Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 25, 2018
Highest SL, lowest APR in my wallet
Quaker0ats Cardholder

Applied at 660 TU 651 EQ and 15 inquiries and exactly 1 year of history, 2 secured cards and 1 sub-prime card (Surge), and federal student loans. At my one year aniversary of credit history I suddenly had several 'good' approval odds on CK. Applied and was approved for Capital One Platinum $1k, applied for Chase Freedom Unlimited- denied, applied for Citi Thankyou Preferred- got the '7-10 days', applied Delta Gold Skymiles American Express- approved $1k. Waited 7 days, still no response from Citi. I called and spoke to a very nice and knowledgable man, named Daniel. He said the reason I hadn't gotten a response was that there had been a 'hiccup' in the system. I'm guessing it's because I had to choose the 'other' option because my college wasn't listed, but I never asked. He put me on hold while he 'straightened things out', periodically picking up and letting me know he was still there, still working on it. Anyone who's ever been on hold with a bank will know how comforting that is. It took probably about ten minutes, then he picked up and said "I'd like to be the first to congratulate you on being approved for the Citi Thankyou Prefered credit card with a $2,500 credit line". I was ECSTATIC, I was really just hoping to be approved for like $500. I had applied for several student cards like Capital One Journey and Discover student, and was denied over and over. I had started trying to get credit when I had recently turned 18, and obviously didn't understand how inquiries would affect my score. Hence, not being able to get a decent unsecured card until a year later. Will update in a few months. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2019

3 months later I was give an increase to $3,500

 
Jul 31, 2018
Good Student Card
1boomer31 Cardholder

My credit score is around 670 and I got approved with a $500 credit limit. I was hoping for a little more, but it will help me pay my tuition throughout the year as it is a 0% APR card. Good card for any student that needs a little bit extra for school!

more ...
Aug 01, 2018

Is there no interest for every purchase for 7 months? Or what? I’m confused.

 
Oct 18, 2018

No way? You have a 670 and u got $500 CL. Hum no way..Let me guess credit karma told you you had a 670? If so that's why your limit low. Check your FICO score no your vantage score. Credit karma gives you your vantage score not your fico

 
Jul 07, 2018
Great customer service and phone app
Twinito Cardholder

Really easy to use. I love the reward system on this card. I have used so many different credit cards and by far this is the best. Every 6 months I get my credit line increased automatically (depending on how well you handle it). I highly recommend getting this credit card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 21, 2018

How did you apply for it

 
Jun 20, 2018
Good card with good rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

Citi customer service is usally good. I use it instead of my debit card and have set up autopay to keep it paid in full each month. I did have some issues when I closed my checking account that I did not use where their account manegement system deleted the account and I had to make a new one. It does have a high interest rate, but if you stay paid in full, that doesn't matter. 

more ...
May 13, 2018
First credit card with high approval
GabrielSalas Cardholder

Never owned anything credit related. When I was told to apply because I was a student at a college and had a small income, she said I’d be approved. Sure enough, I got approved and was have been using it to increase my credit score. Currently, I have a credit score of 649 (have a car loan as well), and just the credit card itself helps out.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students