Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 03, 2018
card’s fine, customer service is lacking
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with a FICO score of 775, approved for a $10.1k limit. Card arrived within a week, but I had some issues getting it activated on chase pay. Some departments of chase’s customer service are perfectly fine, but other departments seem incompetent with little attention to detail.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 17, 2018
MRScjv Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved. They even sent me the card and everything was great. Then a week later I got a letter. It said they checked my credit score and didn't qualify for the credit card. My score is 738! I've never missed a payment on anything. 

I will never do business with Chase again. I was utterly humiliated. How do you approve and send a card, then send a letter of rejection? What an awful way to do business. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2018
Great card horrible customer service
AnonNKY Cardholder

When I called to activate this card I was told that my card was closed because somebody in Customer Service put me on a payment plan. I have never had a need for a payment plan, I paid off my balance in full in cash months prior. They mailed me a new card because my prior card expired,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 06, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 02, 2018
It's a credit card. Be careful.
Nucdog Cardholder

Always put auto pay on all cards and make additional payment so you don't get soaked by high interest rates and late fees.  Try to pay it off monthly and when you get an offer of 0% Make sure you pay it off early! all of it.  or you get charged the high interest rates for the full term on all of your debt!  Read the contract.  Follow the rules. I pay 16% interest on this card and I definately dont make 6 figures.  I pay on time and in full, mostly.  Auto pay is only for when you forget to pay.  It is so small that you will end up in the poor house if you rely on it.  It's a credit card! they are in business to get as much of your money as they can wring, trick, or cheat you out of.  Just like all other businesses.  None are honest and trustworthy anymore.  Get over your anger about how they won't do this or that for you. Remember customer service is some poor chump in a foreign country who can't make your life easier if he/she wants to keep that ****ty job. Just follow the rules and all will be well. Maybe.  

more ...
Nov 29, 2018
Terrible interest rate - non negotiable
ds2007 Cardholder

Terrible interest rate! They won’t disclose why I was underwritten at over 24% interest rate regardless of my excellent credit score. They will not negotiate the rate down and I was informed by a customer service rep that the rate will never go lower only higher. Consumer beware!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2018

It’s a high rewards card. They always have a higher interest rate. You should have applied for a no rewards credit card.

 
Nov 27, 2018
A Waste of Time

I have owned this card for about 3 years. I applied for it when I thought it had good benefits. Chase approved the card with a $3500 credit limit. I have never been approved for so little by any card. However I thought this would be a great card to add my teenager daughter to.

First and foremost, they gave both my daughter and I the same card number making it impossible to figure out charges when it was time to pay the bill. My daughter and I shop at the same places.

Secondly, I have not received a credit increase the entire time I've had the card. If you make the request, it's a hard inquiry on your credit. All three of my scores are in the high 700s and I make 6 figures. The bill is always paid in full and have never been late.
When questioned about why they don't do auto increases like everyone else, they state that's just there process.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 06, 2018

Reading this review makes me afraid to apply for this card. I wonder if Chase gets these reviews and see how unhappy their consumers are. We bring the business; and these ratings surely slow their business down.

 
Nov 21, 2018
Great
Mariaa1 Cardholder

it has unlimted 1 percent cash back on any earnings however they have quarters where they offer 5 percent cashback on other purchases. its amazing i love it because you can redeem any amount over 20 dollars for cashback

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
Important stepping stone
champstar Cardholder

Important stepping stone as you build your relationship with Chase.  Helps lead to cards with even better rewards like the Chase Sapphire Reserve.

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
I love the cashback
mcnrn Cardholder

CS is 670s and got approved. CL $1000. About to transfer money to my primary checkings. Glad I got approved!

more ...
Nov 11, 2018
dont do it get another card
pups2 Cardholder

i transfered money to this card year ago. at time it was 0% for 12 months . after the 12 months intrest was variable went to 24% then trans fer fees intrest fees . a 120 dollar payment 30 dollars goes towards bill. i have never missed payment and have asked many time to lower the intrest so i can pay them quicker . they will never lower intrest......

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 23, 2018

I've never really seen a credit card company do that. You probably should've gotten that paid off by the time the intro offer was complete

 
Oct 31, 2018
Phenomenal! Follow rules and c benefits!
JYROSS Cardholder

I applied for this card after closing on my first home. I was looking for something to use to furnish my home and for the first few shopping trips for all my needs. Appliances stainless steel of course and essentials. I was worried as I heard a lot about people receiving low CLs but that was quickly proven false for me. With an aaoa at 2yrs 8mos 100% payments 3 CCs (1% utilization with 46k in credit lines) one phone bill and a car loan (balance 16k) no derogatory marks and average score of 770 I was awarded a credit line of $9,200! I can’t wait to get this card and use the 5% cashback to purchase my appliances in a department store!!!

more ...
Oct 28, 2018
The account was closed arbitrarily.
VincentPa Cardholder

A 7-year old account was closed for not paying $25 even though a) no amount was due (due to merchant credits) and b) autopay was set to pay the full balance anyway.

The card member agreement is very clear that the minimum amount due is "1) $25 (or total amount you owe if less than $25; or 2) [some conditions that were not applicable to the situation]". However, Chase representatives insisted that a) that the minimum payment due was in fact $25 regardless of the account's balance, b) that credits did not count as payment, and c) that there was nothing they could do to remedy the situation. (Before rudely hanging up, that is.)

No acknowledgment that IF $25 really was the minimum payment, autopay SHOULD have taken care of it, or that according to their own service agreement, the minimum payment was $0 anyway. Apparently, the computer is always right, and customer support will not (cannot?) override automated decisions, or even recognize that there is a problem. They ended up just saying that they could close any account for any or no reason anyway, which should make any applicant or card holder wonder whether they can trust Chase with the integrity of their credit record. We certainly do not anymore, and will close our other Chase cards shortly.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom®