Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it® Chrome for Students

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2016
Hands Down, BEST Student Card
tkarmaacct Cardholder

This was my first card! I got it with average credit (low to mid 600's) and only student loans under my belt. I was approved for a baby $500CL but it was okay! I just wanted to build credit. After a year, my score went up to around 725 and I was able to apply for a more grown up credit card. Discover's customer service is absolutely top notch, every time I called in to question something, they helped in every way they could and as quickly as they could. Towards the end of my first year, they raised my credit score after I asked! 

The rewards on the chrome are pretty simple, and I like it because of that. I don't have to worry about rotating categories, I just use it for mainly gasoline and restaurant visits, and that maximizes the cash back. The cash back is redeemable at any time in any amount towards your bill (or at Amazon or to charity, they love helping you out with redeeming the cash back). No annual fee, and fantastic service (I had to say that again!). This is the perfect student card to start out with as long as you don't have really bad credit (they seem to be a bit picky on who they approve). But if you have some loan history or no history give it an application! If you don't get approved right away, give them a call and let them know you want the card for good student reasons and they'll be glad to work with you.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
One word : Amazing!
Criscox Cardholder

I applied for this card with a TU score of 646, 2 hard pulls, and the usage on my other card was at 12%  Approved in less than a minute! The rewards are the one thing that always has me using it. This is my second card to date! 

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Approved 1K
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with 643 TU, 3 Inquries on TU, 10K deferred student loans,27% utilization and 16.7K annual income as full-time student. 2nd card(first was $300 cap1 journey).Not approved instantly as I was asked to provide additional documents but spoke to representative in live chat the next day and they were able to process my application in a few minutes and approve me for $1000 limit. Tip: use your school email ".edu" when applying for it, probably can avoid having to submit school verification making the process a bit quicker.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Approved in 1 minute
buildcredit926 Cardholder

Credit score: 720

Credit limit approved for: 1,000

Pros: Fast application and approval process. The customer service was great. 

Cons: With such a good credit score I was expecting a much higher limit since I saw people with scores of 660 get approved for the same 1,000 amount. I was approved for a Visa with a 3K limit the same day. 

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Just got approved! Can't wait!!
KoryOTR Cardholder

I applied with a 615 CS (I know pretty bad) I have close to 10 inquiries BUT I do have a credit card through my local credit union ($300 CL) and a Captial One Journey ($400 CL) and a Credit One Bank ($500 CL) Discover gave me a $750 CL (pretty good compared to my other cards) I applied an was not instantly approved or denied! The app asked my to submit a proof of residency, social security card, and proof of school ID. I went onto the online chat and the rep took a few minutes to look my account over and BOOM! Approved!! Hope this helps other people looking to get this card!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Approved!!! No credit history!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a constant part-time job, and I am also a full time college student. This is the first credit card that I have applied for, and I was approved in about 5 minutes. Also I have absolutely no credit history so I was a little worried that I wouldn't get approved. Yet, I was approved for a $500 credit limit. This at first seemed really small to me but then again I have to realize that I have no credit history, I only work part-time, and I am a student. All in all everything worked out perfect in the end.

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
Shaownism Cardholder

It's a great card for students! IMO, discover wants to give you a chance as a student. I had less than 10 months of credit history, and my annual income was less than 10K. But Discover approved my app on the same day with a 1K credit limit! If you have a 3.0 GPA you'll get a $20 good grade cashback.

P.S.: this card has an awesome referral bonus. I referred my partner, so both she AND I recieved a $50 referral bonus!! (If you want, you can use my referral link, which will give both of us $50 each. Send me an email at mssshaown[at]gmail

more ...
Jul 08, 2016
excited for my first credit card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied a few hours ago and they wanted me to call and verify some information, so I called, answered some questions and was approved over the phone for a limit of $500!  My TransUnion score got knocked down to 614 after a hard inquiry for a school loan, so I was very nervous about applying for this card but it looks like the Discover it Chrome will be my first credit card!  

more ...
Jun 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't know

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 519
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® Chrome for Students

25 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i