Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA Classic American Express®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.15% - 24.15%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.15% - 24.15%* Variable

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I have awful credit. My Equifax is 599 and transunion doesn't even register a score. I've made mistakes as a young kid (one credit card and one checking account I went negative in are in collections still. I was 19 and stupid. Have paid the checking but not the old card.) I had applied for two other cards from citi and chase and was denied. This card was the last step before having to get a secured card. We have been usaa members for the last three years and have never went negative or had any problems so I guess they take that into consideration. They approved me automatically for $500! I'm so happy they're giving me a chance to build my credit. Hopefully in a year I can get bumped up to a rewards card and with a lower interest rate (24%). 

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Great Bank
KIDudley84 Cardholder

I had secured MasterCard that they closed because I was making late payments (28 days late). They closed it and reported it as paid in full.  I tried again and got a secured Amex which I've had for two years.  After getting my financial house in order and getting my FICO score above 650 and my CK above 670,I applied for this card and was approved for $8,000.  Could stand to not have to pay the $35 annual fee but I'll take it.  Was truly impressed with such a high limit.  I had applied for their Visa Signature Rewards card earlier that day and got an $8,0000 limit on that one too.  I just called to closed the secured Amex since it will never graduate.  Grateful for USAA.

more ...
Feb 19, 2016
Fab card
1forthedogs Cardholder

Love this card, great to rebuild credit with, never had an issue with it. Had to dispute a transaction, they handled it beautifully. Also have savings acct with them and so does my kid. 

more ...
Feb 17, 2016
6 month Review
Buyaobuyao Cardholder

I've had the Classic American Express for 6 months.  Used for my insurance, Costco gas, and incidentals when needed.  Always pay in full, have yet to pay any interest.

Today, the 6 month mark, they (USAA) apparently like what I'm doing and how I'm progressing as I got a $1000 credit limit increase.  No messages, no emails, no popups, I noticed the increase when I logged into my account to check my insurance bill as it should be posting today.

Rumor still states that the Classic cards, AmEx, Visa and MC, have a chance to graduate in 12-18 months.  Seeing that they gave me an auto credit limit at 6 months, I'm excited to see if another 6-12 yields one of their reward cards!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Apr 05, 2016

That's how I got my Cash Back Rewards Card. They just sent it to me after a year of paying off my debt every month.

Jan 24, 2016

After using the Secured USAA AMEX card for a year; all paid in full every month &

getting my FICO score up to 640 I was immediately approved for this unsecured

USAA Classic AMEX Card for $2500!!!  All I have to say is GOD BLESS USAA!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

USAA Classic American Express®