Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BP Visa®Card

Approval Odds
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.5 5

Reviews (12)

Add Review
Sep 04, 2016
Horrible, pre-approved, but rejected!

BP sent me pre-approval with congratulatory note and offered me to apply. I thought to take as with hope of rewards for gas, but they had wrong judgment that they rejected. My TU credit score was 639 at the time I applied, but they said, I had 418 TU score. What a crazy judgement!!! Better never accept their so-called pre-approval offer. They do not consider consumer value. I am happy that I am rejected, otherwise I would have to deal with their worst judgement and costumer service while owning their card.

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

16 years,have great credit,27% interest ,goodbye

more ...
May 23, 2016
Awful customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

If you call the # one the back of the card you will be connected to Synchrony bank where you will hear a recording "this is an attempt to collect money",

Then you will go thru several options, none of which are why you called--finally you get a human rep who first tells you that "this is an attempt to collect money",

when you tell her that you don't owe them any money she says that you have been xferred to the wrong department--even tho that is the only contact # on your card, then you get xferred again where you have to repeat all the verification info again.

more ...
Dec 21, 2015
26.9% interest on new purchases!
Anonymous Cardholder

Please, Do the math!  Fortunately, I was only in $100 when the first Sychrony Bank bill showed up.

more ...
Nov 28, 2015
Synchrony Bank is Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a BP visa card for 20 years--have gone through several bank changes, but the one this spring is the definition of disaster! In addition to "losing" my payment during the switch, these are a few of the top customer service fails I've experienced in the past 6mo:

1) denied payment on 3 occasions: One was legitimate fraud. One was at a ****'s Sporting Goods store.  They though it was a purchase in Columbia the country and not the Columbia 5 miles from my house that i shop at every few weeks. One was because I traveled out of state.  I was told that i should call them every time i leave the state. HUH?

2) I've had fraud or possible fraud 3 times in the last six months.  It takes them 5 business days to send a new card. If you happen to be away from home, they cannot figure out how to get the card to you without changing your billing address to your travel address.

3) The "customer service" number on the back of the card is actually the claims department. I've had several claims dept people inform me of this. In fact, one person told me it wasn't his job to provide customer service. HUH?!?!?!?

4) The first person to answer the phone is poorly trained and has no ability to deviate from a written script.  I've called so many times i now politely ask for their manager.

They don't care if they lose customers, so I'm done with this card.

more ...
Dec 08, 2014
LATE FEE - $75
Anonymous Cardholder

I pay the bill the next day after I receive it and by the time they get it and enter in the system it is late then I get charged a late fee.  Never heard of such a thing.  Usually companies give you time to get your mail before it's due.

Our Company is very disappointed and will definately be closing the account.  Also, no matter what they do not reverse the charges.  You are at their mercy.  Not a way to do business.  I guess they have to pay for their rewards some way.


more ...
Oct 25, 2014
This card is rediculous
Anonymous Cardholder

on my first bill was 86.00.......paying on line was very difficult and the on line specialist were just as ignorant finally I made a payment and they want you to pay the full amount without any revolving.....I maid a 75.00 payment for the first month, 10.dollars shor from paying the whole bill off, they charge me a 75.00 late fee,  I called bp and ask them to wave the one late fee which every card in the wide world permitts...they wouldn .......I refuse to pay them 75.00 for a late fee that is totally rediculous to the upmost exstreme for a balance of 10.00 dollars.....I am paying off the entire bill before they ruin my credit.

more ...
Apr 16, 2012
DanielPlainview Cardholder

This was a fantastic rewards card I recommended to many people for several years until they changed their rewards program in March 2012 to the detriment of customers- now I recommend AmEx Blue Cash Everyday which as of April 2012 offers 2% cashback on any gas station or department store purchases plus 3% at supermarkets and 1% on all other spending (with no spending caps).

Check it out here:

more ...
Mar 13, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

This was a great gas card. Even though you had to only BP stations, which are easy to find, the rewards were worth it.  The new rewards system sucks.  Will be canceling card and finding another gas card.  So long BP.

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations