Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 7 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 31, 2017
Great Rewards Card
eddiep426 Cardholder

I love the Citi thankyou rewards program. It also gives your credit score once a month and has Citi price rewind, which tracks you purchases for 60 days and if a lower price is found you will get back the difference.

  •  

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Denied but FOUGHT to overturn denial.
Pinpuku Cardholder

Let me just say that the only reason I even got in with Citibank is because I fought to have my application reconsidered multiple times. Do not believe the 5 star reviews automatically placed on the front of the page, make sure to change your view to "All Reviews". This card was DIFFICULT to get, and the only reason I got it was because of luck and persistence. I cannot believe the other reviews say that they were approved with a lower score or a more limited credit history than myself, because it seems impossible...  I applied with a ~680 EQ/EXP and a $20k income. I had a perfect payment history and no delinquincies. I had a credit history of 1+ year and had a variety of credit lines (car + installment). Denied for "too many inquiries". I attempted to get the denial reconsidered 10+ times, and after about one month of continously trying every few days, I got a rep that was willing to approve me. She approved me with the lowest limit, after Christmas. Perhaps it was the holiday spirit. I don't know. But Citibank is generally very hardheaded about their denials. Fight if you want but it might waste a complete month of your time like it did for me. I ended up getting the card anyways but the process was just annoying.

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
High limit
6484scoobydoo Cardholder

So don't forget to add together all your loan and scholarship money as income (yes you can do that!). That bumped my income up from $7,000 to $20,000. 710 transunion/equifax. 739 fico. Fast approval for a $2500 credit limit. You also get this cool feature where you can buy tickets to sold out concerts through Citi so you never have to miss out.

more ...
Jul 17, 2016
Good credit building card.
abhi9cr7 Cardholder

Never ever apply for this card Online, you will end up getting rejected or approved with a hard enquiry. If you are an international student, I suggest you to visit the brach even before you get an SSN and open a bank account. After three months of opening date, visit the branch and apply for this card and you will get approved. I suggest not to update your SSN befoe applying this card as you may have a hard enquiry ( I got this without SSN and avoided Hard enquiry). But update it as soon as you get your card delivered. For people who already have an SSN updated at your branch, you can't avoid hard enquiry, but you will get approved for sure if you apply through branch. Great Free FICO score tool and 90days price monitoring(price match) tool and you can earn considerably good points at restaurants.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 22, 2017

The attempt to not report your ssn when applying this card may still result a hard pull on your credit history. As soon as Citi report your application to the credit bureaus, they are still able to match your file with this application even though you did not provide your ssn.

 
Jun 16, 2016
love card
Anonymous Cardholder

645 cs. 2k limit after six months 2,500 limit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
May 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card. The credit increase is very nice.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card for College Students