Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Platinum Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2016
Not good at all
Anonymous Cardholder

There are plenty of other companies that will treat you like an actual human and try to help you out, instead of Wells Fargo who was very unhelpful and pretty much the complete opposite of what I would want in customer service. Get a different card.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible card, terribly customer service, terrible all around. I am very upset about the way I was treated.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
NO, just NO
Anonymous Cardholder

They were not helpful, in fact they were downright aweful and caused me to lose money because of their misdirection. If I were to go back I would NOT go with Wells Fargo Platimum Card. Look elsewhere!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
STAY AWAY!
Anonymous Cardholder

I would STRONGLY advise against this card, I have encountered multiple rude customer service agents, I am very unhappy with the way that they handles my situation and I will protest against anyone that is considering getting this card.

more ...
May 25, 2016
Great Card for Beginners!
UserfromElkoMN Cardholder

I obtained a Wells Fargo Platinum Card (VISA) when I was in college. I started with a $300 balance, and with proper usage, I had a $4000 limit by graduation. This is a pretty "average" or "standard" credit card. Percentages (APR) are somewhat high, in my opinion, and rewards are average (I receive 1 point per $1 spent). I have yet to redeem any rewards, so I'm unsure of what that process is like. Wells Fargo Online and the rewards website seem fairly easy to navigate.

Con: Credit card purchases "pend" for a week and a half or two weeks before the charge is "posted" as a transaction.

more ...
May 05, 2016
First-time/Rebuild Credit Card.
Chrispy10 Cardholder

This card is a bit average. Nothing special about it. I first got this card as a secured card with a $300 security deposit. About a year later, the card "graduated" and got my $300 deposit back. However, stayed at my $300 limit and they refused to increase my limit after my credit score is now above a 660. ( Not great, but WAY better then where it started )

I currently have a credit limit of $4.5k with Capital One QS, $3k Capital One Journey, $1.5k Best Buy, $1.4k Target, and $4k AAdvantage Cedit Card. My Wells Fargo still has me at $300, which is my lowest limit. I've asked three times now for an increase ( not to spend more, but to how an over all larger limit to help with credit utilization ), and just recenrtly got rejected AGAIN.

Makes no sense as I use the card for some purchaes to keep it active, and pay it off every single month with no missed payments. What gives?? Also Customer Service was a bit.. unproffessional When speaking with them, they have no idea why I didn't get approved for the CL increase. Their solution is to transfer me to Equifax, which normally resullts in a hang up when trying to dial 0 for operator. 

This will eventually turn info a sock drawer card since there is no Annual Fee I believe. If there is, will be closing it in the near future.

more ...
Feb 29, 2016
Poor service, poor credit limit
Nimblecat Cardholder

Had the card 14 months, been with the bank since 2007. Intial CL $1000, 12 months increased by $300 - card stolen wouldn't give a free overnight replacement. Not a good card if you ever had bad credit. The reward suck too, hard to redeem. Stick with Amex or Chase Freedom.

more ...
Feb 04, 2016
Wells Fargo Platinum Unsecured Card
chandler1215 Cardholder

I had this card as the secured card Wells Fargo offered. After 11 months on the dot of perfect payment history and low utilization, they sent me an email saying they upgraded me to this unsecured card and raised my limit to $600. This card also offers 1% cash back on every purchase. Very happy with this card

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Wells Fargo Platinum Card