USAA Classic American Express®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.40% - 24.40%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.40% - 24.40%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 13, 2017
Excellent for building/rebuilding credit
iwork4pepsi Cardholder

Got rid of all my debt a few years ago. No credit cards, car payments, mortgage.  Wanted to get a new credit card as I've recently started traveling and needed to rent a car and make hotel reservations.I applied for a visa through USAA, and got one, but it only had a $500 credit limit. A few months later I applied for the American Express offered by USAA and received the card with a $1000 credit limit. Great bank! I've been a member or over 10 years. I also carry auto insurance with them.

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
It's okay.
Metris Cardholder

It takes a few days for payments to post unless you have an bank account with USAA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 18, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Nov 07, 2016
good card
Anonymous Cardholder

read everything

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Good card for veterans and their family.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
Thanks USAA
Kang85 Cardholder

I applied for this card 10-23-2016 with TU: 613 EQ: 602 EX: 549. I was approved for 1k CL. This is my second USAA Credit card that I am using to build my credit. I have been a USAA member for a little over a year now. I was recently approved for a VISA from USAA a few weeks ago. This card will boost my score another 10 – 11 points and when my report updates with my payments that will another 9 – 10 point for my scores. No problems with the service. USAA reports payment to EQ and I guess they send to the other bureaus.

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I have awful credit. My Equifax is 599 and transunion doesn't even register a score. I've made mistakes as a young kid (one credit card and one checking account I went negative in are in collections still. I was 19 and stupid. Have paid the checking but not the old card.) I had applied for two other cards from citi and chase and was denied. This card was the last step before having to get a secured card. We have been usaa members for the last three years and have never went negative or had any problems so I guess they take that into consideration. They approved me automatically for $500! I'm so happy they're giving me a chance to build my credit. Hopefully in a year I can get bumped up to a rewards card and with a lower interest rate (24%). 

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Great Bank
KIDudley84 Cardholder

I had secured MasterCard that they closed because I was making late payments (28 days late). They closed it and reported it as paid in full.  I tried again and got a secured Amex which I've had for two years.  After getting my financial house in order and getting my FICO score above 650 and my CK above 670,I applied for this card and was approved for $8,000.  Could stand to not have to pay the $35 annual fee but I'll take it.  Was truly impressed with such a high limit.  I had applied for their Visa Signature Rewards card earlier that day and got an $8,0000 limit on that one too.  I just called to closed the secured Amex since it will never graduate.  Grateful for USAA.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

USAA Classic American Express®