Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Continental Finance Cerulean Hybrid Card - OFFER EXPIRED

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.5 5

Reviews (22)

Add Review
Feb 16, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

I understand this card is to help those trying to rebuild their credit.  However, they don't report to the 3 major credit agencies, and they never increase your credit limit.  Payments take forever to post, and the monthly usage fees eat up most of your payment, if you only pay the minimum due.  Not worth it, it does not help your build credit, but it does help line their pockets.  I closed my my account and paid it off.  Good riddance to bad rubbish.  

more ...
Aug 07, 2014
Card from hell!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for awhile. It is almost imposible to pay it off due to all the bs fees. I made a payment the day before it was due and got a late charge. I wish i had read reviews before i got this card. I have not bought anything on this card in a year and somehow im maxed out. I do have other cards and i can see where my money goes with them, but not this card. I really do not see how theses scammers have not been sued! I will be paying this off and closing it out!

more ...
Feb 05, 2014
The worst credit card company out there.
cathie222 Cardholder

I have had this card for six years. I have always paid my bill before the due date. I have never once missed a payment. I have had available credit on this card just "disappear." In the six years I have had the card by credit has approved so much that I have credit cards with reputable companies. The last one I got was a Barclaycard with a 1700.00 limit.

In the six years I have had this card never once has my credit limit been raised. In the last three months I have charged nothing on this card and yet after making a payment I never have available credit. They charge 18.00 a month as an account matinence fee and a finance charge of 8.97. My payment is 35.00 a month. I have no idea where the rest of my money is going.  These people are dishonest thiefs. My best advise is DO NOT do business with them!!

more ...
Sep 06, 2013
Waste of time read the "fine print"
Anonymous Cardholder

As soo as I got the card they started calling me before my bill was due. I hadn't even activated it. Ok I go to use it and make a payment on the phone, its all good ti they tell you at the end, there's a $10 Western Union fee! So I tell no thanks and pay it online. The next day, the payent clears my bank. One week later I check my available balance and Credit Availale. Zero balance, $300 limit. I go to Target to shop, card won't go through. I call and they say there is a 8-10 hold for on-line paymens. I told them the transaction # and it cleared a week ago. THEY DON'T CARE! I was told to read the fine print in contract regarding on line payments.They suck

more ...
Aug 03, 2013
Waste of time.
jeffschandler Cardholder

This card has not reported to the big 3 credit bureaus and I have had it for two months.  I paid $75 for the annual fee and was planning to only keep it open for the first year where there are no other fees, but why bother keeping it?  Nobody else knows if I am using it and making payments on time because it isn't being reported monthly by them.  Should've kept my $75, would've bought a lot of

more ...
Jul 11, 2013
Does this even report to the bureaus?
leeznay Cardholder

I applied for this card, got a $300 line of unsecured credit. Yay! Annual fee is annoying, but whatever, I have horrible credit. I charged a pizza to the card, bringing my balance to just under $100, and paid it off as of a few days ago. I don't plan on using this card though. My issue is that I've gotten three new cards all around the same time, and this card is NOT reporting to the bureau, credit karma can't even link it. I don't want to close it or I will be out the annual fee, but do I want to keep using a card that isn't even showing up on my report?

more ...
Nov 10, 2013

I takes them months for them to report to the bureaus.  Usually 2 - 3 months after you've already setup the account.  I think that they don't initially report the account to the bureaus since a lot of people cancel the account right after they get it setup.  Their website is a joke.  It takes 8 days for your payment to post.  Just like First Premier, they kill you with fees.  They never give you a credit limit increases.  Horrible card.... though I'd like to cancel before the next annual fee, I know that might lower my score as well.... They were just acquired as well by Mid America Bank & Trust.  

Mar 08, 2013
Don't apply Scam!!!!!

I applied for this card several months ago from the advice of credit karma to rebuild my credit.  1st they put 2 inquiries on my credit report brought my credit score down 45 points.  I was told online I was approved for an unsecured limit of 300.00 but before the card could be sent out I had to pay a $50.00 fee.  I paid the $50.00 fee they took the money out 2 business days later.  I was told the card would be delivered by the next week.  I received nothing had to research the internet to finally find a number for customer service to be told you card just went out you should receive it in 7 additional business days.  10 days later I called back and was then asked what is your address gave them my home address and was told oh we sent the card to a different address which i had not lived at for 5 years asked why that is not the address i used on the application they could not answer the question.  I was then told to fax a copy of my drivers license to corporate office and wait another 7 business days for them to updated the system and reissue the card.  Asked if the card had been returned to them because i still had a change address on file and i usually get the mail from my old address.  I was told oh we dont know.  7 days later i was told the information i faxed over was unclear couldn't be read so they did not resend the card.  Asked to have my application removed from system as I had enough of the run around.  Guess what they said that will take up to 90 days.  Are you serious after they made the screw up took my money in 2 business days i have to wait for 90 days for you to returm my money!!!!  This company sucks and takes advantage of people trying to rebuild their credit.  I will rebuild my credit score some other way no thank you !!!!

