Discover it® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
93 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2017
So far so good!
NinjaBingoWarrior Cardholder

I just got this card today, and I typically don't write reviews until after I've had the card a while. But this card already deserves 5 stars!

A little backstory on me. 6 months ago my credit was garbage. Low 500s, several collections (mostly medical), car repo from a few years back, tax lien for state taxes, student loans in collections (garnishment AND a tax refund offset), and a judgment from 6 years ago.

Fast forward to today, I've come leaps and bounds when it comes to my credit report. I disputed a bunch of the collections and got most of them off my reports. Rehabbed my student loans. Paid my tax lien. Repo fell off. Judgment should fall off this year. Score in the 640s according to Credit Karma.

I've been waiting to get in the upper 600s before I started applying for more cards. I started off with a Fingerhut card and a secured Capital One card. I also applied for a Credit One card a couple of months ago. I have perfect payment history on all of them. They're junk cards but I've been using them for what they're there for. Strictly to build credit. Sometimes I carry balances but not usually much.

So two weeks ago, I decided to try and apply for a couple store cards. My ultimate goal is to have 2-3 regular credit cards and a couple store cards for the ones I frequent. I applied and was approved for both store cards. I instantly got excited because it's been 10 years since I've had decent credit and could get approved for anything.

So I'm thinking at this point, I've already taken the hit. I may as well try for the regular cards I want and let them all age together. I plan for these cards to be permanent in my credit profile so I'm okay with getting them all at the same time, letting my score dip a bit because of the new accounts, and letting them age together so I have a strong credit background.

I tried for a regular Capital One card, and I'm not going to go into that LOL, but I don't plan on being a Capital One customer much longer. So I thought screw it, I'm going to try for Discover because wth. Worst they can do is say no. BAM! Instantly approved for $1700. Now I don't believe in 5 starring cards for being approved or 1 starring them for being denied. That's not what the rating system is for. I'm 5 starring them today because I was approved last Sunday night and I already have my card 6 days later. Most cards take 2 weeks to get here! They have a fantastic rewards program (I'm still in shock I was approved for a card with rewards!!!). The packaging the card came in was really cool. So far they more than deserve 5 stars for how professional they are. Getting the card quick and sending it in special packaging puts them above other card companies.

As far as use, I've used it today. No issues, but I'll obviously need to check back in a few months after payments have been made. I haven't downloaded the app yet but I'm guessing it's prob going to be well designed.

One other reason I want to put this review out there is that everyone needs to know NOT to rely on Credit Karma scores. It's a great website that gives you an idea of where you're at, but your scores aren't correct. Mine are showing in the 640s and Discover sent me my FICO and it was 705. That's a pretty big difference in the credit world when it comes to being approved or denied. So keep that in mind!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 05, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I had the Discover it card since February 2014. My credit was excellent and I never missed a payment on anything ever. But guess what? I looked on my fico credit score and it dropped dramatically to the 600 range due to a "serious delinquency". I tried contacting discover after I pulled up all of my credit reports to see what was causing the issue. Discover reported the delinquency on my card when I never missed a payment. The customer service is terrible. They say they can't do anything about it so now I'm stuck filing ANOTHER dispute. It was fixed the 1st time in 2014. They did it again recently a month ago 2017. My advice is don't take the risk of getting a credit card with them if you care about your credit. Go with Chase freedom. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 10, 2017
bad idea

After getting approved for a 800 dollor credit line and making payments on time and on a reg basis I recieved notice that I had a credit line decrease to 600 dollors again with reg and on time payments this puts me over there credit line, so whats next a decrease to 300 and a demand to bring my account up to date as far as credit line.  What a scam, I will be paying this off asap and going with a more reputable card.

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Awesome rewards!
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved for this card with a 644 fico score. 3 Derogatory, 4 years avg. history. No missed payment history. Utilization between all other accounts was under 30%

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Corrupt
Jerkygrrrrl Cardholder

I had an $1800 credit line and paid it off as well as a few of my other cards, then I go to see online that they decreased my credit line to $500. I called and argued with them that that I have never in my life had a company do such a thing. I'm trying to improve my credit and they just decreased my available credit by $1300 plus it's going to show on my credit report that my high was 1795.00 and my limit is $500. I told them that that is the most corrupt system that I've ever seen. A person pays off their debt with a company and then is rewarded by decreasing their limit? Who does that? I've heard horrible things about Discover and decided to give them a try anyway but they were proven to be correct. Absolutely corrupt and I WILL write this review on every single site that I can find. Do NOT do business with Discover!!!!!

more ...
Oct 23, 2017
terrible
iirish4545 Cardholder

never missed a payment in fact made double payments every month ,made 1500 worth of payments in 2 weeks ,then tried to use card got declined ,they lowered my credit line because i used there cash advance system and one of my other cards from capital one was maxed out due to a trip to europe jusst recently,only missed 1 payment in 3 years on my other cards ,talked to 3 people and basically was told that using cash advance was a warning and there was nothing they can do ,so basically the 1500 i paid i can no longer access ,and as that was to be used for xmas they really screwed me and they didnt even care ,the supervisors name was steven ,stay away from him because he doesnt care ,i would stay away from this card because if you really need it you never know if you can because they notify you by mail ,still havent recieved it 

more ...
Oct 11, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Dont get it

more ...
Oct 10, 2017
15k instant approval
empireryan Cardholder

Approved at 15k CL with over a year at 0% interest. CK currently 698/695, with BOFA reporting my FICO at 710. Have been receiving pre-screens for about 2 monhts now and decided to see what they had to offer - glad I did!

more ...
Oct 10, 2017
15k instant approval
empireryan Cardholder

Have been receiving pre-screens for this for a couple months now. Entered my promo code on the offer page, and listed ~6000 in desired balance transfers. Instant approval at 15k CL with 0% intro offer.

more ...
Oct 06, 2017
Never go with Discover.
ClaudiaM3 Cardholder

Honestly DO NOT waste your time on this pathetic vulture of a "company"!!!! This multi-millionaire credit card company will find any reason to sue YOU if you can't pay back right away. Out of all my other credit cards and student loan fees, this card literally had only 1000 the least amount on it, but OBVIOUSLY I had more important payments to make.. I am indebted THOUSANDS to other credit cards that are offering to HELP M E WITH $$$.... (I bet all the people who work for Discover have super amazing Karma:))) Yeah, so DEFINITELY do not choose this bloodsucking credit card company when there's handfuls of others out there who care about their own karma and that ACTUALLY understand where their customers are coming from and won't hesitate to help you out.

more ...
Oct 08, 2017

So, you’re rating them one star because you have too much debt you can’t pay off, and they want you to pay what you agreed and not giving you any slack? That seems fair...

 
Nov 04, 2017

If you can't pay why would you blame the cc company? I'm confused.

 
Oct 02, 2017
Approved after calling in

I applied on their website after using their prequalification.  It recommended the Discover IT.  I was approved with a $9,500 limit.  Doesn't matter because I pay off the full amount every month.  Also have the American Express Gold Premier rewards and Capital one quicksilver one.  Scores range from 665-690.

more ...
Sep 30, 2017
Generous credit limit
Infarc Cardholder

A year ago my CK scores were in the mid to high 500's.  I started out a few years ago with two secured credit cards ($250 each).  Then I got the Capital One Platinum MasterCard with a starting $500 limit (now $1,500), and then the Capital One Quicksilver One with a $750 limit.  I've made no late payments in the last year, have 4 derogatories in collections (3 set to drop off next year).  Currently my Credit Carma scores are TU 666 and EQ 656.  I went to the Discover website and did a prequalification, in which they recommended the It 5% cash rewards card.  For the heck of it I applied and instantly received a $10,000 credit limt!  I have low balances on my cards, but will be using this for the 0% introductory balance transfer. 

I'll update this review once I've had a chance to use the card and experience customer service, but I can tell you that the approval process for me was very easy, and the approval amount blew my mind.  Worth a shot if your scores are close to mine.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®