Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
197 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 22, 2016
Unbelievable
Discovered8487 Cardholder

Amazing... After a nightmarish divorce my credit was left on life support so I set off to rebuild it.  My scores now were:  662/672. CK said "good" chances. I read the reviews, I liked what I read so I applied. Seconds later I wa told by Discover that I was approved for the highest credit limit thus far, I was approved for $11,500. OMG my legs went numb. I stared at that number for awhile and it didn't change. I received my card a couple days ago and it's still the over 10 grand number. Today I'm a happy camper and happier still that Discover gave me a shot out: The ex is my rear view mirror, fading fast and I can finally can see the light at the end of  a very dark tunnel.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 04, 2017
Rip off
Dariusowens Cardholder

Be wary of the Discover dispute process. I've been a member of discover for over 10 years and only had to dispute a few times but it is an obstacle getting to the dipute specialist to hear you out or even rule in your favor with supporting documentation

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
I graduated to a $1000 CL!
Teavey Cardholder

I started out with a secured card. I gave them a $200 deposit and got my card about a week later. I kept using it and paying it off regularly. 9 months later I went online to check my balance and I nearly fell out of my chair when I saw that my credit limit was unexpectedly raised to $1000! I was expecting it to be raised to around $300-$500 after a full year of having it but nevertheless, they saw fit to raise my limit. I don't know if/when I'm getting my deposit back but I'm so happy to have $1000 in unsecured credit that I ALMOST would be OK with not getting it back.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Fraudulent activity, no resolution!!
fs1234 Cardholder

In June of 2015, I had my credit card used to subscribe to a $20 service that I didn't authorize.  I had not used my discover card for many months, I just kept it in case of emergency; therefore, I didn't pay my bill (I only had this $20 fee for some online service which was not authorized and was determined to be illegal).  I realized this in Jan. of 2017 and called after seeing on my credit report that I had a 30, 60, and 90 day late report for discover.  I called and explained that I did not pay that $20 bill because I did not authorize it to be charged; therefore, had no idea I had this charge.  DISCOVER WOULD NOT WORK WITH ME TO GET THIS REMOVED EVEN WHEN THEY DEEMED IT FAUDULENT ACTIVITY.   I am trying to refinance and just because of this one late fee from Discover my credit score dropped below 750, putting me in a different interest rate bracket.  I opened my account in 2009 and have never had any other late fees, 8 year customer!!  Very disapointed but its harsher on your credit to close the account.  WISH I NEVERED OPENED IT WITH THEM!!!!

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Terrible with credit dispute
fs1234 Cardholder

In June of 2015, I had my credit card used to subscribe to a $20 service that I didn't authorize.  I had not used my discover card for many months, I just kept it in case of emergency; therefore, I didn't pay my bill (I only had this $20 fee for some online service which was not authorized and was determined to be illegal).  I realized this in Jan. of 2017 and called after seeing on my credit report that I had a 30, 60, and 90 day late report for discover.  I called and explained that I did not pay that $20 bill because I did not authorize it to be charged; therefore, had no idea I had this charge.  DISCOVER WOULD NOT WORK WITH ME TO GET THIS REMOVED EVEN WHEN THEY DEEMED IT FAUDULENT ACTIVITY.   I am trying to refinance and just because of this one late fee from Discover my credit score dropped below 750, putting me in a different interest rate bracket.  I opened my account in 2009 and have never had any other late fees, 8 year customer!!  Very disapointed but its harsher on your credit to close the account.  WISH I NEVERED OPENED IT WITH THEM!!!!

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
You can't go wrong with Discover It
crlbe Cardholder

I love this card because of the customer service and the rewards that are actual rewards you can see, use and benefit from.

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Love mine so far!
Anonymous Cardholder

Great cash back program. Credit cards are great to build your credit and you get "free" money from cash back. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
CK said Poor odds, but I got a 2800$ CL!
gamergirl Cardholder

Credit Karma gave me a pretty much "poor" approval rating based on my credit, (according to CK 571 transunion and 595 experian) and I want approved for the initial application but then I got a screen saying I was approved for a secondary card which was this one! Higher interest rate, lower cash back awards but a 2800$ credit limit! 

Im also 5 months out from my Chapter 7 discharge (when I've been told you need to be out for at least 2 years before approval through Discover) 

this is the largest credit limit I've ever had and I'm excited to get on the road to rebuilding my credit score! Now that I have a discover card I know I'm on the road to recovery! 

dont always listen to what credit Karma says you'll be approved for! Sometimes it'll surprise you!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 09, 2017

credit limit? did you have to put that amount down?

 
Feb 06, 2017
Pretty good
Anonymous Cardholder

Rewards are decent. Nice app. All arounds nice.

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Great for beginners best rewards.
Anonymous Cardholder

This card offers to double your rewards after the first years. So your effectively getting 2% on all purchases iand 10% on rotating categories. Great customer service too would recommend to anyone

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Approved with 3k CLI
Endlezzdrifter Cardholder

Have been building my credit of the past 2 years by being very responsible and 100% payments on all CCs. I have capitalone Plat 2k, capitalone quicksilver 1500k, amex everyday 4.2k, and silly chase with a believe it or not $500 limit. I have ficos hovering all around 680s and I'm never late on anything. This card automatically approved me for 3k this morning. I think I'm going to close that chase card.

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Create a possibility.
Emerson789 Cardholder

Chapter 7 discharged a few short months ago. Took a risk and applied for Discover. A few days later, the card arrived.
With a 665 Fico, and a pretty decent salary, I was given a $5500.00 limit.
It can only get better!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

197 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i