Discover it® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
126 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 25, 2013
So Far So Good
sisler Cardholder

I applied for this card on Tuesday. I was instantly approved with a CL of $1200.00. I received the card yesterday via FedEx. 

The card comes with quite a few disclosure documents. I noticed in the disclosures that they evaluated my credit worhiness based on a TU score of 656, which is old. My current score is 716. Since they pulled my latest score on Tuesday, I'm surprised that the score they report using is not up-to-date. If anyone can shed some light on that, please do!

Aside from that, I'm pretty excited about having a Discover card. The ratings from other customers seem good. I'm a bit nervous about the variable interest rate which is based on the primte rate (which is currently at historical lows). But I don't plan on carrying a balance.

Lastly, I just want to say that CreditKarma is a really good service. Since becoming a member, I've increased my score by quite a bit and I'm more aware of how different parameters affect my score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 17, 2015
Only creditor to ever cut my limit
gxa0128 Cardholder

So I have had my Discover IT card for over a year 3k limit. I just got an e-mail from them tonight stating that they cut my limit too 1000, that I am now over my limit by 500. Called them to find out why they cut my limit. Was told I had too many new inquiries and recently opened too many accounts. Looking at my Credit Karma report from Monday, it shows that I have 2 new inquires from buying my car and a new auto loan. I just don't feeling like that was enough reason for Discover to cut my balance in half, I also think that cutting my balance and putting me over my limit and demanding payment a week before Christmas is kind of sketchy. I will be closing this card at the end of the month in favor of my AmEx Blue Cash the rewards aren't as good but AmEx is way better of a company. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
Highest limit so far.
Articuno Cardholder

Just doubled my limit with just this card. It also arrived VERY quickly. So far so good!

more ...
May 15, 2017
Discover IT
Suelyn Cardholder

I applied with a Credit Karma(Advantage 3.0) score of 731 from Transunion, and 723 Equifax. They should be higher because they do not reflect a payment posted to my credit report, I won't be able to update for a few days since at the time of writting Credit Karma has a 1 week update policy. My fico scores were 676 from Transunion, 662 Equifax(both not updated with recent payment), and 667 from Experian which is the updated score. I am in NY(C), as such Discover usually pulls from Equifax, and Transunion if more info is needed. I was given a $1,200 credit limit. I have been receiving their "invitation mailers for a few weeks now. I have 1 derogatory mark on my credit report from a Tax Lien for $199 from 2015, that I paid as soon as I found out. I never received the IRS letter to inform me it was due. I tried following the online instructions for the IRS Fresh Start program, but I never got a responce. I never even received the certified letter back, just saw online that it was delivered. The derogotory mark should come off my credit report in June when the 3 Credit Bureas new rules go into effect. Basically if it does not have complete information about the person it comes off. Like your social security number or full addres. My credit utilization is down to 17%, it will be 0% next month. I started with a Credit Karma score around 550.

Let me know if there is anything I might be able to answer. I have learn a lot about managing credit, to the point I am helping others get faster results.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Easy credit limits
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with a score of 780. They offered me a 35k credit limit!! Rewards are great. No interest for 14 months

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Amazing card to help rebuild you credit.
junderwood4 Cardholder

This card has helped me out tremendously. I started with a credit score in the mid 500's. With the help of this card and getting some old collections off my account I've gotten to a score of mid to upper 600's. After about 8 months I got an email stating I am gettingy deposit back and an increase of $1000. Definitely recommend this card to those trying to help their credit. Plus offering cash back and a bonus after 1 year makes this card a no brainier.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 12, 2017

Did you have collection on your account when you applied and were approved?

 
Apr 09, 2017
Some's Got It & Some Ain't! Got It!

The rotating 5% categories are great for earning cash back.  Some Quarters are better than others but that's life.  The App is the best of any credit card app.  It's easy to use and always fast.  I've never had the card turned down in the United States.  Foreign acceptance isn't quite as good but I've used my Discover Card successfully in Japan, Portugal, Israel, Spain, The United Kingdom, & Mexico.  I've also used it at ATM's outside the USA with no problems. 

Other cards notifications pale in comparison to Discover Card.  I get a text message before the groceries are bagged, before the server returns to the table to have me sign the slip and before Amazon has flashed confirmed on my screen.  If you want simple a simple to use card with an unfailingy polite and competent customer service staff, this should be your card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 09, 2017

I love their instant notification on the App too!

 
Apr 08, 2017
Beware- they stand bystander of business
Anonymous Cardholder

Discover Credit Card Company - they stand bystander by the business who doing the customers wrongdoings which they will screw you over double even if business screws you - Discover will put another middle finger in your *** too. If you google up Thrive Market and read their SiteJabber reviews. U will see it there as pretty obviously Thrive Market done a lot of people wrong. They did me wrong too, yet Discover force you pay for it regardless. No matter what edviences you have, they jsut scew u over. Beware.
I asked them to close my Discover it credit card account - they refuse to do so - Now I had to fight to get it closed - they knew I am an good loysal customer yet they wanted to keep me NOOOOO way JOSE! not what they had done to me. They lose me too an customer - stick with Capital One! They are the best! they stand by their customers first and always.

Discover sorry you pretty much deserves this review - Your coustomers comes FIRST not the businesses who doing them wrong...... You disgusting me Discover IT company.

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Love that Cash Back Program!
PlasticDad Cardholder

Thought they'd be no way till hell freezes over I'd get this card -- then it happed! After I applied online I received an email from Discover that they needed more info from me. To my surprise they wanted one and/or a combo of the following ID: Copy of Social Security Card or Passport, State ID or State Drivers License and a copy of a Utility Bill. So I complied and was approved for 1,400k CL based on my fair credit score rating. Hurray for the CB Match!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
CL of 2500 with CK scores EQ/TU 646
PrinceCorwin Cardholder

Just applied today and was approved for 2500. CK Scores EQ and TU are both 646. MyFico shows EX fico at 700

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Good card for fair credit
darosado1 Cardholder

Applied with score of 632. Instantly received a $2,000 limit with relatively low income. Interest will be 23.49% which is high but 5% rewards on rotating categories can add up rather quickly. Thank you Discover!

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Very bad customer service!
erayk Cardholder

I don't recommend this card to anyone! Everything is good until you have an issue. I have a bad experience with them. My money took twice because there was a problem with their system. I am still waiting my refund and whenever i call customer service i am getting different answer for my refund status. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

126 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i