Discover it®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
177 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 19, 2017
Create a possibility.
Emerson789 Cardholder

Chapter 7 discharged a few short months ago. Took a risk and applied for Discover. A few days later, the card arrived.
With a 665 Fico, and a pretty decent salary, I was given a $5500.00 limit.
It can only get better!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 28, 2016
Discover kicks you when you are down!
OSUElvin Cardholder

Discover card has a strict policy of kicking you when you are down. We are in the process of moving for work. While selling our house we were required by the lender to pay for a new roof on our home prior to closing. Work started at our new location before the house sale closed so we are paying both rent and a mortgage. Getting the utilities(electric, gas, water, and internet) set up at the new location caused 4 new credit inquiries. Having to pay rent, a mortgage, and $14k for a roof cause my credit card utilization to increase significantly. This of course caused my credit score to go down. Then Discover card lowered my credit limit to within $125 of my current balance. This further increases my credit card utilization therefore FURTHER lowering my credit score and it takes away purchasing power when I need it the very most! I called Discover card to get my available credit back and the first operator transferred me to her manager and they transferred me to someone else again. They said they just cant do it. I explained to them that I have had a flawless account with them for several years and if they could not give me the credit back they would lose me as a customer. They told me there was nothing anyone there could do because of their policies and my credit score. So in 2 weeks when my house closes I will be pay my credit cards off. I will not be using Discover card for balance transfers or purchases ever again. I don’t want to give my money to a company that kicks you when you are down and says must do this because that is their policy.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
BEST rewards system
Brooklyn95 Cardholder

I got this card a little less than a year ago with a credit score of about 600. I was approved instantly with a $500 credit limit.

The rotating cash back has been great for me as they had Amazon in the category for 6 months and I was able to earn almost $60 cashback from that alone! The first 6 months of the card is interest free as well, and the entire first year they DOUBLE your cash back. I'm the type of person who pays off a card right away so that's great for me since I'm not paying interest and essentially getting free money. If you're a student, you can earn an additional $20 a year for a GPA of 3.0 or higher. You can also buy gift cards with your cash back that have a higher value than you pay. For example, there are some that you pay $40 of your cashback for a $50 gift card. For cruiselines, you only pay half of the giftcard's value.If you use my referral link, we can both get $50 cashback as well! https://refer.discover.com/s/btdib

 My only complaint is that in order to request a limit increase, you need to call them and have another hard inquiry pulled. Because of this, I have decided not to request an increase yet.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
UPDATE
BrittBrat95 Cardholder

I reviewed this card roughly 2 weeks ago and here is an update as the title says (: So I finally got the card in the mail after 2 long weeks. I was super excited. The black chrome card is very sleek and what not but not for me. Luckily they have 10 other designs to choose from after you open an account and I went with the Beachy looking one. It has palm trees and the ocean on it. Super cute. Anywho, since i've gotten this card i've only used it for gas and other smal purchases and as soon as they post (3 days later) I pay them off. I dont let it sit and continously add up. My credit score was 512 TU and 508 EQ before this card and my current auto loan. Now my score is at 570 TU and 567 EQ with both my Discover card and auto loan. I was so shocked to see my score jump like that. This card is awesome. Another great thing is that customer service is prompt and they SPEAK ENGLISH!!!! I love using the Live chat feature in the app instead of picking the phone up and actually conversing verbally. This card also has amazinggggg rewards and cash back options depending on where you shop. If you can't approved for anywhere else definetly try Discover. I honestly recommend to my friends and family to apply for Discover FIRST. No other secured cards have rewards programs like Discover. You usually have to have a "real" credit card for them but not with Discover. I will update again in roughly 7 months because they say they give back your deposit after 7 months of responsible use and on time payments. I also heard they give CL increases if you are responsible and etc during those 7 months. So, only time will tell on that but overall I am VERY HAPPY that they gave me a chance. (Sorry about any typos if there are any)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 26, 2017

Keep your utilization on that card UNDER 30% and pay off in full every month, or at least make double the minimum payment. Great job getting back in the horse! Keep up the great work! I look forward to seeing your 7 month update!

 
Mar 18, 2017
So far so good!

I just got this card today, and I typically don't write reviews until after I've had the card a while. But this card already deserves 5 stars!

A little backstory on me. 6 months ago my credit was garbage. Low 500s, several collections (mostly medical), car repo from a few years back, tax lien for state taxes, student loans in collections (garnishment AND a tax refund offset), and a judgment from 6 years ago.

Fast forward to today, I've come leaps and bounds when it comes to my credit report. I disputed a bunch of the collections and got most of them off my reports. Rehabbed my student loans. Paid my tax lien. Repo fell off. Judgment should fall off this year. Score in the 640s according to Credit Karma.

I've been waiting to get in the upper 600s before I started applying for more cards. I started off with a Fingerhut card and a secured Capital One card. I also applied for a Credit One card a couple of months ago. I have perfect payment history on all of them. They're junk cards but I've been using them for what they're there for. Strictly to build credit. Sometimes I carry balances but not usually much.

So two weeks ago, I decided to try and apply for a couple store cards. My ultimate goal is to have 2-3 regular credit cards and a couple store cards for the ones I frequent. I applied and was approved for both store cards. I instantly got excited because it's been 10 years since I've had decent credit and could get approved for anything.

So I'm thinking at this point, I've already taken the hit. I may as well try for the regular cards I want and let them all age together. I plan for these cards to be permanent in my credit profile so I'm okay with getting them all at the same time, letting my score dip a bit because of the new accounts, and letting them age together so I have a strong credit background.

