HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card Reviews

HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for the first 18 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.74% - 20.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for the first 18 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.74% - 20.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 16, 2019
Good starting limit
Scott71175 Cardholder

I applied for this card through CK. They said I had a “fair chance”. The application was quick and easy and I was instantly approved for 10k. I have only had to call customer service once about an issue I was having with the app. I can only speak to this one incident, but the woman was very courteous and walked me right through it. My scores were in the low 7’s. 708TU/701/EQ. I have had some CO cards for a few years and they have low limits and they won’t raise them (even with stellar payment history). They have now went in a drawer and HSBC is my go to card, unless something happens and causes me to think differently. I’ll let you huys know in the future if that happens. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 23, 2019
HORRID
Lessonlearned60 Cardholder

This card is ridiculous, customer service is horrid, payments take forever to post, resulting in late fees, they pretty much set you up to get nailed with late fees. The website it terrible to say the least. There are much better card out there with awesome customer service. DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD. Run!!!! This card and bank and customer service will destroy your credit score by trying to nail you with late fees.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2019
Nansupar526 Cardholder

Tried to do a balance transfer 3 times, weeks apart and transfer never processed.   Tells me this is not a good card to continue with using. Will put it in safe keeping and never use

more ...
Oct 29, 2019
Decent card when you get past the hurdle
Jmforever Cardholder

I have an EQ of 778 and TU of 777 was approved for 5,000. The application process is kinda too long alot of what they asked could of been looked up with your social, plus I had to wait for a week no idea on anything to create an online account you'll have to wait another 2 days for a pin. Once it's all working it's a nice little card just poor customer service

more ...
Oct 27, 2019
Okay Card, Nightmare To Pay Your Bill

You cannot pay your bill with the mobile app UNLESS you have an HSBC checking or savings account.

The website is a nightmare to navigate and as others said you need 2 passwords. Sometimes the app asks for both passwords.

I forgot one of my passwords and customer service was a joke. I'm giving it three stars because they opened a branch a couple miles from me and it's easier to pay in person then go through that mess.

A final insult us since I'm transgender the rep said are you sure you're a miss......

In branch the staff handed the account no problem. They even apologized for customer service since they get complaints on a regular basis.

more ...
Oct 21, 2019
Rcs60 Cardholder

Same as another post. Took my information wrong and then reported late payments. This company sucks.

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
Jkohler85 Cardholder

Terrible Customer Service, messed up the initial balance transfer, which pushed it outside the offer window, and they treated it as a cash advance. Horrendous experience, and no infrastructure to deal with any issues that arrise. 

more ...
Sep 18, 2019
MyHSBC Cardholder

I have no problems at all, from the begining of applying, balance tranfer for 0%, making automatic payment etc. I just have to make sure for the first payment I made is going through and the lenght of sending check from my bank to their payment center. Now just automatic payment :) 

more ...
Sep 16, 2019
Good starting limit
Scott71175 Cardholder

I applied for this card through CK. They said I had a “fair chance”. The application was quick and easy and I was instantly approved for 10k. I have only had to call customer service once about an issue I was having with the app. I can only speak to this one incident, but the woman was very courteous and walked me right through it. My scores were in the low 7’s. 708TU/701/EQ. I have had some CO cards for a few years and they have low limits and they won’t raise them (even with stellar payment history). They have now went in a drawer and HSBC is my go to card, unless something happens and causes me to think differently. I’ll let you huys know in the future if that happens. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2019
Danger
dcoats69 Cardholder

Horrible customer service, the worst online banking system ever you need 4 different passwords and if you forget one of them you need to start all over again. I got for the 18 months no interest balance transfer. For the last 6 months I have been getting charged for cash advance fee...I've never taken a cash advance. After talking with customer service, which by the way is a joke, they set up the balance transfer as a cash advance which doesn't qualify for no interest...so they messed up but I gotta call to have them fix it. Been trying every month and it still isn't fixed. This company is a joke of a credit agency, if you want the worst customer service and online banking experience ever, go with this company.. otherwise GO TO literally ANY OTHER COMPANY!!

more ...
Sep 06, 2019
HSBC has fraudulent practices.
Fraudulant Cardholder

HSBC misrepresents their advertising of this card. The secuirty process is so cumbersome that you cannot get through it without jumping through hoops. Customer service is terrible and each call takes about 30 minutes waiting before you ever speak to a person. They do no honor the 18 months as I initially applied for, yet told me it was a mistake and only honored 15 months. I have told all my friends who have asked about using HSBC the avoid doing business with them. They are a bait and catch shop and change their story about each time you talk to them. I'll never use HSBC again once I the 0 interest period expires. Can't wait to get away from HSBC!

more ...
Sep 05, 2019
Great!
CaliDrew2 Cardholder

After reading CK’s reviews on this card ( not favorable) I decided to pull the trigger for a balance transfer. The first thing I did was register for their online banking, This is key- Reason/ No foreign operators to talk to etc. I set up automatic payments through their website, No late payments ever, Netanyahu balance transfer- took 2 days done! They did send me checks for additional transfers but the electronic transfer took care of everything almost immediately. Absolutely no complaints. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card Reviews

HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card