Discover it® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
110 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2017
So far so good!
NinjaBingoWarrior Cardholder

I just got this card today, and I typically don't write reviews until after I've had the card a while. But this card already deserves 5 stars!

A little backstory on me. 6 months ago my credit was garbage. Low 500s, several collections (mostly medical), car repo from a few years back, tax lien for state taxes, student loans in collections (garnishment AND a tax refund offset), and a judgment from 6 years ago.

Fast forward to today, I've come leaps and bounds when it comes to my credit report. I disputed a bunch of the collections and got most of them off my reports. Rehabbed my student loans. Paid my tax lien. Repo fell off. Judgment should fall off this year. Score in the 640s according to Credit Karma.

I've been waiting to get in the upper 600s before I started applying for more cards. I started off with a Fingerhut card and a secured Capital One card. I also applied for a Credit One card a couple of months ago. I have perfect payment history on all of them. They're junk cards but I've been using them for what they're there for. Strictly to build credit. Sometimes I carry balances but not usually much.

So two weeks ago, I decided to try and apply for a couple store cards. My ultimate goal is to have 2-3 regular credit cards and a couple store cards for the ones I frequent. I applied and was approved for both store cards. I instantly got excited because it's been 10 years since I've had decent credit and could get approved for anything.

So I'm thinking at this point, I've already taken the hit. I may as well try for the regular cards I want and let them all age together. I plan for these cards to be permanent in my credit profile so I'm okay with getting them all at the same time, letting my score dip a bit because of the new accounts, and letting them age together so I have a strong credit background.

I tried for a regular Capital One card, and I'm not going to go into that LOL, but I don't plan on being a Capital One customer much longer. So I thought screw it, I'm going to try for Discover because wth. Worst they can do is say no. BAM! Instantly approved for $1700. Now I don't believe in 5 starring cards for being approved or 1 starring them for being denied. That's not what the rating system is for. I'm 5 starring them today because I was approved last Sunday night and I already have my card 6 days later. Most cards take 2 weeks to get here! They have a fantastic rewards program (I'm still in shock I was approved for a card with rewards!!!). The packaging the card came in was really cool. So far they more than deserve 5 stars for how professional they are. Getting the card quick and sending it in special packaging puts them above other card companies.

As far as use, I've used it today. No issues, but I'll obviously need to check back in a few months after payments have been made. I haven't downloaded the app yet but I'm guessing it's prob going to be well designed.

One other reason I want to put this review out there is that everyone needs to know NOT to rely on Credit Karma scores. It's a great website that gives you an idea of where you're at, but your scores aren't correct. Mine are showing in the 640s and Discover sent me my FICO and it was 705. That's a pretty big difference in the credit world when it comes to being approved or denied. So keep that in mind!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 28, 2016
Discover kicks you when you are down!
OSUElvin Cardholder

Discover card has a strict policy of kicking you when you are down. We are in the process of moving for work. While selling our house we were required by the lender to pay for a new roof on our home prior to closing. Work started at our new location before the house sale closed so we are paying both rent and a mortgage. Getting the utilities(electric, gas, water, and internet) set up at the new location caused 4 new credit inquiries. Having to pay rent, a mortgage, and $14k for a roof cause my credit card utilization to increase significantly. This of course caused my credit score to go down. Then Discover card lowered my credit limit to within $125 of my current balance. This further increases my credit card utilization therefore FURTHER lowering my credit score and it takes away purchasing power when I need it the very most! I called Discover card to get my available credit back and the first operator transferred me to her manager and they transferred me to someone else again. They said they just cant do it. I explained to them that I have had a flawless account with them for several years and if they could not give me the credit back they would lose me as a customer. They told me there was nothing anyone there could do because of their policies and my credit score. So in 2 weeks when my house closes I will be pay my credit cards off. I will not be using Discover card for balance transfers or purchases ever again. I don’t want to give my money to a company that kicks you when you are down and says must do this because that is their policy.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 22, 2017
One of the best!
DogLover95 Cardholder

I have no complaints about Discover whatsoever! I was approved with a $4,500 CL after about 2 years of working on building credit as I'm only 21. After 4 months or so, they increased my CL to $6,300 even with a remaining balance on the card. I currently have 2 other credit cards that I have had longer than this one and the only way I've gotten a CL increase is if I requested it. Thanks, Discover! Definitely makes me feel valued!

