Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews
2.9 out of 5 stars
75 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 02, 2019
Use it responsibly
seasonyorica Cardholder

Yes, the items are priced higher and yes the interest rate is higher, but that’s what you get when you’re trying to build credit. I’ve had my account for 5yrs now and started off with the FreshStart account with a $200 limit and now I have a $3,500 limit. They regularly give you increases and I only buy large ticket items when they go on sale and have free shipping, that way I’m not paying more than I would if I would have went inside a regular retail store to buy them. I’ve gotten a laptop, kids bed, luggage, kitchen appliances, those type of things for actually a good price if you wait for sales or for things to go on clearance. USE IT RESPONSIBLY and it’ll work for you! I’ve never had a problem with them in all these years and now I’m where I can purchase a house and Fingerhut started it all with getting my credit back together. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 22, 2019
Deceitful and credit harming
Desi983 Cardholder

Deceitful and credit harming, The fresh start program Promises to help build your credit after completing a six cycle payment, I knew that their products were overpriced but I wanted to build my credit. After making the final payment on my account I was told that I unsuccessfully completed the program by paying my final payment too early and that there was nothing I could do other than restarting the program. I then chose the automatic payment option plan to avoid accidentally paying early, After completing the program a 2nd time I received a notice saying that I had not successfully completed the program by missing my final payment when I contacted them I was told there was a billing error & in order for It not to negatively impact my credit I would need to successfully complete the program so I did the 6 month plan a 3rd time. I finally graduated to a revolving credit account however upon looking at my credit report rather than boost my score it hurt it. I discovered that  rather than reporting as one account each attempt of the program appeared (3 closed accts & 3 hard inquiries) as well as recently accts (less than 2yrs) & because there’s only 6 payments 1 late ($25 that was not my fault) made my on my payment history drop to 70%. Now I’m Stuck with a lower score and products that I didn’t really even want

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 19, 2020
Helpful
Toyotatech353 Cardholder

I got this card with one thing in mind: building my credit. Application process was simple, approved quickly for $200. Knowing you must shop from their catalog with some items marked up and steep shipping, just started off buying one thing. The quality of the product was great. Paid more than minimum and always on time, paid it off. Was offered a temporary credit increase to $400 that would go back to original credit of $200 without making a new credit purchase. Was able to get my son the Nintendo Switch Lite he wanted for Christmas with this card. I had to utilize more credit than I wanted but used the "no payments until March" offer that came with the credit line increase catalog, and have been making payments anyways to get it paid down as quickly as possible. Use this card responsibly and there shouldn't be any issues. Payments post right away and they update the bureaus regularly.

more ...
Jan 18, 2020
FrankiePr80 Cardholder

People complain about items being overprized! Umm helloooo it is to fix credit and people with bad credit, what you expect? For items to be cheap with low interest? Fingerhut is great to build credit!! Yes you have to pay $30 deposit at first but the monthly payments are great overall

more ...
Jan 17, 2020
Dangerous and dishonest.
leighcooper3 Cardholder

I'm rebuilding my credit. I figured if I was careful, this could be a relatively harmless way to increase my credit score. I applied. The approval process took about two weeks; while waiting, I browsed the catalog online and added a few things to my cart, which you're allowed to do. I chose a Rachael Ray pots and pans set and a roaster pan, both of which I made sure were the same prices as normal retail. I'd bought Rachael Ray products in the past so I thought the quality would be what it was before; however, I visited a Kohl's not long after and happened to see the same set on the shelf and was very disappointed in how cheap it was. I went home and tried to empty my cart. Guess what? I couldn't do it. At this point, I still hadn't been approved yet.

I emailed customer service to ask to have my cart emptied. They emailed me back and requested that I call the fraud department. The FRAUD DEPARTMENT??

Very soon after that email I got another congratulating me: my credit application had been approved! I had $250 to spend! $180 of which was currently sitting in the shopping cart, no longer a whimsical shopping list but now a real order. 

I called customer service and asked to have the order canceled. The customer service representative assured me that the order was, indeed, canceled. But it certainly wasn't showing as canceled on my end. I asked her when it would clear up on my side of things. Sounding very hesitant and confused, she said, "in a few days." Not believing her at all, I waited "a few days." Then I called again. Again, I asked to cancel the order. Again, I was told the order was canceled. I asked how, if the order for $180 was still showing on my account on my computer, I could possibly order an additional $250 worth of merchandise? She said, "Oh, the order is pending your one-time fee of $30. Just pay that and the order will disappear and then you can make your next order."

