Discover it® Reviews

Discover it® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

1 star reviews (20) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 24, 2019
Horrible
Briancomer1 Cardholder

Will drop your credit if you pay will drop your credit if you pay it off completely then tell you you have a high debit to credit ratio that they just caused shady low down and dirty stick with American Express card or capital one don't trust this company

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
DO NOT GET THIS CREDIT CARD
SassyBoss Cardholder

Discover card is the absolute worst!!! Oh the commercials are cute and funny but please dont be fooled.  THis company abrubtly closed my account after having NEVER BEING LATE and a $410 balance and a $4000 credi limit had the card for several years.  Then closed my teen son's acount with $0 balnce and my teen daughter after having just approved her for a $750 and sending her the card, she never even used it.  Then when I call, not only zre they rude as heck, but no on know ANYTHING!!  The canned response is to write them with any questions...Write them??????  Who does that???  Good riddance, if you are rebuilding your credit, Capital one, Bank of america and Firs FInancial Bank credit cards are the best trust me I know....IF this affects our credit scores, I would like to begin a class action law suit...anyone intrested?

more ...
Jun 28, 2019
Susannaf Cardholder

If it was possible I would put ZERO stars! Terrible customer service, terrible rules, they closed my account after I didn’t provide a state id, but I was out of the country that time! No Extentions, no other options. Very rude managers!Dont get this card. It is the most terrible experience I ve ever had!

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
discover will hurt you in the end
ericbarlow21 Cardholder

credit score was in the 490's, got the secured card for $500, perfect payment history, worked hard to improve credit, discover refunded the $500 deposit, eventually raised the limit to $2000, kept working to improve my score, never had any issues, raised score 160 points in 18 months, then today go to use my card and the transaction is declined. call discover and find out they cut my limit to $500 for no reason, so now it appears my card is nearly maxed out, credit limit usage is now seen as very high, score down nearly 50 points. called customer service and they wouldnt help, talked to a manager, they didnt have any reason, they don't care. dont waste your time... capital one cards have been much better. discover will erase all your work in the end.

more ...
May 11, 2019
No cardholder protection
Dolomite123 Cardholder

In case if you have any disputes with supporting documents you will ALWAYS LOSE! I had bogus charges - they denied my claims even if addresses and names were 1500 miles away from me. Other case was where I returned items and didnt get a refund - they also denied the claim. Cancelled transactions that posted to my account - also denied. Basically it's a very dangerous card. Whoever has a card number they can max it out and you will pay for it. Not recommend at all. Disputes department is usually hanging up the phone when trying to sort out the things.

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Worst company to do credit business
perk54 Cardholder

 I’ve had a credit card with Discover for a little over 3 1/2 years. I recently got hurt was out of work for a year. Discover card did not want to work with me. I paid a perfect monthly for the last three years prior to getting hurt. I recently close the account with a balance did not want to work with me with payment plan and they were very tactical about trying to put a judgment on me. Please if you have any sense do not do business with this company. 

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Horrible
Lujo1968 Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a late payment hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company! AMEX just gave an upgrade to Platinum.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
They have the worst customer service!!!!
Ink1 Cardholder

Avoid Discover at all cost.

more ...
Feb 20, 2019
Friendly customer service yet lacking.
Rover78 Cardholder

Friendly customer service but does not back the cardholder in disputed charges.

more ...
Feb 08, 2019
Horrible!
neomax Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a derogatory mark just hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Discover it® Reviews

Discover it®