Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
182 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2016
Shocked 2x
ThankfulForCK Cardholder

I was clueless when it came to credit and how it worked. Thought I was screwed forever because of mistakes I made early on. Every now and then I would apply for a store card and always get denied. Received a Chase freedom invitation email and said "why not?". Probably the first time I'd applied for a CC in 2+ years. Instantly approved for $500! Whaaaattt??? That was the first shocker.!! Signed up for CK and had a 530ish score with 2 collections. Paid the collections off in full, did tons of homework on my own, got some advice from a friend and brought my score up 100 points in three months. Applied for a CO quicksilver and was approved for $300.

Fast forward five months(eight months from when I was first approved for the CF) and I'm sitting with a TU:694 and EQ:682. QS limit was just raised to $800 and I was debating on whether or not to request a CLI for my CF. After calling twice and backing out both times, I decided to go for it. When the lady on the phone asked me how much of an increase I wanted I first said $1000, then switched to $500, then explained I was a little nervous about the ordeal and wasn't sure how much I should request. She then asked "You wanna just leave it blank and see what happens?" and I said "Sure". The next words I heard through the operator's smile was "you've been approved for a $5000 increase bringing your limit up to $5500." Shocker number two! I thought it was going to take my at least another year to get a limit that high! Third time was truly a charm!!

Thanks to CF's insane approval and everything I've learned from CK's site--especially these cardholder's reviews-- I'm on the road to great credit!!! Such a friggin relief!!!!!! :) :) :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2015
Nerfed
ErikRamison Cardholder

This used to be a great card, paying the highest cash back percentage of all available cash back cards - 3% on everything. One day, Chase sent everyone a letter stating "Congratulations! You'll now get 5% in a couple of categories!", with "and 1% of everything else", and since then, this card has been pretty mediocre. The categories originally began as things like "groceries" or "retail" - now they're specific retailers. The only time I ever use this card is at Amazon in Q4, since their only 5% categories are Amazon-owned, and that's the only really compelling discount anytmore. In a couple of days it's going back on the shelf for another year.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2016
Customer service is atrocious.
KMD5 Cardholder

Pray you don't have any fraud issues. 

The first day I used my card, a large number of fraudulent charges showed up. 

Chase has seemingly done everything they can to make life awful after this. It takes forever to report the issue, and months later the charges will show back up on your card because some "investigator" at Chase decided you were in a different State that day buying things you never would purchase.

You then get to spend another hour of your life on the phone opening up a dispute to the "investigation" and are told to call back again in 3-5 days to hear their findings. 

No evidence is provided to support these claims by Chase that I made these purchases. Where do I go from here? Small claims court?

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Just Got Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

I really want to get the Chase Sapphire card, but didn’t think I would be approved for it so I decided to apply for the Freedom card first in order to build my credit and work my way up to the Sapphire card (I also liked the benefit of being able to link the Freedom card with the Sapphire card so you can transfer rewards points over and use them for travel instead of cashback).  My TU and EQ scores were 689 and my Experian FICO 8 score was 638.  I have around $100,000 in student loan debt that I refinanced a few months ago, and I financed a used car about 2 months ago. I had around $7,000 in credit between two store cards that were automatically closed without warning about 1 week ago due to inactivity for over a year (I never actually used them for anything), which lowered my FICO score 9 points (!!!) to the 638 number.  I also had a charge off from chase about 4-5 years ago and have not had ANY credit cards since around that time (except the two store cards that closed and were never used).  Because of all this I was really nervous that I would not get approved, and rightly so because when I applied I got the “your application requires further review” notice.  I called Chase’s reconsideration line several hours after I applied and they told me that my application had in fact been denied due to “negative history with Chase”.  I explained that I had the charge off around 4-5 years ago and that I had been really struggling with the student loans and didn’t have a good job yet, but I have not had any credit cards since then and recently refinanced my student loans and feel ready to manage a credit card again.  I also said that I really want to get my foot back in the door with chase so that I can eventually get the Sapphire card.  The gentlemen I spoke with listened politely and didn’t hassle me at all, which I was kind of expecting after reading all the negative reviews about Chase’s customer service and that people get blacklisted for over 10 years for having just one late payment with Chase.  He then simply asked me a few basic verification questions, put me on hold for a minute or two and then told me I was approved for a $4,500 credit limit!!!  I was really surprised, and relieved!  I then asked him if I had to wait for the card to arrive to use it, or if he could give me my account number now.  He said no, but then offered to put a “rush delivery” on my card and transferred me over to the department that handles that, so my card should arrive in a day or two.  All in all I was very impressed with Chase’s customer service (I also spoke with two other people in other departments before the Reconsideration line and asked them several questions about my application and whether or not I could apply for the Amazon Chase card in the same day if my Freedom application was denied and only have one hard credit pull).  Every person I spoke with was extremely courteous and helpful throughout the whole process.  I really hope this treatment continues as I don’t plan to carry a balance on my card, and hope to be approved for the Sapphire card in a few more months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

Nice review and thanks for sharing. Here's a suggestion: once you get ready to apply for the sapphire preferred, offer to move most of the credit from your Freedom card over to the sapphire. You'll need at least 5k and it could improve the chances they'll issue you one. Once you have a sapphire preferred you shouldn't need that much credit on the Freedom anyway.

