BP Visa®Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.3 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 13, 2017
Awful Card To Have
zionsmom1016 Cardholder

I've had this card for years. Always paid it on time and have always used it. I get a credit update notifying my that synchrony closes my account. Prior to this they constantly dropped the credit limit down to $230. I had not used the card in a month and soon as I get to the pump it's closed. I called and they will not reopen. I will never do business with synchrony again. I have 2 other cards from them I am closing today.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
AWFUL!
Jessica578746 Cardholder

I've had this card for years. This was my last card to pay in full and less than 2 weeks later I get a letter in the mail stating that they dropped my credit limit to $100. I've never been late, always paid more than the minimum and used frequently. This card is useless to me now. I'll go where they appreciate my business. Synchrony is awful and will definitely be re-evaluating my business with them!!

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Sucker born every minute
juniper107 Cardholder

We had this card for years. They make it as hard as possible for you to redeem your "rewards."

• balance not shown on statement
• redemption is on a separate site; not integrated with online bill pay.

• no reminders or prompts are sent regarding your balance.

• confusing option to use rewards at pump, which rarely come out to your advantage, and are confusing to figure out. I believe you would only come out ahead of taking cash if your rewards were low and you were pumping 20 gallons gas. 

After years and years, I chose to close the account instead of being issued a new card when there was a fraud transaction. The representative did not mention my balance or the need to redeem it when I closed the account. Supposedly, in the canned disclaimer I listened to, I was told that rewards would be voided. Must have been quick. When I called to ask I was told I could not get my reward money. I consider this unethical. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

I'm working on updating the phone number linked to the card to the same phone number for the 4th time. They can't seem to manage to change the phone number after confirming it pretty much every way possible. Now I'm waiting for a pin in the mail so I can change it. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Not for everyone
titliest72 Cardholder

Card is great for people who travel a lot. I usually get 6cent off a gallon, however I get even more at Sams Club or my local grocery perks program. The card is great to get your debt to income ratio down though because BP is VERY generous with limits. I started out with 300 then 6 months later was at 1300 and as of today I am at 3500. I do not plan on using this card OTHER THAN helping keep my score high playing that credit card game. lol. 

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Terrible Rewards System
Anonymous Cardholder

This used to be one of the best credit cards available when Chase managed. Got sold, and now its terrible. They reward you by taking off so many cents per gallon of gas purchased, but that discount is available as a one-time deal up to 20 gallons. If you only need 6 gallons to fill up, you get discounted gas only for those 6 gallons, but lose any remaining rewards. If you want a rewards card, steer clear of this one as you will be throwing most of your rewards done the drain.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Poorest I have
Anonymous Cardholder

Card won't post a payment for 8 days. I paid my card in full on the 2nd of a month, didn't update the next couple days and when I called, they said available credit won't update until the 10th. 8 days! No other card I have does that, and I have a variety. Service rep just said too bad so sad have a GREAT day in a snotty tone. Won't be using this card anymore and won't be buying BP gas. I use my Costco signature visa card for gas now.

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

16 years,have great credit,27% interest ,goodbye

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>