Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
126 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 09, 2016
Awesome card that DOES upgrade
mewxen Cardholder

I applied and got the card around March 2015 with the FICO score discover gave me of 581 (medical collections, this is my first CC, student loan debt) with a $300 deposit. They say after a year you can get it upgraded to unsecured, but Feburary 2016 (a month early) I recieved a letter saying that my CC behavior was so responsible they were upgrading me from secured to unsecured and mailing me my deposit back.  I had the deposit back within a week. I sometimes had higher CL utilization, but I NEVER had a late payment or incurred fees/interest. I waited till my statement was up and then paid it every time. I never carried a balance. I applied for a CL increase after getting the deposit back and was denied, but I hope after a few months of being unsecured and using it responsibly it will be upped. At the highest, this card helped me get up to a FICO 649 (68 point increase), but then I financed a car and furniture that bumped it down to 640 in June and its currently 644. Since this became unsecured I was just approved for the unsecured C1 Platinum. Pretty good for a 24 year old graduate student who had no credit and only medical collections on her account a little more than a year ago!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Don't expect deposit back after 12 mos.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately a year and a half now.  I have always paid early let alone on time, at least made well more than the minimum payment if not paid off the entire balance, and I am still waiting for them to approve me for an unsecured card. They state my credit score hasn't risen enough yet and apparently the relationship I've had with them for the last year and a half means nothing in the decision process. This is a good card just to have a credit card, but is not even accepted everywhere.  I also had a CapitalOne secured card and have already received my deposit back, been approved for an additional unsecured card through them with cash back, and as a Mastercard it is accepted far more places. I was hoping to keep this card as an unsecured card so that I would have 2 different forms of payment (Mastercard and Discover), but I am on the verge of just closing this account to get my deposit back and just using my 2 CapitalOne Mastercards from now on. The only pro Discover has going is that their customer service is far more friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I hope this clarifies Discover's somewhat misleading selling point for some people.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
Does Graduate, Positive Card to Have
Anonymous Cardholder

After sooo much research, I applied for the regular Discover It w/ a low 700's score, I had literally just paid off my student loan and other than that had absolutely nothing else on my credit report, no negative marks due to the fact I waited 7 years for negative items to fall off, so I needed to build my credit. I never missed a Loan Payment, but due to my lack of credit history (since it was bare) I was denied, but offered this Secured Card. They stated after a year, they would look over my account and it could potentially graduate to a regular credit card.

I saw no differences in the card when comparing it to the regular card, aside from the fact I had to place a deposit.

I did $500, used it quite regularly. I made either micropayments all through the month (paid whatever during the month, small payments or typically paying it off), but I always paid it off every month, period. 
The bonus after the 1 year mark was that they matched my Cashback Bonus, doubling my reward. That gave me a payoff of almost $200, just for using the card. Then after 15 months, they sent me an email confirming I was graduating to a regular card, they upped my limit by $2K, and I get my deposit back in-full.

I've read several reviews on this card, the key to it is patience. It literally pays to use the card, and will eventually graduate, and even sooner if you pay it off monthly. If you get it, and get impatient and close it, you are literally only hurting your credit score which will take months and sometimes years to recover. It helps your credit by just having it. I now have a full card and my credit score is about to go up because my Credit Limit was increased. So, would I recommend this card? Ab-so-freaking-lutely. 

Oh, and the Customer Service, very polite.

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Best card in my wallet!
JenJen3015 Cardholder

I've had this card since June of 2016 I applied in an effort to rebuild my credit. I was enticed by no annual fee and the rewards structure which is better than my unsecured Capital One. I have worked tirelessly to rebuild my credit so I am definitely in a better position now than I was last year, but I manage this card well. I have a $200 line, which I pay in full every month. I've never gone over the credit line and sometimes I make multiple payments in one cycle. Last night I got an email stating I was getting my security deposit back. I didn't get an increase like some have stated but my card is now unsecured. Discover has unparalleled customer service as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 22, 2017

do they report to all 3 credit bureaus?

 
Feb 12, 2017
The best
shay4742 Cardholder

This card has been the best for me I am now unsecured at 1,250

more ...
Feb 16, 2017

What was your CS when you started using this, and you current CS? I you don't mind me asking.

 
Feb 16, 2017

What was your original deposit/credit limit?

