Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Platinum - EXPIRED OFFER

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 22, 2016
Excellent
nq113076 Cardholder

I received this card back in July of 2015 with a FICO score of 585. They gave me this card with an initial $300 limit. After 5 months of paying on time, sometimes the minimum sometimes more the CL was automatically increased to $750. About 4 months after that I paid the card off and received another automatic CL increase to $1500. I had this card at a $0 balance for a couple of months and then utilized it 3 months ago to pay a hospital bill. I paid it off 2 weeks later and don't know a week after that another automatic CL increase to $2500. Today I just applied for and received anothet Capital One QS card with an initial CL of $500 which is just fine for my purposes.  In less than a year I have increased my FICO credit score from 585 to 679.. My goal is to be above 700.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 26, 2016
Full of ****
frombottomtotop Cardholder

I have a capital one card I make all my payments on time and I pay more than minimum, I have request a credit line increase three times and they keep tell me no not at this time

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 23, 2016
Easy Payment
Anonymous Cardholder

Unlike some other  credit cards, making an online payment should be quick and easy.
This card has some great online options. I can view transctions, balance and best part... I can make a payment in under two minutes.

I love watching my cash back balance go up too. Best Card.

Oh one thing, when you are sent your card for the first time, you have to request your pin separately, dont worry took them an additional 3 days to arrive. But I had to find this info out by myself.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Awesome!
Caponecust Cardholder

I applied from credit karmas suggestion and got approved right away for $1,000 limit then 6 months later I got a $500 increase! I have had this card less than a year and I just got an increase to $4500 we did pay the balance off that we owed and that could be why the increase but this will help my credit greatly!! I'm very happy with this card no annual fee a little high interest rate but that's ok keep your balance low and you will be ok! 

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Only as a last resort
FlyingV850 Cardholder

Do not ever expect to get anything but horrible customer service, especially from the US senior advisors. They must have hired every reject from the worst companies on earth.....yes, they are that rude and DO NOT CARE.

Nothing they offer is worth having all 3 reporting agencies hard pulled. Nothing.

No matter how perfect yoou are, since you have a secured card, you are trash......if you want a good laugh, just try to get a credit increase to ever get you above $500 and in my case $200 is my own money. I can understand a slow increase process, but the absolute rudness 100% of the time from the senior reps is inexcuseable. 

754 real Experian score, zero derogs, perfect history, pay before the bill posts so 0% utilization.....tough luck. 

Chase, Discover, BofA all treat me like gold....as soon as I have a little more time on them I will cancel the secured card and tell everyone to steer clear of anything related to Capital One.....

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

i started off with poor credit trying to build it because when i was a teen i went crazy i appiled thinking i would get denied but i was wrong got approved for 200.00 then 6 months later i made my payments on time every month pay more than the minimun and something the minimum and sure enough i got an increase for 500.00 so far i been loveing the card and i use it all the time.

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Same happened with me. Started Ithaca 300. Limit and go a pleasant increase to 3300. Loyal fan of capital one. Can't wait for my next increase. The sky is the limit with making on-time payments. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2016

I have a 300 cl. Is it true after 5 ontime payments they will increase your credit limit automatically?? It will not be 5 months for me until October but I am just trying to figure out how I can get a higher limit?

 
Sep 11, 2016

They did with me got an email one day bam 300 extra

 
May 09, 2016
Love it.
Anonymous Cardholder

Same here. Started with $300. Months later I received a random increase to $2300. Love it. 

more ...
May 03, 2016
waste of time, low credit increase
manwithoutfear Cardholder

Card is limited in the amount of credit they are willing to give you. I pay on time and off on the card, got my card to 2k, asked for a credit increase after their 6 months wait. got offered 150 dollars increase. I thought that was a joke, called their customer service number and ask for a reason, they gave me some bs. After having this card for a while, I realize I'm never gonna get an increase from these guys. don't waste your time, this card is never gonna grow with you.  Don't bother calling customer service, there clueless to what goings on.

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
1000 credit line increase after 2 months
Anonymous Cardholder

approved immediately 500 cl my second cap 1 card had card for 2 months made a payment every week as i get payed every week never fully paid off my balance just to see if id get an increase i applied  and was approved for an extra 1000 

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
Excellent
nq113076 Cardholder

I received this card back in July of 2015 with a FICO score of 585. They gave me this card with an initial $300 limit. After 5 months of paying on time, sometimes the minimum sometimes more the CL was automatically increased to $750. About 4 months after that I paid the card off and received another automatic CL increase to $1500. I had this card at a $0 balance for a couple of months and then utilized it 3 months ago to pay a hospital bill. I paid it off 2 weeks later and don't know a week after that another automatic CL increase to $2500. Today I just applied for and received anothet Capital One QS card with an initial CL of $500 which is just fine for my purposes.  In less than a year I have increased my FICO credit score from 585 to 679.. My goal is to be above 700.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016

No complaints about there card just wondering after 1 year is there any credit line increases??

more ...
Sep 06, 2016

you can request one right on line when you logged into your account. I did and I was given one.

 
Oct 02, 2016

When does the increase kick in ? i recieved an e mail saying i would get $500 increase in credit

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Capital One® Platinum - EXPIRED OFFER

19 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i