Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.40% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.40% - 25.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card is a solid, no-frills credit card.

What to Like

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card has no annual fee. There’s also a 0% intro APR that applies to both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

Cardholders pay a 3% introductory fee for balance transfers in the first 15 months and 5% for balance transfers afterward. There’s also no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 03, 2016
Good for rebuilding.
Ksmith9477 Cardholder

Got a secured line for $300 and have used minimally paying the balance immediately from my WF bank account.  My score has gone up over 100 pts in the past 6 months.  Beyond happy!!!  Was just approved for the WF cash wise unsecured card!  Yay!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 16, 2016
Rewards is joke, Technology dated, nogo
patrickshandy Cardholder

When you make a payment they take it out of your account but the changes won't reflect on your credit card. It takes up to 21 days for them to post a payment to your account, which is assonine. I would cancel, but i just paid it off and don't want to work with this company again. I closed my bank due to bad service, and when i called the 800 number they couldn't tell me when they would post the payment and have it reflect on my balance. Their associates had their hands tied with little information to give me. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
disappointing
SLM1111 Cardholder

apparent card benefit was cell phone damage coverage. after 3 weeks of going back and forth to have my phone replaces ( damage beyond repair) I was told that this was a free benefot and to take the phone to a generic repair place. Why? I have a.samsung and want samsung replacment parts not bootleg aftermarket parts. Was just told by a wells fargo "supervisor - oh well"
with 5 bank accounts and a superior amount of funds going to close all my accounts and go with Bank of America! The worst customer service ever.

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Really

After 10 plus years with W/F this is the lowest limit I have on a credit card. I have had the card for 5 years and not one increase. l only use the card for Starbucks reloads. It's sad that a bank you have a relationship with won't grow with you. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Hey Ha, Approved 4K
pitsy088 Cardholder

Am in shock I was Approved after receiving the Pending message.  Logged on to my accts today and there she was my new Visa Credit Limit 4k They pull Transunion.  Fico 671.  Bank Customer 5 yrs.  Did receive a Preapproval for this card.  After reading so many negative reviews I was sure I would be denied.  So this is a big score for me. 

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
laquinta24 Cardholder

Straight trash don't waste your time with these thieves never graduate !!!!!!

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Great card with okay reward system!
Meqa Cardholder

Great card with okay reward system! No problems & great customer service!

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Awful service
Anonymous Cardholder

In 2011 I got a secured credit card with Wells Fargo to rebuild my credit . On several different occasions I was told by several different customer service reps that as long as I made timely payments I would be refunded my 300 to my checking account (also Wells Fargo). In 2015 I closed this credit card after I called customer service to ask why I had not got approved for an unsecured card (in which I always made all my payments on time, I mean for goodness sakes I only used it for gas) they told me that that was not the company policy and that they did not need my business that badly (no for real). The customer service rep told me that would be more than happy to close my credit account, and told me that they would contact me about a credit card offer eventually that never came. Awful customer service. Not lieing DONT be fooled by few "good" reviews. 

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
Ok first credit card
leoromannn Cardholder

3 years ago I went into WF and told them I wanted to apply for a Secured CC (I was 18 and this would be my 1st) and they approved me. Initial CL was $300 and after 6 moths of using that CC I received this CC as a replacement of the secured card with a $1.3k CL. It's literally 3 years and they have yet to increase my CL... I've since received an AMEX Blue Cash card with a $10k CL, a CapOne CC with $7.5k CL, and a Chase Unlimited CC with $7.5k CL yet WF has not wanted to increase my CL on this card, even after calling aand requesting one. It was a good card to get me started with credit worthiness but basically useless now. Dont ever use it, I just keep like $20 charged on it to keep my credit history going.

more ...
Aug 31, 2016
CardCarrier Cardholder

I have this card because I bank with Wells Fargo but the rewards are small points that take a long time to accumulate -- making their new Cash Wise card a much better cash rewards choice.

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Rewards is joke, Technology dated, nogo
patrickshandy Cardholder

When you make a payment they take it out of your account but the changes won't reflect on your credit card. It takes up to 21 days for them to post a payment to your account, which is assonine. I would cancel, but i just paid it off and don't want to work with this company again. I closed my bank due to bad service, and when i called the 800 number they couldn't tell me when they would post the payment and have it reflect on my balance. Their associates had their hands tied with little information to give me. 

more ...
Aug 05, 2016
Excellent card
brusso06 Cardholder

Applied for this card and was approved for 5k limit.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card