Discover it® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 09, 2016
Awesome card that DOES upgrade
mewxen Cardholder

I applied and got the card around March 2015 with the FICO score discover gave me of 581 (medical collections, this is my first CC, student loan debt) with a $300 deposit. They say after a year you can get it upgraded to unsecured, but Feburary 2016 (a month early) I recieved a letter saying that my CC behavior was so responsible they were upgrading me from secured to unsecured and mailing me my deposit back.  I had the deposit back within a week. I sometimes had higher CL utilization, but I NEVER had a late payment or incurred fees/interest. I waited till my statement was up and then paid it every time. I never carried a balance. I applied for a CL increase after getting the deposit back and was denied, but I hope after a few months of being unsecured and using it responsibly it will be upped. At the highest, this card helped me get up to a FICO 649 (68 point increase), but then I financed a car and furniture that bumped it down to 640 in June and its currently 644. Since this became unsecured I was just approved for the unsecured C1 Platinum. Pretty good for a 24 year old graduate student who had no credit and only medical collections on her account a little more than a year ago!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Don't expect deposit back after 12 mos.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately a year and a half now.  I have always paid early let alone on time, at least made well more than the minimum payment if not paid off the entire balance, and I am still waiting for them to approve me for an unsecured card. They state my credit score hasn't risen enough yet and apparently the relationship I've had with them for the last year and a half means nothing in the decision process. This is a good card just to have a credit card, but is not even accepted everywhere.  I also had a CapitalOne secured card and have already received my deposit back, been approved for an additional unsecured card through them with cash back, and as a Mastercard it is accepted far more places. I was hoping to keep this card as an unsecured card so that I would have 2 different forms of payment (Mastercard and Discover), but I am on the verge of just closing this account to get my deposit back and just using my 2 CapitalOne Mastercards from now on. The only pro Discover has going is that their customer service is far more friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I hope this clarifies Discover's somewhat misleading selling point for some people.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 20, 2017
Exactly what I needed!!!!
Annaaaaaa Cardholder

I applied for a $200 limit and was approved within 3 days and recieved the card in the mail within 7. When I first applied my credit score was at 513 and it is now at 721 within one month! I plan to keep it that way by only utilizing 30% or less and paying it off each month. Once i have the card a little longer I will be back to update my review by for now I give it 5 stars!

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
I'm definitely impressed!!!!
sednique009 Cardholder

The Discover it card is my first card in 10 years. Back in the day I was dumb with credit and unfortunately I'm still paying for my mistakes. I got the Discover it card in the middle of May with a $200 limit. Around the beginning of June my Fico scores was raised by 50 points(I was in the 400's-450's) brining my scores up to about 575! Awesome card to have if you're trying to get a head start in repairing your credit. 

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
easy process secured card
KentuckyK1 Cardholder

Sorry for the long review but this card took forever. Great card so far though. Credit score 563 tran and fico 574. I Applied for the discover secured card May 23, 2017. I received an email to verify my bank account with two small trial deposits later on that same day. The next day the two small deposits were sent to my card but I didn't verify the deposit until the 25th. On Friday, May 26 there was a pending transaction for the Discover deposit on my card. May 27 I received another email confirming my $200 deposit and that I should receive my card within 2 weeks of May 25th. The deposit wasn't taking out until May 30. On June 2 I check the status of my application on discover site and finally said that I was approved and my credit line. I called discover customer service and asked if they knew the exact day my card would arrive or if there were a tracker  number. unfortunately there wasn't one but they offered to send my card expedited through FedEx. I also picked a design for my new card. 2 days later I received a welcome email containing  my statement date and the credit line. The card arrived through fedex on June 6th in a regular simple envelope. A second card came on June 12 in fancy packaging except not the gray metallic look. Mine was a white packaging with a matte smooth feeling. Same account just 2 cards.  Maybe because I was approved for the discover chrome student card instead of the regular secured card. I just like to add, when I applied for the Discover card I also applied for the capital one secured card the same day and time and I got approved for both. 

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
Takes FOREVER to upgrade
Anonymous Cardholder

This card boasts being able to upgrade to an unsecured account after some amount of time building credit, making good choices, etc. Customer service is very friendly, but after having this card for 2 years with a very measly limit, I still have not been able to upgrade to the unsecured account with a higher limit. I have good credit, and and overall good standing with all my other accounts, and am getting very frustrated as to why this account is not reflecting that. I like the card, and the company, but am getting fed up with their slow process.

more ...
May 31, 2017
Its great
JLVA Cardholder

The process was great.  I applied for the card towards the end of April 2017, was approved & received the card a little under 2 weeks later.  I started using it immediately & I've not had any problems.  Whenever I've called to talk to Customer Service they've been friendly.  I'm so glad I signed up for this card. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Bugg54 Cardholder

This is a great card when I first got this card my score was a 563 tu. Now in four months I'm at a 661 tu fico score thanks discover it's a five 🌟 card for me can't wait to see how much they will raise my limit to

more ...
May 01, 2017
Good for secured card, slow to upgrading
Chithe3rd Cardholder

I was a senior in college (21) when I got this card in April, my first credit card. I did not have any credit (thank God that I escaped college without student loans) so I got a line for $300. I appreciated the cash back and the fact that I can see my FICO score. However, I could not see my credit score until October 2016-- a month after I got my Target $300 credit card. I will return to this point later. I have a FICO score of 751 and Vantage score of 715 and Discover card still did not upgrade me, after a year. I started getting concerned because I wanted a credit card with a higher limit, but I did not want to have more than 2 credit cards. I was loyal to Discover and called the customer service asking why I have not been upgraded yet. The customer service was nice but did not directly answer my question. She told me that I will be evaluated during the next cycle (in April). I changed my personal info to reflect that I was making good money.

Next month, the same excuse (this time May). Long story short, I decided to get my Equifax credit report from the free annual website. Prior to perhaps February 2017, I thought I had to pay everything off BEFORE the statement. Bad move because my cards did not show the credit bureaus a balance. However, my Target card still showed the credit bureaus my "actual payments" which showed that I was using the Target card. My Discover card DID NOT. I called the customer service again and the representative said they should be reporting it automatically and that they would try to fix this glitch (they did not give me a date even though I requested for one, so I will call them shortly to see if they fixed the problem). Which made sense why I was not able to see my FICO score until October. I got my Target card in September but got my Discover card in April. I got tired waiting for Discover, so I recently applied for Chase Freedom Unlimited... I got $7,000 credit access line! I will keep using my Discover card to keep my credit going but it's definitely going to be the least utilized card in my wallet. 

For a secured card, it is really good with its cash back and FICO score. However, I hate that I had to go through all those loops to try to get a real credit card from Discover. I still have not gotten a Discover card or my money back, btw. Other credit cards were willing to take the chance on me.  

more ...
May 01, 2017
Easily Build Credit History with Rewards

Excellent customer service!!! They communicate clearly and they never rush me off the call. They always tell me what US city they are in when I call.

I had no credit history. Applied, was accepted, made deposit, and received card in mail about 10 days later.

Great rewards for a secured card. 2% Cash Back on gas and restaurants. 1% Cash Back on everything else. They double your first years Cash Back. You can get Cash Back as a check, use it to pay your balance, or use at many online retailers. They also have tons of Discover Deals where you get discounts at various retailers when you use your Discover card.

Free FICO score updated monthly lets me see my credit history building at work.

I always make a payment shortly before statement end date to bring down my credit utilization to 5% or less. This has seemed to help a lot.

Got my deposit back after 6 months and the card "graduated" into a regular unsecured credit card. It is now a Discover Chrome card. Rewards program remains the same.

ONLY DOWNSIDE: Discover is not accepted at retailers as much as Visa and MasterCard. However, I have had the card 8 months and only had 4 instances where Discover was not accepted.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Finally graduated to an unsecured card
reasonr Cardholder

It took me exacly one year but I just graduated to an unsecured card with $1000.00 limit. I initally put $500 down for the secured card.

For those of you who think you can't do it keep the faith and continue on. You will break through, take it from a guy who's credit score was 497 TU a year ago and is now @ 641 TU.

I should have my $500 deposit check in a few weeks. The Most High will always prevail!

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Nonsense
Foofighter818 Cardholder

I've had this card for 16 months and over 100 point increase on credit score and still haven't been given an unsecured card and deposit back. The cash back match money I accumulated disappeared. I paid in full monthly and noticed the last 4 or 5 months..payments were taken from bank account immediately but wouldnt credit to card for 10 days,, I'm assuming so I couldn't build up cash back credit??. No other card I have has 10 day hold on crediting account. Not using card anymore.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 30, 2017

Thanks for posting this. I have had the card for 14 months, and still no "refund" and the same thing with the cash back. Smh

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

74 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i