Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First National Bank Secured Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 11, 2015
Good card thus far
redlance1960 Cardholder

It's a secured card, it is what it is, but so far, it is as good as any other secured card, and a far sight better than a lot of them. On the plus side, with responsible use, this card can eventually lead to unsecured credit line increases, and eventually graduation to an unsecured card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 20, 2016
Horrible
snips21 Cardholder

 I have had this card for over a year now and when it was time for graduating from the kickstart program, they started making excuses by saying that was not an option anymore. My credit score is 656 with a very low debt to income ratio and never been late on any payment ever on my credit report. If you get this card with the hope of converting it into an unsecured credit card, please reconsider because you never will. I normally dont ever leave any negative reviews, but what they did to me is not very good business practice. I just went ahead and paid off the account and closed it. Now I will be waiting for 6 weeks to get my deposit back...lol. Oh well, I have a Barclaycard, Bank of America, Discover, and Cap one unsecured cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 22, 2016
Good for reestablishing credit
juniebrunner Cardholder

After my BR13 was discharged I waited a few months before establishing a secured card to get me back on my way.  I did a bit of research and this one seemed like my best bet. 

I will say that true to most of the other reviews, its been 7 months since I made my deposit and received my card and I too got an increase.  I use it once or twice a month and pay it off with the next billing date.  I just logged in to check my credit on CK which I do once a week and when I saw my score went up, I clicked to see why.  Sure enough FNBO had increased my credit limit.  Not by much but its SOMETHING. 

My credit score has gone up a few points here and there over the 7 months and I have also received a couple of other lines of credit via other cards (non-secured I might add!) so reestablishing credit in the right way WILL work.

Now I am curious to see if my initial deposit is going to be returned to me as others have stated.  If I get that refunded AND my limit was increased then this has been a GREAT experience with FNBO!!!

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
Horrible
snips21 Cardholder

 I have had this card for over a year now and when it was time for graduating from the kickstart program, they started making excuses by saying that was not an option anymore. My credit score is 656 with a very low debt to income ratio and never been late on any payment ever on my credit report. If you get this card with the hope of converting it into an unsecured credit card, please reconsider because you never will. I normally dont ever leave any negative reviews, but what they did to me is not very good business practice. I just went ahead and paid off the account and closed it. Now I will be waiting for 6 weeks to get my deposit back...lol. Oh well, I have a Barclaycard, Bank of America, Discover, and Cap one unsecured cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2016

Update! I closed my account and it has been 6 weeks and I have not seen my deposit back. I called them last week and they said they sent it to the wrong address even though the address on file was correct. I called them again and they said that replacement check was never sent out and I have to wait another 10 days. This bank is a freaking joke.

 
Mar 25, 2016
Great card, long approval process
dweick23 Cardholder

This cards great. The annual fee isn't super high compared to other secured cards. Also, the fact that after a certain amount of months it can turn into an unsecured card is amazing. The only part about this card that was different was how long the approval process can be. It's not overbearing at all. You apply, the next day or so they take the money from your account.(on the actual application for this card it actually says that funds may be taken out of your account as soon as you're approved.) They don't tell you that you're approved yet though, but it makes me believe if the money acutally comes out of your bank account then your approved, they just wait on confirmation from your bank that the payment was successful. This is not unique to this card though. Most secured card work this way, only a couple don't. Yes, it can be hard to wait but it is the price of having poor credit. They need to know you're good for the actual deposit. Also some banks take up to two weeks to confirm a successful bank account withdrawl payment, (this is dependent on YOUR bank). A week after I applied I received a letter in the mail saying that I was officially approved and my deposit had been put into a savings account. I received this letter before it showed online that I was approved. I think it was about 3-5 days later that it showed online. Probably another 3-5 days and I received the card in the mail. It is quite a process but the benefits of this card outway the inconvenience of waiting in my opinion. I saw another review that said the online payment system was glitchy. This has not been my experience at all. I have made many, many payments because I pay it off after every purchase once it posts and I've never had any issues using First Nationals website or App. I tried to make a thourough review so other people researching this card had information, because there's not a lot of reviews out there.

more ...
Mar 17, 2016
Glitchy, don't get this card
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not get this card. The application process was easy, but the approval took forever. Then once you pay the deposit and get it, bill payment is glitchy and confusing. Their customer servce is terrible, and it makes it virtually impossible to pay your bill on time or at the right amount. Confusing and aggravating card to have. Don't do it. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2016
Extremely High APR

Extremely High APRI tried speaking with a few people to see if they can lower my APR interest rates, nobody helped.

more ...
Jan 25, 2016
Horrible Company
CourtneyGuary Cardholder

Horrible company! They only allow mailed in payments and Bill Pay thorough their bank. The payments take weeks to post on the account and then you have to wait additional time to use the funds because a "hold" is placed on the account after each payment!  I even tried paying with a money order instead of a personal check thinking this may speed up the process with it being applied to the account, still it takes weeks for those to be processed as well. So you may have your payment sent and delivered by the payment deadline, but they will not post the payment until they feel need to it seems. 

more ...
Dec 11, 2015
Good card thus far
redlance1960 Cardholder

It's a secured card, it is what it is, but so far, it is as good as any other secured card, and a far sight better than a lot of them. On the plus side, with responsible use, this card can eventually lead to unsecured credit line increases, and eventually graduation to an unsecured card!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

First National Bank Secured Visa® Card