Discover it® Chrome for Students Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 18, 2017
Approved on the Spot!!

Opened a credit line 6 months ago with CAP1 secured master card. Had a meager credit limit of $201 with them. However, in that time span, I achieved a credit score of 685 and I took a chance with this and was approved with a $1500 credit limit. You go discover!!

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
My first card, and I love it!

This was my first credit card, and my first experience in credit. Was approved for a $500 limit with ABSOLUTELY NO credit history. After a few months, they allowed me to increase to $1,000, then $2,500, and now I sit at $3,000. This is my first anniversary month with Discover, and I highly recommend this card for anyone with no credit or any student looking to start their credit repertoire. Discover's customer service is top notch also, and that first year cashback match is a great little perk.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
First Time Discover Card Owner
Anonymous Cardholder

Rebuilding my credit went ro Discover website did the pre approval tool, message came back as no offers. Few weeks went by and received a Discover card invite with a unique long number attached to apply online, did think about it but didn't act immediately because ck had me with an N/A for this card. Thought about it a little longer took the chance and to my surprise got approved for the highest limit o all my cc 3500 thanks Discover card looking foward to all the.perks. Also approved for the Every Day Blue Cash Back American Express earlier on the same day with a low cl of 500 with no perks ck had me with good odds
Ck TU 656 EQ 643 EX FICO 671
As of now don't know which report was.pulled haven't received any alerts

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Hands Down, BEST Student Card
tkarmaacct Cardholder

This was my first card! I got it with average credit (low to mid 600's) and only student loans under my belt. I was approved for a baby $500CL but it was okay! I just wanted to build credit. After a year, my score went up to around 725 and I was able to apply for a more grown up credit card. Discover's customer service is absolutely top notch, every time I called in to question something, they helped in every way they could and as quickly as they could. Towards the end of my first year, they raised my credit score after I asked! 

The rewards on the chrome are pretty simple, and I like it because of that. I don't have to worry about rotating categories, I just use it for mainly gasoline and restaurant visits, and that maximizes the cash back. The cash back is redeemable at any time in any amount towards your bill (or at Amazon or to charity, they love helping you out with redeeming the cash back). No annual fee, and fantastic service (I had to say that again!). This is the perfect student card to start out with as long as you don't have really bad credit (they seem to be a bit picky on who they approve). But if you have some loan history or no history give it an application! If you don't get approved right away, give them a call and let them know you want the card for good student reasons and they'll be glad to work with you.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
One word : Amazing!
Criscox Cardholder

I applied for this card with a TU score of 646, 2 hard pulls, and the usage on my other card was at 12%  Approved in less than a minute! The rewards are the one thing that always has me using it. This is my second card to date! 

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Approved 1K
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with 643 TU, 3 Inquries on TU, 10K deferred student loans,27% utilization and 16.7K annual income as full-time student. 2nd card(first was $300 cap1 journey).Not approved instantly as I was asked to provide additional documents but spoke to representative in live chat the next day and they were able to process my application in a few minutes and approve me for $1000 limit. Tip: use your school email ".edu" when applying for it, probably can avoid having to submit school verification making the process a bit quicker.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Approved in 1 minute
buildcredit926 Cardholder

Credit score: 720

Credit limit approved for: 1,000

Pros: Fast application and approval process. The customer service was great. 

Cons: With such a good credit score I was expecting a much higher limit since I saw people with scores of 660 get approved for the same 1,000 amount. I was approved for a Visa with a 3K limit the same day. 

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Just got approved! Can't wait!!
KoryOTR Cardholder

I applied with a 615 CS (I know pretty bad) I have close to 10 inquiries BUT I do have a credit card through my local credit union ($300 CL) and a Captial One Journey ($400 CL) and a Credit One Bank ($500 CL) Discover gave me a $750 CL (pretty good compared to my other cards) I applied an was not instantly approved or denied! The app asked my to submit a proof of residency, social security card, and proof of school ID. I went onto the online chat and the rep took a few minutes to look my account over and BOOM! Approved!! Hope this helps other people looking to get this card!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Approved!!! No credit history!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a constant part-time job, and I am also a full time college student. This is the first credit card that I have applied for, and I was approved in about 5 minutes. Also I have absolutely no credit history so I was a little worried that I wouldn't get approved. Yet, I was approved for a $500 credit limit. This at first seemed really small to me but then again I have to realize that I have no credit history, I only work part-time, and I am a student. All in all everything worked out perfect in the end.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 519
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Discover it® Chrome for Students

12 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i