Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
83 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 03, 2018
card’s fine, customer service is lacking
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with a FICO score of 775, approved for a $10.1k limit. Card arrived within a week, but I had some issues getting it activated on chase pay. Some departments of chase’s customer service are perfectly fine, but other departments seem incompetent with little attention to detail.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2018
Not great
OnceAFan Cardholder

Like others, I called customer service to request a lower APR % - the first rep said it was impossible. I asked to speak with a supervisor and she said it was impossible. Both could absolutely care less... I had been with the credit card for 3 years and never missed a payment. They didn't even offer to increase my limit over the 3 years so while I was approved for $1,500 it had stayed at that limit the entire time. I was disappointed and in disbelief for their careless attitude so I paid off the remaining balance and closed the account. 

The 5% is very slowly to accumlate as they have to be in certain categories and to redeem them for anything you'd need many more points than you've earned. I do not recommend this credit card to anyone who already has a score higher than 680 - it'd be better to go with another company altogether. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 18, 2019
Just closed this - my score be ****ed
mikejoe570 Cardholder

I'd rather take a credit hit then mess with Chase any longer.  Everything about the experience sucked:  I applied for 3k, they gave me $500 (a quarter of what every other bank has given me).  I called and immediately told them I don't want a $500 credit card and if they can't honor a $3k card as I'd requested, I don't want anything.  Unfortunate for me, that's not how this works apparently and they refused to cancel the order and they refused to give me an increase.  They told me if I paid my bill on time for the first 3 months I'd be elligible for a credit increase.  So onto the user experience:  the app.   my lord, what a pain in the ***.  the fingerprint doesn't work, requiring set up each time.  so you have to remember your password - but there's a good chance any of your go-to passwords will not be suitable for Chase banking.  they want upper, lower, numbers, symbols.  I would click 'remember me' and it never would and I could never remember what password they forced on me and so had to reset everything every single time.  what a nuissance!  Finally after several months I requested a credit increase - denied.  They refused.  So - that's it for me.  I told them to go to hell and closed it out.  Wasted my time, wasted a few points of my score, but it is all worth it if it means i can delete that app and never have to **** around with another ****ty password.    Anyway, my score went up 87 points since I closed this card.  I'm sure it's a coincidence, but it's also a sign.  a good sign.  Good Riddance, Chase!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2019

True about chase ever since they took ove Washington mutual, I left them because of this and other customer related matters.

 
Mar 12, 2019
love it
YULISA250 Cardholder

Got approved with a CS of 598 $1000 CL.  I wasn't complaining lol been rebuilding my credit for a year now and this is my highest CL so far. Got my $150 reward and So excited to continue building my CS in the future.

more ...
Feb 28, 2019
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!
bevspo Cardholder

I have had a card with Chase for many years. The customer service used to be great, but i now terrible. A customer service rep even hung up on me! STAY AWAY!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 06, 2019

So after many years , because one customer service rep hung up ( probably was disconnected ) , you rate the card terrible 1 star ... are you retarded

 
Feb 23, 2019
Terrible company!
JaxHendo Cardholder

I had this card for many years with a 12,000$ limit. I had kept it close to its limit for more than a month, planned on paying it off in full shortly. They "closed" my account so I could no longer use it, even when I paid them IN FULL like I said I was going to. I will NEVER open an account again with this card! BEWARE!

more ...
Feb 10, 2019
Great card,great service.
JillDiffin Cardholder

I applied, was approved for 2500. I used that up, it was xmas time, and without asking they doubled my credit limit. I have always made more than my minimum payment due, and as long as you aren't late or dont pay, they are great. No issues here, I am a happy girl. Thanks, Chase!

more ...
Feb 09, 2019
Categories aren't worth it
ikonicz Cardholder

I decided to get this card because of the 5% categories. The downside to this is that there are categories that you might not even use, which doesn't benefit you in the least. We all want convenience so nobody wants to go out of their way to earn points when there are cards that will grant you rewards points while you shop at your favorite stores. If you're looking to get a rewards card it's better to look at the percentage and that the categories match your needs. I'm also not a fan of Chase's crappy customer service, 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 09, 2019

Did you not research the past categories? They do change every quarter and may not repeat the following year. Restaurants and gas typically repeat, but other categories may not. If you use it for 2 of the 4 quarters because those 2 categories are good, it is still worth it.

 
Feb 04, 2019
Excellent card with great service
Florida2018 Cardholder

I originally had this card and with the great service and great cash back I have switched all my accounts to Chase! I can go to my bank, call, or go online anytime and get the same great consistent service! Awesome

more ...
Feb 01, 2019
not worth the rewards
mallelarama Cardholder

not worth the rewards every credit card is better than this. even bank of america gives better rewards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 06, 2019

So why did you get it in the first place ? And to say it’s 1 star ? Are you retarded ?

 
Feb 01, 2019
not worth the rewards
mallelarama Cardholder

the rewards are one of the worst i would suggest any card even bank of america rewards are better than this card.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Excellent
MichaelB1988 Cardholder

I've had this card for 46 months.

Chase gives you 30 days to activate every quarter to start receiving 5% cash back points. They send an email and text 15 days prior, notifying you. Simply open the email link or respond to the text and you're activated. They give you 15 days prior and 15 days in to activate. Example: Jan 1st is new quarter. They notify you Dec 15th and you have until Jan 15th (30 days) to activate. Activate late like in Jan? No sweat. Chase will still give you points you earned before activating as long as you do it within the 30 day window.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom®