Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
72 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas, restaurants, or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 18, 2017
Approved Instantly
MsMack41 Cardholder

I was approved online instantly with a 687 Experian score, which is what they pulled, along with a 658 Transunion score. Approved $2,500 limit. I only had a PNC secured $300. Credit history length was 17 years with auto loan, college loan good standing. One charge off Care credit card from 2013 on Transunion. Also Transunion Time warner cable collections $174 dated 2014 and Progressive $184 dated 2014. I was very excited!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2017
NOT a financial partner
AverageBorrower Cardholder

AVOID AVOID AVOID  BEWARE  UNFAIR PRACTICES  UNFAIR UNFAIR BEWARE

I've been a customer for more than 10 years.  Like many others I was hit by a major life event and found myself needing to pay thousands to Chase in interest.  I never defaulted, I never exeeded my limit and I treated Chase as my prefered creditor, always paying them before others and even tightening my belt rather than miss any payments.  While trying to recover and working hard to increase my credit score to a point before the setback, Chase decided to lower my Credit limits without cause.  They said that I have recently spent too much money on credit cards.  Yes I had a high utilization across the board but I had just turned the corner to start moving forward.  They ignored the fact that my mortgage was just recently paid in full as well!  BUT Not only did they lower my limits, they closed the gap that I did have and set my limits to the current balance.  CREATING AN ARTIFICIAL 100% UTILIZATION!   They don't care about your history with them.  They don't care about their customers.  AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

They CHANGE THE RULES even if you are paying on time and staying under your limit.

CHASE PLAYS BY THEIR OWN RULES!!! NOT INTERSTED IN YOU OR THE MONEY YOU PAY IN INTEREST!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Chase Freedom for 3.5 years now. I only had one Wells Fargo platinum card with a $2800 credit limit on it before the Freedom. I was instantly approved to get the Freedom with a 685 credit score. My approved credit limit was $15,000 right away. I use this card for everything and pay it off every two weeks. I now have a 795 credit score and a $30,400 limit on the Freedom with over $850 in cash rewards. Great card, great service, and very easy to use mobile app. Love it and love the rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 23, 2017

Did you have to keep asking them for increases, or did they do it automatically?

 
Jul 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Chase Freedom for 3.5 years now. I only had one Wells Fargo platinum card with a $2800 credit limit on it before the Freedom. I was instantly approved to get the Freedom with a 685 credit score. My approved credit limit was $15,000 right away. I use this card for everything and pay it off every two weeks. I now have a 795 credit score and a $30,400 limit on the Freedom with over $850 in cash rewards. Great card, great service, and very easy to use mobile app. Love it and love the rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 23, 2017

Did you have to request the increases or did they automatically do it?

 
Jul 08, 2017
Great Categorized Credit Card
leoromannn Cardholder

This is an excellent card to be used in combination with other cards. I only use this for their 6% cash back rewards (5% on quarterly category + 1% for making the purchse). Not really interested in the general 1% for everything else, use my Venture or Amex for other things outside of the categories ;) So far this year ive received well over $100 in rewards from this card. Not too shabby considering there's no annual fee. Decent intro $150 bonus that comes in immediately after spending $500. Rewards are redeemed with ease. CLI from initial $4k to $7.5K in just 5 months (and thats without asking for one). No interest for a year and an OK APR after that, I dont carry a balance anyways so not to worried about that. Pay attention to categories, pay at the end of the month and you will see how useful this card is if you use it wisely.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017

Such a smooth application process, excellent customer service and you are made to feel appreciate as a customer!

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
5/24 rule exception
SnootieBoo Cardholder

 I wanted to combine this card with my CSP to increase my travel benefits/points. I was hesitant to app for it because of Chase's 5/24 rule. I have exceeded 5 cards in the last 24 months, however I read that if you have "Selected for you offers" with green check marks under the "Offers" tab on the Chase app, you can bypass the 5/24 rule. I called customer service, they won't tell you definitively whether you can or not,...no help there. So, I went back to my app, clicked on the Freedom offer, input my annual salary and submitted. In a matter of seconds, I was approved for $12,000 CL with message that I'll receive my card in 7-10 days. The card even shows up under my accounts on the Chase app.                                                                  I've come along way with my credit rebuilding journey over the past 2 years (FICO scores were around 580). Currently, my CK scores are 650 & 643 with fair chances of getting this card. My FICO scores range from 718-732, inquiries: TU 4, EXP 11 & EQ 8. They pulled from TU and Experian for me (Texas). I have AMEX BCP $18700, CSP $18000, Discover $14500, CO Quicksilver $9500 & CITI DC $9000 and I have a retail store card (don't use). No collections and 1 late student loan that should fall off my credit report next month. I gave 4 stars because I don't have the card yet and can't explain more about the benefits I expect to receive. I hope this helps someone (who currently has a Chase card) that maybe on the fence about applying for a Chase card if you've apped for 5 or more cards in the last 2 years. Good luck to all.

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Good reward program

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Good to start with
neuroticdave Cardholder

Credit Karma gave me good approval odds so I went for it. Application process took all of 30 seconds and I was instantly approved for $2000. CK has me at 629/661. The card itself came quickly, and the one interaction I had with their customer service was great. The app works awesome and so far no complaints. Seems like a good card to start with and the $150 bonus and no interest for 15 months is a plus. 

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Permanent Place in Your Wallet
CaptArgonaut Cardholder

I've had this card since 2012. It was my first credit card. And I have to say, it has been one of my favorites and will remain in my wallet indefinitely. The rewards you receive for every transaction are clearly calculated and shown to you on Chase's online portal. They are incredibly simple to redeem AND flexible. Cash Back, Gift Cards, Statement Credit, OR Transfer to your Chase Sapphire Preferred/Reserve card - and ALL of that WITHOUT devaluation. That CANNOT be said for AMEX, Citi, nor Capital One. The rotating categories make it a powerful card, and one you never want to be left without.

Since I applied when I finished college, I do not remember my Credit Score(s) from that time, but my limit started at $1800. Now, it is up to $3300. Not high, but since you only get 5% per $1500 spent per Quarter in each rotating category, I do not see nor care about a higher limit for this card. Once, and if, I reach the $1500 threshold, I'll move that category spend to a higher earning card than the default 1%.

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
Approved
Jpmast Cardholder

Take note, I have a limited credit history. Student loans 4.5 years. Credit cards only a year. Credit scores 740. Income only 40k. Approved 4.5k instantly. Chase has never denied me or let me down. DON'T MESS WITH CITI.

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
The Real Review
Jpmast Cardholder

My credit scores are both 740. I only make roughly 40,000 a year and was approved for 4,500 with a very limited credit history. So here's your real review!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®