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Hmm

I have been building my credit for about two years now. In the beginning, I couldn't even get a checking account due to owed balances as well as low low credit (like 400's) low. So then I payed everything off and when I'd hit the low low 600's I applied for a $300 secured card from BOA. A year later, I finally was able to get my money back, and extend my limit to $500. I waited about 6 months, paid off all of my collections and was officially in the 700's. I requested a CLI from BOA and received a $1,000 CL. Seriously, they by far are the stingiest. I then applied for an Amazon Prime Chase card and was approved for 2,000. I then bumped it to $6,500 in the following month. I then had about a 730 CS, so I applied for a best buy credit card and was approved for $2,000. So I hemmed and I hawed I knew I wanted one more card.. I waited and pondered.. finally, in the mail I received a prescreened offer for Discover It card. Mind you I already have 3HP on one score and 6HP on the other.. but the rewards seemed worth it and the APR was the lowest I'd seen. So, I called and applied and was approved for $10,000.

I played it cool.. like ya that seems good thank you. But inside I was losing my ****.

This is it for me, some day I will probably drop BOA cc, only because even after two years of working HARD to break 700, and now nearing 750, they continue to deny my requests. I stopped asking actually.

Things that probably helped: I've never had a late payment. Like ever.... Don't ask me how it's possible, I have no idea, second I keep my CU to 1-2% and pay them off each month. Sometimes if things get stacked up, I'll pay twice in a month. I have a car loan I've always paid on time. Student debt, helps create a diverse array of debt in good standing.

Things that hinder me:
$60,000+ in student debt. It's growing. It wants to eat my soul. The interest is killing me.

HCP's. I mean who hasn't gotten eager in the credit rebuild game and tried to many times to bump it up.. #levelup. Good news is a lot of these will fall off at the same time in 2018.

So, that's my story of me getting my CL with Discover. I am scared.. just a little, because people here and other places whisper horror stories of going to bed with one limit, and waking up with half of it. With out warning. That scares me. Also.. my student debt. It's in good standing, I'll begin making payments in the next few months, but for the love of God, education is EXPENSIVE!

GL, may the odds be ever in your favor potential Discover applicant.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2017

Excellent review, thank you.

 
Jul 14, 2017
We'll see my friend...

I have been building my credit for about two years now. In the beginning, I couldn't even get a checking account due to owed balances as well as low low credit (like 400's) low. So then I payed everything off and when I'd hit the low low 600's I applied for a $300 secured card from BOA. A year later, I finally was able to get my money back, and extend my limit to $500. I waited about 6 months, paid off all of my collections and was officially in the 700's. I requested a CLI from BOA and received a $1,000 CL. Seriously, they by far are the stingiest. I then applied for an Amazon Prime Chase card and was approved for 2,000. I then bumped it to $6,500 in the following month. I then had about a 730 CS, so I applied for a best buy credit card and was approved for $2,000. So I hemmed and I hawed I knew I wanted one more card.. I waited and pondered.. finally, in the mail I received a prescreened offer for Discover It card. Mind you I already have 3HP on one score and 6HP on the other.. but the rewards seemed worth it and the APR was the lowest I'd seen. So, I called and applied and was approved for $10,000.

I played it cool.. like ya that seems good thank you. But inside I was losing my ****.

This is it for me, some day I will probably drop BOA cc, only because even after two years of working HARD to break 700, and now nearing 750, they continue to deny my requests. I stopped asking actually.

Things that probably helped: I've never had a late payment. Like ever.... Don't ask me how it's possible, I have no idea, second I keep my CU to 1-2% and pay them off each month. Sometimes if things get stacked up, I'll pay twice in a month. I have a car loan I've always paid on time. Student debt, helps create a diverse array of debt in good standing.

Things that hinder me:
$60,000+ in student debt. It's growing. It wants to eat my soul. The interest is killing me.

HCP's. I mean who hasn't gotten eager in the credit rebuild game and tried to many times to bump it up.. #levelup. Good news is a lot of these will fall off at the same time in 2018.

So, that's my story of me getting my CL with Discover. I am scared.. just a little, because people here and other places whisper horror stories of going to bed with one limit, and waking up with half of it. With out warning. That scares me. Also.. my student debt. It's in good standing, I'll begin making payments in the next few months, but for the love of God, education is EXPENSIVE!

GL, may the odds be ever in your favor potential Discover applicant.

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Don't be scared to apply!
Sierrak11 Cardholder

So first, my credit was 590 in September due to late payments. I was a recent college graduate and had ruined my credit! I was determined to get it back up so I started paying off my credit cards and disputing things on my credit. Fast forward to now, I had been looking at these reviews just about everyday for encouragement. My CK scores are TU 713/EX 685. I'm in Arkansas and Discover pulled my Experian that's a 689 according to their website. I was so nervous and finally called to apply, they asked me a lot of questions which made me even more nervous but, finally said I got approved for $10,000!!! I asked the lady if she was joking. I COULDN'T believe it. Their customer service is AMAZING!!! 

