Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.65% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.65% - 25.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card is a solid, no-frills credit card.

What to Like

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card has no annual fee. There’s also a 0% intro APR that applies to both purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 months.

Look Out For

Cardholders pay a 3% introductory fee for balance transfers in the first 15 months and 5% for balance transfers afterward. There’s also no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 03, 2016
Good for rebuilding.
Ksmith9477 Cardholder

Got a secured line for $300 and have used minimally paying the balance immediately from my WF bank account.  My score has gone up over 100 pts in the past 6 months.  Beyond happy!!!  Was just approved for the WF cash wise unsecured card!  Yay!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2016
Really
dallascowboyfan1954 Cardholder

After 10 plus years with W/F this is the lowest limit I have on a credit card. I have had the card for 5 years and not one increase. l only use the card for Starbucks reloads. It's sad that a bank you have a relationship with won't grow with you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
great card
jerry1234777 Cardholder

I had a secured card for 1k got it in june -2016. paid and ALWAYS a zero balance. used it at high percentage monthly but paid it off so no interest.. 8 months later they returned the deposit within a few days of unsecuring it and made it unsecured with no annual fee. they left the limit @ 1,000. I can not complain. they were professional. my credit score was low 600s then advanced to 715+ on most of the 4 credit reporting. new credit customer as i had no cards, no credit a year ago. not bad credit but none at all and i am a senior. overall i am very pleased. They are my bank also and have been for 15+ years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 26, 2017

update - they raised the limit to 1600 this month- I did not request it so I am pleased

 
Feb 05, 2017
No complaints
Tonymiami Cardholder

I got this card 2 years ago with a 3k balance, two years later they have increased my balance to 6k. I have transferred balances from other cards with a fee of 3% and no interest for 12 months, so imagine how much money I have saved. The rewards program is very good too. I have seen a lot of negative reviews of this card here and I don't know what's the reason. I am happy with it so far. I recommend it.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Fake balance transfer offer
Anonymous Cardholder

In the beginning of December, I found that Wells Fargo has a 0% balance transfer offer and I thought I would open an account and transfer my higher interest balance from Bank of America. I opened an account, received the card but balance was never transferred. So I called the bank.

First banker told me that Wells Fargo’s policy is not transferring balances within 10 days of opening a new account and I have to wait. So I did. Then I called again after 10 days. The second banker told me that Bank of America refused to accept an electronic balance transfer and Wells Fargo is mailing a check and I should receive it in 14 business days – by January 14. It didn’t arrive. Then the third banker told me that the check was mailed in either in December 19 or 20 and now I have to close the account and open a new account. The actual insult came from him: He said that now I have to pay $16.00 to get my new card in 3 days.

I do not believe that Wells Fargo is not able to make an electronic transfer. Also, I do not believe that Wells Fargo is ever mailed a check either. It does not take 14 days to deliver a letter in US. All of your bankers are making up some story to get the customer off the phone. However, I do believe that the balance transfer offer is just a bait to open another account – there were no actual intention to make a balance transfer. This could be part of an attempt of opening many accounts as possible as it was well known practice of Wells Fargo. All the other banks I do have accounts allow to make a balance transfer via their website, while Wells Fargo is not.

I already motified the Credit Karma.inc. to take out the false balance transfer offer, but sadly it is still here. 

I received the second card, now there is no more balance trasfers in thet card either. Stay away: Wells Fargo only need higher number of accounts. No real balance transfer.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Great card
Faisalwe Cardholder

Great card and best bank ... better than chase and Bank of America ...  every 6 months I get a limit increase . Thanks 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 05, 2017

Thats a LiE..!!!! Don't come here and deceive people. They hardly, rarely give increase. I've my card for 14months, ontime payment everymonth and no change, increase. They don't believe in growth for their customers

 
Jan 31, 2017
It's an Okay Card
eddiep426 Cardholder

My card started of as a student card and graduated to a full platinum card after about two years. The cell phone benefit is the best benefit offered in my opinion. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Secured card
Kiefer1996 Cardholder

