Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews
2.9 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*
Collapse

1 star reviews (30) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2020
Dangerous and dishonest.
leighcooper3 Cardholder

I'm rebuilding my credit. I figured if I was careful, this could be a relatively harmless way to increase my credit score. I applied. The approval process took about two weeks; while waiting, I browsed the catalog online and added a few things to my cart, which you're allowed to do. I chose a Rachael Ray pots and pans set and a roaster pan, both of which I made sure were the same prices as normal retail. I'd bought Rachael Ray products in the past so I thought the quality would be what it was before; however, I visited a Kohl's not long after and happened to see the same set on the shelf and was very disappointed in how cheap it was. I went home and tried to empty my cart. Guess what? I couldn't do it. At this point, I still hadn't been approved yet.

I emailed customer service to ask to have my cart emptied. They emailed me back and requested that I call the fraud department. The FRAUD DEPARTMENT??

Very soon after that email I got another congratulating me: my credit application had been approved! I had $250 to spend! $180 of which was currently sitting in the shopping cart, no longer a whimsical shopping list but now a real order. 

I called customer service and asked to have the order canceled. The customer service representative assured me that the order was, indeed, canceled. But it certainly wasn't showing as canceled on my end. I asked her when it would clear up on my side of things. Sounding very hesitant and confused, she said, "in a few days." Not believing her at all, I waited "a few days." Then I called again. Again, I asked to cancel the order. Again, I was told the order was canceled. I asked how, if the order for $180 was still showing on my account on my computer, I could possibly order an additional $250 worth of merchandise? She said, "Oh, the order is pending your one-time fee of $30. Just pay that and the order will disappear and then you can make your next order."

I'm not stupid. If I pay $30 then the order I've been trying to cancel will fly through the gates like a wild animal let loose and I'll be stuck with $180 worth of crap I don't want. I'm so very glad I know better. I hope someone reads this before they fall for it themselves and get mired in frustration and needless debt. If you're trying to rebuild your credit, I can highly recommend Capital One. Their credit cards are quite easy to qualify for and they raise your credit limits regularly as long as you pay on time.  

more ...
Jan 05, 2020
Very bad customer service.
SP7654321 Cardholder

Missouri first order hi asked for a return authorization 8 months later I still have not got it and now and negative on my report don't do it these are poor customer service people and they don't care what the issue is once they've sent it to you. What I ordered is still brand new has a plastic pipe eggs on it that has not been broken there for you can tell it has not been used and they refused to send me a return authorization from day one don't do it you will regret it later

more ...
Jan 04, 2020
Don't waste your time with the card!
Stephen123987 Cardholder

This card is not a good card to have, go with another brand they are horrible from customer service to saying you are late when you made payments. I closed it and it only negatively affected things while having it to build credit. Doesn't work!

more ...
Jan 03, 2020
Worst Card Available
RachelHolm Cardholder

They have exorbitant shipping costs, their prices are overinflated, and their customer service department is clueless and disorganized. I pay all of my bills electronically so I rarely view statements. After noticing my balance wasn’t decreasing as much as it should’ve been, I viewed my statement and discovered that they had assessed late charges to my on-time payments 3 months in a row!! They credited it back to my account but what if I hadn’t checked? This company preys on those who are experiencing credit issues. They are NOT part of the solution. There are several other credit cards out there that help you build credit and they are much more reputable. I canceled this card. DO NOT APPLY FOR A FINGERHUT LINE OF CREDIT!!!

more ...
Jan 01, 2020
SATANS CREDIT CARD COMPANY
jkorsing01 Cardholder

PREDATORY, OVER PRICED PRODUCTS, THEY MAKE TONS OF MONEY OFF THE SHIPPING. THIS IS THE MAFIA OF SO CALLED CREDIT CARD THE VICTIM WILL BE YOU AND YOUR CREDIT SCORE YOUR TRYING TO BUILD. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY..IT IS UTTERLY HORRIBLE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE ARE RUDE AND CAN BARELY SPEAK ENGLISH WELL.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2020

๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ I love the caption

 
Dec 09, 2019
Horrible

Say the item cost $100 at Walmart, Fingerhut will make you pay$239 an additional $139 dollar, they close my account without my consent, and they did it for Christmas, time, I pay on time so what was the problem, I was lied to by a representative and they were very rude to me...

more ...
Nov 18, 2019
Only good for build your total avail CR
Mark90210 Cardholder

If you are rebuilding credit, thgis is the lowest of the low, but it is a start.  I only used it one time just to add to my overall available credit score.  The first and only time I "bought" something, they took the $30 out, of a total purchase price of $68. (this was the required first payment amount) A week later, after taking the $30 from my checking account, the only way you may make payments BTW, they emailed me to say the item was no longer available.

 I recieved a $30 credit, and they then force you to purchase another over-priced item. They would not refund the money to my account. My bank did charge it back to them though. I had to go thru the hassle of sending all my correspondance to my bank etc. pointing out the fraudulent nature of the transaction. Took about one month.

Reading the fine print, I noticed they will cancel your "credit" if you do not use the card once in awhile, so be advised.  Also never pay over time, as the interest rates they charge are astronomical.

more ...
Nov 10, 2019
Tellej Cardholder

My credit dropped 28 points before my first payment was ever due. 

more ...
Nov 30, 2019

This is a normal response because it lowers your average age of credit at first.

 
Dec 07, 2019

How do you know it was because of this card?

 
Nov 08, 2019
They let anybody use your info. to get c
Camobrat69 Cardholder

Twice they have allowed someone else use my info and now I have two past due accounts against me that I never opened.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 310
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Youโ€™ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank