USAA Classic Platinum Visa® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 30, 2016
approved
tiffani8592 Cardholder

was denied for this card 8 months ago when my score was in the 590's. was sent a pre-approved offer via email and was approved with a tu-625 exp-625 equ-645. applied and was approved for 2500$. currently have two capital one cards with spending limits of 3k each. Pay cards every month but my utilization is over 30%. 48k in auto loans. just got a new car about 3 months ago. only 1 outstanding bil on credit report. its a utility. havent received the usaa card yet but will use it to mainly pay for my usaa car insurance. was denied a jcpenney store card (synchrony bank) the day before i applied for this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 12, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

USAA posted erronious transactions to my account that could only occur interanlly, yet they refuse to take responsibility.  It is shamefuf they way they bilk veterans!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 12, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

USAA posted erronious transactions to my account that could only occur interanlly, yet they refuse to take responsibility.  It is shamefuf they way they bilk veterans!

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Card is olay
Anonymous Cardholder

I make payments to this card, the money comes out of my account, the payment posts and current balance updates but weeks later my available balance still shows the same thing...Then i'I've never went over my limit but talking to customer service today as to why my available balance balance takes so long to update or why it never updates and was told I have charges still out there & i went over my limit once....Lol....I havent used the card in 1month, only made payments....Smh

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Stay away from this company!!!!!
lazer0172 Cardholder

Constantly under review when you call in you talk to uneducated employees who will knock down the phone on you instead solving the issues. Stay away worst credit card ever had

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
WORST
my3inpink Cardholder

I have this credit card, they reduced my credit limit due to inactivity (my credit score is 830 and I have had this card for 32 years)  I called them requesting to have my redit limit reinstated,  I have got nothing but lies and the run around.  A person with the initials of I.L.,  stated on her notes she had called, she never called, (obviously she is not aware of caller ID or voice mail).  You get no place with USAA service, I can only imagine if I had a fraud or any other type of serious problem.  I would not reccomend USAA to any person.  The is by far the worst customer service I have every received from any company period.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2016

Same with me stay away from this company

 
Nov 10, 2016
Great!

I recently opened a checking and savings account with USAA.I had an offer to apply to VISA signature with rewards, I was denied but I was offered this card. Glad I was extended the credit!

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
I got approved!
Kang85 Cardholder

I applied for this card in September TU:602 EQ:591. I was a member with USAA for about a year and a half. No problem with the service continuing the path to building credit.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Very poor service from USAA.
Anonymous Cardholder

When traveling, USAA will often cancel a credit card without notice, leaving their customers stranded.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 16, 2016

they do that to your checking and savings as well. Opened them a couple of years back and put about $300 to open them. Used BoA mainly as we were going to transition after deployment. came back to find the accounts closed due to inactivity and the money was used for "account costs".

 
Jul 04, 2016
USAA Rocks
TxWrangler01 Cardholder

I have nothing to say bad about USAA.  I have been a member for awhile now, but never applied for any credit cards with them.  I went thru a divorce and credit bottomed out on me.  Started last Decemeber to start building it back up after 6 years.  Applied for this card and was approved for $2k, was just raised to $3k after 6 months.  I also applied for reward cards with them.  In April I was approved for $6k on the AMEX Rewards, then just this month went with the tri fecta MasterCard rewards and was approved for $6k.  I also have a car loan of $45k with them.  Intrest rates are ok, but they are my goto place.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

USAA Classic Platinum Visa®