy to use.

more ...
Mar 18, 2019
Just closed this - my score be ****ed
mikejoe570 Cardholder

I'd rather take a credit hit then mess with Chase any longer.  Everything about the experience sucked:  I applied for 3k, they gave me $500 (a quarter of what every other bank has given me).  I called and immediately told them I don't want a $500 credit card and if they can't honor a $3k card as I'd requested, I don't want anything.  Unfortunate for me, that's not how this works apparently and they refused to cancel the order and they refused to give me an increase.  They told me if I paid my bill on time for the first 3 months I'd be elligible for a credit increase.  So onto the user experience:  the app.   my lord, what a pain in the ***.  the fingerprint doesn't work, requiring set up each time.  so you have to remember your password - but there's a good chance any of your go-to passwords will not be suitable for Chase banking.  they want upper, lower, numbers, symbols.  I would click 'remember me' and it never would and I could never remember what password they forced on me and so had to reset everything every single time.  what a nuissance!  Finally after several months I requested a credit increase - denied.  They refused.  So - that's it for me.  I told them to go to hell and closed it out.  Wasted my time, wasted a few points of my score, but it is all worth it if it means i can delete that app and never have to **** around with another ****ty password.    Anyway, my score went up 87 points since I closed this card.  I'm sure it's a coincidence, but it's also a sign.  a good sign.  Good Riddance, Chase!

more ...
Mar 18, 2019

True about chase ever since they took ove Washington mutual, I left them because of this and other customer related matters.

 
Mar 30, 2019

Your probably most likely maxing out your other credit cards and chase see`s you as too risky , Never use more than 10 %

 
Apr 13, 2019

I was going to apply for this credit card ... thank you for reviews ... I better get A Discover card with my Excellent credit score!

 
Apr 24, 2019

I'm guessing that there's more to this story that what the op stated.
I have a couple of their cards and never had a problem with Chase.
Never had a charge declined either.
They usually leave you alone and don't bother you unless you are doing something high risk.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Chase Freedom® Reviews

Chase Freedom®