Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
132 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 09, 2016
Awesome card that DOES upgrade
mewxen Cardholder

I applied and got the card around March 2015 with the FICO score discover gave me of 581 (medical collections, this is my first CC, student loan debt) with a $300 deposit. They say after a year you can get it upgraded to unsecured, but Feburary 2016 (a month early) I recieved a letter saying that my CC behavior was so responsible they were upgrading me from secured to unsecured and mailing me my deposit back.  I had the deposit back within a week. I sometimes had higher CL utilization, but I NEVER had a late payment or incurred fees/interest. I waited till my statement was up and then paid it every time. I never carried a balance. I applied for a CL increase after getting the deposit back and was denied, but I hope after a few months of being unsecured and using it responsibly it will be upped. At the highest, this card helped me get up to a FICO 649 (68 point increase), but then I financed a car and furniture that bumped it down to 640 in June and its currently 644. Since this became unsecured I was just approved for the unsecured C1 Platinum. Pretty good for a 24 year old graduate student who had no credit and only medical collections on her account a little more than a year ago!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Don't expect deposit back after 12 mos.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for approximately a year and a half now.  I have always paid early let alone on time, at least made well more than the minimum payment if not paid off the entire balance, and I am still waiting for them to approve me for an unsecured card. They state my credit score hasn't risen enough yet and apparently the relationship I've had with them for the last year and a half means nothing in the decision process. This is a good card just to have a credit card, but is not even accepted everywhere.  I also had a CapitalOne secured card and have already received my deposit back, been approved for an additional unsecured card through them with cash back, and as a Mastercard it is accepted far more places. I was hoping to keep this card as an unsecured card so that I would have 2 different forms of payment (Mastercard and Discover), but I am on the verge of just closing this account to get my deposit back and just using my 2 CapitalOne Mastercards from now on. The only pro Discover has going is that their customer service is far more friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I hope this clarifies Discover's somewhat misleading selling point for some people.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 12, 2017
just applied and got approved
TheBigTK Cardholder

Just wanted to leave some information. I applied yesterday 1/11/17 and got approved with a 561 E and 560 TU score.. TODAY when i logged into CK my score went up 50 points on TU and 49 on E! My scores are 611 TU and 616 Equifax!! I could not believe my eyes! Seriously guys im not joking! No i dont account all of this just to the Discover card especially considering i just applied for it yesterday, but i did just approved for a VS card which i made a few purchases and returns with and i just paid 50$ way before my bill was due. I applied for the Capital One secured card on 12/22/16 with the same 560 and got approved. I received that card on 1/6/17 in the mail. So i think with my newfound lline of actual credit (not just my car loan) it is greatly improving my score. I plan on keeping my purchases below the 30% mark and paying them off before the due date and before intrest occurs. I dont expect this to be very helpful to many people but i did want to tell what score i was approved at. I also wanted to share what i just experienced so maybe someone else can take a chance and improve their score as well!

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
GRADUATED IN 6 MONTHS!
fico87 Cardholder

They graduated me in 6 months, just received a check for $1000 in the mail (my deposit). Highly recommended.

more ...
Dec 25, 2016
Paid my deposit on dec 6, money was debi
Newchances Cardholder

Paid my deposit on dec 06, money was debited from my account on the 08 received card on dec 19. On dec 22 reported not even a week of having the card my score went up 10 points and they reported it already great so far

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
GREAT SO FAR!!!
Cftc1990 Cardholder

THIS CARD IS COOL SO FAR FROM WHAT I CAN SEE. I HAVE ONLY HAD IT A WEEK AND IN THAT WEEK I CAN TELL YOU THAT IT DOES TAKE A WHILE FOR THE TRANSACTIONS TO POST BUT OTHER THAN THAT CUSTOMER SERVICE IS GREAT, WEBSITE IS GREAT, CARD COMES IN A NICE BOX. ITS A COOL CARD. I CAN GIVE MORE DETAILS ONCE I HAVE IT FOR TIME.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Never thought I'd want another CC
Anonymous Cardholder

After my divorce, I was scared of credit and just failed to use it. Paid everything in cash, used debit card, was happy. But I had to get my car in my dad's name (I'm 37) and can't rent cars on trips etc. So I got this card secured with a $200 CL. My score has gone up more than 100 points since early November 2016- in six weeks. That's per CK, but the increase is based on CK's original scores. Approved with 534 TU/EQ, now at 639/636. I wish I could use it more often to earn points but the limit is low. Looking forward to being a regular user of credit again, this is fun! 

Also found out immediately I was approved; wait to rec. card was looooong but the packaging is nice and makes you feel like a real CC holder. I hope I can be an early graduator, not sure if that is based on whether you make the "minimum payment" to open it. Considering bumping CL up a few grand but it would stress me out to have so much money tied up there for who knows how long. 

Discover It Secured made me want to fix my score and get CCs again to use responsibly- and it made me excited to get my own lease in my own name next fall!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2016

How long before your score jumped up?

 
Dec 12, 2016
Great starter card!
kindyktw Cardholder

This was my first card ever. I applied with no credit history at all in June 2016. I chose a $200 limit. In October I raised my deposit to $2500 for the heck of it and today received an email about refunding my deposit, not even 6 months later!! This card is a bit odd in the fact that you have to pay it all off before the closing period rather than by the payment period but that isn't a big deal if you just put it on your calendar. You can't just pay the bill, you have to pay it off before it goes to billing. Other than that the rewards are unbeatable for being a starter card. My score is now up to a 730 and I still don't even want to open another card because nobody beats this one! 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Discover It is a great card to get going
maniacmedia Cardholder

I'd had some credit challenges over a few years. Finally got back on track and it was time to rebuild. I applied for the Discover It Secured card and placed a deposit for $500 with them. That was in March. I never carried a balance on the card and was paid off every month without fail. In early November, without my having requested it, Discover returned my initial deposit. A couple weeks later, I got a letter telling me that they had doubled my limit on the card. (Just in time for Black Friday... how odd.)

Have never had a single issue with them and the card continues to add to my rebuilding credit rating.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Spectacular!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

There is nothing like it on the market, 24/hr Customer service, cashback rewards and a world class card that grows with you as you navigate through credit rebuilding or establishment

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Still waiting to graduate to unsecured
mckbulldog02 Cardholder

I am probably going to close this card out, Its junk and garbage. I had originally funded it $1000.00. I have had the account open since Feb 18, 2016. Never carry a balance on the card. Pay in full before the statement cycle closes. 5 months carried no balance. My FICO is a 632 and has been a 632 since Feb 2016. Its going to be a cold day in hell before i ever see it graduate. Customer Service reps give misinformation about the card and basically tell u to keep waiting until its your turn. I'll just take the 1,000.00 back and go invest it with a secured card from my local bank. 

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Great opportunity and second chance
reasonr Cardholder

Just spoke with customer service, they are now reviewing accounts at 7 months for the possibility to be upgraded to unsecured.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Secured Credit Card

132 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i