Chase Freedom®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
108 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 29, 2016
Just Got Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

I really want to get the Chase Sapphire card, but didn’t think I would be approved for it so I decided to apply for the Freedom card first in order to build my credit and work my way up to the Sapphire card (I also liked the benefit of being able to link the Freedom card with the Sapphire card so you can transfer rewards points over and use them for travel instead of cashback).  My TU and EQ scores were 689 and my Experian FICO 8 score was 638.  I have around $100,000 in student loan debt that I refinanced a few months ago, and I financed a used car about 2 months ago. I had around $7,000 in credit between two store cards that were automatically closed without warning about 1 week ago due to inactivity for over a year (I never actually used them for anything), which lowered my FICO score 9 points (!!!) to the 638 number.  I also had a charge off from chase about 4-5 years ago and have not had ANY credit cards since around that time (except the two store cards that closed and were never used).  Because of all this I was really nervous that I would not get approved, and rightly so because when I applied I got the “your application requires further review” notice.  I called Chase’s reconsideration line several hours after I applied and they told me that my application had in fact been denied due to “negative history with Chase”.  I explained that I had the charge off around 4-5 years ago and that I had been really struggling with the student loans and didn’t have a good job yet, but I have not had any credit cards since then and recently refinanced my student loans and feel ready to manage a credit card again.  I also said that I really want to get my foot back in the door with chase so that I can eventually get the Sapphire card.  The gentlemen I spoke with listened politely and didn’t hassle me at all, which I was kind of expecting after reading all the negative reviews about Chase’s customer service and that people get blacklisted for over 10 years for having just one late payment with Chase.  He then simply asked me a few basic verification questions, put me on hold for a minute or two and then told me I was approved for a $4,500 credit limit!!!  I was really surprised, and relieved!  I then asked him if I had to wait for the card to arrive to use it, or if he could give me my account number now.  He said no, but then offered to put a “rush delivery” on my card and transferred me over to the department that handles that, so my card should arrive in a day or two.  All in all I was very impressed with Chase’s customer service (I also spoke with two other people in other departments before the Reconsideration line and asked them several questions about my application and whether or not I could apply for the Amazon Chase card in the same day if my Freedom application was denied and only have one hard credit pull).  Every person I spoke with was extremely courteous and helpful throughout the whole process.  I really hope this treatment continues as I don’t plan to carry a balance on my card, and hope to be approved for the Sapphire card in a few more months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 02, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I love that they offer cash back. I'm a user that pays everything in full, so they pay me to use it; however, their online additional cash back you get from ordering items through the chase website leaves much to be desired. I purchased a lawnmower back in septemeber that was supposed to be an additional 2% cash back. It took speaking with 2 reps and emailing 5 or 6 times to get the additional amount. I finally received the additional amount in late Novemeber when I had to send them the full email receipt even after several reps verified I had made the purchase through the chase site.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
Very POOR

I applied for this card and got it and 6 months after ,Chase closed my account and would never give me any reason why.Even the Chase Bank Manager called corporite and told them that this should not be happening to me.Im still making my payments on time but,I will never,ever,apply for a Chase acount again of any kind.Chase can stick it.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
I love this card!
Aame2012 Cardholder

I love this card :) I have had this one for about 2 years now. Never had any issues with it. I got it when my credit score was about 670-ish. They are VERY tight on who they accept. It you think you won't get this card, don't waste the hard inquiry. Good credit, good chances!

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Best Cash Back!
m0t0rhe4d Cardholder

My brother has had this card for a while now and is his favorite card! Applied with Fair Odds from CK (TU 681 EQ 657) and Good Odds from CreditSesame (681 TU) and got instant approval for $1500. Going to take atvantage of $150 cash back when spending $500 in first three months. Excited!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
I'm extremely happy so far
Brokentee4 Cardholder

I've been in the process of rebuilding my credit for the last 12 months. I started with the capital 1 platinum $500 limit, after a few months of on time payments I received an offer for the capital 1 quicksilver and $1500 limit. After a year of on time payments I decided to apply for the chase freedom with "fair" odds. I have a 625 TU and 628 equifax. To my surprise I was approved with a $4500 limit! Thank you chase for the approval!

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Easy approval
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved with a $2k line. I already have 3 others card and a personal loan. trying hard to work on my debt right now.

