Barclaycard CashForward™ World Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
45 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74%, 20.74% or 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74%, 20.74% or 25.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard CashForward™ World Mastercard® is a straightforward, solid cash back card.

What to Like

The Barclaycard CashForward™ World Mastercard® offers rewards with no annual fee. Cardholders can earn 1.5% cash back on every purchase and the rewards don’t expire as long as you keep your account open, active and in good standing. Cardholders could also earn a one-time $200 rewards bonus after spending $1000 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

This card includes both balance transfer and foreign transaction fees. There are also late payment fees up to $37.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 14, 2016
Persistence is key - thank you!
RMGR Cardholder

I applied for this card (credit karma says I had a poor chance - scores range from about 640-650 & I already have a barclay rewards card with a $500 limit) and got a message stating my application is being processed and I will hear from them in 7-10 business days. I immediately called the reconsideration line to see if I can provide any further information to help them make their decision. The customer service agent was extremely polite and asked me several questions on my credit report (old charge offs, recent inquiries). Long story short, she said the application would have to be denied due to all of my recent inquiries in the last 3 months (about 5) but since I already have an account with them, to continue making payments and try back in a couple of months. I let a day go by and I said "what the heck? I'm going to call them again" the agent I spoke with this time was concerned with my old charge offs, I explained to him that they were very old and in recent years I've had a clean credit profile and BAM! I was reconsidered and approved for $1000! All in all, if you are persistent and honest with them about your credit profile, you may find someone who believes in your credit worthiness. Thank you Barclay! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 20, 2016
Trash card
wendell5050 Cardholder

This card is a crap card. Barclay reports every purchase you make to the credit bureaus and keeps it as a balance owed even way before your payment is do. The way they report all the purchases as balances caused my credit score to drop and even after I paid the whole $1,300 off 3 weeks before it was due Barclay still kept reporting it as a balance to the credit bureaus until the following month. I think Barclay needs to put money on their books thats why they do their accounting like this. This card is not for people with good credit I would not recommend Barclay to anybody, they suck!...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 28, 2017
Always good to ask for second chances
Mitty1890 Cardholder

I applied for this card with both credit scores sitting around 660-670. I have been rebuilding my credit for nearly two years and had recently been approved for an American Express Everyday card as well as a Barclays MasterCard. Recently Barclays increased my credit limit to 1400 after it being $500 and me charging it to max and then paying it off every month. Despite the good relationship with Barclays and me rebuilding my credit after charge offs and several late payments I got the typical "We will review your application and notify you within 7-10 business days". About a week later I received a letter of denial from Barclays. Needless to say, I was shocked with how much work I have done on my credit. I don't make a lot of money, but I also live in the Dakotas so the cost of living is low. I called and asked for a reconsideration. I asked her initially why it got declined and she said because my pay down was too low on some of my accounts. I explained that I used my Amex to transfer a balance because it had 15 months of no interest and was just paying it down as I could, I also explained how I was going through a rough time when I had all of my chargeoffs and am doing a lot better now. She then approved me for a $1000 limit because she said my credit behavior has been good and haven't missed a payment for nearly two years. So all I can say is, don't hesitate to call in when you're rejected. Explain your use of your credit and why it is what it is. I love my Barclays MasterCard, and I'm sure I will love this one too!

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
FALSE Promises, Worst Customer Service
SURANDAR Cardholder

I bought this card 3 months ago and one of the selling point of this card was Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months,  however i am being charged with interest even after regular payments which is more than my regular due when i contacted the customer care they say no such policy exists on my card! I am bemused how it can change from person to person and you flip on your words which is the selling point of the card!

I had raised an complaint more than 3 weeks back yet to receive a clarification from them, ITS A NIGHTMARE TO OWN THIS CARD! 

False promises, Worst turn around time in handling complaints, by far the slowest of the different  credit card services which I had used. i had been customer with BOA, DISC and amex. I will put barclays down below all.

DONT APPLY!

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Rewards are nice.
Tj063018 Cardholder

I have this card and have had it for a year. I have another Barclays's card also. When I paid off the other Barclay's card they decreased my limit on the cash forward card and i did not receive a letter until afterwards. Bad business practices. Would not recommend. Also no cli on neither card and have had both over a year. 

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
Good website
Anonymous Cardholder

Only negative is they perform a hard inquiry and you need to accumulate a 50 dollar refund before they pay you the cash back. Was preapproved and received a 200 dollar promotional offer. Not bad.

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
got credit decrease
JACK19701 Cardholder

I started with this card June 2016 with credit limit $900 always paid the balance off and in Jan got my credit limit cut to $500 because the credit bureaus reported to many recent credit inquiry I been still paying my balance off every month how long you think it will take to get me a credit increase

more ...
May 12, 2017
cleopuma Cardholder

Not the greatest card. 1 and 1/2 percent cash back, but you start out with a very low credit limit. I started out with a 500.00 limit. Now after 2 years of havig the card, my limit is only 1,700.00. My other CapOne card, which I got about 3 mos after this one, has a 4500.00 limit,. 

more ...
May 02, 2017
Great credit builder
Kcooney57 Cardholder

I've had this card for only a year with a $500 limit and used it only for fuel/gas purchases and paid balance each month. Just received a notice my credit limit has been increased to $1400. Helps my credit score!

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Pretty nice overall card
rucker1971 Cardholder

I'm new to credit cards but so far a good card. I will update my review in a few months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2017

Still a 4 star review? How's the card?

 
Apr 03, 2017
decent card
etacatinae11 Cardholder

after several years applying for differnt barclay cards and being rejected i gave up then i get a letter from them a few weeks letter saying i was preapproved for this card. so gave it another try and applied and was approved for $5000.00 CL . the funny thing about it my credit score was higher all the years i was rejected then now...but is still decent with all scores above 700. this card is with par with my chase and capital one card with 1.5 back in cash. i also like their easy to use website.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Barclaycard CashForward™ World Mastercard®

45 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i