Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card Reviews

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 03, 2019
Wells Fargo has changed for the better!
Jgriffith11 Cardholder

Applied for this card, After already getting a personal loan from Wells Fargo a Month ago. This bank used to be very strict only relationship based now they are more lienent. My CK score was 640, and My Experian was 680 that's what they pulled. $3000 CC Approved 0% Balance Transfers. Wells Fargo is amazing coming from a year ago with all of the scandals, They have changed and are working to assist customers and have changed their products for the better. Wells Fargo is Amazing! I have a checking, savings and loans with them now and the customer service has been very helpful, and they are able to assist in all your needs. I recommend this card to anyone wanting a balance transfer. Once in the door with Wells Fargo they are kind to you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 27, 2018
Frustrating
Busers Cardholder

I was offered a super check with 0% for 18 mo. I used the check and Wells did not honor it. After opening a dispute because of the interest charged they have not got back to me after they promised to. I constantly have issues with them and their customer service is not existant. Save yourself hassle and stay away from this worthless bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 29, 2019
Works great to build Credit
robhav1 Cardholder

This is my 1st credit card. I was having issues with my Credit, and this card helped. My score jumped from 525 to 740 in just a few years. I started with $300 on it. I am now at 5500. I keep my balance below $800 and make my monthly payments. Good card to start with to help build credit. just dont go nuts because you have a credit card. 

more ...
May 19, 2019
No technology-stuck in the 80s
Nikandjules Cardholder

If you ever did business with them prior to being married, good luck getting them to let you access any new account online. They associate your maiden name with your SSN, which is fine, but they will not allow you to change your name without going into a branch. Even though your maiden name is listen on your credit report! The nearest  Wells Fargo to me is approx 4 hours, and they refused to send me the paperwork to change my name. I was bounced around from rep  to rep and the problem is still unsolved. Step in to at least the 90s Wells Fargo!

more ...
May 05, 2019
Wells Fargo are crooks
MikeyJames1990 Cardholder

I got their secured card put $10,000 and have it for 6 years still NOT graduated.  This is bull**** bank and bunch of crooks like they were caught opening illegal accounts on people.  When I called to ask why my card hasn’t graduated they give bull**** excuses.  They are scammers.  My credit scores are 760, 721 and 730.  Be careful with them 

more ...
May 10, 2019

Why would u get a secured card for $10k something about this doesn’t seem right. I had horrible credit and got a $500 secured card with them and was offered a regular card after less than a year. I’m assuming spending habits likely play a part.

 
May 14, 2019

I call this review a bunch of BS.... who in their right mind would hand over $10k for a secured cc? If your scores were 721, 730, and 760 you should have qualified for a regular card not a secured card. This post is a bunch of lies

 
Aug 06, 2019

If your scores are good just apply for unsecured, just because you had a secured card with 10k doesnt mean theyll give you a card with 10k. The amount you put down is not a credit line limit you will AUTOMATICALLY be qualified to have, there is a reason why you got a secured card in the first place. App for a new card, unsecured. Also crooks would not be an accurate description if they decide not to give you one, maybe unreasonable. Maybe.

 
May 03, 2019
Tricky. Offer bonus for $$ spent 90 days
nysq1 Cardholder

Then approved the account with such a low credit line, so it's impossible to spend enough to get the bonus.
Top card to pay off first and close account.

more ...
Apr 26, 2019
Horrible card and company
GregDuck Cardholder

Horrible customer service. Get bounced around being transferred from one person to another, not expecting that from a "Platinum card". Their scandals are far from over.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 03, 2019

Agreed 100%

 
Apr 06, 2019
Great for me.
Whelk89 Cardholder

Everyone on here seem like crybabies. I gave 4 stars because i have no complaints but also nothing to compare it to. This is my first credit card and its been great for me. Im already almost up to a "excellent" credit score in one year! After about 5 months they raised my limit. Thanks Wells Fargo! 🇺🇸

more ...
May 03, 2019

I'm no crybaby. Fargo is no good. Screwed people and promised to earn our business, but still shady. Happy for your improving score, but read other reviews with blinders OFF.

 
May 12, 2019

Play stupid games? Win stupid prizes. Their slogan should be 'dont bet on it'. I applied for this card 2 friggin months ago and they allegedly still cannot verify my identity. Seems odd since I have an active GD loan with them. Sketchy as hell I will never do business thru them again. Thanks again hell's cargo!

 
Apr 05, 2019
Almost impossible to pay off this card.
creyes4182 Cardholder

For every 150 I pay on this card maybe 15 goes to the actual balance. God help you if your late they pile on the fees. How have I been paying this card for years 150 a payment and the balance hasn’t moved at all. I haven’t even used the card in 3 years and the balance is exactly the same. Do NOT get this card. My only hope is to pay down my other cards and when I’m done with them just put everything I have into paying off this monstrosity.

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

Try paying your bills on time instead of thinking you can pay whenever it suits you. I have a feeling they like you even less than you like them.

 
Apr 16, 2019

It’s because you are just paying interest. It will take you 20 years to pay it off. You have to pay double than the minimum to get it paid in a couple of years. They do tell you this from the beginning.

 
Apr 17, 2019

If you have several cards with high balances you should probably not have any CCs. Credit conscious individuals know how to live within their means. That means not carrying a balance on any card from month to month. Some people make the CC companies money and some people make money off the CC companies. Which group of people do you want to be in?

 
Apr 21, 2019

So you whine and give the card a one star for being late? If your balance is so high it will take years to pay off, you should not have credit cards. Pay as you go, balances in full every month. CC are no the best tools so you can have the latest new I Phone or other toys.

 
Apr 26, 2019

Why do I have the feeling you are trying to live off of a credit card? You can't just make the minimum payment every month. Everybody knows that..
By using my card responsibly and paying it every month has my credit score to and 804.
Plus I'm enjoying $325 worth of gas/gift cards from cashing in my points from Wells Fargo.

 
Apr 27, 2019

I agree with all these comments. People who do not know how to manage credit responsibly should not get credit cards. When you get credit and fail to manage it people like me and others who pay their credit cards bills on time get to pay for your greedy mistakes. PAY YOUR BILLS ON TIME. JEEZ!

 
May 18, 2019

Do yourself a fav and cut ALL your cards up!! You will NEVER be caught up and I’m sure you’ll blame the scissors for not cutting correctly lmfao

 
Apr 04, 2019
Ok
SW11D Cardholder

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa Card is just okay. I got this card as a secured credit card to rebuild my credit. After about six months of on time payemnts the card was converted to unsecure and my deposit was refunded to me. It did help build my credit but it does not offer many perks. I will most likely close the account after I clear the balance. APR is also very high so I do not spend much on the card becuase it will take forever to pay back!!

more ...
Apr 24, 2019

Closing a paid off credit card accounts is one of the more financially unwise things you can do. Just use it once a month and keep it open. Your credit score will thank me.

 
Apr 27, 2019

Your APR is high because you have poor credit responsibilities. Continue paying on time and keep your usage below 30% and you will enjoy lower interest rates.

 
Mar 31, 2019
Horrible
Tricedallas Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a few years now. I have never missed a payment. Overtime I have had bad customer service. They don’t seem to care about the card holders much. If they do they should change the hiring requirements for this customer service department.

more ...
Mar 21, 2019
High interest rate
DmillsRN Cardholder

Takes forever to pay off, even if paying 4 times the payment 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 31, 2019

Its not meant to use to live off of. 🙄

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card Reviews

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa card