Discover it® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 20, 2018
DISCOVER IT
Sharjeel1976 Cardholder

I was wondering to apply for the credit card but was too reluctant to apply as exactly 18 months back I was declined for all the major cr cards like Chase, Capital One, Discover, Walmart etc due to no Cr History at that time. So after getting declined from 6 banks, I decided to go for Capital One’s secured Cr card and got approved for $300 limit with $200 deposit. Since then my journey of building credit got started. They graduated me to unsecured card after 11 months and doubled my credit limit and I was surprised. When I applied for my first cr card in 2015, I had Cr Score of 650 and after 18 months it rose to 685, finally I decided to go for Discover card as I had received their pre-approval letter in my mail box. I did some homework and after 2 days of the letter received, I applied online and I was asked to call customer services for the processing, i was hoping to get the Cr Limit of max $2000. GUESS WHAT !!! the representative online told me that I got approved for $6000 (Bingo). So So happy with Discover it (THANK YOU). Will share more reviews periodically in near future …… Note : if you are building credit and hanging near 650 cr score, Discover can be a right choice …….

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 15, 2018
Choose another company to deal with.
April0214 Cardholder

Please, I beg you to choose one of the other many credit card companies available to do business with. This is honestly what happened to me. Well, I was a card member since 2004, and I never had a late or missed payment. However, I decided to close this joint account with my husband since we were going through a divorce. The payment was made in full at the end of July, this year, to pay the card off completely, and on August 2nd, this year, I even called Discover to be sure that there wouldn't be any other fees or interest added to the account as well as to confirm that the account was closed, which had also been previously requested prior to the payoff to ensure that no other charges would be posted to the account. Discover ensured me over the phone that the account balance was at zero, there were no other charges coming through, and there were no additional fees or interest that would post to the account. The representative even said that everything had been taken care of for this account, and there was NOTHING ELSE we needed to do. Well, I just got an email alert from my credit monitoring that my credit score had decreased. I checked it to find that my credit score had dropped almost 100 POINTS! Yes, 100 POINTS due to a late payment from Discover. I immediately called Discover to find out from them that INTERESTINGLY enough on just the day after I spoke with them on August 2nd, August 3rd, this year, there was an interest fee added to the account for approximately $21, which I had no idea about since Discover never sent me a bill for this interest via regular mail, email, nor text. Well, this approximately $21 in interest that was added to this closed account damaged my credit, and there was NOTHING Discover was willing to do about it. To continue their fraudulent, sneaky, and underhanded scheme, the very phone call from August 2nd that would've proved that their representative told me that there would be no additional interest or fees added to the account, according to them, wasn't able to be pulled, because AFTER 60 DAYS, THE SAME AMOUNT OF TIME IT TAKES TO REPORT THE LATE PAYMENT TO THE CREDIT BUREAU, ALL PHONE CALLS AND CONVERSATIONS CUSTOMERS HAVE WITH THEM ARE DELETED! CALL THEM TO VERIFY THIS FOR YOURSELF! WHAT DOES DISCOVER HAVE TO GAIN? GETTING RICH OFF OF THE ADDITIONAL FEES BEING ADDED TO THE INITIAL FEE THAT THEY DIDN'T WANT TO TELL YOU ABOUT IN THE FIRST PLACE. I HOPE YOU'RE FOLLOWING ME. IF NOT, TRUST ME ON THIS, GO WITH ANOTHER COMPANY.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 03, 2019
discover will hurt you in the end
ericbarlow21 Cardholder

credit score was in the 490's, got the secured card for $500, perfect payment history, worked hard to improve credit, discover refunded the $500 deposit, eventually raised the limit to $2000, kept working to improve my score, never had any issues, raised score 160 points in 18 months, then today go to use my card and the transaction is declined. call discover and find out they cut my limit to $500 for no reason, so now it appears my card is nearly maxed out, credit limit usage is now seen as very high, score down nearly 50 points. called customer service and they wouldnt help, talked to a manager, they didnt have any reason, they don't care. dont waste your time... capital one cards have been much better. discover will erase all your work in the end.

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
ericbarlow21 Cardholder

credit score was in the 490's, got the secured card for $500, perfect payment history, worked hard to improve credit, discover refunded the $500 deposit, eventually raised the limit to $2000, kept working to improve my score, never had any issues, raised score 160 points in 18 months, then today go to use my card and the transaction is declined. call discover and find out they cut my limit to $500 for no reason, so now it appears my card is nearly maxed out, credit limit usage is now seen as very high, score down nearly 50 points. called customer service and they wouldnt help, talked to a manager, they didnt have any reason, they don't care. dont waste your time... capital one cards have been much better. discover will erase all your work in the end.

more ...
May 25, 2019
Confused About All The Bad Reviews!
Lkjhfd Cardholder

I my Discover card. I've had this card for about 7 month's, I'm rebuilding my credit which is now in the fair range, and yet they gave me a chance. When there was some confusion about my 0% APR I was able to speak with a real person, which goes a long way, and best of all, they give you all the cashback you were promised quarterly when you signed up, as well as the regular monthly cashback. So maybe I haven't been with them long enough to be as screwed over as some of these comments suggest, but from my standpoint they have done nothing but 5 star business with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 30, 2019

When you become a member for years and you put your balance to zero, they’ll close your account and mess up your credit

 
May 11, 2019
No cardholder protection
Dolomite123 Cardholder

In case if you have any disputes with supporting documents you will ALWAYS LOSE! I had bogus charges - they denied my claims even if addresses and names were 1500 miles away from me. Other case was where I returned items and didnt get a refund - they also denied the claim. Cancelled transactions that posted to my account - also denied. Basically it's a very dangerous card. Whoever has a card number they can max it out and you will pay for it. Not recommend at all. Disputes department is usually hanging up the phone when trying to sort out the things.

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Worst company to do credit business
perk54 Cardholder

 I’ve had a credit card with Discover for a little over 3 1/2 years. I recently got hurt was out of work for a year. Discover card did not want to work with me. I paid a perfect monthly for the last three years prior to getting hurt. I recently close the account with a balance did not want to work with me with payment plan and they were very tactical about trying to put a judgment on me. Please if you have any sense do not do business with this company. 

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Great card
Lkjhfd Cardholder

I got a $700 CLI without requesting one in only 3 months. I'm rebuilding my credit and have never been given anything without begging for it. Which of course, is my fault, because I didnt care in the past about what I did to my cedit. So I created a very versatile credit report with loans and credit card accounts. And kept everything in perfect payment. So it feels good that Discover respects that.

more ...
Mar 15, 2019
Ecellent card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card, as I get rewards on evergything. Not the best reward rate, but still is nice to get cash bonuses on things. Every time I asked for a credit increase, it went through with no problem! This then improved my credit score :) Then, when I went through a rough patch when I was umemployed for 4 months, while having many issues with my home (pipe burst, black mold in the basement, needing foundation repair...), I couldn't pay the full balance and had some interest on the card. I called them up and asked if they could do anything to help in light of my past 3 years of never missing a payment. They forgave one out of the 4 months of interest charges for me. That is more than I expected and I am very pleasantly surprised!

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Horrible
Lujo1968 Cardholder

I just had my limit dropped by $1,600 dollars for no reason! They claim I had a late payment hit my credit but this is not true! Do not waste your time with this company! AMEX just gave an upgrade to Platinum.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
They have the worst customer service!!!!
Ink1 Cardholder

Avoid Discover at all cost.

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
It worked out well for me
WGofCarolinas Cardholder

I saw a lot of negative reviews but had a friend that used the card and I decided to try it out.  I had a very good experience.  I've had the card almost two years now.  I usually pay it off at the end of each week just to keep my credit score up.  As you know the more of your available balance that is used on the credit report the lower your score will go. After a year with them, they sent me a check refunding my security deposit and increased my limit to boot.  So far this is the best card I've had with the exception of my Belk store card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Discover it®