BuyPower Card from Capital One®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
52 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.40% - 23.40%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.40% - 23.40%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 31, 2016
Decent Card
Tec034 Cardholder

I got approved for this card 2 months ago and so far it's been good. I got a $1000 credit limit with a 670 equifax score and average income ($50k). Utilization was 24% when I applied. I have two negatives on my report a bill from an student apartment complex that refused to let me out of my lease and I won't pay it because it's over 5 years old now and a charged off citi bank student card with an unpaid balance. This is my second cap1 card and I have a $1500 limit with my quicksilver card it started with a $300 limit. I also have a $18k auto loan with cap one at 7%. Capital One believes in giving people second chances and they don't turn their nose up at you for your past mistakes. Capital One has a customer for life with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 12, 2016
Waste of time
mainilla26 Cardholder

I've never recieved a credit increase in over 2 years. I pay my bills on time and have a 730, 727 and 725 credit score. I have other Capital One credit card , both with $5000.00 limits. From my understanding the BuyPower card is not the same as other Capital One cards.

Customer  Service is a joke! I guess they figure if you only have a $300.00 credit limit you need them more than they need you (WRONG). I canceled it today!

Don't waste your time with the BuyPower card you'll be frustrated!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
First unsecured card I could get
Pondal86 Cardholder

When turned down for the quicksilver and discover unsecured cards, I was approved for this for a $300 limit as soon as I applied (like 30 second wait, then an approval screen) with a score under 600. 3 months later, it went to $500. It has had a really positive effect on my score. I lost the card once and had to speak with customer service. They were incredibly nice. They offered to ship the new card expedited before I could even request that, and it arrived before any of my other cards. 

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
If you receive a pre-qual letter, do it.
jamesonnorth Cardholder

I have two Capital One cards (a QS and QS1), both grew from low-limit Platinum cards of $500 CL to $1500 and $2500.  Capital One has been pretty understanding over the years, and I'm a big proponent of their services.  When I saw this GM BuyPower card pre-quallification letter show up, I decided to go for it, knowing it would probably start out with a low limit and increase over time, just like my other Capital One cards.  Sure enough, I only got a $300 limit to start out with.  Low, compared to some of my other limits, but fair given the pretty low 600 TU and EX scores at the time.

Time will tell if this is a good card or not, but customer service was very nice (dedicated team for BuyPower card support), and it's definitely the easiest way to get a World Elite MasterCard, if you want one.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
great
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved with a $300 CL and I don't mind the lower limit. I'm in the rebuilding stage with my credit and I would rather pay $300 (if I max it out) than $3,000.00

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Stacking up to buy GM
jasvvttu Cardholder

Well, my credit was ruined due to divorce and non payments. However Capital One approved me with a Platinum after paying off some small collections I had (one at $50-  one at $300) with a $300 limit. That was 7 months ago. My credit limit increased to $750. Until a week ago when I got this offer of pre-qualify in the mail for the BuyPowerCard. I got approved with a 590 EQ and 580 TU at 75K salary wit a $300 limit (needless to say in 7 months my credit has increased 100 points and climbing by +2 points every 2 weeks). I am happy becasue I will buy a GM vehicle (Chevy Bolt EV) in the future so this works amazing for me!! Thank you Capital One!!

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Cool incentives.
Votriminh Cardholder

This CapitalOne card comes with cool incentives. I was actually surprised to be approved. I had a $500 secured card with Wells Fargo that been maxxed out the past year but always paid on time with the minimum (lol) but received a letter saying that I was pre-qualified, so I decided to give it a shot and apply. I was approved with a $500 creditline with 590 scores on my CK. Lucky me, I guess. Hopefully, I'll get the credit line increase within 5 months like they say.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
love capital one
JACK19701 Cardholder

started $750 after 5 on time payment got a $ 500 increase now $1250 just keep paying the balance in full you be ok work like other capital one cards 

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
I love it
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Can you push the luv button at 4 months
JACK19701 Cardholder

Has any one try to get a credit increase at 4 months like the other capital one cards

more ...
Dec 03, 2016

If your not late on payments for the first 5 months they give you a increase of $200. without needing to ask but they won't increase it till then. Hope this helps.

 
Dec 22, 2016

just got $500 after 5 on time payments started $750 now $1250 thank you capital one

 
Oct 31, 2016
Decent Card
Tec034 Cardholder

I got approved for this card 2 months ago and so far it's been good. I got a $1000 credit limit with a 670 equifax score and average income ($50k). Utilization was 24% when I applied. I have two negatives on my report a bill from an student apartment complex that refused to let me out of my lease and I won't pay it because it's over 5 years old now and a charged off citi bank student card with an unpaid balance. This is my second cap1 card and I have a $1500 limit with my quicksilver card it started with a $300 limit. I also have a $18k auto loan with cap one at 7%. Capital One believes in giving people second chances and they don't turn their nose up at you for your past mistakes. Capital One has a customer for life with me.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Ok, I guess.
Candykiss2000 Cardholder

The card is easy to get however, you're placed in a program thats called "credit repair" and they refuse to increase your credit untill after 7 ontime payments. I have two other capital one cards with intial credits of $1,200! Ughhhh

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BuyPower Card from Capital One®