Discover it® Secured Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
77 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 09, 2016
Awesome card that DOES upgrade
mewxen Cardholder

I applied and got the card around March 2015 with the FICO score discover gave me of 581 (medical collections, this is my first CC, student loan debt) with a $300 deposit. They say after a year you can get it upgraded to unsecured, but Feburary 2016 (a month early) I recieved a letter saying that my CC behavior was so responsible they were upgrading me from secured to unsecured and mailing me my deposit back.  I had the deposit back within a week. I sometimes had higher CL utilization, but I NEVER had a late payment or incurred fees/interest. I waited till my statement was up and then paid it every time. I never carried a balance. I applied for a CL increase after getting the deposit back and was denied, but I hope after a few months of being unsecured and using it responsibly it will be upped. At the highest, this card helped me get up to a FICO 649 (68 point increase), but then I financed a car and furniture that bumped it down to 640 in June and its currently 644. Since this became unsecured I was just approved for the unsecured C1 Platinum. Pretty good for a 24 year old graduate student who had no credit and only medical collections on her account a little more than a year ago!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Don't expect deposit back after 12 mos.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately a year and a half now.  I have always paid early let alone on time, at least made well more than the minimum payment if not paid off the entire balance, and I am still waiting for them to approve me for an unsecured card. They state my credit score hasn't risen enough yet and apparently the relationship I've had with them for the last year and a half means nothing in the decision process. This is a good card just to have a credit card, but is not even accepted everywhere.  I also had a CapitalOne secured card and have already received my deposit back, been approved for an additional unsecured card through them with cash back, and as a Mastercard it is accepted far more places. I was hoping to keep this card as an unsecured card so that I would have 2 different forms of payment (Mastercard and Discover), but I am on the verge of just closing this account to get my deposit back and just using my 2 CapitalOne Mastercards from now on. The only pro Discover has going is that their customer service is far more friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I hope this clarifies Discover's somewhat misleading selling point for some people.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 28, 2017
Nonsense
Foofighter818 Cardholder

I've had this card for 16 months and over 100 point increase on credit score and still haven't been given an unsecured card and deposit back. The cash back match money I accumulated disappeared. I paid in full monthly and noticed the last 4 or 5 months..payments were taken from bank account immediately but wouldnt credit to card for 10 days,, I'm assuming so I couldn't build up cash back credit??. No other card I have has 10 day hold on crediting account. Not using card anymore.

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
Amazing
grraaacce Cardholder

I first applied for this card to be more responsible with my credit. I messed my credit up during my younger years and realized now how important credit is. Anyway, I applied for the discover it secured card and instantly my score went up about 35 points! It is now about 9 months since I opened the card and I received an email stating that they will send back my security deposit! What a relief! My responsible use of the card and paying most of it off monthly has paid off! I am so happy. My score overall has raised from 524 to 655!!! I am so happy!!! Hands down, this card does its job and then some. Customer service is great and they match your first year of cash back rewards !!!

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Great
vettievi Cardholder

I was approved over 14 months. Getting the card itself took, almost a month. I have a $700 limit. I still have not been qualified to receive my deposit back, and convert to unsecured.  My current score is 560. i can't afford to close the card, and risk losing more points. My goal right now, is to pay off some old accounts to increase my score. If Discover doesn't give me an unsecured limit, by the time I'm eligible for cards that offer high credit limits.  I will mostly likely close it out then. I will update, if something changes.

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Great rewards for common buys!
JelsMom Cardholder

One sad thing about having bad credit is that most of the cards available to you have no rewards, high interest rates, and annual fees.  After seeing this one recommended on NerdWallet, I decided to apply.  My credit was definitely an issue -- TU:672, EQ 613, authorized user on a couple of accounts in good standing, one closed/charged-off account that I've been trying to pay back for years, also a couple of hard pulls recently.  I already had an unsecured Capital One Platinum card with a $2K limit, but I really wanted something with some rewards.  I might have been able to get the unsecured Discover, but I really didn't want to add another hard pull and get declined.  Plus, I don't have a huge income (about $32K), so I figured if I could get a secured card with rewards that would eventually graduate to unsecured, that was my best move.  I applied for this one online, selecting the minimum security deposit ($200) so as not to deplete my savings by much and also not press my luck with a high limit.  I was immediately approved, authorized the bank transfer online, and 2 days later, it was taken from my bank account.  The card took a little more than a week to arrive, and I'm all set.  

With a low credit line, I know I have to be careful not to charge too much on it.  If I constantly use almost all the credit, even if I pay it off in full each month, it's unlikely they'll unsecure it and return my deposit, and my chances of their increasing my credit limit are slim.  So knowing that, I use this for small, everyday purchases -- a burger at the drive-thru, my Netflix account, etc -- never more than $50 total balance before I pay it off in full.  And paying it off is easy with their phone app to track my spending and balance.  

Take note!  They DO report this card as secured on your credit report, so some lenders will look at that a little less favorably.  However, with low credit utilization and on-time payments for about a year, your credit score will improve, and they'll return your security deposit, resulting in an unsecured card on your credit report.  I've known several people who did well with this card in just that way, so I'm biding my time to do the same.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
GREAT
Anonymous Cardholder

I had absolutely no credit score or history of credit. So I applied and was approved by Discover it and got an unsecured card for $200 and within a month I had a credit in 600s. Now im trying to get in the 700s. If you don't have a credit score or history, this is a great card to start with. :)

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Best Secured Card!
JenJen3015 Cardholder

I applied and received this card in June 2016, advert submitting a $200 security deposit. This card appealed to me because it's a secured card with no annual fee and earns rewards. You get bonus points for gas and restaurant purchases, which is what I primarily use this card for. In addition, at the end of your first year, your total rewards are doubled! It is very easy to manage this account online. You have the option to change the card image, if you so choose. In addition, you get your fico score monthly, which was a huge benefit for me on my credit rebuilding journey.  It's a small credit line so I pay it off in full every month, sometimes making multiple payments in a cycle. About a month ago, I received an email from Discover advising they were returning my deposit due to me responsibly managing my account. I cannot say enough good things about this card. I highly recommend it over Cap 1's secured.

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
yes i got one too
ccgirly2 Cardholder

so far so good . dont really use it but once i use it i pay off before the deadline . hopefully even with 577 transunion score they will up my credit limit soon

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Reports every month. But...
Superdupperboy Cardholder

I applied with a $200 security deposit 13 months ago and got the card 2 weeks later. I think i had a 590 score at the time and now I'm up to 665. I used it for the first three or four months but the short limit shot my utilization up too high so I haven't used the card and about 9 or 10 months. I was hoping by now they would have offered me an unsecured card but no such luck yet... they can eventually cancel the card for non activity if they want to, but as of now they have been reporting every month to all 3.
Don't expect any sort of limit increase unless you're throwing more money into it because I have already asked and I was denied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 04, 2017

That's why it's a Secured card so your limit won't increase unless you add to it...if you can't show them that you can use $200 responsibly then they won't unsecure it, especially if you don't use it regularly but keep the utilization low.

 
Mar 17, 2017
AWESOME
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great!  I got this card with a $200 deposit and credit line.  After 7 months of using it and paying it off every month, I got an email saying that they are returning my deposit and raised my credit limit to $1250!! Not to mention my credit score has jumped almost 200 points (with the help of a few other credit cards and using them all responsibly).

VERY happy with this card!!

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
So far good...!
geraldflow Cardholder

Appliend and approved with 531TQ/531EQ. I have 5 collections (already paid) but for some reason the original creditors doesnt want ti remove them so I disputed and waiting for results. Within two business days the $200 was withdrawed from my bank account. Received the card March 13,2017. Today I checked my CK scores and Discover is already reported. My credit went up to 594TU/586EQ. Will review again in a few months...!! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

77 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i