Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Dividend Platinum Select® Visa® Card - EXPIRED OFFER

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 19, 2012
used this for 2 yrs, good experiences
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card while I was in school, to help finance my professional licence exam prep. At the time my Transunion score was about 720, and I was approved for a $4,000 line, 0% for 7 months, and 13.99% thereafter. I've gotten periodic line increases since then, basedon my requests, and currently have a line of $14,500. The cashback rewards are quite good and easy to use--though Discover is really better in that regard, not everywhere takes it. I also got a promotional deal AFTER the intro 0% period was over, allowing me to take advantage of a 0% for 12 months balance transfer for a 3% transaction fee, allowing me to consolidate a good bit of other debt for an effective APR of 3%. 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 16, 2013
Do not apply for this card

Do not apply for this card or any Citi cards if you have a bankruptcy of any kind, they will not take you from what the customer care rep stated, the application processes just is very vague and does not give you a detail of any kind. Customer care is hard to understand as well. I tried to call and see if maybe i applied for the wrong card, some banks have different cards for different types of clients. but they said w don't take you at all. I was kind of taken back by how they were you r not wanted at all.

I do have a BOA AMEX, Discover card and Capital one card. so I'm ok, just don't like that it hit my credit as a hard hit and I have fisco score of 710.

more ...

Reviews (64)

Add Review
Dec 25, 2015
MikeWilkes Cardholder

I've had this card since coming out of college and they do reward you for big spending.  The customer service sucks as I am always needing to speak with an account manager who ends up needing to submit a request to another department. 

more ...
Apr 26, 2015
Marange Cardholder

I've had this card for more than TEN years and ironically it has the lowest line of credit at $3,500. All of my other cards are at least 10K and up. When I inquired two weeks ago about getting the limit raised they wanted me to switch to the Double Cash card and cancel the Dividend card. After telling them that I already have money still on this card and if the rewards would transfer they said no. Why offer since I'm still below the minimum of $50 to redeem? They were fast to replace the card after a break in but the rotating categories have gotten worse, as well as fewer participating stores in each category. Don't get me wrong I read the fine print but I'm getting tired of this card and they are also extremely limiting when it comes to balance transfers as well. If you think you can get a credit card to do a student loan transfer with Citi you'd better think again. Discover has card limits that are too low and I'm looking for a card to replace this one, however my Capital One Quicksilver card Visa Signature with no annual fee is much better  (and NO foreign transaction fees, unlike Double Cash). I just don't use this card and will probably cancel it after I find a different card (non Citi) that will work with my spending habits to increase rewards. My payments have been 100% on time and ahead of the grace period so I don't earn them interest.

more ...
Feb 16, 2015
Poor customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a cardholder since 2012. I patiently wait until my cash back balance reaches $50 until redeeming, no problem, I know that's the deal. Became eligible for my cash back in early December 2014, and requested my check. A month goes by, nothing came. I called customer service mid-January, requested a new check as the first had apparently been lost in the mail. As of mid-February, still nothing, and it had now been 2 months. Called back, explained I had been waiting over two months for the rewards check. Turns out they never re-issued in January. Considering the two month wait, I requested they just issue the rewards balance as a statement credit. They refused and are insisting on sending me a check in the mail for a third time. Such poor customer service, I am thinking of closing the account, I guess three years of my business doesn't mean much to them.

more ...
Jan 15, 2015
Great card; horrible credit card company
Anonymous Cardholder

After more than 30 years as a customer, they instantly cancelled my account when I informed them that my husband had passed away. All my other credit card companies have just transferred the card into my name. Very harsh treatment at such a difficult time.

more ...
Dec 22, 2014
Citi Bonus Cash Center is hocum
cloudfighter Cardholder

Used to have this card. Never received the dividend points for shopping through Citi's "cashback bonus center". When called up customer service, was told that apparently they can not confirm that the purchases were actually made. Pathetic attempt, because the purchases were also in my statements by then and I had already paid up for them.

Lost more then $100 using this card. Never will have an account with Citi. My advice stay away, Citi's bankruptcy was not only financial, it is professional as well.

Bye, bye Citi !

more ...
Nov 03, 2014
You may not receive dividends.
Anonymous Cardholder

The Citi Dividend card will ONLY pay you your dividends (cash back amount) in increments of $50.  If you close the account with a balance, you will lose your dividends.  If the card isn't active for 12 months, you will lose your dividends.  If you don't use the card very often, your dividends balance will just remain.

I've put about $2000 on the card and earned about $33.  However, Citi won't pay me my earned dividends until the balance reaches $50.  I figure I'd have to spend another $950.

I applied for the card for the cash back but won't use it if I'm always "chasing" the dividends.  I found all of this out by recently emailing customer service after I couldn't figure out how to redeem my $33.  They didn't give me a reason why they only pay cash back in increments of $50 only that that's their policy.

more ...
Sep 26, 2014
Just got this card before close !

I was so lucky to get this card at 8/28 before the application closed. (FICO score is 717 at that time) Now, it was replaced by the double cash back and no citi dividend card anymore, like Forward card. Citi usually would provide a nice credit card. However, if they figure out which card could cause them more money rather then earn profit, they would close the card. And usually, there is no sign for that. You would hear the rumor that they are going to provide new card but no idea which card and when would be closed.

But anyway, this card's pro and cons have been discussed several times. Comparing with Chase Freedom and Discover it, its 5% rotated catagory is not so useful sometimes. But it is not a bad card for a starter and not difficult to get a one since it provides 1% cash back at everything and $100 bonus. Once you have enough credit history, you should get 2% Fidelity or 3% cash back Huntington Voice and mix your best combination to get maxium cash back.    


more ...
May 14, 2014
Approved for 1400 CL with 679 CK score

Applied online and got an error page while it was processing my application.  Called customer service and they said I was approved for $1400 credit limit.  Had a few charge-offs about 4 years back for crappy credit cards, but paid those off eventually and have made 100% on time payments on all my bills for at least 2 years straight.  Kind of surprised I got approved, but goes to show how rebuilding your credit the old fashioned way can pay off.  Age 32, $88k annual income.

more ...
May 12, 2014

Applied for this card last week online and was denied. Said I would get a letter explaining why. Well, today I got an email saying "Congratulations! We are excited to inform you that you have been approved with a credit line of $3,500 and your card will be arriving shortly.  I'm pleasantly surprised and wasn't expecting that. My credit score is 688 with a lot of recent inquiries. I also have Chase Freedom Rewards Visa, BofA Cash Rewards Visa, Barclay Rewards MasterCard and Cap One Platinum MasterCard.

more ...
May 10, 2014
dizzcouraged Cardholder

just approved online told me my cl would be 2,400 received card called to activate asked for cl to 3,500 no problem havent used card yet... customer service was very good when i called tp activate. credit karma 728

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,548
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Citi® Dividend Platinum Select® Visa® Card - EXPIRED OFFER