I thought I would not be accepted because of my credit score. Experian 625 / Fico 615. Got approved the same day with 0% interest for 18 months! you should give it a try

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
TERRIBLE CARD-AFTER 0-APR-24.45%-HORRIBL
nantucket421 Cardholder

STAY AWAY FROM THIS CARSD..GET YOU IN WITH THE 12-18MONTHS ZERO APR-AND AFTER YOU SPENT YOUR SHARE YOU FIND AN ASTONISHING NEW 24.25% APR INTEREST RATE FOREVER...

THEY ARE UNETHICAL AND THEY LOCK YOU INTO THE RATE-I HAVE AN OUTSTANDING CREDIT SCORE OF 787 AND EXCELLENT PAYMENT HISTORY-AND THEY WOULD NOT LOWER THIS OUTRAGEOUS INTEREST RATE-RUN-A NIGHTMARE

more ...
Mar 02, 2017

Don't carry a balance. That's all you need to know. If you're worried about your interest rate, you're doing it wrong.

 
Mar 22, 2017

You know these things when you get the card and information about rates and such. And like He/she said, 👆 dont carry a balance.

 
Feb 17, 2017
Cool Card Every Other Quarter
jetblk3 Cardholder

My Chase Freedom card is the one I use the least across my five accounts. Have had it since August 2015. At the time, it was my largest credit line at $3,500, but since I've had other card limits increased and added a couple new accounts, there's only an one or two quarters a year when i get value: The 5 points on gas and 5 points on restaurants usually happen at some point in the year, but outside of those periods, I don't use it at all. Another thing is you're limited to $75 a quarter in bonus cash; after that you only earn 1 point for all purchases. 

What this card is great for is spending in these categories at different times in the year: Gas, Restaurants, Department Stores, Public Transit, and occasionally Amazon.com. 

The positives are Chase approved my application with a marginal score of 655 at the time (8% utitlization) and although my limit started at $3,500, they automatically increased my limit to $5,500 after the first year of perfect payment history. There's no annual fee so you can hang on to the card forever even if you're not using it. I took advantage of the 0% introductory APR and paid the balance before it ended which was great. Also, once I had accidentally scheduled a payment to an old bank account -- since I had scheduled the payment in advance of my due date, Chase agreed to waive the returned payment fee and the late fee since the new payment posted a day late. Customer service has been great and I would definitely upgrade to a Chase card with an annual fee.

Overall, it's a decen card with no annual fee. For bigger rewards, there are other cards I use. But it's great starter card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 20, 2017

What cards do you get the biggest rewards from?

 
Feb 12, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have any questions, don't call because nobody knows anything. And I mean it. They literally told me the wrong thing about when I needed to pay. Steer clear!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017

Alrighty. You know, if you can't figure out when your closing and statement dates are, and you need to call in to find out when you need to pay, you should probably steer clear of all credit cards.

 
Feb 17, 2017

You don't have access to your statement?

 
Mar 11, 2017

It's no wonder this was submitted anonymously

 
Feb 07, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Please and please don't use this chase freedom credit card or any chase credit card. They would scam you when it's comes to interest rate. If you carry a balance for the month and next month you pay in full they would still charge you more interest for paying it in full. This happen to me and I have capital one credit card and believe me capital one would not charge you interest once you pay your credit card bill in full. This is a scam. Little words is good for the wise, there is a lot of credit card out there you can apply for but this chase freedom credit card it's a scam.

more ...
Feb 12, 2017

You're not getting charged interest for paying in full.

 
Feb 12, 2017

Wrong. This has been a great card for me for years. You're making a mistake on the calculation.

 
Feb 02, 2017
Chase? Run away! Run away!
Mike20172017 Cardholder

Initial credit limit of $500 is usual. I have had this card for months, zero bal/ always paid off before due date, 751 Equifax score. I called today to ask about a line increase. Denied PLUS they do a HARD CHARGE credit report inquiry! Chase is a DISASTER!

more ...
Feb 02, 2017

It's pretty common knowledge Chase does a hard inquiry when you request a credit limit increase. No hard pull if they do it on their own. They bumped mine from $5700 to $7200 after 8 months or so without me asking. Sorry to hear they didn't approve you for one. Your credit score looks good. There must be some other reason for the denial.

 
Feb 20, 2017

They go by Experian's score!

 
Feb 20, 2017

Mike try American Express blue cash or every day cash card way better.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®

108 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i