Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Classic Platinum Credit Card - EXPIRED OFFER

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 22, 2016
Great Card
Anonymous Cardholder

It gives someone trying to build or rebuild their credit an opportunity to do just that if they are responsible. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Great card to have!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Good card to have when rebuilding credit

more ...
Sep 11, 2016
Wonderful Credit Card
Sunshinedest1 Cardholder

I have had this card 2 year this month. I started with $1000 with a low 600 credit score. Increased to $1500 after having it 1 year and this year increased the limit to $3000. It is helping with my debit to credit quite well. I have nothing but good things to say about this card. I was very ill awhile back and missed a credit card payment, first one ever with this company. I called and spoke with the customer service rep and they waived my fee and stated it would not report to my credit score, and it did not. I use this card at least once a month. Wonderful! 

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
bottom of the barrel.
kma4626 Cardholder

i got this card to initially build credit since they will pretty much give anybody a card. but thats all they are is a company that will give anybody a card. the customer service is horrible. you have to jump through hoops forever going back and forth through menus and its nearly impossible to speak to an actual human. when you finally do they are no help. for example a few months back i accidentally made 2 payments which overdrew my bank account. the process to get it refunded was nearly impossible. the customer service lady tried convincing me relentlessly to not refund it. the process was a 3 day wait to get the refund approved. and then 5-8 days for the refund to go through. when asking to expedite the process i just got answers like "well thats our policy and theres nothing i can do about it". i just had another issue with a balance transfer today and the woman was very snotty and always replied to my questions with some sort of snark response. additionally even though this card supposedly has no anual fee i was charged a 100 dollar anual fee. my interest rate when from 24.99 to 25.13 for some reason. i made on time tripe payments for a year and it seems like they penalized me for it. i have never had any of these problems with my amex card or chase slate. both of which have excellent and extremely polite and helpful customer service.

more ...
Jul 14, 2016
TRULY PLATINUM
Sandy3PO Cardholder

I'm so thankful to Capital One! Words cannot describe how appreciative I am for giving me a chance to lift my my credit score after so many hits from apartment rental to the financing of my vehicle. I don't have many accounts and the accounts I do have are in good standing and I pay my bills on time. With the hard inquiries dropping my score I just figured I'd risk it and apply for another card.

Capital One has giving me the chance to manage my expenses better and breathe easier with my living expenses. They took a chance on me when no one else would. I received my 1st card from them several years ago and received an increase of $2000 on that card. I now have a second card with a 627 credit score and a limit of $1000 that I know will increase after paying 5 months on time.

I'm confident my score will go up as I don't anticipate having any more hard inquiries or negative factors on my report. The card came right on time! The process was super easy as well. SO THANKFUL! 

Customer service is always A+++

more ...
Apr 05, 2016
Great CLI's! As promised
TonyP05 Cardholder

I have had this card for about a year now. I was approved with a score of 550 with a CL of $500. A year later I am at a score of 650 and they've increased my CL 3 times to a total of $4000 now. I am very happy with Capital One. They are amazing. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2016
Very High APR, Bad Customer ServiceNot a

Very High APR, Bad Customer ServiceNot a big fan of the card, also approved with a low balance. I tried speaking with a few people to see if they can lower my APR interest rates, nobody helped.

more ...
Jan 02, 2016
Good so far...
Coll1006 Cardholder

Applied for card, got a $300 limit. One month later applied for a CLI and got approved for $100. Then after my 5 on time monthly payments and being in the steps program I got another CLI to $750 (was told first step increase I would only go up to $500). So I'm very thankful for Capital One for giving me a chance to rebuild my credit!

more ...
Dec 18, 2015
WONDERFUL!
MonikaKam Cardholder

I applied back in 2012 & was approved for $500. In 5 months they raised it to $1500. I nearly maxed the card & kept a high balance ($1460). I was able to pay down to $400 & they gave me an auto increase to $2500 with upgrade to Quicksilver. About 6 months later I applied for another Plantinum card and was approved at $500 again. In 5 months an auto increase up to $2500! ~~ I called in October after getting flyers in the mail with a lower APR (mine were 22.9%) & asked them to lower my APR. They did by 5% on each card & upgaded the platinum to another Quicksilver. Tonight I asked for an increase on my older accout and was approved for an additional $2000. ~ SWEET! ~~~ They have really help me rebuild my credit & they stuck it out with me while I ws broke then rewarded my hard work repairing the damage! In June I was able t get a SLATE & This week I got a Discover IT. I rack up my rewards and carry a Zero balance by months end NOW.... Capital One helped me get here

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 27,963
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Capital One® Classic Platinum Credit Card - EXPIRED OFFER