Chase Freedom® Reviews

Chase Freedom® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 16, 2019
My 2nd Chase Card.
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I just applied for this card and was instantly approved for $5700 cl.
CK had me as Fair odds, I thought that I should look at my offers in the Chase app and had pre approval for this one, the Slate and the freedom unlimited.
I decided on this one because of the $150 sign up bonus.
I also have the Saphire Preferred card which I love.
I now can combine the points and transfer the points I get Frome the Freedom card to the Sapphire account and get a 25% bonus that way.
If you have this card or any other card make sure you pay it off every month and you can make money.
I treat all my cards as such and never pay any interest at all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 31, 2018
Stay away!
LarryW79 Cardholder

Had my bank send them a check for a balance transfer. Same for a few other CCs I have. The other cards transferred my balance within 1 week. Chase on the other hand has a 21 business day period for balance transfers. On top of that the check the bank sent them chase returned. I was at my bank and watched them correctly send them the check. Chase is dishonest and is obviously doing whatever it can to keep a balance with their stupid high interest rate. I will be closing this card the moment the balance is finally transferred one way or another and will never open any account linked to any chase banks. STAY AWAY!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 09, 2019
Do they raise every 6 months or 12 month
JACK19701 Cardholder

Do they raise your limited every 6 months or 12 months I read different things but I don't want to waste a hard inquiry to ask for one

more ...
Oct 09, 2019
Do they rasie your limit
JACK19701 Cardholder

Do they raise your limited every 6 months or 12 months I read different things and don't want to waste a hard inquiry to ask for one

more ...
Sep 25, 2019
Batgangbabe Cardholder

I absolutely LOVE this card! My only other credit card was a secured capital one card and the credit limit was only raised once in a year and a half, from $200 to $500. I got chase freedom in January with a 640 credit score and they approved me for $1200 and every few months they raise in another grand! I love it!

more ...
Sep 11, 2019
WEIRD POLICIES
FernandaF Cardholder

I have a good paying job, good credit, open account in Bank of America, 2 credit cards and a clean record. FOR SOME REASON, which they won't disclose, they have accepted and then retrieved/cancelled a credit card application right afterwards, really affecting my credit score. Now, after opening a checking account with them, they've CLOSED my account with no explanation just a couple of days later. I'm really trying to understand, but will never try to do business with them again and I don't recommend it to anyone. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2019
Bunch of lying thieves
Shaunathan Cardholder

First understand I NEVER leave negative reviews because I am also in the customer service industry so I take a lot of things with the knowledge that people are human and mistakes are made. When I first got this card, I was consistent in paying every month. Ran into a financial hardship around the same time as I had my card stolen, was told another card would be shipped to me. That was a lie. They canceled my account and started tacking on late fees and raising their interest rates on me. I get it, my credit decreased so they have to do what they have to do. Fast forward to when I was finally in a position to pay my balance, was told I would be enrolled in the balance liquidation program which would stop the late fees and interest fees. Another lie. Called back today and was told the last 2 payments that they took from my account under the guise of this program mean absolutely nothing, that they only covered the fees from the last two months, and they they would no longer allow me to enroll in the program so I would need to pay my balance in full today or would keep accruing fees. This is absolutely absurd and insulting. Jasmine, their manager, told me essentially they weren’t going to do anything to fix their mistake. All this company cares about is making more money for their giant bank and they will lie and swindle you any way they can to do that. Please go with another card. This has been one of the worst financial decisions I have ever made. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2019
Bunch of lying thieves
Shaunathan Cardholder

First understand I NEVER leave negative reviews because I am also in the customer service industry so I take a lot of things with the knowledge that people are human and mistakes are made. When I first got this card, I was consistent in paying every month. Ran into a financial hardship around the same time as I had my card stolen, was told another card would be shipped to me. That was a lie. They canceled my account and started tacking on late fees and raising their interest rates on me. I get it, my credit decreased so they have to do what they have to do. Fast forward to when I was finally in a position to pay my balance, was told I would be enrolled in the balance liquidation program which would stop the late fees and interest fees. Another lie. Called back today and was told the last 2 payments that they took from my account under the guise of this program mean absolutely nothing, that they only covered the fees from the last two months, and they they would no longer allow me to enroll in the program so I would need to pay my balance in full today or would keep accruing fees. This is absolutely absurd and insulting. Jasmine, their manager, told me essentially they weren’t going to do anything to fix their mistake. All this company cares about is making more money for their giant bank and they will lie and swindle you any way they can to do that. Please go with another card. This has been one of the worst financial decisions I have ever made. 

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
BAD
jamesjrhwilk Cardholder

Ihave had this card since 2016 . Ihave never been late on any payments. Every once in a while I have exceeded my credit limit once interest is added to the card. As of late I have been making more frequent and larger payments toward my card as I am preparing for a family trip and want to have a substantial available credit. Just as I got my card paid to nearly $2,400 they reduced my available vredit without any notification. The only reason I became aware is because I called the automated system to check my available credit. How accomodating that they waited until I made large payments to reduce my available credit. Then they had the audicity to say that I am a valued customer. Thanks Chase for the way you just treated me "A Valued Customer".

more ...
May 30, 2019
No balance increases
riajel Cardholder

I've had this card since college so prob over 12 years and have yet to have a balance increase. LOL!!! I have other chase cards but this one still has a $500 increase. I've called maybe twice in the past 12 years to request a balance increase and I've been told that they review credit worthyness annually and automaticly increase at that time. Well, I guess I can get other Chase cards with higher limits but my credit doesn't warrent an increase for my very 1st credit card ever... 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 30, 2019

If you really want an increase for this card, ask to have the limit combined with another Chase card and close the other Chase card. You would lose a Chase card, but would have a higher limit.

 
May 26, 2019
credit limit $3,500 w/a score of 775
Angelinas72 Cardholder

took about 5 days to get approval, they just call u and tell u cards on the way, email comes later.  They're better than AX cash mgmt, they only gave 2gran w/a 775, discovers the best, got 6gran w/only a 655 score.

more ...
May 12, 2019
This is an excellent card for rewards
applesauce9 Cardholder

Like I said in the title, this is an excellent card for rewards being that it's a 5x card with rotating categories. I like the gamification aspect of having the rotating categories. Whenever you purchase something, use the card that nets you the best rewards for that particular purchase!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Chase Freedom® Reviews

Chase Freedom®