Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Cash Back College Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I switched to Wells Fargo just so that I could apply for this card. I was able to set up accounts and get approved for the card with a $1000 limit in less than 2 weeks. If you pay your balance at the end of each cycle and don't spend more than 30% of your limit, you'll be able to build good credit in no time!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 25, 2015
Somewhat sketchy
PishgarUCF Cardholder

I brought this card with me to Norway and I had previously told Wells Fargo that I was leaving the country and that one of their representatives told me everything was fine for making purchases.  I tried to book a flight on one of the internal Norwegian air carriers and I was declined, so instead I had to take the train halfway across the country just to get to the other side of the fjords from Alesund to Bergen making a 14 hour journey on a train instead of a 2 hour flight.  This is not the best card for travel, plase be advised.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 03, 2016
Rewards are hard to get.
Anonymous Cardholder

I added rewards to this card in March 2016. Here we are Sept 2016 and of the ten agents I have spoken with not one has been empowered to resolve my issue they all have to send up an escalation that goes into lala land and no resolution. We have filed 2 per month over the last 3 months and there is still not one person, not even a supervisor that doesn't have their hands tied. It's a huge dissapointment. I spend about $1000 a month on my cc, looks like I'll be transferring it some place else.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Great while Rewards Last
Hjenny Cardholder

This was my first credit card ever after holding a teen checking account with WF for 5 years. I was instantly approved for a $1500 limit in college with no other credit history. The rewards are great at first with 3% cash back on grocery, gas, and drugstore purchases for 6 months. After the 6 months though, the 1% cash back seemed poor. They only raised my CL to $1800 after 7 months. I applied for a Citi and Amex reward card 6 and 9 months later and was approved for both with a 3k and 8k limit, which is way better. This card is great for students who want to start building credit, but not for long term.

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card for college students! Make sure to make payments before the period ends to receive a better credit score if possible.

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible bank, horrible customer service

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
KaitlynArnold Cardholder

Do not trust Wells Fargo! They will close your credit card for literally anything. They stated they didn't have an accurate address on file, which was false and refuse to do anything about it. Closing a credit card account hurts your credit a lot!

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Its a great card!!!

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
JD1126 Cardholder

I would recommend going into the branch and applying. It's a lot easier to have the branch rep do the application than you doing it yourself. I have low 630 credit score and more than one hard credit on my file. I got approved for $1200 credit limit. As a college student I would recommend paying your interest and maybe paying something in your name like a phone bill or something. The representative said that really helped me . Maybe by me passing this advice on it will help you.

more ...
Mar 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Family

more ...
Feb 21, 2016
First Credit Card.
Anonymous Cardholder

I definitely recommend for a first credit card. I switched my bank to Wells Fargo just to apply for this card and got accepted with a $600 CL. After being denied for Chase Freedom and a Victoria's Secret card I was very happy that Wells Fargo gave me a chance. I am into my second billing cycle and my credit score has already soared. (Now it is at 679) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 13, 2016

what was your score before you applied

 
Jan 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I switched to Wells Fargo just so that I could apply for this card. I was able to set up accounts and get approved for the card with a $1000 limit in less than 2 weeks. If you pay your balance at the end of each cycle and don't spend more than 30% of your limit, you'll be able to build good credit in no time!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Cash Back College Visa® Card