Wells Fargo Propel American Express® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
64 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months on qualifying balance transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 27.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 27.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 20, 2019
No Issues So Far
lasean28 Cardholder

I applied for this card in spite of the poor approval odds from Credit Karma.  My Fico score is 694, Transunion 704 and Equifax is 692. My credit utilization is 12% and I have no late payments or collections. I was approved instantly for 7k. It took about a week to get the card and I started using it right away. I was worried that it would decline at places like a lot of the reviews have mentioned. So far, so good, no decline and the points are racking up. I have zero percent interest for 9 months which is great, but I pay my bills before the statement even comes out so I don’t pay interest anyway. 😃

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 14, 2018
(UPDATE) "NOT OK'
dg0kicker Cardholder

I was informed by a banker I could request a credit limit increase without another hard pull. I explained to them that this would be used as a primary card and that my monthly expenses are high and would look bad with my current credit limit. They pretty much said 'makes sense' so they agreed they'd raise it. I then received a letter a couple days later saying my request was denied, -_-what gives? Not only that, in only just 2 weeks my card has already been declined multiple times and it takes about 10 minutes over the phone every time to get them to unblock it again. 

ORIGINAL POST:

Being an AMEX card I thought I would receive a high credit limit, I was mistaken. I have a score of 797 and a fairly high income. I was only approved for $2500, how disappointing. I will most likely only use this card for the bonus and then cancel.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 15, 2019
Great rewards
speedyarmitage Cardholder

This is a great no-fee rewards card. Application was easy and customer service is friendly.

more ...
May 08, 2019
Best card for travel
Esamman Cardholder

I can't imagine all these rewards come without annual fee. It is much better for me than Chase saphir, I spend a lot on travel every year and with 3% cash back I get more money which cover for TSA and checked bags, also the bounus 30K points(300$) after spending 3000$ is unique. The application process took time, I have to call for further questions and I was approved 10K with credit score 800. The app is nice but not the best, I like you can track you bonus spending, it comes immediatly after you hit the 3000$ spending. No problem with decline, I use it for gas, restuarants, mostly for online travel pay, it looks beautiful and well made, I don't like the benefit: renal car insurance is not worl wide only north america. I recommend this card for travelers. 

more ...
Apr 27, 2019
Easy setup customer service is available
Mdolphs Cardholder

I was pre approved via credit karma, so I applied. I didn’t get instant approval after applying so I got concerned. I finally received my credit card via mail approximately 1 week later. I received only 4K, with a TransUnion if 715 and an experian 735, but for now it will work. At first I didn’t think I got approved. I received my card, registered the card and called the online number for Wells Fargo. I instantly got it connected to my online account and it’s great. Great rewards to come for my travel and I’m taking advantage of the 0% transfer fee for 12 months. Hopefully great things to come. Customer service was available and answered quickly on a Saturday morning, and were very helpful. More to come after I experience the actual credit card.

more ...
Apr 21, 2019
CarmelCameron Cardholder

I live this card. It has everything I need in a credit card and because it’s with Wells Fargo, it is a very prestigious card and very cool looking.

more ...
Apr 20, 2019
No Issues So Far
lasean28 Cardholder

I applied for this card in spite of the poor approval odds from Credit Karma.  My Fico score is 694, Transunion 704 and Equifax is 692. My credit utilization is 12% and I have no late payments or collections. I was approved instantly for 7k. It took about a week to get the card and I started using it right away. I was worried that it would decline at places like a lot of the reviews have mentioned. So far, so good, no decline and the points are racking up. I have zero percent interest for 9 months which is great, but I pay my bills before the statement even comes out so I don’t pay interest anyway. 😃

more ...
Apr 20, 2019

Oh and they pull Experian. My Experian score was 680 at the time of the application.

 
Apr 28, 2019

What's the age of your oldest account when you applied?

 
Apr 29, 2019

5 years old.

 
Apr 01, 2019
Extremely poor customer service
kanojiachandra Cardholder

Two main issues:

1- The customer service is operated by Wells Fargo and is amongst the worst in industry. I made a mistake of taking this card and expecting AMEX like service.

2- Very low acceptance internationally- so that $0 foreign transaction fee is illusional.

more ...
Feb 13, 2019
thunderboy Cardholder

Great benefits with no anual fee and 3 point per dollar. Amazing!!

more ...
Jan 12, 2019
Horribke
LexiH13 Cardholder

I’ve never had any issues with Wells Fargo or American Express but so far this one has been horrible and I have even received my card yet! I have excellent credit yet was approved for the lowest balance I’ve received since getting my very first credit card years ago. After putting in the application I was not told immediately what I had been approved for just a simple “approved” now with such a low balance it’s going to be more of a head ache to earn the rewards ( the reason I signed up) than it is worth. and on top of everything it hit my credit as a hard inquiry instead on the normal soft inquiry every single other card I’ve had has done. DO NOT FALL FOR THE BAIT WELLS FARGO IS THROWING OUT WITH THIS HORRIBLE CARD.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019

It's surprising that you got all of your credit cards using just soft queries. I don't think any other creditor does that apart from American Express. It does a hard pull for their first card account but soft pulls for subsequent cards.

 
Jan 14, 2019

Very few Lenders pull as a Soft Inquiry. It's always safe to assume it will be a Hard Inquiry when establishing a new account. Unless you call that lender to inquire whether or not it is a Hard or Soft Inquiry.

Also, since when does a credit card start off with a balance? You refer to starting off with a low balance a few times in your review. Perhaps you should proof read your reviews before leaving them. When you provide information in your review that makes it hard to understand or confusing to others, you easily discredit yourself and others may not take your review seriously.

 
Jan 11, 2019
Wells got it right with Amex!
Hnx007 Cardholder

I applied Dec 19th, 2018. CK shows my scores were 715-720 on both reports. Initially after I applied, they put my application on hold for absurd reasons (the agent thru whom I applied didn't do a good job in preparing the application). 

Anyways, I called them and they fixed the issue (they wanted to verify my identity), and I got approved for $9k. Which is a little bit below my other card limits, but I will take it. 

Yes it's Metal (it says on back of card). It feels very different than other cards. And No I haven't had any "swipe" issues like other ppl have complained. My card has been accepted everywhere I presented it. 

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
EH.
Swilson68 Cardholder

Applied for this card due to the great rewards and no annual fee. Credit score at the time was 788 was only approved for 4K. Literally every card I have even store cards are higher than this. Was told I could request higher limit with no hard pull. Requested DENIED! was told I had too wait 90 days reuqested again. DENIED! Got this card for Signup bonus purchasing new appliances. Was trying to make payments as fast as I could then payments go put on hold because it was a new account. If this card did not have such a good rewards structure and no annual fee IT WOULD BE CLOSED.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019

I got a low limit (10k) with this card too when my average line with the other cards is about 32K. It's a good card, redemptions are a little annoying. If you have 6400 points in your account, you can only redeem for $50 and be left with 1400 points. Have to wait until you get to 2500 before redeeming again, instead of being able to take $64. You should be able to run up your balance to close to 4k and get the 30,000 point bonus. There is no interest for 12 months.

 
Apr 01, 2019

I disagree with you, give me another card that give you 3% cash back on travel, hotel, restaurants, car rental and gas station with 0 annual fee, it is even than chase sapphire card, for me I spend a lot on travel every year, it can save hundreds of dollars compared to other cards.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Wells Fargo Propel American Express® Card