Hi my name is Antone Gerich. I have a secured card with Wells Fargo with the $8000 and a $37 credit. They've never done nothing for me when I needed them in my first two years of business. You're better off not wasting your time with Wells Fargo. I have $13,000 total with Citi, Chase, Capital one and American Express preferred. . I want to speak to the banker and asked him how come with the credit of $8037 on a secured card that they would have to give me back if I close the account they've never offered me the unsecured line of credit. She gave me a BS story about how they would have to take and give you $8000 and unsecured and maybe they're not ready to do that. I also have personal savings and business account. At some point this year I'll be opening up a second business that will be a limited liability corporation single owner. That business will not be with Wells Fargo and within the next two years I won't have an account with them. So from somebody who has great credit now don't waste your time. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They don't increase limit well .

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Secured card that never graduates!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Appled for this card 06/2015. After 13 months of consistant on-time payments, even paid off the card like 3 times, the card didn't "graduate". I called three customer service agents and was given different answers each time on when the account graduates to a unsecured card. 

The first rep I call had informed me that i'll never receive the deposit, and that the card doesn't graduate. I replied: "Are you sure? I initially gave you guys a $300 DEPOSIT for  a secured credit card". She then put me on hold, came back and said to me: "oh yeah, you're right. card should graduate".

Second time I called I spoke with a rep. and he was very unpleasant and unprofessional by giving me horrible advice as to what I should do! Nonchalantly, he told me to max out the card in order to "retrive" my deposit (Horrible advice). I disagreed with him ofcourse! He then told me to use up the balance, close the account, and apply for an unsecure credit card through wellsfargo. I replied: "I can't close the account since it's my oldest account on my CR, and it's a CREDIT CARD so I can't close the account by maxing out the card". Very frustrated, I called again.

Third time I called I spoke with an "outsourced" rep. located somewhere in India and she told me the account is under review for approval to an unsecured account..

In conclusion, it's current;y 12/20/2016 and my account still hasn't graduated. I never missed a payment and card account is still in excellent standing. Its likely they're waiting for me to mess up by missing a payment in order to not refund my DEPOSIT!!! My credit score is in the 700s, I got approved for AMEX, Discover, and my other secured card from Bank of America graduated in 11 months, received my deposit, and I received a credit increase of $1500. That lonely WellsFraudgo account is the ONLY creditor on all of my CRs at a $300 credit limit, the rest of my accounts are in the thousands!!! NEVER apply for ANY accounts with these crooks AKA WellsFraudgo. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 23, 2017

Hey, what you can do is go to a wells Fargo branch and apply for a regular unsecured card. If u have good credit they will approve it and automatically upgrade ur secured card to a unsecured card. Your welcome

 
Nov 21, 2016
disappointing
SLM1111 Cardholder

apparent card benefit was cell phone damage coverage. after 3 weeks of going back and forth to have my phone replaces ( damage beyond repair) I was told that this was a free benefot and to take the phone to a generic repair place. Why? I have a.samsung and want samsung replacment parts not bootleg aftermarket parts. Was just told by a wells fargo "supervisor - oh well"
with 5 bank accounts and a superior amount of funds going to close all my accounts and go with Bank of America! The worst customer service ever.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 18, 2016

Wow this is ridiculous , replacement means replacement not an oh well. So sorry they did this to you , but your review helped me decide no way on this card than.

 
Nov 01, 2016
Really

After 10 plus years with W/F this is the lowest limit I have on a credit card. I have had the card for 5 years and not one increase. l only use the card for Starbucks reloads. It's sad that a bank you have a relationship with won't grow with you. 

more ...
Jan 23, 2017

To get a limit increase you can call customer service and request one. If you have good history they will increase it. Also if your not using the card as a regular card of yours and only once in a while, your not building much of a relationship. Have to show good history by using the card.

 
Feb 09, 2017

Exactly * won't grow with you* why would you use the card that doesn't do nothing for you. You would just put something on it here in there so it doesn't affect the age of your average credit history. I imagine that's why he's using it just for Starbucks. Anyways good luck with that my feelings exactly * won't grow with you*

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Credit Card