Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it® Chrome for Students

Cardholders' Choice i
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 04, 2015
Approved! $500 limit!
Kittypage1 Cardholder

My husband applied for this card 12/30/2014 and was approved, so I thought what the heck let me apply. I submitted the application and was then prompted to a screen to submit my proof of residence, proof of SS#, and proof of school enrollment (as was my husband). Next day I received a call from Discover but could not answer because I was at work. Called them back while I was driving home. The representative ask me to verify a few things (birth date, address, student loan provider reporting to CBR) he put me on a brief hold and said Congratulations! you've been approved for a $500 limt! Excited but a little disappointed seeing as I was approved for a Chase Freedom card the night before for a $2,200 limit. But of course Discover doesn't know that so I gladly accepted. The representative said I would receive my card in a few days. I realized that my husband and I were approved for the two different types of Student IT Cards, He was approved for the standard blue version with 5% cash-back in rotating categories and I was approved for the Chrome version. I am completely fine with that because I get 5% cash-back on my Freedom card anyways so we can take full advantage of each card! I'm pretty excited to finally join the Discover family!

My Information: CK Score 607, EQ Score: 606 (as of DEC 2014) Don't know my other scores.

Credit Cards:

Opened 02/14 TDECU CC: $1,300 limit (limit increases $100/month for a MAX limit of $2,500, Credit Builder CC through my Credit Union)

Opened 03/14 CapOne QuickSilver One CC: $500 limit -- now closed due to annual fee.

Opened 04/14 CapOne Journey Student CC: $500 limit (should be increasing to $750 per Credit Steps Program)

Opened 05/14 Wal-Mart CC: $500 limit

Approved 12/30 Chase Freedom CC: $2,200 limit (still waiting to receive in mail)

Approved 12/31 Discover IT Chrome CC: $500 limit

4 collections items on Experian & Transuion report. 2 collections on Equifax. currently paying them off.

1 personal loan from Credit Union less than $900.

Several student loans currently all deffered.

Hope this helps to anyone looking to apply! 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 24, 2015
DENIED! 629 TU per Discover

So Discover pulls TU. On Experian site, I had pulled TU and gotten a 629. Discover did as well. CK TU score is way lower at 582. Whatevs. Anyway, recieved denial letter showing 629 TU and reason for denial was COLLECTION. So, if you have any unpaid collections, chill on this card and spare yourself a hard inquiry. Ah well :)

more ...

Reviews (52)

Add Review
Oct 10, 2016
Approved 1K
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with 643 TU, 3 Inquries on TU, 10K deferred student loans,27% utilization and 16.7K annual income as full-time student. 2nd card(first was $300 cap1 journey).Not approved instantly as I was asked to provide additional documents but spoke to representative in live chat the next day and they were able to process my application in a few minutes and approve me for $1000 limit. Tip: use your school email ".edu" when applying for it, probably can avoid having to submit school verification making the process a bit quicker.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Approved in 1 minute
buildcredit926 Cardholder

Credit score: 720

Credit limit approved for: 1,000

Pros: Fast application and approval process. The customer service was great. 

Cons: With such a good credit score I was expecting a much higher limit since I saw people with scores of 660 get approved for the same 1,000 amount. I was approved for a Visa with a 3K limit the same day. 

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Just got approved! Can't wait!!
KoryOTR Cardholder

I applied with a 615 CS (I know pretty bad) I have close to 10 inquiries BUT I do have a credit card through my local credit union ($300 CL) and a Captial One Journey ($400 CL) and a Credit One Bank ($500 CL) Discover gave me a $750 CL (pretty good compared to my other cards) I applied an was not instantly approved or denied! The app asked my to submit a proof of residency, social security card, and proof of school ID. I went onto the online chat and the rep took a few minutes to look my account over and BOOM! Approved!! Hope this helps other people looking to get this card!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Approved!!! No credit history!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a constant part-time job, and I am also a full time college student. This is the first credit card that I have applied for, and I was approved in about 5 minutes. Also I have absolutely no credit history so I was a little worried that I wouldn't get approved. Yet, I was approved for a $500 credit limit. This at first seemed really small to me but then again I have to realize that I have no credit history, I only work part-time, and I am a student. All in all everything worked out perfect in the end.

more ...
Aug 02, 2016
First credit card, instantly approved

Having only six months of credit history (an auto loan cosigned by my dad), and two hard inquiries within that time, I was hesitant to apply for any new credit without a cosigner. I noticed the inquiries were only showing up on my EQ report, however, and I read that Discover would pull from TU (which just jumped up by about 20 points to 665ish last week when I made my sixth loan payment), so I decided to go for it anyway.

The application took about five minutes--it asked basic personal info plus yearly income, monthly rent, and current assets. Almost immediately after submitting my application (I was still uploading my two forms of ID) Discover called. The agent was extremely and warm and friendly as she had me verify my DOB, address, and loan information. Because I used my school email address I didn't need to submit any additional proof of enrollment. The entire call lasted about three minutes which included a brief hold while she reviewed the ID info I uploaded. In an upbeat tone, she informed me that I had been approved to start out with a $1,000.00 line of credit, and she made certain that any questions I had about the card were answered before we disconnected.

Since I have decent income, some credit history, and a fair credit score, I can't review this card in regards to approval odds for those with bad or no credit. However, I CAN affirm that I am extremely pleased with the easy application process, exceedingly quick response, and the kind and helpful customer service I received.

more ...
Jul 16, 2016
No/Low Credit History? Good Luck.

I got a letter in the mail suggesting I sign up for this card since I am a student. I entered the invitation # received in the letter and filled out the application. The site told me I needed a joint applicant. I had my mother sign as a joint applicant. Denied. The reason - Insufficient Credit History. Seriously? I've had a Capital One student card for a while now and my mother is in her 50s, she's had plenty of credit history.

What's the point of having a student card if students can't get approved!?

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
Shaownism Cardholder

It's a great card for students! IMO, discover wants to give you a chance as a student. I had less than 10 months of credit history, and my annual income was less than 10K. But Discover approved my app on the same day with a 1K credit limit! If you have a 3.0 GPA you'll get a $20 good grade cashback.

P.S.: this card has an awesome referral bonus. I referred my partner, so both she AND I recieved a $50 referral bonus!! (If you want, you can use my referral link, which will give both of us $50 each. Send me an email at mssshaown[at]gmail

more ...
Jul 08, 2016
excited for my first credit card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied a few hours ago and they wanted me to call and verify some information, so I called, answered some questions and was approved over the phone for a limit of $500!  My TransUnion score got knocked down to 614 after a hard inquiry for a school loan, so I was very nervous about applying for this card but it looks like the Discover it Chrome will be my first credit card!  

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
Approved through Live Chat

I sent i an application on the 4th of July and was unable to approve it immediately because it was a holiday. This morning I called and they said I would have to wait for the decision in the mail 7-10 business days. A little Live chat box popped up and I messaged a guy and 2 minutes later I had a new credit card! $500 limit, with intro 6 months 0% APR. I have around a 630 FICO score and less than a year of credit history. No collections or loans, but I had around $1,000 in credit debt and 7 hard inquiries. I've been wanting a discover card for a while and I am super excited for it!

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 519
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Chrome for Students

52 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i