Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
94 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 03, 2018
card’s fine, customer service is lacking
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with a FICO score of 775, approved for a $10.1k limit. Card arrived within a week, but I had some issues getting it activated on chase pay. Some departments of chase’s customer service are perfectly fine, but other departments seem incompetent with little attention to detail.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 17, 2018
MRScjv Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved. They even sent me the card and everything was great. Then a week later I got a letter. It said they checked my credit score and didn't qualify for the credit card. My score is 738! I've never missed a payment on anything. 

I will never do business with Chase again. I was utterly humiliated. How do you approve and send a card, then send a letter of rejection? What an awful way to do business. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 14, 2019
Excellent
MichaelB1988 Cardholder

I've had this card for 46 months.

Chase gives you 30 days to activate every quarter to start receiving 5% cash back points. They send an email and text 15 days prior, notifying you. Simply open the email link or respond to the text and you're activated. They give you 15 days prior and 15 days in to activate. Example: Jan 1st is new quarter. They notify you Dec 15th and you have until Jan 15th (30 days) to activate. Activate late like in Jan? No sweat. Chase will still give you points you earned before activating as long as you do it within the 30 day window.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
Freedom Card...Fraud!!
Susana0223 Cardholder

Please please beware! Be so clear of WHEN your "promotion for free interest" expires or you'll end with monthly fees as high as $80 or higher......a total rip off...

more ...
Jan 10, 2019

Lol. You didn't read the terms and blame the bank. Of course when the promotional period ends, you have to pay off the card in full or pay interest. I believe its 0% on purchases, not sure if it applies to balance transfers.

 
Jan 12, 2019

Listen, first of all the day I signed I'm really positive I was NOT TOLD it was only free for 16 months otherwise I would've not apply! You guys keep on saying that this card is free when IT'S NOT!! By the end of that "free period interest" you also increased my credit limit just to get me good two months later...thank you!! Also I went to the bank to ask for your other Safire or whatever name of your other credit card is to see the differences between that one and my freedom card and it's a big shame I don't have a way to prove that the representative never ever told me that MY CAR WAS NOT FREE ANY LONGER! You guys are scammers whether you want to admit it or not and I'll post as much reviews as I can to help people to beware of these tricks of yours!!!!!!!!

 
Jan 13, 2019

Chase is very dishonest . Sounds like another
Donald Trump Lies and more lies ! Does Trump or Chase ever tell the truth ? ... TRY - CITI CREDIT CARD ( VISA ) TROUGH COSTCO GREAT CARD AND THEY WILL TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOU !!

 
Jan 14, 2019

Lol duh. That's how all credit cards are that offer 0 interest promotional periods. It's not 0 interest forever and it is YOUR responsibility to pay off your card. Irresponsible use and racking up debt is your fault, not the card or banks. Dumb reason to rank the card low when it is potentially a great card for those researching.

 
Dec 31, 2018
Stay away!
LarryW79 Cardholder

Had my bank send them a check for a balance transfer. Same for a few other CCs I have. The other cards transferred my balance within 1 week. Chase on the other hand has a 21 business day period for balance transfers. On top of that the check the bank sent them chase returned. I was at my bank and watched them correctly send them the check. Chase is dishonest and is obviously doing whatever it can to keep a balance with their stupid high interest rate. I will be closing this card the moment the balance is finally transferred one way or another and will never open any account linked to any chase banks. STAY AWAY!!

more ...
Jan 13, 2019

Chase is very dishonest . Sounds like another
Donald Trump Lies and more lies !

 
Jan 13, 2019

Chase is very dishonest . Sounds like another
Does Trump or Chase ever tell the truth ? ... TRY CITI CREDIT CARD ( VISA ) TROUGH COSTCO GREAT CARD AND THEY WILL TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOU !!

 
Dec 03, 2018
Great card horrible customer service
AnonNKY Cardholder

When I called to activate this card I was told that my card was closed because somebody in Customer Service put me on a payment plan. I have never had a need for a payment plan, I paid off my balance in full in cash months prior. They mailed me a new card because my prior card expired,

more ...
Dec 06, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Jan 13, 2019

Chase is very dishonest . Sounds like another
Donald Trump Lies and more lies ! Does Trump or Chase ever tell the truth ?

