Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
81 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 03, 2018
card’s fine, customer service is lacking
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with a FICO score of 775, approved for a $10.1k limit. Card arrived within a week, but I had some issues getting it activated on chase pay. Some departments of chase’s customer service are perfectly fine, but other departments seem incompetent with little attention to detail.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2018
Not great
OnceAFan Cardholder

Like others, I called customer service to request a lower APR % - the first rep said it was impossible. I asked to speak with a supervisor and she said it was impossible. Both could absolutely care less... I had been with the credit card for 3 years and never missed a payment. They didn't even offer to increase my limit over the 3 years so while I was approved for $1,500 it had stayed at that limit the entire time. I was disappointed and in disbelief for their careless attitude so I paid off the remaining balance and closed the account. 

The 5% is very slowly to accumlate as they have to be in certain categories and to redeem them for anything you'd need many more points than you've earned. I do not recommend this credit card to anyone who already has a score higher than 680 - it'd be better to go with another company altogether. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2019
What you think
JACK19701 Cardholder

I have a 650 credit score across the board and have a Chase checking account it says I'm pre approve on there website

more ...
Apr 23, 2019

go for it

 
Apr 24, 2019

go for it I got approved back in December with $1000 cl and 598 credit score. I just got approved for chase freedom unlimited cl $2000 my score is now 620.

 
Apr 24, 2019

Thank you

 
Apr 24, 2019

Did any body have Revo credit I'm at 35% and 2 years 7 month credit history and 100% payment

 
Apr 20, 2019
Loving so far! Great perks!

Abs love so far! Approved as a first time cust with a $3400 CL. My CS increased by 14 pts & I’ve had the card for s little over a month now! 

more ...
Apr 22, 2019

What was your credit score when you applied?

 
Apr 24, 2019

Yeah what your credit score just trying to get in the door

 
Apr 19, 2019
Unethical billing practices
RiaKat Cardholder

Beware!! The amount listed as your statement balance on their website is not really your statement balance. They do this so that they can unethically bill you for an interest charge. When you call, they do not listen to what you are saying at all! They just keep repeated how to avoid interest charges, as if you are a child! Terrible customer service and very unethical. They have just lost a very long time customer!

more ...
Apr 19, 2019

how is that?

 
Apr 19, 2019

Taking drugs cause hallucinations, even credit card hallucinations. They do no such thing. My balance is correct and they listen when I call. I have the card, but I don't do drugs.

 
Apr 22, 2019

lol

 
Apr 16, 2019
My 2nd Chase Card.
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I just applied for this card and was instantly approved for $5700 cl.
CK had me as Fair odds, I thought that I should look at my offers in the Chase app and had pre approval for this one, the Slate and the freedom unlimited.
I decided on this one because of the $150 sign up bonus.
I also have the Saphire Preferred card which I love.
I now can combine the points and transfer the points I get Frome the Freedom card to the Sapphire account and get a 25% bonus that way.
If you have this card or any other card make sure you pay it off every month and you can make money.
I treat all my cards as such and never pay any interest at all.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019

I have a 650 credit score across the board and have a Chase checking account what you think I could get approve I have been pretty approve on there website site

 
Apr 24, 2019

This is how I got this card.
I have a Saphire Preferred and was pre approved for this and a couple other cards.
If you have a pre approval I would go for it.
You should have no problem.
Go for it.

 
Apr 15, 2019
Chase chooses vendor over customer
bailemdon Cardholder

I had a valid dispute for $29. I submitted all necessary docs to support my dispute and was totally ignored. I even supplied Chase with a managers direct phone contact number. They didn't bother trying to call him

more ...
Apr 15, 2019
Chase supports vendors over card holder
bailemdon Cardholder

Don't bother with a dispute, they at Chase could care less. I had a measley $29 dispute sent all required documentation to support it and I was ignored. They didn't even contact the store manager after I provided them (Chase) with his direct number

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
FRAUD CREDIT CARD COMPANY
Bunny7804 Cardholder

THINK TWICE!!!!! I HAD LIMIT OF CLOSE TO $10,000 THESE PEOPLE BLOCKED MY PURCHASES ALL THE TIME. I RECIEVED FRAUD ALERT TEXTES AND I WOULD RESPOND THAT IT WAS ME MAKING THE PURCHASES. SO ANNOYING. TO HAVE ALL YOUR PURCHASES DECLINED AND HAVE TO APPROVE THEM EACH TIME. NOT ONLY THAT, BUT THE LAST TIME I MADE A PURCHASE I ACCCEPTED THE AMOUNT AND 2 DAYS LATER MY CARD WAS BLOCKED. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!!!!! I WOULD THINK TWICE BEFORE DEALING WITH THEM DO CAPITAL ONE FOR PREFERENCE. THIS CARD ALSO DOES NOT HELP YOU AS MUCH TO BUILD CREDIT. CAPITAL ONE HAS DONE ALOT MORE FOR ME. CHASE IS A PIECE OF WORK

more ...
Apr 07, 2019

You shouldnt blame Chase for closing your account ,Good for Chase to close it down !! The reason they closed your acc is because you maxed or almost maxed out your credit and Chase saw you as too risky , You should only use 10% of your credit .Dont blame Chase for your inability to control your spending

 
Apr 15, 2019

Probably more than just maxing out the card caused the account closure. Other accounts might have had negative info. Got this card with an initial 19,100 credit line and ran it up to 18,900. They did not close my account nor try to drop my credit line. I paid it in full once the intro APR was close to expiration. My other accounts were in excellent standing.

 
Apr 06, 2019
Great Card
wmg9574 Cardholder

The card was great. Never had any issues. Chase was always helpful and addressed any issues I had. Chase never bothers you with anything and I could not be happier. They give people a chance when their credit has some dings on it. The card helped me rebuild and I will say it is worth its weight in gold.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 07, 2019

Please dont be like the other dis-grunted card holders later on , Use no more than 10% of your credit and pay on time and you will never ever have any problems

 
Mar 31, 2019
Customer Service is horrible!
charlier3 Cardholder

I applied for this card so I could get an Amazon gift card and the application was approved very quickly but when I tried to validate the card after receiving it I couldn't get the information accepted.  I called customer service and was on hold for 25 minutes only to be told that they were having a problem with my card so somebody would get back to me.  4 days have gone by and still no contact from anyone in customer service nor can I validatethe card.  I will be canceling this card as soon as someone figures out how I can pay them for the purchase I made.  I will go back to only using my Discover card because their customer service is awesome!  

more ...
Mar 30, 2019
My Sugar Babies Are Happier Now !!! Wee
gman12345 Cardholder

I have the Chase Unlimited 15K & I just got the Freedom 20 K ,Sugar Babies are taking better care of poppy now !! Take them shopping once a week !! WEEEE HEEEE !!

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

What's a suger babie?

 
Apr 15, 2019

if want another super baby message me!

 
Apr 18, 2019

What was your score and income to get approved for the freedom

 
Apr 18, 2019

Average score 800 plus or minus, income 200k

 
Apr 25, 2019

I want to be a sugar baby!!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom®