Barclaycard Financing Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2017
Approval odd HUH???
titliest72 Cardholder

I was denied when my score was 720+ but approved when my score was 608 at the time. That still baffels me. Anyhow, this is a great card for those Apple purchases with great 0% interest financing. Same as any other card though, be sure you pay off full before finance period ends. You can use the card anywhere, but I only use it for Apple account and Apple gifts. Good card to have. Cannot complain. Have yet to use the apple reward points yet so I cannot comment on it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 11, 2017
Playing games with your credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card to finance a new MacBook. I have been making on time payments larger than minimums, never used the card again and finally brought the utilization down below 40% The card company suddenly decided to lower my credit limit to $100 above the current balance which inflated my utilization and caused my credit score to drop by 20 points. Avoid this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 15, 2017
Deceiving
Anonymous Cardholder

My wife and I have been put into a hole because of this card. We pay over the minimum balance every month, and early, and at the end of every month, it's as if we never paid anything on it. STAY AWAY. 

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Just make more that you minimum pay ment  to have no problem with the 0% interest rate. Do the math 

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
DO NOT BOTHER
BofNY Cardholder

I got this card from the Apple site. They initially gave me a 2k limit, but I didn't make a purchase in the apple store for a month, then when I wanted to they said it was only 30 days to use the special offer of no interest, at this point I'd have to pay interest on any purchase...

So I just decided to use the card to pay my cable bill every month, thus keeping it under a 10% utilization. I NEVER missed a payment, and always paid my statement in FULL.

Six months in, they lowered my limit to 1k... Ok fine, it's 500 less so who cares, right? Kept making on time full payments.

Just found out, now a year into owning this card, they did it AGAIN.

I'm also hearing that they have a habit of completely CLOSING cards if they don't like the soft pull they did (they apparently do them every six months) reasons for limit decrease and closures seem to be using OTHER cards a lot (Like that's their business) or too many inquiries since opening their ****ty card!

I'll never close it, but if they do, whatever. 500 won't ding my score much.

But for someone who gets a high limit from them, and uses it often, that might be a problem.

Stay away from this card, it sucks.

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Stay away!
vogelfrei Cardholder

When your first card expires, Barclay can close your account with no plausible reason even if you have not missed a single payment in three years. Except the first Apple purchase, there is no benefit to make you use this piece of junk anyway. Just stay away if you don't want a "closed account" hit in your record.

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Average Beginner Card
Anonymous Cardholder

This is an average, beginner credit card. I have redeemed $50 in Apple Store gift cards at this time, which they email to you. The website has many more options than the app.

As other users mentioned: Use this primarily for Apple purchases. You can call right before you buy a new Apple product to get interest-free financing over and over again with whatever new product you want.

Customer Service was United States based - they lowered my interest rate to 16% (lowest is 13.99) after 8 months. I barely paid interest but still called to get them to lower it, took about 5 minutes.

Keep it around for your yearly Apple stuff and that's about it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 29, 2017

How often can you get the intrest-free financing?
I just got approve for 3k but stupid of me apply early and the 30 day promo ends before iphoneX comes out.

 
Jun 11, 2017
Playing games with your credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card to finance a new MacBook. I have been making on time payments larger than minimums, never used the card again and finally brought the utilization down below 40% The card company suddenly decided to lower my credit limit to $100 above the current balance which inflated my utilization and caused my credit score to drop by 20 points. Avoid this card.

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Your $/credit is not safe with them!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a credit card account with BarclayCard. They cashed a fraudulent balance transfer check and charged it to my account. I reported this as fraudulent almost 3 weeks ago. I received a letter stating that they could do nothing for me. I have called them repeatedly asking them to explain why they can't do anything for me and asked them where the $300.00 went that I supposedly transferred to one of my accounts, because there is no record of $300.00 being transferred to any of my accounts. Each time that I had called I was told that they would look into the matter and contact me personally with updates. They were also NOT able to tell me where the money went when I asked them where the money had been transferred to every time that I had called! They didn't even contact me once except for the letter telling me that they can't do anything for me. Do NOT bank with Barclaycard!!! The customer service is horrible! They have actually robbed me, or at least they are trying to since they actually accepted a fraudulent check and charged it to my account! They appear to be doing nothing in the form of actual investigation into this matter!

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
You have to wait forever to redeem point
jarinkh Cardholder

If you are getting this card coz of rewards then think twice because i have been trying to redeem my 2500 points but they keep on saying its gonna automatic create the Gift card and i have never got it.

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Great for Apple purchases!
Fern1983 Cardholder

I was originally denied through the online application. I called the recon line (1-866-408-4064) and explained to them my credit situation and they approved me with a $1000 CL. I can now buy an iPad Pro with the interest free financing for 6 months. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 09, 2017

I was denied they told me it was because I don't currently have a credit card. I was like huh?? Wouldn't that be a good thing?? Anyway was that your issue?

 
Jan 24, 2017
Approval odd HUH???
titliest72 Cardholder

I was denied when my score was 720+ but approved when my score was 608 at the time. That still baffels me. Anyhow, this is a great card for those Apple purchases with great 0% interest financing. Same as any other card though, be sure you pay off full before finance period ends. You can use the card anywhere, but I only use it for Apple account and Apple gifts. Good card to have. Cannot complain. Have yet to use the apple reward points yet so I cannot comment on it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 25, 2017

Also forgot to add that you are asked your initial purchase amount. Never input the real amount, always input a lot more than you intend on spending to keep your debt to income down. Ex. If you want a iPod and spend 500, then input 2,500 so your around 20% use of credit. This may screw you if you want a 5K decked out PC because you would have to input over 20K which you are sure to be denied. So always take into consideration the debt to income ratio and your initial purchase amount.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Financing Visa® Card