Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
153 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2016
Shocked 2x
ThankfulForCK Cardholder

I was clueless when it came to credit and how it worked. Thought I was screwed forever because of mistakes I made early on. Every now and then I would apply for a store card and always get denied. Received a Chase freedom invitation email and said "why not?". Probably the first time I'd applied for a CC in 2+ years. Instantly approved for $500! Whaaaattt??? That was the first shocker.!! Signed up for CK and had a 530ish score with 2 collections. Paid the collections off in full, did tons of homework on my own, got some advice from a friend and brought my score up 100 points in three months. Applied for a CO quicksilver and was approved for $300.

Fast forward five months(eight months from when I was first approved for the CF) and I'm sitting with a TU:694 and EQ:682. QS limit was just raised to $800 and I was debating on whether or not to request a CLI for my CF. After calling twice and backing out both times, I decided to go for it. When the lady on the phone asked me how much of an increase I wanted I first said $1000, then switched to $500, then explained I was a little nervous about the ordeal and wasn't sure how much I should request. She then asked "You wanna just leave it blank and see what happens?" and I said "Sure". The next words I heard through the operator's smile was "you've been approved for a $5000 increase bringing your limit up to $5500." Shocker number two! I thought it was going to take my at least another year to get a limit that high! Third time was truly a charm!!

Thanks to CF's insane approval and everything I've learned from CK's site--especially these cardholder's reviews-- I'm on the road to great credit!!! Such a friggin relief!!!!!! :) :) :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 25, 2016
High APR and Low Credit
AnthonyRuggedNYC Cardholder

Not a big fan of the card, also approved with a low balance. I tried speaking with a few people to see if they can lower my APR interest rates, nobody helped.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 13, 2017
Terrible service

Chase is an awful choice for those who travel abroad a lot. I have seen suspicious activity in my account during my international travel (note: scam transactions came from US and I use my Chase card only in US, took one with me abroad as reserve card).

My cell phone did not work abroad and I used other phone to call to customer service. Customer service representative asked if In able to get text to my phone. I said No and explained the reason (but I still was able to get emails and verify all my personal information including security question). Representative locked my account for a while. After returning to US I called to Customer Service to unlock my account, but I was transferred to account closing group ("due to bank policy", WTF?!)

Ok, lets close it. 

My account had over 1k overpayment (refund from one store came when account was locked). I asked representative about my overpayment, and I said it would be great if Chase will return money to my payment account, because I'm going to other trip and will have no access to my mailbox and paper check. Lady said me no other option than paper check for return money. 

Later I had to call twice to bank to return my money. 

Awful service for "valued" customer. Very dissapointed. Someone stole my card (usual situation for bank, I believe), and I got more bull****s from bank instead of support. 

Bye, Chase! Hope not see you again. 

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Thank you Chase I love your credit card
Agnt007 Cardholder

Cash Back

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Great for folks starting out
Anonymous Cardholder

I am new to the US and had a secured credit card for a year to build up credit. Chase offered me Freedom, which has been great for rewards and extending my credit limit. Thanks, folks. 

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
The best card to have!!
Anonymous Cardholder

They offer get new cardholder promotions. You also get rewards and they have reward promos a well! 

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
Pretty good card
ChargerGreg Cardholder

I actually use this one the most. 22K line of credit. The rewards could be better though their are a lot of restrictions. They have a newer Chase freedom called the Unlimited which would be better for me since I spend so much money on this one. Won't get it though I'll take a Fico score hit and don't really need it. Anybody reading this might want to compare the two though and pick out the best ONE for them. Cheers.

more ...
Dec 25, 2016

Easy fix. Just call them up and ask them to product change it to Freedom Unlimited. I changed mine in March. Changed it back to Freedom last month. Easy and instantaneous. Doesn't effect credit report/score whatsoever.

 
Dec 30, 2016

22K line of credit? What did you start with? And how often did they increase the limit, or did you have to request it?

 
Dec 14, 2016
Less than two years of credit history
jadensmithlol Cardholder

I have 1 year and 8 months of history. One credit card(discover it) payed in full and on time. 738 and 730 score. Ive always heard chase doesnt like limited history but I got approved for $4500. Im only posting this because I would have liked to see others who are trying to build there limited credit history and what they get approved for. If youre young and building history and your history is similar to myn.. I say take the risk and go for it. Im happy to FINALLY have a second credit card. 

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
It's like my right hand man
1909919sal Cardholder

It's been with me through some tough times they can help you at your lowest and benefit you at you best 

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Love the card; service could improve.
Anonymous Cardholder

I love that they offer cash back. I'm a user that pays everything in full, so they pay me to use it; however, their online additional cash back you get from ordering items through the chase website leaves much to be desired. I purchased a lawnmower back in septemeber that was supposed to be an additional 2% cash back. It took speaking with 2 reps and emailing 5 or 6 times to get the additional amount. I finally received the additional amount in late Novemeber when I had to send them the full email receipt even after several reps verified I had made the purchase through the chase site.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I love that they offer cash back. I'm a user that pays everything in full, so they pay me to use it; however, their online additional cash back you get from ordering items through the chase website leaves much to be desired. I purchased a lawnmower back in septemeber that was supposed to be an additional 2% cash back. It took speaking with 2 reps and emailing 5 or 6 times to get the additional amount. I finally received the additional amount in late Novemeber when I had to send them the full email receipt even after several reps verified I had made the purchase through the chase site.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®

153 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i