Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA Classic Visa Platinum®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.15% - 24.15%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.15% - 24.15%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 05, 2016
WORST
my3inpink Cardholder

I have this credit card, they reduced my credit limit due to inactivity (my credit score is 830 and I have had this card for 32 years)  I called them requesting to have my redit limit reinstated,  I have got nothing but lies and the run around.  A person with the initials of I.L.,  stated on her notes she had called, she never called, (obviously she is not aware of caller ID or voice mail).  You get no place with USAA service, I can only imagine if I had a fraud or any other type of serious problem.  I would not reccomend USAA to any person.  The is by far the worst customer service I have every received from any company period.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Great!

I recently opened a checking and savings account with USAA.I had an offer to apply to VISA signature with rewards, I was denied but I was offered this card. Glad I was extended the credit!

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
I got approved!
Kang85 Cardholder

I applied for this card in September TU:602 EQ:591. I was a member with USAA for about a year and a half. No problem with the service continuing the path to building credit.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Very poor service from USAA.
Anonymous Cardholder

When traveling, USAA will often cancel a credit card without notice, leaving their customers stranded.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 16, 2016

they do that to your checking and savings as well. Opened them a couple of years back and put about $300 to open them. Used BoA mainly as we were going to transition after deployment. came back to find the accounts closed due to inactivity and the money was used for "account costs".

 
Jul 04, 2016
USAA Rocks
TxWrangler01 Cardholder

I have nothing to say bad about USAA.  I have been a member for awhile now, but never applied for any credit cards with them.  I went thru a divorce and credit bottomed out on me.  Started last Decemeber to start building it back up after 6 years.  Applied for this card and was approved for $2k, was just raised to $3k after 6 months.  I also applied for reward cards with them.  In April I was approved for $6k on the AMEX Rewards, then just this month went with the tri fecta MasterCard rewards and was approved for $6k.  I also have a car loan of $45k with them.  Intrest rates are ok, but they are my goto place.

more ...
Jun 20, 2016
Great theft protection.
Shan1107 Cardholder

There was suspicious activity on my card and they alerted me and froze my account.  I wasn't responsible for any of it.  They were pleasant and I too use this card to build credit and it works for me.

more ...
May 06, 2016
Solid Card, Good Customer Service
bigbum40 Cardholder

USAA took a chance on me when a lot of banks would not.  They started me out at 1000 and after 12 months of payments, they automatically converted this card to a Rewards card and upped my CL to 2000.  Ive since added an additional USAA card.  The USAA Member shop is pretty good too.

more ...
Apr 30, 2016
approved
tiffani8592 Cardholder

was denied for this card 8 months ago when my score was in the 590's. was sent a pre-approved offer via email and was approved with a tu-625 exp-625 equ-645. applied and was approved for 2500$. currently have two capital one cards with spending limits of 3k each. Pay cards every month but my utilization is over 30%. 48k in auto loans. just got a new car about 3 months ago. only 1 outstanding bil on credit report. its a utility. havent received the usaa card yet but will use it to mainly pay for my usaa car insurance. was denied a jcpenney store card (synchrony bank) the day before i applied for this card.

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Amazing card to get.
Justaguy72 Cardholder

This card comes in handy when you need it the most. Its with a Bank that I trust. Ive had to call the customer center just to fully grasp how the billing cycle works and they were more than happy to give me all the information without the hasle. If you need a reliable card this is the one for you and if not this one try the USAA American Express Card.

more ...
Mar 24, 2016
Approved
Life84 Cardholder

I was initally invited to apply for the USAA Preferred Cash Rewards Visa Signature. Unfortunately I was not approved for that card but they countered the offer with this card. This card has no rewards, I can't transfer balances or make cash advances, and it has an annual fee of 39 per year. I have had some dings in the past and my credit is new, my oldest card is only 2 years old. I currently have a Capital One Quicksilver and Platinum Visa, Discover IT, Amex Everyday card, Amazon, Walmart, and Target Store cards, Spark Business Card, First premier, First National Credit Card, Two Credit One Bank Credit Cards, I am an authorized user on my husband's Credit One Card, I also just bought a home in 9/2015, have a personal loan, and an auto loan. Oh, and studen loans. I have settled and paid off all charge offs except medical. hope this helps! I am not happy with the terms becuase it is very restrictive, way more than any other credit cards that I own but I will take. Atleast I know that my credit is on track to qualify for financing and credit through major banks!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 01, 2016

Why didn't you pay off the medical? I have heard that banks and other creditors don't really consider them anymore. I have three accounts to payoff and I have 9 medical accounts. I just seem to be getting anywhere because of the medical bills

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

USAA Classic Visa Platinum®

13 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i