 
Jan 13, 2019

TRY CITI CREDIT CARD ( VISA ) TROUGH COSTCO GREAT CARD AND THEY WILL TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOU !!

 
Dec 02, 2018
It's a credit card. Be careful.
Nucdog Cardholder

Always put auto pay on all cards and make additional payment so you don't get soaked by high interest rates and late fees.  Try to pay it off monthly and when you get an offer of 0% Make sure you pay it off early! all of it.  or you get charged the high interest rates for the full term on all of your debt!  Read the contract.  Follow the rules. I pay 16% interest on this card and I definately dont make 6 figures.  I pay on time and in full, mostly.  Auto pay is only for when you forget to pay.  It is so small that you will end up in the poor house if you rely on it.  It's a credit card! they are in business to get as much of your money as they can wring, trick, or cheat you out of.  Just like all other businesses.  None are honest and trustworthy anymore.  Get over your anger about how they won't do this or that for you. Remember customer service is some poor chump in a foreign country who can't make your life easier if he/she wants to keep that ****ty job. Just follow the rules and all will be well. Maybe.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2019

Thank you for your honesty, iv held the same rules for years, never paid a late fee or interest

 
Nov 29, 2018
Terrible interest rate - non negotiable
ds2007 Cardholder

Terrible interest rate! They won’t disclose why I was underwritten at over 24% interest rate regardless of my excellent credit score. They will not negotiate the rate down and I was informed by a customer service rep that the rate will never go lower only higher. Consumer beware!

more ...
Dec 05, 2018

It’s a high rewards card. They always have a higher interest rate. You should have applied for a no rewards credit card.

 
Jan 17, 2019

Pay it off every month. If you are complaining about the interest rate you shouldn’t have a card.

 
Nov 27, 2018
A Waste of Time

I have owned this card for about 3 years. I applied for it when I thought it had good benefits. Chase approved the card with a $3500 credit limit. I have never been approved for so little by any card. However I thought this would be a great card to add my teenager daughter to.

First and foremost, they gave both my daughter and I the same card number making it impossible to figure out charges when it was time to pay the bill. My daughter and I shop at the same places.

Secondly, I have not received a credit increase the entire time I've had the card. If you make the request, it's a hard inquiry on your credit. All three of my scores are in the high 700s and I make 6 figures. The bill is always paid in full and have never been late.
When questioned about why they don't do auto increases like everyone else, they state that's just there process.

more ...
Dec 06, 2018

Reading this review makes me afraid to apply for this card. I wonder if Chase gets these reviews and see how unhappy their consumers are. We bring the business; and these ratings surely slow their business down.

 
Jan 07, 2019

That’s strange. My credit score was dismal, I paid all appropriate payments and kept my balance low and as soon as my score increased they offered me a balance increase as well. I don’t think I’ve had the card that long either, maybe a few years? (Also - nowhere near 6 figures here)

 
Jan 13, 2019

Chase is very dishonest . Sounds like another
Donald Trump Lies and more lies ! Does Trump or Chase ever tell the truth ? ... TRY CITI CREDIT CARD ( VISA ) TROUGH COSTCO GREAT CARD AND THEY WILL TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOU !!

 
Nov 21, 2018
Great
Mariaa1 Cardholder

it has unlimted 1 percent cash back on any earnings however they have quarters where they offer 5 percent cashback on other purchases. its amazing i love it because you can redeem any amount over 20 dollars for cashback

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2019

CITI payed you up to 4% cash rewards back and NO Annual Fee CITI - COSTCO VISA Great customer service !

 
Nov 15, 2018
Important stepping stone
champstar Cardholder

Important stepping stone as you build your relationship with Chase.  Helps lead to cards with even better rewards like the Chase Sapphire Reserve.

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
I love the cashback
mcnrn Cardholder

CS is 670s and got approved. CL $1000. About to transfer money to my primary checkings. Glad I got approved!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 21, 2018

Which bureau did they pull from? Do you have a chase checking account?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom®