Chase Freedom® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
69 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the Chase Freedom for 3.5 years now. I only had one Wells Fargo platinum card with a $2800 credit limit on it before the Freedom. I was instantly approved to get the Freedom with a 685 credit score. My approved credit limit was $15,000 right away. I use this card for everything and pay it off every two weeks. I now have a 795 credit score and a $30,400 limit on the Freedom with over $850 in cash rewards. Great card, great service, and very easy to use mobile app. Love it and love the rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2017
NOT a financial partner
AverageBorrower Cardholder

AVOID AVOID AVOID  BEWARE  UNFAIR PRACTICES  UNFAIR UNFAIR BEWARE

I've been a customer for more than 10 years.  Like many others I was hit by a major life event and found myself needing to pay thousands to Chase in interest.  I never defaulted, I never exeeded my limit and I treated Chase as my prefered creditor, always paying them before others and even tightening my belt rather than miss any payments.  While trying to recover and working hard to increase my credit score to a point before the setback, Chase decided to lower my Credit limits without cause.  They said that I have recently spent too much money on credit cards.  Yes I had a high utilization across the board but I had just turned the corner to start moving forward.  They ignored the fact that my mortgage was just recently paid in full as well!  BUT Not only did they lower my limits, they closed the gap that I did have and set my limits to the current balance.  CREATING AN ARTIFICIAL 100% UTILIZATION!   They don't care about your history with them.  They don't care about their customers.  AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

They CHANGE THE RULES even if you are paying on time and staying under your limit.

CHASE PLAYS BY THEIR OWN RULES!!! NOT INTERSTED IN YOU OR THE MONEY YOU PAY IN INTEREST!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2017
Best and easiest to get approved
Hemal4123 Cardholder

Got approved with almost an year of credit history. Chase Freedom Card is one of the best and easiest credit card to get approved.

I got a credit line of $8000 with 1 year and 2 months Age of Credit History.

Earn a $150 bonus with Chase Freedom. We both can be rewarded if you apply here and are approved for the card!

https://www.referyourchasecard.com/2/9GBD8H0MYY

Earn 5% cash back on up to $1,500 in combined purchases in bonus categories each quarter you activate

Enjoy new 5% categories each quarter like gas stations, restaurants and drugstores

Unlimited 1% cash back on all other purchases – it’s automatic

0% Intro APR for 15 months from account opening on purchases and balance transfers, then a variable APR of 15.99-24.74%. Balance transfer fee is 5% of the amount transferred, $5 minimum

Cash Back rewards do not expire as long as your account is open

No annual fee

more ...
Nov 06, 2017
No credit limit increases since I had
eddy211981 Cardholder

I have never gotten a credit limit increases been $500 since I have had it over 2 years credit score is 742 tu ex is 730 and fico is 739

more ...
Nov 18, 2017

Same here . Have limit at $2600 for 3 years no increase.

 
Nov 20, 2017

Same. Chase be taking forever in their increases

 
Nov 20, 2017

*on

 
Nov 22, 2017

Well I don't have the freedom card with Chase but I have the slate card and they just increase mines from 1000 to 2000 and I only had it for a couple of months ...maybe try the slate card with Chase so far so problems

 
Nov 03, 2017
741 CS 19 y/o 7000CL
PeterFL123 Cardholder

Ok so I got instantly approved ck gave me a good chance for getting approved despite my high score I only had 2800 combined limit between 2 cards chase approved me and gave me 7k cl I haven't had the card long term yet but the cash back is the rotating cats are great but shopping through chase is even better some websites offer 20% cash back 

now I've only used the card for a few months so this is a short term review can't speak for anything but I can't say that if you're like me and don't like to carry a balance over the month if you over pay your card the money seems to disappear instead of showing the few dollars or whatever you over payed by 

more ...
Oct 18, 2017
Nice card to have
LosMx Cardholder

There has been no problems with the card itself. Its a 1% back on every purchase and 5% on rotating catagories every quater, downside is you have to manually activate it but it takes 2 secounds so not that big a deal.

Strongly recommend you dont use the roadside assistance cause it left me stuck on the road for 3 HOURS, more a Visa perk but it came from this card so yea....

They recently updated the card design so you will get the one in the picture but if you have the old one you can't, CAN'T, switch to the new design. I called the number on the back of my card and was bounced around just to be told no one knew about a new design and that it wasn't available to me. 

more ...
Oct 20, 2017

Call and repot a damaged card.

 
Oct 26, 2017

>

 
Nov 14, 2017

LOL, Be grateful the Auto Club perk worked, 3 hours is hardly a complaint.

 
Nov 23, 2017

I had the old design also, and they just sent me a new card with the new design without me even asking for it! That kind of freaked me out, because I was thinking that maybe it was a fraud thing and they cancelled my card and didn't tell me. Not the case! They just sent me a new one with a new design, as I'd had it for 2 years this month.

 
Oct 13, 2017
Good base card to start out
HariHaru Cardholder

This was the first card I appplied for on my own after doing a few weeks of research on what would benefit my neesd inthe future (mostly being travel related). I only had about a years worth of credit history - a shared Lowe's card, a car payment with a co-sign, both accounts being under 30% so I basically took a shot in the dark applying given that and having a "fair" approval odds.TU and Equifax were 684 when I applied, and to my surprise I was approved. Granted I have the highest interest rate and a low max ($2000) but I wasn't expecting much to begin with so I'll take it. The quarterly setups make sense for me, and it's not too far off from how I typically spend anyway. You'll max out your quarters easily without having to try very hard. I wouldn't reccomend using points for cash out if you plan on get a CSP or CSR in the future, which is what I hope to do once I'm a little more comfortable financially. Sorry this isn't much of a "review", just wanted to pass along my financial situation to those who may be concerned as I was and still on the fence. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Terrible Experience
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid for a Western Union services online 2 times using Chase Freedom credit card and Chase charged me $10 twice for these transactions. Nowever I could find why I was charged this much for a simple online purchase and finlaly Chase told me that these trasactions were considered cash advance which again no one told me about. I asked Chase how could I know about this and they told me you should have called us frist! Obviously I had no idea that they would interpret this trasaction as a cash advance. Chase refused to fully reimburse me on these 2 transactions so I decided to close both of credit card accounts and not to do any business with Chase ever again.

more ...
Oct 06, 2017

What service did you use specifically? If the service amounted to paying someone with a cashable check then that seems like something you could have reasonably inferred to be a cash advance, and is anyway included in the cardmember agreement that gets mailed to you with the Chase Freedom card. Here it is online:

https://www.chase.com/content/feed/public/creditcards/cma/Chase/COL00055.pdf

 
Oct 08, 2017

Western Union is a money transfer service of course it would count as a cash advance

 
Oct 29, 2017

I agree with Jasonborn.....this would have happened no matter which credit card company you used. The way that you would have known is its all in your terms and conditions as well as on monthly statements. Also its on the application. Thats like being on the highway and riding in the HOV lane with no other passengers in the vehicle and the police pulls you over and writes you a ticket and then you say "Oh I didn't know what that lane was for" lol.

 
Nov 06, 2017

Yeah using a cc to send cash is walah a cash advance. 101 level finance lass dismissed.

 
Sep 27, 2017
HOW TO GET AROUND CHASE BANK CASHING FEE
Anonymous Cardholder

HOW TO GET AROUND CHASE BANK CASHING FEES!

I am a General Contractor:

   I simply took the check back and told the bank manager that I was going back to the check writer and charge them the $8.00 fee 'for not having an account at my bank'. He told me that ‘I didn’t have to do that’….I told him ‘yes I did! I was not going to pay a fee for cashing their member's check when they have already paid $2.00 to $3.00 to obtain and write the check to start with!’  And, ‘this absurd rule of theirs is the one reason I didn’t have an account there. It’s stupid!’ When I took the check back she said she did not know the bank was doing that, and was not going to pay Chase $10.00 or $11.00 every time she write a check. SHE MOVED HER ACCOUNT!

 I have about 25 customers with Chase accounts. Each time I add $8.00 to $10.00 to their estimate. I am not pay for them to maintain a Chase checking account! Chase cash more than 2,0000.00 checks yearly .....that's $25,000.00 a year that we are paying for their members to maintain their Chase checking account. 'WHO DO CHASE THINK THEY ARE? THE IRS!  SEND THE FEE BACK TO THEIR CUSTOMER….. DON’T PAY IT!....LET THEIR CUSTOMER DEAL WITH IT!

more ...
Oct 03, 2017

I'm sorry, but what does this have to do with the Chase Freedom card? CK needs to delete this review ASAP.

 
Oct 18, 2017

Having good grammar will perhaps allow readers to understand your message better. Anyways Ligre22 is right, this has nothing to do with the card itself.

 
Oct 20, 2017

Just deposit the checks, there is no charge for that.

 
Oct 29, 2017

There's a vast gap in general credit card knowledge and therefore people leave negative reviews...This is sad.

 
Sep 23, 2017
stuvo1977 Cardholder

I have had this card for just about 3 years. Yet, my limit has remained at 1200 dollars. Beware they aren't good about giving limit increases without a hard pull. My Discover card has an 8500 dollar limit. I would close this card, but it would possibly hurt my credit. The rewards are pretty good.

more ...
Oct 14, 2017

Chase has never done a hard pull when I have asked for credit increases. I’ve had this same card for s few years and have a $30,400 limit. Get your debt paid down and credit score up...

 
Oct 18, 2017

What is your credit allowance between all cards/loans? Banks will compare that to your salary sometimes and if you're close to what they see risky they won't give you an increase.

 
Sep 16, 2017
Extremely valuable

This card can earn you a ton of cash back, but more importantly, Ultimate Rewards points. But you need to own a "premium" Chase card (CSP/CSR, etc.) to turn the cash back points into UR points.

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Trifecta!
Ligre22 Cardholder

Applied online just a few minutes ago, and got approved for $4500. I'm pretty happy with that, and look forward to maximizing my UR points (have CFU w/$5k and CSP w/$7k)! FICO scores are 710 EX, 705 EQ and 704 TU, while CK scores are 733 TU and 742 EQ. Just got a pay raise at work, so I'm confident I can handle this. Chase has never steered me wrong in the past, and I can't wait to see this one in the mail and start getting those 5% bonus cash back rewards!

more ...
Sep 08, 2017

Correction - FICO score for EQ is 706 and TU is 705.

 
Sep 09, 2017

Nice job Ligre! I've had this one for a while alongside my CSP. Those 5x categories are HUGE when you've got one of the sapphire cards. Looking forward to getting a CFU in a few months once back I'm under 5/24. You're spot on about Chase. My experience with them has always been nothing short of perfect. Go figure...use the cards properly and pay your bills on time. Cheers!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom®