Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas, restaurants, or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Chase Freedom for 3.5 years now. I only had one Wells Fargo platinum card with a $2800 credit limit on it before the Freedom. I was instantly approved to get the Freedom with a 685 credit score. My approved credit limit was $15,000 right away. I use this card for everything and pay it off every two weeks. I now have a 795 credit score and a $30,400 limit on the Freedom with over $850 in cash rewards. Great card, great service, and very easy to use mobile app. Love it and love the rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2017
NOT a financial partner
AverageBorrower Cardholder

AVOID AVOID AVOID  BEWARE  UNFAIR PRACTICES  UNFAIR UNFAIR BEWARE

I've been a customer for more than 10 years.  Like many others I was hit by a major life event and found myself needing to pay thousands to Chase in interest.  I never defaulted, I never exeeded my limit and I treated Chase as my prefered creditor, always paying them before others and even tightening my belt rather than miss any payments.  While trying to recover and working hard to increase my credit score to a point before the setback, Chase decided to lower my Credit limits without cause.  They said that I have recently spent too much money on credit cards.  Yes I had a high utilization across the board but I had just turned the corner to start moving forward.  They ignored the fact that my mortgage was just recently paid in full as well!  BUT Not only did they lower my limits, they closed the gap that I did have and set my limits to the current balance.  CREATING AN ARTIFICIAL 100% UTILIZATION!   They don't care about your history with them.  They don't care about their customers.  AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

They CHANGE THE RULES even if you are paying on time and staying under your limit.

CHASE PLAYS BY THEIR OWN RULES!!! NOT INTERSTED IN YOU OR THE MONEY YOU PAY IN INTEREST!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 16, 2017
Extremely valuable

This card can earn you a ton of cash back, but more importantly, Ultimate Rewards points. But you need to own a "premium" Chase card (CSP/CSR, etc.) to turn the cash back points into UR points.

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Trifecta!
Ligre22 Cardholder

Applied online just a few minutes ago, and got approved for $4500. I'm pretty happy with that, and look forward to maximizing my UR points (have CFU w/$5k and CSP w/$7k)! FICO scores are 710 EX, 705 EQ and 704 TU, while CK scores are 733 TU and 742 EQ. Just got a pay raise at work, so I'm confident I can handle this. Chase has never steered me wrong in the past, and I can't wait to see this one in the mail and start getting those 5% bonus cash back rewards!

more ...
Sep 08, 2017

Correction - FICO score for EQ is 706 and TU is 705.

 
Sep 09, 2017

Nice job Ligre! I've had this one for a while alongside my CSP. Those 5x categories are HUGE when you've got one of the sapphire cards. Looking forward to getting a CFU in a few months once back I'm under 5/24. You're spot on about Chase. My experience with them has always been nothing short of perfect. Go figure...use the cards properly and pay your bills on time. Cheers!

 
Sep 01, 2017
terrible
mdjackle Cardholder

Don't give credit increases unless they do a hard pull. I've been with Chase since Feb2016; and still no increase. Have very good credit and no review yet. I'm so done with them at this point. I wanna close my account,but worrying about a hit to my report. Some I'm stuck. Overall I don't recommend to know one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 01, 2017

I agree as well. I've had my Chase Freedom Unlimited since Jan 2016 and haven't received a credit line increase. You're exactly right if you want an increase it's a hard pill and I don't want that on my credit report.

 
Aug 24, 2017
Great Card
Dapos Cardholder

I waited a long time to get my frist Credit Card, but this has been a good one. Credit Score of High 600's, and approved quickly for $2500 limit. I requested an increase after 8 months, which was actually a pretty intensive process of about 20 questions (Income, assets, overall overhead, career, etc.). But they increased my limit to $5000 without a hard inquiry, which is where it's still at after about 2 years. 

I now have a Discover IT and AMEX Blue Cash that are much better with their limits (Around $10K each), and allow me to use them more frequently, but I like having the Chase Freedom because it's accepted everywhere, and there's always a chance that the other 2 might not be accepted as widely as a Visa. I've only had maybe 2-3 places that didn't take the Discover IT, but they were Mom&Pop places, so it's not that big of a deal. However, I liked being able to just pull out the Chase Freedom, and not have it be an issue (You could always just use your Debit Card or cash).

