Wells Fargo Propel American Express® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 9 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 27.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 9 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 27.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 14, 2018
Solid rewards, good overall
TheNickage Cardholder

The application was rather straight forward. Got the card in 3-5 days, and the card itself is heavier than normal. It feels very durable. Was approved for 2k with scores in the mid to high 600s while I build credit (I've never had credit cards before). Main goal was to get a points card and add a revolving acct to imporve utilization. The structure for updating payments is REALLY odd. I'll make a payment, and it reflects the payment the next day, then reverts back, as if I haven't made the payment. I this is what causes some to get denied when they use it. Roughly 5-7 days later, the available balance changes to reflect the payment the rewards points also update at odd times.

The bonus points are at stores typical users would shop at, and are quite significant (5pts/$1)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2018
Good overall, embarrassingly declines
3DayWeekend Cardholder

Declines when you need it most. At least that’s what it seems like. When you’re in a parking garage and want to leave yet you can’t because you Card is declined. For a $3 charge. It’s embarrassing. Or getting a haircut, whip out a AMex and BAM. Declines. This has ruined the experience of this card for me. I’ve been sent a new one to help with these merchants declining but having to update the code on all the auto payments I had set up was a hassle. It’s a good card overall, competitive rewards but has many issues. Will look at other options. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 13, 2019
thunderboy Cardholder

Great benefits with no anual fee and 3 point per dollar. Amazing!!

more ...
Jan 12, 2019
Horribke
LexiH13 Cardholder

I’ve never had any issues with Wells Fargo or American Express but so far this one has been horrible and I have even received my card yet! I have excellent credit yet was approved for the lowest balance I’ve received since getting my very first credit card years ago. After putting in the application I was not told immediately what I had been approved for just a simple “approved” now with such a low balance it’s going to be more of a head ache to earn the rewards ( the reason I signed up) than it is worth. and on top of everything it hit my credit as a hard inquiry instead on the normal soft inquiry every single other card I’ve had has done. DO NOT FALL FOR THE BAIT WELLS FARGO IS THROWING OUT WITH THIS HORRIBLE CARD.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019

It's surprising that you got all of your credit cards using just soft queries. I don't think any other creditor does that apart from American Express. It does a hard pull for their first card account but soft pulls for subsequent cards.

 
Jan 14, 2019

Very few Lenders pull as a Soft Inquiry. It's always safe to assume it will be a Hard Inquiry when establishing a new account. Unless you call that lender to inquire whether or not it is a Hard or Soft Inquiry.

Also, since when does a credit card start off with a balance? You refer to starting off with a low balance a few times in your review. Perhaps you should proof read your reviews before leaving them. When you provide information in your review that makes it hard to understand or confusing to others, you easily discredit yourself and others may not take your review seriously.

 
Jan 11, 2019
Wells got it right with Amex!
Hnx007 Cardholder

I applied Dec 19th, 2018. CK shows my scores were 715-720 on both reports. Initially after I applied, they put my application on hold for absurd reasons (the agent thru whom I applied didn't do a good job in preparing the application). 

Anyways, I called them and they fixed the issue (they wanted to verify my identity), and I got approved for $9k. Which is a little bit below my other card limits, but I will take it. 

Yes it's Metal (it says on back of card). It feels very different than other cards. And No I haven't had any "swipe" issues like other ppl have complained. My card has been accepted everywhere I presented it. 

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
EH.
Swilson68 Cardholder

Applied for this card due to the great rewards and no annual fee. Credit score at the time was 788 was only approved for 4K. Literally every card I have even store cards are higher than this. Was told I could request higher limit with no hard pull. Requested DENIED! was told I had too wait 90 days reuqested again. DENIED! Got this card for Signup bonus purchasing new appliances. Was trying to make payments as fast as I could then payments go put on hold because it was a new account. If this card did not have such a good rewards structure and no annual fee IT WOULD BE CLOSED.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 10, 2019

I got a low limit (10k) with this card too when my average line with the other cards is about 32K. It's a good card, redemptions are a little annoying. If you have 6400 points in your account, you can only redeem for $50 and be left with 1400 points. Have to wait until you get to 2500 before redeeming again, instead of being able to take $64. You should be able to run up your balance to close to 4k and get the 30,000 point bonus. There is no interest for 12 months.

