Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 02, 2019
Use it responsibly
seasonyorica Cardholder

Yes, the items are priced higher and yes the interest rate is higher, but that’s what you get when you’re trying to build credit. I’ve had my account for 5yrs now and started off with the FreshStart account with a $200 limit and now I have a $3,500 limit. They regularly give you increases and I only buy large ticket items when they go on sale and have free shipping, that way I’m not paying more than I would if I would have went inside a regular retail store to buy them. I’ve gotten a laptop, kids bed, luggage, kitchen appliances, those type of things for actually a good price if you wait for sales or for things to go on clearance. USE IT RESPONSIBLY and it’ll work for you! I’ve never had a problem with them in all these years and now I’m where I can purchase a house and Fingerhut started it all with getting my credit back together. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2019
Be careful with this card
nperez60804 Cardholder

Be careful with this card, as it is a good way to improve you credit, but beware it can hurt your credit too. I Worked hard to build up my credit and I will admit that I did use this card over time to help me with that and it did. However, I had a decent credit limit with them at one point and as I was paying off after a big purchase with them, they suddenly reduced my my credit limit by a great deal. This made it seem like my utilization was high and in turn that action by them caused my credit score to drop a substantial amount. When I contacted them about it and asked why, they simply told me that since I wasn't using the credit, they reduced it. No reward for being responsible and paying down a large purchase, which is why I wasn't charging anything more. It was very upseting and they customer service was poor. They refused to increase my credit limit back to what it was unless I was making a substantial purchase. I still have the card, but I rarely use it anymore. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 03, 2019
You’ll get approved.
ShalHere Cardholder

I was approved for an amount that they continued to lower bc I wasn’t maximizing the full amount (I was trying to stay below 30% HELLO) and then they closed it all together. After I didn’t use it for close to a year, which at that point the limit they left me with wasn’t high enough to purchase anything I couldn’t afford to buy straight out.  

more ...
Aug 22, 2019
Deceitful and credit harming
Desi983 Cardholder

Deceitful and credit harming, The fresh start program Promises to help build your credit after completing a six cycle payment, I knew that their products were overpriced but I wanted to build my credit. After making the final payment on my account I was told that I unsuccessfully completed the program by paying my final payment too early and that there was nothing I could do other than restarting the program. I then chose the automatic payment option plan to avoid accidentally paying early, After completing the program a 2nd time I received a notice saying that I had not successfully completed the program by missing my final payment when I contacted them I was told there was a billing error & in order for It not to negatively impact my credit I would need to successfully complete the program so I did the 6 month plan a 3rd time. I finally graduated to a revolving credit account however upon looking at my credit report rather than boost my score it hurt it. I discovered that  rather than reporting as one account each attempt of the program appeared (3 closed accts & 3 hard inquiries) as well as recently accts (less than 2yrs) & because there’s only 6 payments 1 late ($25 that was not my fault) made my on my payment history drop to 70%. Now I’m Stuck with a lower score and products that I didn’t really even want

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 04, 2019

When it comes to this program, you have to be careful when it comes to paying off your balance for instance, you can pay it of early but not yoo early. I had a term of 6 months to pay of my balance and I paid it off in four, then I was upgraded to fresh start advantage with a $300 credit before that it was $100.

 
Aug 21, 2019
Great Start for Rebuilding credit
azach84 Cardholder

I was given a $750 and I've used it for a couple of items and paid overtime. It's help rebuild my situation. The drawback is everything is marked up and the shipping is expensive. You can find the same or comparable items cheaper elsewhere and you'd want to save or the conveniece of their line of credit.

more ...
Aug 21, 2019
Shores73 Cardholder

I wouldn't recommending buying any kind of electronics and adding a service plan cause they deny every claim. I paid $600 for a television that was damaged and now I'm stuck owing the bill on and I was stuck with this television. Your better of buy your electronics from best buy or even Wal-Mart. At least they honor there protection plans.

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
Very high interest
EternallyBlue Cardholder

It really isn't worth it. The interest is high and all items are overpriced.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2019

Do you get an actual card that can be used anywhere, or is it just a line of credit for their items?

 
Jul 30, 2019
Excellent for credit building!
Njnix Cardholder

Yes the interest rate is high. But buy something small and pay on time for a few months. I started at 700$ and a year later I’m at 2600$ limit.  They report to all 3 bureaus. Can’t complain.

more ...
Jul 24, 2019
Easy credit builder
CreditFave Cardholder

I applied for the card and was approved for a $500,limit which was great since no other card would work with my credit. I bought 2 things and paid it off immediately. Within 40 days of having it I got a $300 increase and my credit went up 15 pts I was even approved for a real credit card since I got this and its only been 3 months

more ...
Jul 14, 2019

Application process is easy. They give credit line increases daily often. I’ve had my card for 7 months and have already received 4 increases. It definitely helps your credit it just sucks to use it. I honestly wouldn’t even mind the sky rocket interest and jacked up pricing of all the items if the shipping wasn’t so outrages. That’s literally where I draw the line. I ordered a game for the PS4 and a small Tonka truck for my little brother. Both items where mailed to me together in the same box but I was charged $26 shipping for the game and $19 shipping for the truck. Mind you that is standard 5-7 days shipping. With pricing and 30 % interest along with their shipping methods it’s a very difficult card for me to use. Makes me feel like I’m just giving away money 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 12, 2019

Why are you calling him names for his opinion? Couple trolls teolling fingerhut reviews...GET A LIFE...#MAGA

 
Jul 09, 2019
You must buy useless things to then pay.
DarrinBowman Cardholder

I thought this was a legit credit card I could use in stores. I should’ve done my research. You can only use the money you have on your account in their online shopping store. I got it to have more of a credit limit overall so my other credit cards don’t go 100% and hurt my credit. Got approved for a $400 limit, I didn’t plan on using the card anyway, but hopefully they don’t close my account and hurt my credit more. Always research and read reviews. I’ll post an updated review if anything changes. 

more ...
Jul 22, 2019

You're joking....always research financial services!

 
Jul 25, 2019

I've had my for a while and had 1 increase. But since I haven't used it in over a 1 almost 2 they want to close it unless I buy something.

 
Aug 05, 2019

Besides using the credit limit on the CREDIT CARD, just like any other credit card, you can also use your debt card to make up any balance. So you REALLY didn't do any RESEARCH AT ALL!!! LOL

 
Jun 28, 2019
Good card to build credit
Vampirebri Cardholder

This card does what it says it will; it helps rebuild your credit. People complain about shipping costs, interest rates, etc. What do you expect if you have poor credit? Fingerhut was the first to offer me credit, and I have followed their rules. I was increased from $ 200 to $2000 CL. They have faithfully reported my payments to credit bureaus and my credit rating soared by 70 points. I now have 14 cards, and I hang on to Fingerhut because I'm a loyal customer.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019

14 cards. sounds like you'll be rebuilding your credit again at some point.

 
Aug 01, 2019

How long to get 70pts

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 310
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Fingerhut Credit Account issued by WebBank