Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
124 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 24.24%* Variable

Our Take

With great rewards and more, Chase Freedom® is a well-rounded credit card for consumers with good to excellent credit. It’s also one of the most popular credit cards on Credit Karma.

What to Like

Chase Freedom®’s cash back program includes 1% cash back on every purchase, as well as 5% cash back in rotating bonus categories like gas or groceries. Cardholders can also get a $150 cash back bonus after making $500 in purchases in the first three months. The Chase Freedom® offers a 0% introductory APR on both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

This card features a 3% foreign transaction fee, and a $5 or 5% (whichever is greater) balance transfer fee. It's important to stay within your budget while aiming for that $150 cash back bonus.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2016
Shocked 2x
ThankfulForCK Cardholder

I was clueless when it came to credit and how it worked. Thought I was screwed forever because of mistakes I made early on. Every now and then I would apply for a store card and always get denied. Received a Chase freedom invitation email and said "why not?". Probably the first time I'd applied for a CC in 2+ years. Instantly approved for $500! Whaaaattt??? That was the first shocker.!! Signed up for CK and had a 530ish score with 2 collections. Paid the collections off in full, did tons of homework on my own, got some advice from a friend and brought my score up 100 points in three months. Applied for a CO quicksilver and was approved for $300.

Fast forward five months(eight months from when I was first approved for the CF) and I'm sitting with a TU:694 and EQ:682. QS limit was just raised to $800 and I was debating on whether or not to request a CLI for my CF. After calling twice and backing out both times, I decided to go for it. When the lady on the phone asked me how much of an increase I wanted I first said $1000, then switched to $500, then explained I was a little nervous about the ordeal and wasn't sure how much I should request. She then asked "You wanna just leave it blank and see what happens?" and I said "Sure". The next words I heard through the operator's smile was "you've been approved for a $5000 increase bringing your limit up to $5500." Shocker number two! I thought it was going to take my at least another year to get a limit that high! Third time was truly a charm!!

Thanks to CF's insane approval and everything I've learned from CK's site--especially these cardholder's reviews-- I'm on the road to great credit!!! Such a friggin relief!!!!!! :) :) :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 23, 2016
low CLs and no auto increases
devo1441 Cardholder

I have no real problem with Chase. I've had the Freedom card for 9 months now and I have used it for both a small transfer and a few purchases. The only issue is the low CLs that Chase seems to give out to most people. I've also had a Slate card for almost 2 years now and I got approved for a $2000 CL for that card and was hoping that I would be approved for a higher limit on the Freedom due to my usage and strong payment history on the Slate card for over a year. Nope, got another $2000 CL. These are by far the lowest limit of any card I've been approved for in the last 3 years and in addition unlke every other card I have they do not seem to do automatic credit limit increases (at least in my experience). I have decent, probably slightly above average income and my scores usually range between 710-740. So if you are in a similar income/credit score bracket I wouldn't expect too much credit from Chase. That being said I've never ahd any other issues with either of my cards. I even recently was offered a new balance transfer option with the Slate card for 14 months no interest and only a 2% fee but with only $2000 to use I probably won't utilize it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
Cool Card Every Other Quarter
jetblk3 Cardholder

My Chase Freedom card is the one I use the least across my five accounts. Have had it since August 2015. At the time, it was my largest credit line at $3,500, but since I've had other card limits increased and added a couple new accounts, there's only an one or two quarters a year when i get value: The 5 points on gas and 5 points on restaurants usually happen at some point in the year, but outside of those periods, I don't use it at all. Another thing is you're limited to $75 a quarter in bonus cash; after that you only earn 1 point for all purchases. 

What this card is great for is spending in these categories at different times in the year: Gas, Restaurants, Department Stores, Public Transit, and occasionally Amazon.com. 

The positives are Chase approved my application with a marginal score of 655 at the time (8% utitlization) and although my limit started at $3,500, they automatically increased my limit to $5,500 after the first year of perfect payment history. There's no annual fee so you can hang on to the card forever even if you're not using it. I took advantage of the 0% introductory APR and paid the balance before it ended which was great. Also, once I had accidentally scheduled a payment to an old bank account -- since I had scheduled the payment in advance of my due date, Chase agreed to waive the returned payment fee and the late fee since the new payment posted a day late. Customer service has been great and I would definitely upgrade to a Chase card with an annual fee.

Overall, it's a decen card with no annual fee. For bigger rewards, there are other cards I use. But it's great starter card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 20, 2017

What cards do you get the biggest rewards from?

 
Feb 12, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have any questions, don't call because nobody knows anything. And I mean it. They literally told me the wrong thing about when I needed to pay. Steer clear!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017

Alrighty. You know, if you can't figure out when your closing and statement dates are, and you need to call in to find out when you need to pay, you should probably steer clear of all credit cards.

 
Feb 17, 2017

You don't have access to your statement?

 
Feb 07, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Please and please don't use this chase freedom credit card or any chase credit card. They would scam you when it's comes to interest rate. If you carry a balance for the month and next month you pay in full they would still charge you more interest for paying it in full. This happen to me and I have capital one credit card and believe me capital one would not charge you interest once you pay your credit card bill in full. This is a scam. Little words is good for the wise, there is a lot of credit card out there you can apply for but this chase freedom credit card it's a scam.

more ...
Feb 12, 2017

You're not getting charged interest for paying in full.

 
Feb 12, 2017

Wrong. This has been a great card for me for years. You're making a mistake on the calculation.

 
Feb 02, 2017
Chase? Run away! Run away!
Mike20172017 Cardholder

Initial credit limit of $500 is usual. I have had this card for months, zero bal/ always paid off before due date, 751 Equifax score. I called today to ask about a line increase. Denied PLUS they do a HARD CHARGE credit report inquiry! Chase is a DISASTER!

more ...
Feb 02, 2017

It's pretty common knowledge Chase does a hard inquiry when you request a credit limit increase. No hard pull if they do it on their own. They bumped mine from $5700 to $7200 after 8 months or so without me asking. Sorry to hear they didn't approve you for one. Your credit score looks good. There must be some other reason for the denial.

 
Feb 20, 2017

They go by Experian's score!

 
Feb 20, 2017

Mike try American Express blue cash or every day cash card way better.

 
Jan 21, 2017
easy approval
STSAlex Cardholder

CK gave me good odds for it. applied & got approved literally within a minute. 3k right off the bat. Couldn't be more content right now. TU 725, EQ 717. Btw this all started w capital one platinum so shoutout to them for giving me a second chance when no one would! 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
The card is a good card . .
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm hearing some really great reviews and I'm happy for the people that are doing well with this card. I'm dumbfounded though as to how folks have all of these credit score launches and approvals for more increases all on top of still having loans in default etc. Chase is who I had been banking with for a year and a half, meaning I had to trust them with my money. In that interim I completely paid off two school loans yet couldn't get approved for any card because of the "history" of my school loans that I at one time could not pay off, due to not being able to find a job, with a degree BTW. I had to twist their arm for them to even give the card to me. I have paid in full for more than four months, before the due date, yet no budging on any type of advances, except for a slight increase of a few points on my score. That increase was very minimal though. As far as the card itself, it is great. Its cash back features are pretty good. Watching the changes are nice. I wish the givers of the card were as generous as the card. The reason I ever decided to fight for the card in the first place was because I was told by more than one person that I would be approved next time but my info expired and tey couldn't see it, so apply again. This creates a hard pull. This happened twice. I was told to call in again. I did and was denied and told to go get a secured card. After months of this back and forth I wrote them. Needless to say, someone from the fraud department contacted me and gave me the card with a low limit. So card yay, service an absolute nay. Honestly if the bank itself wasn't so good, thorough, secure and on every corner, I would have left. 

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Terrible service

Chase is an awful choice for those who travel abroad a lot. I have seen suspicious activity in my account during my international travel (note: scam transactions came from US and I use my Chase card only in US, took one with me abroad as reserve card).

My cell phone did not work abroad and I used other phone to call to customer service. Customer service representative asked if In able to get text to my phone. I said No and explained the reason (but I still was able to get emails and verify all my personal information including security question). Representative locked my account for a while. After returning to US I called to Customer Service to unlock my account, but I was transferred to account closing group ("due to bank policy", WTF?!)

Ok, lets close it. 

My account had over 1k overpayment (refund from one store came when account was locked). I asked representative about my overpayment, and I said it would be great if Chase will return money to my payment account, because I'm going to other trip and will have no access to my mailbox and paper check. Lady said me no other option than paper check for return money. 

Later I had to call twice to bank to return my money. 

Awful service for "valued" customer. Very dissapointed. Someone stole my card (usual situation for bank, I believe), and I got more bull****s from bank instead of support. 

Bye, Chase! Hope not see you again. 

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Thank you Chase I love your credit card
Agnt007 Cardholder

Cash Back

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Great for folks starting out
Anonymous Cardholder

I am new to the US and had a secured credit card for a year to build up credit. Chase offered me Freedom, which has been great for rewards and extending my credit limit. Thanks, folks. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 25, 2017

How often do they increase your limit? And do you have to request the increase yourself, or do they just do it?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®

124 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i