Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.74% - 27.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.74% - 27.24%* Variable
Collapse

2 star reviews (8) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 11, 2019
Eh
Lax08 Cardholder

This was my 2nd card (kind of). WF started me out with a student card while I was in college. Once I graduated this is what my student card turned into. I’ve had this card for about 5 years now, and I’ve closed all of my other WF accounts due to all of the headaches, but have kept this open due to it being my oldest account. Save yourself the time and energy and go elsewhere, it’s not worth all the crap you get from WF

more ...
Jan 16, 2019
Cardcollector Cardholder

Got this card in 2008. Started with $600 as a full time shift supervisor in retail. My girlfriend was a minimum wage part time cashier and started at $1000. She got automatic increases that put her over $2000 by the year and up to $5000 in 3 years. I never received an automatic increase. I have to call and only get $500 at a time. I’m currently at $2500. I have a chase Sapphire at $15,000 and a Bank of America card at $19,000. If Wells has not been my first card, I would have CANCELED IT!!!

credit score >730 by all 3 bureaus for the last 3 years. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 15, 2019

Well, you are catching up to your girlfriend. I've got $100 on you beating her in a photo finish in 2 years. You were my #1 pick in my credit card fantasy team.

 
Sep 16, 2018
way too much to improve!
Garamonde Cardholder

No way to ask for a CLI online (capital one, citi, discover, amex do), and if you ask by phone, you might get a hard inquiry pull.
No way to chat and resolve online, all is phone based (capital one, discover, citi do)
No way to cancel a payment on your own (capital one does), also disputing a transaction with wellfargo takes weeks, =( even if you notify them when the transaction is still pending (even when you notify immediately.

I think they are simply outdated, other banks provide more flexibility through their web portal.

more ...
Aug 10, 2018
I never use this card.
weeeezzll Cardholder

Mostly because the online experience sucks. Not only are the websites insanely dated feeling but because I have to log in to one site to see my account info and a seperate one to make payments. This was one of my first cards, I've had it for over 13 years, but I mostly just maintain it to keep my utilization lower.  But as I pay off debt and get larger limits on other cards with better rates, the reasons for keeping it are dwinddling. Well Fargo needs to get with the times, but given all of the struggles they've had lately I don't see them having the funds available to update their website very much.

more ...
Jul 21, 2018
Mediocre.
coshima Cardholder

Great for the first 18 months.. That's about it. It was my first credit card when I knew nothing about them so luckily it did not have an annual fee. The APR is absurd after the 18 months. A couple years have passed and I'm not on the hunt for a new card only to realize owning this card is not detrimental but it has NO BENEFITS. Mediocre indeed.

more ...
Jul 19, 2018
From one of the most distrusted banks.

Wells Fargo bank is known for it's scams and poor leadership.  Why would anyone keep, or apply for, a card from them?

more ...
Jul 14, 2018
Underwhelming
jetwingx Cardholder

I applied for this card when I was 18 on a college campus. It did help me build my credit and it has increased its limit over the 13 years that I’ve had it. But the rewards are dismal and it’s become the card I leave in a drawer and have my auto pay for utilities and services go to. 

more ...
Jul 14, 2018

Call the bank and as then to swap the card for one with better rewards.
I also had a student credit card for over 15 years with no rewards and Citi swapped it for a cash back card. I kept all my history with a better card.

 
Aug 04, 2018

Same. In drawer. Bills only

 
May 19, 2018
Wish I could cancel this already
Flbound07 Cardholder

I'm sick of this credit card and Wells Fargo in general. When I was 18 and in college I got this card to start building credit and because there was no yearly fee (while in school). But after ten years with this high interest and tiny limit (which Wells Fargo will not increase!), I wish I could cancel it. Unfortunately, doing so would severely decrease my credit
age and be detrimental to the score. This card is poor on rewards, big on fees, and dealing with Wells Fargo is a separate ordeal.

more ...
May 20, 2018

Do you have Santander local? You could always do a balance transfer to a better card and just let this one stay open if you want rewards

 
Jun 04, 2018

I agree with Kate97 - Just transfer the balance off your Wells Fargo card to something better and just let the card sit.

 
Jun 09, 2018

Canceling a card that screws you over my hurts a bit...but as long as you pay it off...and close it.... best decision ever made...it only hurts for a little while...t

 
Jun 09, 2018

I closed an account 3 month ago....and I was happy they can not get my money....and your reviews let other people know stay away from predictor cards....as long as you have better cards you score will rebound back....and you know longer have to worried about predictor cards no more....

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card