I tried for a regular Capital One card, and I'm not going to go into that LOL, but I don't plan on being a Capital One customer much longer. So I thought screw it, I'm going to try for Discover because wth. Worst they can do is say no. BAM! Instantly approved for $1700. Now I don't believe in 5 starring cards for being approved or 1 starring them for being denied. That's not what the rating system is for. I'm 5 starring them today because I was approved last Sunday night and I already have my card 6 days later. Most cards take 2 weeks to get here! They have a fantastic rewards program (I'm still in shock I was approved for a card with rewards!!!). The packaging the card came in was really cool. So far they more than deserve 5 stars for how professional they are. Getting the card quick and sending it in special packaging puts them above other card companies.

As far as use, I've used it today. No issues, but I'll obviously need to check back in a few months after payments have been made. I haven't downloaded the app yet but I'm guessing it's prob going to be well designed.

One other reason I want to put this review out there is that everyone needs to know NOT to rely on Credit Karma scores. It's a great website that gives you an idea of where you're at, but your scores aren't correct. Mine are showing in the 640s and Discover sent me my FICO and it was 705. That's a pretty big difference in the credit world when it comes to being approved or denied. So keep that in mind!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
First Credit Card

Got instant approval and received the card within a couple weeks. Immediately started using it and making payments via the app is super easy, especially once you link a bank account.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Just received it
BrittBrat95 Cardholder

I applied for the card 2/23 and got approved. I just got it today. So far I really like the app. It's very resourceful and easy to navigate.  My credit score is 512. So you don't have to have the best credit or essentially good credit to get approved. They have 10 different card designs to choose from as well! I'm glad they gave me a chance since I didn't get approved for the Citi Bank Or Capitol One card even though CK said my approval odds were good and etc. I'll update this after a month or so!

more ...
Mar 11, 2017

Did you get approved for the secured or unsecured version?

 
Mar 17, 2017

HOW MUCH DID THEY APPROVE FOR?!

 
Mar 20, 2017

tjohnson5778 I applied for the secured card. Did not apply for the unsecured.

syneetha I did the minimum deposit that they require but I am increasing it after 1 full month

 
Mar 07, 2017
I feel ripped off
LantanaAl Cardholder

Discover's price match benefit appears rigged to deny your claims. They declined my price match on a TV because the lower price I found included a FREE HDMI cable. Seriously? I now avoid using Discover whenever I can. Discover used to be my favorite CC but no longer.

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
Approved after offer on the website
aburtoniii Cardholder

So I went to the discover prequalify website and saw it said, "We have found a personalized offer for you." It showed me personalized APR so I went ahead and applied for the offer. Received, "Unfortunately the offer we had for you has been declined, but we have another offer for you - Would you like to accept that offer." I selected yes to the other offer and got the 60 second window again and then it came up with, "You have been approved for a Discover IT card with a credit line of $2,200 dollars." My credit score on creditkarma was a 653 and my actual TU 619 - EX 627 not sure about Equfiax but creditkarma has me at 658. 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Approved with a 549 FICO from Equifax
GenevaJA Cardholder

The paper I received with the card says I was approved with a 549 FICO from Equifax. My chapter 7 bankruptcy was disposed of on 1/24/17. On 2/4/17, Credit Karma showed my Vantage score at 552 from Equifax & 588 from Transunion. I figured I minus well start the path to rebuild my credit so I applied for the Discover card w/ a $200 deposit on 2/6/17. I received it on 2/22/17 but it already reported as an open account on my credit report on 2/19/17. With this account added to my credit report, my Vantage score is now at 617 from Equifax & 634 from Transunion. I am very happy given that it has only been 30 days since my bankruptcy was disposed and I am on my way to having a good credit score again. FYI: I have 4 other open accounts on my credit report which have good payment history, 3 school loans & 1 capitol one secured card account which was closed but still appears on my credit report. Please remember everyone is different. I told my sister about this card and she applied with a similar score as mine but was denied. It could be that my bankruptcy closed all my negative accounts and hers are still open. I recommended OpenSky to her given that they do not do a credit check at all, just a deposit. I also applied for that on the same day but it has not reported to my credit yet.

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Approved w/ a 549 FICO from Equifax
GenevaJA Cardholder

My chapter 7 bankruptcy was disposed of on 1/24/17. On 2/4/17, Credit Karma showed my Vantage score at 552 from Equifax & 588 from Transunion. I figured I minus well start the path to rebuild my credit so I applied for the Discover card w/ a $200 deposit on 2/6/17. I received it on 2/22/17 but it already reported as an open account on my credit report on 2/19/17. With this account added to my credit report, my Vantage score is now at 617 from Equifax & 634 from Transunion. I am very happy given that it has only been 30 days since my bankruptcy was disposed and I am on my way to having a good credit score again. FYI: I have 4 other open accounts on my credit report which have good payment history, 3 school loans & 1 capitol one secured card account which was closed but still appears on my credit report. Please remember everyone is different. I told my sister about this card and she applied with a similar score as mine but was denied. It could be that my bankruptcy closed all my negative accounts and hers are still open. I recommended OpenSky to her given that they do not do a credit check at all, just a deposit. I also applied for that on the same day but it has not reported to my credit yet.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
I graduated to a $1000 CL!
Teavey Cardholder

I started out with a secured card. I gave them a $200 deposit and got my card about a week later. I kept using it and paying it off regularly. 9 months later I went online to check my balance and I nearly fell out of my chair when I saw that my credit limit was unexpectedly raised to $1000! I was expecting it to be raised to around $300-$500 after a full year of having it but nevertheless, they saw fit to raise my limit. I don't know if/when I'm getting my deposit back but I'm so happy to have $1000 in unsecured credit that I ALMOST would be OK with not getting it back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 17, 2017

U ROCK! WHAT WAS YOUR SCORES AT THE TIME OF INCREASE?!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

177 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i