 
Feb 11, 2017
The best secured card out there.
PhantomsAria Cardholder

I cannot rave enough about how good this card is. It's a secured card so you have to give a deposit, and they give you that much of a limit. If you spend enough time paying it off, using it, paying it off, never incurring interest or late payments, I got my 200$ deposit refunded and credit limit increased to 500$ in 8 months of proper usage. I started with a 508 credit score due to medical bills, and less than a year later this has me up to the 630 range. The only reason I give it 4 stars is when I got my refund back, the check looked printed off a computer onto regular paper and my credit union almost didn't take it. It could be printed better. But I love this card, it has helped me a lot, and Discover customer service is AMAZING.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Viable
ybsaewlblue1 Cardholder

I opened a secured credit card account with a $500 deposit July 2016. Fast forward to 2/9/17. After 6 months of on-time payments and never going over  the limit, I received an email stating "we're returning your security deposit and increasing your credit line to $750. I would have liked the credit limit increase to be higher, but overall no complaints. I'd give it 4 1/.2 stars. Thanks Discover!!!

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Never Graduates
vic12345que Cardholder

This card does not graduate unless you have perfect credit. I have negative school loans, a negative verizon account and 1 negative credit card in my past. All paid in full but still showing negative on my credit report. Because of this Discover is not graduating my card. I'm in the middle of getting a mortgage so after i get it I'll be cancelling this cards b/c all of my other cards are unsecure. I haven't had any late payments at all. I've had some high balances but i pay them off quickly and used the card mostly for the rewards. I now have an unsecured card with rewards that are similar so I'm now using that mostly and will stop using this card. I have no late payments on any card or tradeline that is open. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 12, 2017

That is not true I graduated with credit of 613

 
Jan 27, 2017
this card no good
Anonymous Cardholder

All these reviews is lies had 6 month no increase no score change pay on time good balance

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 07, 2017

You must not be doing something right. I got my card in June. Used it frequently for six months and never missed a payment. I also kept my utilization under 30%. Last month, they sent my deposit back and increased my credit limit to $1250. My card graduated in six months.

 
Jan 26, 2017
Perfect for rebuilding credit + rewards
Ssravenclawss Cardholder

I got this card in late November and while my next score update is in two days my fico score has jumped 74 points!!!!!! Fico is at 614 wh8le ck'so equifax and transunion both say 637 starting from 540.
I put 200 into the card and keep it under 30% then pay it off in full when my statement comes. I only use it on gas and food. This card is a lifesaver.

more ...
Jan 28, 2017

Your score jumped that much Judy by paying in full and keeping utilization low.

 
Jan 28, 2017

Just*

 
Feb 02, 2017

You score can jump if you had little accounts.

 
Jan 23, 2017
One of the best cards, secured or not
D6T Cardholder

I started the secured card with $200. I raised it to $350, then $550, then $750, then $1000 over the course of the year. I had to put additional deposit to do so. It's one of the best cards you can get.

At my one-year mark I never was upgraded to unsecured. Finally I applied for DiscoverIt again, and received a normal credit card of $3000. I then called to close the secured card and they themselves were confusd why it didn't automatically upgrade. After two statement dates, I was sent my deposit back in check form. [I closed it on 2016-12-16, cycle date was 18th monthly, so I got a statement on 18th of December and January. They mailed the check on 2017-1-18]. I will get my entire deposit back because I paid my balance in full every month before the due date. My score went up by about 110 points in 13 months by staying 15% - 30% utilization on almost all months.

I've had refunds, disputes, questions, etc. and customer service is really there for you. I can't ever remember a time I was treated as 'just another caller.'

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
just applied and got approved
TheBigTK Cardholder

Just wanted to leave some information. I applied yesterday 1/11/17 and got approved with a 561 E and 560 TU score.. TODAY when i logged into CK my score went up 50 points on TU and 49 on E! My scores are 611 TU and 616 Equifax!! I could not believe my eyes! Seriously guys im not joking! No i dont account all of this just to the Discover card especially considering i just applied for it yesterday, but i did just approved for a VS card which i made a few purchases and returns with and i just paid 50$ way before my bill was due. I applied for the Capital One secured card on 12/22/16 with the same 560 and got approved. I received that card on 1/6/17 in the mail. So i think with my newfound lline of actual credit (not just my car loan) it is greatly improving my score. I plan on keeping my purchases below the 30% mark and paying them off before the due date and before intrest occurs. I dont expect this to be very helpful to many people but i did want to tell what score i was approved at. I also wanted to share what i just experienced so maybe someone else can take a chance and improve their score as well!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

126 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i