Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover it®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
216 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 24, 2016
Easy CLI button; True FICO score. LoveIt
laralee16 Cardholder

Received several mail offers for a DiscoverIt card, so I applied.  Got a bait-and-switch response, raising my interest rate which I didn't care about because my goal is to build my credit so I pay off the card every month, no interest!

When I got approval, it was for $1200 with 682TU, 647EQ.  5 months later, I tried my luck with the "Request a credit limit increase" button on the website, and instantly got bumped to $1800.  2 months after that, Discover sends me an email telling me my limit rose again, to $2300.  3 months after that, I tried my luck again on the website, and my limit is now $3500!  That button is great; no waiting, no calling, no hard pull (unless they say they need to, but haven't for me), just instant boost to my credit score by lowering utilization percentage (I pay it off monthly but my balance has been around $400/month).

They hard pull from Equifax, and the FICO score they give you is Transunion.  To compare with CK score, that same month I was approved my FICO was 624.  It's now 10 months later, my TU FICO is 669 (CK says 715), and I'm one happy camper, it's definitely my go-to card.

I also really like that they offer a true FICO score, which is more in-line with what real lenders use.  Cap One had been using that model as well but recently changed to the fake one CK uses.  It is consistently about 50-60 points under what CK says, but it's legit.  I don't get my hopes as high thinking my score is as healthy as CK says, I'm still "fair" and it keeps me humble.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 03, 2016
Overwhelmingly average.
ritzjoua Cardholder

I got this card about 3 years after a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. I applied and called the reconsider line, got an 1100$ credit limit. Two years later, I still have that 1100$ credit line. I have never carried a balance, I have never been late. I daily spend with this card and pay it off before the statement closing date. I'd like a higher limit because it's my main card. The rewards are great, the card looks great, the customer service is great! But I need a higher limit than 1100$! Every time I request a CLI, the reason for denial is the old bankruptcy. If it's such a problem, why did you even approve the card? 

Discover also seems to do things for no reason. They randomly lowered my limit to 500$ due to "notice of bankruptcy". After arguing with the lady on the phone for 20 minutes and explaining the bankruptcy was many years ago, I told them I was cancelling. The next day my limit was raised back to 1100$

Overall, I think this a great card. The rewards program is top notch. But don't expect any logic from how Discover operates.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 07, 2017
APPROVED!
Athena2017 Cardholder

Fico Scores hovering in the 620's , approved today with higher int rate on the Discover IT card. With a starting limit of $2,000 . 

Customer service was really helpful and nice. They must treat their Employees Well. 

Hopefully i can get an increase soon . $2000 is not  big deal for ppl with good credit but this is a big deal for me Thank you ! Discover!

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Applied 1/6/17 GOT IT.. $3000
Anonymous Cardholder

God is good.. 645eq 707tu 666ex.. cap one plat.. cap one quick.. . I used discovers free credit score card they offer.. it's a soft pull experian score.. find the site log in, they will offer you a card based on that score.. it was cash card.. I applied online right then.. Florida.. $110000.. waited for a minute or so.. told me to call.. I did.. asked my income.. I told them.. approved $3000.. he said welcome to the discover family.. did do hard pull on ex.. reading the agreement it says it will be a TU.. but that hasn't shown up yet..   GOD IS GOOD!!!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Rip off
Dariusowens Cardholder

Be wary of the Discover dispute process. I've been a member of discover for over 10 years and only had to dispute a few times but it is an obstacle getting to the dipute specialist to hear you out or even rule in your favor with supporting documentation

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
2 Years after BK- Approved!
kelp1978 Cardholder

My husband and I are 2 years out of BK and we have been Turbo Gardening since. We both we approved for CapOne QS cards about 6 months after discharge. I read a lot of forums that said Discover wouldn't approve unless it was closer to 4 years out, but it has been awhile since I had applied for credit and decided to pull the trigger....fingers crossed the whole time....and APPROVED! My very first non-subprime unsecured card. It feels good when hard work starts to pay off.

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

By far my best card.  The discover card gives 5% cash back in rotating categories that always apply to me, it also doubles what ever cash back you earn your first year which is awesome.  I was able to get this card with 0 credit history.  and was instantly approved for a 1k limit hich increased within months.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Good in a long run
Anonymous Cardholder

Have the discover it card less than a year with a 500 limit, months later went up to 2k

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
The best so far..

Been with Discover for years now. By far the best credit card around.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
It Works

Customer service is good. The website where you can manage your account is beautiful and easy to navigate. The cash back categories work for me. Free TU FICO score.

However...

If you have this card and try to sign up for Discover Scorecard you will be denied access becuase of a bug in their system preventing you to do so.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 67,132
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Discover it®

216 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i