 
Jan 05, 2019
Great rewards
speedyarmitage Cardholder

Great rewards card with no annual fee. Card arrived quickly, is very durable, and I am overall pleased so far.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Fantastic card exceeded all expectations
TalismanTimes Cardholder

Great benefits and great execution.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 06, 2019

Great execution? Does your card have a playbook?

 
Dec 21, 2018
Good overall, embarrassingly declines
3DayWeekend Cardholder

Declines when you need it most. At least that’s what it seems like. When you’re in a parking garage and want to leave yet you can’t because you Card is declined. For a $3 charge. It’s embarrassing. Or getting a haircut, whip out a AMex and BAM. Declines. This has ruined the experience of this card for me. I’ve been sent a new one to help with these merchants declining but having to update the code on all the auto payments I had set up was a hassle. It’s a good card overall, competitive rewards but has many issues. Will look at other options. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2019

Was the card declined because the business doesn’t accept Amex?

 
Feb 13, 2019

I tend to use my Visa when paying at small, local businesses. First of all, you shouldn’t be using an Amex at a small business, second you should always carry a Visa/ Mastercard as backup, Amex isn’t accepted everywhere ( higher swipe fees). Of course we don’t know if that business took Amex or not.

 
Dec 21, 2018
Best no annual fee/reward card out there
wendy4876 Cardholder

I love this card, and am surprised that it has no annual fee. I have a mid 700 score and was approved for 10k. Received my intro bonus by paying bills and all expenses online, and I continue to use it for that to accumulate points. Pay off every month. The card looks and feels impressive. I have had a few issues with it getting randomly declined. Mostly at gas station counters for some reason, along with a few other places. No rhyme or reason to it either, just a random decline and then the next purchase goes through. It has never been enough for me to call but after reading the reviews thinking it may be an issue AMEX should address. I would recommend this card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 02, 2019

Congratulations on that 10k limit I had a 796 with good income and great history and only got approved for 2k. I had problems with it since day one

 
Dec 14, 2018
Solid rewards, good overall
TheNickage Cardholder

The application was rather straight forward. Got the card in 3-5 days, and the card itself is heavier than normal. It feels very durable. Was approved for 2k with scores in the mid to high 600s while I build credit (I've never had credit cards before). Main goal was to get a points card and add a revolving acct to imporve utilization. The structure for updating payments is REALLY odd. I'll make a payment, and it reflects the payment the next day, then reverts back, as if I haven't made the payment. I this is what causes some to get denied when they use it. Roughly 5-7 days later, the available balance changes to reflect the payment the rewards points also update at odd times.

The bonus points are at stores typical users would shop at, and are quite significant (5pts/$1)

more ...
Dec 14, 2018
(UPDATE) "NOT OK'
dg0kicker Cardholder

I was informed by a banker I could request a credit limit increase without another hard pull. I explained to them that this would be used as a primary card and that my monthly expenses are high and would look bad with my current credit limit. They pretty much said 'makes sense' so they agreed they'd raise it. I then received a letter a couple days later saying my request was denied, -_-what gives? Not only that, in only just 2 weeks my card has already been declined multiple times and it takes about 10 minutes over the phone every time to get them to unblock it again. 

ORIGINAL POST:

Being an AMEX card I thought I would receive a high credit limit, I was mistaken. I have a score of 797 and a fairly high income. I was only approved for $2500, how disappointing. I will most likely only use this card for the bonus and then cancel.

more ...
Dec 14, 2018

Before any wild negative comments appear. I do pay my balance in full monthly.

 
Jan 10, 2019

I had the same situation I got approved for 4K , but I feel your pain

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Wells Fargo Propel American Express® Card