Discover it® Secured Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
107 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 20, 2016
Great opportunity for big name CC
FutureDOcWife Cardholder

I started my credit repair journey just over a year ago and raised my CS from the low 600's to mid 700's.  I applied for the regular Discover card, but was only offered the secured card option.  I mailed in my $200 SD and have used the card regularly since.  On my one year anniversary, Discover sent me an e-mail saying they're mailing back the SD and maintaing my $200 CL.  I'll let you know if and/or when I receive a CLI.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Don't expect deposit back after 12 mos.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately a year and a half now.  I have always paid early let alone on time, at least made well more than the minimum payment if not paid off the entire balance, and I am still waiting for them to approve me for an unsecured card. They state my credit score hasn't risen enough yet and apparently the relationship I've had with them for the last year and a half means nothing in the decision process. This is a good card just to have a credit card, but is not even accepted everywhere.  I also had a CapitalOne secured card and have already received my deposit back, been approved for an additional unsecured card through them with cash back, and as a Mastercard it is accepted far more places. I was hoping to keep this card as an unsecured card so that I would have 2 different forms of payment (Mastercard and Discover), but I am on the verge of just closing this account to get my deposit back and just using my 2 CapitalOne Mastercards from now on. The only pro Discover has going is that their customer service is far more friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I hope this clarifies Discover's somewhat misleading selling point for some people.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
yes i got one too
ccgirly2 Cardholder

so far so good . dont really use it but once i use it i pay off before the deadline . hopefully even with 577 transunion score they will up my credit limit soon

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Reports every month. But...
Superdupperboy Cardholder

I applied with a $200 security deposit 13 months ago and got the card 2 weeks later. I think i had a 590 score at the time and now I'm up to 665. I used it for the first three or four months but the short limit shot my utilization up too high so I haven't used the card and about 9 or 10 months. I was hoping by now they would have offered me an unsecured card but no such luck yet... they can eventually cancel the card for non activity if they want to, but as of now they have been reporting every month to all 3.
Don't expect any sort of limit increase unless you're throwing more money into it because I have already asked and I was denied.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
AWESOME
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great!  I got this card with a $200 deposit and credit line.  After 7 months of using it and paying it off every month, I got an email saying that they are returning my deposit and raised my credit limit to $1250!! Not to mention my credit score has jumped almost 200 points (with the help of a few other credit cards and using them all responsibly).

VERY happy with this card!!

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
So far good...!
geraldflow Cardholder

Appliend and approved with 531TQ/531EQ. I have 5 collections (already paid) but for some reason the original creditors doesnt want ti remove them so I disputed and waiting for results. Within two business days the $200 was withdrawed from my bank account. Received the card March 13,2017. Today I checked my CK scores and Discover is already reported. My credit went up to 594TU/586EQ. Will review again in a few months...!! 

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Good for starters
Anonymous Cardholder

Coming to the USA on a work visa for a few months, falling in love and deciding to stay meant I had to create a credit history. As a foreigner with no credit history I got rejected by several companies. Discover however was very helpful in the process, especially since I needed some documents I didn't have yet when I applied. They were friendly, helped me and explained me everything. I will update if I encounter issues but so far, several months in I am very satisfied

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
Good card with cashback
Elissa2017 Cardholder

When I applied I was mid 500s across boards this card helped me gain 90 points. Reports secured.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 09, 2017

How soon did you see an increase in your credit score?

 
Mar 03, 2017
Easy Application and Easy Conversion
maniacmedia Cardholder

I'm coming up on a year with the Discover It (no longer) Secured card. Their application process was easy and fast. I placed a $500 deposit with them in March 2016. I've maintained the card without a balance, using it only for small purchases and paying it off each month.

On the Wednesday before Thanksgiving 2016, I got two letters from Discover Card. The first was the return of the $500 deposit. The second was noting that they had converted the card to unsecured status and doubled the limit. (The timing of being just before Black Friday was not lost on me.)

I have had zero problems with the card. And the seven month turnaround from secured to unsecured with a doubled credit limit was more than I expected. Big thumbs up here.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 09, 2017

May I ask how much it boosted your score? Mine is super low thanks to falling behind with my cards while on unpaid maternity leave. Now that Im caught up I'm looking at secured to boost it more.

 
Feb 26, 2017
Great Starter Card

Setup a Capital One account on my 18th birthday and wanted to apply for their secured card but I was declined because I had no credit history. I'm self-employed so I figured that was a contributing factor, but Discover approved me same-day. I'll update this review in 6-7 months after I've hopefully received my security deposit back (as they say on their site) and gotten a higher credit line.

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Does Graduate, Positive Card to Have
Anonymous Cardholder

After sooo much research, I applied for the regular Discover It w/ a low 700's score, I had literally just paid off my student loan and other than that had absolutely nothing else on my credit report, no negative marks due to the fact I waited 7 years for negative items to fall off, so I needed to build my credit. I never missed a Loan Payment, but due to my lack of credit history (since it was bare) I was denied, but offered this Secured Card. They stated after a year, they would look over my account and it could potentially graduate to a regular credit card.

I saw no differences in the card when comparing it to the regular card, aside from the fact I had to place a deposit.

I did $500, used it quite regularly. I made either micropayments all through the month (paid whatever during the month, small payments or typically paying it off), but I always paid it off every month, period. 
The bonus after the 1 year mark was that they matched my Cashback Bonus, doubling my reward. That gave me a payoff of almost $200, just for using the card. Then after 15 months, they sent me an email confirming I was graduating to a regular card, they upped my limit by $2K, and I get my deposit back in-full.

I've read several reviews on this card, the key to it is patience. It literally pays to use the card, and will eventually graduate, and even sooner if you pay it off monthly. If you get it, and get impatient and close it, you are literally only hurting your credit score which will take months and sometimes years to recover. It helps your credit by just having it. I now have a full card and my credit score is about to go up because my Credit Limit was increased. So, would I recommend this card? Ab-so-freaking-lutely. 

Oh, and the Customer Service, very polite.

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Best card in my wallet!
JenJen3015 Cardholder

I've had this card since June of 2016 I applied in an effort to rebuild my credit. I was enticed by no annual fee and the rewards structure which is better than my unsecured Capital One. I have worked tirelessly to rebuild my credit so I am definitely in a better position now than I was last year, but I manage this card well. I have a $200 line, which I pay in full every month. I've never gone over the credit line and sometimes I make multiple payments in one cycle. Last night I got an email stating I was getting my security deposit back. I didn't get an increase like some have stated but my card is now unsecured. Discover has unparalleled customer service as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 22, 2017

do they report to all 3 credit bureaus?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

107 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i