Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Barclaycard CashForward™ World MasterCard®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
52 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 Months on balance transfers made within 45 days of account opening
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24%, 20.24% or 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24%, 20.24% or 25.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Barclaycard CashForward™ World MasterCard® is a straightforward, solid cash back card.

What to Like

The Barclaycard CashForward™ World MasterCard® offers rewards with no annual fee. Cardholders can earn 1.5% cash back on every purchase and the rewards don’t expire as long as you keep your account open, active and in good standing. Cardholders could also earn a one-time $100 rewards bonus after spending $500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

This card includes both balance transfer and foreign transaction fees. There are also late payment fees up to $37.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2016
got approved today!!!
carryglock Cardholder

This is my 2nd Barclay card.  I got approved with a tu 654 and a equ of 666.  2000 cl   My past experaince with Barclay has been Excellent.  I wish they had givien me a higher credit limit but 2000 is better than noting.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 20, 2016
Trash card
wendell5050 Cardholder

This card is a crap card. Barclay reports every purchase you make to the credit bureaus and keeps it as a balance owed even way before your payment is do. The way they report all the purchases as balances caused my credit score to drop and even after I paid the whole $1,300 off 3 weeks before it was due Barclay still kept reporting it as a balance to the credit bureaus until the following month. I think Barclay needs to put money on their books thats why they do their accounting like this. This card is not for people with good credit I would not recommend Barclay to anybody, they suck!...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 13, 2017
Easy approval

I applied today with a 678 TU and 655 EQ. Credit Karma said my chances were "poor" but I applied anyway knowing that Barclays only pulls your TU report (my Experian is 621). I got the usual "we need more time to review your application" spiel. I waited about an hour and talked to their credit department. They asked me a few questions and said they could start me off with a $1000 credit line. I'm very happy with the results. Glad I applied. I had two chargeoffs back in 2012 and 2013 that I paid off but have been good with my credit since then. He understood and gave me a chance. 

Looking forward to the rewards!

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

In an effort to build my credit after a nasty divorice.I applied for this credit card, was approved quickly . Yes i was surprised but very thankful.

Works great, little high interest rate but that is understandably ( for now).

I paid on time and with out notice I got a limit increase.

great card,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 10, 2017

How long when you got the increase I have made all my payment on time for 6 months

 
Jan 05, 2017
Cash back $$$
cpkidd09 Cardholder

Was approved with 679 fico Transunion scoring model 8. $3700 line. I've had the iTunes visa for about five years now, I also applied for the Barclay arrival plus card and was instantly approved for both on the same day. 

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
Advertisement is deceiving to a degree.
AJPenn Cardholder

I have a 745 trasunion and a 746 equifax. Applied, got approved for 9600. The inquiry only went to transunion (minus 3 points for the inquiry). I get the $200 reward after spending $500, however, I'm immediately going to be slammed with 15+% interest. Considering I pay 0% on ALL of my other cards, this is unexpected. Additionally, I was NOT offered a balance transfer! (when 0% interest in balance transfers for 15 months was advertised in my pre-screened offer, on their site, and was the main reason I applied). I have only $3500 in total debt, and about $28,000 available. Basically, I'll spend the $500, take the $200 reward, pay it, and never use the card again. In a nut shell, I didn't get what was advertised, and I'm a prime applicant. Hope this helps.

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Barclay is great
Anonymous Cardholder

They're website is easy to use, espcially with the app. They give you periodic credit increases as you continue to pay on time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 10, 2017

I HAVE had my cards since December and made all my payment on time in full and haven't got one yet do I need to ask or wait

 
Dec 07, 2016
New Cardholder
jlpaschal Cardholder

I applied for this card and was denied because of too many inquiries (fairly recent). While the number of inquiries is high, I still thought I should have been approved so I called to have my app reconsidered and after about four questions about payment history and how I would use the card, the rep said she didn't know why I wasn't approved and she approved me for a CL of $1000. I've had it for about a month now and did a balance transfer. I'll be sure to update in the future, but so far so good.

more ...
Nov 24, 2016
Extremely happy with this card!
safa1029 Cardholder

Applied for this card out of curiosity and I'm surprisingly happy! It was a smooth and quick process! I was approved for $4,000. I also took advantage of the $200 bonus. My only issue is the cash back redemption threshold (hope they change it), but this was one of the best overall credit card experiences I've had in years!

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
easy to use, build up credit
Anonymous Cardholder

best card pay on time and they will keep raseing your credit limit.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Persistence is key - thank you!
RMGR Cardholder

I applied for this card (credit karma says I had a poor chance - scores range from about 640-650 & I already have a barclay rewards card with a $500 limit) and got a message stating my application is being processed and I will hear from them in 7-10 business days. I immediately called the reconsideration line to see if I can provide any further information to help them make their decision. The customer service agent was extremely polite and asked me several questions on my credit report (old charge offs, recent inquiries). Long story short, she said the application would have to be denied due to all of my recent inquiries in the last 3 months (about 5) but since I already have an account with them, to continue making payments and try back in a couple of months. I let a day go by and I said "what the heck? I'm going to call them again" the agent I spoke with this time was concerned with my old charge offs, I explained to him that they were very old and in recent years I've had a clean credit profile and BAM! I was reconsidered and approved for $1000! All in all, if you are persistent and honest with them about your credit profile, you may find someone who believes in your credit worthiness. Thank you Barclay! 

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
I was approved against the odds
AngelasAshes Cardholder

Credit Karma suggested against me applying for the card becuase they rated my odds of approval at poor. I decided to try because they only require fair credit. I was approved for a $1500 cl with scores of 617 & 619. My scores did tank 5 points each. I was also approved for a $500 cl with Cap 1 quicksilver one, but not the plat. card. Which is fine by me becuase I prefer the rewards quicksiler offers. Does anyone else notice that CK pushes Cap 1 hard. I also want to point out that I initally thought I was denied because they don't give you a desicion right away, I got an email letting me know of my approval. Can some explain what "redemptions start at $50" mean.

more ...
Nov 12, 2016

Redemption starting at 50 means...you can only redeem your points at 50 and up nothing under 50

 
Dec 05, 2016

I don't think CK "pushes" Cap 1 necessarily but rather they compare your scores/profile with other members and from there figure out which cards you're most likely to get approved for. Capital one may seem to come up more often because of all the lenders they tend to be more forgiving and willing to take a chance on someone with lower scores. Clearly Barclays was willing to take a chance on you because they approved you. One thing that may have helped you out is that your 600's may have been what some may call "clean" 600 scores. What I mean is that your scores may have been low simply for lack of credit and not "bad" credit. It's easier to get approved when a thin file is the only thing holding you back.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Barclaycard CashForward™ World MasterCard®

52 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i