Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Cash Back College Visa® Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 30, 2015
Great For College Students!
ITSavvyGirl Cardholder

This credit card is amazing! Being a college student I can build credit and earn rewards. It's no APR I never had any late payments on my credit card. I had it for almost 3 months now and my credit score is 717. Waiting for next week for an update because I already paid my bills for May two weeks ago. Just be responsible and have no balance each month and you'll be great! 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 25, 2015
Somewhat sketchy
PishgarUCF Cardholder

I brought this card with me to Norway and I had previously told Wells Fargo that I was leaving the country and that one of their representatives told me everything was fine for making purchases.  I tried to book a flight on one of the internal Norwegian air carriers and I was declined, so instead I had to take the train halfway across the country just to get to the other side of the fjords from Alesund to Bergen making a 14 hour journey on a train instead of a 2 hour flight.  This is not the best card for travel, plase be advised.

more ...

Reviews (22)

Add Review
Sep 03, 2016
Rewards are hard to get.
Anonymous Cardholder

I added rewards to this card in March 2016. Here we are Sept 2016 and of the ten agents I have spoken with not one has been empowered to resolve my issue they all have to send up an escalation that goes into lala land and no resolution. We have filed 2 per month over the last 3 months and there is still not one person, not even a supervisor that doesn't have their hands tied. It's a huge dissapointment. I spend about $1000 a month on my cc, looks like I'll be transferring it some place else.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Great while Rewards Last
Hjenny Cardholder

This was my first credit card ever after holding a teen checking account with WF for 5 years. I was instantly approved for a $1500 limit in college with no other credit history. The rewards are great at first with 3% cash back on grocery, gas, and drugstore purchases for 6 months. After the 6 months though, the 1% cash back seemed poor. They only raised my CL to $1800 after 7 months. I applied for a Citi and Amex reward card 6 and 9 months later and was approved for both with a 3k and 8k limit, which is way better. This card is great for students who want to start building credit, but not for long term.

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card for college students! Make sure to make payments before the period ends to receive a better credit score if possible.

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible bank, horrible customer service

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
KaitlynArnold Cardholder

Do not trust Wells Fargo! They will close your credit card for literally anything. They stated they didn't have an accurate address on file, which was false and refuse to do anything about it. Closing a credit card account hurts your credit a lot!

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
JD1126 Cardholder

I would recommend going into the branch and applying. It's a lot easier to have the branch rep do the application than you doing it yourself. I have low 630 credit score and more than one hard credit on my file. I got approved for $1200 credit limit. As a college student I would recommend paying your interest and maybe paying something in your name like a phone bill or something. The representative said that really helped me . Maybe by me passing this advice on it will help you.

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
What is advertised is not accurate

I truthfully dont know why I applied for this card. I have other cards with 3kCL and 2,800CL, and another one for 5,500CL with a 670 credit score. They stated and made it seem as if you could get this card. I've been making payments on time since about a year ago promptly. All my credit cards I have automatically increases my limits without being asked at least every 120 days. Don't apply. I did have a dis charged chapter 7 from 2013 but that should have no effect on it. If your looking to keep the points you have on your credit card, don't apply for this card in my opinion. Don't let the opinion of others reflect yours.


more ...
Mar 23, 2016

I am very happy with everything that credit Karma has done so far. I can't wait to see my hard work pay off..

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Cash Back College Visa® Card