I'm not stupid. If I pay $30 then the order I've been trying to cancel will fly through the gates like a wild animal let loose and I'll be stuck with $180 worth of crap I don't want. I'm so very glad I know better. I hope someone reads this before they fall for it themselves and get mired in frustration and needless debt. If you're trying to rebuild your credit, I can highly recommend Capital One. Their credit cards are quite easy to qualify for and they raise your credit limits regularly as long as you pay on time.  

more ...
Jan 05, 2020
Very bad customer service.
SP7654321 Cardholder

Missouri first order hi asked for a return authorization 8 months later I still have not got it and now and negative on my report don't do it these are poor customer service people and they don't care what the issue is once they've sent it to you. What I ordered is still brand new has a plastic pipe eggs on it that has not been broken there for you can tell it has not been used and they refused to send me a return authorization from day one don't do it you will regret it later

more ...
Jan 04, 2020
Don't waste your time with the card!
Stephen123987 Cardholder

This card is not a good card to have, go with another brand they are horrible from customer service to saying you are late when you made payments. I closed it and it only negatively affected things while having it to build credit. Doesn't work!

more ...
Jan 03, 2020
Worst Card Available
RachelHolm Cardholder

They have exorbitant shipping costs, their prices are overinflated, and their customer service department is clueless and disorganized. I pay all of my bills electronically so I rarely view statements. After noticing my balance wasn’t decreasing as much as it should’ve been, I viewed my statement and discovered that they had assessed late charges to my on-time payments 3 months in a row!! They credited it back to my account but what if I hadn’t checked? This company preys on those who are experiencing credit issues. They are NOT part of the solution. There are several other credit cards out there that help you build credit and they are much more reputable. I canceled this card. DO NOT APPLY FOR A FINGERHUT LINE OF CREDIT!!!

more ...
Jan 01, 2020
SATANS CREDIT CARD COMPANY
jkorsing01 Cardholder

PREDATORY, OVER PRICED PRODUCTS, THEY MAKE TONS OF MONEY OFF THE SHIPPING. THIS IS THE MAFIA OF SO CALLED CREDIT CARD THE VICTIM WILL BE YOU AND YOUR CREDIT SCORE YOUR TRYING TO BUILD. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY..IT IS UTTERLY HORRIBLE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE ARE RUDE AND CAN BARELY SPEAK ENGLISH WELL.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2020

๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ I love the caption

 
Dec 27, 2019
Great to have on hand
Johnboy469 Cardholder

I got this a few months ago and have purchased several items on the site. I pay twice a month and in the time I've had it they doubled my available balance twice. Has been great for my credit!

more ...
Dec 19, 2019
Not bad
KidKrazz Cardholder

Pros: You can buy almost anything you would need all in one place and good quality. Definitely help's give your credit a big boost!

Cons: As much as this credit line help's build your credit it destroys your credit as well. What I mean as destroys, they give you credit for treating the account good as you gain time in. Once you reach a certain credit limit and don't shop much, they thresten you to use the credit in LARGE amounts in order to keep a certain new limit they gave you or you will lose it. Now if you gain any new credit limit your score goes up right.

So since you try to keep a low to no balance on credit card's/credit. If you are forced to use your credit limit that was given to you of course it has a return by your credit being hit. But if you don't use the credit and lose it, your credit will also be hit because your credit limit was decreased. So it's almost like they help you boost your credit momentarily until you reach a certain limit then they surprise yoh with oh if you don't use this big chunk of credit we will take it back and hurt your credit. Leaving out that if you do they still will hirt your credit. I would stay clear away from this unless you want your credit record going for a rollercoaster ride.

more ...
Dec 10, 2019
The best to fix or start as its stated๐Ÿ™‚

Omg i did the Fresh Start with Fingerhut the best option i made ever credit score went up a whole freaking lot...lol ijs give them a try๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ‘

more ...
Jan 09, 2020

Obviously written by a Fingerhut company representative!!!

 
Jan 18, 2020

Not really! Mines went up alot, so idk what u talking about

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 310
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Youโ€™ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank