Discover it® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Discover it® Secured Credit Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2019
Fantastic card w perks
prenataltech Cardholder

I had this card for a year. I began at $200 cl and even went over limit plus missed 1 payment. A year later I get an email that saying “Thanks for being a great customer, were refunding your security deposit and also increasing your credit limit from $200 to $1,750”  My score was around 580 and is now about 640.  You just have to have patience and make sure you pay all your bills on time.  I also have a previous bankruptcy from 2015. Thank you discover for giving me a chance.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2019
Good card, but increases are stingy
MmeKross Cardholder

I like the card and the online app access, but the people who complain about increases are right. It states in the 2018 contract that 7 months of being a good consumer makes one eligible to convert, but this doesn’t apply evenly. I also asked and was told that Discover “reviews regularly.” Some get increases in a few months; others may never get an increase and conversion. I’m not holding my breath.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2019
Great Rebuilding Card!!!

I got a $300 secured card and used it pretty heavily but always made on time payments - after 8 months they sent me an email thanking me for being responsible with my account and making on time payments and that they were returning my security deposit (via check mailed to me) and upped my limit to $1,500!  Received the check promptly and immediately had access to my new limit.  Have never had a problem with them so I haven't interacted with customer service but my roommate has a Discover card and raves about their customer service.  If you're responsible with the card and make on time payments (preferably more than minimum!) this is a GREAT secured card to jump start or rebuild your credit.  Of course you're going to deal with a high APR but it's worth it if you're responsible.

more ...
Dec 03, 2019
Not Unsecuring
TeamBeaterz Cardholder

Discover refuse to unsecure my card its going on 11 months and no luck i put a 1000 dollar deposit on this card and my Fico Scores are well above 735 i have several unsecured cards now with limits up to 20000 and low utilization but yet discover computer refuse to graduate me but instead make interest off my money this card will graduate at 7months only if u put the minimum 200

more ...
Nov 13, 2019
Discover it card
mjoseph64 Cardholder

One of the best decision I've made . I started with a secure card $300 about 7 months ago , just received an email I'm getting my $300 back and now I have a $ 1500 unsecured credit thank you discover 🙏🏽🙏🏽

more ...
Oct 24, 2019
Phenomenal
Delvis83 Cardholder

I applied for this card in March of 2019 and was blown away by the customer service. I put the minimum deposit of $200 down and used this card primarily for gas and monthly RING($6) bill. I would pay the balance off in full a few days after something would post. So here I am just 7 months later (October 2019) and I received my security deposit back and a new credit line of $1750. I will continue to use this card responsibly and keep my utilization under 20%. Thank you Discover! You have earned a life long customer!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 25, 2019

How long after your 7 billing cycle did it take for you to get your increase

 
Oct 19, 2019
Amazing
RoseJ86 Cardholder

I applied for this card back in March, received it in April. I deposited $300 and have used it every month. I have kept the utilization below 30% for the most part. There were two or three months I spent a bit more, I always paid it off entirely before the payment was due though. Today, on a Saturday, just two days after my 7th statement cut I checked my Discover app and my credit limit was increased to $2000. I'm so stoked! I wasn't sure what would happen after reading some of the reviews. My initial credit score was 547 and my FICO score is now 607. I love this card! The automatic increases, cashback rewards, and customer service are exceptional. Best decision I've made!

more ...
Oct 02, 2019
Fantastic

This card was started to help my credit. I did a $300 deposit and used it for about 8 months. Paid the total balance off each month and was automatically changed from secured to unsecured, refunded my deposit and increased my credit line to $1800. My credit has improved about 40 points and i have almost $30 in cash back rewards. I cant see a reason as to why you wouldnt use this card! I read through reviews of all the secured cards before choosing Discover and I am very glad I did.

more ...
Sep 09, 2019
Excellent for building credit!
Emmysinn82 Cardholder

Well, this is my first credit card, got approved with 520 score and i hadnt used my credit in so long that only one collection showed from several years ago. I got my discover it card last month, and downloaded the app. I waited a few days and spent my $20 and paid in full a few days later . Well, the statement came with 0 utilization and now my scpre is 580. Im very happy i did all the research and finally made myself try it! I was raised to beleive credit cards were the devil, well if so im on the highway to hell caise its working lol... i highly recommend, bit be smart do your research to make sure your not in over your head , and dont be greedy!!

more ...
Aug 13, 2019
Great card for rebuilding your credit
DRobin78 Cardholder

Initial I got this card in January when my credit score was 541. I put down a $200 deposit and kept the balance at 30% or lower and paid it in full each month. Today just a couple days after my 7th statement with my credit score at 675 I received an email stating my limit was increased to $1800 and I would be getting my deposit back. 😀

more ...
Jul 25, 2019
The Best Card EVER!!!
Nae84Bay Cardholder

I have only had this card for a month and my credit score has already went up over 70 pts.

more ...
Jul 24, 2019
CLUTCH
2kQuasar Cardholder

I love this card. I got approved instantly and I only make 30 grand. I had no negative or positive remarks prior to applying except for some motorcycle dealer inquiries from a few months ago. That said, I opted for $200 anyone with a brain would know that's the way to go tbh. I am using the **** out of it and paying off my entire statement balance when due or at least prior to report date hoping they will see me as a "risk" (they want that 💹) and give me increases just so I can spend the same amount with lower utilization. Also, I work for Lexington Lawfirm and I much favor credit karma. One last note: I went from no score to 673 on EQ, slightly lower on TU.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 08, 2019

Why did you decide to run up your CC with a limit of $200? From my understanding, a huge portion of your credit score is based on the credit utilization ratio. I would think you are just hurting your credit when you were spending like that, however if you spend 10-30% of that $200 credit line then they will not see you as a risk and will upgrade you in 8 months to an unsecured card. How responsible you are with this card determines whether or not they upgrade you in 8 months and you get your deposit back. I thought that was how it worked anyway....sorry if i am way off lol

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

25 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i