Chase Freedom® Reviews

Chase Freedom® Reviews
2.9 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 16, 2019
My 2nd Chase Card.
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I just applied for this card and was instantly approved for $5700 cl.
CK had me as Fair odds, I thought that I should look at my offers in the Chase app and had pre approval for this one, the Slate and the freedom unlimited.
I decided on this one because of the $150 sign up bonus.
I also have the Saphire Preferred card which I love.
I now can combine the points and transfer the points I get Frome the Freedom card to the Sapphire account and get a 25% bonus that way.
If you have this card or any other card make sure you pay it off every month and you can make money.
I treat all my cards as such and never pay any interest at all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 31, 2019
Customer Service is horrible!
charlier3 Cardholder

I applied for this card so I could get an Amazon gift card and the application was approved very quickly but when I tried to validate the card after receiving it I couldn't get the information accepted.  I called customer service and was on hold for 25 minutes only to be told that they were having a problem with my card so somebody would get back to me.  4 days have gone by and still no contact from anyone in customer service nor can I validatethe card.  I will be canceling this card as soon as someone figures out how I can pay them for the purchase I made.  I will go back to only using my Discover card because their customer service is awesome!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 29, 2019
Keep your balance under 20%
Sensitiveinfo Cardholder

If you carry a balance over 20% there's a good likelihood you will have your card cancelled without any notice or warning. Immediately paying the card off in full and calling to ask to be reinstated falls on deaf ears

more ...
Dec 25, 2019
Rewards. none, Customer Service. Bad,
ouellette210 Cardholder

Chase: here's 2X on Chase Special offers
Chase: Oh sorry, you don't qualify for Chase speial offers

Chase CS: Don't know why you don't qualfy, can't help you. and don't care.

:

more ...
Oct 09, 2019
Do they raise every 6 months or 12 month
JACK19701 Cardholder

Do they raise your limited every 6 months or 12 months I read different things but I don't want to waste a hard inquiry to ask for one

more ...
Oct 09, 2019
Do they rasie your limit
JACK19701 Cardholder

Do they raise your limited every 6 months or 12 months I read different things and don't want to waste a hard inquiry to ask for one

more ...
Sep 25, 2019
Batgangbabe Cardholder

I absolutely LOVE this card! My only other credit card was a secured capital one card and the credit limit was only raised once in a year and a half, from $200 to $500. I got chase freedom in January with a 640 credit score and they approved me for $1200 and every few months they raise in another grand! I love it!

more ...
Sep 11, 2019
WEIRD POLICIES
FernandaF Cardholder

I have a good paying job, good credit, open account in Bank of America, 2 credit cards and a clean record. FOR SOME REASON, which they won't disclose, they have accepted and then retrieved/cancelled a credit card application right afterwards, really affecting my credit score. Now, after opening a checking account with them, they've CLOSED my account with no explanation just a couple of days later. I'm really trying to understand, but will never try to do business with them again and I don't recommend it to anyone. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2019
Bunch of lying thieves
Shaunathan Cardholder

First understand I NEVER leave negative reviews because I am also in the customer service industry so I take a lot of things with the knowledge that people are human and mistakes are made. When I first got this card, I was consistent in paying every month. Ran into a financial hardship around the same time as I had my card stolen, was told another card would be shipped to me. That was a lie. They canceled my account and started tacking on late fees and raising their interest rates on me. I get it, my credit decreased so they have to do what they have to do. Fast forward to when I was finally in a position to pay my balance, was told I would be enrolled in the balance liquidation program which would stop the late fees and interest fees. Another lie. Called back today and was told the last 2 payments that they took from my account under the guise of this program mean absolutely nothing, that they only covered the fees from the last two months, and they they would no longer allow me to enroll in the program so I would need to pay my balance in full today or would keep accruing fees. This is absolutely absurd and insulting. Jasmine, their manager, told me essentially they weren’t going to do anything to fix their mistake. All this company cares about is making more money for their giant bank and they will lie and swindle you any way they can to do that. Please go with another card. This has been one of the worst financial decisions I have ever made. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2019
Bunch of lying thieves
Shaunathan Cardholder

First understand I NEVER leave negative reviews because I am also in the customer service industry so I take a lot of things with the knowledge that people are human and mistakes are made. When I first got this card, I was consistent in paying every month. Ran into a financial hardship around the same time as I had my card stolen, was told another card would be shipped to me. That was a lie. They canceled my account and started tacking on late fees and raising their interest rates on me. I get it, my credit decreased so they have to do what they have to do. Fast forward to when I was finally in a position to pay my balance, was told I would be enrolled in the balance liquidation program which would stop the late fees and interest fees. Another lie. Called back today and was told the last 2 payments that they took from my account under the guise of this program mean absolutely nothing, that they only covered the fees from the last two months, and they they would no longer allow me to enroll in the program so I would need to pay my balance in full today or would keep accruing fees. This is absolutely absurd and insulting. Jasmine, their manager, told me essentially they weren’t going to do anything to fix their mistake. All this company cares about is making more money for their giant bank and they will lie and swindle you any way they can to do that. Please go with another card. This has been one of the worst financial decisions I have ever made. 

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
BAD
jamesjrhwilk Cardholder

Ihave had this card since 2016 . Ihave never been late on any payments. Every once in a while I have exceeded my credit limit once interest is added to the card. As of late I have been making more frequent and larger payments toward my card as I am preparing for a family trip and want to have a substantial available credit. Just as I got my card paid to nearly $2,400 they reduced my available vredit without any notification. The only reason I became aware is because I called the automated system to check my available credit. How accomodating that they waited until I made large payments to reduce my available credit. Then they had the audicity to say that I am a valued customer. Thanks Chase for the way you just treated me "A Valued Customer".

more ...
May 30, 2019
No balance increases
riajel Cardholder

I've had this card since college so prob over 12 years and have yet to have a balance increase. LOL!!! I have other chase cards but this one still has a $500 increase. I've called maybe twice in the past 12 years to request a balance increase and I've been told that they review credit worthyness annually and automaticly increase at that time. Well, I guess I can get other Chase cards with higher limits but my credit doesn't warrent an increase for my very 1st credit card ever... 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 30, 2019

If you really want an increase for this card, ask to have the limit combined with another Chase card and close the other Chase card. You would lose a Chase card, but would have a higher limit.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Chase Freedom® Reviews

Chase Freedom®