more ...
Feb 21, 2013
Last choice card for desperate credit
mikey4833 Cardholder

This card is just a rip off. Capital one is way better than this company. I applied for this card, was approved right away for a $300 limit everyone gets the same limit but you must have some good payment history or you'll get the secured version. I called to activate it and they would not stop hounding me about paying that $75 annual fee. It is rediculus the way they kept basically going on and on about paying that fee when I didn't even have a statement yet... Well I was stupid and I paid the fee after they waived that $11 fee. But I called within the first month and closed it out and it took them forever to refund my $75. It never even showed up on my credit report as closed or anything I wonder do they even report to the bureaus? Maybe you have to have their card longer but it should still be reported as closed.. There are better options out there available for rebuilding credit.

more ...
Feb 13, 2013
Card Closed $0 bal - Sent to Collections
psychicmike Cardholder

I had this credit card to re-build my credit. Paid it always on time for over 6 years. I finally decided to pay it off and go with another card that offerred my no annual fee or monthly fees. Last September I made my last and final payment of $80.00 and I closed the account with a $0.00 balance. Now it's February 2013 I pulled a credit report and it shows a balance of $329 on my closed credit card. I immediately called customer service and they told me that I owed them $329.00 and it was charged off and sent to a collection agency. I argued with them repeatedly and told them I paid the account off and closed it last year. They were extremely rude and gave me the corporate fax number and said I had to fax them proof I made my final payment to them. Strangely on my credit report it shows I just owe the balance and that the account is current. Yet I logged into their website pulled all the transaction histories and it shows a $0.00 balance for October thru December 2012. If the account was still open I would have been billed their $50.00 annual fee and $10.00 monthly maintenance fee. I am really frustrated while I sit here and stir and wait for them to contact me. I have no other choice but to wait and PRAY they resolve this. The represenative at customer service would not even give me any information on the collection agency they supposedly sent this charged off debt they claimed I owed. I would like to sue this bank for fraud. I am trying to find any action I can take against them if it ends up being reported as a collection on my reports. I never once received one phone call of any balance, past due owed, a collection letter from any agency in the 5 months since I closed the account. If anyone has any advice on what I can do to take legal action please reply to my review. Never get a credit card from this fee harvesting bank. There will be no way to contact them if you have an issue with wrongfully being billed on a debt you don't owe accept sending a fax. The BBB has over 99 complaints filed to date. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2013

You can get that off of your credit report by opening a dispute with each of the three credit agencies. The creditor/agency  will have 30 day to prove you owe. If you have all the proof you stated they won't be able to do that. If any collection agency did report that false info then  it gets removed day one after the 30 days.

Mar 07, 2013

hi, i read your review and i don't know how much help this will be. my sister had an issue with her credit report and there is apparently an option to dispute it with that credit agency. upon contacting them they asked for all proof she had against the dispute be sent to them and that an investigation would be done. her investigation is still under way so i can't tell you how helpful it is. hope your able to get it straightened out!!!

Apr 14, 2013

you need to submit in writing that the account has been paid in full including your proof of payments and balance info showing from the credit card website to all three credit bureaus. when you write them, tell them to update your account as paid in full. it will initiate a DISPUTE where the credit bureaus will contact the company hopefully to help get it straight. 

hopefully that helps. 

a. Davis 

Apr 17, 2013

It might be a wise thing to contact your congressman and obtain a copy of the Fair Debt Collection Act as well as the Fair Credit Reporting Act (these might take a bit of reading, but always helps to be educated on things like this.)

Apr 18, 2013

**UPDATE***  This issue has been resolved!  I filed a consumer complaint on - The next day I got a phone call from the Assitant Vice President of Continental Finance. She apologized to me for my stress and for their error.  My account had never been sent to collections. I did not owe the balance that they said I did. She immediately updated all 3 credit reporting agencies and followed up with faxing me proof it was taken care of. I was completely shocked when I was contacted so quickly. They take these reports seriously and have alerts set up to notify them of complaints. 

Apr 24, 2013

Any update on what hapened with the situation? Wonering if I should apply.

Feb 11, 2013
Approved for secured with 29.9%

If I wanted a secured card. i would apply with my bank where the interest rate if reasonable. I was approved but I declined. I will not pay someone to charge me to use m own money. 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 588
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Continental Finance Cerulean Hybrid Card - OFFER EXPIRED