Discover it® for Students Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 26, 2017
Love it! I'm a senior in college.
buildcredit926 Cardholder

So when I applied for this card, my score was near the 700's and I was approved for a $1000 CL over the phone (October 2016). It is 6 months later (April 2017) and I recieved a $1000 increase in my credit line. Now I am at a $2000 credit line. The cash back rewards are great. I reccommend this card to everyone.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Convenient
Jdawg22 Cardholder

It's my first credit card and I wasn't expecting to get approved because I had no credit history at all. I had recently purchased a car and thought I'd use it for gas but it has been so much help for small emergencies. I was approved a $500 credit limit and I can't really complain. I pay it well before it's due because it's best not to spend money you don't have. After seeing most of the reviews I'm definitely wishing that I was approved a higher credit limit but I'll have to see how to request it. Even if I don't get approved the credit line increase , it's still a great card to have. My credit score has been going up when I don't use more than the recommended 10%. 

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
First card, only card
JojoBisous Cardholder

I was approved with absolutely zero credit history for CL 1750, and after 5 months of paying my full balance I was bumped up to CL 2000. I'm 10 months in and it's still my only card, and I love it.

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
The BEST Credit Card in my wallet
truth401 Cardholder

You need a good score to get a discover card so don't think the a Fico of 640 or 650 is going to get you one and Credit Karma is always 20 points or more higher than your real score. Their Customer Service is the BEST in the Credit Card industry and thier reward are phenominal!

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Wonderful Card!
JacobMCohen Cardholder

Was the third card I applied for (had zero credit) and was the first I was approved for. After some verification I was approved for $1000. Would absolutely reccomend this card to anyone who is a student and would like to build credit. Absoluetly the best customer service and best card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2016

What was your score for approval?

 
Jul 17, 2016
Best for Students
abhi9cr7 Cardholder

This was my third card and was approved after just 4months of credit history. I am an international student and I applied to discover it chrome and was instantly approved, then I asked the customer care guy to change it to Discover It card which has revolving 5% cashback. My score was less as I have only 4months of credit history. They gave me 1250$ at that time. I used this card for every purchase and the promo of 10% cashback through apple was amazing. It is disappointing that Apple pay bonus is not available now. Anyways, I acquired around 350$ just through cashback and after 1year they auto increased my CL to 2250$, and using some wise people's advice about CLI button, I was approved more 750 and am currently having 3000$. I never had any balance on card, as soon as the purchase was posted, I paid it off in full. Statement credit was always 0$ till this day. Loved the card benefits absolutely.

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
Didn't increase CL even after 4 years!
workingmind Cardholder

Was approved for this card when I was a student with $500 CL (which is a JOKE). Anyways they extended it upto $1,000 and that was it. Now I've been earning well for more than 2 years and have credit scores in 750's and Discover still cant increase my CL! I'm sure they havent even updated their database as they still send me student loan offers! I have cards from AMEX, Barclays and Chase and I have CL higher than Discover (which is my oldest card). I haven't missed a single payment but still Discover doesnt value customer relationship and I am stuck with the same $1,000 CL (after 4 years). I am gonna hardly use this card anymore.

more ...
Aug 03, 2016

I applied for the card and was approved in under a minute with a $5500 CL...They are by far the by far the best card to have in your wallet. Their customer Service is the BEST of ANY credit card company but if you missed more than 1 payment you will NEVER get a credit line increase (especially in the first year) I have American Express and Capital one. @ Capital one cards because neither has a yearly fee and one has 0% for the first year. . Pay your cards off right away and don't delay or make minimal payments or you will NEVER ,EVER get any kind of increase but discover is the best of all the credit Cards you can get.

 
Aug 05, 2016

I have never seen a company more concerned with customer satisfaction than Discover. It is by far the best card to have in your wallet. As far as the whiner who as a student only got a $500 limit-you are a student and not working so how do you pay them AND your student loans back? Discover is the best card available to anyone but they are cautious and a student with a ton of student loans doesn't deserve more than a $1000 limit until his student loans are paid down. So many college students have not paid back (or have no intention of paying back) the money they got for their education the it has mad the really good card companies nervous and deservedly so. Until your student loans are paid down quit whining and get a job and pay back you loans

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 2,988
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it® for Students