HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.0 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99%, 16.99% or 20.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99%, 16.99% or 20.99%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2018
Worst card ever !!!
Kmer237 Cardholder

I applied online it took them 3 weeks to finalise my application. Then when I finally got the card 2 more weeks after it was a nightmare getting some one from customer service on the phone to answer simple questions because I was been transfert from one agent to another. Horrible experience . I end up closing the account 2 months further down the road. DONT DO IT.

more ...
Dec 02, 2018
O stars!!!!! Closed it after two months
ThylersDaddy Cardholder

Customer service was horrible. Certified my check online, then kept rejecting the payment! Charging me a fee as well! Why would the web site say I entered my parents u ment source correctly, yet keep rejecting my payment!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

ur comment made no sense.

 
Dec 01, 2018
Absolutely the WORST credit card
Anak17 Cardholder

Beware that the 0 APR for 18 months is only for balance transfers and not for purchases. They make it seem otherwise.  The app and website is the worst I’ve ever seen and the costumer service is horrible. 

more ...
Dec 01, 2018

If you're having trouble with the intro APR and HSBC, you may be able to win an argument with them if you refer them back to their Gold Mastercard credit card terms page, which I see has been updated as of 12/1/2018. In the section "HSBC Gold Mastercard Summary of Terms", in the table, first row "Annual Percentage RATE ("APR") for purchases", it clearly states "0% introductory APR will apply for the first 18 months from Account opening." I apologize that I can't do anything about the other cons of the bank and their website and customer service.
I'm not in any way affiliated with HSBC and was just looking at reviews when I saw yours.

Thank you for review and heads up about this!

 
Dec 05, 2018

O apr for 18 clearly states that its only for balandlce transfers 90 from activation. Read the fine print. I just got it and its been great. Paid off a 6k cc and 0 apr was applied.

 
Nov 28, 2018
Worst credit card I have ever had!!!!!!
John898989 Cardholder

Bad customer service!

more ...
Nov 09, 2018
The Absolute Worst Credit Card
dvs42 Cardholder

I got this as a balance transfer card because of 18 months/no interest. This is the absolute worst experience I have ever had with a credit card, or simply any customer service i have ever dealt with.  i have 'missed' multiple payments due to their incorrect inputting of my info, which has impacted my credit score negatively.  There is not way to make an online payment, and they send no confirmation to you when you tdo make a payment.  I've had to call, spending over a half hour on the phone every time, to make my on time payments, only for them to input info wrong or not process the payment, resulting in my being considered past due and incurring fees. Customer service is a nightmare and is not helpful at all, anything you want to do other than make a payment (which they cant even accomplish succesfully) they will refer you to someone else, who in my experience cant resolve anything either.  I would advise anyone considering applying to stay as far away as possible.  This has been a nightmare without an end in sight, my account is now considered clsoed due to their incompetence and I am powerless in trying to change that.  I am reporting them to consumer affairs and the BBB as they constantly fail to prpovide the service they advertise.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

HSBC Gold Mastercard® credit card