BuyPower Card from Capital One® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 31, 2016
Decent Card
Tec034 Cardholder

I got approved for this card 2 months ago and so far it's been good. I got a $1000 credit limit with a 670 equifax score and average income ($50k). Utilization was 24% when I applied. I have two negatives on my report a bill from an student apartment complex that refused to let me out of my lease and I won't pay it because it's over 5 years old now and a charged off citi bank student card with an unpaid balance. This is my second cap1 card and I have a $1500 limit with my quicksilver card it started with a $300 limit. I also have a $18k auto loan with cap one at 7%. Capital One believes in giving people second chances and they don't turn their nose up at you for your past mistakes. Capital One has a customer for life with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 12, 2016
Waste of time
mainilla26 Cardholder

I've never recieved a credit increase in over 2 years. I pay my bills on time and have a 730, 727 and 725 credit score. I have other Capital One credit card , both with $5000.00 limits. From my understanding the BuyPower card is not the same as other Capital One cards.

Customer  Service is a joke! I guess they figure if you only have a $300.00 credit limit you need them more than they need you (WRONG). I canceled it today!

Don't waste your time with the BuyPower card you'll be frustrated!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 06, 2017
Do the math on the 5% Rewards
Teavey Cardholder

I had a 630TU that suddenly dropped down to 559 even though I pay my bills on time consistently. So today I'm sitting in front of my computer staring at the 559 on the screen when the offer for the BuyPower Card comes in the mail. I figure that a hard pull can't hurt me any worse than the 71-point-hit did but I was pleasantly surprised to get approved. I already have CAP1 store cards and visa & MC cards from cap 1 so I like dealing with a company that I'm familiar with.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Watch the small print.
Anonymous Cardholder

I charged over $20,000 on this card to accumitlate points towards a purchase of new vehicle. It was never disclosed to me that if you use a GM family discount that you cant use your earnings towards a new vehicle. Would have been nice if they stated this upfront. I called customer service and they where at least very rude to me. FYI dont use this card if you use a GM discount they will not apply it. The earnings are now useless to me and cant be redeemed at all. SCAM!!! in my mind.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017

Scam? No I read it clearly in the disclosure, Always read the fine fine print. Cheers

 
Jul 03, 2017

You have the wrong card you needed the gm extended family buy power card that lets you use the rewards along with your discount

 
Apr 24, 2017
Almost got 5 Star
Anonymous Cardholder

The only reson why this card doesnt get a 5 star rating is because of the hard pull on my credit report to get a CL increase. Had the card since June 2015 with a 300.00 CL, it went up to 500.00 about 7 months later and there it sat. I've been building/repairing my credit for going on 4years ever since  I needed a cosigner for a 6000.00 car, since then I've added; Amer Ex(green card) 3 Cap1, Barclays, Creditone, Firstbank and a JCP Mastercard. All My cards have been paid on time with no problems to speek of, and thats why I was baffled that my BuyPower card had a tiny CL. I thought about closing the account until i called one day to ask about a increase, and thats when they laid a bomb on me. This card does not due automatic increases, if you want a increase you have to ask for it and its a hard pull on your credit score. So i thought about it for months before I finally decided to to do it, I requested 4k and they gave it to me. One week later they added and additional 500.00 which brought the CL to an even 5K. Not bad but I have an extra inquiry on my credit report and I lost a few points

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Would only recommend for rebuilding.
Garretts228 Cardholder

I got a pre-approved letter from Capital One and decided that since I have two other cards by them that it couldn't possibly hurt to go for another one since their service has been excellent and is the reason I have built credit in the first place. Got approved having over a 700 CS and was only approved for $300. If I knew their website was as bad as it is, had no mobile app support, and the lack of credit lineI was going to recieve I would have never bothered. I also have an AMEX card and Chase card. It just makes no since..

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
good limit, good perks
PugLove12 Cardholder

I was approved for the card with a credit score of 737 with a $2000 limit. I just received the card today and look forward to using it. I'm really excited about the 5%/2% rewards and the world elite mastercard benefits. I just hope that I have a positive experience like I have had with my other capital one card. I would give it 5 stars except I haven't used it yet, made payments, or really dealt with customer service therefore I don't have any way to judge if it's a "great" card. I will update in the future when I have more information.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
First unsecured card I could get
Pondal86 Cardholder

When turned down for the quicksilver and discover unsecured cards, I was approved for this for a $300 limit as soon as I applied (like 30 second wait, then an approval screen) with a score under 600. 3 months later, it went to $500. It has had a really positive effect on my score. I lost the card once and had to speak with customer service. They were incredibly nice. They offered to ship the new card expedited before I could even request that, and it arrived before any of my other cards. 

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
If you receive a pre-qual letter, do it.
jamesonnorth Cardholder

I have two Capital One cards (a QS and QS1), both grew from low-limit Platinum cards of $500 CL to $1500 and $2500.  Capital One has been pretty understanding over the years, and I'm a big proponent of their services.  When I saw this GM BuyPower card pre-quallification letter show up, I decided to go for it, knowing it would probably start out with a low limit and increase over time, just like my other Capital One cards.  Sure enough, I only got a $300 limit to start out with.  Low, compared to some of my other limits, but fair given the pretty low 600 TU and EX scores at the time.

Time will tell if this is a good card or not, but customer service was very nice (dedicated team for BuyPower card support), and it's definitely the easiest way to get a World Elite MasterCard, if you want one.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
great
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved with a $300 CL and I don't mind the lower limit. I'm in the rebuilding stage with my credit and I would rather pay $300 (if I max it out) than $3,000.00

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Stacking up to buy GM
jasvvttu Cardholder

Well, my credit was ruined due to divorce and non payments. However Capital One approved me with a Platinum after paying off some small collections I had (one at $50-  one at $300) with a $300 limit. That was 7 months ago. My credit limit increased to $750. Until a week ago when I got this offer of pre-qualify in the mail for the BuyPowerCard. I got approved with a 590 EQ and 580 TU at 75K salary wit a $300 limit (needless to say in 7 months my credit has increased 100 points and climbing by +2 points every 2 weeks). I am happy becasue I will buy a GM vehicle (Chevy Bolt EV) in the future so this works amazing for me!! Thank you Capital One!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 02, 2017

That is awesome! I just applied after pondering for hours and was approved as well. I guest I was thinking about the inquires and my line of credit cards with others. Nevertheless, you stated within 7 months your credit score climb an extra 100 points in which I find interesting.

 
Jan 08, 2017
Cool incentives.
Votriminh Cardholder

This CapitalOne card comes with cool incentives. I was actually surprised to be approved. I had a $500 secured card with Wells Fargo that been maxxed out the past year but always paid on time with the minimum (lol) but received a letter saying that I was pre-qualified, so I decided to give it a shot and apply. I was approved with a $500 creditline with 590 scores on my CK. Lucky me, I guess. Hopefully, I'll get the credit line increase within 5 months like they say.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

BuyPower Card from Capital One®