Capital One® Platinum - EXPIRED OFFER

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 15, 2014
This card has worked great for me!
schildpad Cardholder

This is my first credit card. I recieved a pre approved offer in the mail for the Cap One Platinum Mastercard with $300 limit and no annual fee. Applied online and was approved with limit of $300. CK score was 581. Recieved card in May 2014. I was enrolled in Credit Steps program with a promise of a credit increase to $500 after 5 on time payments. 

I made many purchases with the card. I also made many payments. Each month I would spend around $600+. I would always make sure that the balance on my statement was no more than $30 and pay that off as soon as I recieved the statement. 

As soon as I recieved my 6th statement, I was given an automatic credit limit increase to $3,300. My CK score was 629. Today, after the increase of credit, my score is 684.

Capital One has made me a loyal customer because they took a chance on my poor credit and have given me more than what they offered to me as a reward for managing my card well. I don't care about the card's interest rates because I pay everything off in full and on time. It's easy to schedule payments whenever and however many times I want through their app and website. I haven't yet had any issues where I've needed to speak with a customer service rep. 

I'm sticking with this card and will look to Cap One if I need another card later on!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 06, 2014
A good starter card
switchman70 Cardholder

I got this card in March 2013, initial CL $300, automatic bump to $500  CL after 6 months per their "steps" program.

Credit Karma recommended this card to me on my profile, at the time my CK score was about 580 and my TU FICO was 577.

Since then I have other cards with rewards, so I seldom use this one - But was my first unsecured card since BK 7 discharge in Aug 2012.

If you are starting out or rebuilding I recommend this card to you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 14, 2017
I've had this card for 3 months
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for 3 months stated with a cl of $300 and have yet to get at cl increase! I've paid before my due date and always pay what I charge on it for example if I charge $295 I pay the $295 on the 1st due date on the 5th! Am I doing something wrong? I've seen both good and bad reviews of this card 

more ...
Mar 29, 2017

You will get your first CL increase after 5 months .

 
Apr 19, 2017

You have to wait 6 months and never pay your full balance. Make monthly payments a little more than the minimum payment. For example, if your minimum payment is $25, then pay $50. This is a great card, you just have to wait 6 months to ASK for an increase. BTW, they do automatic increases as well every 6 months.

 
Jan 15, 2017
Not a good choice for any decent reason
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't go for it

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Easy Payment
Anonymous Cardholder

Unlike some other  credit cards, making an online payment should be quick and easy.
This card has some great online options. I can view transctions, balance and best part... I can make a payment in under two minutes.

I love watching my cash back balance go up too. Best Card.

Oh one thing, when you are sent your card for the first time, you have to request your pin separately, dont worry took them an additional 3 days to arrive. But I had to find this info out by myself.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Awesome!
Caponecust Cardholder

I applied from credit karmas suggestion and got approved right away for $1,000 limit then 6 months later I got a $500 increase! I have had this card less than a year and I just got an increase to $4500 we did pay the balance off that we owed and that could be why the increase but this will help my credit greatly!! I'm very happy with this card no annual fee a little high interest rate but that's ok keep your balance low and you will be ok! 

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Only as a last resort
FlyingV850 Cardholder

Do not ever expect to get anything but horrible customer service, especially from the US senior advisors. They must have hired every reject from the worst companies on earth.....yes, they are that rude and DO NOT CARE.

Nothing they offer is worth having all 3 reporting agencies hard pulled. Nothing.

No matter how perfect yoou are, since you have a secured card, you are trash......if you want a good laugh, just try to get a credit increase to ever get you above $500 and in my case $200 is my own money. I can understand a slow increase process, but the absolute rudness 100% of the time from the senior reps is inexcuseable. 

754 real Experian score, zero derogs, perfect history, pay before the bill posts so 0% utilization.....tough luck. 

Chase, Discover, BofA all treat me like gold....as soon as I have a little more time on them I will cancel the secured card and tell everyone to steer clear of anything related to Capital One.....

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

i started off with poor credit trying to build it because when i was a teen i went crazy i appiled thinking i would get denied but i was wrong got approved for 200.00 then 6 months later i made my payments on time every month pay more than the minimun and something the minimum and sure enough i got an increase for 500.00 so far i been loveing the card and i use it all the time.

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Same happened with me. Started Ithaca 300. Limit and go a pleasant increase to 3300. Loyal fan of capital one. Can't wait for my next increase. The sky is the limit with making on-time payments. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2016

I have a 300 cl. Is it true after 5 ontime payments they will increase your credit limit automatically?? It will not be 5 months for me until October but I am just trying to figure out how I can get a higher limit?

 
Sep 11, 2016

They did with me got an email one day bam 300 extra

 
May 09, 2016
Love it.
Anonymous Cardholder

Same here. Started with $300. Months later I received a random increase to $2300. Love it. 

more ...
May 03, 2016
waste of time, low credit increase
manwithoutfear Cardholder

Card is limited in the amount of credit they are willing to give you. I pay on time and off on the card, got my card to 2k, asked for a credit increase after their 6 months wait. got offered 150 dollars increase. I thought that was a joke, called their customer service number and ask for a reason, they gave me some bs. After having this card for a while, I realize I'm never gonna get an increase from these guys. don't waste your time, this card is never gonna grow with you.  Don't bother calling customer service, there clueless to what goings on.

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
1000 credit line increase after 2 months
Anonymous Cardholder

approved immediately 500 cl my second cap 1 card had card for 2 months made a payment every week as i get payed every week never fully paid off my balance just to see if id get an increase i applied  and was approved for an extra 1000 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Capital One® Platinum - EXPIRED OFFER