Discover it® for Students Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.9 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 17, 2019
Great for Students!
ajc95 Cardholder

It's super helpful in building credit and the online app has so many accessories. I love this card!

more ...
Jan 22, 2019
Beautiful for students!
PraiseYah Cardholder

Was approved easily and got to choose from several awesome card options! Cash back rewards on everything, the app works great! One of my top cards. Love this card!

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
truck7221 Cardholder

Very good card to have really helped me out a lot customer service is very kind and courteous they help you any way they can good people all the way around

more ...
Oct 16, 2018
Excellent Card
Drake122 Cardholder

I applied for the card with next to no credit and was instantly approved for $1750. After about nine months I updated my information and I was approved for an additional $950 to bring it up to $2700... with only 7,000 per year in income. Customer service is unparalleled and actually help solve problems. Rewards system is fantastic, couldn't ask for more out of a card.

more ...
Jul 24, 2018
Great customer service
jerpyjay Cardholder

This was my first credit line that I ever applied for. Great for students to use purchasing books while waiting on financial aid. I was approved within three minutes of applying. I Just had to upload a picture of my student ID. I didn't have to give them any cash, they just approved me for $650 with no credit. I got a credit increase to $1200 after six months. This card helped me build credit so that I could open other credit lines with low interest because of my already established good credit. I love their yearly cashback offer. It was a great bonus. I also love the good grades rewards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2018

If you dont mind me asking, what was your credit score and annual gross income? I want to apply for this card but I dont want to get denied and have another hard inquiry on my credit score.

 
Jul 08, 2018
Great rewards, easy to use, nice app
Anonymous Cardholder

The cash-back is great! I went with the 5% rotating categories and I play my cards right and capitalize on the rewards. Just remember to not use up more than 30% of your credit line, make several payments per month if need be. Also the customer service is amazing.

more ...
Jul 01, 2018
Awesome cashback
pakao Cardholder

24/7 Customer service is awesome.

more ...
Jun 23, 2018
Great for No Credit Starters

I had absolutely NO CREDIT and my friend told me that instead of a secured credit card to apply for this one since I’m a college student. I was instantly approved for $500! Now I just wait for my auto increase in 3 months!!! I also work too and make over $20,000 a year....don’t know if that plays a part.

more ...
May 05, 2018
Awesome and reliable card
avkhatri101 Cardholder

I was college freshman, and I had no knowledge of credit score when I applied for Discover it for students. I was approved with $1000 credit limit without any credit history. After approval, I contacted the customer service for help in building credit history. The customer service was very helpful, and friendly. I would recommend this card to everyone who is interested. Even though you don't have any credit history, don't hesitate to apply for one.

more ...
May 04, 2018
Functional, and easy going
Acgreen56 Cardholder

This card is a great starter for anyone and they generally don't hard pull your credit if you have a good enough score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 27, 2018

What is a good enough score

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 2,988
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Discover it® for Students

10 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i