Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BuyPower Card from Capital One®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.15% - 23.15%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.15% - 23.15%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 07, 2016
pre approver with a 565 @$750
biggD505 Cardholder

pre approver with a 565 @$750 and $1250 after 5 on time payments

phone payments go on credit limit same day no charge 5 days via website.(ach)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 12, 2016
Waste of time
mainilla26 Cardholder

I've never recieved a credit increase in over 2 years. I pay my bills on time and have a 730, 727 and 725 credit score. I have other Capital One credit card , both with $5000.00 limits. From my understanding the BuyPower card is not the same as other Capital One cards.

Customer  Service is a joke! I guess they figure if you only have a $300.00 credit limit you need them more than they need you (WRONG). I canceled it today!

Don't waste your time with the BuyPower card you'll be frustrated!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
I love it
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Can you push the luv button at 4 months
JACK19701 Cardholder

Has any one try to get a credit increase at 4 months like the other capital one cards

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 03, 2016

If your not late on payments for the first 5 months they give you a increase of $200. without needing to ask but they won't increase it till then. Hope this helps.

 
Oct 31, 2016
Decent Card
Tec034 Cardholder

I got approved for this card 2 months ago and so far it's been good. I got a $1000 credit limit with a 670 equifax score and average income ($50k). Utilization was 24% when I applied. I have two negatives on my report a bill from an student apartment complex that refused to let me out of my lease and I won't pay it because it's over 5 years old now and a charged off citi bank student card with an unpaid balance. This is my second cap1 card and I have a $1500 limit with my quicksilver card it started with a $300 limit. I also have a $18k auto loan with cap one at 7%. Capital One believes in giving people second chances and they don't turn their nose up at you for your past mistakes. Capital One has a customer for life with me.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Ok, I guess.
Candykiss2000 Cardholder

The card is easy to get however, you're placed in a program thats called "credit repair" and they refuse to increase your credit untill after 7 ontime payments. I have two other capital one cards with intial credits of $1,200! Ughhhh

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Easy to get
darosado1 Cardholder

Have capital one journey with $600 limit, capital one platinum with $1,500 limit, and credit one with $950 limit. Transunion is 675, Equifax 638. Applied for this card online and got the lovely 10-14 day notice. But to my surprise got the card exactly 10 days later applying with a $1k limit. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Barrett775 Cardholder

This card is very nice. I like many people ruined my credit as a young adult. I was about 4K in debt and was able to pay that off and start rebuilding my credit. After getting my score up over 100 points in a few months and months of onto me payments with my secret card I received an offer for this card. After reading some reviews and the fine print I decide to accept my offer. This card is awesome. I highly recommend accepting this card if you are fixing your credit. I had to contact customer support because I accidently lost the page after putting my indomain in. There are plenty of companes who could be trained in the customer service department like the wonderful people who I spoke to.

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
ddawn98 Cardholder

I applied yesterday after receiving an offer in the mail, I'm trying to rebuild my credit currently a 744 TU and 741 EQ approved automatically for $1000 limit. I have a C1 Platinum with a 1,700 CL and 6 negative public records on my EQ report.

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
They hit all 3 Credit Bureaus
tomminpa Cardholder

I have a Capital one visa and would love to apply for this one but Capital one runs all 3 bureaus. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 05, 2016

Actually, the BuyPower Card is cobranded with GM, so it does not check all three bureaus like regular Capital One cards. The only bureau it pulls your credit report from is Equifax.

 
Sep 26, 2016
Have fun with their No Customer Service

Had this card for over seven years. Had to rebuild credit after divorce. My score is 715 & 716. Requested a interest rate decrease. Was denied. Paid off balance, will use this card twice a year to keep it active. I charge something for a few dollars, pay it off within three days. You don't want to play in my sandbox??? I am ok with that. When my score gets a little higher, I will cancel card.

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Waste of time
mainilla26 Cardholder

I've never recieved a credit increase in over 2 years. I pay my bills on time and have a 730, 727 and 725 credit score. I have other Capital One credit card , both with $5000.00 limits. From my understanding the BuyPower card is not the same as other Capital One cards.

Customer  Service is a joke! I guess they figure if you only have a $300.00 credit limit you need them more than they need you (WRONG). I canceled it today!

Don't waste your time with the BuyPower card you'll be frustrated!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BuyPower Card from Capital One®