Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.90% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.90% - 25.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card is a solid, no-frills credit card.

What to Like

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card has no annual fee. There’s also a 0% intro APR that applies to both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

Cardholders pay a 3% introductory fee for balance transfers in the first 15 months and 5% for balance transfers afterward. There’s also no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 03, 2016
Good for rebuilding.
Ksmith9477 Cardholder

Got a secured line for $300 and have used minimally paying the balance immediately from my WF bank account.  My score has gone up over 100 pts in the past 6 months.  Beyond happy!!!  Was just approved for the WF cash wise unsecured card!  Yay!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2016
Really
dallascowboyfan1954 Cardholder

After 10 plus years with W/F this is the lowest limit I have on a credit card. I have had the card for 5 years and not one increase. l only use the card for Starbucks reloads. It's sad that a bank you have a relationship with won't grow with you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 18, 2017
Not bad for building credit
MzPittz Cardholder

I got this card with a secured CL of 300 three months ago.  Been banking with WF since 2008, but have never established credit.  With 100% on-time payments, my credit soared from EX ~550 to EX 612!  At this time I have one account in collections and use 30% of my credit, so hopefully once I clear those things up my score will go higher.  My banker promised me that if I pay on time for 6mos or more they will extend my CL.  Until then, I will be giving this 4 stars.  Let's hope they're as loyal as they say they are!

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Its not so useful credit card
pkak Cardholder

Wells Fargo Credit card is of no use, they don't increase your credit limit; With a VantageScore 3.0 of 730 they gave CL of 600 and its almost 2 years with very good records using this card, they said they will not increase credit limit without hard pull. I spoke to two customer care execs and both were of no use; WellsFargo service is worst service I have seen so far.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card from a great bank . Started off with this card being secured for 300 ( no credit ) and nine months later it upgraded and became this card non secured . I then called and asked for a increase and it increased to 1500 .

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
great card
jerry1234777 Cardholder

I had a secured card for 1k got it in june -2016. paid and ALWAYS a zero balance. used it at high percentage monthly but paid it off so no interest.. 8 months later they returned the deposit within a few days of unsecuring it and made it unsecured with no annual fee. they left the limit @ 1,000. I can not complain. they were professional. my credit score was low 600s then advanced to 715+ on most of the 4 credit reporting. new credit customer as i had no cards, no credit a year ago. not bad credit but none at all and i am a senior. overall i am very pleased. They are my bank also and have been for 15+ years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 26, 2017

update - they raised the limit to 1600 this month- I did not request it so I am pleased

 
Feb 05, 2017
No complaints
Tonymiami Cardholder

I got this card 2 years ago with a 3k balance, two years later they have increased my balance to 6k. I have transferred balances from other cards with a fee of 3% and no interest for 12 months, so imagine how much money I have saved. The rewards program is very good too. I have seen a lot of negative reviews of this card here and I don't know what's the reason. I am happy with it so far. I recommend it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 06, 2017

Was the balance transfer easy? There was another review on here from somebody who had a very hard time transferring their balance from another card and didn't recommend Wells Fargo because of that. Can you share your experience transferring? Easy? Hard?

 
Feb 03, 2017
Fake balance transfer offer
Anonymous Cardholder

In the beginning of December, I found that Wells Fargo has a 0% balance transfer offer and I thought I would open an account and transfer my higher interest balance from Bank of America. I opened an account, received the card but balance was never transferred. So I called the bank.

First banker told me that Wells Fargo’s policy is not transferring balances within 10 days of opening a new account and I have to wait. So I did. Then I called again after 10 days. The second banker told me that Bank of America refused to accept an electronic balance transfer and Wells Fargo is mailing a check and I should receive it in 14 business days – by January 14. It didn’t arrive. Then the third banker told me that the check was mailed in either in December 19 or 20 and now I have to close the account and open a new account. The actual insult came from him: He said that now I have to pay $16.00 to get my new card in 3 days.

I do not believe that Wells Fargo is not able to make an electronic transfer. Also, I do not believe that Wells Fargo is ever mailed a check either. It does not take 14 days to deliver a letter in US. All of your bankers are making up some story to get the customer off the phone. However, I do believe that the balance transfer offer is just a bait to open another account – there were no actual intention to make a balance transfer. This could be part of an attempt of opening many accounts as possible as it was well known practice of Wells Fargo. All the other banks I do have accounts allow to make a balance transfer via their website, while Wells Fargo is not.

I already motified the Credit Karma.inc. to take out the false balance transfer offer, but sadly it is still here. 

I received the second card, now there is no more balance trasfers in thet card either. Stay away: Wells Fargo only need higher number of accounts. No real balance transfer.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Great card
Faisalwe Cardholder

Great card and best bank ... better than chase and Bank of America ...  every 6 months I get a limit increase . Thanks 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 05, 2017

Thats a LiE..!!!! Don't come here and deceive people. They hardly, rarely give increase. I've my card for 14months, ontime payment everymonth and no change, increase. They don't believe in growth for their customers

 
Jan 31, 2017
It's an Okay Card
eddiep426 Cardholder

My card started of as a student card and graduated to a full platinum card after about two years. The cell phone benefit is the best benefit offered in my opinion. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Secured card
Kiefer1996 Cardholder

Hi my name is Antone Gerich. I have a secured card with Wells Fargo with the $8000 and a $37 credit. They've never done nothing for me when I needed them in my first two years of business. You're better off not wasting your time with Wells Fargo. I have $13,000 total with Citi, Chase, Capital one and American Express preferred. . I want to speak to the banker and asked him how come with the credit of $8037 on a secured card that they would have to give me back if I close the account they've never offered me the unsecured line of credit. She gave me a BS story about how they would have to take and give you $8000 and unsecured and maybe they're not ready to do that. I also have personal savings and business account. At some point this year I'll be opening up a second business that will be a limited liability corporation single owner. That business will not be with Wells Fargo and within the next two years I won't have an account with them. So from somebody who has great credit now don't waste your time. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They don't increase limit well .

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card