BuyPower Card from Capital One® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 23, 2017
great
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved with a $300 CL and I don't mind the lower limit. I'm in the rebuilding stage with my credit and I would rather pay $300 (if I max it out) than $3,000.00

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 13, 2017
like every other carts
Anonymous Cardholder

You can't make payments with a business accounts.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 17, 2017
Get this card if you can.
darosado1 Cardholder

I have to admit, an auto rewards credit card can seem like a thing of the past at first, but 5% adds up fast. When I got this card a year ago I had a score under 600 and was approved for $1,000. I honestly thought I was seeing things. The one year with 0% interest with a score that low is unheard of. I always pay as soon as the bill is due and after my 5th payment, they auto-raised my limit to $1,500. The online system wasn't the best, but are now upgrading that and you soon will be able to link your BP card with all of your other Capital One accounts. I've never had any issues or complaints with this card. Btw..it is a mastercard elite, and very sleak design. I have to say it does feel good to pull out this thing every now and then and feel like you are part of that class. And, of course, if you are in the market for a GM car, every purchase goes towards your next new ride. I will own this card for life!

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
like every other carts
Anonymous Cardholder

You can't make payments with a business accounts.

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
Great for rebuilding and GM points
vettievi Cardholder

In March 2017 received an offer.I applied and was approved for $300, never missed a payment. I usually pay in full. After 5 months received a $200 CLI. Credit limit now $500. CS 564

more ...
Aug 21, 2017
damnit1 Cardholder

Bill was due on the 28th. I paid it early on the 16th. Here it is the 21st.  and my available credit balance does not reflect my payment made. Not only did I pay early, I paid off the current balance on the card, which was more than the statement balance. So beware, they will hold your money up! 

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Good
Anonymous Cardholder

I have an 549 credit score. I started out with an secure crediit card and 2 months later was approved with a credit limit of 500 for this card. Both are capital one. I suggest getting a secured credit card first. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Love it
Anonymous Cardholder

Love this card,customer service is great.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Do the math on the 5% Rewards
Teavey Cardholder

I had a 630TU that suddenly dropped down to 559 even though I pay my bills on time consistently. So today I'm sitting in front of my computer staring at the 559 on the screen when the offer for the BuyPower Card comes in the mail. I figure that a hard pull can't hurt me any worse than the 71-point-hit did but I was pleasantly surprised to get approved. I already have CAP1 store cards and visa & MC cards from cap 1 so I like dealing with a company that I'm familiar with.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Watch the small print.
Anonymous Cardholder

I charged over $20,000 on this card to accumitlate points towards a purchase of new vehicle. It was never disclosed to me that if you use a GM family discount that you cant use your earnings towards a new vehicle. Would have been nice if they stated this upfront. I called customer service and they where at least very rude to me. FYI dont use this card if you use a GM discount they will not apply it. The earnings are now useless to me and cant be redeemed at all. SCAM!!! in my mind.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017

Scam? No I read it clearly in the disclosure, Always read the fine fine print. Cheers

 
Jul 03, 2017

You have the wrong card you needed the gm extended family buy power card that lets you use the rewards along with your discount

 
Apr 24, 2017
Almost got 5 Star
Anonymous Cardholder

The only reson why this card doesnt get a 5 star rating is because of the hard pull on my credit report to get a CL increase. Had the card since June 2015 with a 300.00 CL, it went up to 500.00 about 7 months later and there it sat. I've been building/repairing my credit for going on 4years ever since  I needed a cosigner for a 6000.00 car, since then I've added; Amer Ex(green card) 3 Cap1, Barclays, Creditone, Firstbank and a JCP Mastercard. All My cards have been paid on time with no problems to speek of, and thats why I was baffled that my BuyPower card had a tiny CL. I thought about closing the account until i called one day to ask about a increase, and thats when they laid a bomb on me. This card does not due automatic increases, if you want a increase you have to ask for it and its a hard pull on your credit score. So i thought about it for months before I finally decided to to do it, I requested 4k and they gave it to me. One week later they added and additional 500.00 which brought the CL to an even 5K. Not bad but I have an extra inquiry on my credit report and I lost a few points

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

BuyPower Card from Capital One®

19 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i