Discover it® for Students Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 19, 2017
Few Canadian vendors accept this card!!
CanadaStudent Cardholder

My daughter who is attending college in Canada chose this card. SHE HAS NOT FOUND EVEN ONE VENDOR YET WHO WILL ACCEPT HER DISCOVER CARD. Even her college bookstore does not accept Discover cards. It is useless to her.  Customer service rep told her that Discover is only slowly making inroads in Canada. Beware.

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Extremely great customer service!

If you have a friend who has a Discover Credit card then ask them to refer you for a $50 referral bonus after your first purchase within 3 months of account activation. Your friend will also get $50 as well. You will receive $20 simply for having good grades (3.0/4.0 GPA or higher, or at the equivalent). You will also receive 5% cashback on rotating categories and 1% on everything else. In your first year, you will receive cashback match which includes the $50 referral bonus, $20 good grades bonus, cash back on purchases and of course if you refer friends while the promotion is still in effect ($50 cash back if your friend applies with the referral link and gets approved. You can refer up to 10 friends). Good luck and learn to Discover! 

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
High limits
cherryflava08 Cardholder

I started rebuilding my credit in November 2016. Started off with my ck scores in the 580s. Got approved for my very first card a kohls department store card for 300 cl. My score went up a good bit the. I got allot ed for a cap one quicksilver one for another 300. After about five or 6 months cap one bumped me up to 500 and kohls bumped me up to 700. I was pretty close to my limits on both cards so decided to try for another card just to lower my utilization. I was planning on using it for very very small purchases every month and payingnit off in full. So I applied for the discover it student card (No, you do not have to be a student) and got approved instantly for a whopping 4500 cl!! Never expected that much but am truly greatly! Have not used it yet but I seen all the great reviews and the only negative that was said was that it is not accepted everywhere.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Love it! I'm a senior in college.
buildcredit926 Cardholder

So when I applied for this card, my score was near the 700's and I was approved for a $1000 CL over the phone (October 2016). It is 6 months later (April 2017) and I recieved a $1000 increase in my credit line. Now I am at a $2000 credit line. The cash back rewards are great. I reccommend this card to everyone.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Convenient
Jdawg22 Cardholder

It's my first credit card and I wasn't expecting to get approved because I had no credit history at all. I had recently purchased a car and thought I'd use it for gas but it has been so much help for small emergencies. I was approved a $500 credit limit and I can't really complain. I pay it well before it's due because it's best not to spend money you don't have. After seeing most of the reviews I'm definitely wishing that I was approved a higher credit limit but I'll have to see how to request it. Even if I don't get approved the credit line increase , it's still a great card to have. My credit score has been going up when I don't use more than the recommended 10%. 

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
First card, only card
JojoBisous Cardholder

I was approved with absolutely zero credit history for CL 1750, and after 5 months of paying my full balance I was bumped up to CL 2000. I'm 10 months in and it's still my only card, and I love it.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 2,988
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® for Students