Capital One® Platinum - EXPIRED OFFER Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 29, 2016
Awesome!
Caponecust Cardholder

I applied from credit karmas suggestion and got approved right away for $1,000 limit then 6 months later I got a $500 increase! I have had this card less than a year and I just got an increase to $4500 we did pay the balance off that we owed and that could be why the increase but this will help my credit greatly!! I'm very happy with this card no annual fee a little high interest rate but that's ok keep your balance low and you will be ok! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 14, 2017
I've had this card for 3 months
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for 3 months stated with a cl of $300 and have yet to get at cl increase! I've paid before my due date and always pay what I charge on it for example if I charge $295 I pay the $295 on the 1st due date on the 5th! Am I doing something wrong? I've seen both good and bad reviews of this card 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

great card and credit builder

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
I've had this card for 3 months
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for 3 months stated with a cl of $300 and have yet to get at cl increase! I've paid before my due date and always pay what I charge on it for example if I charge $295 I pay the $295 on the 1st due date on the 5th! Am I doing something wrong? I've seen both good and bad reviews of this card 

more ...
Mar 29, 2017

You will get your first CL increase after 5 months .

 
Apr 19, 2017

You have to wait 6 months and never pay your full balance. Make monthly payments a little more than the minimum payment. For example, if your minimum payment is $25, then pay $50. This is a great card, you just have to wait 6 months to ASK for an increase. BTW, they do automatic increases as well every 6 months.

 
Jul 03, 2017

good luck started off with a 700 credit line in 2002 here we are 15 years later and I have the same credit line.. Never one made a late payment paid over the acct has a 14% utilization and 690 credit score and still 15 years later no increase. Applied back 2016 they said my payments are not enough doubled up payments balance is now $78 of $700 applied again and was told based on my credit repost one of my revolving acct balance on my Citi bank was too high , but doesnt take in consideration the 14% utilization I have on the acct im want an increase for nor my other 5 credit cards that have a below 30% utilization . In 5 years I have 4 credit line increase all from every one BUT Capital one after 15 years! Capital one is a JOKE

 
Jul 25, 2017

Pay your full balance its better. And u have to wait 6 months on the 7 u will get increase. Don't leave any balance. Make sure u pay balance before due date stay below 30 percent or will knock your credit a little. Just make sure u pay at least 70 before your due date so u can stay under 30 percent.

 
Jan 15, 2017
Not a good choice for any decent reason
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't go for it

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Easy Payment
Anonymous Cardholder

Unlike some other  credit cards, making an online payment should be quick and easy.
This card has some great online options. I can view transctions, balance and best part... I can make a payment in under two minutes.

I love watching my cash back balance go up too. Best Card.

Oh one thing, when you are sent your card for the first time, you have to request your pin separately, dont worry took them an additional 3 days to arrive. But I had to find this info out by myself.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Awesome!
Caponecust Cardholder

I applied from credit karmas suggestion and got approved right away for $1,000 limit then 6 months later I got a $500 increase! I have had this card less than a year and I just got an increase to $4500 we did pay the balance off that we owed and that could be why the increase but this will help my credit greatly!! I'm very happy with this card no annual fee a little high interest rate but that's ok keep your balance low and you will be ok! 

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Only as a last resort
FlyingV850 Cardholder

Do not ever expect to get anything but horrible customer service, especially from the US senior advisors. They must have hired every reject from the worst companies on earth.....yes, they are that rude and DO NOT CARE.

Nothing they offer is worth having all 3 reporting agencies hard pulled. Nothing.

No matter how perfect yoou are, since you have a secured card, you are trash......if you want a good laugh, just try to get a credit increase to ever get you above $500 and in my case $200 is my own money. I can understand a slow increase process, but the absolute rudness 100% of the time from the senior reps is inexcuseable. 

754 real Experian score, zero derogs, perfect history, pay before the bill posts so 0% utilization.....tough luck. 

Chase, Discover, BofA all treat me like gold....as soon as I have a little more time on them I will cancel the secured card and tell everyone to steer clear of anything related to Capital One.....

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

i started off with poor credit trying to build it because when i was a teen i went crazy i appiled thinking i would get denied but i was wrong got approved for 200.00 then 6 months later i made my payments on time every month pay more than the minimun and something the minimum and sure enough i got an increase for 500.00 so far i been loveing the card and i use it all the time.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Capital One® Platinum - EXPIRED OFFER