Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.15% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.15% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 17, 2017
great card
jerry1234777 Cardholder

I had a secured card for 1k got it in june -2016. paid and ALWAYS a zero balance. used it at high percentage monthly but paid it off so no interest.. 8 months later they returned the deposit within a few days of unsecuring it and made it unsecured with no annual fee. they left the limit @ 1,000. I can not complain. they were professional. my credit score was low 600s then advanced to 715+ on most of the 4 credit reporting. new credit customer as i had no cards, no credit a year ago. not bad credit but none at all and i am a senior. overall i am very pleased. They are my bank also and have been for 15+ years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 19, 2016
Secured card that never graduates!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Appled for this card 06/2015. After 13 months of consistant on-time payments, even paid off the card like 3 times, the card didn't "graduate". I called three customer service agents and was given different answers each time on when the account graduates to a unsecured card. 

The first rep I call had informed me that i'll never receive the deposit, and that the card doesn't graduate. I replied: "Are you sure? I initially gave you guys a $300 DEPOSIT for  a secured credit card". She then put me on hold, came back and said to me: "oh yeah, you're right. card should graduate".

Second time I called I spoke with a rep. and he was very unpleasant and unprofessional by giving me horrible advice as to what I should do! Nonchalantly, he told me to max out the card in order to "retrive" my deposit (Horrible advice). I disagreed with him ofcourse! He then told me to use up the balance, close the account, and apply for an unsecure credit card through wellsfargo. I replied: "I can't close the account since it's my oldest account on my CR, and it's a CREDIT CARD so I can't close the account by maxing out the card". Very frustrated, I called again.

Third time I called I spoke with an "outsourced" rep. located somewhere in India and she told me the account is under review for approval to an unsecured account..

In conclusion, it's current;y 12/20/2016 and my account still hasn't graduated. I never missed a payment and card account is still in excellent standing. Its likely they're waiting for me to mess up by missing a payment in order to not refund my DEPOSIT!!! My credit score is in the 700s, I got approved for AMEX, Discover, and my other secured card from Bank of America graduated in 11 months, received my deposit, and I received a credit increase of $1500. That lonely WellsFraudgo account is the ONLY creditor on all of my CRs at a $300 credit limit, the rest of my accounts are in the thousands!!! NEVER apply for ANY accounts with these crooks AKA WellsFraudgo. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 15, 2017
Good while it lasted
lunafaust Cardholder

I applied for this card when wells fargo bought out my mortagage from a seperate company to get the rewards applied to my prinicpal. Everything was okay until they raised my apr, for no real reason. Then it all went down hill 4 years after opening the card, when I tried to open a checking account with wells fargo. After opening the checking account, wells fargo immediately closed the checking account and my 4 year old credit card (that I had never been late on paying). When contacting customer service, all they say is "a business decision was made to end your account" and "a decision has been made that the banking relationship is not mutually beneficial". No one can give me more infomration. Now they have affected my credit standing.

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
Waste of time~ PLAIN-N-SIMPLE
beachwavez78 Cardholder

I got this credit card back in 2012' to rebuild my credit. I understood it was a secured credit card and would take time to mature. After many years of on time payments + paying over minimum payments - they refunded me my deposit of $300 just a year ago... Took 4+ years for them to release the funds. My credit limit has not increased YET! I've got over 720+ Fico... CreditKarma scores 700+... I've just recently applied for an AMEX and was approved for $10,000.00 .... So that goes to show you~ This card WILL NEVER GRADUATE! 

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is not a friendly card. So as the credit card department. I have this secured card for 16 months. I put $5,000 dollars as my credit limit. On my 16 month with good credit standing, asked them when I get my regular card. They said not sure. No definite answer.
Asked them to give me $300 dollars unsecurec card. They said no. I entrusted my money for $5,000 dollars but they can even give me $300 dollars to start a regular visa card. So I took my money out. There's no concrete rules on this card.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Min benefits and terrible cust service

Small benefits come with WFs flagship credit card. This was my first cc and had over $4700 CL. Was closed due to a 6-month inactivity... Reason being that this card lacks reward options, an attractive sign up bonus, and formidable customer service. There are plenty of other offers out there. Don't apply for this useless CC from a big bank.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
smokybarnalbe Cardholder

Approved even though Credit Karma said my approval odds were poor. I checked that my real score was about 100 points higher before I applied. Credit limit 5k with 690 FICO score.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Not the card if you want CL increases
stevetech33 Cardholder

I've banked with Wells for about 4-5 years. I have a car loan with them, never missed any payments. I have this Platinum card, for over 3 years. It is by far my lowest CL card of all, just called for CL increase, my FICO is a 725 and my CR is 100% on time payments on all my accounts, nothing derogatory. They increased by $800.00 and it's still my lowest line of credit. I have other CC's with CL's over $10k and my total utilization is 18%. They are extremely tight with CL increases, but they are a good bank with good customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 02, 2017

You neglected to tell us your limit.

 
Jul 15, 2017
No Rewards is just for build credit
Pedluis Cardholder

I have this credit card right now but i tooked just for build my credit i dont want it anymore

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
This card lies, with no graduation.
TreyC97 Cardholder

I have a fico score of 726 Trans 730 Equifax. I began using this card to build my credit in the summer of 2015. Which to my not so good review I am writing actually works if you're a contentious of your spending / payments. 1 year later in the summer of 2016 I was able to purchase my first home with a 117k loan. I have a 48k salary and have been at my job for 2 years. Shortly after my home purchase I was also approved through Well Fargo for a brand new 2016 ram 1500 at 4% interest. I have a few credit lines now, 

Rooms to go card - 4,500 limit

AmEx - 3,000 limit 

Care Credit - 1,500 limit

secured Wells Fargo - still $500 not graduated. 

I make my payment every single month in full for any of my cards, and have never gone over 30%. The automated system for this card graduation is broken. Well Fargo refuses to believe that there are actually credit worthy people out in the world who deserve their security deposit back. They need to look into this graduation process and re evaluate it. I can't understand how I have a mortgage, and even a car loan through Wells Fargo. Yet they still hold onto my $500. It's a slap in the face and I will never put my financial services to Wells Fargo anymore or recommend them. I am actually going to the bank today to withdraw my funds and transfer to chase with the free $300 for setting up a direct deposit. In a few months I will also be looking to refinance my vehicle/home. To bad for Wells Fargo that I also need several thousand dollars in private student loans that they will not be receiving. 

more ...
May 09, 2017
CAPITAL ONE QUICKSILVER
Kar58 Cardholder

Absolutely the best card out there. I have been with them for 17 years and all good ! Customer Service is great.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Not bad for building credit
MzPittz Cardholder

I got this card with a secured CL of 300 three months ago.  Been banking with WF since 2008, but have never established credit.  With 100% on-time payments, my credit soared from EX ~550 to EX 612!  At this time I have one account in collections and use 30% of my credit, so hopefully once I clear those things up my score will go higher.  My banker promised me that if I pay on time for 6mos or more they will extend my CL.  Until then, I will be giving this 4 stars.  Let's hope they're as loyal as they say they are!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card