Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews
2.9 out of 5 stars
75 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 02, 2019
Use it responsibly
seasonyorica Cardholder

Yes, the items are priced higher and yes the interest rate is higher, but that’s what you get when you’re trying to build credit. I’ve had my account for 5yrs now and started off with the FreshStart account with a $200 limit and now I have a $3,500 limit. They regularly give you increases and I only buy large ticket items when they go on sale and have free shipping, that way I’m not paying more than I would if I would have went inside a regular retail store to buy them. I’ve gotten a laptop, kids bed, luggage, kitchen appliances, those type of things for actually a good price if you wait for sales or for things to go on clearance. USE IT RESPONSIBLY and it’ll work for you! I’ve never had a problem with them in all these years and now I’m where I can purchase a house and Fingerhut started it all with getting my credit back together. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 22, 2019
Deceitful and credit harming
Desi983 Cardholder

Deceitful and credit harming, The fresh start program Promises to help build your credit after completing a six cycle payment, I knew that their products were overpriced but I wanted to build my credit. After making the final payment on my account I was told that I unsuccessfully completed the program by paying my final payment too early and that there was nothing I could do other than restarting the program. I then chose the automatic payment option plan to avoid accidentally paying early, After completing the program a 2nd time I received a notice saying that I had not successfully completed the program by missing my final payment when I contacted them I was told there was a billing error & in order for It not to negatively impact my credit I would need to successfully complete the program so I did the 6 month plan a 3rd time. I finally graduated to a revolving credit account however upon looking at my credit report rather than boost my score it hurt it. I discovered that  rather than reporting as one account each attempt of the program appeared (3 closed accts & 3 hard inquiries) as well as recently accts (less than 2yrs) & because there’s only 6 payments 1 late ($25 that was not my fault) made my on my payment history drop to 70%. Now I’m Stuck with a lower score and products that I didn’t really even want

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 09, 2019
Horrible

Say the item cost $100 at Walmart, Fingerhut will make you pay$239 an additional $139 dollar, they close my account without my consent, and they did it for Christmas, time, I pay on time so what was the problem, I was lied to by a representative and they were very rude to me...

more ...
Dec 09, 2019
Great for no or bad credit
Mykelalynn Cardholder

I opened up a Fingerhut account to help my credit score.  They have numerous items you can buy and while yes, some of them are a little higher than you can get in stores, this does help build your credit.  My score has gone up because they do report to the credit bereaus.  I would highly recommend checking them out.

more ...
Nov 18, 2019
I did not realize this was FINGER HUT
Mechie04 Cardholder

I am not having a bad experience. I spent a little over $100 for a Keurig machine. My auto pay takes out $28 a month. It sucks i can only order online, but it helps keep my balance down while reporting to all 3 credit companies. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2019
Only good for build your total avail CR
Mark90210 Cardholder

If you are rebuilding credit, thgis is the lowest of the low, but it is a start.  I only used it one time just to add to my overall available credit score.  The first and only time I "bought" something, they took the $30 out, of a total purchase price of $68. (this was the required first payment amount) A week later, after taking the $30 from my checking account, the only way you may make payments BTW, they emailed me to say the item was no longer available.

 I recieved a $30 credit, and they then force you to purchase another over-priced item. They would not refund the money to my account. My bank did charge it back to them though. I had to go thru the hassle of sending all my correspondance to my bank etc. pointing out the fraudulent nature of the transaction. Took about one month.

Reading the fine print, I noticed they will cancel your "credit" if you do not use the card once in awhile, so be advised.  Also never pay over time, as the interest rates they charge are astronomical.

more ...
Nov 13, 2019
Not a credit card, just a credit line ac
Ksabti7 Cardholder

Can only be used for Fingerhut BUT a good way to help build credit if you don't have any or are rebuilding.

more ...
Nov 10, 2019
Tellej Cardholder

My credit dropped 28 points before my first payment was ever due. 

more ...
Nov 30, 2019

This is a normal response because it lowers your average age of credit at first.

 
Dec 07, 2019

How do you know it was because of this card?

 
Nov 08, 2019
They let anybody use your info. to get c
Camobrat69 Cardholder

Twice they have allowed someone else use my info and now I have two past due accounts against me that I never opened.

more ...
Nov 08, 2019
This is not a card
Evie100 Cardholder

I signed up for this card and stupidly did not ready every detail about it. It is not a card! It is an online account for a website. Where they just borrow you money to spend on their website! You cannot use it as a card and can only use it on the website. I got approved for 300 dollars but with a deposit of 30 dollars. I am trying to cancel it right away! I feel like this one is a scam. pass on this one for sure! Waste of time and money! The website does have brand names but the items are all full priced and overpriced so you spend more anyway. This is a bad deal. I hope they dont rope me into having to pay the 30 dollar deposit when I wont even be using the account!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 29, 2019

u only need to deposit $30 if ur buying something from them.....if not then just walk away no harm no foul :D

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 310
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank