Horizon Gold Credit Line Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 04, 2012
Get the card, but DO NOT USE IT!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

 First off, this is NOT a Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express card.  This card can only be used on the company's proprietary website, and you can find most of the products elsewhere for less.  That being said, it does report to Transunion, and does help improve your credit score, just by having an open and active tradeline.  It costs $24.95 per month for your "member benefits", and the initial $5.00 fee(plus the first $24.95) to set up the account.  Compare that to the credit cards that charge you $225 to "set up" your account, then the monthly fees, then th 30% interest rate.  I would recommend getting this card to build your credit by having the tradeline reported, but I would not recommend USING it...  Say you see an item for $18, there is a "shipping fee" of $12, and a processing fee of $4, both of which you have to pay up front, then the $18 for the item is financed through your credit line...  You can get the same item on...  let's say Amazon(the site I checked) for $14.98 including shipping!  Never bought anything with it and never will, but it looks freaking FANTASTIC on my credit report- 29 months, never late, and a $3000 limit(they raised it after 6 months).  Oh, and a tip:  Horizon only reports to Transunion, so after a few months write to Experian and Equifax requesting they add the card to your reports with them, as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2012
rip off plain and simple
Anonymous Cardholder

The card is a rip off and run by scammers.

It does warn people in the fine print that it is not a Visa or MC. Most people probably do not even look at this. The site does try and hide it as well.

The owners of this company are veterans of the credit card financial game and have done this type of card before, this has been confirmed. They were part of the USA credit scam that was from Pennsylvania also.

They will spam you. They will try and charge you the monthly fee after you have cancelled. Several months after the cancellation too that I found out.

Everyone I spoke too at the company had full access to my social sec number , credit card info, and more. I found this very disturbing. Even after I had canceled. I guess this is how they charged me four months after I cancelled.

When I looked more up on this company, Reliant Holdings from Indiana, PA, I saw that the owner of this firm has bought his way into his local banks board and even his states financial board to protect his company's bank account from customer complaints and refunds. I guess this is the way these scammers work, pay off people to get thier way. They have their employees post fake positive reviews about them too.

If you are a customer , I would recomend to cancel ASAP before you get charged the monthly fee. Once this process starts you can't escape without changing your credit card number. File a chargeback with your bank to get back all of your money. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 12, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

It's worth it

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I had the card attempted to cancel and they offered me a credit line increase as well as a lower fee of 6.95 a month. If they know they can charge 6.95 a month why are they ripping people off 24.95. Best thing to do before you call is to contact your bank for a refund and they will dispute the charge.

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Get it but dont use it!
JettavDUBya Cardholder

So i recieved the card with a $750 limit, called today and got dropped to basic plan for $6.99 a month and upped my limit to $1250. It's a no brainer. JUST DONT USE THE CARD. 

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Bait and Switch Illegal Marketing
viskristopher Cardholder

Okay let me break it down so you do not have read all the bull****. 39.99 up fornt to apply. 24.99 a month for membership, pay 10 % of balance monthly or 25.00, Pay for shipping and Delivery out of your pocket to get the items you are being over charged for. For Example sweater Hoodie 54.00 most T shirts are around 20.00 Most shoes do not have a good range of Sizes. You can call their Customer Service and ask for a preview before Activating the Net One or Horizon Gold Card which is advertised as Net One credit Card when you first started to be interested in applying. When you call to cancel they offer you 1000 credit limit. That will make it worse to pay off. Its a Trap get your 39.99 back and forget about this online wannabe Big Lots store. 

more ...
Jul 22, 2016
total scam
Anonymous Cardholder

They got my 39.95 and told me I had a 500 credit limit so when the card came I pull up the site and its to a **** outlet you have to buy stuff from them after reading some of the reviews I was like hell neah I call to cancel this card I had to go there three people before they would refund my money ,,,, they tried to increase my credit limit to 1000 to stay with them again I told the third person hell neah give me my money back !!!!!!!!!!!!!! the **** girl finally get I was not playing she refund my full amount of 39.95

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
Waste of time
Wulfdane Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved, but quickly canceled when I saw their catalog. There is a reason why they do not let you see the catalog before being approved for the card, you wouldn't apply for the card it you did. 

Basically the catalog consists of products that nobody else can sell and you're buying it at an absurd price. I don't mind paying more to try an approve my credit, I understand I'm a risk. But the products should at least be of the quality you would find in most stores.

I will never again try for another "catalog card" without being able to see the catalog first. I want good credit, but not a house full of overpriced junk on my way to achieving it.

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
So Far So Good!

Read the Oct 2012 review carefully and decided to go for it. strictly adhering to the "Get But Do Not Use!!" Warning. The Card appeared on my EXP report after 3 weeks. Five months later (today), I called and requested to cancel, at which point they dropped the monthly fee to $8 and raised my LOC from $500 to $1000. It does look good on my report, and I've never bought a thing from them. So as a strategy to build credit, it is working out great.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 17, 2016

They just confirmed today to me that they are reporting to Equifax but member services is for Transunion's they said there working on it as well.

 
Jun 24, 2016
SUPERB for people with poor credit
willow4lfyfe71 Cardholder

I have to make a correction for those that are saying that they report to Transunion; they don't. This company reports to EQUIFAX. All you do is pay 24.95 per month and this card becomes part of your credit report. If USED PROPERLY, it will RAISE YOUR CREDIT SCORE. I've had it for just 4 months and It has raised my Equifax score very nicely. Also, I recently spoke to a represenative on the phone and they raised my limit from 500 to 1000. This should even improve my credit score more.

Where the items are concerned, they're not the quality of Fingerhut, however, they're not expensive items and you may find something interesting.

Worst case scenario is pay the 24.95 per month and don't use the card because it raises your EQUIFAX score and gives your credit report some depth. How is this a scam? It's benefitted me. Credit is so very important. This is a worthy card although some bash it, which is ridiculous. 

more ...
Jun 29, 2016

How long did it take them to report Equifax?

 
Jul 09, 2016

I also read that if you call trans Union and experian they will add it to those credit reports as well!! Yes, I think I will try it. What's not to lose, I would spend 25$ somewhere else why not spend it and make it worth it! Thanks for the advice.

 
Aug 08, 2016

If you call and let them know that you can't afford the $25 a month, they will drop it down to $8 per month. I did this and they raised my limit to $1000 and gave me a $60 credit. You may need to speak to a couple of people, but it's worth it.

 
Nov 17, 2016

I called Transunion , you have to tell horizon to call them and tell them like would like to report for you .

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Horizon Gold Credit Line