Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
2.3 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

1 star reviews (27) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 08, 2020
Stupid!
PhantomdArgent Cardholder

Discover Card canceled my credit card with no explanation when I had no negative comments in my credit file, no overcharges, no late payments and a good rating. Not they're advertising to me to get their card? Why? You're just going to cancel it again and then advertise to me again. I can't handle this level of stupidity in my life.

more ...
Jan 07, 2020
Shady
Hutch378 Cardholder

I had a credit limit of 3000. I paid off a pretty high balance in one payment. They lowered my CL to $700 immediately after

more ...
Dec 13, 2019
Horrible Company!!!
kjebaker3 Cardholder

Horrible Company!! They closed my account on Dec 13th, right before Christmas. They stated that they need to make money and after 3 years of using the card, making on time payments and having a credit score of 705, they closed it because I paid it down and had not use it for 6 months. So unless you plan on constantly using this card and having a balance so they can make money from the interest, do not get this card! This will certainly cause my credit score to go way down and probably cause a ripple effect for the other credit cards I have. Thanks Discover for making my holidays so wonderful!

more ...
Dec 08, 2019
They Lowered My Available Credit
1175candsmi Cardholder

I have had my Discover Card for around two and a half years now. I have never been late and always pay more than the minimum payment. I started out with a $1000 credit limit and after about 6 months they lowered my credit limit to $900 when my balance was around $875. This was heartbreaking as I was trying to keep my credit score up and that didn't help. After that, I paid off the card and started using it again and just recently, on Thanksgiving Day when my balance was around $625 they reduced it again to $700. I can only believe that they were hoping I would go out shopping on Black Friday and they could hit me with additional fees. I locked and shredded the card and I can say after I pay it off this time I will not get another Discover Card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 13, 2019

If you do this with your other cards then you can expect the same behavior. Didnt anyone ever tell you? You don’t max out your limit especially if the balance is reported. People like that default all the time. You’re spending way too much. Other companies will do you the same way. STOP making out your cards and getting mad at them. You are a 🚩 flag to any lender when you do that. If you use that much credit then obviously you can’t afford it. Stop using so much credit.

 
Nov 30, 2019
FORCING ALL MEMBERS TO GIVE IRS INFO
MG2314 Cardholder

6 people in my household including myself have Discover, it is a great card but slowly started to send DocuSign's from Experian to all members to give out irs info. After the review they closed three accounts from my household. Not mine. They stated that they couldn't verify their identity!! Al of us have great credit and never had missed payments nor maxed out cards. Have no idea why they decided to do this. Worst experience I've ever had from all my credit cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 06, 2020

This happened To me today!!

I was approved instantly and received my card. I too have good credit. I was forced to sign a IRS document via DocuSign and days later my account was closed without explanation. I could discover it and no one could help. Asked to speak to a supervisor and after 2 minutes the rep had to disconnect my call as there was no supervisor available.

Stay away!

 
Nov 22, 2019
Horrible service !!
Simplemember Cardholder

I expedite the application, shipping and activation service, but customer service is a disaster! My account has been blocked for no reason, I have been sending documents for two weeks to identify myself and be able to pay per day. I have called to allow me to at least pay on the corresponding date, but they cannot help me until the account is unlocked and I will have to pay yes or yes interest after the deadline. A FRAUD!!

more ...
Nov 13, 2019
**** card takes you money.
CalmZeus Cardholder

Card takes your money on days you dont approve and when you ask for a refund they bull**** you and dont give you your refund. Change my date back in September to 15th was not emailed about the date change not going through was not told about the date change you not going through got charged on the 11th when I don't get paid until the 15th so now I have to pay for to five days of overdraft fees and the 126 they took for me save yourself the hassle don't even bother getting the card because at the end of the day you're just going to want to curse these people out when they screw you over and refused to help you by giving you back your money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 13, 2019

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. So you want your money back because they took your money on the wrong day? And you believed they would give you the money back that YOU spent on their credit card 💳? So you charge their card using their money and now you’re upset and think it’s your 126 dollars? Is this real life?

 
Oct 20, 2019
Credit Line decreased w/o notifcation
CarolA89 Cardholder

I've had this card for awhile now and never had any late payments and yet my credit line was decreased which impacted my credit score. I messaged them and their robotic response to my concern was not expected. Stated a letter was mailed out and the reasonings behind the decrease of my credit line were incorrect. Unhappy that i'll have to now call and deal with this. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2019
Worst card I ever had
Khalilchiadmi Cardholder

This is by far the worst credit card ever . I had this credit card since 2017 and never been late once had a 1900 $ line of credit then one day I found out that it was reduced by 700$ and my new credit limit was 1200 $ I called and was told that during a review they determine they needed to reduce my limit and they didn’t care if they hurting your credit or not after a few months they increased it to 1700$ 

and today I was surprised again to see that they reduced it to 1000$ . This company is a joke . Now my usage on this credit card. Is 98% instead of 40% 

I decided to pay it off and close the account . I know it will hurt my credit but the way they treated me I cannot keep them . This is a trash credit card I don’t want trash in my wallet . I have 2 cards from chase and 1 from Bank of America they are the best . Never had any issue with them except with a Discover . I will keep writing this review over and over until everyone knows who they really are . 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 45,178
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®