Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
122 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 09, 2016
Awesome card that DOES upgrade
mewxen Cardholder

I applied and got the card around March 2015 with the FICO score discover gave me of 581 (medical collections, this is my first CC, student loan debt) with a $300 deposit. They say after a year you can get it upgraded to unsecured, but Feburary 2016 (a month early) I recieved a letter saying that my CC behavior was so responsible they were upgrading me from secured to unsecured and mailing me my deposit back.  I had the deposit back within a week. I sometimes had higher CL utilization, but I NEVER had a late payment or incurred fees/interest. I waited till my statement was up and then paid it every time. I never carried a balance. I applied for a CL increase after getting the deposit back and was denied, but I hope after a few months of being unsecured and using it responsibly it will be upped. At the highest, this card helped me get up to a FICO 649 (68 point increase), but then I financed a car and furniture that bumped it down to 640 in June and its currently 644. Since this became unsecured I was just approved for the unsecured C1 Platinum. Pretty good for a 24 year old graduate student who had no credit and only medical collections on her account a little more than a year ago!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Don't expect deposit back after 12 mos.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately a year and a half now.  I have always paid early let alone on time, at least made well more than the minimum payment if not paid off the entire balance, and I am still waiting for them to approve me for an unsecured card. They state my credit score hasn't risen enough yet and apparently the relationship I've had with them for the last year and a half means nothing in the decision process. This is a good card just to have a credit card, but is not even accepted everywhere.  I also had a CapitalOne secured card and have already received my deposit back, been approved for an additional unsecured card through them with cash back, and as a Mastercard it is accepted far more places. I was hoping to keep this card as an unsecured card so that I would have 2 different forms of payment (Mastercard and Discover), but I am on the verge of just closing this account to get my deposit back and just using my 2 CapitalOne Mastercards from now on. The only pro Discover has going is that their customer service is far more friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I hope this clarifies Discover's somewhat misleading selling point for some people.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2016
One of the best secured cards
jwhitelaw Cardholder

This is a really great card it really helped jump-start my credit and after 6 months they automatically qualified me for a unsecured card and gave me a really big credit limit.... I did a lot of research and this one came recommended I understand why now

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
I got this card unsecured?
pjcarter11 Cardholder

When applying for a regular Discover card, I was offered the "It" card. I was not required to secure it and have a CL of $1000.

My understanding was that this card had to be secured but I won't complain.

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Graduated to Unsecured in 9 Months
damakhun Cardholder

Applied for an recieved this card in Feb 2016 making the maximum $2,500 deposit. At the time my FICO Score was around 620, but I was getting declined for cards due to having some old unpaid collection accounts. It took me several months of writing letters and doing disputes for me to completely clean my credit report. My score then jumped to about 660 but due to initial declines, then getting several once score permitted I have a ton of inquires (11 on Experian, 9 on Equifax). Now my score is around 740 already though. I knew the card would graduate but assumed I had to wait until having it for 1-year. Not the case. I got an email 9 months in to having the card that my security deposit was being refunded, and my account number and everything else stays the same. All my experiances with discover were good. The only small issue was originally the card took a fair amount of time to ship. The $2,500 check they returned saying it would be there in 5-7 days however showed up in just 3 days. So this has so far been a great experiance overall and I now have an unsecured discover card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 04, 2016

Question - When deposit was refunded, was there a balance on card? Or the entire amount is refunded with balance on card?

 
Nov 24, 2016
Awesome card one of the best I ever had
porsha85 Cardholder

I have had this card for an year now and I'm just waiting to see if they would upgrade 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
UPDATE!
MightyMidget00 Cardholder

Received card Nov 2015. Nov 2016, graduated to unsecured and received a CLI of $500. Great card!

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
A lovely card for beginners.
prism21 Cardholder

Love this thing. I'm 23 and VERY new to credit. 

- As of now, my scores are 729TransUnion & 715EQ (Through my Discover account FICO tells me I'm at 739, not sure whats up with that)

- My only other card is the Open Sky secured card with a limit of $200. 

- Opened that one around summer 2015

- in late April 2016 I applied for this one, the secured Discover card, gave a $300 deposit for a $300 credit limit (wasnt ready to apply for a regular credit card, I had a strong feeling I'd be denied despite begin extremely responsible with my OpenSky card) 

- Began using the Discover It Secured card monthly in May 2016

- by this month, November 4th, 2016 to be exact, I recieved a letter in the mail congratulating me, along with a $300 security deposit refund check, they also increased my limit to $750

I make less than $11,000 a year (I know, lame, I work part-time retail) so I really only wanted a couple credit cards to build credit so I'll be at least somewhat established in the credit world by the time I need good credit for something adult-y, therefore, I'm more than content with my new limit of $750 because I pretty much ONLY use it **ONCE A MONTH** to get gas. That's the only thing I've ever used my both of my cards for, and I usually pay my balance 1-3 days after I use the card. I don't wait for the statement. Not sure if this even helps to build credit but that's how I do it. Anyway, I totally didnt expect a bump in my $300 credit line at all, so it's really awesome that after 6 months i got my $300 back AND they added $450 to my limit. Nice to know they ackowledged my responsibility as a cardholder. THANKS, DISCOVER!

ONE MORE THING: totally insignificant but the card itself is gorgeous. I love looking at it. The deep silver color with rainbow reflect and orange rim. Very new age and hip! 

To anyone who is still reading this, I hope you have a wonderful day. :)

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Awesome credit card
Jay122356 Cardholder

My card was graduated to an unsecure card in 7 months. I started with a 500 deposit and got 2,000 credit limit. That same day I requested a credit limit increase and received an additional 3k to a grand total of 5,000. I highly recommend this card 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2016

Great, how did they inform you of your graduation? By snail mail or email?

 
Nov 09, 2016
Great card!!
Bp0515 Cardholder

I've had this card since april 2016 and it just graduated my $300 limit was increased to $2500!! Discover is one of my favorites! They have great customer service and I like the rewards I get. Definitely the best secured card out there. And they graduated my card 5 months early!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Great for building credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card a little over a year now (13months)and I just got my security deposit back ($200) and my CL was increased to $2500.  I've never made a late payment although sometimes I carried a balance. My FICO score started at 525 and now I'm at 689 and this was my first credit card. This card worked for me and I do recommend it for building credit!

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Graduated
fico87 Cardholder

They graduated me to unsecured card in 6 monhs.They're sending my security deposit back.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Youโ€™ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

122 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i