Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Barclaycard Financing Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 23, 2015
Finance & MORE Highly Recommended!!
Csharmmka Cardholder

I applied for this card online 7 months ago and was instantly approved for $1500. I was one year into rebuilding at the time and this card was my 6th tradeline (after a 3 app spree).  TU was pulled. CK TU was 668 & CK EQ 653. I was so hesitant about applying for this card because of the many confusing reviews here on CK.  As it turns out, many of the reviews refer to the older version of this card, which offered no rewards and the remainder of the reviews are from people who really don't understand how this card works:  The BVAR card offers 3 points for every dollar on Apple purchases, 2 points for Restaurants and 1 point for all other purchases. You can redeem at every $2500 spent for a $25 iTunes, or Apple Gift Card. New card holders have 30 days to take advantage of the Apple Financing, which offers a 6, 12 or 18 month interest free promo period, but the promo period is determined by the amount spent. If your purchase is under $498, than you're offered 6 months, and if your purchase is between $499 - $998, the finance period is 12 months and if you spend $999+ you're offered 18 months. This special financing only applies to Apple products purchased directly from the Apple online store, or in their retail stores. If you finance an Apple purchase, then add non-Apple purchases ie; restaurants & groceries etc., these non-Apple purchases are not included in the special financing. Additionally, all payments made are first applied to the Non-Apple purchases. So, when making a payment, pay enough to cover both the non-Apple purchase, plus the required finance payment. If your Apple financed purchase has not been paid in full before the end of the promo period, you are then charged interest retroactively, from the initial date of purchase. This is common practice in financing with deferred interest.  ADDITIONAL FINANCE OFFERS: after 6 months of using this card, I was extended another "Special Finance" offer and it was the same as the initial offer, 6, 12, or 18 months. AUTO CLI: I was given and auto cli of $1300, after 6 months of moderate usage. My current CL is $2800. BONUS REWARDS: I received an email 5 days ago, indicating that I had been chosen for a special offer, which expands the 2 points category to include: 2 Apple Rewards Points for every dollar spent at supermarkets, movie theaters and for utility payments, from January 1-March 2016. YES the interest rate is outrageous, but you do have the option of paying your bill in full each month, or simply using the card to finance Apple Purchases.  I've never paid 1 cent in interest and use other cards with 0 Intro APR, or a much lower interest rates, if I must carry a balance.  This is also a great card to use as an additional tradeline, or to lower your overall credit utilization. I've used Customer Service twice and both representatives were knowledgeable, friendly and extremely professional. I've added two authorized users and this tradeline reports on their credit file. I've also added the card to both Apple Pay & Android Pay, with no issues. I have had nothing but positive experiences with this card and with Barclaycard thus far, so I highly recommend it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 20, 2016
High Interest rates for non-Apple
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card two years ago when paying full price for an iphone, originally had a 2k credit line. Put other expenses on it and realized the APR for non-Apple items was over 27%APR!!!!! Been working on paying this card off ASAP, and they keep raising my credit limit. Now my credit limit is nearly 7k without any requests. Would use card a lot more if the APR was reasonable. I have a 670 credit score currently.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 09, 2016
30 days to set up automatic payments
Anonymous Cardholder

I thought I had automatic payments set up, but they said they needed 30 days to "process" automatic payments. This meant that I missed a payment, incurred a late fee, and hit my credit score. Customer service was not 24 hour, and the person I talked to spoke broken English and did nothing to help. Definitely do not recommend.

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
~*Approved from $2,000 to $5,000*~
MimiRoss Cardholder

I originally got this card to purchase an apple computer back in 2014. They gave me a credit limit of $2,000. Even though I have had on time payments with them for the past 2 years they have never given me an auto increase. So I called and decided to ask for one. I spoke with a customer service agent who transferred me to a credit analyst. He made small talk with me but I could tell from the convo he was fishing for the reason I wanted the increase. Didnt want to just say I deserve one by now so instead I said for the upcoming holidays. He did a soft pull on my Transunion and asked me to hold while he looked it over. He asked me how much I wanted and I told him $5,000 . He came back about 5 minutes later with a congratulations you have been approved for the $5,000. He told me to log in about 5 minutes later and it should be. We hung up and I looked and it was there.

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Instant Online Approval!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied online through Apple's website. At the time, I had zero hard inquiries on my credit report with a credit score 765. I was approved with a $3,000 credit limit. Bought my iPhone 6s Plus immediately after the approval. Now I'm waiting on my card to come in the mail. 

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Just Okay
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied online, got approved, bought new apple ipad air and apple watch. Credit store high 700s only asked for 1k credit line got approved on the spot made my purchase. I would only suggest this card if you plan to pay off in full during the promotion period. I do not use this card for anything else as the interest rate is unbelievely high. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Good for Apple purchases
jtrackstar101 Cardholder

Approved for 2k  with CK 688, actual FICO is 648 from TU. 

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Special promo period should be forever.
eddiep426 Cardholder

Approved online with a $3500 limit at a 14.24% interest rate. The only good thing about the card is the no interest if paid in full promo period, which as to be used in the first 30 days of opening the account.

more ...
Aug 18, 2016
Barclays Card has Negative Terms, AVOID
Anonymous Cardholder

I WAS DISAPPOINTED WITH BARCLAYS!  Used Barclays at the Apple store (very easy to apply and get approval) and thought they would be ok. However, I found their interest rates and fees to be extremely high.  High maintenance -- you'll spend hours on the phone straightening bills out. With the high interest rate, I requested they lower 22+% and they would not even consider it. They were absolutely non-negotiable on this issue -- I found this very odd for a company supposedly trying to keep their customers.  So I paid the account off.  With my last payment, they charged me additional interest "trailing interest" they call it, so even though I paid my bill in full, my last payment left a small balance.  I am very annoyed by additional fees and in general working with this company.  I found them non-responsive to my needs and would NOT recommend them to anyone.  Check bankrate.com around for a better company!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Got approved for 2k
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for 2k grate customer service.

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Use it for the interest free financing!
skc74 Cardholder

Great for purchasing apple products while paying zero interest. Dont carry a balance and the high interest rate wont matter. 

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
great promotional financing at 0%
skc74 Cardholder

Used this card to buy an iPad, but hoestly I dont carry balances so I paid it off the next month. $1,500.00 instant approval - I have not had any issues with this card - I have received several itunes cards as rewards. I have had the card for 3 months - I will update at 6 months to see if they will give credit insrease. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Barclaycard Financing Visa® Card