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Bait and switch
Anonymous Cardholder

I received this card with a $4,100 limit. Only 5 months later they / my credit limit and 1/2 to exactly $28 above my account balance. This is a classic bait-and-switch and I read other reviews to say the same thing. Do not get this card

more ...
Jul 08, 2017
Good card for mid-high 6xx score.
robbyh78 Cardholder

I've never owned a discover card before and decided on a whim to apply. my scores are all in the 680-640 range so I wasn't expecting anything amazing. applied on line, without and pre approval notice. after submitting ID verification was told it's being reviewed and to wait or call 800 number. figuring it was declined I called anyways and a nice customer service lady came on the line and told me she would look it up.. few seconds later she said congratulation you have been approved for a 7.5k limit. it was a very nice surprise indeed. looking forward to utilizing this card instead of my capitol one.

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Not good
Anonymous Cardholder

If you are new to the country then Discover would give you a low credit limit which is fine considering your credit history is not in place. But then after months of proper payments, no late fees, no finance charges, one would expect Discover to increase the credit limit atleast a bit. But they decline it multiple times. At one point, it was enough and I got my card cancelled.

Why give 0% promo APR for first 12 months with $1000-$1500 credit limit?

Would not recommend this card to anyone.

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
600 credit score, approved for 1,800 CL
MoriahK Cardholder

Pretty easy application process; recieved email advising further processing time was required and to call customer serivce. I called, they mentioned there was still information processing on the application and there was nothing further to do on my part - and to check the application status page within the next 24-48 hrs. I checked the status again around close of business (5PM) on the same day of applying.

I recieved an updated offer without the 0% intro APR, instead 10%. I continued to accept the updated offer and recieved the $1,800 credit line to begin with, expecting my card in next 4-5 business days yay!

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Great customer service 6500 CL

I applied and my lowest credit score fico 644 Experian was used I was bummed because I knew although it was approved the limit was low. I have a fraud alert on my report so I had to call in anyway to verifying my identity (the screen timed out when I tried to upload my social security card and utility bill). When I called I explained Experian is least accurate and I have some open disputes that the other bureaus have already settled she pleasantly asked which I preferred I told her transunion she then said good well you were approved for 800 now with 690 transunion fico score you're approved for 6500 if it helps my salary is in excess of 100k I've been rebuilding my score for a year now they are all in the United States and I got to pick a pink card which is pretty cool. i have capital one venture 2k, cap one quicksilver 3800 chase 500 and now discover 6500 my hard work is paying off. Thanks to God and persistence and discipline 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
GREAT CARD FOR REBUILDERS
SharkieClarkie Cardholder

I have had this card now for three mos. I have posted a review back in March when I had originally had gotten approved for the card. I was given a starting limit of $1800 (odd number) but that's ok. They offered me 0% APR on the first 14 mos. and 11.99% - 23.99% depending on my credit worthiness. When I had gotten the approval, my CK scores were I believe 662 on both TU and EQ, although the actual FICO score they had pulled from was 728 at the time, coming from EQ. When my first statement cut, I had already earned some small increments on cashback bonuses but since I had sent out some referrals to friends and family who got approved for the card us well, Discover gave me an additional Cashback bonus of $50 which can be redeemed as a statement credit, a check deposit to my linked account or can be used to pay off when ordering from Amazon.com. The best part about this card is that the Cashback Match, where it will match the bonuses you've earned after the 12th month. Meaning, if you earned about $60 cashback bonus on your first year, on the 13th month, they will give you another $60 doubling up your earned cashback rewards. The quarterly cashback bonuses are also a good way to save you some money on rotating categories like home improvement, groceries, online stores like Macy's, Walmart and Amazon all have partnered with Discover and currently offers a 5% cashback on all purchases made online. Overall, I have been happy with my progress with the card and how I am growing along with it. This marks my third month with them and happy to report that they had just given me an auto limit increase of $300. It maybe small to some of the big rollers here, but my perception is this, every bit helps for those of us who are starting out. This will definitely move my scores upward, specially that it has taken some huge hit with the recent card application on both Discover and AMEX respectively. I have quickly learned in the first month, that Discover likes low usages. So start low and slow, make small purchases and pay them in full and leave small balances to report and pay them off after. I hope that this helps any of you who are considering Discover. It is a GREAT starter card for us rebuilders and a great long term card that will continue to grow with you if you take good care of it. Best to all

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

110 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i