 
Nov 26, 2016
Terrible Card, Terrible Service

I had difficulties accessing the site one night to make my payment, this was the last night for me to pay. Yes I know, I should pay my credit card bill early, but how many people honestly do that? I thought it was paid, and in the morning as soon as I realized it wasn't, I called Chase to inform them about the late payment (less than 12 hours later) and asked if it could be redunded, since it was not very late, not intentional, and due to a misunderstanding on my part. The customer service said that there was no late fee or interest assessed at the time, and assured me that if there was, I could call back and get it redunded. They even said they would make a note on my account.

Fast forward a few days. Late fee and interest charges applied to bill, I called them immediately upon seeing them and asked them to cancel them as they promised. Instead they told me "there was nothing they could do". I wasn't very happy, and sent a message to their customer service online, thinking that maybe it would go to someone more official, with actual power to do something. Instead, they gave me the same speel, with an added "we do everything to maintain your trust and service." kind of ironic. Chase has the worst customer service of any credit cards around, and no one deserves to have to put up with them. Go with American Express or Discover.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2016

Wow! What a ridiculous review. So I guess if you put off paying your bill the entire 25-day grace period after your statement closes, and you clearly violate the cardholder agreement, you shouldn't have to pay any penalty. Now, all of a sudden, it's a terrible card and bank. Why don't you just accept responsibility for your actions? Just take your medicine and stop blaming the bank.

I also have this card and can tell all everyone out there it's a five-star product and Chase is a great bank. They're easy to work with and managing your account is a breeze.

Another nice feature is you can product change this card to a Freedom Unlimited card, and back, so that you can see which card is to your liking. I recommend picking up one of the sapphire cards to pair with this card to really unlock its potential.

Just keep in mind that once any introductory apr is gone, the interest rates can be quite high. If you apply for this card, you should plan on paying in full each month. Otherwise the interest will wipe out all of your gains from cash back or points.

I hope this helps and have a great day!

 
Nov 17, 2016
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I like the fact that they offer 5% cash back on certain items depending on the month. It's linked directly to my checking account so payments are immediate. I haven't had a problem with the card so I am pretty satisfied.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Scam-Beware!
Anonymous Cardholder

Chase is the absolute WORST company. Once they suck you into signing up, the customer service ends. They are rude, can barely speak English, and stab you in the back with hidden fees. That is, IF they dont cancel your card and adversely affect your rating. Stay away from this one.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Good for experienced cash back seekers.
lallen3 Cardholder

The card itself is fine, if you've have Discover Card before, you know how it works. Rotating categories, 1% CB on everything else, yada yada. When Chase falls on its face... Customer Service. They have HORRIBLE customer service. Outsourced call centers, and policies from the 80's. I got the card for a simple balance transfer, and from that day, it's been terrible. I have already ordered a card from another bank, and will be closing this account. Something I rarely do.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Best rewards out there!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I can't say enough about how great this card is!! I was shocked when I got approved with barely a 600 EQ score.  I applied online and got one of those 7-10 day letter notices so I figured I was denied. So shocked and excited when instead I recieved my new card in the mail! $500 cli at first, but I'm working on moving that up through usage and good history with them. I have multiple rewards cards, Capital One, Barclays, PayPal, but my Chase is by far the best! IThe 5% cash back is amazing and they give more points than anyone else. I would deffinitley recomend this to anyone!!

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Credit Card Approved; CK says poor odds?

Chase Freedom was my first credit card. Got it in my Junior year of college - at that point, it has been 2 years since I applied for and got an SSN, and of course, I did not have any credit. But I was with Chase for 2+ years, and have been living at my current apartment for 2+ years. And I got approved in their local branch. :P It's just funny that Credit Karma says POOR for the odds, so I decided to write a comment. Bleh.
It's a pretty nice credit card in terms of accumulating cash back, which I will transfer it to one of their partner airline's mileage after getting Chase Sapphire card, which makes it possible. It has been 11 months since I got the card, and I have around 35,000 points, which will equal one way trip to any continent.

So, go get it in one of their branches, in person. Go!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Good card to earn cash rewards
Angry285 Cardholder

Good card to earn cash rewards. I have had it for a 5 months made nice bonus .easy to get with fair to good credit...they give a decent credit line to start with,

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Credit limit increase denied, then email
JeBe4 Cardholder

Hello everyone, so I will be as concise as I can, I use to work for JP and they gave me a starting limit of 1500 (I was like 20) like 5 years ago. Fast forward, I won a lawsuit against them but prior to that they dropped my limit to 300! I did at the time have bad subprime cards with poor limits and at that age didn't fully grasp or care about credit.

Fast forward to today my credit score is mid 700's, plenty of great cards with $X,XXX.XX limits PLENTY for me. Chase STILL keeps my limit at 300! My other cards are always giving me increases auto.

I applied twice for a line increase most recently two days with Chase and it was denied - so I traded up my points on my Freedom and will use my other cards I asked for it to be reviewed, they still turned me down. Oh I literally have never gone over my limit or been late on a payment in the 5+ years of having the account. I refuse to use it until they change the limit (I wonder how soon they will close it for non use)

So today at like 5pm 9/28 I received an e-mail asking me to update my income! I provided 107k per anum. I just thought the timing was strange. I subsequently forwarded the e-mail to chase abuse, but I had already verified my name and address after I logged into my account and then provided my income and saved it.

I read people say they got a similar correspondence from Chase and got an increase, I don't know but the site looked legit and it did have all my information so I don't think it was a phishing attack. I was just more curious about the income request when literally 24hrs before I gave my income on the credit line increase so idk....any personal experiences with this would be most appreciated

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 24, 2016

To be fair, I've had a chase Disney card for 4 years & they're now only giving me a credit limit increase, Chase almost NEVER issues CLI. Just continue to use the card & pay it off.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®

182 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i