Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 7 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 30, 2017
Saved my Life
Anonymous Cardholder

I was looking for a loan to help pay form my dorm but, I was not eligible due to my lack of credit history. I was a member of citibank for 3 years holding a checking and savings a account with them. I applied through a branch near me and was approved for 2000.00. minumum payment 25.00. I was told my credit was a 670 at the time. Very reliable card. I maxed out the card to pay for my dorm but, quickly paid it back after a month waiting for my student loan. They then increased my limit to 3,000 after having the card for six months. I use the card now for living expenses and any emergencies and I almost maxed it out again. Because my balance was so high the monthly payments were at 67.00 per month. I recently just paid off the balance and they increased my lmit to 4500.00. I love this card. It has helped me build my credit and got me through the school year. Paying off my balance increased my score to 704 -Transunion, 727 EQUIFAX. Only bad thing about the card is the high interest rate.

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
My favorite
Anonymous Cardholder

This is my favorite credit card. I have a few others  including Wells fargo's college card as well as the capital one journey card. All three are for students and although I have had my wf the longest i can definitely say this one is my favorite. To begin with I can always use my points on amazon which is amazing. Second of all they are constantly having promotions for no interest periods of time. Not to mention when I first got it I did not have interest for the first 9 months. I also have the lowest interest rate with them. I started off with an 800 dollar limit and now I am up to 3000. Just be persistent and pay your payments on time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 27, 2017

tes'">ss

 
Sep 18, 2017
Good for international student
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a friend who even had no SSN but he got 500 limits. So when I applied, even though I have my SSN but it's pretty new. But still 500 limits. I believe this will be a good score-builder if you don't care about limits.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
surprisingly accepted
KazhKitsune Cardholder

I just applied and not only did i get accepted, but i got a 2,500 credit limit right away, as well as the 14.74% interest rates! I'm really kindof shocked since my credit score is only 706, my credit history is only 2yrs, and (inclunding student loans) i only make around $20,000 a year. I was expecting rejection when i heard that other people with better credit scores and higher incomes than me were rejected.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Great Rewards Card
eddiep426 Cardholder

I love the Citi thankyou rewards program. It also gives your credit score once a month and has Citi price rewind, which tracks you purchases for 60 days and if a lower price is found you will get back the difference.

  •  

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Denied but FOUGHT to overturn denial.
Pinpuku Cardholder

Let me just say that the only reason I even got in with Citibank is because I fought to have my application reconsidered multiple times. Do not believe the 5 star reviews automatically placed on the front of the page, make sure to change your view to "All Reviews". This card was DIFFICULT to get, and the only reason I got it was because of luck and persistence. I cannot believe the other reviews say that they were approved with a lower score or a more limited credit history than myself, because it seems impossible...  I applied with a ~680 EQ/EXP and a $20k income. I had a perfect payment history and no delinquincies. I had a credit history of 1+ year and had a variety of credit lines (car + installment). Denied for "too many inquiries". I attempted to get the denial reconsidered 10+ times, and after about one month of continously trying every few days, I got a rep that was willing to approve me. She approved me with the lowest limit, after Christmas. Perhaps it was the holiday spirit. I don't know. But Citibank is generally very hardheaded about their denials. Fight if you want but it might waste a complete month of your time like it did for me. I ended up getting the card anyways but the process was just annoying.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 09, 2017

How many credit inquiries were on your report when you were initially declined? Also, does asking for your application to be reconsidered ding your score with another hard pull each time?

 
Dec 01, 2016
High limit
6484scoobydoo Cardholder

So don't forget to add together all your loan and scholarship money as income (yes you can do that!). That bumped my income up from $7,000 to $20,000. 710 transunion/equifax. 739 fico. Fast approval for a $2500 credit limit. You also get this cool feature where you can buy tickets to sold out concerts through Citi so you never have to miss out.

more ...
Jul 28, 2017

You definitely aren't supposed to count student loans as income. Scholarships can be a bit of a grey area, but from my understanding, you can get away with it most of the time. Student loans are not income. They should not be counted as such.

 
Sep 15, 2017

That's a bit dangerous. Student loans don't count as income. Money you have access to (from parents or other sources) do count but student loans don't. As previous commenter said, scholarships are a grey area but generally (I've been told) they cannot be counted because the money is intended to go toward education.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students