Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
211 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2016
Shocked 2x
ThankfulForCK Cardholder

I was clueless when it came to credit and how it worked. Thought I was screwed forever because of mistakes I made early on. Every now and then I would apply for a store card and always get denied. Received a Chase freedom invitation email and said "why not?". Probably the first time I'd applied for a CC in 2+ years. Instantly approved for $500! Whaaaattt??? That was the first shocker.!! Signed up for CK and had a 530ish score with 2 collections. Paid the collections off in full, did tons of homework on my own, got some advice from a friend and brought my score up 100 points in three months. Applied for a CO quicksilver and was approved for $300.

Fast forward five months(eight months from when I was first approved for the CF) and I'm sitting with a TU:694 and EQ:682. QS limit was just raised to $800 and I was debating on whether or not to request a CLI for my CF. After calling twice and backing out both times, I decided to go for it. When the lady on the phone asked me how much of an increase I wanted I first said $1000, then switched to $500, then explained I was a little nervous about the ordeal and wasn't sure how much I should request. She then asked "You wanna just leave it blank and see what happens?" and I said "Sure". The next words I heard through the operator's smile was "you've been approved for a $5000 increase bringing your limit up to $5500." Shocker number two! I thought it was going to take my at least another year to get a limit that high! Third time was truly a charm!!

Thanks to CF's insane approval and everything I've learned from CK's site--especially these cardholder's reviews-- I'm on the road to great credit!!! Such a friggin relief!!!!!! :) :) :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2015
ErikRamison Cardholder

This used to be a great card, paying the highest cash back percentage of all available cash back cards - 3% on everything. One day, Chase sent everyone a letter stating "Congratulations! You'll now get 5% in a couple of categories!", with "and 1% of everything else", and since then, this card has been pretty mediocre. The categories originally began as things like "groceries" or "retail" - now they're specific retailers. The only time I ever use this card is at Amazon in Q4, since their only 5% categories are Amazon-owned, and that's the only really compelling discount anytmore. In a couple of days it's going back on the shelf for another year.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 08, 2016
Credit Card Approved; CK says poor odds?

Chase Freedom was my first credit card. Got it in my Junior year of college - at that point, it has been 2 years since I applied for and got an SSN, and of course, I did not have any credit. But I was with Chase for 2+ years, and have been living at my current apartment for 2+ years. And I got approved in their local branch. :P It's just funny that Credit Karma says POOR for the odds, so I decided to write a comment. Bleh.
It's a pretty nice credit card in terms of accumulating cash back, which I will transfer it to one of their partner airline's mileage after getting Chase Sapphire card, which makes it possible. It has been 11 months since I got the card, and I have around 35,000 points, which will equal one way trip to any continent.

So, go get it in one of their branches, in person. Go!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Good card to earn cash rewards
Angry285 Cardholder

Good card to earn cash rewards. I have had it for a 5 months made nice bonus .easy to get with fair to good credit...they give a decent credit line to start with,

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Credit limit increase denied, then email
JeBe4 Cardholder

Hello everyone, so I will be as concise as I can, I use to work for JP and they gave me a starting limit of 1500 (I was like 20) like 5 years ago. Fast forward, I won a lawsuit against them but prior to that they dropped my limit to 300! I did at the time have bad subprime cards with poor limits and at that age didn't fully grasp or care about credit.

Fast forward to today my credit score is mid 700's, plenty of great cards with $X,XXX.XX limits PLENTY for me. Chase STILL keeps my limit at 300! My other cards are always giving me increases auto.

I applied twice for a line increase most recently two days with Chase and it was denied - so I traded up my points on my Freedom and will use my other cards I asked for it to be reviewed, they still turned me down. Oh I literally have never gone over my limit or been late on a payment in the 5+ years of having the account. I refuse to use it until they change the limit (I wonder how soon they will close it for non use)

So today at like 5pm 9/28 I received an e-mail asking me to update my income! I provided 107k per anum. I just thought the timing was strange. I subsequently forwarded the e-mail to chase abuse, but I had already verified my name and address after I logged into my account and then provided my income and saved it.

I read people say they got a similar correspondence from Chase and got an increase, I don't know but the site looked legit and it did have all my information so I don't think it was a phishing attack. I was just more curious about the income request when literally 24hrs before I gave my income on the credit line increase so idk....any personal experiences with this would be most appreciated

more ...
Sep 25, 2016
apr is through the roof
Anonymous Cardholder

I have 800+ fico 8.  I've had this Chase card since 2011.  The apr is 23.24%! Why would I ever use this card?!!  I hate Chase, the bank does not have any free checking options without strings, this APR is punitive, and I don't understand how people put up with this sh**.  I won't close it, because closing a 5 year old card will damage my score, but **** sure it stays under my mattress, if I ever accidentally lock myself out of my bathroom, and use it to break back in, I'll update my rating to 2 stars!

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Not bad at all
VittoM Cardholder

First-- note that CreditKarma gives SCORES, not FICO.  FICO is what is mainly used and is generally 30-50 points higher than your scores.  Just to throw that out there...  So, my TU FICO is 653 and I applied.  I instantly got a pending and the whole "pretty much declined".  But I read an article about calling the recon number, so I did.  Turns out, that was because I had applied to more than a few cards lately.  BOA (Bank of America) ran my credit and offered a partial.  I do not know the details but most likely will not go with them.  

  So about this card, the recon number was helpful.  I stayed on the phone for about 30 minutes and afterwards with the text security number they verify, was approved for 500.  I was very happy because this says "poor" chances.  I also add the Capital One Journey said "poor" and I got it with a 300.  The great recession killed me and I lost everything.  Finally, stuff is coming off and my score is going up.  Don't loose hope, and try this card.  It's a VERY good card for cash back.  I recommend shopping in the quarters they give you to get 5%.  Everything else is 1% which isn't a 1.5 but it's still something!

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I like this card because it stands by what they say it will do.I tell everybody to get it🙏. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I like this card because it stands by what they say it will do.I tell everybody to get it🙏. 

more ...
Aug 31, 2016
CardCarrier Cardholder

Received a favorable interest rate for excellent credit. Rewards are competitive with the better cards but points not cash are accumulated until redeemed.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
steelergurl1 Cardholder

Been rebuilding my credit since Sept 2015... Applied for this card back in April, was instantly approved with $1000 starting limit. 15 mo 0apr on purchases and balance transfers. Love the 5% categories but u do have to activate them each quarter. Also recieved my $150 after statement for spend requirement was met. Double pulled Ex and Trans fico 8 scores 641 and 647 at time of approval...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®

211 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i