Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.15% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.15% - 25.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card is a solid, no-frills credit card.

What to Like

The Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card has no annual fee. There’s also a 0% intro APR that applies to both purchases and balance transfers for the first 18 months.

Look Out For

Cardholders pay a 3% introductory fee for balance transfers in the first 18 months and 5% for balance transfers afterward. There’s also no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 31, 2016
Hey Ha, Approved 4K
pitsy088 Cardholder

Am in shock I was Approved after receiving the Pending message.  Logged on to my accts today and there she was my new Visa Credit Limit 4k They pull Transunion.  Fico 671.  Bank Customer 5 yrs.  Did receive a Preapproval for this card.  After reading so many negative reviews I was sure I would be denied.  So this is a big score for me. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2016
Really
dallascowboyfan1954 Cardholder

After 10 plus years with W/F this is the lowest limit I have on a credit card. I have had the card for 5 years and not one increase. l only use the card for Starbucks reloads. It's sad that a bank you have a relationship with won't grow with you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 03, 2017
Min benefits and terrible cust service

Small benefits come with WFs flagship credit card. This was my first cc and had over $4700 CL. Was closed due to a 6-month inactivity... Reason being that this card lacks reward options, an attractive sign up bonus, and formidable customer service. There are plenty of other offers out there. Don't apply for this useless CC from a big bank.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
smokybarnalbe Cardholder

Approved even though Credit Karma said my approval odds were poor. I checked that my real score was about 100 points higher before I applied. Credit limit 5k with 690 FICO score.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Not the card if you want CL increases
stevetech33 Cardholder

I've banked with Wells for about 4-5 years. I have a car loan with them, never missed any payments. I have this Platinum card, for over 3 years. It is by far my lowest CL card of all, just called for CL increase, my FICO is a 725 and my CR is 100% on time payments on all my accounts, nothing derogatory. They increased by $800.00 and it's still my lowest line of credit. I have other CC's with CL's over $10k and my total utilization is 18%. They are extremely tight with CL increases, but they are a good bank with good customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 02, 2017

You neglected to tell us your limit.

 
Jul 15, 2017
No Rewards is just for build credit
Pedluis Cardholder

I have this credit card right now but i tooked just for build my credit i dont want it anymore

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
This card lies, with no graduation.
TreyC97 Cardholder

I have a fico score of 726 Trans 730 Equifax. I began using this card to build my credit in the summer of 2015. Which to my not so good review I am writing actually works if you're a contentious of your spending / payments. 1 year later in the summer of 2016 I was able to purchase my first home with a 117k loan. I have a 48k salary and have been at my job for 2 years. Shortly after my home purchase I was also approved through Well Fargo for a brand new 2016 ram 1500 at 4% interest. I have a few credit lines now, 

Rooms to go card - 4,500 limit

AmEx - 3,000 limit 

Care Credit - 1,500 limit

secured Wells Fargo - still $500 not graduated. 

I make my payment every single month in full for any of my cards, and have never gone over 30%. The automated system for this card graduation is broken. Well Fargo refuses to believe that there are actually credit worthy people out in the world who deserve their security deposit back. They need to look into this graduation process and re evaluate it. I can't understand how I have a mortgage, and even a car loan through Wells Fargo. Yet they still hold onto my $500. It's a slap in the face and I will never put my financial services to Wells Fargo anymore or recommend them. I am actually going to the bank today to withdraw my funds and transfer to chase with the free $300 for setting up a direct deposit. In a few months I will also be looking to refinance my vehicle/home. To bad for Wells Fargo that I also need several thousand dollars in private student loans that they will not be receiving. 

more ...
May 09, 2017
CAPITAL ONE QUICKSILVER
Kar58 Cardholder

Absolutely the best card out there. I have been with them for 17 years and all good ! Customer Service is great.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Not bad for building credit
MzPittz Cardholder

I got this card with a secured CL of 300 three months ago.  Been banking with WF since 2008, but have never established credit.  With 100% on-time payments, my credit soared from EX ~550 to EX 612!  At this time I have one account in collections and use 30% of my credit, so hopefully once I clear those things up my score will go higher.  My banker promised me that if I pay on time for 6mos or more they will extend my CL.  Until then, I will be giving this 4 stars.  Let's hope they're as loyal as they say they are!

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Its not so useful credit card
pkak Cardholder

Wells Fargo Credit card is of no use, they don't increase your credit limit; With a VantageScore 3.0 of 730 they gave CL of 600 and its almost 2 years with very good records using this card, they said they will not increase credit limit without hard pull. I spoke to two customer care execs and both were of no use; WellsFargo service is worst service I have seen so far.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card from a great bank . Started off with this card being secured for 300 ( no credit ) and nine months later it upgraded and became this card non secured . I then called and asked for a increase and it increased to 1500 .

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
great card
jerry1234777 Cardholder

I had a secured card for 1k got it in june -2016. paid and ALWAYS a zero balance. used it at high percentage monthly but paid it off so no interest.. 8 months later they returned the deposit within a few days of unsecuring it and made it unsecured with no annual fee. they left the limit @ 1,000. I can not complain. they were professional. my credit score was low 600s then advanced to 715+ on most of the 4 credit reporting. new credit customer as i had no cards, no credit a year ago. not bad credit but none at all and i am a senior. overall i am very pleased. They are my bank also and have been for 15+ years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 26, 2017

update - they raised the limit to 1600 this month- I did not request it so I am pleased

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Wells Fargo Platinum Visa® Card