Due to the lower limit, I just pay this balance in full each month, and use the quarterly rewards. They offer a 5% increase on rewards for specific categories each quarter (could be gas, could be Amazon, could be theaters. Really depends). This rewards aren't huge, but they're something, and only benefit you if you pay your balance in full each month. I would say except for gas, because overall with Credit, you're paying the extra 10 cents per gallon when you fill up with Credit pricing at the pump, just to make some pennies on the backend through rewards. But I like the other rewards and find them beneficial. 

I also have a Chase Checking Account, so this is extremley easy to pay balances/transfer money through their online system. Plus I am able to setup text alerts for certain amounts that help me out. If I spend $150 or more on anything, Chase sends me a text immediately to confirm. Makes me feel better because if I ever get one of those texts and I know I didn't just buy anything, I would know of fraud immediately. Just very easy overall to track and manage funds. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
looking to apply
Jrock2017 Cardholder

Does Chase take into account your history with them via debit card? I've had quite a few overdrafts and looking to apply for the credit card. Everything's in good standing now. Dont know if this past overdrafts will affect my chances.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017

Not likely. What matters most is your payment history (car, medical, credit card) and if you're on time. Score matters a bit too...for instance, 650+ is a good starting point for Chase cash back cards. If this is your first card, don't expect a big limit ($1000-$2000 tops).

 
Sep 10, 2017

I have a capital one card only $500 limit so far had it over a year. And two others Jared and a retail store just reached a year.

 
Aug 03, 2017
Not a problem
penny800 Cardholder

Fast approval, no hassle.  Have no complaints

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Awesome rewards and got the card fast!
Aaron213 Cardholder

The rewards are awesome! I got approved with a 680 and a credit limit of $500 which I'm fine with as a college student. I would recommend using a referral code! This gives you $100 ON TOP OF the beginning rewards. For a free 100 bucks!- https://www.referyourchasecard.com/2/26AVFNRWKX 

more ...
Aug 07, 2017

Why only $500 with a 680, no credit history?

 
Aug 08, 2017

Because he's a college kid with limited credit

 
Jul 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Chase Freedom for 3.5 years now. I only had one Wells Fargo platinum card with a $2800 credit limit on it before the Freedom. I was instantly approved to get the Freedom with a 685 credit score. My approved credit limit was $15,000 right away. I use this card for everything and pay it off every two weeks. I now have a 795 credit score and a $30,400 limit on the Freedom with over $850 in cash rewards. Great card, great service, and very easy to use mobile app. Love it and love the rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 23, 2017

Did you have to keep asking them for increases, or did they do it automatically?

 
Jul 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Chase Freedom for 3.5 years now. I only had one Wells Fargo platinum card with a $2800 credit limit on it before the Freedom. I was instantly approved to get the Freedom with a 685 credit score. My approved credit limit was $15,000 right away. I use this card for everything and pay it off every two weeks. I now have a 795 credit score and a $30,400 limit on the Freedom with over $850 in cash rewards. Great card, great service, and very easy to use mobile app. Love it and love the rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 23, 2017

Did you have to request the increases or did they automatically do it?

 
Jul 08, 2017
Great Categorized Credit Card
leoromannn Cardholder

This is an excellent card to be used in combination with other cards. I only use this for their 6% cash back rewards (5% on quarterly category + 1% for making the purchse). Not really interested in the general 1% for everything else, use my Venture or Amex for other things outside of the categories ;) So far this year ive received well over $100 in rewards from this card. Not too shabby considering there's no annual fee. Decent intro $150 bonus that comes in immediately after spending $500. Rewards are redeemed with ease. CLI from initial $4k to $7.5K in just 5 months (and thats without asking for one). No interest for a year and an OK APR after that, I dont carry a balance anyways so not to worried about that. Pay attention to categories, pay at the end of the month and you will see how useful this card is if you use it wisely.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 07, 2017

This card does not give 6% back on rotating categories. The offer details are quite plain about the 5% being net, not its own bonus: 1% for standard purchase and 4% on top of that. Perhaps when you got it the card was different but as of September 2017 it is 5% net.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®